You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sang Tan/AP/PA

Armed police in London to wear cameras to record their actions

This follows controversy over the killing of suspected gangster Mark Duggan in 2011 – an incident which sparked the London riots.

ARMED POLICE IN London will wear video cameras to record their actions, the force said as it sought today to calm tensions over the inquest into the fatal shooting of a man by firearms officers.

Police Commissioner Bernard Hogan-Howe was due to meet with community leaders to discuss yesterday’s inquest verdict that the 2011 killing of suspected gangster Mark Duggan was lawful.

Duggan’s family reacted with fury to the verdict and vowed to continue fighting for justice for the father of six, whose death sparked nights of rioting across English cities.

Hogan-Howe welcomed the inquest jury’s decision but acknowledged the shooting had led to a “significant reduction in trust between London’s black communities” and police.

Efforts had been made to improve relations, he said, for example by reforming the use of stop and search so it no longer disproportionately targeted men from ethnic minorities.

“But we need to do more, much more, to improve our relationships with black Londoners,” he said.

Body-worn video cameras

He added: “We’ll begin a trial this year in which firearms officers are issued with body-worn video cameras to record the actions of officers and those they are dealing with.

“We want to see if this is an effective way to record evidence and ensure public confidence.”

Police are braced for protests in Tottenham, the deprived area of north London where Duggan was shot, but a demonstration late Wednesday dispersed without any trouble.

Supporters had reacted angrily to the inquest verdict after the jury concluded Duggan had had a gun when police stopped the taxi he was travelling in but threw it out of the vehicle seconds before he was gunned down by a police marksman.

The coroner in the inquest accepted that the jury was faced with a “stark problem” because police officers’ notes contradicted video evidence from the scene about the location of the gun.

Duggan’s brother shouted obscenities at jurors as they left court while other supporters screamed “murderers”.

‘Executed’

In highly-charged scenes outside the court, Duggan’s aunt, Carole, said he had been “executed” and vowed to fight the verdict, but on Thursday she called for calm.

“This has got to be dealt with the right way, through the courts,” she told BBC radio, saying the family wanted to see “no more demonstrations, no more violence”.

“We will have to fight this, go through the struggle peacefully, through the right channels, to get justice,” she said.

Police believe Duggan was a member of one of Europe’s most dangerous gangs, but he had never been convicted of a major offence.

- © AFP 2014.

Video: Police shouted down after verdict in London riots case>

Related: Killing that sparked London riots was lawful says UK jury>

View 33 comments
33 Comments
    Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 9th 2014, 10:55 AM

Yesssssssss now we get to see the scvmags being shot on Liveleak.

Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    Jan 9th 2014, 10:51 AM

“Tottenham, a deprived area of north London” said the article.
    Ok it’s not Kensington but a bit dismissive to call the entire area deprived I think myself

Mute THE VOICE
    Favourite THE VOICE
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:13 AM

Your some Hunt…..

Mute Ann-Marie Wallis
    Favourite Ann-Marie Wallis
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:06 PM

Tottenham isn’t all that bad, sure there are areas like Broadwater Farm and the High Road that are in serious need for regeneration but like everywhere in London, it has some nice areas alongside very run down areas.

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:21 PM

More and more ways to tip the balance in favour of the criminal. Won’t be too long now until we just hand society over to them. I hope the criminals remember all the groups that made this possible, and be nice to them when they get a completely free run, somehow I doubt it.

Mute Bruno Bellone
    Favourite Bruno Bellone
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:38 PM

It can only benefit the Police in the long run. It’ll give the public, the media and most importantly, the judiciary, the chance to see what it’s really like for cops having to deal with skumbags and skangers all the time.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Jan 9th 2014, 10:53 AM

Good idea once its a different agency who stores the footage in case any goes missing.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 9th 2014, 12:18 PM

They did not do this in America and yes some footage had gone missing

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:22 PM

The footage only went missing because they were stomping that guys head so much as he lay on the ground that the memory card fell out and went down a storm drain, other than that its a great system.

