You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Would you vote for a Right2Water party? This is what their policies would be

Would you vote for them?

TWO WEEKS FROM today, the Right2Water group is holding the first of a series of conferences to politicise the movement.

Ahead of the conference, Right2Water have put together an policy document to lay out their position on a range of issues.

The group says the document is “not exhaustive and should be expanded upon”.

They are seeking input from the public ahead of a deadline set for Tuesday 2 June.

PastedImage-86865 Water protest march in Dublin last month. Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

What does the document say?

Water

The group document says Irish Water should be abolished within 100 days of a government taking office.

Instead, they want “a single national water and sanitation board” that is protected by the constitution. As such, their platform includes a referendum to enshrine in the constitution that the provision of water is the responsibility of government.

Right2Water also want investment of between €6 billion and €7 billion in the water infrastructure. This should be funded through “a progressive taxation model”, details of which they say will be published on the day of the conference on 13 June.

PastedImage-85611 Brenda Ogle (L) of Right2Water says the group will endorse people running for election.

Jobs

Right2Water say they would introduce a Decent Work Act.

This would seek to strengthen workers’ contracts and “eliminate precarious employment”. It would also seek to “provide under-employed workers with the right to seek additional hours in their workplace when they become available”.

Right2Water says that a  medium-term goal should be to make the living wage the statutory floor when calculating the national minimum wage. 

Housing

The document argues that rent control should be introduced in the short-term.

In the longer-term, Right2Water is arguing for the provision of, “income-related rental accommodation to low and average income earners.”

They also want a national home building project and a programme to allow people own their own homes through “limited equity ownership”.

Other issues

Right2Water also want any future government to built alliances with other anti-austerity parties in Europe to promote “responsible debt reduction strategies for people across Europe”.

On education, the group says that education should be “truly free, without the necessity for ‘voluntary contributions’, up to at least primary degree level.

They are also seeking more funding for apprenticeships and a jobs policy that promotes “labour intensive industries”.

right2water Mandate Mandate

On political reform, Right2Water says an election every five years “provides too large a gap for real democratic representation.” They want citizens to be able to recall TDs before the end of each Dáil.

A number of submissions from the public have already been received by Right2Water and can be read alongside the policy document.

Right2Water has said that it will endorse candidates in next general election but has stopped short of saying right now that it will run candidates.

A group of anti-water-charge politicians also recently released a joint statement calling for nationwide activists to meet ahead of the conferences.

Read: AAA sends legal letter to Sinn Féin amid anti-water charge infighting in Limerick >

Read: Why aren’t the Irish protesting? A question that was being asked a few years ago. Not anymore. >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

169 Comments
    Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:13 AM

Why is there no Gerry Adams option? he’s bound to win it.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:19 AM

@Old Gabby Johnson:

I’d go for Martin Ferris.

I like the way he collects psychotic Garda murderers from prison.

I especially like it when he refuses to condemn the Garda murderers.

Garda murderers who subsequently stab their spouse 13 times.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/garda-killer-pearse-mcauley-stabbed-6915135

Mute Padraic Jihadi
    Favourite Padraic Jihadi
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:23 AM

@Old Gabby Johnson:

Because you cannot read?

“Gerry Adams said that he has set an end date in his mind for stepping down as leader.”

See 52 more replies ▾
    Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:27 AM

@Brinster:
    Which one can be the most populist.
    Remember SF were for water charges, then they were hammered in a Dublin west by-election by Paul Murphy, then SF tried to take over the anti water campaign.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:36 AM

Padraics not great on the sarcasm

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:46 AM

@ktsiwot: “Remember SF were for water charges”

Please post a singel press release, policy doc, or speech from SF where they ‘were for water charges’

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:52 AM

@For Connolly:

Here you go FC.

They voted for Water charges in Europe.

http://www.donegalnow.com/news/policy-change-shock-as-sinn-fein-meps-say-yes-to-water-charges/40949

You’re welcome

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:59 AM

@Brinster: Still posting thde spoof? tut tut.

The firt line of the article should put it in perspective

“Sinn Féin has voted in favour of water charges across the EU in a European Parliament report penned by Sinn Féin MEP, Lynn Boylan, today, according to NW MEP Mariead McGuinness (FINE GAEL)”

Here’s an independent commenting on it.

https://www.facebook.com/Lukemingflanagan/posts/871407716269879?fref=nf

In response, and led by an Irish MEP, Sinn Fein’s Lynn Boylan, the Parliament compiled its own Report, a far stronger response with most of the aims of the Right2Water campaign addressed.

Included in that Report is the following clause: ‘Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy by the application of a progressive charge that safeguards people’s right to access a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste.’ That ‘progressive charge’ in Ireland is and must remain a charge taken from general taxation, with those who earn the most paying the most. It does NOT mean the introduction of a separately applied water-charge, something I would never support.”

