You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

See what it was like to fly on The Big Bunny, Hugh Hefner’s customised Playboy jet

Stunning shots from the 1960s and 1970s.

IN THE LATE 1960s, Playboy founder Hugh Hefner purchased a customised plane called The Big Bunny.

A stretch version of a DC-9, it had the capability to go anywhere in the world — and it did, taking Hefner and his celebrity clientele everywhere from Africa to Europe.

Estimated to cost about $5 million, it was outfitted with custom lighting and painted black, which was revolutionary for the time. He called his stewardesses Jet Bunnies.

Though the famed plane was only used for six years, it certainly left behind a legacy of its own.

With the help of Playboy Enterprises, we’ve put together a collection of photos that will take you through the famed jet’s history, from its wild disco parties to its luxurious amenities.

PastedImage-98490 AP / George Brich AP / George Brich / George Brich

Hefner purchased the plane when he was 43. He had the 119-foot plane custom-made for him after a 1966 trip to London.

“I saw the future when I was in London: The sexual revolution was going on and the miniskirt had just arrived … I decided then and there to get the jet,” he said in a piece he wrote for the Wall Street Journal in 2010.

PastedImage-43840 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

He had spotlights installed on the wing tips so that the iconic rabbit could be seen flying through the air at night. He also asked permission from the federal government to paint it black. “I designed the Big Bunny jet to stand out,” he wrote in the WSJ. “Nobody had a black plane at the time. It was like The Ugly Duckling.”

PastedImage-78819 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

Hefner’s Jet Bunnies had worked in the Playboy clubs in Chicago and Los Angeles and trained at Continental Airlines’ stewardess school. Uniforms that were designed by Walter Holmes — with contributions from Hefner himself — included rabbit ears and tails, black boots, and white aviator scarves.

PastedImage-55518 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

Black mini dresses were made out of a leatherette material. “They look as though they had just stepped out of a Bond movie,” Hefner wrote in an issue of Playboy from 2010.

PastedImage-17759 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

Hefner’s home-away-from-home was made for luxury. The 38-passenger plane had a living room and conference area, where in-flight meals included grand dishes like lobster and roast beef.

PastedImage-18536 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

Its main compartment had a fully stocked bar and a discotheque where parties would often take place. For in-flight entertainment, the plane was also equipped with two film projectors and a video machine.

PastedImage-22811 AP AP

Hefner’s personal quarters included an elliptical bed that could be accessed through its own gateway. It came complete with silk and Tasmanian opossum fur covers. The Big Bunny also had a powder room and showers for optimal comfort.

PastedImage-68534

For roughly six years, the Big Bunny took Hefner everywhere from Greece to Tanzania. “I loved the convenience of the jet. It was literally a floating apartment with a bedroom, a living room, a dining room and a disco area in the back,” he said.

PastedImage-87103 AP / George Brich AP / George Brich / George Brich

Hefner would use the plane to get to and from his homes in Los Angeles and Chicago while taping episodes of Playboy After Dark, with frequent guests that included artist LeRoy Neiman and poet Shel Silverstein.

PastedImage-80590 AP AP

He would travel with friends like director Roman Polanski before lending the plane to others. Elvis Presley and Sonny and Cher leased it during their concert tours, while Twilight Zone creator Rod Serling would sometimes film onboard the plane. In 1975, the Big Bunny transported around 40 Vietnamese orphans from San Francisco to their new homes in Denver and New York.

PastedImage-54604 AP / Bob Dear AP / Bob Dear / Bob Dear

It was also where Hefner and his then-girlfriend, Barbi Benton, would spend time together. The two took trips to destinations like Germany, London, and Monte Carlo while she was filming, and to places like Spain, Kenya and Italy when vacationing with friends.

PastedImage-30674 AP / George Brich AP / George Brich / George Brich

Pictured here, Hefner leaves in his Mercedes-Benz limousine with the Playboy jet in the background.

PastedImage-74463

The Big Bunny was quite the crowd-pleaser, and people would often come to greet Hefner and his friends when they landed. According to Playboy, during one stop in northern Africa, a Moroccan sultan even catered a traveling beach party for them.

PastedImage-67550 Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises Courtesy of Playboy Enterprises

It flew the skies until 1975, when it was sold to Venezuela Airlines. It was used as a commercial airliner for Aeromexico until 2004. “It was a great toy and it was a great gift to give,” Hefner said. “When anyone asks me if I ever miss the plane, I reply, ‘Only when I fly.’”

-Written by 

Related: Playboy magazine – here’s what Ireland was really missing all those years

Read: This Playboy issue is the reason Google’s founders almost never do interviews

More: For many, Playboy was a glamorous rite of passage

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 23 comments
23 Comments
    Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:46 AM

Kelly will probably give a statement saying he is delighted with the ruling and everything is on target

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:16 AM

sure we’ll still get our hundred euro. god bless and protect em

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:04 AM

…lifted from the social welfare budget.

@PTTJ123: If most of the ‘customers’ refusing to pay is a ‘solid sstart’(tm), I wonder what canned phrase he’ll use for Eurostat not falling for their accountancy trick.

(Incidentally, this is the corrupt, unelected, european project we’re talking about here. Would anyone really be surprissed if somehow Irish water mirabulously passes the test??)

See 46 more replies ▾
    Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:44 AM

It’s been a unmitigated disaster.. Irish water has been borrowing money from banks at a far higher rate than the government would been . heads should roll.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:57 AM
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:00 AM

Ouch! Looks like the games up on the fast one that the govenment tried to play.

Guess eurostat saw the ‘conservation grant’ for what it was, a bribe and state intervention in financing a private company. Long may the negative headlines about this disaster continue, right up to the election.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:05 AM

What’s €500 million anyway? We give away €650 million in foreign aid each year. Cancel the foreign aid and we’re €150 million richer. Problem sorted.

Mute Coddler Rooney
    Favourite Coddler Rooney
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:20 AM

We are close to a significant victory here. Hundreds of thousands of ordinary working class people have stood firm against the continued looting of the country for the benefit of the capitalist and political elite.

Irish Water has been established as another mechanism through which the citizens are to be fleeced to pay for the systemic failure of speculative financial capitalism in 2008.

This is why our Troika ‘partners’ made it a condition of the bailout (stitch up) agreed with the FF/Green government in 2010. The IMF & ECB could not care less about maintaining and upgrading our water network and conservation which is the fairytale justification for the charges peddled endlessly by establishment. We could be all drinking slurry as far as Mario Draghi is concerned. What Mario is interested in though is the €1.2 billion + that the Irish citizens currently pay annually to run the water and sewerage systems.

If the water charges are successfully enforced, then this €1.2 billion annual revenue stream can instead be diverted to meet the repayments on Ireland’s ‘bailout’ loans (plus interest) used to directly cover private and illegitimate banking debt. In this way the EU & IMF gets to have the Eurozone banking system stabilized at the expense of the Irish people and we get to pay for the privilege through Water charges, Home tax, USC, vicious health, education and social support cutbacks, Pension levy and the extra 3 years added to our working lives etc etc etc.

It’s an ingenious neoliberal Catch 22 and we are the intended chumps. It’s time for the people to stand up now and refuse to allow the ransacking of the country to continue. Boycott the Water charge. Can’t pay. Won’t pay.
    https://www.facebook.com/WeWontPayTheWaterCharges

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:23 AM

Well said Coddler. If Irish Water goes down, everything changes.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:26 AM

End a’ Kenny, I’d say

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:45 AM

On the up side, Irish teachers get to find out what it’s like to chance their arm handing in shoddy homework…..scarlet for ‘em.
    The question now is….will they be sent to the back of the class or made to sit at the front and pay attention?

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:55 AM

@littleone …. any robbing our Pension Reserves as well …… never forget that!

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:39 PM

Heads role little one; are you kidding? but bonuses will be paid. Now those assuming that IW will fail are going on the assumption that Eurostat will be made of of honest folk, how likely is that?

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:32 PM

Noonan on the 1oc news: “irish water customers have received their bills and KNOW WHAT THEY HAVE TO PAY FOR THE NEXT COUPLE OF YEARS”. There’s the admission right there that prices will increase, most likely via a private owner if all had gone according to plan for this most incompetent of governments. And that’s saying a lot given the corrupt and incompetent governments we’ve had in the past.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:43 PM
    Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:57 PM

Maireben, fado, fado our Pension Reserve Fund stood at in excess of Twenty One Billion Euro. I believe that there is point four of a billion left. Under this magnificent stewardship we should all be on the pig’s back in no time at all.

Mute Brendan Moran
    Favourite Brendan Moran
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:43 PM

Can we get a refund from Irish Water’s consultants Accenture ?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:38 PM

Property tax has gone towards setting up Irish Water…..

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:55 PM

What about his cronies getting jobs there, all we could hear from them during the last general election was shite about them putting a stop to it,lying fu**kers

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:20 PM

Delighted serves this government right. The greatest shower of gobeens ever to run this country. Alan Kelly should resign.

Mute Mark Mark
    Favourite Mark Mark
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:48 PM

Alan Kelly is an absolute pig.

Mute Mark Mark
    Favourite Mark Mark
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:55 PM

WELL WRITTEN CODDLER ROONEY – PLEASE EVERYBODY READ HIS ARTICLE AND SUPPORT. WE ARE BEING MADE IDIOTS OF. DO NOT PAY.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:11 PM

Hope Alan Kelly’s having a summer of sleepless nights.The dictator tactics wont work with the public.Bullyboy kicked back into his box!!

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:34 PM

Great post Coddler !!!

Mute Kieran Mc Dermott
    Favourite Kieran Mc Dermott
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:59 PM

The phrase ‘dead in the water’ springs to mind for this corrupt government, and it’s crony filled quango

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:27 PM

Good to see all those protests have worked.And of course the best protest of all,non-payment for a bill already paid for.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan

Ff fg labour have wrecked our country what a disaster and what a waste of money.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:38 PM

Dave, we’re not done yet. The ‘Irish Waters Irish Wake’ protest is 29th August, 2pm.

Tell everyone you know, bring everyone you can!

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:01 PM

Good ring to that ” Irish waters Irish wake “.
    Apparently the state broadcaster Rte has already announced the crowd numbers for the August protest,their saying 3-4 thousand but could go up or down depending on their parties polling figures.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:42 PM

Fantastic news though.!
    Eurostat are obviously a totally independent and impartial outfit, and have not succumbed to the political need of this government to cook the books, in order to facilitate a re-election budget.

Mute Local Public Banking
    Favourite Local Public Banking
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:09 PM

Accenture! previously Arthur Anderson….brought down for “Cooking the Books” for Enron..A leopard can’t change its spots

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:13 PM

No Sean…..the setup was so bad even they couldn’t get the square peg in the round hole without looking like chumps themselves……..I’d say they were completely stunned by the sheer incompetence of our pocket stuffing Ministers.

Mute Senator G Craughwell
    Favourite Senator G Craughwell
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:48 PM

Got that one wrong. The Minister will challenge the Eurostat findings they got it wrong he knows these things. It’s time to stop this monster & take it back to the drawing board. It’s an embarrassing mess.

Mute Senator G Craughwell
    Favourite Senator G Craughwell
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:52 PM

Thus is why ive asked for a recall of the Seanad. Itish Water had borrowed €850 million and has leave to borrow €2 Billion & now its all on the state. This craxy machine mudt stop & fast.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:52 PM

Absolute and utter lies being peddelled by peddler – sorry Coddler:

“In this way the EU & IMF gets to have the Eurozone banking system stabilized at the expense of the Irish people and we get to pay for the privilege through Water charges, Home tax, USC, vicious health, education and social support cutbacks, Pension levy and the extra 3 years added to our working lives etc etc etc.”

Again and again you have been provided with links to prove that you are simply wrong.

Again and again you have been told that:

“Ireland’s debt in 2006 stood at €43.7 billion and, at 25.1 per cent of gross domestic product or economic output, was then the second-lowest in the euro zone. By the end of this year, the debt is forecast to reach a little above €203 billion or 111 per cent of GDP. Large as that sum is, it is down from a level of €215.6 billion or 123.3 per cent of GDP at the end of 2013.”

“But as recovery gathers pace, the State is still saddled with the legacy of the crash in the form of an enormous national debt.
    The figures are very big indeed. They point to a rise of some €160 billion in the totality of Ireland’s general government debt since 2006, the year before the banking credit crunch which heralded the global crisis. More than €64 billion went into the banks, and only a small portion has been clawed back.
    The bulk of increased borrowing, however, was taken on to meet the costs of running the State day by day.”

Do you see that sentence above? That is why we have to pay Water charges, Home tax, USC, vicious health, education and social support cutbacks, Pension levy and work an 3 years .

Not for bank debt – but because we spend more than we take in, so we have to borrow and introduce the charges – you are beyond naive to think that even if IW fails – that so will the debt and somehow we will conjure up this money for the services that we want.

Get real. Seriously, people – get real.

It doesn’t matter who takes the reign – it really doesn’t matter.

It will all end up the same and that is that we will have to pay for what we want and what we need – not what we think we deserve.

Jul 28th 2015, 10:15 PM

Thanks for that Pat but I already pay for my water through taxes. Which bit of that do you not understand?

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:33 PM

You’re welcome Kerry – and you will be paying more taxes in the future for your water and for everything else – which bit of that do YOU not understand.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:44 PM

What do you do when your ESB rates increase Kerry – refuse to pay them? What about your car insurance? What about your SKY? What about petrol Kerry – when it was rising did you fill your car and do a runner? Of course not – your taxes Kerry are not enough, they maintain but are not enough to provide fresh, clean drinkable water to your home, investment is needed, we need to borrow that money and you will pay – directly or not, you will pay.

