You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Darren Staples/PA Wire

Poll: Is it time that the Queen visited Ireland?

The British monarch is coming to Ireland, possibly as early as May of this year. Are you bothered?

SINN FÉIN president Gerry Adams has criticised the confirmation that Queen Elizabeth is to visit the Republic of Ireland this year, the first time since the partition of Ireland that a reigning British monarch has visited the south.

Adams said the visit was “premature” given that partition was still in force in Ireland, and that many in Ireland would be offended by the Queen’s presence.

How do you feel about it? Is Ireland now a mature enough place to have our neighbours visit in peace – even when they are our former colonial masters? Or do you think the Queen should steer clear while Ireland remains divided?

Are you in favour of the Queen’s visit to Ireland?

Poll Results:

Absolutely - it's long overdue, and will be peaceful (1025)
She has no place in Ireland and shouldn't set foot here (740)
I think it's right, but I worry about the reaction (640)
She should be able to visit, but shouldn't yet (254)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

134 Comments
    Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:36 PM

RIP. Dreadful as always. 156 cases is way too high. Gonna be a long winter lads!

Mute padar
    Favourite padar
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:38 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: wait until we hit flu season.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:51 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: is that useful to anybody?

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:59 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: think we are in for higher no.s next Monday or Tuesday. They have tested the highest amount in 1 day last Friday 13000 2% of that will be positive which is in Excess of that gettibg worrying again

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:01 PM

@John Egan: it may be

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:02 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: useful to me Gavin thanks for acknowledging the way it is instead of this ah it will be grand attitude that is out there.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:03 PM

@padar: naw, if people continue with the guidelines we’ll have very little flu this year. Australia had virtually no flu deaths this year due to their lockdown. They put it down to social distances etc

Mute Dub Cell
    Favourite Dub Cell
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:04 PM

@John Egan: it’s useful to me as someone who cannot wait for another lockdown.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:06 PM

@Patricia O’Reilly: Yeh i can’t understand how the flu is scaring everyone. Covid is more dangerous and more transmissible and if we have this many cases per day and this many deaths how in the name of God will people catch the flu and need hospitals?

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:14 PM

@David Clements: The casedemic continues. 6 in ICU and 20 in hospitals. We now have 1000′s of asymptomatic or mildly ill people with this deadly virus. While 2 people dead is sad the reality is that 85 people die each day of other causes.

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77

@padar: why would there be a flu season? The usual paths for migration of the virus into Ireland and community transmission of the flu are heavily curtailed because of Covid protection measures.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:17 PM

@Sarah Cullen: very few people are with the “ahh it’ll be grand” view. Scaring people is absolutely useless and only triggers more anxiety and fear which makes the problem worse.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:24 PM

@John Egan: Well yes…RIP is being respectful and a long winter in terms of Covid mixed with flus colds etc…Did I actually just explain that to you? Christ.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:29 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: yeah nice one Gavin cheers

Mute David Devereaux
    Favourite David Devereaux
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:38 PM

@padar: that’s what the flu jab is for .

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:38 PM

@PC: good man use a buzz word to make your self seem intelligent. Care to explain the meaning on casedemic seeing it isn’t in the Oxford English Dictionary

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:44 PM

@padar: Flu will be gone as we know it.

The only show in town is Covid. All flu deaths will become Covid deaths. Double the numbers.

RJ
    Mute RJ
    Favourite RJ
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:50 PM

@John Egan: sorry now. But who are the people that are getting scared and panic. It’s people like you saying such things thats annoying people

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:55 PM

@PC: We all know other causes that kill people this has killed over 800,000 people and if the precautions had not been taken and being still followed by sensible people.
    It would be a hell of a lot more

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:57 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: ah okay, so nothing useful apart from what’s obvious.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:02 PM

@John Egan: I agree with you John its not useful at all. People on here are so depressing, worry about what you can control yourself. Positivity people!!

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:06 PM

@padar: Two dead is not a pandemic.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:10 PM

@Gere: your right. But over 23million cases and 790,000 deaths worldwide is.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:11 PM

@Gere: you obviously don’t understand the meaning of the word

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:15 PM

@Lou: Lets all be positive about “Two deaths and 156 new cases” if only the journal had a face palm emoji.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:27 PM

@PC: You do go on about the ‘casedemic’ daily. If your benchmark is requiring respiratory assistance through hospital admission, you don’t understand much about levels of illness

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:16 PM

@Bountyop: If you don’t require hospitalisation it is no worse than a flu. The workers in the meat factories said that they had no more than a scratchy throat. This is the greatest over reaction in human history to what is no more than a sniffle for the majority of people. And our politicians know the truth too – otherwise they would have been hiding at home instead of partying in Galway. Open your eyes to the evidence – it is scaremongering led by MSM

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:18 PM

@John Egan: Oh Johnny…Do enlighten us all with what is not obvious…Good boy….we’re waiting!

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:25 PM

@Gary Kearney: Go on life in fear if you want. Unfortunately you appear to be a prisoner of the MSM scaremongering.

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:04 PM
    Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:06 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: Don’t know why people have a problem with what you said, facts are facts whether they’re scary or not. Every year we’re told on the news to stay away from hospitals during flu outbreaks due to overcrowding etc. If the numbers of Covid-19 continue on an upward trend then that will obviously make an already bad situation in the hospitals worse during the winter. How anybody can argue against simple logic like that is beyond me.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:15 PM

@Football in the Groin: there’ll be low levels of flu due to lack of trasmission

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:23 PM

@Miriam: In theory but nobody knows that for a fact. We won’t know until the time comes.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:27 PM

@Football in the Groin: yep true it’s just a guess

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:33 PM

@barry moore: 790,000 deaths out of 8 billion people in the world is not a pandemic, especially when the majority of those deaths were from other causes. Some people love power & others love drama.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:34 PM

@Ger: Do you

Mute Llewey Byrne
    Favourite Llewey Byrne
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:36 PM

@David Clements: Don’t know the situation in Ireland at the moment but according to the ONS (office for national statistics, England and Wales) on the week ending August 7th the total number of deaths from Covid-19 was 152.
    The total number of deaths from Flu and pneumonia was 1,013.

Mute Denis Connolly
    Favourite Denis Connolly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:39 PM

@barry moore:
    You’re using big numbers that most people are impressed by. In reality, 790,000 is 1/10,000 of the world population. Plus the fact many of those victims would have passed away from other causes soon enough.

Mute Joeber Wallace
    Favourite Joeber Wallace
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:46 PM

@Gere: just under 10,000 dead globally in a day is a pandemic.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:55 PM

@Gere: actually it is. You must suffer from ostrich syndrome.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:59 PM

@Hugh Corcoran: a chemical engineer. Possibly good in his chosen field. Covid 19 is a virus incase you didn’t know.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:15 PM

@Denis Connolly: so your saying just have a global cull of people who have medical conditions or over a certain age

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:34 PM

@Gere: Can you list each death by cause please? or not!?

Mute Mary Carmel
    Favourite Mary Carmel
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:31 AM

@David Clements: well, the symptoms are initially similar. When flu season hits amidst this pandemic it will be chaotic for hospitals and doctors offices. Both tests will have to be done. People have tested positive for both. Will getting flu make your body more susceptible to COVID? Who knows what the season will bring. As a HCW I am apprehensive about the next 6 months. Just wear masks when within 6 feet of people not in your household. Keep hands away from your face and mask(not easy). Use hand sanitizer. Don’t give in to peer pressure or sarcastic commentary. Keep yourself and your family safe.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:40 AM

@Gavin Mckenna: must have hit a nerve with my original response (was deleted) sry Gavvy.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:04 PM

@Mark: Well done you taking my comment out of context. The doom and gloom can get in on people, id rather be worried about the long term effects of people’s mental health than I would Covid. We only have control over out own actions, the people that arent abiding by the rules aren’t going to suddenly cop on by reading journal comments. We will get through this.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:39 PM

Looking at videos from that protest in Dublin its gonna increase more. Not a mask in sight and no social distancing. An insult to everyone who has being trying their best.

Mute T Colton
    Favourite T Colton
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:43 PM

@mark connolly: Were you disappointed to see no masks at the protest against having to wear masks? Lol

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:44 PM

@mark connolly: no they are totally right, and I absolutely guarantee you the crowds will get bigger and bigger the more this goes on, people are sick to death at being lied to and to make sacrifices while the elite do what they want

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore

@mark connolly: Well obviously they weren’t wearing Masks. That’s one of the things they were protesting against. Cases have risen a lot since masks were introduced so why would they stop it?

Mute Irene Mc Hugh
    Favourite Irene Mc Hugh
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:47 PM

@Jonny: Two wrongs don’t make a right .

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:50 PM

@Irene Mc Hugh: If this virus was so deadly the government officials would be a lot more cautious. But they know it’s not…

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:53 PM

@Joe Moore: QAnon puppet.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:54 PM

@Jonny: I agree, we are all sick if this, and want it to end, but these protests have just given the government every excuse they need for more restrictions if the numbers keep rising.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry

@Jonny: how are people being lied to?

Do you doubt people are infected or that people have died from covid, because I have experience with both and it ain’t pretty and it sure as feck isn’t a lie.

Maybe you’d stop with your conspiracy crap if a friend or family member belong to you died from it.

Mute mark connolly
    Favourite mark connolly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:55 PM

@T Colton: Not exactly lol. Just making they point that they have just given the government all the excuses they need if cases rise more again

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:56 PM

@T Colton: yep strange one that

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir

@Jonny: what do mean lied to.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch

@Joe Moore: sweet suffering Jesus.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:07 PM

@T Colton:
    Good man.. Sure the whole situation is great fun….. Enjoy it while you can.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:18 PM

@Jonny: interesting how your argument has changed… Last week it was people just sick of it. Now it’s people are sick of the elite doing what they want? Make up your mind.

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:25 PM

@Joe Moore: go talk to a few nurses or doctors or elderly care homes if you are so smart

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:28 PM

@Jonny: each person taking their own personal responsibility, and getting on as best they can is the point. Yes be angry at golfgate but that should have zero impact on your own behavior. Everyone is tired of the virus but it ain’t going anywhere any time soon.

Mute Mary Josephine
    Favourite Mary Josephine

@Barry: if you’re at an event where Jim Corr is a speaker you really should wonder about your life choices

Mute Andrew Keane
    Favourite Andrew Keane
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:54 PM

@Jonny: they should be round up and locked away for quarantine. Lied to; what a load of nonsense .

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:03 PM

@Jonny: Just because politicians act like gobsh*tes doesnt mean that we need to do the same.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:23 PM

@Barry: I agree I think it’s very insulting to cast doubt on people’s personal first hand experiences. I do wonder though, if the statistics are being handled correctly now that the curve has been flattened as planned. Sure we have a rise in cases with all the extra testing – but the seriously ill, hospitalisations and deaths are very low.

Mute paul collins
    Favourite paul collins
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:07 AM

@Jonny: muppet, actually total muppet sorry I meant total f..ktard

Mute paul collins
    Favourite paul collins
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:08 AM

@Jonny: muppet, actually total muppet sorry I meant total muppet

Mute Ailbhe Hall
    Favourite Ailbhe Hall
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:49 AM

I totally agree with your comment. Obviously they would prefer to wear a ventilator than a mask. Shame on them

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:53 AM

@mark connolly: you including the government in that statement? Or are you just a bot? Or worse a sheep

Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:51 AM

@Jonny: yes they might end up being “being sick to death” for not wearing masks! Lol

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:13 PM

@Jonny: I agree that the do as i say, not as i do mentality of the government is a joke, but sometimes we just have to do the right thing, whether we want to or not. I absolutely hate the masks, the keep going over my eyes, i cant bloody breathe in them because theyre so hot and stuffy, but i will do the right thing and wear them, because this thing is bigger than me and what i think i have the right to do.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg

Please like my comment

Mute Limited Edition
    Favourite Limited Edition
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:31 PM

@T Dawg: Done.

Mute Supes Kz
    Favourite Supes Kz
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:36 PM

The tory government in England are now manipulating COVID19 death figures.
    They have introduced an arbitrary 28 cut off point from 1st postive diagnosis.
    People there dying of COVID19 after this cut off time are not counted on daily totals and they have also applied it retrospectively slashing 5000 deaths off their total for optics.

Yesterday they claimed 2 people died of COVID19 despite increasing cases on correct inspection of figures without the disgusting cut off applied it was closer to 100.

Many people live beyond 28 days especially now given better therapeutics/management than during the start of the pandemic.

This is China levels of death figure manipulation and Ireland and the EU need to condemn their actions, England is practically a rogue state with this tory government.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:37 PM

@T Dawg: liked and shared

Mute Jh2019
    Favourite Jh2019
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:15 PM

@T Dawg: lol

Ed
    Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:03 PM

@T Dawg: As you asked so nicely

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:34 PM

@Supes Kz: yes this is situation normal with regards to Tory behaviour- absolutely I’m line with how they behave

Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:53 AM

@Supes Kz: where is your sources on this info?

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham

There are more cases because there is more testing

Mute Charlie Kavanagh
    Favourite Charlie Kavanagh
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:40 PM

@Carol Cunningham: Regular genius we have here. You realise obviously that these people were positive whether tested or not yeah?

Mute Eddie Howley
    Favourite Eddie Howley
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:42 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: They wouldn’t show up in the figures unless they were tested!

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Isobel Martin
    Favourite Isobel Martin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:45 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: she’s been listening to TRump

Mute Séamus Heffernan
    Favourite Séamus Heffernan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:52 PM

@Carol Cunningham: Found Trump’s thejournal account.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:55 PM

@Isobel Martin: She is spot on. The detail we need is on the deaths not the cases. Cases is no longer a metric worth looking at, that’s well kniwn at this stage (beyond the HSE/gov circle, or circus may be more appropriate).

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:57 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: you realise if we had the same testing capacity in March/April our numbers would be far higher?

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:03 PM

@Carol Cunningham: ok Donald

Mute Charlie Kavanagh
    Favourite Charlie Kavanagh

@John Egan: and?

Mute Paul Moran
    Favourite Paul Moran

@Charlie Kavanagh: there are obviously more than the 1.7% of the country who’ve had it. Period. The PCR test also identifies people who have had it as well (from what I’ve read) What I cant get my head around is where the 13000 came from for testing. Do you just pitch up because your want to see if you have our had it. If 13000 people were pitching up with symptoms we’d know about it. Can’t be from contact tracing either. Can anybody shed some light?

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:08 PM

@Carol Cunningham: that’s what trump says. Looks bad when we test a lot but it’s a beautiful thing.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:13 PM

@paul mccoy: in fairness trump was saying all this while the deaths were out of control. Ours aren’t now. Different metrics mean different things at different stages of a pandemic. And the level of testing does matter. Blanket testing 500 asymptomatic people in workplaces is very different to testing 500 randomers with coughs and fevers….

Mute Paul Buckley
    Favourite Paul Buckley

@Carol Cunningham: is that Donal Trump you were repeating

Mute Kate Knowles
    Favourite Kate Knowles
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:23 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: wasting your breath Charlie

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:32 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: What? You do realise the more tests you do the more cases you discover? It is estimated 85,000 not 27,000 people had the virus
    And if we had tested 100k per week and not 40k we would have discovered more of those 85000 cases
    You lack of basic statistical knowledge and the fact you have the most liked comment on this thread concerns me deeply
    If I ask 10 people if they like Michael Martin or 10000 you tell me which will have the higher number saying they like him? Obviously 10000
    But proportionally it will probably be less people saying they like them as a percentage of those asked versus if you asked 10
    Educate yourself!

Mute Jackie Jones
    Favourite Jackie Jones
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:40 PM

@Toon Army: of course we need to know the cases… we have to protect the elderly or sick.. if we dont know of cases how in gods name can we protect the vulnerable???? There was outcry from the deaths from nursing homes, the vulnerable were not protected then. this is why we need to know cases!!!

Mute Gordon Walsh
    Favourite Gordon Walsh
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:48 PM

@Paul Moran: they test everyone linked to an outbreak, so whole factories and the like

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:42 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: yeh but what were the figures before we started properly testing for covid

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:08 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: eh obviously but they were not included in the numbers if they weren’t tested duh!!!

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:39 PM

@Charlie Kavanagh: Yes but people are reacting to numbers of confirmed cases, Einstein! So what Carol is pointing out is what the hell does it matter if you double the testing you double the cases and everyone flips! Deaths are the stat that counts here. At the moment = very low!

Damo
    Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:00 PM

@Miriam: People are dying catching it from asymptomatic patients. The more of those cases found and isolated the less people will die. Deaths are a lagging indicator of cases. Cases do matter … todays cases and those they spread it to will (in some small percentage) be deaths in 2 or 3 weeks. The number of cases also gives people an idea of how much is out in the community… that’s why they are “flipping”…

Mute Paul Moran
    Favourite Paul Moran
    Aug 23rd 2020, 10:15 AM

@Gordon Walsh: I totally understand that but what I’m asking is if there are 200 (say) test positive today how do they get to 13000 pitching up for testing say on Tuesday? R number would need to be off the Richter scale? Only 200 or so have been notified through the app and I’m assuming you still need an appointment.

Mute Sean Dempsey
    Favourite Sean Dempsey

And the far right March in Dublin against face masks.

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:41 PM

@Sean Dempsey: goons

Mute Brynþór Patrekursson
    Favourite Brynþór Patrekursson

@Sean Dempsey: not that you’d wish this horrible disease on anyone, but it would be good to prove how contagious it is with these groups of goons. Fortunately for them, everyone else had cop on and are ironically protecting their health from their own idiocracy

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:45 PM

@Brynþór Patrekursson: well Luke O’Neill said in May that the risk of the virus spreading from protests was very low. He said this when questioned about the danger of a spike following the BLM protest which had 5000 attendees. None of those wearing masks either as at the time we were told masks weren’t necessary

Mute Vladimir Macro
    Favourite Vladimir Macro
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:17 PM
    Mute Antoinette Doyle
    Favourite Antoinette Doyle
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:21 PM

@Dearbhla Othey were saying not to wear masks if you look at the speakers they were shouting at people to get off the steps and move out if they think they don’t need protection why were they so keen not too have too many people beside them

Mute Madethyme
    Favourite Madethyme
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:57 AM

@Anna Anna: well said

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:56 AM

@Anna Anna: Sorry Anna, look back at the pictures of the BLM protest on June 6th. 80+% usage of masks from the pictures.

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia

Lower than I thought it would be, however we need to start seeing percentages.

Number of people tested.
    Number of people positive.
    Percentage of infection.

Mute padar
    Favourite padar

@Sequoia: the reason for the high numbers is we are testing loads more

Mute Daniel Curtin
    Favourite Daniel Curtin

@Sequoia: all available on the HSE website, updated every day, it’s there for everyone to read, usually updated around 6.30 or 7 each evening

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath

@Sequoia: around 13000 tested so 1.2% positive very little really.

Mute Séamus Heffernan
    Favourite Séamus Heffernan

@padar: You do know that those cases exist regardless of whether we test or not, yeah?

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army

@Séamus Heffernan: Yep like all the cases of influenza that are there in the summer also – you test for any virus and you’ll find it.

Mute Paul Royal
    Favourite Paul Royal

@Sequoia: completely agree, this is turning into a complete farce,you have a section of society that just seem to want this to be bad and any number over a hundred is vindication for locking down everything,when I’d like to see how many people got let’s say the flu today and how many had the flu virus in there system when they passed away

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:40 PM

@Michael McGrath: 13k tested on friday. 57670 tested over the last 7 days. Positive results account for 1.3%. It was showing as 1.2 earlier today but has since been updated to 1.3. Two weeks ago the rate was 1.7%

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:44 PM

@Séamus Heffernan: yes OMG we know. The point is when the “numbers” are published everyone flips like there’s been a big spike. When testing has just increased. The deaths are still very low!!! Ugh this is hard work

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:21 AM

@Anna Anna: well give or take we are in agreement so

Mute thomas
    Favourite thomas

Time to lock down Dublin

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@thomas: no

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:56 PM

@thomas: Wouldn’t be adhered to.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger

@thomas: why? Per head of population Dublin has one of the lowest rates in the country at the moment

Mute Rochey77
    Favourite Rochey77

Not. Great. Anyone for 18 holes and a chicken dinner?

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77

@Rochey77: then back to Donnie Cassidys hotels to riddle the place!

Mute Buzz O Sullivan
    Favourite Buzz O Sullivan

Open the pubs

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:49 PM

@Buzz O Sullivan: restart essential medical services

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:46 PM

@Buzz O Sullivan: why would you want to open up sales of a gateway drugs

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:54 PM

@Kevin50: will someone please think of the children!!!!!

Mute Blackpope79
    Favourite Blackpope79

My deepest sympathy to the families

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Journal deleting comments for no reason, no such thing as free speech here eh

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:47 PM

@Jonny: it’s gone ridiculous pal. It’s all one big joke right now. Six people in ICU the last two months and most people asymptomatic.

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:14 PM

@Jonny: Ireland does not have free speech. Read the terms and conditions before giving out.

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:06 PM

@Joe Moore: Are you using that stat to imply that COVID isn’t a big deal?

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:17 PM

@Joe Moore: luckily I’m not foolish enough to believe the stats you came out with. There’s 6 people in ICU today – not the total figure for two months. There was 11 in ICU on the 4th of July. You’re some spoofer.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:48 PM

@Tadhg: ICU numbers have been between 4 and 8 for the last 4 weeks ie. stable. Despite our Health Minister saying they had doubled over the weekend only a few days ago, when in fact they hadn’t changed from the figure of 8. Now we are at 6 again

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:39 PM

@Jonny: Ireland does not use the US Constitution…so the first does not apply. And even if it did, that’s still not how it works.

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:35 PM

Ah jaysus

Mute Mike Johnston
    Favourite Mike Johnston

@Frank Discussion: open the pubs ?

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:00 PM

I was just wondering how many people have died in Ireland because of Coronavirus specifically, as opposed to having Coronavirus and dying due to cancer or a heart attack or old age or whatever.

Mute zozimus
    Favourite zozimus
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:33 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: approximately 1300

Damo
    Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:24 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: Do you think dying of “old age” is a real thing? Everyone dies of something regardless of age…

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

No one takes NPHET /Coalition Government seriously anymore

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:48 PM

@Jonny: speak for yourself

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey

@Olivia Smith: Actually he’s right. Very hard to have any confidence after the debacle of this week.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:22 PM

@Frances Casey: It’s not NPHET’s fault when people especially politicians don’t follow their public health guidelines!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara

@Jonny: I take NPHET’S guidelines seriously.

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:30 PM

@Frances Casey: Frances, he said “nobody” takes them seriously. Olivia replied implying that she does. I would this conclude that he is actually wrong. Has basic logic neglected you?

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:41 PM

@Frances Casey: like I already said speak for yourself, not every person is carrying on like a petulant child. I’d rather listen to people on NPHET than cookoo fools one the journal rising up against so-called oppression. If you have someone you live who could die get a grip and stop throwing the toys out of the pram.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:42 PM

@EnKy: I’d say cop on has to be fair.

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:21 PM

@Olivia Smith: I have relations in this category. But unlike you I know what happens to people in the autumn years of life. They DIE. And we all end up dead in the end. This virus changes nothing – it mostly wiped out our most vulnerable in old folks homes who were already at deaths door.

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:31 PM

@Olivia Smith: Olivia you full of fear. Did you know if you don’t follow the regulations religiously the devil will visit you and punish you. It’s written in the great book of Moses!

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:08 PM

@PC: You’re hilarious PC! Will you still be telling such crackers when you get COVID yourself?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:25 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: your in the minority so

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:29 PM

@PC: You absolute gowl. Do one.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:31 PM

@PC: Really ? I don’t read fiction. What do you see when you look in a mirror? I’d imagine it frightens the life out of you. And your not even funny. Don’t give up the day job.

Mute Pat Andrews
    Favourite Pat Andrews

Open the Dáil

Mute ruairi
    Favourite ruairi
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:58 PM

@Pat Andrews: Open the Dáil bar.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:15 PM

@ruairi: not much sense in that. The Dail isn’t sitting the beer will have gone off.

Mute Wiggy Wigsters Fitness
    Favourite Wiggy Wigsters Fitness

The calm before the storm , let’s here what dopey Donnelly has to say , maybe he has trampolines on his mind , as I head in on the frontline tonight with 13,hour shift ahead a tsunami is on the way with the onset of winter

Mute IAmTheTruth
    Favourite IAmTheTruth

It’s really not as bad as people seem to think it is. We were always going to see a rise in cases like this when reopening the country.
    We have to keep moving forward.

And for goodness sake, wear a bloody mask!

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic

They’ll be no santy this year!

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan

@Jeremiah A Craic: Free Santy! Free Kildare! Free Donie Cassidy’s wig!

Mute Mark O'Donohoe
    Favourite Mark O'Donohoe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:59 PM

@Jeremiah A Craic: he didn’t make it through the first wave of covid I’m afraid… no more santy

Mute Fenrir Wolfganger
    Favourite Fenrir Wolfganger

@Mark O’Donohoe: Sadly he was in too many risk categories, overweight and well over 70. It was coming I’m afraid.

Mute Seán O'Loughlin
    Favourite Seán O'Loughlin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:27 PM

@Jeremiah A Craic: No sanity anyway… I’ve lost my marbles

Mute Brian Mc Cabe
    Favourite Brian Mc Cabe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:56 PM

@Seán O’Loughlin: yep,,its the sanity clause.

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner

Condolences to the bereaved families and friends of the deceased. May they rest in peace.

Mute Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE
    Favourite Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE

At this stage I think we can say things are out of control!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Seán O Ciara BA/ PDE: I actually think the opposite

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore

It’s nice to see the masks are working well….

Mute Quiggers
    Favourite Quiggers

@Joe Moore: what are you expecting when half the population dont wear them

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:00 PM

@Quiggers: or wear them properly

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:12 PM

@Quiggers: Everyone is wearing them. Where have you been…

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:38 PM

@Joe Moore: The madks are a precationary measure and not a gurantee…. What biggles the mind, is they should have been mandatory everywhere at the height of it… Also dont forget alot of people cannot wear them due to underlying issues.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:49 PM

@Mark: Denmark doing just fine without masks

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke

The positivity rate per test 1.2%
    That is if memory serves very similar to what it was when we had this pandemic “under control”
    Granted increased testing is as a result of increased spread bug it’s likely we are squeezing every last case out of every outbreak giving the perception things are worse than they are
    Remain calm
    Keep the basic practices going
    And above all else don’t accept contradictory restrictions for granted

Mute Patricia O'Reilly

Never mind Kildare , we need to lock down Dublin ..