No brinster, stop spoofing, you’re embarrassing yourself.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:12 AM

@For Connolly: You are misquoting the text as passed by the EP where all SF MEPs voted in favour:
    It actually says:
    “Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy that respects people’s right to a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste, providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used”

How can that mean anything other than water charges based on metered readings?

Here’s the link:
    http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/getDoc.do?pubRef=-//EP//TEXT+TA+P8-TA-2015-0294+0+DOC+XML+V0//EN

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:16 AM

I love Mary Lou, she sounds like Joan Burton

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:16 AM

@Denito:

Now hang on a second Denito, to accuse FC of misquoting text, that is serious, you better be able to back that up.

Oh.

Oh, I see you can.

He deliberately omitted the part – “providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used”

And I’m the one embarrassing myself For Connolly?

Caught in a lie.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:21 AM

@Brinster: I’ll believe an independent MEP commening on the matter before I’ll believe a rival MEP of sinn feins. I’ve posted Luke Ming flanagans comment on the matter and I’m happy to let people reading the comments section to decide for themselves.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:22 AM

Yes brainster he seems most suitable

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:25 AM

Won’t Jarry appoint a successor? Like any good dictator!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:25 AM

Brinster, do you like the way the garda and politicians are protecting the murderer of Mary Boyle and Philip cairns! !!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:26 AM

@For Connolly:

Except it is not a matter of opinion. The text adopted is a matter of FACT.

Here is the ACTUAL text adopted –

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/sides/getDoc.do?pubRef=-//EP//TEXT+TA+P8-TA-2015-0294+0+DOC+XML+V0//EN

It clearly states “providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used”.

You’re confusing “opinion” with “fact” again.

You do that a lot.

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:27 AM

@Brinster: I’ve just given you a thumbs up Brinster- now there’s a first! But we actually agree on the hypocrisy of SF here. Of course, I also see them as hypocrites because they pose as left wing while behaving as Fianna Fail Nua- imposed austerity in the North, supported the bank guarantee, buy into the EU’s ‘fiscal space’ and only came out against water charges when the socialists (myself included) forced them to!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:30 AM

@Michael Bride:

I’ve a lot more respect for AAA/PBP than for the populist hypocrites and liars in SF.

They are at least consistent and have an ideology. One I disagree with but one that is genuine.

SF change their opinion with their underwear.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:31 AM

@Brinster: And AGAIN, here is an INDEPENDENT MEP, Luke Ming Flanagan, commenting on that clause and its application in Ireland:

“Included in that Report is the following clause: ‘Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy by the application of a progressive charge that safeguards people’s right to access a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste.’ That ‘progressive charge’ in Ireland is and must remain a charge taken from general taxation, with those who earn the most paying the most. It does NOT mean the introduction of a separately applied water-charge, something I would never support. ”

Now, the spin you’re chancing your arm with didn’t stick when tory boy Hayes tried it on RTE, so I really don’t know who you’re trying to fool.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:34 AM

@For Connolly:

How can a charge be “proportional to the amount of water used” without metering?

How can it be “proportional” if taken from general taxation?

Use your common sense here.

Dig up.

Mute Claire Kerrane
    Favourite Claire Kerrane
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:42 AM

Sinn Féin leaflet from September 11th 2010 well ahead of every other party
    https://irishelectionliterature.com/2010/09/11/brilliant-sinn-fein-anti-water-charges-leaflet/

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:44 AM

@Brinster: Seeing as though you’re a fan of posting regional news outlets links:

http://www.sligonewsfile.com/claims-sinn-fein-support-water-charges-hammered-by-party-mep/

‘Sinn Féin’s position is clear – we are absolutely opposed to domestic water charges’

..Boylan has slammed the comments as an attempt by Fine Gael “to distract from the fact that in the parliament today they failed to vote in favour of a report which enshrines the human right to water. In fact, they were the only Irish MEPs to vote against the report. Irish MEPs who have also consistently opposed Fine Gael/Labour’s water charges voted in favour of this report highlighting Fine Gael’s dishonesty.

Sinn Féin’s position is clear – we are absolutely opposed to domestic water charges.

The wording they mention came from another political group. I did not write it and did not vote in favour of the wording in question during the committee stage and unfortunately Fine Gael have blocked all attempts to remove the wording in the plenary.”

There ya go cupcake.

Now, pray tell, if SF support water charges, why have they blocked them in the 6 counties since 2007? Why have they signed up to right2change, which includes a pledge to abolish them?

See, you can cherrypick all of the sentences you want, actions speak louder then words.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:56 AM

@For Connolly: Sinn Féin had the opportunity to vote against the report, including the wording about charging proportional to usage, at the plenary stage, but they chose to vote in favour of it, Lynn Boylan’s attempts at spin notwithstanding.

It is cut and dried: SF MEPS voted in favour of a report that includes a recommendation to charge for water proportional to usage i.e. water metering.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:59 AM

@For Connolly:

This is absolutely laughable!

Lynn Boylan – “I did not write it and did not vote in favour of the wording in question during the committee stage”

But she and SF still voted for it at the Final Stage.