So don’t come here moaning in a year or two when it dawns on you that this is not a victory – it is a loss, a substantial loss, the real outcome will take a while to permeate through to you – but it will!.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:47 PM

politically it would be better if ye got the f*** out and don’t come back. that goes for most of the opposition too just looking to get a piece of the pie. Vote Social Democrats and Independants if ye want any sort of change here. SF as a minority yes but a majority is too much of a risk. No more of this s***.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:18 AM

Follow the money Senator G, it’s going into someones pocket. Panicky people make mistakes.

Mute Jon Culy
    Favourite Jon Culy
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:25 AM

Pat will you stop talking shite.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Jul 29th 2015, 1:47 AM

There would not be a problem if the ”Bums” had paid…..The ”BUMS” don’t want to pay for anything, ye are a disgrace, ye won’t pay so that the water infrastructure will be there for future generations.

BUMS AND LEECHING OFF OTHERS, YE MUST BE SO PROUD.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Jul 29th 2015, 9:13 AM

@patlyndo, when petrol cost rises, I’d get a more fuel efficient car, when ESB cost rises, I try and conserve energy. Likewise, if our debt has risen, we get a govt that doesn’t throw money down the frickin toilet at lissadel house and tax us more to pay their inflated pensions.
    Raising taxes and privatising everything isn’t the only option obviously

Mute Coddler Rooney
    Favourite Coddler Rooney
    Jul 29th 2015, 9:17 AM

Patlyndo,
    Enough of your macro economic drivel please. It’s I that have had to explain many many times to you and your fellow travelers that:

Our total government debt was about €47 billion in 2007, the second lowest in the Eurozone standing at around 25% of GDP and we were running a budget surplus in the 5 previous years.

See here:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/protester-block-fingal-councillors-1929626-Feb2015/
    And here:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-debt-saving-1687175-Sep2014/

We have moved from this position to owing the monstrous sum of €215 billion in 2013. The main reason for this is that the true cost of the bank bailout is over €110 billion and most of it has been added to the national debt.

The National Pension Reserve Fund and general exchequer fund were raided for €17.5 billion and transferred to the European Financial Stability Facility & Mechanism (EFSF&M) funds. The EU then generously allowed us to borrow €67.5 billion from the EFSF&M which we are paying back with interest. €64 billion of this has been used directly cover private and illegitimate banking debt. In this way the EU gets to have the Eurozone banking system stabilized at the expense of the Irish people and we get to pay for the privilege via the interest we pay on the debt. This does not include the €32 billion also borrowed that we have pumped into NAMA to indirectly prop up the banks by taking the bad commercial property loans off their books. Adding the 3 figures together (17.5 + 64 +32) gives a total cost of around €113 billion and counting for the bank bailout so far. Most of this money has been borrowed and the interest payments make up a major component of our current annual budget deficits.

It should be also be understood that most countries run a budget deficit most of the time and it makes perfect macro economic sense to do so. A sovereign currency issuing state (e.g. U.K) can sustain ANY size of deficit or debt once it is denominated in the domestic currency. The “debt” and any interest is paid via simple keystrokes at the central bank.

It’s only the Eurozone countries that are required to borrow their own currency in the market at an interest rate determined by the market. Fiat currency issuing nations like the U.S and U.K do not need to obtain dollars and sterling from the bond markets to finance a budget deficit or indeed to cover private banking debt in the domestic currency. When they do choose to issue government bonds the primary objective is to implement monetary policy (e.g. drive their chosen base interest rate to target) not as a necessity to raise revenue. In addition, when those countries do ‘borrow’ in the market, they effectively decide what the yield/interest will be unlike the Eurozone nations subject to the tender mercy of the speculators.

In contrast, the Euro single currency was deliberately designed to allow speculative financial capitalism to profit massively from member state sovereign debt as monetary policy is now in the hands of the ECB who impose destructive neoliberal economics on the citizens with the assistance of member state puppet governments including our own FG/Labour quislings and FF before them.

The Austerity program imposed by the Troika and 2 successive governments achieved exactly what it was designed to do. That is to slash the social support structures like Health and Education and drive down the wages, working conditions and living standards of ordinary people to pay for the economic crisis caused by the capitalist elite. Privatization of our national infrastructure like the water network will follow soon as per the old IMF playbook if we allow it to happen.

To justify austerity, they peddle the economic fairy tale that nations need to ‘balance the books’. This is nonsense in a macro economic context. Most countries run a budget deficit most of the time and always have done. Vicious austerity is applied to the people of Ireland, Spain, Portugal and Greece while in contrast under the QE programs, the ECB has created €1.4 trillion in reserves by pressing keys on its shiny computer in Frankfurt and made it available at extremely low interest rates to the parasite banks whose greed and stupidity triggered the economic crisis in the first place. Austerity is only for the little people you see.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:37 AM

Coddler –

“Our total government debt was about €47 billion in 2007, the second lowest in the Eurozone standing at around 25% of GDP and we were running a budget surplus in the 5 previous years.
    See here:”

It was a structural deficit:

“Structural and cyclical deficits are two components of deficit spending. These terms are especially applied to public sector spending which contributes to the budget balance of the overall economy of a country. Deficit spending, or simply deficit, is defined as over-spending: the amount by which spending exceeds revenue over a particular period of time. The total budget deficit, or headline deficit, is equal to the sum of the structural deficit and the cyclical deficit (or surplus/es).”

We were overspending, what part of that do you not get?

“We have moved from this position to owing the monstrous sum of €215 billion in 2013. The main reason for this is that the true cost of the bank bailout is over €110 billion and most of it has been added to the national debt.”

Half true. We went from 47 billion deficit to 215 billion – we borrowed 65 billion for the banks, the rest of the debt is due to borrowing to meet the overspend.

“This does not include the €32 billion also borrowed that we have pumped into NAMA to indirectly prop up the banks by taking the bad commercial property loans off their books. ”

SImply untrue – Here is the real facts from NAMAWINELAKE:

“NAMA initially funded itself by issuing €32bn of bonds to buy €74bn of loans from the banks. In addition, NAMA received investment of €51m from three “independent” institutions and it received a loan of €49m from the Department of Finance which it has since repaid. In NAMA’s case, its initial funding from all sources was €32.1bn.”

NAMA received a loan of 49 million, the 32 billion you keep bleating about was not borrowed, it was issued in NAMA bonds to the banks in return for the toxic loans. IT HAS REPAID THAT LOAN.

So the true cost of the bailout is 65 billion – you rightfully say our debt increased ot 215 billion – the biggest chunk of that was money borrowed to service the deficit and continue borrowing to pay PS pay, pensions, SW etc…..

You are peddelling lie after lie:

“Adding the 3 figures together (17.5 + 64 +32) gives a total cost of around €113 billion and counting for the bank bailout so far. ”

LIE. We didn’t borrow 17.5 billon, we didn’t borrow 32 billion, we borrowed 64 billion.

“Most of this money has been borrowed and the interest payments make up a major component of our current annual budget deficits”

LIE.

Most of the money was borrowed to cover the deficit and for day to day spending.

The interest payments for the bailout are about a 1/4 of the annual interest costs of the National Debt – we pay approximately 8 billion to service the national debt and approximately 2 billion is for the bailout.

Get real and stop peddelling your lies.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 11:16 AM

Ross, would you get the more fuel efficient car for nothing? ESB: You can conserve all you want – but you still pay for what you use.

Our debt has risen due to massive overspending in the years prior to the bust, you know, from all the SW increases, the pension increases, the PS pay increases – you know – throwing money at the problems instead of resolving them.

Thanks though, for a civil contribution. Rare in these parts I can tell you.

Mute Coddler Rooney
    Favourite Coddler Rooney
    Jul 29th 2015, 3:33 PM

Patsy,
    You truly are a deluded twit.

What exactly do you think the NAMA bonds are? Do you imagine that NAMA suddenly magicked €32 billion into existence?

The NAMA bonds are government guaranteed securities. It was Euro denominated money borrowed by an agency of the state which needs to be repaid with interest by the Irish State and so is ultimately paid from the resources of the Irish people.

Now to the most important part which I’ll try to explain to you again in very simple terms.

A sovereign currency issuing state (e.g. Britain) cannot “overspend” in a currency it creates at will. The deficit whether structural or otherwise is irrelevant. The national debt and interest due is paid via keystrokes at the central bank. You need to try and grasp this. Britain has NO need to borrow its own currency from ANYWHERE. It issues that currency at will. Britain can sustain ANY size of national debt or deficit once it is denominated in sterling.

The only reason that Ireland’s budget deficit matters is because we are trapped in a currency union where we have ceded control of our money. If Ireland had a sovereign floating currency then our budget deficit would be of NO concern. We could never run short of Punts for day to day spending to run the health, education etc systems for example or to upgrade our water network.

The bank bailout would not have broken the nation as it would have been paid in a currency we create at will. This is how Britain funded its bank bailout which was bigger than Irelands (proportional to GDP) and yet did not bankrupt the U.K. Did you ever stop and think about this?

A sovereign Ireland could always afford to pay its state pension and social welfare bill. It would never have to take medical cards from terminally ill people in order to “balance the books”. It would never be required to balance those books. Ireland could of course still face real resource constraints e.g. energy or skills shortages but would never face a financial shortfall. Is any of this sinking in Pat?

Now Pat, you need to be asking yourself which class benefits from Ireland’s membership of the Euro monetary straitjacket. I’ll give you a clue. It’s not the working class.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 7:59 PM

“Patsy,
    You truly are a deluded twit.
    What exactly do you think the NAMA bonds are? Do you imagine that NAMA suddenly magicked €32 billion into existence?

The NAMA bonds are government guaranteed securities. It was Euro denominated money borrowed by an agency of the state which needs to be repaid with interest by the Irish State and so is ultimately paid from the resources of the Irish people.”

No, no, no, no, no and no again, you said that NAMA “borrowed” 32 billion, ,let me explain it to you again.

NAMA issued 32 billion worth of bonds for 74 billion worth of loans from the 5 banks. They were Goverment backed bonds.

As NAMA sells the loan books, it repays the bonds. By 2016, 80% of the bonds will be repaid .

The writedown from the loan books totalling 74 billion and the NAMA was a loss taken by the borrowers.

“The only reason that Ireland’s budget deficit matters is because we are trapped in a currency union where we have ceded control of our money. If Ireland had a sovereign floating currency then our budget deficit would be of NO concern. We could never run short of Punts for day to day spending to run the health, education etc systems for example or to upgrade our water network.”

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.
    http://www.theirishstory.com/2011/01/25/life-and-debt-%E2%80%93-a-short-history-of-public-spending-borrowing-and-debt-in-independent-ireland/#.VbkhJCvF9QA

So Irelands deficit only matters because we are trapped in a union. You are embarrassing yourself now.

“Debt crises are nothing new in Ireland. Indeed, one could go back as far as Jacobite state’s bankruptcy in 1689, when James II’s supporters had to melt down cannon to produce more brass coins.[1]

This article however, will confine itself to the borrowing and debt history of the Irish state, south of the border since 1922.

The polity known initially as the Irish Free State and since 1948 as the Republic of Ireland has had three major episodes of debt crisis since its foundation. The first came right at the start in 1923-24, when the costs of, and damage done by the Civil War very nearly crippled the new state at birth.

The second was a long drawn out period of rising debt and huge public borrowing that lasted roughly from the late 1970s until the mid 1990s. The deficit here was caused in part by the world oil crises, but to a much greater extent by very large increases in public spending designed to trigger economic growth.

When the economy did not grow as expected, public finances were left with a massive gap between what they spent and what they took in in taxes. Repaying this debt and even the interest on repayments placed a huge burden on Irish taxpayer throughout the 1980s and had a lot to do with poor economic performance and massive emigration of that period.”

Sooooooo, in the 80′s we had a massive deficit – caused by?

What happened? Massive taxes on the people, real hardship, interest rates on mortgages – in double digits.

The deficit always matters, always.

“The bank bailout would not have broken the nation as it would have been paid in a currency we create at will. This is how Britain funded its bank bailout which was bigger than Irelands (proportional to GDP) and yet did not bankrupt the U.K. Did you ever stop and think about this?”

The bank bailout did not break this nation, the massive overspending, the bloated PS, the super dooper Social Welfare payments and the add ons and the more than generous PS pensions that cost the employee of the state ZERO – broke this nation.

” A sovereign Ireland could always afford to pay its state pension and social welfare bill. It would never have to take medical cards from terminally ill people in order to “balance the books”. It would never be required to balance those books. Ireland could of course still face real resource constraints e.g. energy or skills shortages but would never face a financial shortfall. Is any of this sinking in Pat?”

No Coddler – Soverign Ireland BORROWED to pay the State Pension and the sw bill.

Mute Patrick O' Brien
    Favourite Patrick O' Brien
    Jul 29th 2015, 8:56 PM

Hahahahaha, can honestly say i’m dissappointed with only 77 ”BUMS” reaction to my post….

The rest must be minus a backbone, or just ashamed of themselves..

MONKEY SEES MONKEY DOES…….LAMBS TO THE SLAUGHTER HOUSE,..

Jul 28th 2015, 8:00 AM

What a total mess they have made of this revenue raising utility.

Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:22 AM

Hppefully one of the final nails in both the governments and quangos coffin

Mute Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Eochaidh
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:30 AM

Irish Times now reporting Eurostat decision – that Irish Water must stay on State’s balance sheet.

What a disaster for the Government.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:42 AM

The fallout from this will be interesting. Will they push the people harder to pay up, or will the back off?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:45 AM

John they have tried scare tactics, bribes even the threat of income/ welfare attachment orders.Seems not to have the desired effect.

Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:50 AM

I get what you’re saying, but they now have the legislation in place to deduct bills and fines from PAYE workers wages and social welfare recipients allowance. Will they now enforce it?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:52 AM

John true they have the legislation in place but first the debt has to exceed €500 and requires a court appearance to enforce it.Should make for interesting reading when people are brought to court to enforce a contract they did not sign up to.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:56 AM

Just call The General Election please and put this joke of incompetency of Government & Irish Water , out of its duel misery ???

Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:02 AM

Thanks Norman, i didnt know about the €500 and the court appearance. Are they capable of doing anything right- they couldn’t even get the legislation right for themselves! What a joke

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:04 AM

And this will be their eventual to privatise it

Mute Coddler Rooney
    Favourite Coddler Rooney
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:19 AM

As Norman says, Irish Water can’t take people to court until a minimum of €500 is outstanding which won’t occur until 2017 at the earliest. It also takes 2 court appearances to apply an attachment order to earnings, pensions etc. The judicial system would grind to a halt if they attempted to process the hundreds of thousands of people boycotting the latest banker tax.

All of the agencies of the state depend on the compliance of the vast majority of the population in order to function The bottom line is that the courts are not a viable option for the government to deal with mass civil disobedience. In this case the Irish people have refused permission for the ransacking of the country to continue under the guise of water charges.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:11 AM

IW has failed, the pay off retirement home for unelectable Eu lackeys has disappeared. All of a sudden there is a massive increase in borrowing when it’s obvious that the taxpayer will be paying. This is a smash and grab folks, we are being systematically robbed. There is no “black hole/bottomless pit”, there is only peoples bank accounts. All this money goes somewhere, remember that.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:42 AM

true Norman and it’s two court cases per person, and if you’re on the dole they can only take a tiny amount, another total waste of money, get the judiciary involved and all the associated costs to retrieve a couple of Euro. this is the govt at its finest, any wonder the country ended up in such a mess with people like that in charge.

Mute Veronika Hladová
    Favourite Veronika Hladová
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:51 AM

“Irish Government water”

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:54 PM

Cant wait to hear Kelly’s next threat for non compliance.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:23 PM

I’m predicting nelson will use a wedgie based system of some sort.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:50 PM

And now to top my day there is a picture of bird brain on the article.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:52 PM

* sorry that’s pretty nasty remark to compare birds with that person. Apologies….

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:15 PM

If you’re going to compare him to a bird Kerry, try a pelican. Cos they can both stick their bills up their ar$e…..

Jul 28th 2015, 9:28 PM

More like an albatross Connolly bad luck for all.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:43 PM

Murphy back from ‘fixing’ Greece??

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:28 AM

it may have been leaked/released that there’s 46% compliance, that’s just another spin on the true figure, which is way lower. can someone in this bloody government just tell the truth, just once?

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:23 AM

Or can journalists do a bit of digging to find out the real figure.. I’m sure the real figure is down around 15-20%

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:29 AM

The actual figure is much closer to 37%. Before the leaking of the figures, Irish Water were constantly using the figure of 1.7 million liable households in their public statements. The leaked figures used 1.5 million households as the benchmark for calculations.

This means that they were either exaggerating the number of households liable for the payment and 46% is the real number or they’re understating the liable households now to massage the figures. I know which one my money is on.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:03 AM

You have a point there Jason, us well owners are on the not liable list yet we’re still on their customer list.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:05 AM

Don’t forget the 90,000 ghost houses which were billed and considered as customers even though no one lives in them.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:50 AM

Journalists digging?…..that would be a rare treat.
    Most are just reporters….reporting what they’re told to report.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:08 AM

in fairness, we get what we pay for and there a decreasing amount of money in journalism.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:55 PM

I really feel there is no journalist out there who will tell the truth.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:07 PM

they face the sack as it seems only one man signs the cheques and has form sacking journalists he does not agree with

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:34 PM

Gene Kerrigan does, and always did. His work on the beef scandal was magnificent. How soon we forget.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 29th 2015, 6:17 AM

Gene Kerrigan is the exception to the rule without a doubt, the only dissenting voice bar the phoenix magazine in this country lately

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:00 AM

What a mess up. Disaster.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:00 PM

So because of all the Sponges who won’t pay, IW will stay on the State’s books and our national debt will remain 0.2% of GDP higher than it should.

Well done chaps.

You’ve just made tax cuts and spending increases harder for future governments.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:08 PM

Who won’t pay twice, you mean….

See 117 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:18 PM

Water services were paid for by some people contributing to general taxation. Now they’re paid for by charges. The “pay twice” argument is disingenuous nonsense.

Yet again it’s the law abiding citizen, who pays taxes and charges, that gets screwed over by the entitlement freeloader types.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:20 PM

“Water services were paid for by some people contributing to general taxation. ”

‘Some’ people?

Are you claiming that most people don’t contribute to general taxation?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:24 PM

Because of the government’s incompetence you mean wasting nearly a billion euros so far monkey man.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:24 PM

What taxes have traditionally been “allocated” to water services?

Motor tax?… only some people have motors.

VAT?…. a form of double taxation in itself. Do you have a problem with “paying twice” there? Should we all boycott VAT?

Does an elected government not have a constitutional right to allocate general taxation as it seems fit?

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:25 PM

You must be a fine gael politician with all the insults your throwing at the honest hard working people who refused to pay for this over inflated quango!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:30 PM

Poor diarmuid. Your posts today stink of desperation. None of them, conveniently enough, relating to the fact that the governments accounting trick has failed, theiir funding model has failed, and the money they’re borrowing to fund irish water is at a higher rate, and higher cost to the taxpayer, as a result of their incompetence.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:34 PM

Diarmuid,
    I’m starting to believe you really are a gorilla…take your beating like a good lad and move on…
    People 1, Fascists 0

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:38 PM

Deep breaths Diarmuid, you’ll live longer hahahahahaha :-)

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:40 PM

Can’t answer my questions I see…

The funding model has failed because of concessions made to the water protest movement in the cost of charges and in the effectiveness of enforcement measures.

The concessions were too much of a burden on the Irish State to pass the Eurostat test.

The Irish State, the Irish taxpayer, will ultimately suffer as a result.

The looney left set fire to a building, then now blame others for not putting it out.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:41 PM

If Diarmuid looks like Alan Kelly, talks like Alan Kelly then he probably walks like Alan Kelly but he is not prepared to use his own name.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:43 PM

“The Irish State, the Irish taxpayer, will ultimately suffer as a result.”

Uhhhhh that’ll be a nice change!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:48 PM

Actually diarmuid, the original person on this article ‘not answering questions’ is you. So we’ll try again…

Diarmuid:“Water services were paid for by some people contributing to general taxation. ”

‘Some’ people?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:48 PM

Damage the Irish State.

Damage the Irish taxpayer.

… all so the far-left ideology can be furthered.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:51 PM

Banker debt, NAMA, siteserv, IBRC, debt writeoffs for those who don’t need them, debt slavery for everyone else.

Yep, the right wing ideology is working a treat, isn’t it diarmuid?

Mute De Wit
    Favourite De Wit
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:54 PM

I get the distinct impression that Diarmuid is not happy, how long before himself, search eagle or that grogan idiot try to blame sf?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:57 PM

Any chance of an answer to my questions above?…

You may have missed the answer to the motor tax, VAT, general taxation point.

Do you like hurting the financial position of the Irish State? Or you just going to deflect…

I’m sure you’ll be the first person to complain when future governments have less room for tax cuts and welfare increases as a result of the anarchist self-entitled water protest movement.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:00 PM

Again, the original person asked a question was you.

Third time lucky, I’ll try again

Diarmuid:“Water services were paid for by some people contributing to general taxation. ”

‘Some’ people?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:02 PM

“Damage the Irish State.
    Damage the Irish taxpayer.”

You mean further damage to the Irish state and Irish taxpayer. Diarmuid, how many Left Wing governments have been in power in the last 20 years?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:49 PM

Diarmuid what did you think of the original IW tariffs the same ones that will be back on the table in a few years time?.

Did you ever stop to think that the original set up of IW was designed as a profit making machine to eventually be privatised?, only a party lapdog suffering from a severe bout of tunnel vision could or would say otherwise.

You’re dead right Diarmuid it is all about freeloading, government cronies freeloading off the already cash strapped populace.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:53 PM

Is that the “sponges” who have €770 billion stashed away in off shore tax havens??

Mute John Lennox
    Favourite John Lennox
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:57 PM

Forget about the right or wrong of Irishwater, this is important in that it means there is less hiding from the reality of debt in society.

There are a lot of people who think that we aren’t like Greece in many ways.

Nearly 1/4 of the loans in this country are non-performing.

No more hiding and that is a good thing.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:01 PM

Diarmuid, there’d be no bleedin problem if the govt would just admit IW was a mistake to begin with, disband the quango and return water provision to the councils.
    But no, the govt keeps plowing onward with this disaster wasting more and more money. The costs you complain about are the govt fault, not those who refuse to support IW

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:23 PM

..only sine people have motors? really? over 2 million vehicles actually – at rip off exorbitant rated of tax at that. A truck at €3400, and a car at €750 – 1800 a go. Do you want me to send you a calculator as well?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:29 PM

Hard to keep up with the Looney Left “pay twice” arguments.

Thought it was motor tax that paid for water? “Some” people, not all, have motors.

You “pay twice” with VAT, road tolls, TV licences… you going to boycott them too?

If you don’t accept a Government’s right to re-allocate/increase taxes in one area, then I guess you won’t accept when a Government reduces tax in another area.

Gonna refuse tax cuts now are you?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:34 PM

Still waiting for someone to explain to me why increasing our national debt is a good thing.

You want future Irish governments to have less money for tax cuts and spending increases?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:34 PM

PMSL!

Still asking questions but refusing to answer them.

You made an obviously false statement. But I can’t really blame you. When defending irish water and this government, dishonesty is the only tool you have left in the box.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:38 PM

and the FG Monkey has spoken,

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:43 PM

“You want future Irish governments to have less money for tax cuts and spending increases?”

Interesting approach, funny how p!ssing away hundreds of millions of euros on this failed quango didn’t seem to bother you that much. Your finger of blame is pointing in the wrong direction Diarmuid.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:48 PM

I haven’t always had a car I didn’t always have my own house however I always have a job and as such always paid my tax. I always had to buy clothes and food so the increased vat went to the water infrastructure, when I could afford one I bought a small car so then I started paying motor tax, of which some is going to the water infrastructure, finally after much saving I bought a house and I pay property tax of which some is directed to the water infrastructure. So by the process of elimination Fine Gael/labour and Irish water can kiss my peachy ass if they think they will be getting anymore money for their buddies from me. The afore mentioned quango and quango creators are finished. So say we all.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Good lad “For Connolly”

Can’t back up your “pay twice” BS.

Can’t explain why increasing Irish debt is good.

Can’t explain why damaging the financial position of Ireland is good.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:59 PM

“Can’t explain why damaging the financial position of Ireland is good.”

Right here’s an easy one, who got us into this mess we are in today:

A.The freeloaders?

B.The Left?

C.Fianna Fail,Fine Gael and The Traitor party?

D. Ancient Aliens?

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:00 PM

@Diarmuid Sometime you can be a right pain in the ass …… I did not pay because Irish Water, from the onset, was set up a a Quango. If it had been a STATE company it would have been different. No, dont start the argument that its a SEMI state because most of our SEMI states have been sold, or are in the process of, being sold to date. The Top Management at Irish Water were incompetent from the get go. They gave themselves huge salaries and bonuses but yet had only failures from their past and cronyism to get these jobs. The Alan Kellys and Phil Hogans of this country are just bullies. I dont bow down to bullies. I wont assist corruption in any form. Read my article http://www.fieldreview.wordpress.com. Please wake up.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:02 PM

Somebody put that ape in his cage…

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:14 PM

Diarmuid…explain this to me
    How does Edna get a 100k lump sum and a teachers pension of 30k a year on top of his gold plated politicians pension for working 4 years as a teacher?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:15 PM

Diarmuid I really don’t know why you are getting so worked up. Michael Noonan just said “there’s no crisis, there’ll be a surplus of between 1.2 and 1.5 billion” to buy the next election.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:18 PM

FG/Lab made a hames out of IW. Incompetent disaster. (so much for the government troll accusations folks?)

Here’s a novel thought though:

Make IW a success, take it off the State’s books, reduce Irish State debt, free up more money for tax cuts and spending increases.

Instead, we have the Looney Left Spongers willing to damage the financial position of Ireland and hurt the law-abiding citizens who have paid.

All for what? To chalk down a victory for the far-left political classes.

Mute David Phelan
    Favourite David Phelan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:22 PM

That be a C , C , C , all the way :)

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:23 PM

“Instead, we have the Looney Left Spongers willing to damage the financial position of Ireland and hurt the law-abiding citizens who have paid.”

Go away with your faux outrage, if you really cared about the citizens of this country you wouldn’t be on here cheerleading a government that cares little for it’s citizens. You’re full of crap
    Diarmuid but it’s nice of you to keep proving that point ;-)

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:24 PM

FG Monkey do you still get paid, even when your organ grinder is on holidays.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:29 PM

It’s real outrage.

Maybe one of you jokers can counter this point:

The Spongers who didn’t pay, have resulted in IW failing the Eurostat test.

As a result, Irish debt will be 0.2% of GDP over and above where it should be.

As a result, future governments have less room for tax cuts and spending increases for ALL citizens.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:31 PM

Something else you might like to think about here is the decades of mismanagement by Fianna Fail,Fine Gael and Traitor Party governments. All way before the complete mismanagement of Irish Water. So once again I must ask the question Diarmuid, how many Left Wing governments have we had in the last 20 years?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:32 PM

“It’s real outrage.”

