You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Maps

Premier Inn is opening its first Dublin city-centre hotel in this vacant building

The UK budget accommodation chain is planning dozens more facilities in the capital.

PREMIER INN HAS revealed plans to open its first Dublin city-centre hotel in a long-vacant site on George’s Street.

Last month, Dublin council gave the all-clear for the development of a new 100-room hotel in the building that formerly housed the Dockrell’s hardware store.

In the planning application, submitted by Grosam Properties Limited, it was noted that a hotel operator had already agreed to occupy the development.

Following the successful application, the owner of the Premier Inn hotel chain, Whitbread, has revealed its intention to open a new 97-bedroom hotel in the spot located on the corner of Stephen’s Street.

The new hotel will be Premier Inn’s first site in Dublin city centre. The hotel brand only has one other hotel open in Ireland, a 213-bedroom complex near Dublin Airport.  

Whitbread said the new hotel would include Premier Inn’s in-house Thyme restaurant and it was expected the new development would be open by summer 2021.

Whitbread head of acquisitions in Ireland Kevin Murray said that this is the start of the UK hotel chain’s “acquisition drive” across Ireland.

“(We) are pursuing live leasehold and freehold opportunities, including potential office-to-hotel conversions, as well as going concern purchases,” he said.

A statement released by the company outlined its plans to grow its Dublin portfolio to between 1,500 to 2,000 bedrooms.

Tower block fire in London PA / Steve Parsons PA / Steve Parsons / Steve Parsons

Undersupply

JLL Hotels Ireland senior vice president Daniel O’Connor, who advised Whitbread on its expansion in Ireland, said the Dublin market is a prime expansion city for budget hotel operators at the moment.

“Dublin is experiencing considerable demand for hotel accommodation against a historic undersupply of bedrooms, particularly in the ‘branded budget’ hotel sector,” he said.

“Currently the (budget hotel) sector comprises only 2% of Ireland’s room count, compared to 23% in the UK, which presents significant growth opportunities for branded operators such as Premier Inn.”

He added: “The search is very much on for the next opportunities for the business.”

According to Property Week, the company has plans to open up to 15 hotels in the Irish capital before it expands into other cities like Limerick, Galway and Cork.

Whitbread will mainly focus on the development of 100- to 250-bed hotels in locations such as Dublin’s docklands, the area around O’Connell Street and other city-centre locations. 

The move into Ireland is part of the group’s international expansion plans. Premier Inn has already launched its first hotel in Germany and plans to open another 19 in the mainland European country. 

original-1 An artist's interpretation of the completed hotel Grosam Properties Grosam Properties

Hotel room shortage

The trends in the Irish hotel market highlighted by JLL Hotels Ireland are backed up by figures released by hospitality analytics firm STR Global.

Recent data published by firm showed that the demand for rooms in Dublin has pushed hotel prices up to record levels in Dublin.

This trend has prompted a number of new entrants to the hotel market, including EasyHotel and Motel One, and a general spike in the development of new tourist accommodation blocks.

According to a recent Fáilte Ireland report, a total of 5,436 hotel rooms will be built in the Irish capital between 2018 and 2020.

Sign up to our newsletter to receive a regular digest of Fora’s top articles delivered to your inbox. 

Written by Killian Woods and posted on Fora.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 61 comments
61 Comments
    Mute Decko Kelly
    Favourite Decko Kelly
    Aug 20th 2018, 7:45 PM

And a half a million people going to see the pope. HAHA

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:26 PM

@Decko Kelly: Pope this and Pope that. People are quick to forget that if it wasn’t for the catholic church, we wouldn’t have one of the most educated work forces in the world.

Mute Decko Kelly
    Favourite Decko Kelly
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:29 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: Ye good point. Once people are educated it’s ok to abuse children.

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:30 PM

@Decko Kelly: But shur I know that. Lets not forget the good they did. Can’t be all bad

Mute Decko Kelly
    Favourite Decko Kelly
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:47 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: say that to the victims and their families.

Mute Daveinson
    Favourite Daveinson
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:47 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: how naive of you to think that a secular society would operate without schools. Governments fund schools religious or not. We unfortunately trusted them to care for our children for a few generations but that is changing.

Mute Noel Tate
    Favourite Noel Tate
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:51 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: we have a well educated workforce. Don’t lose the run of yourself.