You couldn’t make this up.

Laughable.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:00 PM

@For Connolly: Here’s the voting record for the final vote: SF MEPs all voted in favour.
    http://www.votewatch.eu/en/term8-follow-up-to-the-european-citizens-initiative-right2water-motion-for-resolution-vote-envi-committee-.html

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:01 PM

@Denito: Then they would have been voting against the ENTIRE report including the right to water. Fine gael repeatedly blocked the section brinster mentioned being removed, and then used it as a stick to beat SF with

Filth politics 101.

You’re fooling nobody lads. SF are the only party on the island with a track record of blcoking water charges, are signed up to right2water, have pledged to end water charges and have voted to do so in the Dail.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:03 PM

@For Connolly

Care to comment?

On the voting record? There for all to see…….

But please, tell us again how voting FOR a bill which includes the phrase ““providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used” is somehow anti water charges.

I need a good laugh.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:07 PM

@Brinster: “But please, tell us again how voting FOR a bill ”

It wasn’t a bill, it was a report compiled by the parliament, which ncluded the clause you mentioned that FG repeatedly refused to allow be removed.

Cheers for once again showing that you’re too busy with your SF bashing to know the basics.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:22 PM

@For Connolly:

So you admit SF voted FOR the report?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:23 PM

@Brinster and gabby ye are like to broken records at this stage the anti sf drivel is unbelievable from ye when it was the two civil war partys that killed their own people.Also we all know there have being massive cover up by fianna geal in the mary boyle missing person case and other cases as well.Your partys sold our country off to the cheapest bidder and evicted people from their homes in the 21 st century how many suicide victims have came out of your austerity policies in order to facilitate the banking cartel how many homes have ff fg wrecked how many familys have your partys smashed in order to keep the corrupt wealthy elite in power the answer is uncountable.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:25 PM

Neither FG nor anyone else forced SF to vote for the final report (which included the clause on metering). If they are so implacably opposed to water meters and charges, surely they should have abstained or voted against the final report.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:26 PM

@Bobby Phelan: Its actually comical Bobby. Its going to be even funnier when the dail is back and SF bring their bill forward to end water charges, to see the same YFG party hacks jumping up and down howling ‘Sinn Fein support water charges…Sinn Fein support water charges’.

Mute TheWalkingBread
    Favourite TheWalkingBread
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:28 PM

@Michael Bride: You are a Socialist, you wear the name of a mass murdering failed ideology with Pride ?

I find it mad that no one would dare refer to themselves as a Nazi but don’t bat an eye lid at being compared to Socialism a far greater evil that has murdered hundreds of millions of people.

The double standards is bizarre.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:29 PM

@Denito: “If they are so implacably opposed to water meters and charges, surely they should have abstained or voted against the final report.”

If they are so implacably FO water charges, why are they moving a bill to end them when the Dail returns? Why have they blocked them in the 6 counties since 2007?

See denito? You have your sentence which FG wouldn’t allow be removed from the report, whereas we have everything SF have done and are doing in relation to water charges.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:36 PM

We as a country have allowed ff fg liebour to squander 20 billon that was allocated for water since 1997.Where did the money go we should have a top of the range water system in this county.Jesus Christ its only 26 counties we have,but the money wastage here from ff fg liebour is biblical thats what happens when corrupt partys get into government .Scandalous stuff

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:37 PM

@Bobby Phelan: Its comical to hear a shinner talk about guilt of the past of ‘civil war parties’ while conveniently forgetting the bloodied hand that the provos had in the troubles… but there you have it the sphere of delusion that surrounds the mind of an indoctrinated foot soldier. And out of curiosity to which party are you attaching me to?

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:49 PM

@Brinster: well said !!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:49 PM

@For Connolly: what these fianna gealers are forgetting is they allready had 20billion to fix the water network but this isn’t about water is it,It’s about facilitating the banking cartel the 64 billon private debt that was converted to public debt an “odious debt”we should be stripping ff fg labour of all their assets and let them pay for their own cockups.Even to this day ff fg are still receiving 1.2 billion for our water infrastructure the days of gombeen paddys are disappearing fast.

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:51 PM

@ktsiswot Sap

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:51 PM

If Sinn Féin reps are in the habit of voting for measures which they actually oppose, then it’s hard to know what they stand for or against. Their vote in favour of water charging and metering in the EP suggests that their position on the issue is more equivocal than they make out.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:55 PM

@Old Gabby Johnson: ff fg are same so whats the point attaching you to any party i would say your a neo-liberal.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:00 PM

@Bobby Phelan: Big word for you bobby.. you’re watching too much american politics.

