You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dr Anthony McCarthy from the College of Psychiatry giving evidence in the Seanad chamber today Screengrab

Psychiatrists at odds over effects of any X Case legislation

TDs and Senators have heard from a number of psychiatrists who spoke at length about the issue of suicide in any legislation for the X Case.

TDS AND SENATORS have heard differing views from psychiatrists on what effects any legislation for the X Case would have on the availability of abortion in Ireland.

The Joint Oireachtas Committee on Health and Children heard from a number of psychiatrists specialising in perinatal treatment this afternoon as the issue of the providing for suicide in any legislation for the X Case was raised.

The X Case judgement in the Supreme Court in 1992 provides for abortion in cases where there is a risk to the life of the woman including from the threat of suicide.

Professor Patricia Casey, from the Department of Adult Psychiatry and UCD and  the Mater Misercordiae University Hospital, said it was her belief that legislation for the X Case would lead to “widespread abortion within a short period of time”.

However her view differed from others giving evidence including Dr Anthony McCarthy, consultant psychiatrist at the National Maternity Hospital, who expressed his belief that there would not be a huge increase in the number of women needing psychiatric assessment.

He said that pregnant women who were feeling suicidal would still be more likely to travel to the UK to undergo a termination.

Dr McCarthy said that a very small group of women are going to be so distressed and depressed that they will access an abortion in Ireland if legislation is brought in.

But in the vast majority of cases “they are not going to come near us” because of the narrowness of the legislation in Ireland.  “I can’t see the floodgates opening,” he added.

‘Widespread abortion’

Professor Veronica O’Keane, from the Department of Psychiatry at Tallaght Hospital, said that the majority of people are going to the UK for terminations were doing so for mental health reasons.

She told the committee that there was confusion about suicide being a leading cause of death in pregnancy. She claimed it was but added that it was also rare because all death in pregnancy is rare.

Professor Casey, whose membership of the conservative Iona Institute was raised by the independent senator Dr John Crown, said “there will certainly be widespread abortion within a short period of time” if the X Case is legislated for.

She said this was because many pregnant women who have suicidal feelings will go to their GPs who will “in good faith” refer these women to psychiatrists for assessment. She claimed the system would be criticised for being “cumbersome” and “in due course will be opened up”.

The committee also heard from the psychiatrists giving evidence that it was was not absolutely possible for any psychiatrist to determine whether or not someone was definitely going to take their own life.

Dr McCarthy said that members of his profession were still best placed to make determinations on whether or not people are suicidal as they made subjective decision making based on objective facts.

But Professor Casey told the Committee that numerous studies suggest “we are wrong more often than we are right”.

All psychiatrists giving evidence raised the issue of a lack of psychiatrists in the country who have the expertise to treat women who are pregnant and suicidal with the three working in Dublin being the only three available in the country.

LIVE: Oireachtas committee hearings on abortion, as they happen

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

127 Comments
    Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:49 PM

Good luck in Portugal. Off you pop.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:03 PM

Our loss mate. End of.

Mute Nira Line
    Favourite Nira Line
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:05 PM

Did Paddy demand the government supply food and drink for all the attendees too ?

Mute Daragh8008
    Favourite Daragh8008
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:17 PM

I heard that Portugal threw in free peri-peri chicken for all to sweeten the deal.

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:18 PM

Attending any popular event in Ireland is a rip off

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:36 PM

Yes, but Paddy expects hotels to give cheap rates while he creams everyone – he doesn’t even pay the students that work his events!

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Nov 3rd 2015, 10:57 PM

what do you expect with robbery going on at every turn

Mute Sean Gillick
    Favourite Sean Gillick
    Nov 4th 2015, 1:25 AM

I’d probably book a flight to Lisbon with Ryanair for less than the cost of that!

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Nov 4th 2015, 2:19 AM

So it’s ok to pay €20 for a burger and a bottle of water. Let’s break down the price paid by the owner of stall. The cost of renting the stall is unknown. The cost of a single bap is 0.10 cent. The cost of a burger is 0.5 cent. So far that seems like a pretty good deal for the vendor. €0.15 for just 1 burger. Let’s say it costs a minimum hourly rate to have a person flip that burger, if they are under 18 is €6.60 an hour, ( still working on the cost per burger) the next pay bracket is €6.92 per hour for an 18 year old. ( not a huge jump in wage but still, we are talking about money per burger). An adult with experience would earn €8.65 per hour. One burger sold has, by my count whether it was a 16 year old an 18 year old or an adult brought profit to the owner of the burger van. By just selling 1 burger, just 1 burger. Has made their wage for an hour. Welcome to the world of capitalism folks

Mute Chicinho
    Favourite Chicinho
    Nov 4th 2015, 3:03 AM

Artisan Irish hot dogs! Lovely hurling!

Web Summit seems to be following the Irish hype and going the same way as the tennis event ‘Collins Cup’ in the RDS years ago with Kournikova et al. A bleedin sham is all these promoters ever are! Chancers at best. In other countries they don’t believe in the Pied Piper anymore.

I think in Portugal, artesão, means exactly artisan and the local food will be quality local produce and not gourmet hot dogs!

Mute TokezBurke
    Favourite TokezBurke
    Nov 4th 2015, 3:44 AM

https://twitter.com/business/status/661448313586253824 a potential 2.7 million people read this

Mute Gar Vito
    Favourite Gar Vito
    Nov 4th 2015, 9:55 AM

Defy you to tell me how Jim.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:08 PM

And he had the cheek to complain about hotel prices?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:26 PM

And spent most of his time bleating on about a “traffic plan” for the 2016 event. 15 months in advance. Before the 2015 event had even started.

I live in Ballsbridge. Traffic was absolutely fine today. Took about 5 mins extra to get home.

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:57 PM

Pretty much sums up the WS business model. Buy €5 worth of food for a tenner, sell on for €20 = PROFIT.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:10 PM

That model only works if most your attendees are on expense accounts…

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:32 PM

I watched on the web all day today – I didn’t see anything that would inspire spending 1000′s on tickets!

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:55 PM

Wholesale 750ml bottle of RiverRock cost 48 cents, the hotdog 92 cent tops,
    Total cost of purchase €1.40 Total cost of sales €20. Thats some mark up……

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:13 PM

I would like to know how muchPaddy C charged for the food spaces then we would know why the high prices Mabe Paddy C is the rip off ?????

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:40 PM

If those photos are a true reflection of what you get for 20 quid, it’s a fcuking disgrace. No further elaboration required.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:08 PM

It is Anthony, at any of these showcasing events there is always horrendous and extortionate prices for food (and usually slapped up, artisan goes out of the window). All these showcasing events are the same, be it techie or craft or whatever, the organisers know they have captured customers aka exhibitors, usually small start-ups who have to grab a bite when they can and end up being fleeced. I know, been there and learnt fast.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:37 PM

Don’t be a prat then and bring your own food, or eat at the many other food outlets available within a short distance.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:58 AM

I was most certainly a prat the fist time Oliver, but not the second time.

Mute Dan Mc Carthy
    Favourite Dan Mc Carthy
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:50 PM

Rip off Ireland alive and biting.

Mute Aidan Doyle
    Favourite Aidan Doyle
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:51 PM

Wouldn’t ya think Enda would make them all a packed lunch. Let’s see how Paddy C explains this or who he’ll blame

Mute Al
    Favourite Al
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:52 PM

The orgainsers believe you will get 4 nights in Lisbon for €200. Good luck with that.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:56 PM

To be fair The WebScammit had demanded that the Government force Patrick Guilbaud’s to provide free food, but the IDA refused to co-operate.

Clearly Fine Gael doesn’t care enough to line Paddy Cosgrave’s pockets with more cash ontop of the 32 million collected in ticket sales.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:11 PM

If the organizers want free food provided they should provide it themselves, not up to Goverment to interfere.

I also note no traffic issues as the founders were banging on about as well today.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 4th 2015, 9:03 AM

Because traffic calming was introduced this year.

Mute David Emmanuel
    Favourite David Emmanuel
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:13 PM

I picked up two early bird tickets after last years event, under the impression that the food summit, along with all the other summits would once again be included. Was pretty annoyed to find they were looking to charge another 50 euro for food for the three days. Only conference I’ve ever been to where a ticket price, even the early bird price, of that level did not include some food during the day. Had I paid the money they were asking today and then seen what I was getting for it I would be furious. As it was I raised it with staff, got shunted around a bit, before finally being told there was nothing they could do. VERY unimpressed.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:34 PM

You haven’t been to many conferences in that case.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee

Dessert were extra, the would be better off absorbing the cost in the ticket than charging extras

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:54 PM

Nice to see Paddy C getting a bitta heat for a change, says Enda. Go stick a hash tag on that baby. Boom boom. #mayo4sam2k16

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:47 PM

Will the Journal be sending a team to Lisbon next year to do all this reporting.

I’m sure it will be free in Lisbon next year as will hotels and transport!

Mute Alessandro Giusti
    Favourite Alessandro Giusti
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:58 PM

Paul, your irony is as meaningless as those prices. There is a sensible middle way between “free hotels and transport” and 20€ for a small and miserable takeaway lunch.

Mute Wrath of Cheney
    Favourite Wrath of Cheney
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:56 PM

Suppose he’ll try and blame the government the same government he had the nerve to say we’re gouging them!!

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:57 PM

People who voluntarily go to an event that costs €1200 to attend, have no credibility complaining about spending €20 on grub.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:32 PM

they have every right to complain if that shite in the pics was served up to them! nothing better than hangover food on a monday after a weekend festival! The best of the best tech companies came here, at €1200 a pop, attract visitors from around the world..and the best we can do is a f¿cking dodgy hot dog? Seriously..for a country that has some of the best home produce in the world..thats what we serve up? I could do a better home cooked lasagne than that. And I wouldnt have charged anywhere near that.

Mute Johnny A
    Favourite Johnny A
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:46 PM

I really hope the Lisbon guys know that they’ve been sold a pup. Treating customers with pure unadulterated contempt. The brazenness of charging extra for the lunch at a conference is truly something to behold. Simply unheard of – maybe he’s lost his mind.

Nov 3rd 2015, 7:02 PM

If they honestly believe that represents good value, for some of the tastiest food Ireland has to offer

I can’t wait to see what these shysters believe represents ‘good value’ investment capital opportunities to buy in to the ‘best’ start up companies Ireland has to offer.

Proof that the tech world has gone nuts and none of these people know what anything is worth these days….

Nov 3rd 2015, 7:07 PM

That said maybe Paddy is comparing the food at his summit to the €43 club sandwich at Davos…

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:04 PM

A load of geeks deluded with self importance talking gibberish. Better off on Lisbon

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:27 PM

Good riddance. Just saw some pr guy being interviewed on eye news. Rude as hell- pulled the mic off and threw the reporter a filthy look.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:29 PM

* rte news

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:52 PM

Yes it was the RTE News – Sgaron seemed to b goinbheavy on hom & I reckon he was just about to telk her where to go. Yeah a jumoed up PR guru. Hopefully take -away vehicles will cause grid lock at the co

20 euros is small pocket change to paddy cosgrave and fellows like the founder of that oculus rift thing. Either of them could cover the whole cost of food easily for the event and could probably throw in free pints in the deal too.

Mute bowie
    Favourite bowie

Rip Off Ireland is alive and well

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:52 PM

#HangryNerds

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:44 PM

It’s shows a certain mentality that when people complain the web summit organisers don’t put their hands and and say they we made a mistake – instead try start trying to argue why it is really good value actually.

Question is anyone who had to fork out 20 quid for a meal that turned out to be tiny going to turn around and say: “artisan? – fair point – it’s totally worth it now!!!”

Mute Christiana Shilling
    Favourite Christiana Shilling
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:45 PM

From chatting to some of the poor food vendors seems they were sold a pup as well. They were told they’d be accepting vouchers worth I think it was around 8 euro a meal? So organisers are pocketing the difference ? And charging a simply astonishing 1200 a ticket?

Mute James Kingston
    Favourite James Kingston
    Nov 3rd 2015, 10:33 PM

Classic Cosgrave. His business model doesn’t seem to have much longevity as the people he scams will never do business with him again. He’s away to Portugal to find new suckers.

Mute Jay
    Favourite Jay
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:52 PM

Cue Petulant Paddy throwing toys out of pram when his wifi choices fail. What a cock.

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:07 PM

They are really cashing in on their last year in Ireland. No doubt the rip off grub will be counted in how much the event “brings into the local economy”. 40k x 20 x 3 = another €2 mill +…

Mute Rust Cohle
    Favourite Rust Cohle
    Nov 3rd 2015, 6:59 PM

Is their a bar at the web summit?
    Genuine question as I am going tomorrow

Mute TokezBurke
    Favourite TokezBurke

Yeah 5.95 for a pint. Free pint of Guinness if you listen to Linux.com talk though!

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:09 PM

Bring a few naggins!

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:09 PM

I am sure there is, just bring the deeds to your house to start a tab !

Mute Rust Cohle
    Favourite Rust Cohle
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:15 PM

Alright cheers!

Mute ken
    Favourite ken
    Nov 4th 2015, 2:15 PM

Yeah and a pint is €26

Mute Ryan Hardy
    Favourite Ryan Hardy
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:28 PM

Web summit is one big circle jerk

Mute Stephen West
    Favourite Stephen West
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:41 PM

Artisan my hole. They probably don’t even know the meaning of the word.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:21 AM

It’s a type of well isn’t it?

Mute Anonymous Man
    Favourite Anonymous Man
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:29 PM

The recession is over lads…

Mute Alkaline
    Favourite Alkaline
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:11 PM

Welcome back price gouging and rip off Ireland. We missed you.

Mute Mohammed Mohammed
    Favourite Mohammed Mohammed
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:06 AM

never went away

Mute UrbexJunkie
    Favourite UrbexJunkie
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:17 PM

I do not know what is worse the people buying it knowing it’s expensive or the people paying for it and then moaning about it.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:32 PM

I suppose they were surprised to find that the €20 token got a main meal that was just a hot dog or a little box of noodles.

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:20 PM

Rip off Banana Republic

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Nov 3rd 2015, 7:51 PM

The banana’s another €8.50!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:55 PM

The conference obv. slipped up on that rip off

Mute Sean Finlay
    Favourite Sean Finlay
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:37 PM

These guys do a fantastic line in bullshit

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:21 PM

They messed up the Motorsport show in the RDS the same way. In the early ’90′s it was amazing, but by the mid ’90′s it was like visiting any motor showroom in the country and getting ripped off at every turn for the ‘experience’ to boot.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:31 PM

I would demand my money back beung served that! Complete rip off! Sack the PR agent!

Mute how
    Favourite how
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:36 AM

Why is everything to do with Internet technology, social media, all the sort of stuff to do with the web summit etc. so intimidating and excluding and snobby and haughty … Much like Irish society in the last 5-10 years .. Smug, pretentious, americanised, sterile, dead-on-the-inside, beard-wearing ..

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Nov 4th 2015, 1:25 AM

WTFAYOA?

Mute Frank Duffy
    Favourite Frank Duffy
    Nov 3rd 2015, 8:31 PM

Ah. Ripoff Ireland still exists. Better screw the punter for as much as possible before they head to Portugal

Mute Eoin Bathe
    Favourite Eoin Bathe
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:33 PM

I’ve been to plenty of events some of which even free entry on behalf of the company and sometimes free food is even offered and it looks a lot tastier than that tripe! You pay a premium at events that’s fair enough but let’s not take the mick!

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Nov 3rd 2015, 9:49 PM

Greedy git!

Mute El Nig
    Favourite El Nig
    Nov 3rd 2015, 11:27 PM

€1200 X 30,000 = €38millon ???
    Holy artisan meatballs batman !!

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 4th 2015, 8:33 AM

There is also a leaving town tax

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 4th 2015, 9:06 AM

A fool and his money are soon part(isan)ed.

Mute Agrippa
    Favourite Agrippa
    Nov 3rd 2015, 11:21 PM

Thieving fecking robbing b*stards

Mute Nikki BeatNik
    Favourite Nikki BeatNik
    Nov 4th 2015, 11:49 AM

Lots of excellent places to eat around the RDS.
    For 20 quid a head you could go for a sit down meal at Roast, Belluccis, Baan Thai, Paddy Cullens, Horse and Hound, Base, Rolys, MAIA, Al Boschetto and The Bridge and still have change in your pocket!

Loads of places also for a take out sambo for a quarter of the price too.

Don’t buy the tokens guys!

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:52 AM

Gouging

Mute Paul Connolly
    Favourite Paul Connolly
    Nov 4th 2015, 12:22 PM

Kinda bored now with the moaning, self-pitying, money grabbing WebSummit.

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne
    Nov 4th 2015, 1:10 PM

Lisbon is welcome to the Web summit

Mute JIMINYJELIKERS
    Favourite JIMINYJELIKERS
    Nov 4th 2015, 11:49 AM

Went into the topaz to get 2 rashers on bread girl says 4:90 I said you eat it, bye

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Nov 4th 2015, 2:23 AM

Eh why was post removed

Mute Cill Dará Abú
    Favourite Cill Dará Abú
    Nov 4th 2015, 2:24 AM

Oops, it’s back