If we didn’t allow the church to run our schools then we would have had state run schools instead. The curriculum is set by the department of education so I think we would have been fine. Probably even better than our high standard now as students wouldn’t have wasted hundreds of hours learning prayers and backwards teachings.

When the “bad” that happened was as extreme as what that evil organisation did and then intentionally tried to cover up, then yes, we can forget about any good which they did.

The RCC is a scourge on the Irish people. The sooner the better they are completely separated from any state roles (eg education).

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:52 PM

@Daveinson: We hadn’t a pot to piss in or a window to throw it out before the 1970′s.

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:53 PM

@Decko Kelly: Never confuse the messenger with the message.

Mute Richard W. Kendall
    Favourite Richard W. Kendall
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:08 PM

@Noel Tate: Tell us how you really feel, don’t sugar coat it! There’s waiting lists to get into many of the Catholic high schools in the Boston area. Individuals, myself included, if we had to do it over, wouldn’t even think of not attending a RCC high school! The education is years ahead of the public school zoos!

Mute Richard W. Kendall
    Favourite Richard W. Kendall
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:08 PM

@Noel Tate: Tell us how you really feel, don’t sugar coat it! There’s waiting lists to get into many of the Catholic high schools in the Boston area. Individuals, myself included, if we had to do it over, wouldn’t even think of not attending a RCC high school! The education is years ahead.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:21 PM

@Noel Tate: the state and society (No matter how much they feign innocence) were happy for the church to take these roles, no one else would.

Mute Daveinson
    Favourite Daveinson
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:56 PM

@Richard W. Kendall: it must be the colour of your religion.

Mute Treabhair Coulahan
    Favourite Treabhair Coulahan
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:15 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: your clown mate !

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:24 PM

@Noel Tate: you really don’t understand how poor we were. There would have been no schools or hospitals if the church didn’t provide them back in the day. Ireland wasn’t always like this.

Mute Dave Mullan
    Favourite Dave Mullan
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:35 PM

@B-Tech Roadman: f##k off

Mute Noel Tate
    Favourite Noel Tate
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:40 PM

@Richard W. Kendall: I never said the education wasn’t good. They are teaching a curriculum set by the department of education. They are not “years” ahead of non religious run schools.

The fact that people may be queueing for catholic run schools in Boston has zero to do with my point which was; when an organisation has committed as much sexual abuse, rape of children, murder of babies and toddlers, phycological abuse, child neglect and intentionally tried to cover it up, regardless of what good they have done they no longer have any place within our state education system.

Mute Noel Tate
    Favourite Noel Tate
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:43 PM

@GClare: that
    1: Doesn’t have any affect on my point and
    2: Doesn’t change the fact that priests in Ireland raped hundreds (if not thousands) of children in Ireland and intentionally tried to cover it up. They still raped children, even IF people knew about it.

Mute Noel Tate
    Favourite Noel Tate
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:46 PM

@Liam Doyle: I do, I know the role which the RCC played in running our education system and health care. However that doesn’t change the fact that they abused their power. They raped children, the murdered babies and toddlers and attempted to cover it all up.

My point that any good they done does not outweigh all the child rape and murder which they committed still stands.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Aug 20th 2018, 11:48 PM

@Liam Doyle: I’m very disheartened to see that both you and ‘B-Tech Roadman’ have been failed by the incredible Catholic Education you both clearly received, it’s almost as if both you somehow completely lost the capacity to think, and research for yourselves.

Contrary to your ignorant statement, quote; “There would have been no schools or hospitals if the church didn’t provide them back in the day.”

There was a school and hospital system in Ireland ‘back in the day’, from 1831 in fact, and it was far more tolerant and advanced than the Catholic School system we have today.

‘National schools, established by the British Government with the Stanley Letter in 1831, were originally multi-denominational. The schools were controlled by a State body, the National Board of Education, with a six-member board consisting of two Roman Catholics, two Church of Ireland, and two Presbyterians.’

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Aug 21st 2018, 12:33 AM

@B-Tech Roadman: Look up Vere Foster.
    The churches are masters at painting a face for themselves as veibg selfless and tireless toilers when in fact they hijacked resources in collusion with the state, and squeezed the poor with blackmail and threats. All with sanctimonious espousals. Sickening. However, the chickens are coming home to roost. The ground is shifting. One can smell panic from the liars, and this pope’s visit has backfired. In a big way.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Aug 21st 2018, 12:38 AM

@Gaius Gracchus: Good man Gaius!

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 21st 2018, 1:54 AM

@Gaius Gracchus: Well you can’t use semicolons or quote correctly so I’ll not lose sleep. I’m well able to think for myself and I’ve done so.

Regardless of how it started, the catholic church still had a fundamental part to play in our education. Whether your massive ego likes it or not.

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 21st 2018, 1:59 AM

@PV Nevin: You’re gone into tinfoil hat territory good sir

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Favourite Brendan Oconnor
    Aug 21st 2018, 3:35 AM

@B-Tech Roadman: bull sh it

Mute Liam Doyle
    Favourite Liam Doyle
    Aug 21st 2018, 8:29 AM

@Gaius Gracchus: there were some slight political and economic changes circa 1922. Is your assumption that because the British could provide education & healthcare to a select, wealthy few in the 1830s then the impoverished Irish state could automatically provide same for all from independence onwards? Where did you fail to be educated exactly?

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Aug 21st 2018, 9:17 AM

@B-Tech Roadman: man you are some

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Aug 21st 2018, 10:02 AM

@B-Tech Roadman: Lunatic

Mute Dave Slater
    Favourite Dave Slater
    Aug 20th 2018, 7:44 PM

Yes, but is the movie any good?

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:03 PM

@Dave Slater: Perhaps. What this article doesn’t mention is the film grossed $1.4M worldwide in the opening weekend. The $618 was only in the US – limited to 11 cinemas / 14 showings. So a fair few people globally must have thought it looked worth going to see.

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Aug 20th 2018, 11:08 PM

@Dave Slater: not great to be honest

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Aug 20th 2018, 11:35 PM

@Dave Slater: It is not bad actually. I liked it.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Aug 21st 2018, 12:42 AM

@Shane Corry: The witch-hunts developing around Spacey et al is a very, very dangerous phenomenon.
    “First they came for Weinstein. Now they will come for you”.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:15 PM

Why are comments allowed on this article but not on the #metoo article about he sex pest female actor? ???
    Huh?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:18 PM

@andyearley: because it’s not about a legal case, the other one is.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:24 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: yeah but there are legal cases going on with spacey too. So comments about those cases could be published on this article.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe

@andyearley: and they will be removed but as the legal cases are not the subject it removes the liability from the publishers.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:31 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: OK man. As least I can stop being outraged and just do the washing up now. Maybe

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:22 PM

@andyearley: because females aren’t sex pest!!!!!

Mute Clear And Graphic
    Favourite Clear And Graphic
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:31 PM

@andyearley: The Denis O’Brien article two days ago had comments closed also – and it nothing to do with any court case.

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:54 PM

@GClare: well yer one clearly was

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:54 PM

@Clear And Graphic: The man who must not be named

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Aug 21st 2018, 3:40 AM

@andyearley: who gives a feck

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man

Is there any nudity in it?

Mute Liam Whelan
    Favourite Liam Whelan
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:45 PM

@Do the Bort man: you mean like one of those French films?

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Aug 21st 2018, 3:37 AM

@Do the Bort man: only if your Ma makes a cameo in it

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Aug 20th 2018, 7:47 PM

Shame he’s a sex pest now, his acting skills are a loss to Hollywood

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:16 PM

@Ciarān: accused but not proven or charged.

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:25 PM

@B9xiRspG: Yeah I agree just accused of being a sex pest by a number of credible sources. Either way his career is over and Hollywood is minus a great actor regardless of what crimes he did or didn’t do

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:46 PM

@Ciarān: so much for innocent until proven guilty. All you need is some creditable sources, just zero proof.

Mute B-Tech Roadman
    Favourite B-Tech Roadman
    Aug 20th 2018, 9:55 PM

@Ciarān: ah he always a bit odd. Played that part in The Usual Suspects a bit too well if you ask me

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Aug 20th 2018, 10:14 PM

@B9xiRspG: Calm down there it’s not me accusing him lol

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Aug 21st 2018, 3:36 AM

@Ciarān: shame yeah .. hahaha

Mute Brendan Oconnor
    Aug 21st 2018, 3:40 AM

@Ciarān: Your Ma’s a sex pest

Mute Mr Grumble
    Favourite Mr Grumble
    Aug 20th 2018, 7:44 PM

Old news

Mute Decko Kelly
    Favourite Decko Kelly
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:09 PM

@Mr Grumble: brand new to me.

Mute Daveinson
    Favourite Daveinson
    Aug 20th 2018, 8:50 PM

They released it on video in July. They are backwards over there.

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected