You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny in the Dáil this morning Screengrab

Savita: Abortion report completed as FF calls for independent inquiry

The Minister for Health has received the report of the expert group on abortion, the Taoiseach confirmed today, as Fianna Fáil called for an independent inquiry into the death of a woman at Galway University Hospital.

THE MINISTER FOR Health James Reilly has received the report of the expert group on abortion in the last 24 hours, the Taoiseach has told the Dáil.

The report was received by Reilly last night but he has not yet seen or read the report as the issue of abortion came up at Leaders’ Questions following the death of a woman at Galway University Hospital after she was reportedly refused an abortion.

Amid reports that 31-year-old Savita Praveen Halappanavar died after being refused a termination as she suffered a miscarriage over two days last month, there were calls for an independent inquiry into the case.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin said there needed to be an independent, external inquiry set up to go along with the two being conducted by the hospital and the HSE into the woman’s death.

Martin said that Savita’s death was “particularly tragic and harrowing and I think shocking to all concerned” and said that an internal inquiry will “not suffice”.

Enda Kenny said that he extended his sympathy to the family of Savita but said that he would not comment until “we are in possession of all of the facts”.

“This is a case of maternal death where a child has been lost, a mother has died and a husband is bereaved and that’s a tragedy,” Kenny told the Dáil.

Expert group

He said that the reports of the hospital and the HSE following their inquiries into the case should be presented to the Minister for Health.

Kenny told Martin: “I don’t wish to say any more about this case because neither your or I are in possession of all the facts here.”

The issue was also raised by Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams at Leaders’ Questions.

He called on the Taoiseach to give a timeline for when legislation for the Supreme Court ruling in the X case might be brought forward.

Kenny said that Reilly had received the completed report of the expert group, set up at the beginning of the year, but said that the Minister was yet to see or read the report.

However he said that Reilly would “read and reflect” on it before bringing it to Cabinet.

Amid further calls from Adams to give a timeframe for the report to be published and for the government to legislate on abortion, Kenny repeated that he would not “say anything in this house here until we are full possession of the facts”.

“Anything that we do will not bring back the good woman that has passed away,” he added.

Read: Bacik says ‘legislation is clearly necessary’ amid outcry over Savita death

Read: Calls for X Case legislation after woman denied an abortion dies in Galway hospital

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

126 Comments
    Mute David Healion
    Favourite David Healion
    Jun 10th 2018, 6:37 AM

Online and linked to a PPS number. Also, a revamp would significantly increase turnout rates

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jun 10th 2018, 6:45 AM

@David Healion: and rolling so you can change address or be added to register at any time of year. Once the PPS number is used that shouldn’t be a problem.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 10th 2018, 8:52 AM

@Jane: pps is not enough. Any person working or long enough in the State can have a PPS number.
    But only citizens can vote in Referendums.

Mute Conor Black
    Favourite Conor Black
    Jun 10th 2018, 9:23 AM

@Good Early: Not true, legal residents of all nationalities can vote in the local elections, legal residents of EU nationalities can vote in the European parliament elections, Irish and British citizens can vote in the general election, only Irish citizens can vote in the presidential election and referendums.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 10th 2018, 9:33 AM

@Conor Black: agree, that’s why said only citizens can vote if Referendums.
    PPS is fine for the others, but not enough referendums

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:17 AM

@Good Early: passport number could be used

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 10th 2018, 12:18 PM

@Seamus Mac: Not everyone has a passport.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jun 10th 2018, 7:22 AM

The system thats there works once it’s all done in time & not at the last minute. I’ve moved house over the years & part of the process is changing to the local Register when I move. Not a blind panic 2 weeks before I need to vote.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 10th 2018, 8:49 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: I know several people in both camps in the recent referendum who got two voting cards for different polling stations. They all used them to vote twice
    We also had foreign nationals registered who had no right to vote.

As we have no specific figures this is worrying. It’s seriously undermines our democracy.

The government should automatically enroll all citizens once they are 18 and post a voting card. No duplicating registrations. Whether people vote is another thing.

Mute Rachel Giles
    Favourite Rachel Giles
    Jun 10th 2018, 7:37 AM

I received two polling cards. First one was correct, second one had my name on it, but my next door neighbours address. So I could have voted twice couldn’t I? I’m never asked for ID at the polling station probably because it’s local and manned by local people. All they do is put a line through the address when you show the polling card. If I’d gone again hours after I’d voted, I could have voted a second time probably.

