You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Mahesh Kumar A

Poll: Do you celebrate Valentine's Day?

Romantic day or just overly-commercialised crap?

IT’S EITHER ONE of the most romantic days of the year or just an overly commercialised and pointless waste of time.

As anyone who has frantically tried to buy some flowers in a petrol station has noticed by now, today is Valentine’s Day.

So we’re asking: Do you celebrate Valentine’s Day?

Poll Results:

No, I don't like it (1952)
I'm single, leave me out of this (1351)
I'll do something - maybe a card - but not much (1243)
Yes, I really like it. (214)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute karl kenny
    Favourite karl kenny
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:02 AM

Nah. You should be nice to your other half all year rather than make a big effort on a day created by Hallmark cards. Go easy on the red thumbs!

Mute Animal
    Favourite Animal
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:12 AM

Can of Devils bit, curry chips and a rattle… Happy valentines love…!

Mute Andrew Hickey
    Favourite Andrew Hickey
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:44 AM

And an apron with hearts on it.

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:51 PM

I agree…. But I think it’s also important to show ones partner a little extra attention once and while.

Valentines Day is a wonderful excuse to:
    -Treat yourselves to dinner.
    -Send your great-granny a dozen roses.
    -Treat your work assistant to lunch.
    -Remember the lunch lady with a small box of chocolates.

In essence…. Valentines Day can be used to show appreciation to the people who have made your life easier.

It’s not all about being single or coupled…. It’s showing appreciation.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:06 AM

It’s a gimmick, we all know that.
    But it’s still nice to get my wife the flowers and chocs. Plus my daughter made us a lovely card. That slapped down my usual cynicism.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:14 AM

Spot on doc

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:00 AM

An extra 90 seconds of foreplay guaranteed.

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:49 AM

So today you’ll take your boots off first.

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:04 AM

Silly commercialised crap in my opinion. My partner of 5 years and I have never celebrated it. This idea of showing someone you care one day of the year is a joke. Don’t give in to hallmark and other big companies profiting from you. It will be a bottle if wine and a Chinese for us tonight.

Mute Michelle Mcdonagh
    Favourite Michelle Mcdonagh
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:15 AM

Unless you have a bottle of wine and chinese every night are you not still celebrating it?! :)

Mute Massimo Osti
    Favourite Massimo Osti
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:46 AM

Not really, just a normal Friday evening to be honest. Like we would numerous times through out the year. But if she wants to surprise me in work with overpriced flowers, by all means she can. Massimo loved flowers, especially the overpriced kind :-)

Mute Alan Ruane
    Favourite Alan Ruane
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:10 AM

Every year. It’s my daughters birthday.

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:13 AM

Would love to but single wish had someone special

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Feb 14th 2014, 5:32 PM

I am on the same boat as yourself Richard…..ladies, I’m available

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Feb 14th 2014, 5:42 PM

*face palm*

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Feb 14th 2014, 5:44 PM

*sobs*

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:37 AM

Are there not 364 other days when you can tell your other half that you love them – without having to be seen to be doing it for the benefit of the greeting card industry.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:16 AM

SuperValu have a 50% off special on cleaning products.
    Fionnuala WILL be pleased.

Mute Barry O Rourke
    Favourite Barry O Rourke
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:09 AM

Valentines day..when..today..oh shit..shit shit shit

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:11 AM

I thought it was yesterday wondered why there was no hype…. Least I surprised my fella a day early.

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:24 AM

Yes meslf & Palm are going to celebrate tonight.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:26 AM

What about her sister’s

Mute Animal
    Favourite Animal
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:10 AM

The five knuckle shuffle….!

Mute Ellen Greaney
    Favourite Ellen Greaney
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:24 AM

What harm is it? I think it should be called make an effort day. Don’t buy expensive flowers or thoughtless chocolates and feck cramming into a pack restaurant. If your single, be brave and ask someone you fancy (if you think you might be in with a chance) out for a drink. If in a relationship yes you should show each other love everyday just do something different together not necessary romantic but use your imagination!!. It’s just a silly novelty day to break up the mundaneness of everyday life!

