You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Wire/Press Association Images

Poll: After the Dublin Bus pay deal, do you feel you deserve a pay rise?

Should a rising tide lift all boats?

YESTERDAY’S DEAL BETWEEN Dublin Bus and its employees will see drivers get a pay rise of about 11.25% over three years.

The pay rise equates to about 3.75% each year for three years and is almost on par with the pay rise secured by Luas drivers earlier this year.

With further industrial disputes on the horizon, such as the upcoming garda strike, the government is also being forced to examine public sector pay deals.

With all this talk, does it make you assess your own situation?

Today’s poll, Do you feel you deserve a pay rise? 

Poll Results:

Yes (8971)
No (1408)
No yet, but in the future (928)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

118 Comments
    Mute Fionn Condren
    Favourite Fionn Condren
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:54 AM

Who would say no to that?

Mute Eddie Harkin
    Favourite Eddie Harkin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:13 AM

Employers!

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:36 AM

The Dublin Bus and Luas workers have given a great lead here. Obedience and compliance is a recipe for exploitation. Workers need to organise and fight to take what is ours.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:40 AM

Hit the print button on the keyboard.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:44 AM

It’s not “yours” you muppet. And not everyone has the luxury of working for a company than can both lose money and increase pay at the same time and still swan off with a pension at the end of it. Unless of course it’s the taxpayer footing the bill….

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:07 AM

@John Moylan: Well said John

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:14 AM

John, The working class create all of the real wealth on which humanity depends. Everything from the food in our bellies to the most sophisticated technology is produced by the workers through their labour and ingenuity. It’s ours and we need to organise and fight to take what is ours. And the workers don’t need your approval or permission to do so as Dublin Bus and the Luas workers have clearly demonstrated. Solidarity with all workers struggling to obtain a greater share of the wealth which they have created.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:18 AM

There would be no working class without employers. The employers also work, have much more responsibility, and take risks.

Mute deisecelt
    Favourite deisecelt
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:19 AM

Billy your away with the fairies.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:19 AM

Well put John.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:22 AM

There would be nothing without the working class. Capital will not employ a single person or produce a single item without the expectation of profit. That profit is generated by the workers in the excess value they create over and above their wages.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:30 AM

@Billy Mooney: you deliberately twisted the ‘ours’ to mean labour, when in fact the matter is not the labour per se, but the rate of remuneration for it.
    By all means if you’re not happy, withdraw your labour – permanently – and let someone else have the job.
    And no, ingenuity is not the preserve of ‘workers’ in your narrow narrative. Employers are actual workers too, and their greatest achievement is the provision of a (paid-for) opportunity for those why seek……..employment.
    As for the “wealth” you create, you conveniently ignored my point: if the “wealth” you create is in fact a deficit, then shouldn’t you actually pay something back ?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:35 AM

John, Knock yourself out being an obedient little labour unit if you wish. The rest of us will continue to fight to take what is ours.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:39 AM

And the profit that capital eternally seeks to accumulate takes the form of money. And the money is ultimately created on the computer keyboards of the world’s central and commercial banks. We need a better socioeconomic system where economic activity is undertaken to meet human need instead of to obscenely enrich the elite.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:40 AM

@Billy Mooney: I can tell from your comment about me that you have no idea what I do for a living, which makes your comments markedly uninformed, and undermines you further.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:42 AM

@Billy Mooney: you still haven’t answered the question I’ve posed twice now: if the output of your labour is a net loss to the company, the economy & society – then shouldn’t you reimburse it ?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:42 AM

All is I need to know about you is contained in your comments John. What you do for a living is irrelevant to me.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:44 AM

Do you think this is a Q&A session John? Just be grateful for whatever bone I throw your direction.

