You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wikimedia Commons

AS IT HAPPENED: Prime Time Seanad debate

It’s Richard Bruton versus Michael Martin, and it’s live.

TONIGHT, RICHARD BRUTON and Micheal Martin went toe to toe on the RTÉ stage.

Debating the merits of the Seanad, the two were joined by a live audience of campaigners and, for a while, things got feisty.

Miriam O’Callaghan managed to keep them on topic for a while, though.

Here’s how it played out:

To kick us off, here’s what the UPC box has to say we can expect:

Before the real business gets underway, there may be some of you out there a little bit lost on what Friday’s vote actually means. No problem, swing over here and get all the facts.

There are two referendums (yes, referendums) on Friday, of course, but the Seanad is sexier than the court of appeal, it appears.

The Seanad being the more glamorous of any topic is rarefied ground and the upper house is lapping up its moment in the sun.

But will it be a lap of honour?

Miriam O’Callaghan is here in blue and white, while Bruton and Martin both look ready to rumble. Let’s get it on.

A Led-Zeppelin soundtracked package from RTÉ. Tune.

In the blue (tied) corner: Richard Bruton urges Ireland to “do more with less”.

We will manage our affairs better with less politicians.

“The Seanad is deeply undemocratic and ineffective,” he says.

He wants a stronger role for committees and Dáil members, as well as outside groups and experts.

He says that Ireland must move into the 21st century.

In the red (tied) corner is Micheal Martin.

The Fianna Fáil leader says that the abolition of the Seanad would give the government more power than it has now.

I’m voting no because a reformed Seanad can give the better expertise that Ireland needs

The only way to force real reform is to vote No on Friday.

RB: We have an obsolete institution in the Seanad. The last time it even delayed legislation was in 1964.

All legislation will go to public hearings. That means that the public shapes the legislation from the get-go.

MM: Removing the Seanad will halve our parliament and take out the opportunity for alternative voices.

The fundamental element of democracy is debate.

Martin says that the Dáil has not lost many bills in 50 years, sparking the first real barbs of the night. Miriam is straight in to separate the two. Feisty opening.

Here’s the scene:

Micheal Martin hits back at the notion that he is arguing for a No vote to get on the TV.

I’ve never had a problem getting on programmes like this.

Once again, Bruton interrupts and Miriam is now exasperated.

“Don’t talk over each, it’s pointless,” she says. She’s right.

RB: The Dáil will now have powers to investigate in the public interest.

Bruton fires the first “financial collapse” shot across Martin’s bows.

Bruton wants to talk about when his opponent was in cabinet, but Miriam is having none of it. She wants to keep it on track.

Micheal Martin was in a government that received a number of reports on Seanad reform, so why is he now arguing for reform from the opposition benches?

“The government chose not to give the people the choice of reform.”

Would a reformed Seanad lead to a situation like the US government shutdown? Micheal Martin says no.

“It would not be comparable.

“When other countries abolished their second houses, it was accompanied by stronger regional assemblies and constitutional change.

“What is happening on Friday is unique in Western Democracy. We are being asked to vote on a change without any constitutional protection.”

Eoin Morris is in the audience, he says that abolishing the Seanad is “an attack on democracy”.

He makes the point that “just because a fire escape is never used, you don’t tear it down.”

Eugene McCormack, another audience member, says that he hopes that this argument will focus the minds of politicians on political reform.

Professor John Crown, who is a senator, says that the Taoiseach should be here.

He says that we are being told “lie after lie after lie” about the Seanad.

The Seanad has made 550 amendments to legislation this term alone. One third of legislation on our books originated in the Seanad.

Why isn’t the Taoiseach here?

Richard Bruton doesn’t think it’s relevant.

It’s not a personality contest. It’s your vote and your Seanad.

Eamon Delaney from One House is in the audience.

He says that the Seanad attendance record is reason enough to abolish it, pointing out that Fianna Fáil’s senators are some of the worst offenders.

However, Micheal Martin says that is “attack politics”.

That’s the kind of debate the Yes campaign has been at. Playing the man, not the ball.

The issue of cost is dominating now. Richard Bruton says that it will be up to the Government to deliver the savings of €20 million that has been a cornerstone of the Yes campaign.

He says that Oireachtas staff can be redeployed under the Haddington Road Agreement.

We would give a right arm for some of the people that could be redeployed.

Martin fires back that “nobody in officialdom has endorsed that figure”.

Matt Carthy, a Sinn Féin councillor, says that the big lie f the campaign is that a No vote would lead to reform, saying that Martin cannot advocate a No vote given his history.

The Seanad has been a plaything for Fianna Fáil. As it stands, it must be abolished.

Joe O’Connor from the Union of Students in Ireland, says that experts are being removed from Oireachtas committees and, as such, the government did not have the “credit worthiness” needed on the Seanad issue.

Michael Martin is in on the attack against the notion of his party using the upper house as a “creche and retirement home”.

“Gerry Adams, as early as last July, said that this was a power grab. He called it a democratic coup d’etat.”

Matt Carthy says that if Micheal Martin wanted to debate the Sinn Féin leader, he should have accepted his offer to debate.

And we’re gone to break for the first time.

Who’s winning? Has your mind been changed? Email paulhosford@thejournal.ie, tweet @PTHosford or @TheJournal_ie

Here’s Richard Bruton’s stack of notes. He came prepared.

And we’re back.

Barrister Anne Fitzpatrick is in the audience voting No.

She says for two reasons: “What next? And why the rush?”

“We are being asked to change our constitution when there is no proven Dáil reform in place.

We could have had this debate when we’d seen whether the Seanad was fit for purpose.

Independent Tullamore councillor Sean O’Brien does not like the Seanad, not one bit.

“I don’t care if it is €20 million, €6 million or 1 million it is too much.

It is a nursery for budding politicians and nursing home for failed politicians.

Glenna Lynch from Democracy Matters says that the “dishonest and cynical posters around are the wrapping paper around a hand grenade that is being dropped on the constitution”.

She finishes “power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely”.

Martina Devlin of One House says that reform is “an alluring concept” but simply won’t happen.

Richard Bruton says that the No campaign has “50 shades” of what they want the Seanad to be.

He says that the No campaign wants the Seanad to remain undemocratic.

This, via @gavreilly, is what Fianna Fáil had to say about the Seanad in 2011:

Micheal Martin denies that the very existence of the Seanad “shames” the country.

The two are talking over each other again and Miriam is deeply, deeply unimpressed.

Miriam asks Richard Bruton is he just looking to abolish the Seanad because it is a “nuisance”.

He says no and that the chamber is built to be controlled by the Government.

“But you also control the Dáil,” says Martin, to chuckles from the audience.

Fergal Reid says:

If that’s what you’re into, Fergal…

Bruton maintains that committees and public hearings would allow experts more access to shaping legislation.

If you are having a debate on harbours, you want an expert on harbours, not a professor of poetry.

Patricia McKenna, the former Green Party MEP, is here for Democracy Matters.

She says that there will be no protection from Europe without the Seanad.

Blair Horan of One House says that universal suffrage is not an answer for the Seanad.

Sarah Jane Hennelly is a No voter who is not affiliated to any party.

She says that the cost argument is a “red herring”.

Labour councillor Tom Kelleher says that most people have no vote in the Seanad elections, but he has six.

Showoff.

Martin says that Fine Gael have scrubbed any record of a 2009 speech that Enda Kenny gave in favour of the Seanad.

Bruton says that the abolition of the Seanad is a “compelling case”.

It is an institution that has served politicians not the public.

Martin urges people “not to shut down a platform for alternative and contrarian voices”.

With that, we’ve run out of time.

Miriam O’Callaghan urges voters to exercise their rights on Friday.

So, who scored more points?

So, what’s the general consensus?

On the debate, it seems fairly mixed, but Taoiseach Enda Kenny has come in for some criticism on Twitter for his no-show.

However, writer Colm Tobin has another theory.

Commenter Tigerisinthezoo has a somewhat unscientific method for determining a winner:

And, with that, it is time to retire the live blog.

Tomorrow, TV3′s Vincent Browne will host his own debate, though the participants are yet to be confirmed.

Then, on Friday, comes the real business, as the country goes to the polls on two referendums.

Thanks for being with us this evening, good night.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

224 Comments
    Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:18 PM

After watching this omni-shambles, I’ve changed my mind entirely. It’s time to sell off RTE.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:20 PM

If thst lad thinks any money saved will go towards the nurses in tullamore hes living in cloud cuckoo land…hes the typical parish pump voter

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:33 PM

As much as I hate ff with every ounce of my being, I hate fg even more. That bloody coward didn’t have the cajones and the bottle to stand up tonight. I hope bruton gets his a** handed to him. I hate fg for their lies, fir their love affair with europe, for consistently screwing us all up

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:15 PM

Leslie it’s not the job of the taoiseach of our country to bow to the demands of the media and boost rte ratings. If Enda did debate it would give Michael Martin the chance to look all statesmanlike and he doesn’t deserve that.

Fair play to Enda for not being dictated to. He doesn’t have to be there and is showing good leadership by rising above a media inspired frenzy. Well done Enda.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:21 PM

Would you ever stop. Put cameron put obama in his position they would be out there every chance they got

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:30 PM

Kenny showing good leadership by hiding? Pray tell what planet you are from sir?

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:38 PM

All hail Caesar Kenny!

Mute Sean Coates
    Favourite Sean Coates
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:08 PM

Et tu, Bruton ! (If only)

I’ll get me coat :/

Mute Catherine Lynch
    Favourite Catherine Lynch
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:04 AM

are you for real….. Enda did not miss an apportunity to be seen by media at Croke Park for the last few weeks, both men and womens finals. Of course his louting at the mens SHF was stage managed by his people asking for his section of the stadium pexilated to avoid the terrible moment from a few weeks before when he was booed by fans. Stage management and spin is all he has. He ceertainly has no substance. As for his cringe worthy pictures of him acting the Dick behind the two women at the ladies final this weekend, it was worse than is dog being patted by Angela pic.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Favourite Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:03 AM

don’t vote when you’re angry

you will regret it

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:05 AM

substance ?
    he spoke out against the vatican about sex abuse and cover ups
    something gerry adams can’t do ever again

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:39 PM

Bruton still coming out with that 20 million lie. Unbelievable.

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin

Fair play to Anne, the barrister, she gave it to Bruton and it’s true, what’s the rush?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:23 PM

Michael are you a member of FF? You are doing a great job of cheerleading.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:27 PM

I wonder if he has a Seanad vote.

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:54 PM

Funny how you assume that because I agree with Micheál Martin I must be a member of FF. Bruton was there because Enda wasn’t man enough. Enda said in the Dáil that he didn’t want to attend because he would show up Micheál Martin, well the only one he showed up was himself because by failing to attend clearly showed that he would not have been capable of showing him up and the country would then see just how weak he really was.

Mute Stonewall
    Favourite Stonewall
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:59 PM

A leader should lead!!!!! Not give orders and hide away like some coward…..
    Enda wants our Constitution pulled apart yet refuses to debate the issue…
    Away with him and his motley crew!!!

Mute David Gorman
    Favourite David Gorman
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:03 PM

MB, I fully agree, I think Anne Fitzpatrick was the most convincing speaker. So much advertising for a yes vote tells me their argument is so weak it has to be pushed and pushed on the electorate.
    I’m voting No because I’m not prepared to let them keep sliding more and more of our democracy off the side of the table.
    I have been helped by Senators on an issue when no other politician would give me the time of day. I make this post with total sincerity and with no political allegiance.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:06 PM

Helped how? That’s is exactly why we should get rid, clientism has to end.

Mute ISBA
    Favourite ISBA
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:23 PM

Second that

Mute David Gorman
    Favourite David Gorman
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:04 AM

It was no clientism. It was genuine help to ordinary people. I refer to my final sentence on my previous post.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:12 AM

Dermot Michael is entitled to his opinion look at FG TDs they are afraid to open their mouths if they say the wrong thing they are thrown out of the party Kenny and co are dictators

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:47 AM

Sean, of course Michael is entitled to his view. My point about the FG rebels is that ALL parties enforce the whip and the punishment is always the same, expulsion from the party. FG are no different in this regard except the numbers were bigger than usual.