Don’t make me laugh, you care nothing for the people of this country, your a Me Feiner, who supports a Me Feiner party with a Me Feiner ideology. You’re fooling nobody.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:33 PM

Have to laugh at the hypocrisy of the average reich-winger.

Apparently, Greeks deserve for their kids to be eating out of bins because an accountancy trick was pulled to get them into the Euro, but FG/Labour pulling accountancy tricks, which will actually cost the taxpayer more in higher interest rates, is an absolutely fantastic idea.

Spoofers, sleveens and sheisters.

Mute David Phelan
    Favourite David Phelan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:36 PM

That would be a C , C , C , all the way :)

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:38 PM

So… none of you jokers can counter that point then?

Suppose, it must hurt to know that your beloved water protest movement will actually end up hurting the Irish people financially.

(Nice insults btw, you’re getting more creative.)

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:41 PM

more like blueshirts and lick arses want to throw their money away let them pay, suckers.

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:42 PM

more like damage fine gael and their senior management team in Brussels

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

diarmuid, if you genuinely think that people not bothering to engage with your pathetic little strawmen is somehow you making a point that can’t be countered, then you are becoming as delusional as your beloved leader.

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:44 PM

Diarmuid go back to shredding application aka begging packs in your office in Talbot St theres a good lad.

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:44 PM

boom! well said!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:47 PM

So… nobody can counter that point?

Not even one of you?

Good lads, just keep the abuse rolling…

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:48 PM

Irish gdp is 0.2% because of Irish water. If the money wasted on Irish water was invested in local authority to fix their own water systems we wouldn’t be in this mess, we couldn’t have spent so much money tax payers money and we wouldn’t be having this conversation. Poorly conceived poorly executed and poorly delivered.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:50 PM

Incompetent government monkey man squandering all the taxpayers money when people are being made homeless and dieing in our hospitals due to wasting money on quango Irish Water have you no shame monkey man cheer leading for these shower of incompetents.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:51 PM

“Suppose, it must hurt to know that your beloved water protest movement will actually end up hurting the Irish people financially.”

Yeah because the Irish people only started hurting financially since the water protests started. Is that you Baz? :-)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:55 PM

diarmuid still thinks he’s making a valid point.

Well thats just adorable you big cuddly gorilla you.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:57 PM

Paul, I criticised FG heavily above. I regularly criticise FG. Some people do not support parties like cults. You should try it.

Robert, failing Eurostat test keeps €600million of debt on the State books EVERY year until it is resolved. Less money for tax cuts and spending increases EVERY year. At least you tried to counter my point above and didn’t engage in pathetic abuse.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:58 PM

I’ll counter your point.
    You lay the blame of the Eurostat test failure at the feet of the water charge protestors but you are incorrect.
    The govt saw the opposition to IW from the very start and still kept going. Even when it was clear a majority of Irish citizens rejected the quango of IW, they still forced it. Even when it was apparent that IW might fail the Eurostat test they still forced it. They never admitted that they might be better off to listen to the Irish people and disband IW and set up the utility in a fairer, cost effective way that the average Irish citizen would agree with.
    So the fault of the Eurostat failure lies at the feet of the pig headed govt who couldn’t listen to the Irish people.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:01 PM

The implementation of IW has been very unprofessional but the concept is correct. The inadequate water system in Ireland is costing over €1.4b per year and over 60% of this is lost through leakage.

If the left gets its way and IW is disbanded then how will the restoration of the water system be achieved?

Do we give it back to the councils who caused the problem?

Do we leave it as it is and build more reservoirs?

Do we allow over 60% of the treated water to be wasted through leakage?

Do we allow people to waste water washing cars and gardens not to pay for the additional water they are using?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:05 PM

@ powerabbey: Had you been on here calling for the billion wasted setting up a quango and tooling it up for privatisation, to instead being used to fix the leaks, your post might have some credibility.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:09 PM

@Powerabbey. Fair points.

Where do the left envisage the €1billion per annum needed for upgrades over the next decade will come from? Taxation?!

The idea of giving water services back to 40+ incompetent local authorises is frightening.

The Looney Left don’t have solutions, only an ideology which wins out over all.

The only policy they have is “No”.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:13 PM

Someone explain to FC that there is a difference between start-up costs for a new utility and annual costs for upgrades.

€1billion per annum needed for upgrades over the next decade.

The Looney Left would rather this comes from taxation, instead of funding from the markets.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:17 PM

Diarmuid is upset :) poor lamb

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:17 PM

How about setting up IW within the public service as a standalone body with say 3 regional branches, ie East, South and West/Northwest Diarmuid?.

Simple really 2 words profit and cronyism.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:18 PM

For Connelly / Jammin

As usual no answers just more questions. I know that SF/IRA are not policy driven but surely you can answer valid questions? It would be great of the €1bn could be used to stop water leaks but to build a system to do this WILL cost money.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:21 PM

diarmuid, can you do us a favour. Can you keep posting the phrase ‘looney left’ as much as you can. There seems to be a direct correlation between you doing so and the rate irish water is sinking.

Good lad.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:24 PM

Nah just trying to educate a bunch of disingenuous/delusional Looney Lefties.

Like playing handball with a haystack : )

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:28 PM

Like you’re not snapping right now. The tone of your posts say it all diarmuid. Can’t blame you, just another day running cover for the failures of this sham of a government.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:38 PM

Complete government failure…Alan Kelly should be sacked or is that Alan Kelly is a sack…not sure which…

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:40 PM

Your like the government no support but you keep on and on and on yawn.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:44 PM

FC you haven’t countered one of my arguments all day.

Maybe you’re just coming to terms with the fact that your beloved water protest movement will result is fewer tax cuts and spending increases for years to come. A bit ironic. A bit tragic.

So all you’re left with are sad little barbs…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:49 PM

“FC you haven’t countered one of my arguments all day.”

I didn’t beat up any toddlers either. Engaging your strawman arguments would be the online equivalent.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:51 PM

Yep the governments failure is everyone elses fault.

“Taoiseach why do you think Irish Water failed the Eurostat test? : “Fianna Fail”

“Diarmuid why do you think Irish Water failed the Eurostat test? : “Loony Lefites!”

Just saying like.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:51 PM

You don’t have any arguments, you elitist clown.

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:57 PM

Diarmuid, you need to read the article, there were 5 reasons given for failure, none of them mentioned low payment rates, the design of IW is what failed. Take a look at those reasons again, makes it very clear that the only way this entity will pass if it is fully privatised, which will mean bills of 800 to 1200 per year per household.

IW was a con trick that didn’t pay off!

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:58 PM

“I get the distinct impression that Diarmuid is not happy, how long before himself, search eagle or that grogan idiot try to blame sf?”

Oh no, this is a mess entirely of FG and Labour’s own creation. Instead of simply introducing water charges, they brought in a half-hearted, union-infested scheme and ballsed it up. The bright side is that they will now have no room to buy off people in the next budget with unnecessary social welfare increases and puffed up wages for the protected sectors.

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:03 PM

Power abbey, I see it’s 60% leakage now, when all this site started it was only 40% leakage and that was only announced as a leverage tactic, tell me, what has Irish water been doing to cause this extra 20% water loss, are they deliberately still giving misleading quotes or just damaging the infrastructure?

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:04 PM

@les i will answer for the monkey it is none, the loony right has brought us to our knees not a few people that has not paid iw, as michael said there is no crisis and michael and co are happy with iw. but they will use it against the people at the next budget we are being run by nasty petty dictators.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:04 PM

For Swap.
    Unwanted nearly new and never yet used plebiscite will swap for Irish constitutional referendum.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:09 PM

Good lad FC, you’re only good at disingenuous populist nonsense. Not capable of debate.

A simple concept for the rest of you… more people pay, the Eurostat test gets passed, we have more money for tax cuts and spending increases.

The Looney Left’s voters are ironically like slack-jawed US Republican voters… they buy into a silly ideology and end up voting against their own interests.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:14 PM

Diarmuid, who are the irish Government answerable to?

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:17 PM

Diarmud, here’s a simple concept for you, 5 reasons were given for it’s failure, none mentioned payment levels. If 100% paid it would still fail.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:17 PM

Diarmud, Remember the old truth…”Whenever you point a finger of blame at someone, three are pointing back at you”.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:18 PM

Diarmuid you’ve been trying to push that nonsense all day and nobody is buying it, give it up, you’re boring now.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:21 PM

Micheal Noonan has been quoted in the examiner “the failure of the euro stat test is deeply worrying and controversial for the government” the end is nigh

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:12 PM

Bigus – many thanks for your very articulate comment! You are setting a high standard.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:13 PM

Get rid of IW Diarmuid and a lot of problems are solved.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:41 PM

Diarmuid I take it you can’t read properly. Because if you could you would have read the reasons it failed. Not just because people won’t pay. But hey you think that if you want. Those that can read can see it was a number of reason’s. The government made a mess of this and that’s the facts.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:54 PM

Poor dermo. Spends the entire day blaming the ‘loony left’ for the eurostat fail only for the official report to be released and non payment is actually only a footnote in one of 5 points why it didn’t pass the test.

Classic!!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:01 PM

@diarmuid, just so you can sleep better the failure was put down to the fact gov control of appointees to the board, gov control of pricing models, non performing revenue streams
    now 2 out of 3 should give you your answer
    just don’t go ape!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:05 PM

“Poor dermo. Spends the entire day blaming the ‘loony left’ for the eurostat fail only for the official report to be released and non payment is actually only a footnote in one of 5 points why it didn’t pass the test.”

Hahahahahahahaha :-)

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:10 PM

I dont know why you’re whinging so much Diarmuid. This is all going to plan for the government. They will come back from their summer break and inform us that in light of Eurostat concerns, and the level of debts IW has incurred, they have no choice but to sell IW off. And of course to blame will be the “looney left”.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:15 PM

Point 5 does Mick.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:19 PM

Eh….

Point 4: “The lack of economically significant prices, concerning in particular the capping of fees for households” – a concession to the Looney Left.

Point 5: “The fact that the quantitive criterion is not met… further amplified by the high number of households not paying their bills”.

In black and white you jokers, have another read there.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:24 PM

PMSL!

So all of a sudden the 57% refusing to pay are the ‘looney left’.

No wonder you have your little gorilla knickers in a twist!! Roll on the general election in that case…..

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:25 PM

Any resignations yet? Kelly maybe?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:26 PM

Another for good measure:

Point 2: “a large majority of Irish Water staff remaining local government employees” – a key concession to the left wing unions.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:28 PM

ha ha diarmuid why not just wait for Kenny to back from his “holidays” and one of his sidekicks (ahem, fionnan Sheehan), sidekicks (ahem, ahem, hugh) will leak an explanation for you
    your logo should be a dog as your barking up the wrong tree, oh wait, maybe your right and just out of your tree!

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:30 PM

So you’re tired of trying to quote the European Commission statement back at me FC/Jamsy?

Good luck explaining to your compatriots why future governments will have less money to spend on tax cuts and spending increases.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:31 PM

Looks like Phil hogan won’t be turning out “water down to a trickle”.Him and Kelly have proven to be two politicians with huge contempt for the Irish public.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:36 PM

“birds of a feather stick together”, no matter how damaging it is to the exchequer

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:37 PM

“Good luck explaining to your compatriots why future governments will have less money to spend on tax cuts and spending increases.”

Easily done, successive Right Wing governments mismanagement, incompetence and corruption.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:47 PM

Diarmuid the only reason I log on here any more is to red thumb you. Seriously FG needs to review those it has apparently deems suitable to support their propaganda. It’s an epic fail I hope they are not using tax payers money for this….

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:20 PM

The only person being disingenuous here is you Diarmuid. Revenue collected from VAT and VRT is supposed to be directed to water services on top of the monies collected through PAYE. Here’s some bedtime reading for you

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1997/en/act/pub/0029/print.html

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:23 PM

good point Kerry, dermo you based in castlebar looking after a certain high profile village idiots face tube account paid for by the tax payer to the tune of 55k p/a?

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:59 PM

Diarmuid, I’ll bite again:

1. Considerable government control over Irish Water, in particular over board appointments:

In other words, jobs for the boys, huge pay packets huge pensions.

2. The fact that Irish Water merely re-organises previously non-market activity carried out by local government, with local government assets being transferred to Irish Water and a large majority of Irish Water staff remaining local government employees.

No effort was made to reform the system and make savings. The existing employees could have stayed where they were, local government could have introduced a modest charge for investment in infrastructure and all of this charge would have gone to that purpose, not padding out the pensions of above.

3. Significant and continuous government funding and support to Irish Water, mainly in the form of operational grants and capital funding.

It’s a semi-state, of course it gets government funding, the issue is with how it’s spent. Again see 1 above. However, we are beginning to see a pattern, privatisation beckons.

4. The lack of economically significant prices

This is not about improving infrastructure, it’s not about conservation, it’s a bout privatising water

5. sales must cover at least 50% of the production costs over a sustained multi-year period

commercial entities always paid for water, that must have gone a long way towards that 50% pre the bloated and expensive IW experiment. add to that the monies diverted from motor tax and vat and yes as a nation we always paid for water. Of course, IW has made the provision of water far more expensive, indeed some estimate at the current rates, even if everyone paid, the revenue collected wouldn’t cover the costs in collecting it. But as we know IW was created as an asset for sale.

so we could have saved the 100′s of millions spent on meters, the further millions spent on advisors, the on going cost of manning a call centre, the cost of a 100€ bribe for every home in the country. bloated pensions etc, and used the local government system as it was, charged a modest charge for water, kept water in public control and not privatised.