Mute Roibeard Ó Riain
    Favourite Roibeard Ó Riain
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:47 AM

@Billy Mooney: Say Macro Billy!!!! The amount of rubbish you regurgitate is actually quite laughable. You are always the winner for most red thumbs and nuisance every day. Long winded posts that try to make you sound intelligent. Its like your stuck on chapter 3 of left wing populism for Dummies

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:50 AM

@Billy Mooney: Without employers, you wouldnt have a lob billy.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:01 PM

Roibeard, You’re confusing popularity with being correct. Which is why you’re unable to point to anything incorrect in what I’ve written.

Mute Con OL
    Favourite Con OL
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:09 PM

here we go wally and the aaa leading the irish. Bolshevik revoution . went well in Russia and China. sign me up. sure we can blame the government when it goes wrong

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:15 PM

It’s been going wrong since the foundation of the state Con. And they capped it off in 2008 by stealing € 100 + billion from the people and pumping it into the delinquent and corrupt banks. Ireland has always been governed in the interests of capital and at the expense of the working class. And the exploitation will continue until the working class organise and put a stop to it.

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:22 PM

Continue to fight for what is ours Billy!!! On the comments section the theJournal.ie I assume!!! Good man Billy.

Mute Con OL
    Favourite Con OL
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:05 PM

@Billy Mooney: I lived, worked and am still suffering for decisions made circa 2008. the slaving paye middle. sure are not FF the most popular party again, we pixies are great crack. sure lets have a ol Bolshevik revolution now. fire on a few tee shirts in da Dail and off we go

Mute Séa Graham
    Favourite Séa Graham
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:31 PM

I doubt that you do anything for a living Mooney. Like the rest of the sponging party you support.

Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:45 PM

That’s funny. Me and my employer work side by side. Should I strike for more since apparently he’s one of the capitalist elite and I’m a working class slave?

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Sep 30th 2016, 6:30 PM

copy and paste copy and paste on every article. the working create an output. how do you think any company is funded. privately through owners capital. i.e. what the owner is entitled to after they have paid their staff. they take the risk that if the business does badly they potentially get nothing or go out of business. the employees dont. therefor the employees proportion should always be lower. for public enties its funded by taxpayers and subsidies which still comes from taxpayers where you get your logic is beyond reason. blah blah blah workers join a union come together and blaming the bankers. not all their fault but myopia fools like you can never see the difference or logic in society.

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:38 PM

@Buster VL: You couldn’t seriously be referring to DB management.

Mute James Elford
    Favourite James Elford
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:21 AM

I spoke to a driver yesterday about it. He said “11.25% over 3 yrs? Sure they owe us 6% already that they never gave to us. I can see us on strike next month.” All the papers are claiming a deal has been made. Wrong.

Mute finners_99
    Favourite finners_99
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:01 AM

I heard same thing from drivers this morning. .this is not over yet

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:29 AM

Think your right.. Unions stabbing there members in the back again. 11.25% over 3 yrs. Tho within that 3 years sounds like a fine worded agreement that DB can push any changes on it’s staff it see’s fit, and so called unions representing staff wont be able to do a dicky bird about it. My Fee’s will be getting withdrawn if it turns out i’ve read it right.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:31 PM

Basically red thumbs. The 11.25% would be accepted. The extra’s are a totally different ball game. They will basically give DB the right to change anything they want in the next 3 years. Would you accept. ?

Mute Kevin Ward
    Favourite Kevin Ward
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:22 PM

@The Viking: Agreed, why would you take 11.25% in exchange for all those extra terms and conditions? considering pre-conditions were off the table

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:53 AM

The problem is of everyone gets a pay rise no one does as the prices of things will move accordingly

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Sep 30th 2016, 9:56 AM

Sean the price of stuff has been rising while we all took pay cuts.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:12 AM

@Stephen Brady:

What is the genuine inflation rate? Was it not -0.3% last year?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:29 AM

Well my insurance rose 73% for more experience and never crashed in my life.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:32 AM

This means that govt services will increase in cost. So the govt will either have to tax more, bring back more austerity, or cut capital and infrastructure spending. Thanks transdev for setting the ” me too” ball rolling.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:08 AM

Where’s the I don’t know option??