Mute CAK
    Favourite CAK
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:58 AM

Agreed! its a day to make that little bit of extra effort that we forget about when busy or preoccupied with normal life. Its easy to say be romantic and show love everyday but its not that realistic. Its good to have a day set aside where both stop what they’re doing and make a effort to show extra care. Am making dinner for my other half and got him some bits and pieces he needs but doesn’t have as he hates shopping. I am not expecting a present but looking forward to spending the eve together and to surprising him with the gift.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:55 AM

Good few years ago, when all my friends were getting flowers and chokkies for valentines day, I asked the hubby why he never buys me flowers or treats, his reply was:

“Good god molly, if I did that you’d want to know what I did wrong !!).

And he was right, I would !.

Mute Wendyrose Smith
    Favourite Wendyrose Smith
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:29 AM

Anyone know where I can rent a bunch of cats?!

Mute The Irish Ranger
    Favourite The Irish Ranger
    Feb 14th 2014, 9:59 AM

There would be hell to pay if I didn’t

Mute JamieKay
    Favourite JamieKay
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:03 AM

Only reason I celebrate it.is to get a bit of loving tonight.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:09 AM

Great now I’ve got Buddy Holly’s ‘oh boy’ stuck in my head…

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:13 AM

For once myself and jamie agree on something. There’d be a quiet, lonely nght if I didn’t

Mute JamieKay
    Favourite JamieKay
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:17 PM

First and last time I’d say leslie

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:22 AM

Damn couples and their stupid day

Mute Homer
    Favourite Homer
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:01 AM

OK I’m not a fan of today, I agree you should show someone you love them everyday, but it is not a scam created by Hallmark or any other company although they do play on it and get suckers to fall for their marketing crap., here is how it started.
    The History of Saint Valentine’s Day
    Valentine’s Day started in the time of the Roman Empire. In ancient Rome, February 14th was a holiday to honour Juno. Juno was the Queen of the Roman Gods and Goddesses. The Romans also knew her as the Goddess of women and marriage. The following day, February 15th, began the Feast of Lupercalia.
    The lives of young boys and girls were strictly separate. However, one of the customs of the young people was name drawing. On the eve of the festival of Lupercalia the names of Roman girls were written on slips of paper and placed into jars. Each young man would draw a girl’s name from the jar and would then be partners for the duration of the festival with the girl whom he chose. Sometimes the pairing of the children lasted an entire year, and often, they would fall in love and would later marry.
    Under the rule of Emperor Claudius II, Rome was involved in many bloody and unpopular campaigns. Claudius the Cruel was having a difficult time getting soldiers to join his military leagues. He believed that the reason was that roman men did not want to leave their loves or families. As a result, Claudius cancelled all marriages and engagements in Rome. The good Saint Valentine was a priest at Rome in the days of Claudius II. He and Saint Marius aided the Christian martyrs and secretly married couples, and for this kind deed Saint Valentine was apprehended and dragged before the Prefect of Rome, who condemned him to be beaten to death with clubs and to have his head cut off. He suffered martyrdom on the 14th day of February, 269 A.D.
    Legend also says that St. Valentine left a farewell note for the jailer’s daughter, who had become his friend, and signed it “From Your Valentine”.

Mute Vic
    Favourite Vic
    Feb 14th 2014, 4:25 PM

Lovely story til the clubbed, beaten and head chopped off part!

Thanks for that though, I never actually knew that!

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:06 AM

Commercialised crap. Be romantic one day a year because everyone else is supposed to? Someone should look up the meaning of the word romantic. Seriously.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:49 AM

its a bit of crack for teenagers but thats it. must be one of the worst nights of the years to go to a restaurant and is just a Hallmark scam

Mute alan doyle
    Favourite alan doyle
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:55 AM

There is no option for “I do not but my better half does so I have no option!”

