You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Poll: Should the government ease up on austerity in this budget?
The Labour Party wants to see just €2 billion in cuts in the next budget but economists have said we must stick to the plan. What do you think?
10.09am, 6 Sep 2013
MINISTERS ARE PREPARING for battle as the time for making decisions on cuts in the next budget approaches and junior minister Kathleen Lynch told TheJournal.ie that Labour wants just €2 billion worth of cuts rather than the proposed €3.1 billion.
We want to know: Do you think the government should ease up on austerity in this budget?
Poll Results:
No (1920)
Yes (1850)
I'm not sure (598)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
have to disagree. the middle class have been hit harder. the ones who work and earn between €30,000 to €50,000 get hit by property taxes of €375 while working class is €75. any tax increases or mortgage hikes hit the middle class harder too. anyone lucky enough to have a govt job get a pension related deduction hit (mine is €3,500 of my take home) per year to pay the pensions of those the govt can’t afford to pay for already. any more austerity will hit this group again and again and we have absolutely no chance of any waiver or medical card.
I would like to see an example from any of the no voters that the path of austerity we are taking is doing anything more than suppressing the domestic economy to the point of choking it. Look at Vat returns, they’re dismal. Very few have money to spend, so the governments way to deal with that , raise vat , result people buy even less… = VAT behind target.
Stan
The middle class are still working the majority of people on the dole are the working class , your not entitled to a medical card as you are working.
The working class was a huge part of the backbone of society and when it all went pear shaped they are thrown to the wolves so everyone else could just about keep there head above water and that’s how it is.
There’s no doubt the middle class is as breaking point. Soon we’ll have water charges introduced too. We can expect much talking up of the property market in the next few months also.
Are the majority of people on the dole working class Chopstix? I’d imagine a fair number were raised working class, strove to middle class by hard work for many years, and now find themselves back to square one since the crash.
@Stan. Just saying but if you are earning between 30 & 50k you are entitled to a doctors visit only card which means you just pay for your prescriptions.
The working classes pay the same property tax.
Sympathy for people in well-paid public service jobs with increments – increments! – and gigantic public-funded pensions is not high.
Unfortunately, we voted in FF for ten+ years of pro-cyclical public spending increases and construction bubble inflation. The fiscal mess left as a result means that the only alternative to austerity is default (and the abrupt austerity that would go along with it).
We could have defaulted were it not for the Timothy Geithner of Obama’s administration. Yet, there’s no shortage of flag waving people in this country that would line the streets for a glimpse of him.
Perfectly said, no more disposable income floating around, we need an injection of money into the economy to kick start it again. Having their kind of incomes I guess they have no idea of what is happening on the ground. A successful business man/woman to run the country is what is needed, they won’t have any fear of clearing out the cobwebs, and dead weight in the civil service and beyond.
Chopstix, If you are on the dole, how can you be considered “working” class? The State or taxpayer, whichever you prefer is supporting you as you are not working. Therefore you are not “working” class
There’s a recession Jimmy, so honest working class people are on the dole. I dont think its fair to lump people who have recently been out of work with those who never even looked for work during the boom.
Let’s not have any of this “middle class are hit harder than working class ” nonsense or public vs private, this sort of debate on serves to divide those who one way or another are getting screwed. And it helps to distract from the real cause if our combined misery namely the super rich bankers, bond holders, speculators and their likes and of course the people who furnish them with their low tax high income lifestyles the political establishment puppets! Workers unite! It’s time to take out the trash
Not really Chopstix, I have the thread and your comment and I don’t agree. Your terminology is incorrect. If you are unemployed and in receeipt of social welfare you cannot be considered working class, middle class or upper class or any other “class” .You are unemployed.
There must be more ‘well off’ people in this country than I thought!! who are the (currently) 44% of people saying the Government shouldn’t ease off on austere measures in the budget?? is it the politician’s minions? I am in shock looking at the poll!! People are committing suicide, becoming homeless, living on meagre rations,the country is in total shite why or why would any sane person think austere measures should continue? Unless we have lost so much confidence we actually WANT to be punished for something we did not create….
