You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/D K Grove

Deleting Facebook 'I wouldn’t date someone who wasn't on Facebook. They have secrets'

But when you leave Facebook, your attention span increases. You look around you. You notice things, writes Amanda Geard.

I MET UP with a friend in a cafe a few weeks after deleting my Facebook account in 2010.

“I wouldn’t date someone who wasn’t on Facebook,” she said, “they have secrets.”

“I don’t think that’s true,” I frowned, rapidly developing a guilty conscience for something I wasn’t aware of. I wanted to delete my account to recoup time, sanity and privacy: would I really be viewed with suspicion?

At the end of the noughties, everyone who was anyone had a Facebook account. Now, in the wake of the latest data-scandal, thousands are calling time on the social media behemoth.

And, if you’re planning on going Facebook cold turkey, I should issue this caveat: your digital detox won’t be plain sailing, but it’s worth it in the end.

It could be bad for your career

A staggering 70% of employers use social media to screen candidates before hiring. Just like posting pictures of yourself at the beach on a sick day, permanently stepping out of social media can have a negative impact on your career.

To mitigate the damage, I joined LinkedIn. Most of the articles on the networking site are hardly clickbait and the endorphin hit rate is pretty low.

In short, LinkedIn isn’t addictive and doesn’t take up much time but it will preserve your online visibility.

Authorities thought I didn’t exist

In 2015, we were thinking of applying for an Australian partner visa for my fiancé. The cost of the application is horrendous and if you have any energy left after the kidney surgery then you need to begin gathering ‘evidence’.

Producing documents such as the receipt for your engagement ring, tickets for flights and joint utility bills is the norm. But a steady stream of evidence via your Facebook profile? That’s a winner for immigration officials to trawl through.

Except if you haven’t got one.

And with the US proposal to seek details of all social media activity from visa applicants having a Facebook account is becoming a prerequisite to being a valid member of society.

We’ve forgotten how to chat

When you’re on Facebook, everyone knows you’re doing great: you smile a lot and drink huge glasses of wine in the sunshine.

When I left Facebook, I got used to asking people: “How are you?” with genuine interest. I started to talk about real things in the real world, rather than chirpy status updates and heavily posed photo albums.

You’ll notice that you notice things

Since we upped sticks and moved to Ireland, we’ve had a steady stream of friends, friends of friends and relatives to stay.

And there’s nothing so great as playing host in Kerry, hiking over Valentia Island, cycling around the Beara Peninsula, and feasting on gourmet delights in picturesque towns. It’s magic.

But each time we stop to revel in the golden moments, phones are whipped out, and selfies crafted.

“Where are we again?” Erm, Dingle. You’ve just scoffed the ice-cream, guzzled the gin and met the dolphin. And if you look around, you’ll notice you’re in I-r-e-l-a-n-d.

When you no longer need to answer the call of the Facebook ping, your attention span increases. You look around you. You notice things. You’ll realise that even moments that aren’t posed, recoloured and posted online have value. More value.

When I deleted Facebook, I took the good with the bad. I felt left out initially, awkward even. Then as the gaping wound that Facebook made in my capacity to live in the moment closed and healed, I found that the real word was just as wonderful as when I left it.

And that’s the biggest secret of all.

Amanda Geard is a writer and geologist living in Kerry. Her work can be found at amandageard.contently.com.

The lost decade is over: Our 7.8% GDP growth last year was comfortably the highest in Europe>

An Irishman in Brexit Britain: ‘The atmosphere has changed since the vote’>

original

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 65 comments
65 Comments
    Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:19 AM

Burton with mostly lies last night yet again. I’m praying that the people of Dublin West do the right thing on Friday.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:47 AM

They shouldn’t be allowed call it a debate. Being asked pre-determined, previously seen questions one by one with very little opportunity to make your point, discuss or even argue, is not a debate.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:11 AM

Since when does 784 equal almost 1,000?