Sep 16th 2016, 1:07 PM

Where’s the “I don’t care” option?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:30 PM

@Deborah Behan:

As mentioned to somebody else earlier who asked the same question, I think it’s in the ‘why did you open the story then?’ section.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:45 PM

If luke ming said it must be true

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:47 PM

Well done Brinster. Poor old FC does not like having his hole served to him. You can see his smugness turning to boor with every comment.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:49 PM

We have to pay for water

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:58 PM

@Denito: SF supported the report while also highlighting the efforts FG blocked continuously to have the clause removed. It created a catch 22 where had SF not supported this report, which acknowledges the right to water, FG and all its little minions would have been the first to jump all over it as SF are a member of right2water

Like I said, filth politics 101 from FG.

I’m happy with Boylans explanation as supported by an independent MEP, backed by their record on actually blocking water charges.

Oh, and I look forward, when SF bring the bill to the Dail next month to abolish water charges, to the same FGHQ accounts trying to convince us all that SF support water charges.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:14 PM

And what a wonderful reminder that will serve to demonstrate the duplicity with which SF operate. Well done.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:22 PM

What you’re saying here is that we should judge Sinn Féin based on their political spin (i.e. the Lynn Boylan excuses blaming FG meanies) rather than on their voting record. I know which I find a more reliable basis on which to make an objective judgement.

Sep 16th 2016, 3:04 PM

@Tir I commentated because it asked for my opinion and I gave it. I don’t think Sinn Fein is a party grounded in reality.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:25 PM

@Deborah Behan:

Oh OK. He was me thinking your comment: “Where’s the “I don’t care” option?”, was a sign that you didn’t have an opinion. Silly me!

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:39 PM

@Brinster: Just gave you another thumbs up- amazing how SF can bring us all together, in shared repulsion!

Mute Michael Bride
    Favourite Michael Bride
    Sep 16th 2016, 7:33 PM

@TheWalkingBread: Genuine socialism hasn’t murdered anybody, that’s why people like me opposed the perversion that existed behind the Iron Curtain for decades. Do a bit more study ‘Walking’, begin with ‘USSR-Left Opposition.’ I do indeed wear the name of socialist with pride, not just because I understand the history of Stalinism and its obnoxious outgrowths, but the history of capitalism too- do you?!

Mute michael collins
    Favourite michael collins
    Sep 17th 2016, 7:24 AM

i only vote to have them all thrown in prison, deplorable terrorist supporters the lot of them. subhumans

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:14 AM

Which one is the Army Council backing again?

Might as well back the winner.

Mute Obi Wan
    Favourite Obi Wan
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:30 AM

There is no Slab Murphy option.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:36 AM

@Obi Wan: Even if he was so inclined, he would not meet the criteria to run as he is not a member of Sinn Fein.

Do keep up, good lad.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:38 AM

Let’s keep political leaders south of the boarder ..

Mute Obi Wan
    Favourite Obi Wan
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:40 AM

@For Connolly: Why not FC?

It’s he and his ilk who set the “criteria”.

You keep your head in the sand. “good lad”

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:44 AM

@Obi Wan: Evidence please to back up your claim. SF set their policies and vote n their leadership live on nation TV every year at their ars feis.

You got something to back up your claim?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:49 AM

Brendan yes of course in front of TV. Because everything that happens in front of us on television is to be believed.. and if you can’t believe the people who run SF then who can you believe? It’s like when the current leader gets elected repeatedly because no one else puts themselves forward.. i mean if its good enough for soviet russia to have a leader for thirty years then its good enough for anybody.

Mute Obi Wan
    Favourite Obi Wan
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:51 AM

@For Connolly:

I don’t need to produce evidence.

It’s common knowledge.

Can you produce evidence to the contrary ???

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:54 AM

@Obi Wan: “I don’t need to produce evidence. It’s common knowledge.”

So, no evidence.

“Can you produce evidence to the contrary ???”

You made the claim, the onus is on you to back it up, which, surprise surprise, you can’t.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:55 AM

@FC: my GAA club’s senior hurling manager is not actually a member of the club either, since he’s from a different parish and retains membership of his club there. But that doesn’t mean he’s not involved in what we do.

Mute Obi Wan
    Favourite Obi Wan
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:56 AM

@For Connolly:

I am not in a court of law and you are not of any importance.

So no need to produce any evidence to you.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:05 AM

Where is the option, DON’T CARE?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:10 AM

Obi, of course its not a court of law, but in the interests of sensible discussion, if you make a claim, you should be able to produce the evidence to back it up if you want to be taken seriously. Otherwise whats the point in making the claim.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:17 AM

@will Why? They are an All-Ireland party.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:51 AM

For those of you sneering you might want to read some history. No major party in this state has clean hands

FFs predecessors went against the publics support for the treaty’s “stepping stone” approach to freedom, and waged a war against the lawfully constituted govt, doing so mostly over the oath, which despite being worth a civil war in 1921 was suddenly “just words” in 1932 when they’d a shot at power. The war they waged included murdering TDs and Senators inc burning their homes with kids dying inside. In 32 they took handguns with them to the Dail chamber afraid CNG wouldn’t give up power.

One of their cabinets authorised arming nationalists being attached then the Taoiseach lost his bottle and decided to blame it on two ministers after a failed attempt to cover it up.