I think there is a lot of people not really struggling. There are of course some who are and as you mentioned suicide is up and some people are really feeling it bad but I really think there must be lots who say they are suffering but not really that bad just don’t have it as good as before because if we really are as bad as we make out as a country we wouldn’t be taking it. But we carry on…..
We ‘carry on’ because what choice do we have? I work part time, every cent I make is accounted for to the very last one in my wage pack – my husband is the same, we are far better off than a lot of people I see and come across through my work who are relying on St Vincent de Paul and handouts from relatives to pay the bills…this isn’t fiction this is real life….the people most effected, unfortunately aren’t reading this right now and s aren’t voting…if they were the outcome would be a lot lot different I can assure you.
Austerity is reducing the disposable income of many both poor & lower middle earners – and incomes of €30-50,000 are really only a tad above the poverty line – nice work if you can get it, but also very much in the line of #Austerity fire.
The reduction of low incomes (€120, say) are far less likely to have such an effect, as personal disposable income is much less proportionately affected & less likely to be withdrawn from the domestic economy.
On the basis of this evidence, a practical person should be averse to any measure that further reduces incomes lower than about €60k. We might at least try to preserve what’s left of our local & domestic economies & make a concerted attempt to stem the flight of capable & willing taxpayers at great cost.
There is also a moral & simple justice argument, but practicality should be persuasive enough as the evidence gathers than current austerity policies are piling ruin on top of wreckage.
Problem is the entitlement class.. Won’t work have babies want the state to pay for housing healthcare etc huge waste on lazy people within the social welfare system in Ireland …. Then blame the government for cutting back on their “entitlements”
Pro-rata pensions for TD’s, if they complete 40 years as a TD they are then entitled to a full pension. Do 4 years and they get a 10th (approx) like every other pensionable job.
If they don’t like it then get out and let somebody loyal to Ireland and the voters take the position.
It’s not working Dermot…it never does. You can’t take money over and over from people and expect an economy to thrive. Some austerity is needed but the time scale to get the deficit below 3% is ridiculously short and is drives by Europe and the German hawks. Pounding a nation into the ground and expecting us to recover is a no brainer….which I suppose is why FG/Lab are carrying it out.
VAT receipts are right down, which means people aren’t spending on anything other than the absolute essentials. Our brave little local computer-mending shop has just closed, joining the many local shops that have shuttered up in the last year.
Reading these comments I am at a loss to understand just WHO is saying the Politicians should be carrying on with austere measures in the next budget….they certainly don’t seem to be commenting yet people ARE disliking comments from people who are anti austerity and the ‘no’ vote is ahead……Im curious…very curious….
blood from a stone , comes from when miners used break open rocks which may have had tiny cracks which frogs and such had grown inside ,
they may have used a reference in the bible too with that guy moses, just to make it sound like another miricial in those fairy tales
feck , 3 red thumbs down ? , i really did not think i was offending anyone with a little education , but there you go ,
no wonder the country is in the state tis in , when you have people disliking a harmless comment like that or maybe tis just my spelling that rattled someones cage
The ESRI have been calling for continued austerity. They are part of the problem not the solution. During the Celtic Tiger they predicted 15 years of growth. They are a waste of space and resources – like RTE.
RTE is ours. why should we surrender our media channels and allow private business/owners to control the airwaves. RTE may be flawed and constant debate about its future/role is healthy but it is ours. Look at the censorship of Sam Smith when he wrote about O’Brien and Lowry.
Do you really think we’ll ever have economic sovereignty again?
We lost our sovereignty the moment we signed up for the euro and allowed this country go bankrupt in order to protect the euro and the real masters – the banks.
I think the eurozone crisis has demonstrated the need for a more fiscally interconnected continent but that’s a completely separate issue from troika supervision and instructions from on high. Our exit from the bailout would also lift eurozone confidence and the value of the currency because rather a lot is hanging on us. Ireland is seen as one of the “good” countries and a lot is riding on our successful return to normality.
Feral. This exiting the bailout is being seen by some as a great achievement. The truth of the matter is that it will make no difference to the less well off. We still have to pay back the loans, so if by some miracle we achieve a surplus in the near future, that money will be spent on paying back the loans. Austerity for the less well off is permanent!
And yet we’re still one of the 20 wealthiest countries per capita, living in one of the most freest, safest countries in the world, with one of the highest standards of living going.
Explain ‘the truth” Matt….
I hope you’re not suggesting that any exit from the bailout will see a return to this mythical economic sovereignty..the much beloved dogma of the FG/Lab quislings is “the truth”?
It is nothing more than a catchy soundbite used with alarming proficiency by FG/Lab.
Austerity does not work. You cannot rebuild an economy when the majority of the people have no money to spend! We should have copied Iceland, they sorted out their economic problems in a short period by punishing the people that caused it and not hammering the ordinary person. We dont have any politicans in this country with balls though an from the comments I ‘ve seen on other posts alot of the people are just as bad with their backward thinking so it looks like we ‘ll have to suck it up again..unless we unite as people and stand up to them nothing will change and at this stage it’a our own fault because we are letting them screw us!
Comparing us with Iceland is silly, far too many differences such as the fact they have their own currency, a much smaller population, proportionally greater natural resources, etc etc.
Not silly at all.. All you need is politicans that actually work for their employers -the people! not banks, bondholders an the Germans! Population and currency could have been worked around all it takes is abit of forward thinking and someone not afraid of the big bad wolf and we have our own natural resources but guess what they sold out on that too!
This austerity is gonna destroy this country financially for the middle and lower and socially full stop, people are now so stuck up there own with this me fein attitude that its turning people against one another but the government don’t see this or the EU or these overpaid expert groups because all we are to them is a number on a balance sheet and if your not making them money through taxes or work then your seen a burden. Its time to get real the only thing that has benefited from austerity has been the greed of the banks, the virtual scot-free escape of those who helped create the mess and the eroding of wage and workers rights for employers and big business, the unions are too powerless now to stop this cos the cosy love in for years with previous governments and the huge wages they get from it have totally detached them from the workers they represent. And even if we do exit the bailout and 5 years down the road we get a recovery going does anyone seriously think the government will reverse the water and property taxes hell no if anything they will increase
What a stupid question. Austerity has brought misery for the elderly during the winter months, it has taken from the Carers and Disabled. Ultimately it has robbed the family home to the point children are going to school without a nourishing meal while returning home to a €4.59 frozen pizza? The Labour Parties proposal and their behaviour in government is fundamentally perverse!
Labour suddenly wanting to ease the burden, I wonder why?….oh wait 8% consistently in the polls Gilmore even more unpopular than Cowen ever was.Local/European elections in 2014 anyone see the connection?
In fact, as the IMF in a recent study have admitted, the opposite is true.
This was what they referred to as the ‘fiscal multipliers’. It’s the debt to GDP +ratio+ that’s important, & measures that either reduce or stagnate GDP – such as budget cuts – do not help the situation.
Besides that, we need GDP growth to begin reducing the mass unemployment, which will itself increase the country’s overall prosperity and ability to service debt – both public and private.
As Keynes said 80 years ago, ‘…address the unemployment (by stimulus) and the deficit and debt ratios will look after themselves…’.
Because of the ‘deal’ on the Promissory Notes (not requiring such rapid repayment of the principal) we have more room for manoeuvre within the agreement with the Troika. As I said it’s deficit and debt to GDP ratios that are the key conditions, and because reduced austerity will help growth, these ratios will either come out no worse, or likely be improved.
Reducing austerity is the right policy. This is +macro+ economics & these principles, as with government debt dynamics, do not work the same way as with ‘household’ budget thinking.
This isn’t ‘new’, but has been known for 80 years after the same mistakes were made following the 1929 financial crash. The IMF’s economists have reaffirmed these facts +again+ having studied the effects of Troika style austerity policy (of numerous countries) over the last 5 years. Just as the (mainly) non-mainstream economists, critical of these policies, said it would.
