You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED: Early tallies point to a YES and No campaigners concede

The nation holds its breath.

COUNTING GOT UNDERWAY in the two referendums and by-election with the country eagerly awaiting the outcome of the same-sex marriage vote this morning.

The ballots from the presidential age referendum were also being counted with the people of Carlow-Kilkenny watching for the result in the race to fill Phil Hogan’s old Dáil seat.

Here’s what we know so far: 

TheJournal.ie liveblogged all day as the tallies and reaction came rolling in. 

Good morning! It’s Hugh O’Connell here and welcome to our referendums liveblog which will be running all day as the result of the same-sex marriage comes in. We’re also keeping an eye on the presidential age referendum and the Carlow-Kilkenny by-election. You can email me or tweet me if you want to get in touch.

The big news from yesterday was the turnout appears to have been pretty strong by the standards of previous referendums. In some urban areas it was high as 60 per cent which, on the face of it, would appear to benefit the Yes side. A big turnout in Dublin is seen as crucial to the chances of the referendum passing. Here’s a very handy round-up from Nicky Ryan.

Dublin Castle is being opened up for the referendum results this morning. The upper yard will be opened up from around 9.45am this morning with space for around 2,000 people. Read more here.

Okay it’s not the Olympics, but we’re all feeling a bit like this right now, aren’t we?

broomstickss / YouTube

Hugh has abandoned the liveblog, handing it over to myself Sinéad O’Carroll as he makes his way around an for-now empty Dublin Castle.

It’s a beautiful summer’s morning in the capital.

But there is a lot of talk of nerves and anticipation out there as we wait for the ballot boxes to be opened.

We’re intrigued to know how close our totally unscientific poll from yesterday could be to the actual result. Here’s what you said.

PastedImage-95000

Hugh O’Connell here at a very quiet media centre in Dublin Castle. In fact, I’m the only one here at the moment.

Anyway there is no exit poll from this referendum so we’ll be relying on the tallies to give us an indication of which way it’s going to go. The ballot boxes open at 9am – less than five minutes time – and then the two referendum ballot papers are separated out. The marriage referendum ones will be counted first and then the presidential age ones. Early tallies will give us a good indication of which way it’s going.

And ballot boxes are opening across the country…

Politicians reporting early tallies indicating a strong Yes vote all over Dublin. Two government ministers based in the capital have already called it on Twitter including Kevin Humphreys (who was the first to call the Seanad referendum around this time).

Equality Minister Áodhán Ó Riordáin is pretty certain:

Political commentator and experienced tallyman Noel Whelan has just tweeted this from the count centre in the RDS where lots of Dublin constituencies are being counted. It’s look VERY good for Yes in the capital:

Junior social protection minister Kevin Humphreys is on Morning Ireland predicting a “landslide” in his Dublin South-East constituency. On the national picture, he says: “I would happy to be predict, at this stage, that it’s going to be an overwhelming Yes vote.”

As for the picture elsewhere in the country. Here’s what’s happening in Galway city:

While in Leitrim, it’s not all going the Yes side’s way, according to local Fine Gael TD Frank Feighan:

No campaigner Dr John Murray, from the Iona Institute, tellings RTÉ Radio: “Everyone is saying it’s a Yes and I’m not going to argue with that.”

Leo has called it.

But there are tallies that are looking a bit tighter. This is from Artane in Dublin.

Early tallies in Donegal Northeast indicate a YES.

Hugh O’Connell here at Dublin Castle. So it’s clear now that the referendum on same-sex marriage is going to pass. Not only that, but it’s going to pass by a very clear margin. We’re not saying landslide, yet, but early indications are that it could go that way.

What won the referendum? It’s too early for an in-depth analysis but, briefly, the high turnout, the energising of the youth vote and the failure for any of the No arguments to take hold of enough of the population were wot won it.

Politicians will now be asking themselves how they can translate this significant turnout of younger voters into votes for them at the next election.

Even Donegal is voting Yes, it would seem…

And over in Galway West, with 19 boxes tallies, there is a 59.5% Yes vote. Some analysis from journalist Darragh McDonagh:

So it looks like a Yes across large parts of the country but in Roscommon, the local Fine Gael TD Frank Feighan has sent a few tally tweets which indicate the No side shading it in some parts of the county:

Prominent No campaigner and Iona Institute director David Quinn has conceded:

The confidence of the Yes side is growing, prompting Health Minister Leo Varadkar to ask this question:

What’s happening in Carlow-Kilkenny? Here’s an early tally from a journalist at the count centre:

But it’s VERY early days and transfers could change everything as those lower down are eliminated. We’re not looking at a result there until later tonight.

Dr James Reilly says on RTÉ that “it is really a good morning and a good day”.

“Ireland has moved one and sent a loud message as a nation,” he added.

Getting a little emotional, the Children’s Minister said “seeing all the young people coming home was fantastic”.

He also shares an anecdote from the count centre in Lusk where a man told him how his 32-year-old son registered to vote for the first time because he cared about marriage equality.

Cork Northwest is described as a ‘traditional’ constituency on RTÉ – but they are also on course for a YES vote by a 53%-47% margin.

Minister Reilly has some more stories about the older people he has met over the past few weeks. One older man in Lusk yesterday was voting No, he said, but was happy enough that the Yes side were going to win.

And, then, because “he promised to say it”, he revealed how his 84-year-old aunt-in-law from Belmullet voted yes.

Rónán Mullen says he is “very disappointed” with the result but has plenty of positive things to say about the Yes side while conceding on RTÉ television.

He says that the No campaign was “operating at a particular time and place” in Irish culture and society, adding that they were up against a ‘talented, well-resourced, skilled’ campaign that was “backed by the entire political establishment”.

He also wished everyone on the Yes side well.

There is a lot of goodness in Irish people – and why people were voting Yes and voting No.

However, he also said Ireland has a lot to learn about how to conduct debates in a non-emotive manner.

A very happy Leo Varadkar says today is a special and wonderful one for Ireland.

“If there are any going to be any constituencies that vote no, it’ll only be a handful,” he tells Bryan Dobson.