Mute John Boy
    Favourite John Boy
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:54 AM

Giving chocolates, cards and flowers to your loved one is an interesting way to commemorate a man who was beaten with clubs and stones and then beheaded.

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:55 AM

Back in the day cards were sent anonymousely to someone you fancied but hadn’t the courage to approach and was a day just for the young and single. Today the hoopla is all about sales and marketing.

Mute Ellen Greaney
    Favourite Ellen Greaney
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:53 AM

I’ve never brought a hallmark card in my life nor do I intend too. €4/5 for one piece of card! The cheek of them! It’s 3 for €2 for me. So that’s valentines and my mums birthday sorted, all I need now is someone to get sick!!

Mute Adrian Stanley
    Favourite Adrian Stanley
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:35 AM

Commercialised beyond belief.

While I hate what this day stands for, and don’t let hallmark decide when I should be romantic, I will be making that little bit more effort tonight.

That said, you don’t need to spend a bomb to be a romantic. Home cooked meal, make the card yourself, candles and wine.

Mute rightisright
    Favourite rightisright
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:19 AM

If she is lucky I might switch the sport off this evening

Mute Peter Gannon
    Favourite Peter Gannon
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:01 AM

The ladies love it!

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:18 AM

Im romantic guy love romantic nights out but alas am single

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Feb 14th 2014, 11:47 AM

Take yourself out, ply yourself with drink, back to yours and take advantage of yourself.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:11 PM

Richard I’m afraid to say if your overly romantic at the start of a relationship your problem perceived to be too keen. Play it cool at the start and through in the old romantic side after a while. That’s my two cent. It worked for me. Happy Valentines day to everyone.

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:45 PM

Im not overly romantic got wise head but consider myself romantic

Mute ÉiRed
    Favourite ÉiRed
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:54 AM

A lot of ‘happily married couples’ who can’t even go a day without having an argument pretending everything is rosy in the garden 1 day of the year…please!

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:12 PM

Won’t be doing any commercial crap like over priced cards etc, but will cook a special dinner and have a nice bottle of wine. Mind you we do that for each other quite a bit anyway. Sometimes it’s nice to make an effort and we both love to cook and eat so any excuse really.

Mute Quillan
    Favourite Quillan
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:16 PM

Sounds good Heather! Given the awful weather today, I reckon staying home in front of the fire is the best idea!

Mute Avril O'Sullivan
    Favourite Avril O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:07 PM

Its my husband’s birthday today but we usually celebrate it the weekend after as all the good restaurants are packed and the food is always crap!

Mute Quillan
    Favourite Quillan
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:31 PM

Agree Avril! Mine was earlier in the week!

Mute Avril O'Sullivan
    Favourite Avril O'Sullivan
    Feb 14th 2014, 2:48 PM

Well the happiest of birthdays to you Quillan – hope you were spoilt rotten :)

Mute Quillan
    Favourite Quillan
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:14 PM

Unfortunately my birthday is the same week as Valentines so friends/family have often found the selection of birthday cards to be limited as the shelves are stocked with Valentines cards. Same for trying to organise a night out…jammed restaurants or bars serving up expensive and often mediocre food. As a result we tend to go out the week before/after instead. But Tonight it will be a home cooked meal & a nice bottle of wine. I’ve donated money to AHAR after reading yesterday’s article in the Journal and that’ll be my Valentines gift to hubby. That will mean more to him than any chocs etc. There are many ways to show/share love which don’t involve the ‘Hallmark’ products!

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:03 PM

Happy Birthday. Love the
    AHAR donation as a gift idea. Going to donate again but for our dog this time as she is the absolute love of our lives so that can her valentine gift

Mute Quillan
    Favourite Quillan

Thank you! And as a dog owner myself I can definitely agree with him being the true love of our lives!

Mute Julie Grey
    Favourite Julie Grey
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:23 PM

I went into the fancy sweetshop in town this morning! Lovely fancy chocolate hearts with I love you! 15e can you imagine 15 quid I would kill him if he paid that! That’s just crazy! If I had that much I could’ve had 3 bales of briquettes! I got him a heart shaped lollipop!