The fact that the Euro system all but makes illegal such needed ‘counter cyclical’ measures by member states, is a very serious flaw that needs correcting if more countries are not to go down the catastrophic path demonstrated by Greece.
Such counter cyclical measures are readily available to countries like US, UK, Japan etc. who have retained sovereignty over their currencies, placing Euro members at a significant disadvantage. The exact reason why Euro zone unemployment & debt situation & all associated costs (huge) have remained far worse. (Euro area ‘official’ unemployment is still 12% – real lack of jobs higher again.)
But, the costs are near all being borne by ordinary citizens, not the top few percent who are running it. Democracy working? No, I don’t think so.
Ease it up on it? Its needs to be reversed. Its a self defeating cycle. Austerity budget increases deficit and yet more austerity increases deficit. Whats the definition of insanity! Of course it does benefit a certain few very wealthy and thats exactly why it will continue unless we do something about it ourselves. We need a movement that joins all the groups fighting austerity and democratically decide how we can fight the cuts and for an alternative to making ordinary people pay for the crisis of the rich. Come join groups like People Before Profit, Unite, Mandate, The Womens Council of Ireland, Single Parents Acting for the Rights of Kids (SPARK), Socialist Workers Party Sinn Fein Donegal Action Against Austerity West Cork Community Alliance and others in a Peoples Assembly at the Dail 6PM Wednesday Sept 18th.
Seanie you’re really an FG/Lab supporter, c’mon tell the truth now.Even a real FF voter would never spout the bs you do, they’d know it does more harm than good.
Norman. People have been living in a bubble of self pity for the last few years. If this country is to return to growth then people need to face up to that. I have been listening to this palaver for 4 years and i’m sick of the blame game.
@Seanie having read your comments the only blame you seem to be sick of is the blame people rightly place at the feet of every FF politician who helped destroy this country.
Your constant derision of peoples lives which has been ruined by FF policies is frankly disgusting.
It’s simple next election vote “Direct Democracy” get these sham’s out of the Dáil . These are making a mockery of our country . They take all the money & live a lavish life , while we pay the price & work hard just to survive . Ireland is a State of the people , so why don’t the people have say in these big decision’s . It’s sad really . Everything is going up … Rates , Gas , Electricity , tax this tax that ….
Then you have Job seekers , disability , pensions etc all been cut in the budget . It don’t makes sense , really doesn’t . But the worst thing of all is TD’s don’t take a cut , don’t have to sacrifice anything .
Did FF crash all the banks. How do you reckon they did that. Did they force people to buy houses, did they force people to live on the pigs back with no care or thought of tomorrow. FF gave this state the highest employment that it ever had. The banks and the people themselves made of that what they did.
A better question would be this: Did FF vote with the government to nationalise all private banking gambling debt and when in power what did they do to stop said banks and developers playing monopoly with real people?
@Seanie. Fianna Fáil may not have forced people to buy a house or second house…THEY ADVISED US TO BUY PROPERTY AS AN INVESTMENT AND ENCOURAGED US TO GET ON THE PROPERTY LADDER. As the leaders of our country why would we not take Bertie Ahern an Co advice? You are now condemning those for acting on that advice and you try to remove blame from Fianna Fáil!
No, but these are not simply ‘others’ as you so succinctly put it. These are people elected to a republic to look after the common good instead of their cronies and well connected friends.
Our leader basically told us, if you don’t like our policies, then you should go off and commit suicide! That same leader is collecting upwards of €150,000 per year for sitting in his free house all day gambling on the horses.
@Seanie. Fianna Fail created tax incentives for property development and openly encouraged it. They allowed property prices to rise. The main reason for this austerity is down to the ridiculous loans given to the property developers by certain banks. It was all done on Fianna Fails watch as was the spriralling Public Sector wages. So yes kinda is their fault.
But that’s where you are wrong, we were living on credit and that can’t go on indefinitely in a world of finite resources. At some stage a balancing of the books needs to happen.