Last time I checked it’s almost 800.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:48 AM

It’s some rounding up for sure

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:58 AM

Gerry’s maths again.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:59 AM

And why include the norths number by him saying “the island of Ireland”. Anything else he’d like to use the north’s numbers for? His budget figures maybe?

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:32 AM

Maths might not be his strong point, who cares? Enda and the rest of them are not exactly superior to him in that regard. It is the finance spokesperson you look to for clarification and detail. Adams to me has a clear vision for the way he wants to see this country going forward and how all of our citizens should be treated equally and looks to bring about a more socially just society.

This is a quote from Vincent Browne on him

“But it was Gerry Adams, who, more than any other single person, was responsible for delivering the most significant political achievement of Irish history for generations: the peace agreement on Northern Ireland. In terms of achievement, no other figure in Irish public life rates even close to him.”

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:41 AM

Nice selective quote there watersedge. You must have missed the rest of VB’s article in which he said there’s no difference between the shinners and FG/FF except for a marginal increase in minimum wage.

He said the shinners wanna be like FG – established and centre right.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:43 AM

Same article;

“Now all they venture is to increase the minimum wage to €9.65 an hour. There is some decent analysis of social conditions in the Sinn Féin manifesto, but the thrust of the manifesto is so cautious and “responsible” one wonders why they don’t they just merge with Fine Gael, along with the Labour Party, Fianna Fáil, Renua and Shane Ross?”

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/vincent-browne-do-not-worry-about-gerry-adams-and-sinn-f%C3%A9in-1.2545703

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:54 AM

“We all know Gerry Adams was one of the leading figures in the IRA for a long time and it is no surprise he denies that, for to do otherwise would leave him open to criminal prosecution and, probably, civil suits.
    We also all know of the complicity of Gerry Adams in legions of IRA atrocities, atrocities that probably would have happened anyway, with or without him.”

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:55 AM

Correct Watersedge. From the questions you could swear that a sitting Taoiseach personally does the calculations himself on budgetry matters. I don’t put too much stock into Gerry Adams not being able to regurgitate numbers somebody else has come up with as well as the other leaders.

Speaking of questions, its a general election debate where leaders set out their partys stalls. First question was about his alleged IRA membership. Once he gives his response, it then moves onto enda kenny who immediately makes a smarmy remark about Mairia Cahill.

You couldn’t make it up. Hopefully its as blatant to undecided voters.

Miriams face was priceless when he asked her about her own salary though.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:15 PM

“Maths might not be his strong point, who cares? Enda and the rest of them are not exactly superior to him in that regard. It is the finance spokesperson you look to for clarification and detail. ”

Surely if this applies to Gerry Adams, then it must equally apply to all parties?

Comparing him to Enda and the rest of them, but giving him a “pass” because it’s not his area – but yet no such pass to the rest of them?

Every leader of every party who wants to be in Government should have their figures correct – if they are all crap, then they are all crap.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:34 PM

Trolley count is down because people are committing suicide or people are emigrating so they are not using our health care system!!!!

Mute Shinnerbot GE16
    Favourite Shinnerbot GE16
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:51 PM

CLAIM: Gerry Adams is the Irish Nelson Mandela.

Verdict: Fact.

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Feb 24th 2016, 1:07 PM

Many suicides are recorded as misadventures or accidents, so 1000 is realistically nearer the truth.

Mute Tony Ornery G
    Favourite Tony Ornery G
    Feb 24th 2016, 1:32 PM

Yes, sadly many suicides are recorded as misadventures. A friend in a palliative care unit remarked how in a macabre way they term many of them the “single car collision department”.
    I hope, whatever Fridays outcome, we remember in the next Government to address our mental health services. http://trickstersworld.com/2016/02/23/the-reformation-will-not-be-televised/

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Feb 24th 2016, 1:53 PM

Don’t think any of the parties maths are good, they have all got something wrong somewhere, it would be great to see an overall TRUE / FALSE for each party now, it might show us overall who is telling the truth or not, also show who knows what they are at least taking about to some degree

Mute Shane O Leary
    Favourite Shane O Leary
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:33 PM

So Gerry Adams was singularly responsible for the northern Ireland’s peace process?? That’s news to Albert Bertie Hume and numerous other players no doubt…

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:58 PM

Shane, just putting up a quote by someone. It is Vincent Browne’s opinion. Adam’s was a key player in the peace process, there is no doubt that Hume etc also were. It was a huge achievement by all of those involved.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:59 PM

they should get baron adams on tv more, its hilarious watching the dithering excuse for a statesman

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Feb 24th 2016, 4:13 PM

Ciaran you don’t commit suicide, you die by suicide, by using word commit you suggest a crime. Suicide is no longer a criminal offence in this country.

Mute Gerard Fenniman
    Favourite Gerard Fenniman
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:11 PM

he said across the island, 279 in the north and 784 in the republic, read the article,

Mute John cullen
    Favourite John cullen
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:18 PM

Oh shut up yah bleedin idiot.

Mute John cullen
    Favourite John cullen
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:19 PM

Q

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:30 PM

I always thought that the nature of politics in this country was listening to half truths, especially when you hear politicians talking about the ‘dogs on the street’……lies, lies and more lies.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:49 PM

Tommy macdonagh/Diarmuid……..Gerry Adams….blah bah blah Gerry Adams, Britain must leave the European Union Gerry Adams blah blah. There you have it in a nutshell,your tuv manifesto sorted for the upcoming Strormont election.

Mute Dan Smasheen
    Favourite Dan Smasheen
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:56 PM

Is the fact check on the basis of within 25% of being a fact?

That just perpetuates the bs.

If he saved 216 lives would he round it down to none. Both scenarios are equally unbelievable.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:27 AM

I didn’t watch it. The X-files were on RTE 2. Much more creditable than the lies and spins that was on RTE 1.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:44 AM

Have to say what a pity Steven Donnelly was not there a shame. Royal family was much better gave me alaugh. So thanks no thanks.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill

That ending though

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Feb 24th 2016, 4:39 PM

The truth is out there. Just not in Ireland.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:30 AM

Imagine saying to another person “are you a worthy person “? The sheer arrogance and hypocrisy of saying to someone else are you a worthy person ? Especially in light of the other people Gerry Adams was standing with. Did she ask the leader of the country who defends a country where you can die on a hospital trolly in a corridor and people cannot find somewhere to live. The sheer hypocrisy is sickening., Miriam o Callaghan is firmly ensconsed in the establishment and earning a fortune, with a brother in FF. Why would she want SF to get into power, nothing to do with morals just faux outrage. Very hypocritical, devious and manuipulative, what else would you expect from the cosy cartel in RTE.

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:44 AM

She admitted she earns over 100k, too

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:58 AM

He should have thrown it straight back at her, asking was she suitable for this debate seeing as her brother is running for FF.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:42 AM

keith, she was technically incorrect as RTE pay her company the (actually multiples of) hundreds of thousands. she pays herself a director’s emolument. like everyone in the room, they all cost the state over will over a€100 each – how they receive it, and what they do with it is different, but you are looking at well over a million a year going from taxpayers directly to the performers in this “debate”. shocking.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:44 AM

Yes, it’s a wonder Gerry didn’t attack Miriam because of what her brother is doing? Hmmm, why oh why did he pass that opportunity?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:02 PM

PJM Gerry was not going to bring brothers into this, his brother is serving 16 years for rape , which apparently he knew about.
    http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/gerry-adams-brother-jailed-for-16-years-over-rape-of-daughter-29789593.html

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:52 PM

its cringe listening to the baron talk economics and numbers. that clown wants to run a country??

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 24th 2016, 5:18 PM

There’s a bigger clown running it now. Maybe that’s here he got the idea.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:38 PM

Gerry Adams makes a play in debates at trying to embarrass interviewers asking if they earn over 100k.
    What he really means is that he would screw RTE if he ever gets into government……

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 25th 2016, 10:59 AM

You say that like it’s a bad thing Chris. If RTE had to stand on it’s own two feet it would be gone in 6 months. Sub par programming and sub par ridiculously over paid presenters. If they knew what they were doing and gave people what they wanted in a national broadcaster they might generate enough to be self sustainable. Maybe even attract some actual talent if the numbers were up.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

Enda admitted to deceiving the Dail with regards McNulty but that’s ok because that’s blueshirt politics – dirty & dishonest. Enda even if he could perform and have any modicum of leadership quality has zero credibility. He’s the grand spoofer – really hope the electorate wise up this week & vote them out.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:17 AM

Setrakian, did Kenny mislead the Dail on the subject? That’s the big question this morning. We also have a minister for finance in iding 2 days out from a general election, due to information emerging over an extremely serious matter.

But no doubt we’ll have another 24 hours of ‘Gerry Adams ate my hamster’ crap.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:35 AM

SF must only be shown i a good light, anything else is a witch hunt.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:47 AM

“have a minister for finance in hiding”

Noonan was on the Six One news last night.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:55 PM

porr shinner are getting desperate now, all that nose diving in the polls is taking its toll :D

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano

The debate showed last night how shockingly bad the leaders of the big parties are. Time to give someone else a shot….Social Democrats have my vote and they weren’t even at the debate last night

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:06 AM

Fully agree Beano, if anything, the debate showed the need for a new injection of new politicians and parties. I disliked the format of the entire show.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:23 AM

My God, Beano. I’m surprised at that. You do know that the SDs don’t intend to sterilize the unemployed and that they have a humane view on homelessness? I really thought it would go against your principles to give a vote to a party that would spend your tax money on things like that.
    Didn’t watch last night. It was obvious what was going to happen. The short lead in to the election is not conducive to 2 debates featuring the same characters. The only interesting debate was the 7 way one.
    It’s a sad indictment of the state of politics here when Michael Martin came out as the only leader of a main party who is articulate

Mute Tony Barry
    Favourite Tony Barry
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:27 AM

I agree it is time to give somebody else a shot. I am voting SF because somebody else needs a shot. Social Democrats Stephen Donnelly voted for the eviction bill that’s why I couldn’t give him a vote. Only thing with SF is Gerry Adams needs to step down I think Pearse Doherty would be the right person to have in charge

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:35 AM

After how well put together last week’s debate was this debate was just shoddy all around – from a set that was falling apart, to the inconsistent, disconnected lines of questioning (e.g. jumping from cronyism to climate change) to the weak, tired responses. I echo others in saying it really missed the other candidates. I hope Social Democrats and Renua pick up some votes.

It’s also getting very tiring hearing Adams go on about “the establishment” when he has been around since the dawn of time, and is in government in Northern Ireland, implementing the very same taxes and cuts he describes as “mean-spirited” in the Republic.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:27 PM

I thought the IRA called the shots!!!!

Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:00 PM
    Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:46 AM

It was upsetting seeing how poor, how evasive, how mealy mouthed and how lame all four “leaders” were.

Burton did less moaning than usual and tried to conduct herself but still displays how vacuous she is.

Catherine Murphy, Stephen Donnelly and Roisin Shortall are all vastly superior.

The irony of a tiny party fielding 14,candidates and 3 excellent leaders ( as well as decent and enlightened policies) against the dross and drivel of the rest.

Sadly, Irish voters may vote for the same tired parties, with the same tired policies and same tired leaders expecting different results. Human nature!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:14 AM

Yep and everyone will continue blaming those “leaders” for being poor rather than the people who continuously elect them. Can’t blame the politicans for making a living off a society who are happy to continuously reward cronyism, incompetence and broken promises with high paying jobs and pensions.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:56 PM

While I agree completely with you Fiona, it is important to remember this is not a presidential election.

Mute ian110664
    Favourite ian110664
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:39 AM

Doesn’t inspire confidence in the office of Taoiseach when you see the quality of the candidates….

Mute James Lyons
    Favourite James Lyons
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:27 AM

Burton looked like she was planning for her retirement next week. Gerry Adams was comical dipping questions about what he’d do with the health service. He just kept pointing out what’s wrong. We all know what’s wrong!

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:13 AM

If you’re unhappy with the selection, vote for others, it’s that simple. There has been no delivery of reform as was promised what so ever!

Mute de la Rey
    Favourite de la Rey
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:58 AM

Dan, how about a summary of the fact checks? E.g. Joan 10 porkies, 5 half porkies, 3 facts. Would be interesting to see who has been spinning the most/least

Mute Celtic_Horizon
    Favourite Celtic_Horizon
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:26 PM

That would be very good winner for each debate and grand master for most porkies

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:49 AM

I wouldn’t elect any of the 4 of them to be chairman of a local charity or County Council.

So much choice but zero quality from the big four.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:52 AM

Looking at the shower of four last night, it is time for a real change. Sadly, the Irish voters may prefer the same tired out familiar and predictable lame ducks.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:08 AM

Not often we agree Fiona, I can’t argue with any of that, I think their absence was very noticeable and that may play in their favour.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:56 AM

FG and Labour are about to address all of the problems of the last 5 years if only can get another 5 years.

FF wants to fix all of the problems although it cannot accept its role in the causing of the problems.

SF knows that there are problems but it does not have the competence or capacity to start figuring out how think about fixing the problems.

All 4 parties are led by inept and vision less leaders.

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:34 AM

Well said Fiona

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:04 AM

Burton did better in this one by keeping shtum and not saying as much. Kenny dropped a clanger with the McNulty admission. Adams still doesn’t know his own policies at all well. Martin spoke well, as usual, but wouldn’t have won many over with what he was saying. All in all, I expect support for the four parties to drop.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan

No fact check to see if a person by the name of Senator Cahill existed? Adams hadn’t a bulls notion who Kenny was on about (whatever about not knowing his party policies, he’d surely remember Ms Cahill!).

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:59 AM

Well seeing as rte news, newstalk and plenty of other tweeters were saying Kenny said Sandra Cahill they hadn’t a clue what he said either.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:54 AM
    Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly

It looks like a like Gerry is the only one telling the truth on these debates

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:28 AM

When the UK vote to leave the EU there will be a loud cry from the shinners effected financially………Brits in!!!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Feb 24th 2016, 7:25 AM

Gerry’s teeth were very squeaky last night.

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry

That squeaking noise last night was Joan Burton’s hip

Mute Lee O'Sullivan
    Favourite Lee O'Sullivan
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:12 AM

I’m pretty sure the squeaking noise came from her mouth.

Mute Danny Gormley
    Favourite Danny Gormley
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:31 AM

Social Democrats it’s is so Ted

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:39 AM

Would be great…except they have no one running in my area.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:53 AM

They will soon enough. I’ve decided last night their candidate in my area is getting my first.

I’m only starting to get to know him but I’m not voting for him but for the totality of the party. I don’t agree 100% with them but they are smelling good to me

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:14 AM

Same here. The cosy cartel of FG/FF/Lab needs to be killed.

SD’s No.1 for me. No transfers ever again for the “what’s in it for me” brigade that between them have ripped this country apart socially and economically.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:33 AM
    Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:43 AM

Really good article. VB, telling t like it is.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:53 AM

Yes. He says SF are no different to the rest in their aspirations of becoming an established right wing party. Spot on.