Fahd predecessors running the govt in that same war engaged in extrajudicial summary executions, sanctioned war crimes like tying prisoners to mines and machine gunning survivors. It’s not black and white

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:53 AM

*FGs predecessor

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:00 PM

Well the top 3 names in that journal poll puts them in 1,2,3.SF in the north are working in a totally different jurisdiction .

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:24 PM

@will:

Same country though. And same party.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:36 PM

Tír let’s have a leader of SF not connected to the IRA or the murder of a mother of ten..how’s that for true leadership. Ps that’s the mood of the country and it’s what held back SF from cleaning up at the last election gerry Adams

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:57 PM

Schrodinger’s Provo. Any given Provo is neither a member of Sinn Fein nor a member of the IRA until one of those outcomes is observed to be embarrassing, and the waveform collapses.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:22 PM

@will:

Any evidence that the current SF leader is connected to Jean McConville?

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:27 PM

He knows the “MEN” who murdered a mother of ten

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:42 PM

@will:

I’ll ask again. Any evidence that the current SF leader is connected to Jean McConville?

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:58 PM

What about a kangaroo court of a raped teenager !!!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:11 PM

@will:

Still waiting….

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:13 PM

Still waiting….ull never wait as long as the families of the disappeared 30 years in the TÍR …

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:35 PM

@will:

I’ll take your dancing around the question as an admission of having no evidence to support your claim and as such have just wasted your time and mine in bringing up the claim in the first place.

P.s. Could you tell me if you hold the Old IRA in the same disdain as you did the provos?

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:39 PM

I’ve an great uncle buried in mullingar who was a member of the IRA ..

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:40 PM

Ps.. dancing around the the truth with facts tir

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:48 PM

@will:

“I’ve an great uncle buried in mullingar who was a member of the IRA”

Doesn’t really answer my question, does it? Do you hold the old IRA in the same disdain as the provos?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:50 PM

@will:

I said “dancing around the question”. The question where I asked you to provide the evidence for your suggestion that the current SF leader was connected with the death of Jean McConville. And you have repeatedly danced around my request, making it abundantly clear you have no evidence to back up your claim. Wasting time for us both.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:50 PM

I’ll leave it down too ur in dept surveillance

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:51 PM

@will:

Or you could just answer the simple question:

Do you hold the old IRA in the same disdain as the provos?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:19 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:

Poor Will is scurrying off to try to figure out how he’s supposed to explain away his disdain for the Provos for their disappearing 13 people in a 30 year campaign while at the same time eulogising and saluting the Old IRA of his great-uncle’s time, which disappeared over 200 (mostly innocent) people in a 2-3 year campaign.

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego

All cut from the one cloth so really doesn’t make any difference. I might apply for the hob myself. Twud really boost my ego to be leader of something

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:26 AM

Hey Alan ever see the film dodgeball?you remind me of steve the pirate

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:34 AM

I really liked that guy. Aargggggh

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:31 AM

It will be interesting to see who takes over from Adams as the older generation retire. There are some excellent potential leaders there and the new additions to the Dail, such as O’Broin, Cullinane and O’Reilly have been stand-out performers.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:40 AM

Have to say people I talk too. Like Mary Lou. They think if she became leader . Then they would vote sinn fein.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:43 AM

@LITTLEONE: Not after we remind people of SF’s clear criminal and terrorist connections, as well as economic policies that would bankrupt and ruin the country :-)

Mute Jeremy Croydon
    Favourite Jeremy Croydon
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:45 AM

As opposed to the current government who have a long history of white collar crime and economy policies that have ruined the country?

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:47 AM

Depends on who the Army Council want, I’d imagine, so the poll, and opinions are really pointless .

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:48 AM

OK. Fred. Is that after they read all the news on nama, watch BBC spotlight, listen to secret tapes, see that government prefer helping apple get away with tax while they get taxed again in the budget. Or after the see they are not getting the promised usc cut or that their families members are once again lying on trollies. Good luck. You do realise there is whole new generation of people who are living in the future not the past.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:54 AM

Yes Fred, We should all ignore the past. Except for other parties, their past is open for discussion at all times. Discussing sinn feins past is partionist, political point scoring, and a direct attack on the peace process. Oh and scurrilous too. Almost forgot.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:11 AM

Ah Fred. Had to re read this. Have you been under a rock . Isn’t this exactly what has happened to the country. Under the previous last governments of ff, fg , labour, greens. Aren’t people still paying for that.
    well as economic policies that would bankrupt and ruin the country :-)
    Best laugh I had this morning.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:28 AM

Must say Fred . That be a great one to use in election campaign.
    Do you according to Fred and his affiliated party which is either fg or ff . My bet is fg.
    Want a party that MAY bankrupt and ruin the country. If yes vote sf.
    Or do you want a party that Has bankrupt and ruined the country.
    Then vote fg and ff.
    The decision is yours.
    Makes great slogan Fred.
    Do you want MAY or do you want HAS.