“It makes it a really historic day for Ireland. We are the first country in the world to enshrine marriage equality in the Constitution by a popular mandate.

That makes us a beacon, a light for the rest of the world for liberty and equality.

“It’s a very proud day to be Irish,” he added.

Varadkar also believes that this wasn’t just a referendum, but more like a “social revolution”.

“Something has been awakened in the Irish people in this referendum and it will be very good for Ireland,” he continued.

“I think this referendum for so many people was personal – not just gay men and lesbians but their friends, family and coworkers.

“People in the LGBT community are a minority but with their friends we’re a majority”

“[It] became a catalyst for a national conversation about this issue. It’s been really important.”

More indications that Roscommon might buck the national trend and say No to same-sex marriage. If not, it’ll be a close one, according to these tallies from local Fine Gael TD Frank Feighan:

Fianna Fáil’s director of elections Barry Cowen, who has been focussed on the by-election, is reluctant to give any indication to RTÉ Radio of how the tallies are going down in Carlow-Kilkenny, but admits it’s “very important” that his party’s candidate, Bobby Aylward, takes the seat.

Trends bucked.

One of the most moving moments from yesterday was one of Ireland’s openly gay TDs, John Lyons, voting with his mammy in Ballymun.

Pictured voting for the Referendums on M Mark Stedman Mark Stedman

Today, he is bursting with happiness on Twitter.

Here’s a sample tally from Ballymun – 76% YES.

PastedImage-19849

PastedImage-8584

Enda Kenny is wearing a green tie today, for the day that’s in it.

Speaking in Castlebar, he said he expects the referendum to pass but that it is still too early to be definitive.

He also spoke about the importance of politics and how young people getting out and voting showed the “value of this issue”.

Gay Marriage Equality Referendums Leah Farell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Campaign group Mothers and Fathers Matter has issued a statement, conceding the referendum because of “early but convincing indications that the country will return a Yes vote”.

The statement, in full, reads:

We offer our warm congratulations to the Yes campaign on their victory. There are thousands of people who worked hard for them to achieve this result, and they can be justifiably happy with their efforts today.

“Though at times this campaign was unpleasant for people on all sides, nobody who involves themselves in a campaign does so with anything but the good of their country at heart. There is no better way to resolve difference than the way we are using today.

From our point of view, we have represented a proportion of the population greater than those who support any political party. One in three Irish people in this campaign was not represented by the political establishment, the media, or the institutions of the state.

“We are proud to have found on behalf of those voices when nobody else would.

Today’s result was achieved by the Government after they issued certain promises about surrogacy, adoption, and a range of other issues. A lot of voters believed those assurances and they must now be kept.

“Once again, we offer our congratulations to the YES side on a hard won victory. This is their day, and they should enjoy it.”

This is the scene just outside the media centre in the courtyard at Dublin Castle where people are beginning to arrive for the result declaration later this afternoon. Around 2,000 people will be here by the time that happens and it’s fair to say excitement is building among those who campaigned for a Yes vote.

oconnellhugh / Vine

Predictably in Ranelagh:

When will ‘landslide’ start trending?

Boylesports trying to get in ahead of the competition and is paying out on those who betted on a Yes vote.

We don’t think this was counted but this is making people emotional.

And in North Kildare…

We love a bit of competition, eh?

Snapped at the count centre in RDS is a jubilant Senator David Norris.

A happy Senator David Norris arrives at Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leon Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Labour TD John Lyons, who was a prominent campaigner for the referendum, is very emotional at Dublin Castle this morning. He told us a short time ago:

I am delighted. I’m a little bit all over the place as to where my feelings are, but my mind is telling me that I’m over the moon at the moment, but I am little bit upside down inside, if that makes sense.

He said he was always quietly confident that there would be a strong turnout and a strong Yes vote but that he was constantly reminding others not to get complacent.

From my point of view, we knew the polls were always quite strong, but we also knew that we needed every single vote.

And his plans for tonight?

I’ve actually a few more of these things to do but I hope to get a pint in between!

We imagine it won’t be this quiet at Dublin Castle in a few hours time.

Daragh Brophy / Vine

A quick note from one of Ireland’s young people on what this means for her:

I am a 16 year old teenager, so I had no say in this referendum. But recently I have discovered that I am bisexual. I didn’t tell anyone, for how could I expect them to treat me equally if the law didn’t? I didn’t want to acknowledge that I might never get married to someone I love. Today, however, when I woke up and heard the news, I started crying. I have already come out to a few of my close friends this morning, knowing that today I am living in a more equal Ireland than the one I went to sleep in yesterday. To everyone out there who voted yes: thank you for giving me a future where I can be happy. Thank you for changing my life forever. Not bad for just putting an X in a box, right?

An interesting legal point from Irish Times journalist Ruadhán Mac Cormaic.

Ireland is still creating headlines today, and is being carried as the top news on both The Guardian and Buzzfeed UK’s websites.

PastedImage-85960

PastedImage-6475

Do you know anyone? Send them our way.

One of the closest ‘Yes’ votes from early tallies is Kerry South.

North Kerry/West Limerick with all Tralee boxes opened is running at a wider martin of 57% Yes.

We’re pretty sure this isn’t the Equality Minister’s official statement…

Amid the excitement about the marriage referendum, you may have forgotten that there’s a by-election count happening in Carlow-Kilkenny today and the early indications are good for Fianna Fáil, which desperately needs a win after six losses in a row. Here’s the latest from Hugh O’Connell

PastedImage-41932

A lovely #hometovote story from a reader:

Rory Draper, pictured here, only landed at Dublin Airport at 9pm yesterday after his flight was delayed.

I literally ran to the passport desk in my Team Panti t-shirt which the attendant read and said, ‘Fair enough’, while the other attendant said, ‘If you’re going to vote you better run and good luck’. I sprinted to arrivals where I met my dad. He shouted, ‘The eagle has landed’ and we dashed to my mum and sister waiting in the car.

Mam drove me straight to the door of the polling office.

He made it – just in time.