Mute Ann-Marie
    Favourite Ann-Marie

@Patricia O’Reilly: Dublin should be locked down but we all know that’ll never happen

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:39 PM

@Ann-Marie: it’s cases per 100000 that’s important but your mind probably can’t process that basic information.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:12 PM

@IRL77: She has a major Dublin envy issue,

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:42 PM

@Gary Kearney: I don’t blame her….the country and western show that’s going on at the moment makes me thank the lord that I don’t do staycations….couldn’t stomach giving that lot any of my hard earned money.

Mute Ann-Marie
    Favourite Ann-Marie
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:35 PM

@Gary Kearney: Couldn’t be more wrong!!!

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:43 PM

@IRL77: Cases don’t matter. It’s the sick that count. 1 or 2 per day dead at most whole 85 other people die of cancer, heart disease etc. This pandemic will be proven to be the greatest hoax in human history.

Mute Philomena Keegan
    Favourite Philomena Keegan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:36 AM

@Ann-Marie: you obviously haven’t been to Dublin lately. City Centre is so quiet. Everyday here is like a Sunday. The vast majority are staying home and staying safe !

Mute patrick o keeffe

The most Covid 19 restrictions in Europe and we are well on our way to have the worst figures in Europe

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney

@patrick o keeffe: Look at the daily increase in numbers for the last week. We got the numbers down fast and there was always going to be another wave and another after that.
    Our numbers are good when measures correctly.

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:37 AM

@Gary Kearney: Here’s another covid 19 ‘expert’. Listen and learn people

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

They could announce a thousand cases a day and it wouldn’t make any difference, there’s one law for the elite in Ireland and one law for everyone else, even the most vocal FFG supporter will quietly admit this, NPHET /Coalition Government are in effect not to be trusted whatsoever under any circumstances, lies after lies, mass confusion, constant chopping and changing their minds about restrictions, nonsensical rubbish, some people who are gullible will believe everything they say, but I think it’s safe to say the majority do not and will not take these charlatans seriously anymore.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:10 PM

@Jonny: What lies?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@LangerDan: what planet have you been living on recently, or are you a FFG apologist

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore

@LangerDan: What lies? Are you actually that niave?? It’s laughable…

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:15 PM

Still no evidence of lies. Come on lads. Post some lies.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:17 PM

@Jonny: what lies are you on about pal?

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:19 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: ah here ffs are you seriously that niave

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:20 PM

@Jonny: You’re full of it. Now is your opportunity to back up your claims yet the entire site can see you ignore requests for evidence.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:27 PM

@Jonny: needs toilet paper his mouth

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:29 PM

@LangerDan: seriously are you really that niave or stupid or an FFG apologist to think that this shambles of a government are not telling the truth and you probably believe they are doing a good job, I actually despair for people like you lol

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:32 PM

@Jonny: What is the ‘truth’ then?

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:34 PM

@Jonny: I think they can do a better job. That still doesn’t let you away with the fact that you are accusing them of lies. You have had ample opportunities to back that up here. Go on, prove me wrong. I’ll concede if you even give one confirmed example of a deliberate lie.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:44 PM

@LangerDan: they’ve lied about covid deaths amongst other things and fkup knows what else the general public don’t know about, but by all means continue to believe the nonsense they are coming out with

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:46 PM

@LangerDan: why aren’t you outraged by these charlatans like most people are, are you a FFG apologist or something, do you seriously trust nphet /Coalition Government because at this stage most don’t.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:46 PM

@Jonny: How have they lied? I don’t want your opinion. I want evidence that disproves what they have said. Just one example backed with evidence. You’re a busted flush at this stage.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan

@Jonny: I am annoyed with them. Especially over Galway. I also think they’ve made a mess of the opening up. I think they made terrible mistakes early on re the nursing homes.
    However, I don’t believe they are acting as part of a conspiracy and I have not seen any actual lies on their part. So I’m asking you yet again to post evidence of lies.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:00 PM

@LangerDan: I’m thinking your wasting your time asking for evidence. As you can see all people like that can do is hurl insults and make accusations but are always unable to back up there argument with evidence.

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:04 PM

@barry moore: Absolutely. And I know full well I won’t get any evidence. But so many people believe their crap, I thought it would be good to lay bare their own lies before the commentariat.

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:05 PM

@barry moore: any eejit can spout nonsense from the sidelines

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:14 PM

@Jonny: Have you noticed by chance that the entire world has the same pandemic. That most countries are following the same pattern of response as we are.
    This has noting to do with politics, it is a virus and it will kill FG, FF, SF or anybody else.
    it shows fear nor favour.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:18 PM

@Jonny: Nphet are the experts on the issue, do you trust your doctor or do you go onto a forum and ask questions and decide your doctor is wrong.
    Trust this government, I don’t trust any government Nphet I do trust as they are experts in the field and don’t have anything to gain from what they are doing.
    Covid-19 can infect anybody Mary Lou and boris johnson got it. So it is a nonpolitical virus

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:19 PM

@jackamy: that is true. This country will manage perfectly well without them

Mute zozimus
    Favourite zozimus

@Jonny: I will make allowances for you. Obviously public health is a science in its self.

Mute Laura Mccabe
    Favourite Laura Mccabe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:09 PM

@LangerDan: totally agree with you. Theres plenty of things the government could have done better, and things they have made a balls of. But its not to say there is some conspiracy afoot. Everytime i see these nonsense ‘casedemic plandemic scamdemic conspiracy lies’ comments i just dont understand ppl that choose to believe this. Why would they lie? To what end? What would the benefit of this conspiracy be? Did all the world leaders get together in a secret meeting and come up with a global lets f$&k the world policy? Have a good look at our government, they are quite happy to con us on many thing without the need to hide it i wouldnt have much faith in them being able to manage an actual conspiracy

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:32 AM

@LangerDan: I’ve told you already they lied about deaths attributed to Covid-19, saying there was 13% more deaths than what there actually was from March to June, they tried to say this was a “mistake” how can this possibly be a mistake eh, so this alone is enough, and if your so gullible enough to actually believe they are telling the public the whole truth I fear for you and anyone else who believes their bulls**t.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:56 AM

@Jonny: the difference in numbers you are talking about is because there was a change in how to count deaths. The vast majority are covid positive deaths but as per the guidelines at the time people who died and were suspected covid cases were also included when the guidelines changed some doctors didn’t know about the new guidelines. Hence why they are now looking back and removing deaths from the total. What other lies are the government telling us. Feel free to provide links to these.

Mute kennyjones27
    Favourite kennyjones27

Jesus thats very high we need to go back into lockdown this is getting out of hand

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys

@kennyjones27: why, because it’s not resulting in cases in hospital, and deaths are steady? You go into hiding of you like.

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:20 PM

@kennyjones27: Can’t afford it. Q2 GDP estimated figures are 16.8% down. This PUP money doesn’t grow on magic trees.

Mute Jimmy Fagan
    Favourite Jimmy Fagan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:47 PM

@kennyjones27: and then what? Open up when the numbers are low again? Then lock down again when the numbers get too high? Whats the point in that endless cycle for nothing? This virus is here to stay. No amount of locking down is going to change that.

J
    Mute J
    Favourite J
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:37 PM

Open the lunch boxes. Free the fun size bounty bars.

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:55 PM

@J: Paper bags requested in some schools. Lunch boxes are so yesterday.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

And f@t Hogan still thinks he’s right to attend golf dinners!!!

Mute Brendan O'Donoghue
    Favourite Brendan O'Donoghue

40 cases in schools in Berlin, it is going to be a long winter

Mute jackamy
    Favourite jackamy

@Brendan O’Donoghue: it’s cases in 40 schools

Mute IRL77
    Favourite IRL77
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:36 PM

@jackamy: did you say that Jack had a trial for Liverpool…..no he was on trial in Liverpool!

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

On the rise! Schools next

Mute 王明辉
    Favourite 王明辉

I am just here for the comments

Mute Declan Martin Rigney
    Favourite Declan Martin Rigney

Ffs. Deaths are never nice to see. Are we seeing more new cases due to more testing or are we in a spiral of clusters appearing. I don’t know what to believe anymore. COVID. F off

Mute Thisguy
    Favourite Thisguy

@Declan Martin Rigney: Well there are definitely a lot more infections in the country now than a month ago due to clusters and close contacts, however testing has been ramped up massively too. They are the factors leading to the large number of daily cases lately.

There’s no point in arguing, the wearing of masks are needed (always were), social distancing, hygiene etc need to be adhered to. This is especially the case after seeing what has happened with the opening of schools in Germany.

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:40 AM

@Thisguy: Here’s another covid 19 ‘expert’. Listen and learn people

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna

@Jonny: Another “Anti Everything” Head spouting warped nonsense. Give it a rest! 2 people have died, show some respect!

As much as I hate to say it gyms need to be shit down was in the gym recently no social distancing and very little sanitizers around , nobody wiping down machines and staff turning a blind eye , WHAT IS THE POINT ???

Mute Cian - Wash your
    Favourite Cian - Wash your

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Did you complain?

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:09 PM

@Cian – Wash your: yes he did. On the journal..

Mute Del Bear
    Favourite Del Bear

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: has there been cases linked to gyms? I’ve not heard of any

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:20 PM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: The original name of the venue that is currently called the 3 arena

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: s@h€tt1ng in the gym isn’t on.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:26 PM

@David Clements: lol

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:06 AM

@Wiggy Wigsters Fitness: Nobody made you go. If your so frightened of the virus what were you doing going to a sweaty gym! Stay at home and get fat if you want but stop sh*tting on the gym that others want to use. Unless your over 70 with serious underlying conditions Covid is not a serious threat to you. If you don’t believe me ask Dara, Big Phil or Sean O’Rourke! Covid won’t get you but watch out for heartdisease as you hide under your bed listening to the 24/7 fear propaganda spouted by RTE.

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe

Open the pubs

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:09 PM

It would be good if at least the government took this seriously.

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:25 PM

Get the elite of the country to read today’s stats, golf is much to important , how do you get people to do the right thing, when politicians, judges, media reps and of course big Phill Hogan that would not give two Fu-ks about anyone.

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor

I keep thinking of Saddam Hussain in South Park screaming ‘Ahh you guys are all pretty f%$#*d now’

Aug 22nd 2020, 5:58 PM

Kildare in lockdown.. Laughable. Drive through newbridge today and too 40mins. Shops are jammed

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

Eh they’re not in lockdown. Shops are open. And good to see people supporting local business in a very tough time…

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:16 PM

@David Clements:
    There are Lock down Restrictions in Kildare!!!

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@Joe Toner: but it’s not on lockdown
    Shops are open etc. They’re not allowed leave the county or eat out but to complain that the shops in kildare are busy misses the point.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:49 PM

@David Clements: as long as they obey the distancing and mask wearing rules..

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil

Open the pubs, especially for the golf dinners.

The milky bars are on me

Mute Kehoe21
    Favourite Kehoe21
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:53 PM

Lock Dublin down it’s as bad as Kildare

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:08 PM

Once Fianna Fail got their grubby hands on power again, it’s been a steady decline.

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:47 PM

@The Irish Bull: Their equal partners in Government Fine Gael are equally to blame.

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:26 PM

I am happy to see people wearing masks. Its easy to see who cannot see the totalitarian programming right in gront of their nose. The bigger the lie the longer the nose grows, pinoccio.

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:51 PM

@Thomas McGrath: true. Easier to spot the independent thinkers, which is always helpful

Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:55 AM

@Thomas McGrath: would you be willing to catch Covid?

Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:40 PM

Face masks are mandatory in most autonomous communities in spain, with strict policing and on the spot fines from what i seen in Madrid last week, yet the cases continue to rise there.. makes me wonder how

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:34 PM

@David Lee: Masks don’t work in a community setting. In fact they can increase the spread by generating a false sense of security

Mute Anna Anna
    Favourite Anna Anna
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:52 PM

@David Lee: and Denmark and sweden are doing just fine without them

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:38 AM

@PC: Here’s another covid 19 ‘expert’. Listen and learn people

Mute Mick Staines
    Favourite Mick Staines
    Aug 23rd 2020, 9:56 AM

@Anna Anna: not true

Mute Gareth Murran
    Favourite Gareth Murran
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:30 PM

Hopefully these people start wearing t-shirts or badges So that I can cross the street when I see one coming.

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:33 PM

@Gareth Murran: Which people the Jews, The Blacks, The Refugees or the Irish in England?

Mute margarita
    Favourite margarita

and Covidiots stay in Dublin at protest, and for what ???… Why not for Housing maffia, Insurance Maffia and all in…. Wff protest for a mask???? Covidiotism is not curable !

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:36 PM

@margarita: Says you the big lockclown, hiding in your bunker, wearing a mask, for a disease with a median age of death of 84.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra

Lock the country down

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:22 PM

@Madra: Guaranteed your wages regardless Madra?

Mute dmcardle
    Favourite dmcardle
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:19 PM

@Madra: Can’t afford it. Q2 GDP estimated figures are 16.8% down. This PUP money doesn’t grow on magic trees.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher

Where is the proof of any of this

Mute Ian Flynn
    Favourite Ian Flynn

Why isn’t Dublin in lock down, if the figures are so high,?

Mute Denis Connolly
    Favourite Denis Connolly
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:42 PM

@barry moore:
    You’re using big numbers that most people are impressed by. In reality, 790,000 is 1/10,000 of the world population. Plus the fact many of those victims would have passed away from other causes soon enough.
    Too many hysterical people on these forums.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:48 PM

@Denis Connolly: good idea we just have a global cull of people who have under lying medical conditions and people over a certain age. At what age should it start?

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:38 AM

@Denis Connolly: Here’s another covid 19 ‘expert’. Listen and learn people

Mute Mike Bowler
    Favourite Mike Bowler
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:57 PM

Another lockdown is inevitable today’s figures are seriously concerning just wait until the Schools re-open next week.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:24 PM

we went through the last wave… so its now a chance to get orginised and be ready for a hard winter, you should all have face coverings, gloves… alcohol wipes etc..

Mute Rhonda Kiely O Shea
    Favourite Rhonda Kiely O Shea
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:51 PM

Sick to death of it all

Mute Ann Illing
    Favourite Ann Illing
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:38 AM

DIED WITH Covid.. Not FROM it.

Mute gk ricko
    Favourite gk ricko
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:33 AM

Why is Dublin in lockdown they have the most cases

Mute Paul Royal
    Favourite Paul Royal

Just out of curiosity,how many cancer diagnosis were made today

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:09 PM

Very little cases at all in the west. That tells me there’s something killing the virus on the Atlantic Ocean. Lots of cases in the US so is it the gales/storms that’s killing the virus?

Mute Paul Royal
    Favourite Paul Royal

How many people were diagnosed with cancer today,just wondering

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:02 PM

How stup!d..

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 22nd 2020, 7:41 PM

@Seriousnojoke: top class point

Mute Richard Toomey
    Favourite Richard Toomey

Id prefer to hear more stats on numbers needing hospital treatment and icu admission etc

Mute Richard Toomey
    Favourite Richard Toomey

Id prefer to hear more stats on numbers needing hospital treatment and icu admission etc.

Mute Richard Toomey
    Favourite Richard Toomey
    Aug 22nd 2020, 5:41 PM

I would prefer to hear more stats on numbers needing hospital treatment and icu admission etc.

Mute Stasia Morley
    Favourite Stasia Morley
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:26 PM

Your doing a great job sir