Mute Roisin Connolly
    Favourite Roisin Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:58 AM

Is the country not bankrupt and ruins already?

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:31 PM

Fred…I say this as someone who wouldn’t vote SF, what specifics are you talking about?

Most of their policies are not much further left than FF or where Labour is in theory (tho never practice) so..centre left? You could hardly throw them in with the ULA. Because of FF stealing their clothes on some issues we’ve never had an obvious left right split but you could fit half of FF all of SF and Lab into one party easy without much policy disagreement

The only thing that makes me ball is scrapping USC but that’s also FG policy…free at point of use health care…also FF and FG policy just using diff models..just like the others they pay lip service to Senate reform knowing full well they’ll keep it as ‘backup plan’ for people who don’t make it to the Dail..higher taxes on high earners isn’t exactly a new idea, keeping banks nationalised until they pay us back seems ok to me..where’s the bankrupting?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:59 PM

@Fred Johnson: your partys have all ready ruined the country wakey wakey fred

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:14 AM

no one. disband.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:24 AM

@ericm: I wish every party would disband so we could start again with new rules. Rule 1 being if you want to be a politician then you can’t have the job.

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:50 AM

@Rob Cahill: good man rob …………..

Mute onebox
    Favourite onebox

Caoimhin held the fort for SF prior to the present line up. I for one believe he is a great debater and can stand out in any issue that may arise. I do miss his input to the dail arguments

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:13 PM

Caoimghin would be the man but he isnt running again after this term. Pearse therefore should become next leader.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:22 AM

No more dodgy socialist passive aggressive northerners please. Never forget Pearse Doherty and his entourage flying out to Athens to congratulate his comrades in Syrizia. 4 months later, the banks were shut..lol

In fairness, Caoimhghin is adorable.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:32 AM

@Fred Johnson: to be fair to O’Caolain he was the only southern SF TD before Adams came on the scene and he has done a lot for Co. Monaghan. I think that he is getting towards retirement at this stage of his career.

Mute Scutterjocks O'reilly
    Favourite Scutterjocks O'reilly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:39 AM

@Fred Johnson: let’s keep voting for people who bankrupt and pillage our country sounds smart to me Fred.

Mute Michael J
    Favourite Michael J
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:17 AM

Kelly would be the best man but Sinn Fein needs to move away from its past, so Mary Lou is the one to do that.

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:21 AM

That date however will not be until sometime after the 150th anniversary of the Easter Rising.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex

Mary lou is another party nodding donkey. she was (rightly) fire and brimstone over child abuse in the Catholic Church but became strangely muted and deflectionary when similar stories appeared regarding provos children and moving abusers south of the border.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:16 PM

@Charlie Wrex:
    Very true charlie

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke

Great to see the tories back on the journal, hope you enjoyed your holidays any word on Nama

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)

Hillary Clinton…

I’m kidding, I wouldn’t touch that party with a 50th preference vote, regardless of which lunatic is in charge of the asylum…

Mute Epi Retro
    Favourite Epi Retro
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:37 AM

Either Pearse or Mary Lou would be a breath of fresh air but, for me, she just edges it.

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite

No Angus O’ Snodig O’ Suil Abhain Og option?

Mute Brian Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Brian Fitzmaurice
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:33 AM

I reckon P O Neill is the man

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:57 AM

I hope Jurry stays on, he must be doing something right when the Sunday Indo devotes so much time and effort trying to undermine him whilst spoon feeding its readership crap handed to them by the spin doctors in the FF/FG cartel.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:09 AM

Juan. Who is jurry.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:25 AM

Nigel Farage is looking for a job when Britain pulls out of Europe. He would lead Irelands campaign to exit the EU, while SF have in the past talked about it but have no balls to do anything about it.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:28 AM

Do keep up Chris, SF were on the remain side in the referendum ffs!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:30 AM

@PaulJ:

But voted against every EU Referendum down here.

Flip, flop, flip, flop.

It’s almost like they make it up as they go along.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:35 AM

@Brinster: “It’s almost like they make it up as they go along”

Oh the irony of you making that statement.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk

@PaulJ: SF are like the weather vane always changing direction. Take Martin Kenny for instance TD for the new constituency Sligo/Leitrim/West Cavan. Before the last election he was knocking on West Cavan doors looking for votes and promising the sun, moon and stars. Now he has put his name to a campaign to ‘reunite’ Cavan to it’s previous position, therefore abandonning the people of West Cavan who voted for him. If it comes to another election in the next year he can feck off from looking for Cavan votes, traitor.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:29 PM

Brinster are you seriously that idiotic yesterday you cannot understand the difference between wanting to stay in the EU as is but being against further losses of sovereignty as each of these referendums was? There are some amount of uneducated clowns on this site!