I think we’re looking at this the wrong way, we borrowed close to €100 billion in debt to bail out bloated banks. €85b and nothing to show for it but a slow transformation into a stagnant culture of politics and corruption. How many young people will be gone in 10 years? The government is cutting back on education because they aren’t seeing the benefit in return, brain drain is occuring where young are getting the benefits of a subsidsied third level college education and leaving the country and the government is losing this investment. A lot of money is pumped into education and if we want to get out of this for the better we’re going to have to pump a lot more into it. Finland’s economy next to collapsed after the fall of the soviet union, and they invested in education. They built up their information infrastructure, and now they have an excellent thriving smart economy and are ranked 3rd in the world with Maths results, after Hong Kong and South Korea.
Cutting out budget is not going to fix this, we are sick and need nutrients, that means investment and innovation, austerity would be the equivalent of starving yourself to lose weight, it’s an unhealthy approach and shows underlying problems. This debt may be a burden we all carry for years to come, and it may nbot be our fault, but because of who we elected and the banking crisis this is now what we are left with, our little legacy. And I want to see the country turn this into an oppurtunity, a place where businesses can come because the country itself is on the cusp of technological innovation. We still have Big pharma companies staying and the same with tech giants, Google, Facebook and such. And we can grow talent at home quite easily.
Refomration isn’t going to be easy but its what we’re going to need to pull away from these carcinogenic banks and their greed for money, clawing at anybody who owes them a cent now when we’re a poorer nation and our leaders are making sure they stay in business. We need jobs, good jobs and good opputunities, then we’ll see a new boom, and not one relied upon unstable and shaky dealings and securities but on an open market and us riding the crest of the wave
Well yeah, not all of it was on banks, but it was to cover what we already spent on the banks, the rest of what the banks needed and then what we needed to actually run the country
austerity – the trait of great self-denial (especially refraining from worldly pleasures)
nonindulgence, asceticism
self-denial, self-discipline – the trait of practicing self discipline
We badly need an efficiency budget instead; public sector is still making the country run at a deficit and reform is too slow. Also business cost (unless you are a multinational) are massive.
Let’s all hope G20 do get a pact on tax avoidance and google and microsoft are prevented from having dual residency; we’d make billions!!
As we don’t control the ECB, we have no other choice but further austerity. Spending beyond our means got us into this mess in the first place and continuing to do that wont get us out of it. Ideally you would want a dual approach of the central bank printing more money and sustained moderate austerity over a longer period….but we don’t have that option.
No more austerity! Throw out the government and let me run the country! Simple. Lower wages for the people at the top. They do the least work. Higher wages for ground workers! More money to spend will get this this country back on its feet.
We need to stay the path, get it done and exit the bailout. Stopping now would simply be a false dawn, require more borrowing. Calls to use the 1 bn saving on prom note is no less reckless than the nonsense that went on during the boom…
To balance the books, the government should search high and low and take money from every nook and cranny they come across, including the disabled and the pensioners.
Really , why should the people pay for the governments mistakes ??
That’s like me paying your credit card bill … Would be silly …
Why would I , YOU racked up the bill ..
Same circumstances .. That’s how the majority of the irish people feel ….
We have to pay because we the Irish electorate elected FF to run the Country. They made a big mess of it and we still elect them!
Every FF TD gets a big salary and expenses and will get a big pension on exit.
They are laughing all the way to the bank! Pun!
The majority of TD’s spoon feed their policy’s to the public , literally saying what the public wants to hear , then they go against their policy’s when they are in power . Like Enda . Reassured us that it was not the publics fault it was FF , then gets on the late late & blasts the public saying it was our fault .
They have already hit the disabled several times. Seems like you have a clue and your comments are just to create controversy. Maybe there should be a special tax on people who talk out through their hats ? Might hit you hard though so be prepared.
Donald Trump threatens 200% tariffs on alcohol from EU countries
Updated
13 mins ago
FactCheck
Debunked: Project Ireland 2040 isn't a plan 'to flood the country with nearly 2m extra people’
28 mins ago
As it happened
The Taoiseach invited Trump and Vance to visit as Washington celebrated Ireland
Updated
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 156 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 106 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 45 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 71 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 52 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 66 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say