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:09 AM

@cholly appleseed: The attitude is now – if youre in an accident and its not your fault claim for as much as you can get – Its rotten. I know a psychologist who was scripting out symptoms to say in statements for “victims”. Claim culture is ruining the nation.
    A van hit me at a junction – there was a small dint – I told him to drive on that it didn’t matter. I was called a fool by people I know for not claiming as much as I could for “whiplash” or whatever.
    My Mother in law was knocked into a ditch by a car by an auld one, it was sorted with flowers and a box of roses. If that happened now there’d be claims court cases and millions.

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:19 PM

A well publicized scam. Hopefully the government task force shock us all and do something with the insurance companies. I would love to see someone more intelligent than I pull apart the quoting systems and lay it out on paper. E.g penalty points = €100, ages 17-25 = €150, 1 liter engine = €100, and have a price on all factors in a quoting system. So you can build your own quote and plan accordingly. Transparency in short.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:10 AM

We’ll need a pay rise to cover the upcoming increase in public transport…

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:34 AM

I hope that the Garda get a similar pay increase, they deserve it more than most….

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:46 AM

The Gardai are not looking or seeking pay rises. They want a reversal of the cuts applied to them. No increases, no extra money, no raises…simply to reverse the cuts that were made to the Garda nearly 10 years ago.

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:49 AM

I’d disagree..they’re a pig ignorant lazy lot

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:22 AM

The gardai are not workers. Cite AAA billy.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:02 PM

As a small business owner I’d love for my salary to be back where it was 10 years ago! Not going happen anytime soon!

Mute Gerard McDermott
    Favourite Gerard McDermott
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:22 PM

@Reg: When people have more money they spend it and small businesses increase turnover and profit. You should be hoping for a round of pay increases for the masses.

Mute James Odin
    Favourite James Odin
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:01 AM

Only those on the public service gravy train are getting pay rises. Those of us in the private sector just get the pleasure of paying for it.

Mute Clare Ryan
    Favourite Clare Ryan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:12 AM

James Odin, not all on the public service gravy train are getting pay rises. I haven’t seen a pay rise since 2008 and then approx. 5% reduction of my salary and a public service pension levy followed which will equate to a wonderful pension equivalent to state contributory pension.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:13 AM

No James, electricians got a pay rise a few years ago.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:17 AM

So did banks and lots of other industries but it sounds better to bitch about public sector workers getting everything whilst private sector workers get nothing.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL

A lot of bank workers lost their jobs. A 100% pay cut.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan

What electricians? All those on sites and you see around around are self-employed. Builders don’t have any electricians on payroll.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:02 AM

The electrical Union mandated a pay rise in basic rates charged. Engineering Union sought 5% increase last year. In fact, according to statistics is available 60% of workers received pay increases in 2015.
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/almost-60pc-of-workers-to-get-pay-rises-in-2015-30876650.html

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:04 AM

In fact, the electrical contracting industry has agreed on a four-year wage deal which will see pay rates rise by more than 10% between 2017 and 2020. I would say that’s reasonable to be honest.

http://www.constructionenquirer.com/2016/07/18/electricians-agree-10-25-pay-rise-over-four-years/

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:33 AM

@The Throwaway: sorry lads: that’s the UK you’ve referred, not Ireland, so irrelevant.
    The majority of electricians in this country are self-employed sub-contractors, not employees.

Mute Aural Abuse
    Favourite Aural Abuse
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:30 PM

Gravy train?, hilarious. No need to check out the facts. Just continue to rehash the governments divide and conquer propaganda.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:21 PM

Never the less John most electricians are union members and when most get it all get it. Builders wouldn’t last long if the Sparks walked off site. Which they all were close to doing.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 3:04 PM

John. That’s NOT UK, that’s Ireland.
    In 2009 electricians secured a basic pay rise of 4.9%. There are outstanding issues around that, with strike actions etc. But they nevertheless looked for the pay rise.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/49pc-payrise-ruling-gets-electricians-back-to-work-26550424.html

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 4:48 PM

@The Throwaway: 2009 ? You’re quoting something from 7 years ago ?