America has woken up and the New York Times is on the ball with an early story about the early indications that the referendum will pass.

PastedImage-5758

These numbers are incredible.

Media monitoring company Olytico tracks 250,000 publications and in the past two days, more than 4,500 articles have been posted about the same-sex marriage vote.

Wow.

PastedImage-35922

The Iona Institute has issued a statement to congratulate the Yes side on winning “such a handsome victory in the marriage referendum.

“They fought a very professional campaign that in truth began long before the official campaign started,” the group said.

For our part, The Iona Institute is proud to have helped represent the many hundreds of thousands of Irish people who would otherwise have had no voice in this referendum because all of the political parties backed a Yes vote.

The Iona Institute would like to thank the thousands of volunteers up and down the country who worked day and night to try and secure a No vote.

David Quinn of the Iona Institute also had some words.

“We believe a fought a good campaign,” he said. “It was always going to be an uphill battle. However, we helped to provide a voice to the hundreds of thousands of Irish people who did vote No. The fact that no political party supported them must be a concern from a democratic point of view.

“Going forward, we will continue to affirm the importance of the biological ties and of motherhood and fatherhood. We hope the Government will address the concerns voters on the No side have about the implications for freedom of religion and freedom of conscience.”

The entire country is interested in Donegal’s voting patterns today. They are usually seen as both contrarian and conservative so there is some surprise at the early Yes tallies.

However, local reporter Barry Whyte has noted there are some close calls.

Read more about Donegal here:

As the realisation sets in that this referendum will pass, emotions are running high among Yes campaigners.

Here, the director of communications for the Yes campaign Andrew Hyland hugs Linda Cullen at the RDS.

An emotional Andrew Hyland Director of C Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Visit CNN’s homepage today and this is what you’ll see.

PastedImage-39760

The US news channel also sent a news alert to its home audience this morning, just before 7am (local time).

Our favourite wizard creator, JK Rowling, is among the first celebrity to tweet about the prospect of a Yes declaration.

We’ll need to update this map shortly…

Here’s where gay people can get married across the world

PastedImage-60247

Dublin North West is the first constituency with an official result.

Yes: 70.36%

No: 29.64%

Speaking on RTÉ radio about the imminent Yes victory, Breda O’Brien says she had a “very rough year” and was fearful of getting involved in the No campaign.

Back to the tallies in rural Ireland… In North Kerry/West Limerick, five areas have voted No by small margins.

There is still an overall Yes vote of 56.6% to 43.4% No. Listowel and Ballybunion Yes votes were almost two to one.

A handy rundown of Dublin tallies from MEP Brian Hayes. Lowest Yes vote is in Dublin North Central at 68%

We’ve made the homepage of Australia’s national broadcaster too.

PastedImage-74382

More fascinating insights from Clare journalist Gordon Deegan.

Fintan O’Toole has written a number of pieces on the referendum in recent weeks.

With just one official result in, there is still a lot of reporting to do today. We’ll be starting a fresh liveblog with those results, your reaction, analysis from our political editor Hugh O’Connell in Dublin Castle, news from the Carlow/Kilkenny by-election and craic from the George with Vincent Browne, Bosco and our news editor Sinéad O’Carroll.

Ahead of that flurry of fun, we’re going to sign off this morning’s liveblog with this image of sunny Dublin today.

Gay marriage referendum PA WIRE PA WIRE

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 173 comments
173 Comments
    Mute Albert McEinstein
    Favourite Albert McEinstein
    May 23rd 2015, 8:34 AM

Shout out to our gay brothers and sisters out there (that don’t want to get married) who are about to have the “we can’t get married, it’s the law” excuse whipped off the table. Pressure is building. ;)

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    May 23rd 2015, 12:04 PM

“You’ll be next”

Mute TotalScrotal
    Favourite TotalScrotal
    May 23rd 2015, 1:11 PM

Feel sorry for all the people who thought referendum articles would dissappear after today. The journal will be writing whole articles about some celebrity tweeting about Ireland. The what do the neighbours think of us crowd will be dining out on this for months. Shame we can’t ditch this pathetic aspect of our national character along with the homophobia

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 23rd 2015, 1:52 PM

THEM AND US….the door is now open to honesty and the next step is to remove further wrong doing in this country .. government ..gardai ..courts and mob rule …………………….

Mute Mark McGuire
    Favourite Mark McGuire
    May 23rd 2015, 8:20 AM

Yay for gay!!!

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    May 23rd 2015, 8:36 AM

And the Eurovision is on tonight as well!!

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey

Fair play to everyone who turned out to vote whichever way they voted……….

Mute nocturnal paramedic
    Favourite nocturnal paramedic
    May 23rd 2015, 8:38 AM

Yes for equality for all!!!

Mute James O'Connor
    Favourite James O'Connor
    May 23rd 2015, 9:28 AM

Yes for wide scale voter fraud!

(4) For the purposes of this section—

(a) a person shall be deemed not to have given up ordinary residence if he intends to resume residence within eighteen months after giving it up,

(b) a written statement by a person that he intends to resume residence within eighteen months after giving it up shall, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, be conclusive evidence of that fact.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1963/en/act/pub/0019/sec0005.html

Anyone who has been away from the state for longer than 18 months, or whom plans to be, and who voted yesterday committed electoral fraud. Which is an offence. The media should not be cheerleading fraud and corruption. Next week they will be back moaning about the level of fraud and corruption in Irish politics. Completely ignorant in their astounding hypocrisy.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:50 AM

James O’Connor , irrelevant comment from yiu in view of the very decisive margin of victory. A legal challenge would be an excessive in futility.

The Yes side has won. It’s time for yiu to start getting ready to adjust to the democratic result.

Mute James O'Connor
    Favourite James O'Connor
    May 23rd 2015, 9:53 AM

I don’t care about the result. I care about the electoral fraud that took place, that was celebrated by the media, and the integrity of the electoral system.

Do you support fraud and corruption in Irish politics? I don’t.