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:20 PM

Chris Its sf policy to redraw that constituency and put west cavan back with the rest of cavan/monaghan.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:55 PM

@Seamus Og: That makes no sense at all, the only advantage it serves is for the opportunist Cavan/Monaghan TD’s who lost votes in the last general election because of the boundary change.
    West Cavan has significant tourism potential from being designated part of the UNESCO Global Geopark, clearly the east Cavan TD’s don’t see it that way. because they never represented the need of the people anyway.
    Martin Kenny has the opportunity to speak up for West Cavan, but he has turned his back on us.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:34 AM

Where’s the “I don’t give a bollox” option?

Mute Epi Retro
    Favourite Epi Retro
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:38 AM

@Karol Doran: I think you just used it…..

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:23 AM

I think it’s in the ‘why did you open the story then?’ section.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:05 PM

I obviously opened it to tick the “I don’t give a bollox option”. Keep up.

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:21 AM

Who cares they are all pretty rubbish

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:24 AM

Michael Martin,or enda Kenny toss of a coin really

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:02 AM

Qualities required.

Walk the moral high ground.
    Be able to give everything to everybody by just taxing the rich.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:29 AM

Mary Lou is a very good media performer but never gets any questions about SF dark past and armed struggle
    Is there a gentlemen agreement with the mainstream media not to ask about the days of the armed struggle

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:59 AM

@John003:

LOL!! You seriously suggesting the media don’t seem to want to drag the IRA into items relating to SF? REALLY???!!!

I’ve seen it all now.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:20 PM

Well I have listened many times to interviews with Mary Lou and not once have I heard her asked about say the Enniskillen bomb or killing of policeman Asked to condemn it or justify it or even give a fudge answer
    She is only ever asked about present day political question
    There is a media bias there

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:32 PM

John why isn’t Minister John Halligan asked about money laundering operations on a mass scale his Workers Party colleagues. Also why aren’t the Labour party asked about OIRA decommissioning or criminality?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:30 PM

@John003:

lol good man John. I was going to post up an exhaustive list of links to stories of McDonald being quizzed about the IRA etc but I haven’t the time nor the energy. Suffice to say a quick google of the term “Mary Lou McDonald IRA” should provide ample evidence of your utterly delusional and bizarre claim!

Mute Henri Poincaré
    Favourite Henri Poincaré

Eoin Ó Broin, no?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:52 AM

@Henri Poincaré: Future leader or deputy leader material all right. Seriously intelligent and a calm, level headed debater. Plus a genuinely nice bloke who does a lot for our constituency.

Mute Henri Poincaré
    Favourite Henri Poincaré

Maybe a bit more outrage at this and that now and then would move him forward.
    People have no time for a skilled debater ;) Cheap thrills now please!

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:23 AM

The bulk of the party is still in NI, so it may have to be a nordie.

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:27 AM

It actually isn’t, there are more elected representatives for SF in the south.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:11 PM

Slab Murphy should retain the position.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex

Doesn’t really matter who they vote to replace Geraldo, over 86% of the voting public ignored them at the last GE.

Mute Nick McKenna
    Favourite Nick McKenna
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:49 PM

Take your pick lads, spoiled for choice!

Will it be the Fianna Fail reject and only party member with a 3rd level education? Will it be the two time college drop out who’s never had a job outside of politics? Or maybe you’ll go for the convicted murderer and terrorist?

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:23 PM

Jez not Mary Loo…I couldn’t take that pained moany whinge bag rattling on in the media on a regular basis.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:50 AM

I think Slab Murphy is doing a good job , why change that?.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:28 AM

Donald Trump.

Failing that
    Roy Keane

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:04 PM

Brinster banging on about the past again and gabby like two broken records at this stage. how about all the murdering of the civil war partys did in their fantastic past.time for ye oldies to move on and the the peace process move on.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:26 AM

Matt Carthy is believed to be gunning for the job. Local talk anyway.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:29 AM

Gunning. Ha, like it.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:50 AM

@The spokesman: He was a Monaghan county councillor shortly before he got the MEP job and is still wet behind the ears. Leadership is something that needs maturity rather than be parachuted into a role. Adams is a joke and so would be any northern politician who don’t have experience of how this country works..

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:01 AM

@Chris Kirk, I agree with you but I have followed Matt’s progress as I’m from this part of the world and he has come on leaps and bounds over the past two years and ia hugely respected within the party and to my mind is definetly in with a shout compare to some of the other clowns mentioned.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:20 PM

@The spokesman: We have no way of measuring Matts progress in Europe and compared to other Irish MEP’s like Mairead McGuinness and Marion Harkin who have a track record and are respected within the EU parliament. I would rather see Matt stay in Europe for a few more years to improve his knowledge of international politics. Perhaps you can tell us what did he achieve with Monaghan CoCo.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:36 PM

@Chrid Kirk, hes spent 18 years or so in Monaghan co co and Carrickmacross town council and was always a man who got things done on a local level his achievements are various and across the spectrum but all local councillors agree on decisions so it’s hard to pin any achievement to any one of them. Any problem I needed resolved he was the first person id contact and I’m not a sinn fein national voter. Hes a good speaker and debater and has no military past unlike Conor Murphy, Kelly and any other of the nordie ones. O coalaon will probably retire soon and Mary Lou is not connected enough up north. Carthy is a half way candidate who will get a fair share of support on the all island among sinn fein voters.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:37 PM

