You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Green Jo

'Dangerous' prisoner has fishtank, Playstation and special brown bread delivered to jail cell

The Prison Officers Association also heard that there are talks about building a garden space for him.

A PRISONER WHO has attacked more than two dozen prison officers over the past decade is currently being bought Playstation games by prison managers and has a fish tank outside his cell.

Speaking at the annual conference of the Prison Officers Association Assistant General Secretary Gabriel Keaveney said:

“He has been given a Playstation, the management have gone out and purchased games for him.

“A fishtank has been put out on the landing to pacify him. This guy has very seriously assaulted staff in the past.

They are now talking about building a garden for him off the landing for him to have some time in, this is completely unacceptable.

“There seems to be no loss of money when it comes to dealing with these people, I mean we’re in riot gear at the moment dealing with this guy, he’s that dangerous.

“They also bring in special brown bread for him which no other prisoner has access to.

Every time he opens the fish tank there has to be three officers in riot gear, he’s that dangerous.

TheJournal.ie understands the prisoner in question is Leon Wright who has been described as Ireland’s angriest man after stabbing two people on Grafton street in 2013 while on bail for assaulting two gardaí.

There were over 220 complaints against him in prison.

Keaveney added: We’re not allowed to carry a baton we have nothing to defend ourselves only our bare hands.

“It’s rewarding bad behaviour the way we see it.”

The Director General of the Irish Prison Service Michael Donnellan said he could not comment on individual cases but added:

“We have some very troubled and troublesome prisoners, and we do everything we can to think outside the box to try and re-engage them, because all of these people are going back out into society and it’s our job in prison to rehabilitate people.

“So to crush people more in my experience, and internationally, doesn’t really work – it makes people more angry. So what you’ve got to try and do is build people up so we can have a safer society.”

Read: Six stabbings in six weeks: Prisons are ‘the most dangerous workplaces’ in Ireland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Yvonne O Callaghan
    Favourite Yvonne O Callaghan
    May 8th 2015, 8:10 AM

So when he gets out and the rest of us aren’t bringing him presents – what then?

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    May 8th 2015, 8:12 AM

We line his back pocket with social welfare money so he can drink and bet to his hearts content.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 8th 2015, 8:26 AM

He will take what he wants and then go back to his goldfish .

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    May 8th 2015, 9:57 AM

What kind of brown bread :o ? I could understand if its McCambridge that is good :D

Mute Irish Sceptic
    Favourite Irish Sceptic
    May 8th 2015, 8:09 AM

Absolutely disgraceful that this situation exists. The bleeding hearts civil rights crowd have an awful kot to answer for here. While its right that prisoners should be taken care of this is just a joke. The whole situation needs to be re balanced

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 8th 2015, 8:26 AM

Ah but ya know, not being able to look at some pretty flowers or feed his fish is a massive breach of his human rights. Bless him

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 8th 2015, 8:30 AM

Just softening the process – Denis is used to all the comforts in life and the law is all about precedent is it not …?

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 8th 2015, 8:32 AM

When a farmer has a bull calf that goes around the place pucking and fightin’ they take out the Burdizzo and quieten him …
    It work every time !- Absolutely every time ….
    We’d be giving the like of Frankie Feighan and Tom Barry a rub of it now – if they were cattle like – that kinda thing !

Mute Gareth Murphy
    Favourite Gareth Murphy
    May 8th 2015, 9:28 AM

That’s not anything to do with civil rights activists, its the prison management who are responsible for this nonsense!

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    May 8th 2015, 11:28 AM

The b******d should be fed TO the fishes not FEEDING them.

As I pointed out on many other threads the lunatics are/have taken over the asylum.

Everyone now has their “right” ( no responsibilities mind you)

I feel I was born as a bird (to fly) now in going to sue for the taxpayers to fund a surgeon to attach a pair of “f*****g wings so I can be a bird!!!!

(Singing softly to myself….”If I were a blackbird I’d whistle and sing and follow my true love……”)

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    May 8th 2015, 11:36 AM

just googled ‘Burdizzo’. Sweet Jaysis. Poor bull.

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers
    May 8th 2015, 11:38 AM

the term ‘for the birds’ springs to mind, Bill

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    May 8th 2015, 8:10 AM

guards cant carry batons? how are they expected to defend themselves?

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    May 8th 2015, 8:17 AM

Don’t Guards carry torches about a foot long that are the same as batons?