Mute nocturnal paramedic
    Favourite nocturnal paramedic
    May 23rd 2015, 10:02 AM

What’s wrong with equality?? don’t tell me it’s all about the kids because that’s a load of bull. I’ve seen kids in appalling conditions being brought up in “normal” families.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 23rd 2015, 12:38 PM

James, put those grapes back in the fridge, they are getting very sour!

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 23rd 2015, 1:00 PM

James if you have proof of fraud off you pop to the Gardai.

Guess some people will cling to anything to justify their homophobia..

Good day for Ireland ..

I love it when a plan comes together !!!!!!!

Mute Ann Casey
    Favourite Ann Casey
    May 23rd 2015, 8:09 PM

Next campaign will have to be the introduction of a system where our emigrants can vote in our embassies around the world! Sore loser or what!

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 23rd 2015, 9:03 AM

The Iona brigade are out in force with multiple fake accounts this am, maybe they now realise that this was not just an approval of gay marriage but a rejection of their closed minded bigotry and religious dogma

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:24 AM

Apart from them getting together to try a legal challenge to over turn a democratic result, they have little role or function left.

The charitable status of Lolek Limited, the Iona Institute, needs to be reviewed.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 23rd 2015, 9:34 AM

Anthony, with the record turn out and the current tallies, I don’t think they would be stupid enough to attempt it! The will refocus on keeping the 8th amendment in place

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:46 AM

Wayne, just saw the most recent tallies. It looks like over 60% yes. A legal challenge would be a exercise in total futility. You are right.

Next General Election will see at least two party manifestos offering a Repeal the Eight Amendment if they get into power.

Good call on your part. Champagne is nicely chilled.

Great day. Beautiful day.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    May 23rd 2015, 9:54 AM

This is going to be a wonderful day.

Mute Philip Meaney
    Favourite Philip Meaney
    May 23rd 2015, 8:43 AM

Yeah Tony Cox I see your point I mean if there is no woman in the house who is gonna do the cooking,cleaning and make the beds it would be awful for the lads they’ll be starving

Mute ispycoffee
    Favourite ispycoffee
    May 23rd 2015, 9:42 AM

Philip, I’m fairly sure you’re joking, but I actually think you’ve hit the nail on the head, here.

(Straight) Men cannot comprehend the notion of two (gay) men in a relationship because they don’t know how a relationship could possibly work without a woman to do all the work (mostly child-raising, to be fair).

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    May 23rd 2015, 9:52 AM

@Philip – Ah now Phil, they’ll whip down to the chipper and come home to watch Brokeback Mountain with their box of tissues.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    May 23rd 2015, 11:47 AM

A couple of kids will sort that loaded situation real quick

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:33 AM

I thinks it’s in the bag .Great sense of humour shown by the Yes voters all through the campaign it really captured the best of our country .and to the No voters come here you crazy bast@rds we can’t stay mad at you.New Ireland for everyone.

Mute JackMc
    Favourite JackMc
    May 23rd 2015, 8:40 AM

Delighted it is over. Most divisive and undemocratic campaign I have ever experienced. Whilst I was not a no supporter, the abuse they were subjected to for having an opinion which they were entitled to was unbelievable.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    May 23rd 2015, 8:44 AM

“.and to the No voters come here you crazy bast@rds we can’t stay mad at you.”
    Most gracious of you James, I shall sleep easy tonight.

Mute Simon Prunty
    Favourite Simon Prunty
    May 23rd 2015, 8:46 AM

Yeah they’re perfectly entitled to be unchallenged bigots. Very true

Mute Maria Beaton
    Favourite Maria Beaton
    May 23rd 2015, 8:49 AM

I’m not getting into a debate today but the no campaign consistently disregarded the facts of what this referendum was about.

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:50 AM

Cheers John it was meant in good spirits.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 23rd 2015, 8:57 AM

Everyone knows the no campaign were allowed to lie “for balance”.

Mute JackMc
    Favourite JackMc
    May 23rd 2015, 9:04 AM

Great sense of humour part I wouldn’t agree with James but if there is a yes win there will be more happy than unhappy people in Ireland which can only be a good thing.

Mute Billy Chenowith
    Favourite Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:25 AM

No voters will be happy again by Monday because it will make absolutely no difference to their lives

Mute MrsFarrell
    Favourite MrsFarrell
    May 23rd 2015, 8:31 AM

For all the citizens of Ireland, I really hope the yes vote is a clear winner, we need to show that we treat everyone as equal, that we are a forward thinking country, how could anyone not be moved by the #hometovote phenomenon that occurred yesterday … I was never so proud of the people of Ireland

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    May 23rd 2015, 8:24 AM

Cain and Abel not Jane and Abel

Mute ConorBeta
    Favourite ConorBeta
    May 23rd 2015, 8:39 AM

I felt so proud yesterday. More proud than I’ve felt at any gay pride march. I think Ireland felt it too. Thanks to my family for sharing it and thanks Ireland for voting. Tá for Grá.

Mute Gerard J. Hannan
    Favourite Gerard J. Hannan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:42 AM

I am living in China these days and have been waiting all night now so its twice as long for me…..Jasus would ye ever hurry it up!

Mute Philip Meaney
    Favourite Philip Meaney
    May 23rd 2015, 8:59 AM

Well I for one welcome our LGBT overlords

Mute Better Call Callely
    Favourite Better Call Callely
    May 23rd 2015, 8:53 AM

I’m glad its all over now and I believe that Ireland has made (or will make) the right choice.

In the weeks leading up to this vote I’ve been inundated with posts, articles, videos, hashtags etc. of why people should vote yes to marriage equality. Changing their profile pictures to have “Yes to Equality”. Some liberal fascism, but I’ll move on from that. I saw many people posting that they’ve voted, urging others to get out and vote. Some people that I never knew voted or even had the vote. And it’s absolutely fantastic that people, especially younger, are getting out in voting. But I know that many of these will never take an interest in anything political again.

Maybe I’m frustrated that I can’t vote from abroad and that there should’ve been a referendum yesterday on extending the franchise to non-resident citizens. I suppose what I’m saying is that democracy isn’t about getting “likes” on facebook or retweets. Its about the people having a say in how their country is run and the society in which they live in.

A vote is for life, not just May 22nd. Go out and use it whenever you’re given the chance. Sometimes we don’t realise how lucky we really are.

Mute Niall Carter
    Favourite Niall Carter
    May 23rd 2015, 8:30 AM

Yes all the way. It’s history in the making. Fingers crossed! (No emoji for fingers crossed). 1st world problems

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    May 23rd 2015, 10:30 AM

The state is showing itself to be more Christian than the Church. Well done Ireland.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly

People saying the no campaign should have been free to spread their message without being challenged; the opinion is invalid, that’s why nobody listened to them. Should never have been a vote on it and should never have been a no campaign but obviously there has to be to amend the constitution. Today’s world does not accept inequality in out society, and the fact that some people actually wanted to vote to continue this sickens me.

Mute twooggy
    Favourite twooggy
    May 23rd 2015, 8:20 AM

God created Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve!

Mute Daire Friel
    Favourite Daire Friel

Jesus had two dads and he was fine

Mute Niall Carter
    Favourite Niall Carter
    May 23rd 2015, 8:31 AM

Be sure to say a prayer at Mass this Sunday

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark McGuire
    Favourite Mark McGuire
    May 23rd 2015, 8:33 AM

What the f**k has a fictional character got to do with this referendum.

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    May 23rd 2015, 8:34 AM

If this passes can us gays start using the word homophobic again as that’s what a lot of no voters were?

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    May 23rd 2015, 8:37 AM

@dublinguy i’d suggest the victim card has been removed from the pack.

Mute Derek Moran
    Favourite Derek Moran
    May 23rd 2015, 9:04 AM

I thought he created everyone?

Mute Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:20 AM

God doesn’t exist

Mute Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:21 AM

Dublinguy. I’ve been using the word got close on 25 years and nobody has or will stop me because it’s offensive to homophobes

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:30 AM

Billy, it’s a very good word. It’s actually a very polite term for appalling people. They sure don’t like it!

Mute Sarah Butler
    Favourite Sarah Butler
    May 23rd 2015, 9:39 AM

& it was Kane & Abel, not Jane & Abel. Just saying!

Mute Billy Chenowith

I’ve never heard a homophobe be offended by the word until Iona etc deemed it “offensive” recently. It’s so bizarre.

Mute Tom O'Connor
    Favourite Tom O'Connor

“god” also created a talking snake, what’s your point?!

Mute Jason O Shea
    Favourite Jason O Shea
    May 23rd 2015, 9:43 AM

And Mary wasnt a virgin. She was the town bike in Nazereth. And when she got pregnant she made up this bullshit story about an angel visiting and Joseph the gullible f*cker fell for it. And still 2000 years later there are still people who believe the little minx.

Mute Sara McSweeney
    Favourite Sara McSweeney
    May 23rd 2015, 9:57 AM

@ Sarah, Kane and Abel is the title of a Jeffery Archer novel. I think you’re referring to Cain and Abel. Easy to get the two sets of fictional characters mixed up maybe.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 23rd 2015, 10:01 AM

That’s hilarious, and probably true.

Mute Bruce Robinson
    Favourite Bruce Robinson
    May 23rd 2015, 4:26 PM

Since God decided to create two people who could procreate, and then let nature takes its course to build up the human race, it makes sense that God would create a male and female, both either heterosexual or bisexual.

But now that the human race is so numerous that it is endangering our future on the planet only about 90% are heterosexual, and that, IMHO, is just fine.

Mute john O'Sullivan
    Favourite john O'Sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:29 AM

Look what happened with Adam and Eve with the apple.
    Go on give Adam and Steve their chance to have equal rights to happiness and equality. you never know you might like it.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    May 23rd 2015, 8:48 AM

John, if it were left to Adam and Steve, the whole thing would have ended pretty sharply.

Mute ispycoffee
    Favourite ispycoffee

While that’s a fair point, in and of itself, it’s a good thing then that the humanity wasn’t birthed in a garden by a single couple. Because that would have ended pretty quickly, too.

Especially as they only had two children and they were both men. (Correct me if I’m wrong. Maybe they married their sisters. Because that’s better than being gay, obviously.)

Mute Nicola Mc Cormack
    Favourite Nicola Mc Cormack
    May 23rd 2015, 8:51 AM

Ahh… Start counting already. Can’t take this anymore

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 23rd 2015, 8:26 AM

Im excited

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey
    May 23rd 2015, 8:25 AM

With the above 60% turnout, we already know the result – yes camp have it in the bag. % Turnout was always going to be the decider. Nothing to see here folks.

Mute twooggy
    Favourite twooggy

God created Adam and Eve,not Adam and Steve!

Mute Billy Chenowith

In a fictional cobbled together book.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox

Question: Your 11 year old son makes friends with a lad in school who just happens to have 2 dads. Your son now gets invited to a sleep over at this boys home. What do you do?
    I know what I’d do. No way in hell I’m letting my lad go anywhere near the place.

Mute Ronan Kennedy
    Favourite Ronan Kennedy

Why?

Mute MrsFarrell
    Favourite MrsFarrell

You obviously don’t know the difference between gay men and pedophiles … Which makes you ill informed and ignorant

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:46 AM

At worst he comes back open opinion to other peoples happiness in an equal family unit ….Get over yourself.?.he’ll probably start wearing brogues too.

Mute Coral
    Favourite Coral
    May 23rd 2015, 8:53 AM

Question: Your 11 year old daughter makes friends with a girl in school who just so happens to have a single parent – a heterosexual dad. Your daughter now gets invited to sleep over at this girls home. What do you do?Would you let her sleep over then?

Why is this situation any different than that of a lad with two dads or a girl with two mums?

Mute Mick McDonagh
    Favourite Mick McDonagh
    May 23rd 2015, 8:56 AM

You are warped.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 23rd 2015, 9:02 AM

3 men in a line, a hetro, a homo & a pedo, which one is the pedo?