@Chris Kirk, by the way, harkin is the best Irish politician on Europe by a mile and there will never be another like her. She’s exceptional.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:05 PM

@The spokesman: Thats fair enough I know that Matt Carthy is a family man and I won’t press you further on his achievements with Monaghan CoCo while Carrickmacross is a fine town that has come on leaps and bounds over the past decade or so.. I will say this though that while Matt was a Co.Councillor there was a lot of corruption in Monaghan over zoning of building land in areas which were considered flood plains.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:15 PM

@Chris, building on the flood plains was a FG man now an independent who sorted that out and Carthy was only on the Carrickmacross town council when that was approved so he can’t get blame there for not stopping it. Carrickmacross is probably the nicest town in the north East and had great amenities. SF are too left wing and liberal for my liking but on a local level very good.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:16 PM

*had

Mute frank
    Favourite frank
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:35 AM

Someone who was in the ira would be suitable but that narrowes it down a bit

Mute Homer's imp son
    Favourite Homer's imp son
    Sep 16th 2016, 10:49 AM

I’d never vote SF, and I don’t like the idea that the leader should be a woman, but Mary Lou is the best candidate for the job, regardless of her gender

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:13 PM

Mary Lou’s sunbed salon will be going full blast if she gets the top job

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:13 PM

Am I the only one thinking who the feck is Conor Murphy?

Mute Kieran Murphy
    Favourite Kieran Murphy
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:34 PM

I must say that I think Mary Lou is a complete spoofer. I really don’t understand how she got this far. She’s far from intelligent and full of complaints. I don’t remotely like SF but I think O’Doherty is a very able politician and would make SF a viable alternative to the main parties…in other words, I’d like Mary Lou to get the nod

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:18 PM

There shouldn’t be a Sinn Fein.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Sep 17th 2016, 1:03 AM

I’m thinking, who the fcuk cares who leads them, they are not going anywhere soon.

Mute Sean Wong
    Favourite Sean Wong
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:12 PM

Gerry is a legend. No one can replace him. SF will have a big loss without him.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:41 PM

All the times he was asked was he in the IRA and he denied it… Why wasn’t he?

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:08 PM

I wouldn’t put any of them in, they’re all low lifes.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:07 PM

Why is there no slab Murphy option? Or will he just continue to run the commercial side?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Sep 16th 2016, 3:21 PM

No Ferris option? Forgetting where it came from?

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:30 AM

John Major

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:14 PM

@simon: Paddy Power?

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Sep 16th 2016, 12:42 PM

I’ll never be a supporter but the only one of this bunch that sounds and is credible is Caoimhghin O’ Caolain.

Mute Brendan Glynn
    Favourite Brendan Glynn
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:55 PM

Bart Simpson

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:23 PM

I want mary lou, pearse or john brady to be the next leader. All very good candidates

Mute Matthew McMahon
    Favourite Matthew McMahon
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:02 PM

Has to be Mary Lou, she is a natural leader

Mute Brian Harrington
    Favourite Brian Harrington
    Sep 16th 2016, 4:06 PM

I think SF would get No 1 vote from many people like myself who are reluctant to support the gunmen. Adams has blood on his hands, that’s why I wouldn’t vote SF. When he goes, SF could become the main player in this island.

Mute Dubangel777
    Favourite Dubangel777
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:38 PM

Eoin ni Broin

Mute Joey OHalloran
    Favourite Joey OHalloran
    Sep 16th 2016, 2:26 PM

C’mon sf

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Sep 16th 2016, 1:02 PM

Me

Mute James Keogh
    Favourite James Keogh
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:49 PM

Does it really matter who will lead the eternal opposition ? I presume it will be another synical head with no ears. As they say it’s the Sinn Fein’s leaders way or no way and Jerry will always be hiding in the tall grass.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Sep 16th 2016, 5:15 PM

It will be a democratic process, so who knows?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 16th 2016, 11:33 PM

Nobody wants to put their head above the parapet and declare an interest in a heave against Dear Leader. They’d probably end up being disappeared and their families searching for the body for 20 years.

Mute Pádraig Ó Tomhnair
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Tomhnair
    Sep 16th 2016, 6:15 PM

I hate to break it to everyone, but the Party’s not going to decide it’s next ” Leader “, based on this Poll. That will be decided by the Party’s Membership, just like it is every year. If you want to have your say on who takes over from Gerry, then join the Party and pass the ” Probationary Period “. Then again, this Poll will be closer to the election for our next Leader, compared to the election of who’ll replace Enda.

Mute Dixie Elliott
    Favourite Dixie Elliott
    Sep 18th 2016, 3:40 AM

MI5 will decide that. As they’ve always done. Only a fool would think otherwise given that the SFers do more to promote the British Royals than even the Unionists these days.