You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Spicer speaks at the St. Patrick's Day reception at the White House PA Wire/PA Images

Sean Spicer claims to be 'one of the most popular guys in Ireland'

The former White House press secretary is claiming huge popularity across Europe.

CLAIMING HIS PRESS briefings were a “prime-time show” around the world, former White House press secretary Sean Spicer has said he is “one of the most popular guys in Ireland”.

Speaking to Axios, a US political news website, Spicer said that he had been mobbed on a recent trip to Europe and claimed huge levels of popularity for his press briefings.

“The US press briefing had become part of their nightly viewing,” he said.

It was a prime-time show from Europe to the Middle East … I’m one of the most popular guys in Ireland.

Politico reported yesterday that Spicer is to join the paid speaking circuit, but he told Axios that he is considering many possibilities, including paid appearances on TV shows in Ireland and the UK or even a book detailing the lessons he learnt in communications.

Spicer, who resigned in July after nearly six months in the job, became known for defending US President Donald Trump’s positions (and the wording of tweets) even when they were massively controversial.

Among the most notable was his claim that Trump’s inauguration crowd represented “the largest audience to ever witness an inauguration, period” – a statement that was widely ridiculed.

He also gained notoriety through comedian Melissa McCarthy’s impersonations of him on Saturday Night Live.

It was widely reported that Spicer resigned in protest after Anthony Scaramucci was hired as the White House communications director.

Spicer then told Associated Press that it would be “great” when Scaramucci took over, but said that there were “too many cooks in the kitchen”.

In a tweet, he said it was an “honor & a privilege” to serve Trump.

Read: Three months after Trump snub, Sean Spicer finally gets to meet the Pope >

Read: Explainer: Why is Donald Trump ending a programme that allows children of illegal immigrants to stay in the US? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:24 PM

I think he’s mixing the popularity of Spicer with the popularity of the spice burger

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:41 PM

@Clever Jake: With white bread and HP sauce

Mute Alan O'Rourke
    Favourite Alan O'Rourke
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:05 PM

@Clever Jake: slice them in half and put them in the toaster next time! You’d bull cows for a small farmer after the delight of one of those!

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Sep 6th 2017, 10:25 PM

@Tom Burke: Well played Sir.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Sep 6th 2017, 11:09 PM

@Tom Burke: The man is clearly as big a fool as Trump, talk of birds of a feather flocking together.

Mute Grumpy Bollovks
    Favourite Grumpy Bollovks
    Sep 7th 2017, 12:52 AM

@Tom Burke: Spice Bag

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane

If Sean Spicer came to Ireland to trace his roots it would be a bigger event than Barack Obama’s visit.
    The people of Ireland have taken Sean to their hearts.

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane

@Clever Jake:
    Cmon Jake, he’d be some craic.

Mute Chad
    Favourite Chad

@Clever Jake: Woah there buddy! Somebody can’t be Irish because you don’t share their opinion?!

Mute Airblazer
    Favourite Airblazer
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:46 PM

@Clever Jake: Jesus man.. learn what sarcasm/satire is. It’s obviously a play on Trumps inauguration on how they claimed it was the most popular ever

Sep 6th 2017, 7:14 PM

@Emmet Dillane: you are sadly deluded, typical Trump supporter.

Mute Chad
    Favourite Chad
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:14 PM

@Clever Jake: So only people with “Irish” sounding names can be Irish now?!

Sep 6th 2017, 7:28 PM

@Emmet Dillane: the delusion persists!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:42 PM

@Emmet Dillane: You’re the definition of Delusion, they’ll be renaming it Dillane Delusional syndrome and Spicer is not popular here.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:48 PM

@Liam Doyle: Trump is scraping the underneath, of the bottom of the barrel and are you a Trumpanzee too?

Mute WinSomeLoseSome
    Favourite WinSomeLoseSome
    Sep 6th 2017, 9:27 PM

@Liam Doyle: The journal comments section is the only place I have come across an Irish person say they support Trump. Literally every single person I have spoken to about Trump thought he was a complete moron. And that is no joke. Not one person. Saying that I try to steer clear of racists idiots in general.

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Sep 6th 2017, 10:52 PM

@Clever Jake:
    This is about Sean Spicer’s popularity, a separate issue to Trump.

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:23 PM

And he would be right.. love the spice

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

@dangermouse: I preferred Scarramucci myself. He hammer Spicer in a scrap.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey

@dangermouse: he could host the late late show. Guaranteed ratings!

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse

@Louis Jacob: the mooch stabs from the front,he wants too see the White of your eyes ..

Mute Lord Clanricarde
    Favourite Lord Clanricarde
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:54 PM

@Peter Cavey: Probably the biggest ratings ever, definilty since records began!

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Lord Clanricarde: “in the history of the state”

Mute Chad
    Favourite Chad

I like him.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:20 PM

@Chad: I bet you do.

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:15 PM

@Chad: Me too. Like most failed apprentices actually.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:03 PM

Very few Irish would even know who he is! Funniest thing I read all day no in fact all year :-)

Mute Emmet Dillane
    Favourite Emmet Dillane
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:12 PM

@Colette Kearns:
    Very popular here on the Journal.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:32 PM

Who is he ?

Mute psychiatrist
    Favourite psychiatrist
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:20 PM

@eastsmer: An illegal Irish, who will be deported back here. he’s already looking for friends..

Mute Gargle29
    Favourite Gargle29
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:29 PM

Or mixing himself up with the spice bag!!!

Mute Dave Moran
    Favourite Dave Moran
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:35 PM

He is every bit deluded as his ex boss

Mute Vic's Burd
    Favourite Vic's Burd
    Sep 6th 2017, 5:30 PM

Yeah right…

Must have seen the fake news poll(!)

Mute Frederic Slimane
    Favourite Frederic Slimane
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:46 PM

american politicians know they can get away with telling big lies to their voters on anything concerning foreign affairs,business….since the majority of them don’t have a clue about what’s happening outside the us because they believe they are the center of the world and the little they”think”they know they got it from tv news channels!!

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:03 PM

I for one, hope he’s coming over to reopen Spicer’s bakery in Meath. Their bread and crusty rolls are sorely missed (mainly by me but still).

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:09 PM

@Spilt Pint: Fierce handy the way the van would come around to the house. My mother never let us have any of the buns but sometimes she would treat us to a slice of battenburg.

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:12 PM

As popular as Bertie Ahern

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:44 PM

He got famous for telling huge whoppers, now he’s just continuing on with it. Its just marketing

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:45 PM

@Dave Harris: Leo the lips, has a job for him and it may not be a media job in his new unit?

Mute Sheila Bedford
    Favourite Sheila Bedford
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:18 PM

Never heard of him

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:12 PM

Delusional

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:44 PM

He’ll be lucky, to make it off the plane and across the tarmac unhurt.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:21 PM

Is he standing for the Presidency of Ireland?

Sep 6th 2017, 7:12 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: maybe he will be head honcho in Leo’s strategic lying department?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Sep 6th 2017, 7:41 PM

@Gus Sheridan: ahh, that’s it!!

Sep 6th 2017, 7:11 PM

Eh…Sean….we don’t even mention you in Ireland. Marmite is more popular than you, you deluded muppet.

Mute NeilGoochFerriter
    Favourite NeilGoochFerriter
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:03 PM

Most popular guy in Ireland PERIOD!

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:57 PM

The universe too surely……..

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Sep 6th 2017, 6:52 PM

WHO

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:22 PM

Must have been in Doonbeg

Mute Niall Conneely
    Favourite Niall Conneely
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:24 PM

I suppose we like a bluffer

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:50 PM

He seems like a nice enough fella, but obviously learnt from Trump on how to have a great sense of your own self importance.!!

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:00 PM

Sean Thornton.

Now he was popular.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Sep 6th 2017, 10:55 PM

I think he is the biggest joke in Ireland and around the world wake up Sean

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Sep 6th 2017, 9:43 PM

Spice of Life

Mute Sean taoiseach
    Favourite Sean taoiseach
    Sep 7th 2017, 7:20 AM

Spice girls would be more popular

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Sep 7th 2017, 6:16 AM

Who ? Never heard of him all in his mind

Mute Mary Angland
    Favourite Mary Angland
    Sep 6th 2017, 8:18 PM

I think Melissa McCarthy playing Sean Spicer is who’s massively popular.