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Jun 10th 2018, 8:50 AM

@Rachel Giles: I know several people who got two cards and did vote twice. It’s poses a serious threat to out democracy

Mute Sighle A. Ni Chuana
    Favourite Sighle A. Ni Chuana
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:58 AM

@Rachel Giles: Getting two voting cards doesn’t entitle a person to vote twice. If your name is only on the Register once, and they send out two voting cards in error, and you try to vote twice, you will be caught and this is a criminal offence.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Jun 10th 2018, 4:45 PM

@Rachel Giles: or you could have been arrested !

Mute Elaine O' Brien
    Favourite Elaine O' Brien
    Jun 10th 2018, 7:48 AM

My Son who is 19 had a vote in the equality marriage referendum but had none in the 8th amendment referendum . He did not move house at all . No polling card came . Why was he taken off !

Mute Jonathan Ryan
    Favourite Jonathan Ryan
    Jun 10th 2018, 9:01 AM

@Elaine O’ Brien: the same happened to my mother and when she got onto them she was told she had to prove she was Irish! She worked in the hse and was born and lived in Ireland all her life. It’s a joke

Mute Sandra
    Favourite Sandra
    Jun 10th 2018, 9:09 AM

@Elaine O’ Brien: you don’t need the polling card to vote. Did you check the register to see he wasn’t on it?

Mute Rachel Giles
    Favourite Rachel Giles
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Sandra: checking the register isn’t 100% fool proof. My son didn’t show on it because we were searching for him using HIS name and address, he got a polling card with HIS name on it but next doors address so we never would have found him on the register

Mute Sighle A. Ni Chuana
    Jun 10th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Elaine O’ Brien: Just because you don’t get a polling card, doesn’t necessarily mean you don’t have a vote. Your name might be on the register of electors and that gives you the right to vote. Check the register online on your local County Council website. There is a facility to register on it also. Not sure how they monitor registration for who can and can’t vote in different elections when registering online!

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Jun 10th 2018, 4:46 PM

@Elaine O’ Brien: No polling card does not mean he was taken off the register

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Jun 10th 2018, 7:14 AM

You can pay your car tax & dog license online but not change your address on electoral register online.

Jun 10th 2018, 11:19 AM

The whole political system needs total reform. Just because the local teacher or publican can appear on TV and in interviews before a general election spewing out well rehearsed party rhetoric doesn’t make him/her any more competent for the higher level jobs in gov. We need capable and proper qualified people in gov to get a competently run country and unfortunately that excludes most of the current shower of chancers we’ve got in the dail.

Mute Sighle A. Ni Chuana
    Jun 10th 2018, 12:07 PM

@Adrian: totally agree with you. Especially in the case of allocating ministers’ positions, people should have, not just a qualification, but experience in given ministry.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Jun 10th 2018, 3:39 PM

@Adrian: I totally agree. Anyone elected should have mandatory training in economics and public policy. They only seem talented at talking shite and paying themselves. Most jobs require qualifications. We wouldn’t let a teacher become a doctor without qualifications. It’s a joke

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:02 AM

Still a half measure as we need an electoral commission as well with the power to put some order on the current chaotic process

Mute Liam Ahern
    Favourite Liam Ahern
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:29 AM

The register as it stands gives many opportunities for fraud

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:59 AM

The UK system isn’t quite as efficient as presented (though it’s undeniably better than the Irish one). You have a central entry point online, but it still gets sent to the local councils for semi-manual processing, which is fine but seems an unnecessary step, and can lead to issues where some councils are better organised and more efficient than others. If you have a specialised division centrally that does nothing else obviously they’re going to be better resourced and better trained.

Mute Liam Ahern
    Favourite Liam Ahern
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:28 AM

Do what they do up North,you have to submit your National Insurance Number to register,going door to door to update the register is too much for one man these days given the population explosion etc.
    When my father died they took my name off the register also despite the fact that I registered tre Gaelinn, had to go to the local courthouse and deal with some snooty officials to have it restored and no apology from them either.

Mute Gerry Ashe
    Favourite Gerry Ashe
    Jun 10th 2018, 11:29 AM

There is significant problems with voters register. I have two polling cards for people who have died. Note highest vote yes in DBS in country yet second lowest turn out ie 54%. This has more to do with the voters register than apathy.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Jun 10th 2018, 4:43 PM

How long after you leave the country can you retain the right to vote??