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    May 8th 2015, 8:27 AM

Your watching to much tv

Mute Bill FitzGerald
    Favourite Bill FitzGerald
    May 8th 2015, 8:44 AM

No they font

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    May 8th 2015, 8:51 AM

Why don’t they learn how to defend themselves? Would that not be about the best thing you could learn in that line of work? Should it not be a prerequisite? Eejits

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    May 8th 2015, 11:53 AM

Guards can… Prison Officers can’t, presumably as it could be used against them

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    May 8th 2015, 8:11 AM

What am i doing?! What’s the point in me going to work, being flat broke and depressed not knowing where the next meal is going to come from for my daughter and here lies a great a little life behind bars! It sounds more like a feckin retreat than prison!
    Ffs the mind boggles with this country!

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    May 8th 2015, 9:58 AM

There is an answer Sam. Do not pay the TV licence and you get a warm cell, meals and TV. No,paying out at all.
    Qi am surprised that most people aren’t opting for this now as it may be the only way to get these things in the future.

Mute Si O' Connor
    Favourite Si O' Connor

Absolute bullshit! Prison is supposed to be punishment!

Mute Red Ed
    Favourite Red Ed
    May 8th 2015, 11:49 AM

Prison is punishment but it’s for the prisoner officers who have to take his outbursts.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    May 8th 2015, 12:05 PM

Prison is a punishment his freedom has been taken away from him!!! So what if a prisoner gets a TV / playstation or special diet they are such trivial things he can’t go out , movements are restricted under constant supervision etc. I find it odd nobody has mentioned the high recidivism rates in this country , why most of our prison population are from the same areas , why people commit crime , etc we are locking up human beings and criticising because he gets a playstation FFS ! Prison should be about rehabilitation not just punishment!

Mute legal_lassie
    Favourite legal_lassie
    May 9th 2015, 12:57 PM

They should sedate him next time he has an outburst and keep him that way

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    May 8th 2015, 8:17 AM

A playstation? That’s an absolute disgrace. Why doesn’t this man have a playstation 4? What sort of a hell hole is he living in?
    There really is something wrong with this country’s justice and penal system. You seem to be rewarded more the less you contribute to society.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    May 8th 2015, 8:14 AM

Happens in every facility we have now. Europe demands we treat prisoners better than the general populous meaning there is no deterrent to crime and is the reason we are seeing growing rates of more dangerous crimes. We’ve been doing it for years though. Go on a tour of spike island, as a barracks for our armed forces it was cold damp and miserable. To be used as a prison it was refitted with new windows, proper heating and new toilets.

The irony is endless. If you go to prison for not paying your RTE subscription (aka TV licence) you get to watch TV in your cell without the need to ever pay.

Mute jonathan
    Favourite jonathan
    May 8th 2015, 8:11 AM

If it wasn’t so sick it would be funny

Mute Anne Collins
    Favourite Anne Collins

Arm the prison officers. Retaliating with bare hands when prisoners might access weapons is crazy. A good battering would sort out this fellow’s attitude. Totally justified for prison officers to defend themselves with force. Batons cost a lot less than gardens and fish tanks.

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    May 8th 2015, 8:30 AM

Handcuffs and shackle him every time he has to leave his cell just like the Americans do he won’t assault anyone then.

Mute Chris Kelly
    Favourite Chris Kelly
    May 8th 2015, 8:42 AM

The truth is the IPS and the management have so much to answer for. They are like the politicians, they don’t live in the real world. These big wigs in suits sit behind their desks and tap a away on their keyboards and engage on a constant basis with all these PC groups. The emphasis is only ever on the prisoner and how they can recoup savings in the system. They don’t have to stand face to face with these dangerous prisoners on a daily basis. The same script is always read out “what about their human rights”, well what about the officers “human rights”, what about the poor officers that have been stabbed and sliced and injured ? What about the mental and physical damage that they have acquired ? Imagine their wives/husbands and childrens anguish when their partners arrive home battered and bruised and cut on a regular basis. I used to believe in the system but the IPS have shown that by not giving staff the basic equipment such as stab vests, pepper spray, tasers etc that they really don’t care about their own staff. They are on the side of the prisoner. The question I would ask anybody is “Over the last 15 years has the do good approach worked ? Is our society a better and safer place ? The answer in my opinion is no. The justice system needs an overhaul from the Minister down. Proper sentences and punishment should be applied. Our jails are a good representation of what dangerous people our on our streets. PC brigade needs to go.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    May 8th 2015, 12:53 PM

Good man Chris, finally a bit of sense on this subject.

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    May 8th 2015, 8:58 AM

Ah leon Wright…..ran down Grafton street slashing people indiscriminately. Absolute psycho. If the prison system was tougher, people might think twice before they went back there. As it is they do their time “on their back”. This lunatic though, he will get out kill someone, and then get life. Not if but when….

Mute Seán M
    Favourite Seán M
    May 8th 2015, 2:24 PM

You’ve hit the nail firmly on the head!

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak

The legacy of John Lonergan. Touchy, feelie former Governor.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    May 8th 2015, 9:38 AM

Exactly, all the left are the same.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    May 8th 2015, 8:33 AM

JOKE COUNTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There was a warden from the US on radio a few years back….his inmates get one item in their cell….the holy bible. They are too tired from the manual labour they do during the day to even bothar starting a fight.

Mute Al Beebak
    Favourite Al Beebak
    May 8th 2015, 8:52 AM

Sheriff joe arpaiao in Arizona

Mute Andrew McQuillan
    Favourite Andrew McQuillan
    May 8th 2015, 9:04 AM

He’s the one who is proud of the fact that the food budget for the dogs is higher than the inmates.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    May 8th 2015, 9:59 AM

Good for them.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    May 8th 2015, 12:15 PM

Also makes them wear pink underwear and sleep in tents. Has a neon sign above the jail that constantly flashes Vacancies

Shame we cant send him to Australia nowadays

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 8th 2015, 8:38 AM

He commits crimes then the victims of his crimes subsidise his prison life with their taxes, he gets the best of medical care and education while pensioners lie on trollies for days , he gets a warm safe bed and good hot meals while kids go to school hungry and men women and children sleep on the streets .
    Keep quiet ,don’t protest about anything and pay up people .

Mute Bobby Neary
    Favourite Bobby Neary
    May 8th 2015, 8:33 AM

Just slip a couple of tablets in his yummy brown bread and put him to sleep for 23hrs a day…The other hour could be time sitting on the toilet with the laxatives you put in it too..

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 8th 2015, 8:28 AM

Eh whatever happen to solitary confinement? ? This is beyond ridiculous.

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    May 8th 2015, 9:29 AM

My thoughts exactly.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    May 8th 2015, 8:32 AM

Wtf! So punishing someone for doing something wrong is now not ok, instead we have to “build them up” with goldfish and PlayStation games??? The word’s gone f*cken mad ted…mad!

Mute chris smith
    Favourite chris smith
    May 8th 2015, 8:48 AM

Jesus I’d love a playstation! I work everyday and I can’t afford one! That peice of shite should be thrown in a dark hole and left to rot, not pampered like a princess, it’s disgusting, the governor of the joy should be sacked and handed his arse on a plate!

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    May 8th 2015, 8:44 AM

Instead of the prison management buying a ps4 they should have bought a few tasers for the guards.
    Every time he gets violent……zap.
    Job done.

Mute Chris Kelly
    Favourite Chris Kelly
    May 8th 2015, 8:57 AM

On final comment on the topic above. If the softy soft approach worked then surely the above named prisoner when he finished his sentence and was released would not of been on bail for assaulting two guards and furthermore when on bail would not of stabbed two innocent people. Obviously the gold fish didn’t do his job in being a calming influence and the playstation games didn’t work. Sure I suppose the next logical thing to do is send out a few officers to purchase this poor chap a little puppy and upgrade his playstation to an X Box. No doubt this will fix the problem. I would love to see a group set up by victims of crime ……. a group where the victims of murder and rape decide on the rehabilatation of these prisoners. Then and only then will justice be served. The worst part is we let certain people out come their expiry on their sentence and we know that these individuals are “evil and depraved” and that they are being freed to wreak havoc on more innocent people and ruin more peoples lives, yet we are powerless to stop it. If the government were serious they would open a prison for all these violent inmates and have both army and prison officers run it with all the protection and equipment required and trust me this country would be a safer place.

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    May 8th 2015, 10:01 AM

Good idea there Chris. I am all for it. The world is so violent most of us oldies live in fear.

Mute Marv
    Favourite Marv
    May 8th 2015, 8:38 AM

That’s ridiculous,
    I was talking to a bloke that worked in port Laois jail years back,said these days you can’t do anything,everybody is looking at you and grassing up people,
    Years back you could give a lad a hiding and nothing was said about it,
    This lad is walking all over them.

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    May 8th 2015, 9:23 AM

“Every time he opens the fish tank there has to be three officers in riot gear, he’s that dangerous.”
    That goldfish has a serious chip on his shoulder.

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    May 8th 2015, 9:14 AM

last year he got a punchbag fitted in his cell to “curb his agression”

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/violent-thug-given-punchbag-in-cell-to-curb-aggression-29918940.html

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 8th 2015, 9:16 AM

Spare a thought for these prison officers who have to go work and deal with this everyday . its like an abusive partner , victims in that situation try to everything they can just to keep the abuser happy . if this bloke is that dangerous and a risk to others then the only solution is solitary confinement . forget about his human rights !

Mute mammy
    Favourite mammy
    May 8th 2015, 9:24 AM

God help those prison officers and any other victims of this guy but he is as just as much as a victim as they are. He is a victim of the brutal mental health system in Ireland. If he had cancer he would have a better chance of getting help but it’s Ireland. We are in the dark ages when it come to mental health assistance.

May 8th 2015, 10:52 AM

To equate this to an abusive partner is ridiculous. If you want to work as a prison officer you are going to have to deal with prisoners. A prisoner is a person who does not live by the rules and is often violent. If you don’t want to get shot at don’t join the bloody army. Some people working in the prison service aren’t up to the job but they passed the test. You have to be physically and much more importantly mentally strong to work in this job and unfortunately an awful lot of these officers are not.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 8th 2015, 8:21 AM

*Dumbfounded*

Mute Brendan Bernes
    Favourite Brendan Bernes

Lethal injection. Problem solved

Mute Larry O Reilly
    Favourite Larry O Reilly
    May 8th 2015, 10:39 AM

Sorry to burst Mr Donnellan bubble but since he taken over assaults on staff have increased because of his hug a tug policy, A TUG IS A TUG YOU CAN’T CHANGE HIS DNA. Under this present regime the bigger the tramp is the more he get. Birthday cakes,fish tanks the louder they cry the more they get. Mr Donnellan is misleading the public by saying this is not happening it is, he should verify his facts before he makes comments on staff. It is a waste of time getting these prisoners charged as little or nothing will happen. I have been assaulted on several occasions including the prisoner in question with little or no consequences for the increase question, because of this he has gone on to assault staff again, same as most prisoners that assault staff they know that they can get away with it plus get special treatment

Mute Bill FitzGerald
    Favourite Bill FitzGerald

The D.G hadn’t a clue how to deal with violent criminals . They will reoffend

May 8th 2015, 9:52 AM

Pacify him? Why? Just lock him in solitary and feed him through a hole. Couple of years of that and he’ll b quiet and if he isn’t then just keep doing it. There is no need for human contact with this thing. It’s not rocket science lads ffs.

Mute Bingy
    Favourite Bingy
    May 8th 2015, 10:40 AM

A play station and a gold fish?.
    So If I got assaulted or stabbed,I sit in hospital,pay my medical bills,while he sits in a cell with a play station and other luxuries to make him comfortable!
    Where is they comfort for they victim?!

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    May 8th 2015, 9:43 AM

if he has attacked that many prison officers
    the soft approach is certainly not working
    it all sounds bloody ridiculous
    soft irish jail system

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    May 8th 2015, 10:08 AM

Going inside is like going on holiday for these scrotes

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    May 8th 2015, 9:32 AM

Whatever happened to a Thorazine drip….

We’re teaching people with the impulse control and decision making skills of children that attacking police officers is the way to be rewarded with computer games..

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    May 8th 2015, 10:02 AM

There used to be par aldehyde, awful stuff but effective.

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    May 8th 2015, 10:33 AM

Could have been cruel and suggested a surgical lobotomy…

Mute Eoin Fleming
    Favourite Eoin Fleming
    May 8th 2015, 10:12 AM

This guy obviously just needs loving.
    ‘misunderstood,passionate,reclusive male,seeks like minded female to share his love for gardening and goldfish admiring.must bake own bread’. GSOH essential.

Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter
    May 8th 2015, 9:53 AM

I’m going on a crime spree I want me some of that easy livin, if there’s any prison officers reading this please book me grand theft auto

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    May 8th 2015, 9:45 AM

Embarrassing and pathetic.

Mute Lisa Hardiman
    Favourite Lisa Hardiman
    May 8th 2015, 2:17 PM

Disgraceful , and the elderly being neglected in hospital trolleys/care homes and these dirtbags get the luxury treatment. This is screwed up

Mute mammy
    Favourite mammy
    May 8th 2015, 9:14 AM

I waited to see what comments ye would put up and I was right. This make does not belong in the prison population . He has serious mental health difficulties. I know his situation and his family and they have pleaded with the authorities to get them to give him the help he so badly needs. He’s not a scam bag. He is a very sick guy who needs professional help.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine

How do you know he has serious mental health issues ?

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    May 8th 2015, 9:35 AM

I don’t mean offense here, this is a genuine question, i just cant think of any other term… is there a facility in Ireland for the “criminally insane”?

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    May 8th 2015, 9:50 AM

Central Mental Hospital Dundrum would be my guess .

Mute pongodhall
    Favourite pongodhall
    May 8th 2015, 10:05 AM

Get one then would be the answer for the safety of the rest of the country. But of course, the TD’s and the rich all have good safe places and protection so what does it matter in the scheme of things.

Mute Maire Ben
    Favourite Maire Ben
    May 8th 2015, 10:09 AM

@Derry Seery Yes, we have. Its called The Dail

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 8th 2015, 10:17 AM

Marie , give it a rest will you , Derry asked a genuine question .

Mute Aoife O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Aoife O'Shaughnessy
    May 8th 2015, 10:46 AM

Lads like this are given the “all clear” from the lunatic asylum to be put back amongst the “normal” prison population. The doctors out there don’t want to have to deal with the likes of these crazy b##stards so declare that they’re sane enough to carry out their sentence in prison.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    May 8th 2015, 12:02 PM

Is there any value to society by this guy’s continued existence at all? This ‘every life is equally special’ malarky is quite clearly wrong so why don’t we just change the rules…

Mute Gwen Denny
    Favourite Gwen Denny
    May 8th 2015, 1:03 PM

Well ” mammy” I’m sorry for his families troubles but does that excuse the fact he has been given a playstation , a fish tank and a punchbag . He should be locked away from other prisoners and staff because he is such a danger . Clearly if he has those mental issues prison is not the place for him but the article is about the fact of all that has been bought for a single prisoner and now no doubt all other prisoners will see it as their right to get the same . As I say I’m sorry for his problems but it’s an absolute disgrace he or any prisoner gets those privileges. They are not there for a holiday

Mute Matthew Donoghue
    Favourite Matthew Donoghue

Has anyone spent time to read up on this, norway has the lowest reoffending rate in the world less than 30% (compared to the UK which is 70%) because the prisons there are actually for rehabilitation. They are right to try something different.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    May 8th 2015, 12:14 PM

And there are those extremely violent prisoners even in Norway Matthew that cannot, or are unwilling to be rehabilitated.
    This method of ‘reward for anger’ is clearly sending the wrong message to this individual.

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    May 8th 2015, 12:12 PM

I know what special brown bread I would give him. A nice dose of lethal poison. Savage.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    May 8th 2015, 2:31 PM

I’ve just seen a photo of him, I see he gets his hair done specially, as well ( his fringe). Looking at him, I’m wondering how, they have to have riot gear on to deal with him!

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    May 8th 2015, 7:23 PM

There should be a lethal injection in cases like his

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    May 9th 2015, 12:52 PM

I agree, or flick the switch. What a waste of time and space this cretin is.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 8th 2015, 8:33 PM

Our justice system is more concerned with the supposed rights if criminals than victims.

May 8th 2015, 5:56 PM

Who said prisons are not like hotels, some seem better than hotels now?

Mute von
    Favourite von
    May 8th 2015, 5:48 PM

I think i’ll commit a crime you get more on the inside than you would on the outside, i don’t have a gold fish.

Mute Martin Thompson
    Favourite Martin Thompson
    May 8th 2015, 11:59 AM

Having read all the above comments it’s clear that the majority of people think that this Leon Wright fella should not be given special treatment after carrying out 150+ assaults on staff members of the prison service, personally I believe that this MONSTER should be given the DEATH SENTENCE as he clearly has no place in society. It’s high time in this Republic we the people of Ireland stop being led by PC Groups and treat like for like these barbaric creatures, eyes for eyes & teeth for teeth, death for murder etc. Arab nations take no shit why should we.