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Sep 30th 2016, 8:07 PM

@James Odin: Since the taxpayer subvention for DB is minuscule, I don’t think you should worry too much about it. I know we drivers actually pay tax too so in a way, we subsidise our own jobs and the transport service being provided. The real obscene subsidies (billions) seem to be going to the US tech companies who are being subsidised by the fact they pay virtually no tax to the state. The public services are all being underfunded directly because of this fact. Some of you private sector workers seem to have delusions about the value of your jobs.

Mute Sean O'Carroll
    Favourite Sean O'Carroll
    Oct 1st 2016, 12:00 AM

@Stephen Brady: Electrician pay is linked to other industries it is based on a wide range of other industries from the previous year so yea they got a increase because the previous year those other industries had increased, but we also took a paycut the following year as it is benchmarked & linked to other sectors, this is what should of happened to the Public sector linked to other sectors, as they rise, so would your wages as they decrease & the tax take decrease so would your wages.. but upward only mate..

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:26 AM

I’m self employed and after seeing this I’m going to give myself a pay rise.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:23 AM

You should go on strike till you give yourself a pay rise. Don’t be soft and take the first offer, dig your heels in a bit and make yourself feel a bit of pain before you come to some agreement with yourself. If it takes a few weeks of strikes, so be it. Show yourself who is boss. You can’t be exploiting yourself while your boss (you) takes all the cream while you do all the work. Best of luck.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Sep 30th 2016, 3:48 PM

Hang in there with the strike until your business becomes loss making then blame market conditions for the destruction of your own business. Then apply for a top position in a union. Cause now you’re qualified…

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:08 AM

We aren’t all so privalaged working in the protected and unionised public service to believe we should be paid more….most of us work in the real world.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:11 AM

Winston there are unions in the real world too.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:35 AM

Winston. Most employers are coining it up and paying miserable wages to their staff the proof of this is when there’s any mention of a cent increase to their staff you have Ibec mouthing off and all sorts of threats of closing down. At the time of the crash workers lost half of their wages but the cost of living went through the roof with no intervention from our Government . The bus drivers and Gardai are now trying to regain a fraction of what was lost to them in the first place . This is the real world Winston

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:36 AM

In the real world, excessive pay demands can result in losing your job. The semi and public sector workers have their jobs protected come what may.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:43 AM

I think that should be stressed, Gardai are not looking for any pay increases or rises. They are looking for the reversal of cuts that were made on a ‘temporary financial emergency measures’.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL

If being by being an employer, Alan, you can coin it up, the you should become an employer. Nothing to stop you. I wonder how many AAA members are employers?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:48 AM

…show us the numbers of private sector employees on unions so.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway

Just under a third of employees in Ireland are union members. Specifically within the private sector the proportion of employees is about a quarter (24.9%).

See: http://www.worker-participation.eu/National-Industrial-Relations/Countries/Ireland/Trade-Unions

For private sector union members see;
    The National Workplace Surveys 2009, Volume 2, The Changing Workplace: A Survey of Employees’ Views and Experiences by Philip J. O’Connel, Helen Russell, Dorothy Watson and Delma Byrne, National Centre for Partnership and Performance, 2010.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:48 AM

A lot of workers have no protection from the greedy private sector employers while the employers have Ibec to protect them . Most staff in low paying jobs are groomed into accepting everything the Boss says this is the reason so many negative comments regarding bus drivers and Gardai are posted here . What I would say to them stop giving out go and join one of the groups

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:23 PM

@Alan Scott:
    So become an employer, Alan, and “Coin it up”.