Mute Tony Ornery G
    Favourite Tony Ornery G
    Feb 24th 2016, 10:42 AM

Terrific to see proper and fair analysis of what I’d loosely term a debate. Challenging what our “leaders” say is critical if we are to emerge from the current Chumocracy and regain some representative democracy. Only by moving on from the politics of cronyism, corruption and nepotism can we build a fairer society.
    The best outcome from an electoral standpoint would be a Fianna Fail/ Fine Gael Government that leads to a United Left Opposition. If Friday puts to bed the faux civil war politics we might end up with a genuine political divide. A Left/Right divide that could open a real debate about the type of society we want. Will we continue with Boom and Bust of Failed Right Wing Capitalist policies or will we try a different route?
    http://trickstersworld.com/2016/02/23/the-reformation-will-not-be-televised/

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive

Biggest winner last night was the creaky floor board.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:11 PM

It seems that more truth comes from Gerry Adams than the three fascist amigos!

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:30 AM

But the others don’t have the money behind them, they don’t get the publicity or advertising because of the lack of funds.

Mute Ken Hickey
    Favourite Ken Hickey
    Feb 24th 2016, 9:42 AM

How is 784 almost 1000????

Mute RossMcEntegart
    Favourite RossMcEntegart
    Feb 24th 2016, 2:20 PM

I’ve only read the first claim so far, but I have two things to say:
    1. 784 is NOT “almost 1000″, so the claim is FALSE, not true.
    2. Gerry, you’re running in an election in the Republic of Ireland. I know you don’t like it, but that remains the case. NI stats are irrelevant. Adding them to ROI stats and quoting them as a total is even more irrelevant.

Mute Gavin123
    Favourite Gavin123
    Feb 24th 2016, 4:59 PM

People voting SF see Ireland as one country. Your opinion is irrelevant as you’re not likely to be voting for him.

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Feb 24th 2016, 3:19 PM

Debate? They aren’t able to debate, shockingly inarticulate. There seems to be no level of expertise which warrants the massive salaries and expenses these people are paid. Ireland is a small country barely moving out of recession, yet our politicians are still on salaries that the ordinary person can only dream of.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Feb 24th 2016, 11:49 AM

@Dan (Author)

According to a quick google the suicide rate has increased in the north in the last few years with the highest rates in Gerry’s ex constituency.

Can you confirm that sucide rates have increased in the north since SF took office,

And there’s this too – “The research team from the Bamford Centre for Mental Health and Well-Being at the University of Ulster has examined the link between conflict-related events and suicide attempts in Northern Ireland.

Their analysis of data from over 4,000 people – collected in 2008 for a World Mental Health Survey initiative – backs the suggestion that traumatic events associated with the Northern Ireland conflict are associated with suicidal thoughts and plans.

Professor Siobhan O’Neill, who is leading the research, said: “Suicidal ideation (thoughts) and behavior are important public health issues, not least because they give us an insight into the factors associated with death by suicide.”

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/education/Suicide-death-rate-in-Northern-Ireland-almost-equal-to-Troubles-deaths.html

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Feb 24th 2016, 12:35 PM

The journal is obsessed with d leaders debate last night thank f I didn’t waste my time in watching it and thank f I’m selling my 2016 vote to d highest bidder that’s how I feel about d lot of them only in it for d easy state pensions

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Feb 24th 2016, 8:38 PM

3 Amigos take the LPT from pensioners Medical Expenses Refunds when they cant keep up the tax payments
    …. Grey Vote Boycott for the 3 Amigos!

Mute Anonymous Man
    Favourite Anonymous Man
    Feb 24th 2016, 5:40 PM

Gerry seems to be the only one who tells the truth, but not when it comes to questions about the IRA.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Feb 25th 2016, 9:33 AM

The only one that told the truth was Jerry Adams the rest of them lied true there teeth about every figure that was mentioned .Everybody knew about the 7% that was silly by the opposition trying to score brownie points .

Mute Coli
    Favourite Coli
    Feb 24th 2016, 2:06 PM

I thought MOC said people under 15 are most likely to die from suicide, not people under 50. Would make more sense IMO