Borrowing could have been done on the books if needed, at a lower rate than IW are paying, which would be a further saving for the tax payer. We could have done all this, got more infrastructure repairs and upgrades for a lower cost, but instead FG/LB set up a quango with jobs for the boys, costs of billions with little or no repairs carried out, or planned. In fact infrastructure improvements will be at a lower level than if IW hadn’t been set up.

But that’s the FG way, pay more for less. Yet it’s the LEFT who are LOONEY!!!

Mute Sean Rattigan
    Favourite Sean Rattigan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:06 PM

Diarmuid,

Let me give you an answer, and perhaps you can return the compliment.

Increasing national debt is of course, not a good thing. Had Ireland joined with Greece, Italy, Spain and Portugal to seek a write-down of the BANKING debt, our national debt would not be a problem. As it stands, we are the SECOND-MOST-INDEBTED country per head of population, IN THE WORLD. If Kenny and Co. had any interest in helping our country and our people, they would have at least tried- but they didn’t. Why do YOU think they never bothered?

Why did they join Germany in kicking the Greeks and enforcing an agreement which has NO growth, but only indefinite debt which is unsustainable, even according to the IMF and every economist. Was that to our interest as well?

You also miss the point that IW was NEVER about fixing our water supply- it was, and is, about privatization of our water resources so that MNCs can cream off HUGE profits. If the government had any REAL interest in our water supply, they would not have cut funding to local authorities. They would have grants to install grey-water systems, and many other ways to conserve water. BTW, local authorities were meant to be funded by the property tax to pay for local essentials- this included water and I have an email from a government TD stating that “water is included”. A lot of the property tax was diverted to IW, as was about €500 in motor tax, and “other funds”.
    Water has always been paid for through PROGRESSIVE taxation. This government is decidedly REGRESSIVE.

Lastly, Stephen Donnelly has calculated that it is costing MORE to collect the money than could actually be collected. Given that IW have “customers” including dead people and many who never signed up, and they still estimate that they have ~70%, with a 43% payment rate this means about 30% of the population have paid. Many were duped and scared, and its still ridiculously low. The cost of IW being on the books relatively small. Scotland managed to SAVE money when they set up their utility. IW adds COST, with no efficiencies.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:17 PM

Agreed on that Sean,the most sickening part of fine gaels dealings with the Germans was their lack of empathy for the Irish public,or their lack of balls to do a deal with Germany to reduce our debt.The worst coalition in our nations history at at a time when we needed the best.History won’t be kind to them.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:31 PM

Well diarmuid because of the mess fg/lab made out of IW, with their lies and their wasting of hundreds of millions of taxpayer money so far the public have made a stand and now probably wont back down. Im not a sponger ,have worked all my life and will never pay IW in its present form. By the time the price freeze is lifted the govt will have wasted billions on Iw, that there is the real outrage and dumbasses like yourself are helping them waste far more money . You and those like you are worse than any spongers . If people in the govt thought more of providing proper services for the taxes they cream from the people and less about how to fleece us for more, or less of making life easy for their billionaire sponging friends this country would be a hell of a better place to live for everybody and not just the privileged few

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:03 PM

I think its time to give up Dermo you,ve had about 6,000 reds on this thread alone. Go home and get your banana.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:19 PM

“Increasing national debt is of course, not a good thing. Had Ireland joined with Greece, Italy, Spain and Portugal to seek a write-down of the BANKING debt, our national debt would not be a problem. As it stands, we are the SECOND-MOST-INDEBTED country per head of population, IN THE WORLD. If Kenny and Co. had any interest in helping our country and our people, they would have at least tried- but they didn’t. Why do YOU think they never bothered?”

Our national debt would always have been a problem – we had a situation where tax receipts fell drastically as a result of the housing bust, unemployment rose and we had increased public spending by an unsustainable amount – the banking issue came later.

Our problems did not start in 2008 – they started years before because of the policies of FF.

We had to accept the bailout because we could not fund ourselves – our debt was so large that we needed to borrow – we could only do so at hugely inflated interest rates.

Joining forces with Greece and Spain – when we clearly did not need to would have been disastrous for our borrowing costs, which have been reduced in the past couple of years.

The more stable the country and economy – the lower the costs of borrowing – it is that simple. We are not Greece.

“You also miss the point that IW was NEVER about fixing our water supply- it was, and is, about privatization of our water resources so that MNCs can cream off HUGE profits.”

So you think our water supply is fit for purpose? You would be in a very small minority, regardless of what you think, our water infrastructure has been neglected for decades – all the money went towards pay and pension increases – not towards the infrastructure and it badly needs investment.

We have to borrow that money and we have to try and borrow at a low cost – but – and here’s the but – why should other countries make loans to us at low rates – when their citizens pay for their water supply and most (not all as many thousands pay outside Dublin) people here don’t?

Same with PS pay and pensions – we borrow to pay these and Social Welfare and we borrow from other countries.

“Lastly, Stephen Donnelly has calculated that it is costing MORE to collect the money than could actually be collected.”

Absolutely agree – the model was wrong, but the principal remains, we will have to pay water charges, it may be direct or indirect – but we will have to pay.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:46 PM

Plenty of people are buying it Les,Diarmuid has the balls to speak out and tell it like it is. Good for him, pity that most of you are simply failing to listen and see this as some kind of victory – it isn’t.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:24 PM

You are actually Frank Feighan, aren’t you? Had any threats lately?

Mute Fidelma Ryan
    Favourite Fidelma Ryan
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:44 PM

who are you? Alan Kellys brother…his bf…his number one fan? get real! defending the indefensible..the utterly disgusting and totally corrupt quango that is iw

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:53 PM

it should be debated and questioned why theres failures on the board, in particular a councillor who left sligo council massively in debt, now circling €120million. This man
    http://www.thejournal.ie/outgoing-sligo-county-manager-will-be-paid-270000-lump-sum-on-retirement-1039881-Aug2013/

Also, Tierney on over €240k a year! What a joke, what a crooked game they play. All these facts and more has given power to to anti-water charge. Sorry, but ye dug yer own grave out of pure greed and we won’t let ye get away with it anymore until such time ye pull yourselves away from the pigs trough.

Mute Eoghan Hartery
    Favourite Eoghan Hartery
    Jul 29th 2015, 1:13 AM

Sorry Lad. So many comments here can’t get to the bottom to reply. Diarmuid profile pic. Is that really his pic or Enda’s pic. ???

Mute plato
    Favourite plato
    Jul 29th 2015, 4:02 AM

Water rates already paid 5%,motor tax and 2% PAYE .. irish water has burned over 500 million euro.. Not one pipe is fixed.. Where did that money go.. Staff, water meters? Or maybe “consultants”

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:40 AM

Why Rasher – did you send any? Isn’t that how you and your ilk roll, if you don’t like the truth then you bully, threat, insult and name call – isn’t that it?

Grow up.

Mute Marty Flood
    Favourite Marty Flood
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:01 AM

Can’t wait to hear Enda and co. defend this one.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:11 AM

The decision has already been taken. Irish Water and its debt remains in the national debt.

Taking the deficit off the books was just Goldman Sachs type trickery. It was the type of logic which was, well yes it is public debt but technically since Irish Water will be privatised and the citizens will be paying the water charges to a private company, we should be able to pretend that it is not national debt.

I would pay water charges if Irish Water was a statutory corporation, the rip off benefits and extortionate salaries were removed, the upper management positions filled by open competition and means testing brought in for affordability purposes, as well as proper conservation measures with a more expensive imposition on wealthier households.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:17 AM

Anthony, you’re leaving yourself wide open to abuse talking sense on here!!!

Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:33 AM

Well said Anthony. I am on a private group scheme and have no problem contributing €2 20 pa for the past 8 years. I wouldn’t give a cent to acknowledge the existence of this quango though. I’d do time first

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:35 AM

Trevor, I think you’ll find the majority on the Journal would have had no issues paying for water charges had Irish Water been set up right.

Instead it has been a closed-doors clusterf//k which stinks of corruption and incompetence. Why would anyone pay a company which so blatantly is a retirement home for failed politicians and DoB’s obvious next acquisition?

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:46 AM

“Taking the deficit off the books was just Goldman Sachs type trickery.”

It was a good idea to give the government more breathing room. The government messed it up by not sufficiently charging people. The choice is now clear, the operation and maintenance of the water network should be tendered out to the productive sector, rather than persisting with a bloated, union-infested mess. The only reason I support Irish Water is as a vehicle to access funds to invest in our crumbling water network that countless governments and inept local authorities presided over. That possibility now seems to be gone.

The upside is they’ve now lost the fiscal room to puff up social welfare and lobby group pay offs. So there’s a bright side to everything.

“but technically since Irish Water will be privatised and the citizens will be paying the water charges to a private company”

Irish Water is a public company.

Mute John Shaft
    Favourite John Shaft
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:47 AM

The money wasted on it so far should be deducted from their pension fund. Let them pay for their errors

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:53 AM

Well Said Anthony Lang. I want the toxic Quango to go. I want all the wasters at the top to go…. never to be seen again in anything that my hard earned double taxed money contributes to. Semi States can be sold off at the drop of a pen or brown envelope or off shore account. Look at Aer Lingus, Bord Gais, ESB ….. no semi state is safe. I thought that the Competition Authority would not allow Monoplies any more ….. where is the competition to Irish Water?????? I long for the day when Karma get Kenny, Kelly, Hogan, Tierney and that lying witch ‘I was just doing my job’ Arnett. I hope that I am around to enjoy it!

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:59 AM

“Semi States can be sold off at the drop of a pen or brown envelope or off shore account. Look at Aer Lingus, Bord Gais, ESB ….. no semi state is safe.”

Even with the IMF in place, we privatised nothing. In any case, the infrastructure parts of those companies weren’t sold off, only the operations, and it has broadly been for the better.

“my hard earned double taxed money”

What do you mean double taxed? Is motor tax a “double tax”?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:04 AM

A stroke of pen in this case Search Eagle would be political suicide and they know it.

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:37 AM

Ahh that’s a little unfair to list those tossers you mentioned. … and leaving out iPhone / moan Joan. She must be cold… out there all alone.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:49 AM

You are right Bobby Connolly ….. I forgot iphone Joan the Moan ……. now back to building that Guillotine …. knitting needles at the ready

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:18 AM

Search eagle. What about the money that Irish water was borrowing from banks at a higher rate than the government would have been. This is a shambles , that has cost more than it should have. Now if this is true , its back in the government balance sheet but with loans with a higher interest rate. It’s a disgrace and incompetence of the Highest order. If their is any one with a mediocre sense of shame. Then resignations should be forthcoming but hey this is Ireland where government reward incompetence.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:57 PM

search eagle- productive sector? the same one we’re bailing out?

Mute Dena Craddock
    Favourite Dena Craddock
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:46 PM

Couldn’t agree more Anthony Lang. I don’t mind paying to upgrade the water system, but then again I WAS paying – it was just going to local government- and that’s where it should be going imo. There needs to be more oversight on local government to make them more accountable/efficient. I also think the Social Democrats are right to scrap water taxes. The tax take is higher now anyway than when IW was set up. Where all that extra tax is going is what I would like to know.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:06 AM

get ready for the lies and spin. YFG will be out in force here today

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:12 AM

They’re all exhausted after the sex articles on the journal last night ..

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Favourite Darren Mccarthy
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:51 AM

How long will it be before we hear of the sinister elements. Once IW gets any bad publicity the media kick into gear about the sinister elements. Bet they will be deflicting this bad news with stories of phone calls and on line abuse. Which i don’t in anyway agree with.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:19 AM

Gov and EU masters still in shock that Ireland woke up a little from its deep slumber. We rolled over and played dead for so long they thought it would be a piece of cake know they have to figure out how to push their big water scam through before the election especially now Catherine Murphy has promised to abolish the vile entity. Don’t worry John Tierney they’ll find something for you to do.

Mute Alex McDwyer
    Favourite Alex McDwyer
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:18 AM

I laughed and then cried reading that because they will slot poor John in somewhere he can do even more damage that’s the reward for failure for the select few in this country at the moment.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:33 AM

He’ll be installed as the next head of Rehab.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:03 AM

The incompetence of this government just knows no bounds!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

It would seem that the €100 bribe has ensured the hated quango stays on the books.

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:07 AM

One of the biggest clusterfooks ever!

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:14 AM

What will Enda do next?

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:24 AM

Blame FF, say something about the IRA then run for cover.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:14 AM

Next?……..why he’ll be meeting families of four on the streets who’ll tell him where to get off………but he’ll admonish them because right in front of him they’re eating 99′s on a sunny day which could pay for two weeks water and the journalists will report it as true.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:02 PM

@al so funny and true except for the sunny bit.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:21 PM

on that family of 4 it will only be the 2 kids with 99s on street, mammy is in shop filling a trolly with wine and daddy is in pub with a pint in each hand..

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:26 PM

and aa for the sunny bit, those who are really fleecing the country are visiting the sun and their portions of the €770 billion hidden on Caymans, Antigua etc..

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:40 PM

sure endas only another apparition from telling us god told him to set up iw.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:48 PM

M Bowe thanks for the laugh, so funny.

Mute Bob Beaman
    Favourite Bob Beaman
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:54 AM

It’ll be interesting to see how the sankes in Gvot. can slidder and slide out of this one. If you remember correctly, getting IW off the balance sheet was the single most important issue in setting up IW in the first place. This was truly an atomic cluster fück….

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:46 AM

The people don’t want Irish Water and now Eurostat says it has to stay on balance sheet. This has major implications for the budget which will put the government in a very difficult situation.

Will Irish Water be abolished?

Will Enda resign?

Will Alan Kelly resign?

Or will a general election be called?