Mute Will Roche
    Favourite Will Roche
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:09 AM

Still needs to be voted on by the drivers I believe.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:40 AM

In most private sector jobs you have to earn your pay rise. It is based on 1. How the company performed and 2. How you performed.
    Even then there is a forced distribution of how much someone gets. So often you may not get what you deserve.
    No private sector companies would award blanket 3% pay rises per year.
    This is why the public sector is bloated and inefficient. How about performance based pay awards in the public sector? Bet the Unions wouldn’t allow that!

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:55 AM

How would you rate performance based pay on services provided? Because public service isn’t a business, and doesn’t generate income…that’s what sets public service aside from private sector. Do you simply subtract a €1,000 for every person that dies in a Hospital from the Doctor on call? Maybe if the Doc talks to two or more members of the family after the death that they earn €50, maybe an extra €2 for a hug, and an extra €50 for a chair to allow the bereaved to sit and cry for a minute or two before been kicked out, because you know we’ve a business to run here. Or how about the community Garda that simply talks with an old person at their home or in the community hall and allays their fears slightly, or provides a community service because no one else rings or visits them; do we count that as a performance? Maybe €10 for every old person you talk to? Or maybe the nurse that holds you hand and tells you it’ll be ok, maybe we could charge that at €5 per occasion. Maybe we could charge €100 for all non Garda related calls that Gardai go to.

I’d be interested to see just what ‘performance’ you would use.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:18 AM

Good Doctors deserve to be payed more than bad doctors. Good nurses deserve better pay than poor nurses. The best teachers should have higher income. Bus drivers that deliver a better service for customers deserve to see that reflected in their pay at the end of the month.
    If you think someone that cares less about their job and their customers should be payed the same as the people that go above and beyond in the line of duty then you epitomise everything that is wrong with the public sector.

Just because something isn’t done with profit as the main objective does not mean it doesn’t matter how customers are treated.

Unions always talk about the race to the bottom with relation to pay. However, it is a two way street and with blanket pay hikes in the public sector it a race to the bottom for poor customer service.

It’s time the blinkers were taking off. It’s time the best and brightest are rewarded for their hard work and those that those who give the PS a bad name get a kick up a backside and realise if they want a pay rise they need to earn it. They need to follow in the footsteps of their performing peers and get out of the job and let someone willing to do a better job in intheir place.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:19 PM

Ted you would have to hire a load of clipboard merchants to keep track of who did what.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:31 PM

Why?

Surely their direct manager knows what they are doing and how they are doing, no?

Thinking that there is a need to hire 100s of “clipboard merchants” to manage performance reviews is another reason for a bloated and inefficient PS.

There are plenty of off the shelf and free to use tools that could help management to first set performance plans, track performance throughout the year and finally complete performance assessment at the end of the year. It’s not hard to do.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:57 PM

That’s all talk. You haven’t given anything concrete just platitude. Of course good workers should go further & get better rewarded than bad workers. That’s why we have promotions & specialisms. Good Doctors & Nurses are able to progress & specialise, similarly Gardai are able to move into specialised areas. Then there’s promotion up the ranks. So on and so on. But your idea of performance related pay doesn’t transfer to the majority of public services. You didn’t give any info as to what you consider performance. You have Gardai that specialise in purely community policing for instance. An awful lot of what they do is not & can’t be quantified by numbers, but if you ask the local community they find the service invaluable. How do performance pay relate visiting an elderly or disabled person that’s stuck in their own home? How do you performance relate pay to a nurse who spent the majority of her shift consoling a family? Rėtárdś in the street can easily say ‘better service should be rewarded’, well no śhït Sherlock; of course they should. But all you’re spouting at the moment is hyperbole. I’d love to see how society would react when they find out the Gardaí get a bonus for every arrest. Because your little Susie or Johnny drinking in the field won’t just be brought home with a stern word by a Garda with some discretion & cop on, they’ll be arrested & in time brought to a court…& all because it’s a performance related pay structure.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 4:04 PM

How is it decided who gets promoted for their good work in the PS?

How about applying the same criterion for pay rises?

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 4:23 PM

Throwaway – you seem to think that performance is just related to how many of x, y and z did the worker do in a given period of time and can they do more.