Mute dave mccan
    Favourite dave mccan
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:26 AM

Should put them camera’s on our lot of corrupt filth

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:40 AM

Mccann is your mother still around benburb st?

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Jan 9th 2014, 2:26 PM

Hates the Guards.

Gets robbed.

Calls the Guards.

Mute Justin Casey
    Favourite Justin Casey
    Jan 9th 2014, 3:48 PM

“McGuinness had told his debriefers in May 1998 that there were bags of imitation guns, wigs and balaclavas that the Flying Squad took out on operations to plant on suspects. They were used “in case an armed officer shot a robber and he wasn’t carrying a firearm” or to increase the chances of a prosecution. Everyone, he said, referred to it as a “first aid kit”. The point he made, as if this mitigated anything, was that only the guilty career criminal was fitted up this way.”
    From “Untouchables: dirty cops, bent justice and racism in Scotland Yard” by Michael Gillard and Laurie Flynn (Bloomsbury, 2012)
    http://goo.gl/ShNR6Q

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 9th 2014, 6:46 PM

Pity the other guy admitted giving the gun in the shoebox to Duggan shortly before he was stopped.

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Jan 10th 2014, 9:07 AM

Similar video camera equipment should be issued to armed members of the Gardai and the PSNI.

Mute Bullet Dodger
    Favourite Bullet Dodger
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:15 AM

RIP Mark Duggan Lest We Forget

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:32 AM

Ye know he really doesn’t deserve to rip after all that happened
    But with saying that when people RIP random strangers on here how do you know that “guy who went off a cliff in his car ” so to say wasn’t karma for raping or killing someone previously so carefull with the rip’s cause ye never know the Cnut might of deserved It

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 9th 2014, 12:21 PM

I don’t believe in karma and certainly don’t Believe in shooting to resolve issues. Some police officer needs to be brought to justice

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:19 PM

So many red thumbs so little arguments. I know people fear the riots but riots and disorder will continue until the relationship between the people and police is restored. Restoration cannot happen without clarity, accountability and justice.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:48 PM

Kevin you say the”some Police Officer needs to be brought to justice” Why? A Jury decided that the shooting was lawful as did the Independent Police Complaints Commission. Therefore there is no case to answer.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Jan 9th 2014, 2:04 PM

Now now Mick a jurys decision is only correct if they convict the police man.

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Jan 9th 2014, 2:25 PM

Mick, you will never understand that in Kevin’s utopia, there will be no Guns and men will settle their differences by smoking a few joints together.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Jan 9th 2014, 5:19 PM

Strange attitude for someone that works for a security company.

Mute Ben Leonard
    Favourite Ben Leonard
    Jan 9th 2014, 10:34 AM

R.I.P

Mute Seamus McKenzie
    Favourite Seamus McKenzie
    Jan 9th 2014, 12:06 PM

Great idea, has worked in the US. Has helped to improve relationships with the public.

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Jan 9th 2014, 12:55 PM

My thoughts are with the public that live in such a horrid state.

Mute Ogochukwu
    Favourite Ogochukwu
    Jan 9th 2014, 11:25 AM

I do not feel safe anymore walking the streets ..I am now going to wear my vest that I got home made

Mute Michael Budd
    Favourite Michael Budd
    Jan 9th 2014, 12:25 PM

They can do any number of things like this but until the police are held fully accountable for their actions, it won’t bring about much needed change.

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:18 PM

And if the cameras somehow record police brutality, the footage will be lost. Nothing new here, move along.

Mute Mick Jordan.
    Favourite Mick Jordan.
    Jan 9th 2014, 1:50 PM

Emilio. And if the footage shows that Police actions were justified will you come on here and praise the Police?

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Jan 9th 2014, 2:27 PM

No. Emilio is incapable of praise or comments of a positive nature.

Mute ads20101
    Favourite ads20101
    Jan 9th 2014, 3:46 PM

Re Pic

Who gave Louis Walshe a gun?

Mute Nina Trehnkhanna
    Favourite Nina Trehnkhanna
    Jan 15th 2014, 11:39 AM

All cops are racist bigots