I’d like to think all the above, but I would worry what the government’s next move will be as they attempt to save themselves.

Mute MGrey
    Favourite MGrey
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:57 AM

Kelly has to resign….water, housing and wasting public money to buy votes. Adios AK47!

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:41 AM

Minister for bullying and threats Alan Kelly is just far too pig headed to back down, we’ll get the usual spin about improved infrastructure and conservation and all that blah while conveniently ignoring the real reason for IW was profit and cronyism.

Jul 28th 2015, 9:46 AM

A minister to take responsibility for the disaster he helped create and resign? Will never happen.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:56 AM

#AngryAlan didn’t have to leap into Phil Hogans chair, poiltically it was a no brainer, leave the mess to FG to sort out, but he did and now the chickens have come home to roost.
    The gamble hasn’t paid off, there’s a price to be paid, and in any other country it would be paid by a resignation.
    But the great promised change in the way politics is done hasn’t materialised and of course it won’t happen.
    Labour will find out that they might not have changed but the people have.
    Roll on a general Election.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:19 AM

These guys will not resign………they see the citizens as the enemy.(never thought I’d ever say something like that and it not be an exaggeration)

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:18 PM

the answer is no to all those questions.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:00 PM

Enda is running around pulling his hair out screaming to whoever will listen. Fix it fix it haha

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:01 AM

I think those that payed will loose out. The €100 will be pulled… Game set and match to the Austerity beaten Irish ;)

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle

“I think those that payed will loose out.”

Those that paid should be furious. Perhaps not paying your taxes is the way to go. Maybe the ~5% of taxpayers who pay ~50% of our income taxes should stop paying and watch as the system collapses.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:10 AM

I’d like that. Force the state to become a sustainable economy instead of the ponzi scheme it is now.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:56 PM

Not paying your taxes has been the way to go for the super rich and big business. If the corporation tax was properly paid we would have billions extra. se cant stand that the people have finally stood up to lies, cronyism and corruption.He is a me-feiner who actually thinks kenny is the Great Leader.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:44 PM

@Derek
    “Not paying your taxes has been the way to go for the super rich and big business. If the corporation tax was properly paid we would have billions extra. se cant stand that the people have finally stood up to lies, cronyism and corruption.He is a me-feiner who actually thinks kenny is the Great Leader.”

I don’t know what “properly paid” means. The overall amount of corporation tax actually collected by the government is just under the headline rate.

I disagree with your contention that not paying taxes is the sole preserve of “the rich”, it is endemic throughout all layers of society… finding ways to dodge the tax-man or an excuse not to pay a charge. In any case, “the rich”, as defined by the left, generally pay for everything in this country. 22% of the income pays 55% of the income tax. We have one of the most progressive tax systems in Europe.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:36 PM

It is the rich in the first place who own these politicians who in turn make up new legislation to suit their needs. You see at this stage se its not only Irish water anymore its nearly everything.Please answer the following questions as truthful as you can. Do you support blatant liars ? Do you agree on spending nearly a billion euro on iw without 1 pipe been fixed? Here,s my main question though, can you not see the genuine anger and hatred there is for this govt now after all the promises that have been broken? B”y the way you might be right when you say “not paying taxes is the sole preserve of the rich” but what do you expect when the average joe soap see the elite getting away with it. I think you are wrong on the corporation taxes too.Some companies pay nowhere near the proper rate.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:14 PM

Let me ask you this Derek – who or what entity is going to do this and where are they going to get the money:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/water/irish-water-crisis/25-years-for-irish-water-just-to-fix-leaking-pipes-31004435.html

“IT will take a quarter of a century for Irish Water to reduce leakage to “acceptable levels” and at least a decade to remove dangerous lead piping from the public mains.”

“It says Irish Water is still compiling a database of treatment plants at risk of failure; does not know the number of properties at risk of flooding from overloaded sewers; and outdated treatment plants are causing almost 150 pollution incidents every year.”

“Head of Asset Management at Irish Water, Jerry Grant, told the Irish Independent last night that €600m a year was needed for the foreseeable future to bring the network up to standard.”

“A huge amount of work is going on to get the projects in place. We’re looking to spend at least €5.5bn between now and 2021, which includes €1bn for two big Dublin projects – a new supply and wastewater scheme.
    “I think €600m (a year) is a base figure as far as the eye can see. There’s never really been an appropriate level of funding,” Mr Grant said.”
    One of its major priority projects is the reducing of leakage rates, which currently stand at 49pc – meaning almost half of all water produced is lost.
    The plan is to bring this down to 38pc by 2021 and to an “economic level” of around 20pc by 2040.
    It also proposes prioritising works at treatment plants currently at risk of failure. Almost one-in-three households source their drinking water from these plants.
    Pollution incidents from wastewater treatment plants will be reduced from 149 a year at present, to 75 by 2021 and 20 by 2040.

“Local authorities were reliant on the Exchequer for the bulk of their capital and operational funding. Capital funding rarely met the levels required, especially over the last 30 years, when EU standards drove the need for massive investment … more seriously, operational budgets made only very limited provision for assets maintenance and even less for planned maintenance to preserve design capacity.”

The infrastructure has been massively underfunded for decades, it is in total and utter ruin and will take decades and billions to resolve.

We do not have the money to do it, we have to borrow it, this is why todays news is not a win, it is a loss as these problems won’t simply vanish into thin air.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:38 PM

And they constantly criticize Coddler for the length of his posts!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:20 AM

At least Coddler calls them out on ineptitude unlike Patlyndo who tries to hide or ignore the corruption at the heart of everything this Government does….some folk just don’t care about right or wrong as long as they are stuffing their own pockets.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:42 AM

As per usual Rasher – fail to address the points, merely insult. Why don’t you surprise us and tell us where the money for investment is going to come from – or is a case that “I’m all right Jack” f u and your lot.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:47 AM

Indeed – in Coddlers world we can magic away the debt – wipe our own slate clean and start again, if only it were that simple.

We had bigger problems in the 80′s Al Ca – people paid massive taxes, ask anyone who worked in this country at that time.

We have politician after politician making nice promises and as soon as they are in it changes – why is that eh?

Because we are not out of the woods yet and we have major problems in this country.

As long as the electorate keep falling for promises that cannot be delivered – we will end up having the same arguments. Goverments will come and go – our debt and underlying problems won’t until they are properly addressed.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:39 PM

I worked in the 80′s Patlydo….58% tax rate……..and as bad as it was a man could go out to work and afford a home for his family. Now it takes two working parents to get on the property ladder, never mind caring for kids.
    The problem at the heart of it all is corruption and cronyism.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 8:03 PM

Fully agree Al Ca – you should read up on Elizabeth Warren, but the problem at the root of it is property.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 8:05 PM

Oh and I had to leave the country in the 80′s to find work. The major difference between this crisis and the 80′s is debt, mortgage debt, personal loans – we had nothing in the 80′s – not even that debt.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:26 AM

Ohh ahhh umm the case for privatisation will be coming soon the murmurs first then the media on board the scaremongering the what can we do then the debate to let people think there is some reluctance on part of our corporate puppet government. Then a late night privatisation bill. The weakened demoralised Irish accept it the looting continues. After that the farmers are up for the sledging as the corporations eye up their small farms I think about 5 or six big farms will do it . Privatise everything the unwashed need to survive they will pay or they will just wither out eventually. Economic Darwinism the survival of shittest . Facism Is shit thats why people fought it in ww2 . We wouldn’t say boo to a ghost now the clock ticks on .

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:22 AM

And that’s another fine mess from the laurel and hardy coalition

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:06 PM
    Mute David Wall
    Favourite David Wall
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:15 AM

Take a bow Hogan, Tierney, Kenny, Kelly et al, bravo. A Fine Gael inspired own goal, can’t exactly blame anyone else but themselves, auf wiedersehen Irish Water, bualadh bos Eurostat.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:53 AM

Eurostat even kicked the can down the road for the government for months now and they still couldn’t get it right. The problem with this government is, it believes it’s own bullshit, Bahahahahahahaha :-)

Mute kilmoremick
    Favourite kilmoremick
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:59 PM

It was the government that imposed this extra tax burden on the on the people
    It was wrong from the start, Lets stay strong and put this wrong to bed.
    Cant wait for the ELECTION ,

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:49 PM

An election will just give FG even more of a majority. Be careful what you wish for.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:56 PM

PMSL! Down how many % in last years election compared to 2011?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:01 PM

FG will be the cornerstone of the next government. The real question is who they’ll choose to partner with.

My money is on Sinn Fein.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:05 PM

Priceless. Were you the fella ringing enda to tell him how much extra money was in your paypacket?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:11 PM

Can’t see them going in with SF.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:14 PM

SF have stated they will not go into government as a junior partner.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:24 PM

“FG will be the cornerstone of the next government. The real question is who they’ll choose to partner with.
    My money is on Sinn Fein.”
    Remote, but not impossible.
    How about:
    FG/FF/Lab.?
    A Troika of tricksters.?

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:51 PM

FF/SF would be a good bet.

The people who destroyed the economy with populist, destructive policies, with the people who have all the same policies in place to do so again.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:36 PM

This government cannot even look after the old and vulnerable, what hope have they got with water!

Mute Éamonn Tiernan
    Favourite Éamonn Tiernan

Fooking mess!

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:55 AM

Doctoring figures in Ireland is a national passtime especially if you have access to the expert accountants. Dont be surprised if the 50% target is reached.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:04 AM

bye bye to team double tax irish water

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:44 AM

This Irish Water company reminds me of the lad that has jumped/fallen from a skyscraper ,and you have the guy called Enda behind him yelling: ‘start flapping your arms quicker’ .

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:09 AM

Time for privatisation.. Was always the case. Just forced on Enda earlier. FG/LAB will spin some sh:t that their against it but have no choice. This time I think Ireland won’t accept Enda. This f:ck up has a lot to be played out yet…

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:37 AM

They’ll only do it because they’ve had a buyer lined up since the start. I think the shambles surrounding Siteserv should highlight to everyone that DoB has already been lined up as the next owner of Irish Water.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben

and dont forget the CEO of Bord Gais who bought 400, 000 shares in D’OBribes metering company.I wonder was that before or after #redacted got the contract without the company …

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:17 AM

Smart waters metres run about 250-400 euro, depending on make and model plus where you buy them. The price should also include installation. The thing is though, the manfuactures state clearly that they are only made to last between 5-8 years, depending on the model. They are not install and forget, they need to be replaced every few years else the just cease to work, and when they start to break down they start giving out extremely high readings.

For example in the States last February one city had tens of thousands of metres all just stop working at once, because the local authority did not replace them in the timeframe set by the manufacture.

abc27.com/story/24768833/failing-water-meters-still-causing-inaccurate-bills

Then we have a city in New York which is having to replace all the metres, again because they start to fail after a number of years.
    niskayuna.org/Public_Documents/NiskayunaNY_Water/watermeterreplacement

Or in Baltimore last year when the city had to pay to replace all the metres for the same reason, at a cost of 83.5 million to the city
    articles.baltimoresun.com/2013-11-06/news/bs-md-ci-water-meter-contract-vote-20131106_1_water-meters-water-bill-itron-inc

Or what about this guy in New York.
    His metre stopped working and was recording low readings. He thought nothing of it until the city came out and replaced it and found it had been malfunctioning for years, so they hit him with a bill of 2,500 for the wtaer they claim went through but due to the faulty metre was not recorded.

blog.timesunion.com/advocate/homeowner-gets-soaked-by-faulty-water-meter/2885/

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:54 PM

it won’t be privatised because Alan Kelly promised;

“Environment Minister Alan Kelly has said the Government has introduced measures as “far as we can go” to prevent the privatisation of Irish Water and that such an event would happen “over my dead body”".

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/privatisation-of-irish-water-would-happen-over-my-dead-body-says-kelly-303555.html

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:40 PM

Alan Kelly would tell the world that he’s a lesbian if he thought it would get him re-elected.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:20 PM

I see the sarcasm was missed. ah well.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:59 PM

sorry maireben, it was the company that supplied the gps systems to iw and board gas/eriva
    insider trading at its finest yet nothing……

Mute Sean Rattigan
    Favourite Sean Rattigan
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:02 AM

Well, isn’t that the kind of thing you say when there’s an election coming up?
    They could have had a referendum and enshrined it in the constitution…. but no- it was more important to see if the next president might be younger!
    How can you tell when a politician is lying? Their lips move!

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:02 AM

My mate has a nice pub in Kerry come down any weekend ye like lads he’l only charge ye twice for the same pint that must sound good considering three times makes sense. Ha

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:20 AM

irish water was for many people the straw that broke the camels back. it has been a disaster from start to finish and will collapse over the next year in my opinion.
    sure enough the public was offered a referendums on controversial topics like gay marriage that was designed to divide the public and take attention off other important matters. no chance off a referendum on the future of irish water or bailouts or reigning in the legal and finance sectors.
    the latest euro stat ruling is just another nail in the coffin of IW and this government. a person has to ask why the hell should anyone care about the EUs seal of approval. the european project is collapsing all around them……………that is what people should be talking about, instead they are kept busy with this.

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:12 AM

Hahahaha I’m so pleased

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:01 PM

RTE Radio1 completely ignored this story all morning,
    it really is just a Government propaganda channel.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:31 PM

As the Sheik would have said “Keep charging boys, we’re only half way up the hill”, me little diamond. People, you have power. It may not seem like it on a day to day basis, but you HAVE power. Resistance is NOT futile, together we can build a better Ireland for ourselves but, more importantly, for the young people coming up. Keep the faith, together we can do it.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:55 AM

Rashers, is that the young people who have seen their education services cut, is that the young people whose parents are up to their necks in debt? Is that the young people who are leaving the country?

Whether you like it or not – we, as in this generation, screwed up and we left a mess – our kids will have to clean it up.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:15 AM

Small bit off the topic but just in relation to pensions I believe that public funded pensions won’t exist in a few years, everyone will be expected to have private ones. Just an observation. Great news about Irish water though cowboy kelly and gombeen Enda proving beyond a doubt they are useless.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:51 AM

@Robert Lester. Totally agree with you Robert. However, some of us have paid into the public coffers for nearly 50 years when private pensions were only for the rich. We hoped to have something at the end of it all. Looks like we are the losers ….. again!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:39 PM

Kelly reminds me of Comical Ali the former Iraqi minister for information.

Mute Jamie Oakes
    Favourite Jamie Oakes
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:46 PM

I see most media lately like that iraqi propaganda guy. It doesn’t report reality

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:50 PM

Comical Kelly. Has a nice ring to it.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:15 PM

Just think of numb skull neo liberal Noonan explaining this to the troika !

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:03 PM

they have heard his murmuring’s before and were not impressed with him.
    the bully has not tried to be smart with them though!

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:54 AM

Whether on or off balance sheet the citizens end up paying.

This is purely an accounting exercise.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:50 AM

It’s an important one though. I mean are people really delighted to see all that expenditure back on the books? Hollow victory really.

Mute De Wit
    Favourite De Wit
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:40 AM

‘Back on the books’??? Stupid comment search eagle, it was always on the books, I wonder do you even know yourself what you are on about half the time.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:59 AM

Irish Water is a disgrace of poor government thought and policy

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:52 AM

There are unconfirmed reports that Alan Kelly is to host a black tie champagne reception to celebrate.

‘There’s literally NO WAY I could be happier” the jubilant minister is said to have told friends earlier. He later added “I think this might be the best day of my life”

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:31 PM

That’s the danger Alan, now they will tell us they have no option but to sell IW off to a bidder, not the highest bidder, but a selected bidder, we all might know.

Mute hw007
    Favourite hw007
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:06 AM
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:19 AM

@hw007 It wouldn’t surprise me what Enda does, he is a liar a cheat and will do anything for his rich friends, politics or business doesn’t even come into it.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:48 AM

Ugh, that reads like a conspiracy theorists blog

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:30 AM

Enda a liar? No way.
    Please understand my attempt at Sarcasm..

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:06 AM

Except its not Tweety. A quick Google search will show that enda Kenny lied. A 2 year old could see and find this.

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:12 PM

I was unaware of this “unitedpeople.ie” site. What a revelation !! A MUST read for anyone who cares about our society. Thanks hw007.

Mute hw007
    Favourite hw007
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:16 PM
    Mute Dena Craddock
    Favourite Dena Craddock
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:28 PM

And how would you define a conspiracy theorist exactly? Anything kept hidden or obscured could be termed a conspiracy. I have a feeling there’s a lot of that going on in the upper echelons of this country.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:06 AM

Of course it stands alone , no body wants it . It’s a farce , and no amount of lies or bullying by this corporate government will ever get the Irish people to pay into its banksters biggy bank . WE ALREADY PAY

Mute ballbreaker
    Favourite ballbreaker
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:04 AM

So what will miss arnett be spouting this time ?

Mute Colum
    Favourite Colum
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:34 PM

one thing for sure…. if a politician says there is no crisis…… Its a full blown crisis.

Mute just readin
    Favourite just readin
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:13 AM

They will find some way to massage the figures to keep it off the Gov books, and the troika will look the other way … then there will be lots of back slapping ….

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:22 PM

Alan Kelly will have trouble containing himself with this news. If he was so ecstatic with a 43% compliance rate on payment – ” Over The Moon ” doesn’t even come near his delight this morning !!!!!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:45 PM

remove this government and Irish water now.noonan is the biggest liar this country has had to listen to.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:31 AM

If left on the governments books,I dare suggest the €100 conservation will float like a balloon into the air,along with the autumn kite flying season!..

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:44 PM

Fine Gael and Labour are gonna pay a huge price for this incompetence :-).

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:30 PM

Pack of clowns .. Preschool kids would run the country better

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:02 AM

Mr. Phil Officer, have you ever seen IW fix a pipe?

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:59 AM

Enda and Noonan were good little Irish boys and told the Greek People what to do for their EU Masters – I would guess they will get the outcome they want from Eurostat!!!

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:00 AM

Why is this government obsessed with borrowing money, can’t we just pay what they already owe and be done with it.

Mute Gary Brennan
    Favourite Gary Brennan
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:12 PM

who cares the state are paying for it anyway through motor tax and other instruments. weather its on the books or not the taxpayer will be paying and accouable for its borrowing at least if it’s on the government books the liabilities will be more transparent.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:46 PM

Damage limitation by Noonan. This government has to go. Noonan would say mass given the chance.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:33 PM

Amazing how they suit the news to themselves. it HAD to be their way as Europe wanted it that way but not that it is short payments it’s alright they can afford to go another way. what the he’ll kind of balancing book keeping does Noonan do?

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:29 PM

sorry the spelling Is so bad but the keyboard sticks

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:33 PM

of course he is not concerned. he will just retire at the end of this term on his huge public funded pension. he will soon be forgotten about the same way bertie and cowen were.
    thats the problem with the political system……………we are lead by the least amongst us. politicians lunging from one cockup to the next and then when public opposition forces them out they live very well off massive taxpayer funded pensions.
    the joke is on us.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:25 PM

Quick translation as I see it… I don’t care I have a huge salary, bonuses and massive pension limped up. I am alright.
    The rest will pay and we just keep cutting everything they have until books balance.
    Anywhere near the truth?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:00 PM

issh?, try lining all my lackies pockets before I leave to buy their silence at the next round of tribunals

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244

In your face austerity junkies !

Mute Mark Mark
    Favourite Mark Mark
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:51 PM

I wish to plead to tje Irish people: Irish Water will have spent almost 1billion…yes 1 BILLION by the end of the year getti g the whole thing up and running. The Goverment tecently approved another 400m for its functioning after 53% of bills have not been paid. All of this money will be carried by Irish Tax payers. DO NOT PAY THIS BILL. Irish will collapse and must collapse.

Mute Michael O'connor
    Favourite Michael O'connor
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:42 PM

A ‘government’ made up of halfwits and servants of the rich.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:39 PM

LAH, LAH, LAH I’M NOT LISTENING said Kim Jong Kenny

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:53 PM

Bit like Custer at Little Big Horn. He will open his eyes and ask ‘where did all those %&£#@% protestors come from?’

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:24 PM

So good you have to read it twice…if not three times.

· “Considerable government control” over Irish Water, “in particular” over board appointments and operations, and the introduction of pricing caps.
    · The fact that Irish Water “merely reorganises” the operation of the network from the local authorities, and that a “large majority” of Irish Water staff remain employees of city and county councils.
    · The “significant and continuous funding” and support to the company in the form of operational grants and funding.
    · The lack of “economically significant prices”, and in particular the cap.
    · The fact that sales must cover at least 50pc of production costs. “This is further amplified by the high number of households not paying their bills,”

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:54 PM

Diarmuid / search / O’Reilly etc – here’s a very thorough research paper by Dr Rory Hearne – Maynooth University which pours water on your ignorant ranting misinformed views of the protest movement participants – perhaps ask an adult to read it & explain to you.
    https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/sites/default/files/assets/document/TheIrishWaterwar_0.pdf

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:06 PM

Are you sure we all paid the LPT O’Reilly?

Completely sure are we?

Mute Martin Nolan
    Favourite Martin Nolan

Eurosat tells it like it is

The main points to remember are
    1) they criticised the Government board appointments thus highlighting Union leaders and friends of FG who were given the plum positions as the current Governments version of the “brown envelope”
    And
    2) they categorically state that pricing is way too low which opponents have said all along to prepare yourselves for €1,000 plus per annum bills.

Congrats to the legitimate water charge groups for their leadership and correctly predicting this.

Bin The Bill

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:35 PM

Just know that if you register and pay, Irish Water will never let go so long as its exists.

Irish Water is in a proverbial death struggle with the Irish people. Who will win?

Jul 28th 2015, 6:38 PM

Enda Kenny, michael Noonan, Alan Slurry get it through you head..PEOPLE WILL NOT PAY FOR YOUR SCAM! Its not going to happen, get over it. Thanks to these crooks they have managed to unite the nation against this ! Tick tock tick tock tick tock Enda, toddle back to Mayo and dig some spuds, its all over!

Mute Steve Walsh
    Favourite Steve Walsh
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:58 PM

Cant wait for the election and I truly hope these bunch of clowns are voted out..

Mute Kalon Dillon
    Favourite Kalon Dillon
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:33 PM

#peoplepowerresult

Mute Jim Boland
    Favourite Jim Boland
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:11 PM

FG/LAB/FF are as useful as a ashtray on a honda fifty.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:31 PM

Even the ash would end up being useful for something…

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:35 PM

Two elements essential for survival of all life on this planet is air and water, for anyone to claim either can be viewed as a product is despicable. Treatment yes for both but a persons survival should not have to depend on their ability to pay.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:45 PM

Kelly is like comical Ali. “I can assure you that Irish water is a thriving and well loved company” I reckon the guys only in the labour party cos his folks were. I don’t think he knows what he stands for exactly cos his actions are more like that of a conservative Tory.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:30 PM

But this only proves that IW is going to be privatised and that the IMF / TROIKA are behind it…
    How can anyone make a profit from 48% unless they are being overcharged by more that 210% or 205% anyway…

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:01 PM

We have won!

Jul 28th 2015, 7:32 PM

Not won yet but getting there, we have been proved right and that is the best way to win…

Mute Martin Nolan
    Favourite Martin Nolan
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:32 PM

IW: Biggest news of the day and not a whisper or mention of it on Independent.ie
    Denis must be too upset
    Awww!

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:16 PM

if you’d checked you see that there was an article about it on the Indo at 10am this morning that’s been updated several times

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:30 PM

SNAFU

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:40 PM

So The Government’s angle after today’s complete ‘miscalculation’ is that they had this decision factored in all along and therefore does’nt change anything !!!!!! Keep digging.The sooner the General Election is called the better.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:04 PM

Irish Water chief defends €334k package

The boss of Irish Water’s parent firm, Ervia, has strongly defended his pay package, which last year totalled €334,000

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:18 PM

This Government does not listen. It tried to get Irish Water off the books and we told s

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara

I support Irish Water and the principle of investing in our water and I am paying by direct debit, but this whole exercise is a gift that keeps on giving to the loonies. You could not have made it up.
    I am looking forward to my €100 cheque arriving in the post.

Mute Barry O'Neill
    Favourite Barry O'Neill
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:35 AM

You are only getting your €100 cheque because of the “loonies” .

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:52 AM

Ciaran, I fear you miss the logic of whats been going on this last year. Money raised through tax to invest in your water supply have been sidelined to cover an 8 billion interest bill to cover corporate speculative bank debt. I wish I had a fairy godmother to save my private business interests like that. In addition the 890 million spent in establishing this quango (Enda’s election promise was to cut quangos – not make more) if that was given to the councils to spend on bringing the network up to speed then we would all have a product fit for purpose. If I tried selling our current water supply I’d be up in front of trading standards like a shot. Finally, water is unlike any other commodity that we could live without. Yes provide means for the right supported delivery service, but not as a corporate entity. It should be constitutionally protected from becoming any one persons cash cow. Given how NAMA and SITE-SERV operate and Government positions is being abused for self gain and party posturing this rape of Ireland has to stop.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly

Another fool and his money.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:03 AM

If and I say If Ciaran O’Mara you get your 100 euro cheque enjoy it while you can because when you come to penison age there will be nothing left in the coffers to pay you a pension ….. this Government have been raiding our Pension Reserves since they came into office. Think about that!!!

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:11 AM

Barry, I guess you are right. A big thank you to all of them.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:27 AM

So…..you’re giving IW €260 so you can get €100……you couldn’t make this up!

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:01 AM

Ciaran O’Mara, you keep paying you good little boy!!

Mute De Wit
    Favourite De Wit
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:48 AM

Well said Martin Critten.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:06 PM

I think I get my €100 grant regardless of whether I pay, right?

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:10 PM

Then why are you paying you fool.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:35 PM

I suppose I am just a law abiding citizen who pays his bills and taxes needed to fund public services.
    It’s kind of regarded as normal in most European countries. In Irish terms that makes me a fool.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:42 PM

Tell me Ciaran, truthfully….how much of the payment you make will go towards fixing water infrastructure?….by the way…it’s not a trick question.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:57 PM

It’s abnormal to pay twice.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Jul 28th 2015, 12:58 PM

“I am just a law abiding citizen”

and literally, just that. nothing more.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:25 PM

Ciaran, if a well heeled gent like yourself wants to pay twice for your water and help fund the lifestyles of other well heeled gents, then go for it. But I will not.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:47 PM

@Ciaran O’Mara I pay my bills and taxes but I’m not a fool to pay for them twice. Also Martin Luther King said ‘ One has a MORAL responsibility to disobey UNJUST laws’ As for a law abiding citizen bit was it Aristotle who said that ‘Its not always the same thing to be a GOOD man and a good citizen’. None of us want to disobey the Law but when ‘Evil men make bad laws Righteous man must disobey them’ Think about that before you pay again!