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:08 AM

Only because I have to

Mute Helen Clifford
    Favourite Helen Clifford
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:16 PM

No, don’t even acknowledge it, let alone celebrate it. Happily married and we make an effort to be nice to each other and treat each other well all year round. The funniest thing about today will be seeing women walk the streets at 5pm trying to wrangle the bouquet of flowers under their arm and a giant card while rushing for the bus and still trying to look doe-eyed with the romance of it all.

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:42 PM

I’ve to clean the gaff n make dinner for the other half tonight. I just hope the card and teddy are big enough :(

Mute Dave McG
    Favourite Dave McG
    Feb 14th 2014, 4:32 PM

I assume that the “Valentine’s Day is just a made-up holiday! Hallmarkmoneyracketcommercialisedcrapwhoevenbuysintothatgarbage?!!” crowd will also be on board to decry Paddy’s Day in a month’s time?
    High on the fumes of having taken out the White Whale of Arthur’s Day all other made-up holidays must look like fish in a barrel to that finely honed anti-commercialism rocket of cynicism primed and waiting in the hold.
    When they’ve stopped those made-up holidays they can move on to the outlying targets of New Years Eve, then International Talk Like a Pirate Day will be slim pickings – If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominoes should fall like a house of cards. Check mate!
    No more made-up holidays! Only the real holidays like…. ummm, that one…. the religious one? No nono, too commercial. The one with the rabbit and the chocolate eggs? How ‘real’ is that? (Asking for a friend)

OR, if it’s just another day to you, just ignore it.
    Let other people waste their money in their own particular way – if people need a roadsign to buy their girlfriend a card then what is that to you?
    If they’re crowding your pubs or your restaurants, do you take to complaining about some anti-you conspiracy on any other night when you just can’t happen to get a seat?
    On the other hand if you feel there’s “pressure to do something” then you must live in fear of every other ad on tv trying to convince you to buy more eat more cheese, buy more skin cream or whatever.

Mute PerkyBeans
    Favourite PerkyBeans
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:47 PM

Where’s the option
    ‘We all live in fear of the woman and our wallets are at their and the shop’s mercy’
    There’s no way out!

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Feb 14th 2014, 1:33 PM

Valentines Day is nothing but a money racket

Mute Mandy de Winter
    Favourite Mandy de Winter
    Feb 14th 2014, 12:52 PM

Happy Hallmark Day!

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier

Money racket. If your in a relationship you don’t have to prove you love one another by feeding into the hands of shops charging 40 quid for a teddy bear that’s half price the following day

Mute Shannon McGraynor
    Favourite Shannon McGraynor
    Feb 14th 2014, 9:55 PM

I never liked the idea of valentines day. If you love someone, then show them it with simple gestures throughout the relationship – cuddles on cold nights, make them tea or soup when they’re sick, cook the dinner once in a while, go out to a movie together… don’t do it on just one day. It’s kind of stupid and it isn’t really lovely or sweet.
    You’re expected to be nice today, so it really isn’t nice. It’s like christmas – you have to be happy and caring and loving. And it is so false, it gets annoying.

My boyfriend and I went to the cinema today because The Lego Movie came out today, then we had coffee and came home to watch some tv. That’s our Valentine’s. Nothing special. Just spending time together – like always.
    If he bought me flowers or chocolates, I wouldn’t be delighted. He could have saved that money to buy us a DVD when it comes out, or buy us some wine for a night in when I’m not feeling the best.

Mute Shane McElroy
    Favourite Shane McElroy
    Feb 14th 2014, 10:10 PM

Jesus, you are a miserable bunch. Nothing new about that for the Journal comments :-(

Mute Avy
    Favourite Avy
    Feb 15th 2014, 9:48 AM

i really like it but my other half does not so we spent the whole day yesterday not speaking to each other!!

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected