You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I got us into this mess, I'll get us out': Theresa May tries to unify her new Cabinet

Boris Johnson said that May gave a ‘stonking performance’ at the first meeting with her new Cabinet this evening.

General Election 2017 aftermath Images from Theresa May's first meeting with her new Cabinet. Leon Neal / PA Images Leon Neal / PA Images / PA Images

THERESA MAY TOOK the blame for the Conservatives’ disastrous performance in last week’s election as she faced her party’s angry MPs this evening – in what is viewed as an attempt to ward off a leadership challenge.

“I got us into this mess, and I’m going to get us out,” May told Conservatives MPs during a meeting in Westminster.

May’s Conservatives unexpectedly lost their majority in parliament in Thursday’s snap vote, causing political chaos ahead of Brexit talks with the European Union set to start next week and prompting calls – from within her own party – for her resignation.

Today she faced members of the Conservatives’ 1922 Committee, which can trigger a vote of confidence in a party leader if it receives letters from 15% of the party’s MPs.

But one MP present at the meeting said there was no discussion of a leadership contest, adding “she’s won, she’s got to be prime minister”.

May vowed to stay on despite the poor results, and yesterday unveiled a largely unchanged new cabinet, which met for the first time today.

General Election 2017 aftermath Boris Johnson says he has no interest in the leadership and backs May as PM. Leon Neal Leon Neal

Foreign minister Boris Johnson, who was reported by British media to be lining up a leadership bid, insisted May should stay.

“The people of Britain have had a bellyful of promises and politicking,” he wrote in The Sun tabloid. “Now is the time for delivery – and Theresa May is the right person to continue that vital work.”

After the meeting he tweeted that May gave a “stonking performance”:

May’s party fell eight seats short of retaining its parliamentary majority, and is now in talks with the North’s Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) – which won 10 seats – to forge an informal alliance.

Deckchairs

Theresa May announced a new cabinet – with no changes among her top team –  in an attempt to appear proactive in the wake of a defeat.

In a surprise move, Michael Gove was appointed environment and agriculture minister less than a year after the prime minister sacked him as justice minister.

After the opposition Labour party made hefty election gains by focusing heavily on national issues, May listed areas such as education and housing as top policy priorities.

Concern over DUP deal

DUP leader Arlene Foster said there had been “positive engagement” so far.

“We are going into these talks with the national interest at heart. The union as I’ve said before is our guiding star,” she said.

Defence Secretary Michael Fallon said the government was not looking at a formal coalition but would seek assurances that the DUP would vote with May “on the big things”.

He stressed he did not share their ultra-conservative views on issues such as abortion and homosexuality, which have caused disquiet among many Conservatives.

The deal has also caused consternation here in Dublin, with Enda Kenny warning such an alliance could upset Northern Ireland’s fragile peace.

Lady in waiting

General Election 2017 aftermath Steve Parsons / PA Images Steve Parsons / PA Images / PA Images

It’s expected that the British government will delay by “a few days” the presentation of its programme in parliament following its setback in the general election last week, the BBC reports.

The pageantry-filled ceremony, officially the State Opening of Parliament but more commonly known as the Queen’s Speech, is an outline of the government’s policy proposal read by Queen Elizabeth II.

It had been scheduled for 19 June and has been in the queen’s diary since April. It’s been reported that the Queen would attend the Royal Ascot the following week, but her plans could be delayed now.

There was some speculation that the delay was caused because the speech needed to be written on goat’s skin, but thankfully, that seems to have been disproved.

A spokesman for Prime Minister Theresa May refused to confirm the date at a daily briefing, saying only that there would be a statement regarding the Queen’s Speech “in due course”.

The spokesman added that any update would come from Andrea Leadsom, the government’s new representative in the House of Commons.

What’s causing all the fuss?

General Election 2017 aftermath Charles McQuillan / PA Images Charles McQuillan / PA Images / PA Images

Conservative leader May lost her parliamentary majority in the election, and ministers have said the government will have to jettison key parts of its manifesto ahead of the Queen’s Speech.

May is trying to strike a deal with Northern Ireland’s Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) to have the support of its 10 MPs in parliament.

The speech is normally followed by days of debate and then a vote on the government’s programme, which would in effect be a vote of confidence in the government.

We are working with the DUP in order to reach a deal that will allow the safe passage of the Queen’s Speech.

The State Opening involves the queen reading out the government’s policy plans from a calfskin parchment in an annual tradition dating back to the Middle Ages.

The monarch is clad in white and usually arrives in a gilded carriage with dozens of horsemen to the sounds of the national anthem, ‘God Save The Queen’.

In a bizarre custom dating back to times of hostility between parliament and monarchy, an MP is “held hostage” at Buckingham Palace until she returns safely.

© AFP 2017

Read: There’s been a 96% drop in EU nurses going to work in the UK since Brexit

View 48 comments
48 Comments
    Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Favourite Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:53 PM

“In a bizarre custom dating back to times of hostility between parliament and monarchy, an MP is “held hostage” at Buckingham Palace until she returns safely.”

Suitable, as the DUP are still in the 17th Century

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:28 PM

@Damien Aulsberry: or because the monarchy itself is a bizarre custom

Mute Jeanniejampots
    Favourite Jeanniejampots
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:46 PM

@Awkward Seal: designated survivor

Mute Dublin Rover
    Favourite Dublin Rover
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:36 PM

It’s like an episode of “The Thick Of It” but without all the swearing

Mute abcyz
    Favourite abcyz
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:45 PM

Will there be abortion and gay marriage in the north like the rest of the country the DUP claim to belong to? Why don’t they want the same laws as England,Scotland and Wales then? Atleast the liberal minded majority in those countries know how backward the DUP are & won’t tolerate bigotry.

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Dublin Rover: how do you know there is no swearing?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:52 PM

@abcyz: Scotland doesn’t even have the same legal system as England, never mind laws.

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Jun 12th 2017, 9:44 PM

@abcyz: they tolerated it for a century now…

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:18 PM

Maybe they’ll hold it until the 12th of July as a gift to their new partners.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 12th 2017, 11:51 PM

@Niallers: Good idea for ‘Sash Wednesday’ 12th of July.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:39 PM

Betty will not be amused by Theresa .

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:54 PM

Queen Elizabeth can’t do it any day next week apart from Monday…..Ascot races are on….

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:04 PM

Paradoxically the DUP will argue for a soft Brexit, an outcome which would benefit Ireland.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:18 PM

@Carl Ingalls:

Spot on.

We have the DUP looking for the Tories negotiate a Soft Brexit. The Shinners bringing down The NI Executive and asking for an enquiry into Arlene’s role in wasting 400 million of the British Taxpayers money. And a Scottish Conservative threatening to pull down the British Government because of the DUP’s stance on Gay rights…Quite surreal!

Mute Bennythekid
    Favourite Bennythekid
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:29 PM

@Damien Aulsberry: quite surreal is right Damien-All we need now is Arlene Foster as Grand Marshell next St Patrick’s Day in Dublin.

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Damien Aulsberry:
    Tory arrogance as unleashed this political farce.
    A few months ago Arlene Foster’s political career was in the balance yet here she now finds herself from a position of strength in political negotiations to form a new British government.
    The DUP do not want a hard border with the Republic. They could also force the Conservatives to abandon two of their controversial manifesto pledges, the “triple lock” rise in the state pension and means testing winter fuel payments.
    Have to say I’m loving every minute of it.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:53 PM

@Carl Ingalls: UK politics has certainly become kind of interesting over the last two years, it had gotten so boring in the last two decades that all the had to offer the outsider, was comic quiz shows and petty scandals. Wonder how my shares in popcorn are performing now.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:56 PM

@Bennythekid

With FG in Power not within the realms ;)

@Carl Ingalls:

Yes, a perfect example of putting Party before country. Theresa May shat on the British Public just like FF/FG have done here numerous times. How we sent a Neo Liberal Puppet and a complete idiot to negotiate relief on our bailout, I will never understand.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:03 PM

Theresa May should have formed an interim National Government and used the brightest and best from each party, to negotiate Brexit. Only problem is, that would have meant a win for the ordinary man in the street and Politicians both here and in Britain hate to see the little man win.

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:25 PM

@Damien Aulsberry:
    What pleases me most is Corbyn’s political vindication by remaining loyal to real Labour principles and the fact that the British youth responded to his conviction.

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:11 PM

@Carl Ingalls:

He ran a magnificent campaign and credit must go to his election team as well.

I think what impresses me most about Corbyn is his honesty, which is a rare thing in a Politician these days. The man can also debate, he destroyed Paxman and May even ran for cover. Think of what he could achieve as part of a Brexit negotiating team.

On the other hand, May made a pigs ear of the election. She was boorish and her strategy concerning the elderly was complete madness given they account for a lot of her core vote. She also had no concern for the British man in the street by putting Party first, something that is also rife over here.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:52 PM

@Greg Blake: Now’s the time to bring back Spitting image, Would be a great show and the Brits would get to know their new DUP rulers .Comedy Gold.

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Jun 12th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Damien Aulsberry: SF pulled the assembly for a lot more than that

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:18 AM

@Damien Aulsberry:

Boris has a stonking grand masterplan in mind!

Leave May at helm, confirm that any move on Brexit chessboard will cause untold grief for U.K. Economy and citizens. Blames May!

BoJo then comes to the rescue; shafts May, gets voted in PM and turns his guns on Europe, seeking EU reforms on extent of freedom of movement throughout Union.

Not only UK wants those reforms!

And Boris has that quirky personality, intellect and brilliance to pull it off!

#GoBoJo

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jun 12th 2017, 4:58 PM

It a plot to stop the Queen going to Ascot ! It would be embarrassing if she met the Sheiks from Qatar who sponsor weeks racing for millions

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:00 PM

What most people don’t realise is that most DUP voters actually support gay marriage and abortion etc, but are forced to vote that way as any other vote would jeopardise the majority unionist vote. The alternatives are too weak/split. Thus the two more extreme parties keep getting in (SF and DUP), and the media does their share of fear-mongering to make sure it stays that way. The more drama, the more stories read/sold. If they would focus on the good work being done in the north that would be a welcome change, start building trust.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:54 PM

@Scundered: Another one of your makey up stories .Next you’ll be telling us the dup don’t support the Orange Order.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:24 PM

The DUP and SF used to be minority parties who were only really taken seriously by the nutcases. Blair/Mandelsson/Woodward made such an arse of handling post GFA that they ended up dealing with the extremists rather than the slightly saner politicians most Nordies voted for. The logic of power sharing is that this position is now entrenched.

The end result is that otherwise sensible unionists vote for the DUP in order to push back on Sinn Fein, and otherwise sensible nationalists vote for Sinn Fein in order to push back on the DUP. It’s unhelpful to pretend that their voters actually agree with all the policy positions of the leadership.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:28 PM

@Just Me: Not at all. He is simply pointing out the reality of sectarian politics as it focuses into large blocks. On the same basis, there are many SF voters who feel they now have no choice but to support that party but who should not be presumed to endorse all that went on in that party’s history.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:58 PM

@Terry McClatchey: Yeah right.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 12th 2017, 7:36 PM

@Ben McArthur: what a load of nonsense Ben, what you are witnessing now in the north is a political normalisation after decades of one party rule.

Mute Sean Hammond
    Favourite Sean Hammond
    Jun 12th 2017, 9:53 PM

@Ben McArthur: How can you compare the policies of both parties and say they are in anyway alike. SF live in a different century to many of the views held by the DUP. It’s an insult to associate genuine Irish Republican beliefs with the bigoted and neolithic views of some of those in the DUP.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Jun 12th 2017, 10:32 PM

You seem to have read his post the wrong way, Sean. The point Ben is making is that NI has regressed to the situation where people who would normally never vote for either one of these parties (for whatever reason) are doing so based on ONE SINGLE constitutional issue – whether you favour Unionism or Nationalism. There are left-wing, secular Nordies out there (for example) who aren’t interested in holding back the Papists or saving Ulster from sodomy…but who ARE interested in keeping NI part of the UK. They are being forced to hold their nose and vote DUP because a vote for any other more moderate unionist party is a wasted vote. Likewise SF has swallowed any Nationalist vote, even the more right wing voters who normally wouldn’t care for SF’s left wing manifesto policies.

Mute #Right2change
    Favourite #Right2change
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:04 PM

Utterly bizarre!!! Pure desperation on the part of Theresa May and we allow these nutcases and con artists to govern us!!!

Mute Damien Aulsberry
    Jun 12th 2017, 3:54 PM

In a bizarre custom dating back to times of hostility between parliament and monarchy, an MP is “held hostage” at Buckingham Palace until she returns safely.

Suitable as the DUP still live in the 17th Century

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:39 PM

The PM went initially to the Queen on the basis of false premises. No actual deal had been cut with the DUP. There was no basis for formation of a Government.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:33 PM

“One” will not be amused, I certainly don’t blame her, surely ” One” should be able to call the shots here so to speak !

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 5:56 PM

@Catherine Mc: Surely one should be able to go to Ascot when one wishes.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:30 PM

@Just Me:
    Absolutely, I’m just putting the finishing touches to my hat !

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Jun 12th 2017, 6:42 PM

@Just Me: ‘One’ is just a puppet whose strings are pulled by parliament.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Jun 12th 2017, 7:01 PM

@Catherine Mc: And I’ll bring the strawberries and cream and the champagne in the old picnic basket.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Jun 12th 2017, 7:54 PM

@Just Me:
    Aah cheers and thanks for that. One is very greatful for your thoughtfulness..

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Jun 12th 2017, 11:21 PM

Who is yer man Foster anyway..?

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen
    Jun 12th 2017, 8:30 PM

Banging on the table to cover the sound of The knifes being sharpened

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Jun 12th 2017, 8:43 PM

She just keeps digging.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 12th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Tony Daly: Yes She does. What a fiasco. Whatever happened to the UK? Reminds me of the movie Idiocracy although the U.S. is out in front on that score and it seems like the UK is catching up fast.

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    Jun 12th 2017, 8:45 PM

Confessio Regina Elizabeth.