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:27 PM

no you will have to show you paid that is why there waiting to september/october to pay out if indeed it is paid i reckon with this news they will use it not to pay.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:05 PM

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Mute Rashers Tierney

Ciaran, there have been some pisspoor efforts on this forum, but yours is right up there with the poorest.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:03 PM

@Martin

“Money raised through tax to invest in your water supply have been sidelined to cover an 8 billion interest bill to cover corporate speculative bank debt. ”

Sorry Martin, but this is factually incorrect. Only ~1.7 billion of said interest is covering bank debt. The other 6 billion is covering legacy debt and the huge amount of debt racked up over the last few years keeping the public services and welfare show on the road.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:27 PM

lol Search Eagle……only €1.7 billion…..excuse me but that a big chuck of taxpayers money going to the private sector. Don’t see you crying over that loss to the taxpayer.

Next… fracking to ruin peoples wells and force them onto IW…
    Ciaran I suppose you have a grotto to them in your garden beside the one to Enda and Joan’s Troika hearts?

Al, it would have been cheaper to upgrade the system first than set up IW with contractors from the U.K. putting in water meters that burst in heavy frost and only last 10 years?

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:50 PM

“lol Search Eagle……only €1.7 billion…..excuse me but that a big chuck of taxpayers money going to the private sector. Don’t see you crying over that loss to the taxpayer.”

Apart from all the times I’ve condemned the foisting of taxpayer money onto leeches like failed banks, the protected professions and public sector unions. It seems to me that some people want to conveniently forget about wastage that hits closer to home.

In the so-called “good times”, as we lavished social welfare recipients which award-winning increases, far beyond the pace of inflation, our water infrastructure rotted. FG/Labour have made a complete mess of the solution, and either they or the next government will dispense with Irish Water and we’ll continue with the totally unacceptable status quo.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jul 29th 2015, 2:59 AM

You are paying 264 euro to get 100 back ,,Great idea NOT ,Only for the “loonies ” your would be paying 600 to 800 euro and getting nothing back ,,,Time to have a little chat with yourself and think how you can save some money ,

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 10:51 AM

At least it’s better than your repeated efforts, if you can call them that – insult after insult – very grown up.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jul 29th 2015, 2:51 AM

Thank you Irish Water ,thank you Fine Gael,, Thank you traitor labour ,Thank you the media Thank you some unions …….. For the biggest mass protest movement seen in years ,For uniting people working class and middle class,and pensioners, young and middle age ……..,For bringing communities together to fight against another tax, For showing us the croynism ,is alive and well in the government parties………. ,For teaching us that the citizens of our country have power ,and despite the main media ,the Jack O Connors in some of the unions ,the threats and the bribes Irish people have stood strong ………,Hail all the water warriors ,in years to come we will be known as the generation that stopped the betrayal of your natural resource ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,let us continue and drive a stake through Irish water and kill it for good ,,

Mute Ohwizeone
    Favourite Ohwizeone
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:50 AM

Its like getting an F in the leaving cert

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jul 29th 2015, 8:43 AM

“We have introduced a rate of charge which is very fair and that also includes the opportunity to satisfy the terms of the market test – which we expect we’ll measure up to in that regard” – Enda Kenny, Feb 2015

“Irish Water will pass the Eurostat market corporation test as an independent company capable of borrowing” – Joan Burton, Nov 2014

If you need anymore evidence Enda, Joan, Fine Gael, and Labour are completely clueless and have no idea what they are saying just look at those two quotes. They were WRONG then, they are WRONG now, and neither party should be in office.

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:35 AM

We should privatise it now

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:42 AM

That you Denis?

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:00 AM

What do ya mean ‘now’?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jul 28th 2015, 9:13 AM

Rod it was set up in a way to enable a seamless transition into privatisation, the company was built from the top down with bonus and pay structures in place before a pipe was ever fixed.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly

Rod I looked up your family tree and found out you were the sap.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 10:00 AM

“Rod it was set up in a way to enable a seamless transition into privatisation, the company was built from the top down with bonus and pay structures in place before a pipe was ever fixed.”

At the demands of the public sector unions, don’t forget.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:59 PM

Government should stop this faffing and just bloody charge people directly for the water they use. It’s the only fair solution.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:52 PM

G’way ya Gowel!

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:28 PM

Yes govt should stop this faffing, and get companies to pay proper corporation tax,bring the guilty bankers and politicians to justice, start listening to the people and stop paying back debts that are not ours. Its definitley the fairest solution.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 28th 2015, 1:56 PM

The ruling doesn’t change anything. You’ll still pay for your water…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:11 PM

I’ll pay through my taxes, same as I have done for the last 20+ years.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:16 PM

You also Said you wouldn’t pay your property tax. But you did. You’ll pay this too…

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:24 PM

Water charges aren’t a tax, thats why they are being collected by a utility company rather than Revenue.

Do try to keep up o’reilly.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:31 PM

we’re Jammin, I never said water charges was a tax. And you’ve pointed out yourself it’s not a tax. So how can say you’ll pay through taxation as you always have?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 2:46 PM

I know you’re not this stupid o’reilly, so instead of chancing your arm asking stupid questions, why don’t you eat some humble pie, lick your wounds, and wait for the obligatory article about SF to be published.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:06 PM

Are you sure we all paid the LPT O’Reilly?
    Completely sure are we?

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:42 PM

We’re Jammin, how can you pay for water out of your general taxes when you clearly accept its a charge and not a tax?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:47 PM

And that’s it, O’Reilly – that’s all you’ve got? HAAAAAA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:12 PM

Dear oh dear, that was absolutely pathetic.

Mute Sean Rattigan
    Favourite Sean Rattigan
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:29 AM

It’s called “Progressive Taxation”
    A progressive tax is a tax in which the tax rate increases as the taxable amount increases. The term “progressive” refers to the way the tax rate progresses from low to high, with the result that a taxpayer’s average tax rate is less than the person’s marginal tax rate.
    See also:
    http://debates.oireachtas.ie/seanad/1997/05/08/00010.asp

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 29th 2015, 11:21 AM

Easy to do FC, when you are a very well paid Public servant who will soon enjoy a very nice pension paid for by the next generation of taxpayers.

Make sure you hoisted the ladder up all the way now – let the others work longer for less while you enjoy your retirement.

Mute Ciaran O'Mara
    Favourite Ciaran O'Mara
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:00 PM

Now that Irish Water is clearly a state body, shouldn’t the Government just hand over collection to the revenue and get on with it rather than trying to pretend it’s an independent agency?
    The revenue did a great job on the LPT. 97% compliance?
    People don’t like envelopes with harps on them.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jul 28th 2015, 5:37 PM

Ciaran, did you get that recent promotion in Irish Water? You were up against some solid opposition.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:00 PM

Ignore ciaran, he was on the government gravy train himself before, weren’t you ciaran?

Jul 28th 2015, 7:40 PM

I love harps on envelopes but I know politicians love the brown envelopes without them more…

Mute Stephen O'Rourke
    Favourite Stephen O'Rourke
    Jul 28th 2015, 3:57 PM

I also think this may be a hollow victory. Be careful what you wish for, if Irish Water is abolished, they will simply increase the property tax to take in the money the were going to get for the water. As many of the ‘anti paying their share of water’ people have said, the LPT is a tax and can be deducted at source. Like I said, be careful for what you wish for…

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:36 PM

@Stephen – a moderate addition to the property tax might have been the way to go given the state of the economy. Instead of spending hundreds of millions on setting up a billing quango that money could have gone a long way to fixing leaky mains where the bulk of the water is lost. Lead pipes could also have been replaced to some extent.

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Favourite Paddythewatersprite
    Jul 28th 2015, 4:52 PM

@Stephen O’Rourke – I wouldn’t see it as a victory, hollow or otherwise. There is a better way of addressing the water issue. FG/L simply put their money on the three legged donkey because Phil Hogan said to. The donkey has just lost another leg. Do FG/L have the skills to turn that donkey into a thoroughbred?
    It may be better to have it paid through LPT, at least it won’t be going to a profiteer. Which seems to be the crux of the issue for a lot of people. Personally I don’t trust FG to do the right thing for the Irish citizenry, I really and truly don’t. IW is primed and ready for privatisation. Two ministers with the same agenda, job done. Water monetised forever more.

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Jul 29th 2015, 1:26 PM

Just f$/ck off already enda you fukwit you and your cronies rant over

Mute ironballs mcginty
    Favourite ironballs mcginty
    Jul 28th 2015, 6:05 PM

you will pay. it may be via a tax on alcohol or cigs or some other centralised tax. That’s what should have happened to start with. Its the only way to get the looser lefties to contribute a cent, the poor downtrodden things.

Jul 28th 2015, 7:34 PM

Do you have to be on a side to be right or honest John?

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:24 PM

“Incorrect, it is a private company operated by shares, whose shares are currently owned by the state. It is this state control which is mentioned, not whether or not it is a private company.”

“Irish Water was established pursuant to the Water Services Act 2013 and is a company limited by shares. Irish Water has two shareholders: Ervia and the Irish Government. The ultimate shareholder of Irish Water is the Irish Government and, on that basis, Irish Water is a state-owned entity.”

“It is registered as a private company, and is advertised as a private company.”

As are ESB Networks, Irish Rail, Bus Eireann – to name a few.

“The Act provides that Irish Water is registered as a private company limited by shares under the Companies Act, with one share in Irish Water issued to Bord Gáis Éireann, now Ervia, and the remaining shares allocated equally between the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government and the Minister for Finance. As Ervia is a fully State-owned company, Irish Water is, accordingly, in full State ownership.

Subsequently, an amendment introduced in the Water Services (No. 2) Act 2013 prohibits each of the three shareholders from disposing of their shareholding in Irish Water and thus places a statutory prohibition on the privatisation of Irish Water.

To copperfasten this prohibition, the Water Services Act 2014 provides that any proposal by a future Government for legislation that would involve any change in the State’s ownership of Irish Water, as outlined, would require approval by both Houses of the Oireachtas and subsequently any proposal would have to be put to the people via a plebiscite before such legislation could even proceed. Also, there is a further statutory provision which safeguards water services infrastructure in public ownership. Section 31(12) of the Water Services Act 2007 prevents Irish Water from entering into any agreement or arrangement with another person which involves or may involve the transfer of assets and infrastructure from Irish Water to that person.”

Mute Sean Rattigan
    Favourite Sean Rattigan
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:19 AM

“As Ervia is a fully State-owned company”
    Ervia has been privatised “As part of the disposal of state assets to try and pay off Ireland’s bank bailout debts” but there wasn’t a lot on the TV about it, was there?
    It was sold for a bargain basement price- the government got about twice the anual gross profit for the company. Most-STUIPID-Business-DEAL-EVER!

Do you know how much our oil and gas are worth? Do you know how much we gather in tax compared with other countries?
    http://www.moneyguideireland.com/centrica-now-own-bord-gais-energy.html

A government can repeal/change this legislation at the drop of the proverbial hat. The ONLY way to safeguard against privatization was a referendum, and why did they not want to go down that route? We all know the answer to that, don’t we!

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Jul 29th 2015, 3:19 PM

Would be poetic justice if Kelly and co started a protest outside Eurostat offices.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice

It will be interesting to see if this increases the general cost of Government borrowing on the bond markets.

Ironically if it does, it will be seen as a joyous victory by the AAA and their ilk.

Mute Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Favourite Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:06 PM

Why not mention your hero Phil the Bully Hogan ?

Let’s not forget that he is the lad that created this fcuk up .

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:15 PM

can’t prove it in a court of law as there were no minutes of meeting taken when a gov minister is discussing the setting up of a billion euro company
    meeting’s fg style.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:21 PM

Bad news for all those tinhats who liked to claim that Irish Water was a private company.

A European Institution has declared it on the Government’s balance sheet.

Who wants to apologise first for posting misleading leftie nonsense?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

“Bad news for all those tinhats who liked to claim that Irish Water was a private company….Who wants to apologise first for posting misleading leftie nonsense?”

Eh, the company who constructed their website?

http://www.water.ie/

“Irish Water. Private Company Limited by Shares. Registered Office Colvill House, 24-26 Talbot Street, Dublin 1. Registered in Ireland. Registered No. 530363″

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:35 PM

Wholly government owned.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:41 PM

Currently government owned.

Are you saying that the information on their website is incorrect, that they’re NOT a private company?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:48 PM

In your alter ego as Were Jammin, you spent many acres of text on the Journal alluding to IW’s mysterious private company status.

EuroStat has just set the record straight for you.

It’s a state company through and through.

Sorry for your misunderstanding.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Jul 28th 2015, 7:51 PM

Incorrect, it is a private company operated by shares, whose shares are currently owned by the state. It is this state control which is mentioned, not whether or not it is a private company.

It is registered as a private company, and is advertised as a private company. Now, if you want to argue that it is anything other than a private company, well I know a man with a pint in each hand you should have a chat with.

He’ll be along any minute now on his unicorn.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jul 28th 2015, 8:12 PM

was the whole point of the Eurostat decision and the setting up of iw not to make it a private company and keep its borrowing off gov. books?? where did I hear that??

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jul 28th 2015, 11:42 PM

Pointless commenting here.

If you ask a question on the policy that would be followed if IW was disbanded you get no answer. The anti-IW guys then attack the contributor who make a positive comment.

Go ahead – I’m waiting!!

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:55 AM

It’s actually very simple – push it back to the councils, with a small (and therefore relatively cheap) national body of maybe a half-dozen to a dozen qualified people assigned to oversee co-operation between the councils, so that (for example) Mayo’s surplus of clean water can be piped to Galway, if needed. Set an acceptable and fair usage limit by household circumstance, and charge for extra usage. Simples…

Mute Ohwizeone
    Favourite Ohwizeone
    Jul 29th 2015, 12:59 AM

Before the government steam rolled their agenda through on IW there was a number of different approaches that could have been made in order to tackle the issue of supplying our water services…the problem I think is the alternatives didn’t lend themselves to privatisation