Your idea of Gardai get a bonus pay per arrest is laughable.

How about a Garda performance pay review based on the following.

1. Customer satisfaction survey for local station. Based on results target areas of improvement year in year

2. 360 peer review of each individual Garda

3. Development plan based on the 360 feedback. I.e. Does to Garda need to improve their communication skills, time management, subject matter knowledge etc.

4. Set goals of completing x amount of training hours per year.

5. Set goals of being out on the beat for x amount of hour per week.

6. Research best practices of policing across the world and help deliver improvements to the Garda locally then nationally based on the research.

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:51 PM

@Ted Logan: So what you seem to be saying is that a bus driver should be penalised for being delayed by traffic congestion, luas works etc. This is completely absurd and unrealistic .Maybe such performance monitoring systems work in your job but obviously not in a bus.
    Also, if you’re going to mention passengers complaints per driver this is again absurd as drivers get blamed for delays that aren’t their fault but the passenger doesn’t understand this. The only staff member they see is the driver anyway so it must be their fault.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Sep 30th 2016, 8:56 PM

I would hope the company wouldn’t blame the driver for delays beyond their control.

But what can the driver do in those circumstances to turn a negative experience into a positive one? Be a friendly face. Apologise for the delay. It’s what the best drivers would do. And they should be rewarded.
    I’ve been on plenty of busses where the driver doesn’t give a fiddlers about the comfort of the passengers. Grumpy from the moment you get on. Accelerating hard, breaking even harder.
    I have also been on many busses where the driver was super friendly and made the journey as smooth as possible.

I know which driver deserves the pay rise.

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Oct 1st 2016, 1:36 PM

@Ted Logan: You should go drive a bus and then you’d see the other side of it.

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Oct 1st 2016, 1:58 PM

@Ted Logan: Yes, spending my whole day p*ssing in bottles every time I reach the terminus puts a big smile on my face. Twisting to the left constantly to face passengers on a non swivelling seat is really comfortable too. Don’t all customer facing employees have swivelling seats or stand. My employer really cares about me and my comfort all right.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:29 AM

I’d just like a job!

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:29 AM

Would you. Drive a bus for a paltry 55 grand, Jane?

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:37 PM

Yes. If I didn’t have to commute 4 hours to get to work and pay over 1500 in rent.

Mute Brendan Mason
    Favourite Brendan Mason

What causes all these strikes in the first place? Answer: Companies constantly are getting multiple pay rises on a regular basis. Sky, Virgin Media and of course VHI are bankers. VHI had 2 cost increases this year. I dont remember any year in the last 20 years that VHI missed a price increase of anything less then 10%. Sky are the same. The Car Insurance Industry seems to ask for increases of up to 100% if they want. They can do so as they wish. No need to strike so the people have to put up with it. Government steps aside and let it all happen. I cant but see the same mistake is happening again that will lead to another bust like in 2008. That is BOOM BUST economics. Remember RIGHT WING governments bring countries down. Voting FF/FG Lab is an expensive hobby. Vote Left for fairness.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:34 AM

The left always bring down countries. The right have to fix it. Read history.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:59 AM

@Brendan Mason:
    “Companies constantly are getting multiple pay rises”
    Are you implying that a Sky dish installer has multiple pay rises and is on 100k ?

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:01 PM

100%agree with you Brendan and we have a Government who say they cannot interfere with the private market it’s a lottery for these companies while some of them play scrooge with their workers.

Mute Brendan Mason
    Favourite Brendan Mason
    Sep 30th 2016, 12:15 PM

@Buster VL:
    I’m talking about SKY, Rupert Murdock etc, not some ordinary Sky Installer who are victims of Sky GREED.