Mute Simon Prunty
    Favourite Simon Prunty
    May 23rd 2015, 9:02 AM

I doubt they’d want their son sleeping over at the house of a filthy bigot. So that about makes you even.

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    May 23rd 2015, 9:07 AM

Coral. I wouldn’t let her sleep over unless the guy was a good mate of mine and even then I’d still hesitate. That’s called not putting your children in harms way.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    May 23rd 2015, 9:08 AM

This has nothing to do with pedophilia. I wouldn’t be worried that my son gets abused but I don’t want him to see 2 grown men in tight pink shorts and bulging packages acting like theres no gravity around them and prancing around like faries.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 23rd 2015, 9:17 AM

And what if it was two women?

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 9:22 AM

Sweet.

Mute Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:23 AM

For homophobes only icky bum sex is nasty but two women is pornography

Mute ispycoffee
    Favourite ispycoffee
    May 23rd 2015, 9:26 AM

Opinion /= Reality.

Just in case you were wondering.

Though if you’re thinking about tight pink shorts and bulging packages, maybe you’d enjoy the sleepover?

Mute Conor Tobin
    Favourite Conor Tobin

The phobia is strong in this one! Don’t worry though, it’s not your fault. It was bred into you.

It’s been bred into all of us by a warped church for generations. This is about it not being bred into the next generation. The most refreshing thing about this is the church’s path into irrelevance and obscurity. This is one more nail in it’s coffin.
    I’m guessing your son will be embarrassed by your antediluvian opinion, sure don’t we all cringe at our Dad’s outdated opinions.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious

Billy, give your mammy her phone back

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox

For some very strange reason, lesbians don’t go out of their way to act differently. They act like women and dress in a way that doesn’t make them look ridiculous. Lets face it, you never see a lesbian scratching her imaginary nuts! Gay men look, dress, act and sound stupid and they go out of their way to do it.

Mute Therése Martin Farrell
    Favourite Therése Martin Farrell

You are aware you are coming across like a complete and other idiot ? How many gay men who are parents do you know that prance around in pink tights ??? Gay men and drag queens are not the same thing ….. Cop on

Mute Laura Conlon
    Favourite Laura Conlon
    May 23rd 2015, 9:36 AM

I could only ever hope that every gay man had the notion of “tight pink shorts and bulging packages acting like theres no gravity around them and prancing around like faries.” What a colorful and happy place it would be!

There’s murderers, rapists and pedophiles out there, would you ever cop on.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    May 23rd 2015, 9:40 AM

Personaly i wouldnt allow my eleven year old stay over anywhere unless with family.

Mute Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:41 AM

I don’t have my mammys phone. What are you on about?

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan

Wow Tony, you’ve really thought about this in graphic detail “bulging packages”

Mute Billy Chenowith

Tony, gay men dress differently? Christ, what a load of bollox. I’ll be going to a Eurovision party dressed probably in jeans runners and possibly even a plain tshirt. Don’t be silly and believe in stupid sterotypes.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    May 23rd 2015, 9:43 AM

He does have a small point on that last one.really.

Mute Jason O Shea
    Favourite Jason O Shea
    May 23rd 2015, 11:17 AM

Do you think he is going to catch the gay off them? Do you think that gay men are paedophiles ? Hopefully with the yes vote your type can climb back into dark ages and not interfere with modern society anymore.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    May 23rd 2015, 12:52 PM

Statistically, 10% of the population is gay. That means for every 10 people you see, one is likely to be gay. Let’s say half of that 10% are males. Why, then, don’t we see more packages and tutus?

Mute Billy Chenowith
    May 23rd 2015, 9:44 AM

Rathnew, Wicklow overwhelmingly a yes. So proud of Wicklow right now

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:57 AM

Billy, any chance of a 62% overall yes. I thought 58% yes late yesterday but someone else said he thinks it will be closer to 62%.

What a victory 62% would be!

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    May 23rd 2015, 9:10 AM

Does this mean that any 2 blokes or girls can get married. Do they have to be gay? You could have 2 old friends who live together who want to take care of each other and protect their assets. I’ve seen older men and woman doing this with zero sexual or love relationship…..its a nice thing

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 23rd 2015, 9:12 AM

Who are they protecting their assets from?

Mute ispycoffee
    Favourite ispycoffee

Scrounger relatives. Sad but true.

Mute John Tighe
    Favourite John Tighe
    May 23rd 2015, 8:39 AM

Some ‘people’ are never happy with what they have!! Marriage was made for man & woman. Anything else is something different, no matter what they say. And as for the age thing. What can I say!! What a waist of money this is.

Mute Billy Chenowith

“people”?

Mute Peter Leicester
    Favourite Peter Leicester
    May 23rd 2015, 3:14 PM

Waste NOT waist John Tighe! Learn to spell and then get rid of your bigotry.

Mute Edel O'Reilly
    Favourite Edel O'Reilly
    May 23rd 2015, 8:55 AM

I’m so nervous

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 10:03 AM

You can relax now. Yes will win and by a comfortable margin.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 23rd 2015, 9:33 AM

I am Very very happy with likely outcome. I Voted yes, feeling happy and secure, following some excellent debate here. I realise this morning that I had felt that I was carrying the fears and concerns of my late parents because of their distress and fear and lack of understanding, before they died too young, about my sisters sexuality. The debate,particularly when the children aspects were eventually fully debated,would have helped them over the line, and I suspect many like them. This morning I feel that a great burden which I was carrying on their behalf has lifted, and that I can forget all of that, and celebrate for my sister and for this country’s bright and brave future. Well done to all on both sides of this campaign. And to the no side, I understood many of your arguments, and there may be an x case in the future but hey, the world will not fall in. Love and let love. Bye all. Out now for a walk in the sun and to listen to the reports. x.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

Katy, always the best Yes for No. Lots of references to future X cases and future problems of an undefined nature.

In fairness, you managed from a Yes position to sow enough seeds of doubt to push a few undecideds in the direction of No.

Ailbhe Nolan gave you a special mention earlier.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:17 AM

Anthony all I have done is express my views and debate. I listened and spoke and reached my own decision. I am not a campaigner. I am a campaignee .I voted yes and am delighted.
    Please accept that issues arising within families can be complex. Also accept that yes indeed there are aspects of this amendment in terms of legislative impact, which were not thought through properly. But that will be dealt with, no doubt thorough an x case scenario.
    This result will help a great number of elderly parents who struggled with concern and fear about their gay sones and daughters, and who very often received a total shock because the person did not come out early, and revealed a whole secret life.
    This result will mean that young adults can come out early, that parents will have longer to adapt, that they will see others and realise that this is all ok, and that in fact there will be less adaptation because it won’t be seen as abnormal.
    I speak from experience. That’s all. And as I said, today a cloud has lifted for me.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:21 AM

And Anthony yes it did take me some time to sort out my views. By listening and reasoning. Anyone who reads my posts from the beginning will see that.
    On balance despite the flaws in the proposed amendment, I voted with the spirit of this referendum , which is to say that gay people are equal and should be allowed to have a married relationship like anyone else.
    And you never know,my views on gay men parenting might change. There won’t be many and those that there will be will, I’m sure, better than lost of existing single and heterosexual parents.
    Are we ok now Anthony?

Mute Amy Keating
    Favourite Amy Keating
    May 23rd 2015, 10:00 AM

I really feel that the future of our society hangs in the balance. If it’s a “No”, I will not see Ireland in the same way. We have the chance to literally change the world; the world is waiting to see what we think about love, the family, acceptance, inclusivity.
    I believe that there is a higher power out there and that higher power believes in all of these things, regardless of gender and sexual orientation. The kids I teach and children all over the world deserve the right to feel accepted and happy regarding their individuality and they will look to society to reinforce these positive ideals. I hope it’s a “Yes”. We all deserve to live in a society that recognises difference, accepts it and respects it.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:35 AM

Homophobia will still continue to thrive for some time after the passing of the Referendum on same sex marriage but it will become less and less socially tolerable.

There will be much weeping and gnashing of teeth by homophobes later today.

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:23 AM

Three are still misogynists too and always will be. Don’t let it get to you. I don’t.

Mute Ray Dempsey
    Favourite Ray Dempsey
    May 23rd 2015, 8:23 AM

God.. Pmsl

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 23rd 2015, 8:51 AM

Children are going to suffer most from this result today. Wait and see!

May 23rd 2015, 8:57 AM

Gay children were already suffering ( inequality ) or do they not matter in your little bubble ???

Mute Simon Prunty
    Favourite Simon Prunty
    May 23rd 2015, 9:05 AM

People like you said the same thing when homosexuality was decriminalised back in 93. You sounded like nutters then and you sound like nutters now.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 23rd 2015, 9:14 AM

How so Therese? I don’t understand, I thought all children are treated equally in our society?

Did you forget what we voted on only yesterday ?? Marriage equality ?? Gay children grow up and want to marry and up until now couldn’t …. You call that equality ???

Mute Sarah Butler
    Favourite Sarah Butler

Yeah, if you’re living under a rock.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 23rd 2015, 9:44 AM

For me a child who doesn’t know who there biological father or mother is,is way way down the suffering league.

Mute john O'Sullivan
    Favourite john O'Sullivan
    May 23rd 2015, 8:37 AM

Look what happened with Adam and Eve with the apple.
    Go ahead give Adam and Steve their chance to equality and human rights and happiness.
    You never know you might find the world has not fallen off its axis and you might find you like it.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 10:10 AM

Is it true that Saint Breda of Iona is leading a prayer group saying the sorrowful decades of the Rosary?

Mute Thomas Morris
    Favourite Thomas Morris
    May 23rd 2015, 10:32 AM

First time i have ever voted. First time i thought it ever mattered.

Mute Chris O'Cinnsealach
    Favourite Chris O'Cinnsealach
    May 23rd 2015, 10:13 AM

By tonight the world will know just how far we’ve come from the Ireland of the 1980s. If there was ever a time for us as a nation to feel proud this would be it!

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:16 AM

So.
    The nation should be proud.
    Why?
    Has austerity economics come to an end?
    Is the health system fixed?
    Have the homeless been housed?
    The hungry fed?
    The migrants found terra firma?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 23rd 2015, 12:49 PM

I’d say you’re fun to be around Tommy

Mute Robbie
    Favourite Robbie
    May 23rd 2015, 11:49 AM

As a young teenager growing up in Ireland, I’d like to thank everyone who voted yes for me and for my future. I’ve never felt so proud in myself, in who I am, and in my country. Thank you, what a great day.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 10:08 AM

I see that some of the more extreme and strident No posters have already departed. That’s good to see.

Mute Nicholas J Campbell
    Favourite Nicholas J Campbell
    May 23rd 2015, 10:49 AM

Come on Yes vote. Proud to be part of the solution to negative, homophobic, uneducated, short sighted Ireland. Equality is the only way forward. And that’s a damn good reason to be proud of my fellow Irish citizens. People flying home to vote shows passion for change and a desire to show this world what being Irish means. Every single yes vote was history in the making. We might still have problems persisting in this country, but as of today I feel we can fix anything. Be proud. Be equal. Be Irish. The people have spoken. And as for the No voters, you have your reasons (no matter how selfish or homophobic they may be) and we have ours. Pounder over who’s reasonings really speak the loudest. Get used to it. That shallow voice your hearing is your support. Listen to the echoes of ours.

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing
    May 23rd 2015, 9:03 AM

If to referendum is won i’m not sure i’m ready to be gay but l suppose i’ll have to get use to it

Mute Billy Chenowith

According to many it’s a choice so give it a go. You might even like it

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:41 AM

The troller with the stroller, right wing.

Mute Philip Meaney
    Favourite Philip Meaney
    May 23rd 2015, 9:51 AM

Tommy Numan what is this pint of plan you speak of ? Is it a special bigot juice to fuel your intolerance

Mute Rob Gleeson
    Favourite Rob Gleeson
    May 23rd 2015, 10:29 AM

I’d love to know what Pub Culture is?! I’m guessing it’s a load of men, sitting in the dark, talking about how much they hate women

Mute Bill Rooney
    Favourite Bill Rooney

But – if its Yes – what will the Catholic Church do?

Will they refuse to marry their same-sex members?

Mute Maria Beaton
    Favourite Maria Beaton

Probably, but it’s not about religious marriage. It’s about civil marriage.

Mute Oliver Moran
    Favourite Oliver Moran

Yes. They don’t have to marry anyone, if they don’t want.

The state will marry you in a registry office or another suitable location. The Humanist Association of Ireland will also marry you at a venue of your choice.

Unfortunately the Humanist Association and was not recognised for this puroose when I got married (2010). They have been recognised since. However, the local registrar was very amenable and kindly and a very experienced solemniser.

May 23rd 2015, 8:54 AM

It’s nothing to do with the church, it’s about civil marriage

Mute Bill Rooney
    Favourite Bill Rooney
    May 23rd 2015, 9:12 AM

Most civil marriages take place in Catholic churches…

Mute Katy
    Favourite Katy

Bill the church is entitled to offer the sacrament of marriage to their members. As it happens they also do the civil bit, when the register is signed after the church piece. Don’t see why this will not change unless there is some silly challenge to their only doing straight weddings. Nobody has to get married in a church. Plenty of other venues we recognised officially for weddings.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

It would be preferable to divide civil marriage from religious marriage. This is what happens in most secular republics.

Mute Sheila Murphy
    Favourite Sheila Murphy
    May 23rd 2015, 12:31 PM

Christ Anthony why would you want to introduce a new “difference”? We’ve just managed to get rid of one.. marriage is marriage is marriage…… Or as the constitution so romantically puts it “‘Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex.’”

Delighted with the result!

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 23rd 2015, 10:30 AM

We should be proud of today, sure the country has other social issues but so does every country… Let’s enjoy this victory… We will be the first country in the world to make this constitutional change!! Wohoo!!

Mute Philip Meaney
    Favourite Philip Meaney

@TonyCox I think you have been watching too much gay porn it’s not like that in reality

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    May 23rd 2015, 10:46 AM

A NO result would have been awful.

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    May 23rd 2015, 12:15 PM

The Iona Institute must be baffled by the fact that their sky fairy is shining the sun over Ireland on this glorious day :)

Mute richard kenny
    Favourite richard kenny

Adam and Eve??

Mute Sean J. Troy
    Favourite Sean J. Troy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:42 AM

We shouldn’t conduct debates in an emotive manner? Can somebody time stamp that and hang onto it for when he inevitably makes an emotive argument against repealing the 8th?

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan

Went to the pub last night.
    Full of annoying gays drinking Égalités and Pomegranate Martinis.
    Not a pint of plan in sight.
    Is this the end of the pub culture?

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 23rd 2015, 9:53 AM

Try the blue oyster next time.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:55 AM

Adjust yourself to defeat.

It will be back under the rocks for quite a few of your type.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    May 23rd 2015, 10:53 AM

@Tommy: At least they don’t take up all the seating. Every group of four shares an upturned stool.

Mute heelqueen
    Favourite heelqueen
    May 23rd 2015, 12:17 PM

I’ve never felt so many emotions today. What an overwhelming, fantastic, nerve wracking, beautiful day. It looks like we’ve won this with a huge % I’m so happy and so proud of my country. Today me and every other gay person in Ireland are equal.words can’t describe this day

Mute Aiden Galvin
    Favourite Aiden Galvin
    May 23rd 2015, 12:32 PM

Well done Ireland .from all of your own in Sydney ..proud day to be irish…..

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    May 23rd 2015, 1:01 PM

It will be a shame if people who claim to be preaching equality and acceptance use this victory just to marginalise another group, the religious, large proportions of whom supported their campaign.

Can’t we all just get along?

Mute John Tighe
    Favourite John Tighe
    May 23rd 2015, 10:45 AM

They can call it whatever they want but we all know it’s not are ever will be a real Marriage!!! Marriage will allways be a man and a woman.. So no Victory as it doesn’t count. So get your little red thumbs out, won’t change anything.

Mute ispycoffee
    Favourite ispycoffee
    May 23rd 2015, 10:18 PM

Neither will your opinion, now. Thankfully.

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    May 23rd 2015, 12:39 PM

Just when I thought there was no more stag weekends to go on,BOOM! Equality!!!

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:38 AM

Well done.
    Another victory for the American dollar.

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing
    May 23rd 2015, 11:50 AM

Well done to the yes campaign, back to feckin water now

Mute elziapoppo
    Favourite elziapoppo
    May 23rd 2015, 1:02 PM

Great to see Ireland stand up and come together for an issue as important as this

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 23rd 2015, 9:48 AM

Let the hubris begin.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 23rd 2015, 9:59 AM

Let pride in victory commence, a justifiable pride over the intentional misinformation of the No side.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 23rd 2015, 10:25 AM

Here’s to victory, hard fought and well earned.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    May 23rd 2015, 1:34 PM

Am delighted. We truly have come a long way. Now hopefully this will result in some wedding invites… There’ll be a great atmosphere in town tonight.

Mute Aisling Agonistes
    Favourite Aisling Agonistes
    May 23rd 2015, 1:32 PM

Why on earth should the nation care about Breda O’ Brien’s emotional well-being?

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    May 23rd 2015, 12:17 PM

Any news on the Carlow/Kilkenny by election Journal scribes?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    May 23rd 2015, 1:00 PM
    Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    May 23rd 2015, 1:39 PM

Cheers Sinead.

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    May 23rd 2015, 1:19 PM

A vote for equality in the marriage referendum ,a vote for inequality in the presidential referendum ,hipocrisy at its best

Mute GameOverMan
    Favourite GameOverMan
    May 23rd 2015, 11:49 AM

Congratulations Ireland
    https://youtu.be/V1bFr2SWP1I

Mute Peter Leicester
    Favourite Peter Leicester
    May 23rd 2015, 3:09 PM

Well done Ireland, an historic day. Hope the church takes note!