Mute Timothy Leary
    Favourite Timothy Leary
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:01 PM

@Brendan Mason:

Well said Brendan, you never did believe in better.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:27 AM

The low pay high cost society is not sustainable, even transient workers are leaving.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:10 AM

After 8yrs of austerity ..think we can expect a lot more of the same..maybe if we had a government that worked to reduce the high cost of living ..chidcare..housing ..mortgage rates..insurance ..transportation. etc it’d be different ..but we don’t ..we have enda kenny ..

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:19 AM

Are Paddy Power taking odds on who’s next to hold the country to ransom?

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:31 AM

Rob, you can be sure whoever it is will be in the public sector.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:15 PM

@Buster VL: TDs, Judges, Councillors.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 30th 2016, 1:17 PM

@Buster VL: Don’t forget government advisors, make up artists, hairdressers, and heads of and members of quangoes.

Mute finners_99
    Favourite finners_99
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:00 AM

It’s not ratified yet. I overheard (earwigged ) conversation amoung bus drivers in spar on dolier st this morning and they weren’t all that happy….

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Sep 30th 2016, 11:55 AM

I work in the private sector where each individual gets to negotiate their own pay. Work hard and you reep the rewards. Don’t work hard, and feel the consequences.

Mute D Bus Driver
    Favourite D Bus Driver
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:57 PM

@Do the Bort man: That would never work in a company with 3000 employees. It must be a small company you work for. Please describe how a potential bus driver for DB would negotiate their pay at the job interview. It would be a very short and unsuccessful interview, I can tell you that.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams

I bet Denis O Brien was one of the 11% who are adament they have enough.( money)

Mute JoseMacPhisto
    Favourite JoseMacPhisto
    Sep 30th 2016, 2:40 PM

Here’s your cycle people.

Low skilled workers decide they want more money for doing basic work. We get to a ridiculous stage where bus and drivers pick up a bigger pay packet than nurses who are in university for four years, and any non-consultant doctors who have studied for a minimum five years, and I guarantee you they will bite back.

It’s the middle classes that have been put under the most pressure, and with the least benefits tax-wise. Shoulda just skipped the whole 3rd level education thing, and lived off the dole or work of vehement unions who think it’s ok to hold the public to ransom. I suppose I’ll have Billy Mooney to keep me company at the dole office if he can drag himself away from the journal comments section for long enough.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Sep 30th 2016, 6:36 PM

Yes as an old age pensioner who has paid his dues this government and previous have taken our household package our phone and electricity allowence from us they have taken the death grant from us they have increased our prescription charges by 100% they have taken our Medical cards
    They have imposed property tax on us they are trying to impose water charges on us. That is my argument for an increase.

Mute Sean O'Carroll
    Favourite Sean O'Carroll
    Oct 1st 2016, 12:11 AM

@Tony Hartigan: As a young adult looking at the situation i see that your generation, has not put enough money away, to cover your pensions, household rates, were reduced, road tax at £5. the country has borrowed & increases it’s dept to a level were the interest each year is greater than the total debt when a certain Charlie told to you tighten the belt cause the £7 billion total dept was unsustainable but they kept on borrowing to keep taxes low.. Now we are paying the first €1000 in tax just to cover the interest on that dept before we pay for water, road, teachers, nurse’s gaurds & the management quango to create paperwork & waste all the money

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Sep 30th 2016, 10:53 PM

If all our super leader class can take over 100k per year in pensions. Surely the rest of us can expect at least half that for working our ass off at all hours of the day and night. Power to the workers.

Mute Kevin Ward
    Favourite Kevin Ward
    Sep 30th 2016, 7:17 PM

Its not a deal yet, It has not been accepted there has not been a ballot yet, they were supposed to go in, negotiate a pay deal, that was it. Nothing came of the 6% that was owed. What came out was 9 paragraphs of changes to terms & conditions of employment, with an 11.25% pay rise. Personally, my terms & conditions far out weigh a pay rise. Money is nice but not to the detriment of working conditions. the status quo is better

Mute Chris Boyd
    Favourite Chris Boyd
    Sep 30th 2016, 5:41 PM

Yes all us workers need a raise!