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:04 PM

Watch the body language of Bruton, it’s clear I would suggest that he is telling lies about the figures…
    We don’t need Fine Gael holding all the power

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan

Bruton reminds me of Colin Powell when he was lying about the WMD. Same cringing body language.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:22 AM

obama is worse than bush

bush didn’t have “racism” to hide behind

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:34 AM

It’s such a pity FG are in power for life and we don’t have elections.

Mute mada
    Favourite mada
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:26 PM

This vote is not just about abolishing the Seanad, it takes away power, please vote no

IF A YES VOTE WINS – Key POINTS
    ==================

1 . Laws will be made if passed by the Dáil and the president. No amendments or changes can be offered up by anyone else. *** Do you want the current Government to have this power?

2. By voting to abolish the Séanad, you also could take away the President’s power to refer Money Bills(laws relating to public finances, ie. matters relating to TAXATION) to the supreme court for a decision on whether or not they are consitutional. **More Power to Government**

3. The constitution currently provides the option for the president to refer bills to the people. If a yes vote is gained, THIS OPTION WILL BE REMOVED FROM THE CONSTITUTION.
    ** More power for Government**

4. Currently, Ireland may adopt and implement certain EU laws and decisions and certain amendments to EU treaties ONLY if this is approved in advance by BOTH the Dáil and the Seanad.
    IF A YES VOTE IS GAINED – ONLY THE APPROVAL OF THE DÁIL WILL BE REQUIRED FOR PASSING EU LAWS AND DECISIONS. **More power to Government and EU** ?

5. Currently Oireachtas has the power to pass laws for the purpose of securing
    public safety and the preservation of the State in time of war or armed
    rebellion. These laws may not be challenged in the Courts on the basis
    that they are unconstitutional.

IF A YES VOTE IS PASSED – The Dáil alone will have the power to pass national emergency laws
    and to decide a national emergency exists **YES more power the Government.

6. Currently, Judges of the Supreme Court and the High Court may be removed from office
    for stated misbehaviour or incapacity only if a simple majority of the members
    present and voting in each of the Dáil and Seanad pass resolutions to that effect.

IF A YES VOTE IS PASSED – The Dáil alone decides the above.

Can someone who is going to vote yes please tell me if I’m wrong on any of the above?

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:51 PM

It’s is like this already because the government has an automatic majority in the senate due to the Taoiseach’s appointments. We are never going to get reform so it is best to get rid. Do you have a senate vote?

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:21 AM

Apologies Luke, but its currently a 50/50 split. The government does not have an automatic majority.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:19 PM

What are you on about? Check your facts please. Of the 60 seats there is 19 from FG, 11 from labour and 13 independents of which 6 are nominated by the Taoiseach. That’s sounds like a majority to me.

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:24 PM

Also, I take it you have a Senate vote.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:54 PM

Martin just praised those in the Seanad for bringing the issue of contraception to the fore, yet time after time after time , FF voted against the introduction of contraception. It only was made legal thanks to Coalition govts. Having the balls to push it through. FF voted against present contraception legislation.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:06 PM

Well said. And FF also campaigned against divorce in 1986.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:16 PM

And although FF decriminalised homosexuality, they only did so when forced to by the European Courts.

Mute Sean Cassidy
    Favourite Sean Cassidy
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:17 PM

Yup. The point was that these views got an opportunity to be aired in the Seanad and not the mainstream Dail. FF at the time was representative of the views of the people at the time. No need for historical revisionism.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:07 AM

Most ppl wouldn’t have noticed that.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:21 AM

that’s like saying
    ohh kennedy so much for black people
    as if they wouldn’t be allowed vote today
    if it wasn’t for that two faced cu**

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:36 AM

The point is sean, FF opposed every bit of legislation brought in when they were the opposition, no matter what the merits of that legislation. They opposed the original Anglo irish agreement agreed with Fitzgerald/Thatcher, they opposed the introduction of freely available contraception even when that legislation had public support.

Mute endas a arse
    Favourite endas a arse
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:28 PM

Funny he won’t debate,feeling guilty I hope..must be terrible been the most hated man in Ireland :)

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:32 PM

Aren’t you a lovely person

Mute endas a arse
    Favourite endas a arse
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:50 PM

I’m honest

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:22 PM

You’re an idiot.

Mute Dane Tyghe
    Favourite Dane Tyghe

@endas an ar@e. I suppose its always handy to blame someone else for your problems.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:33 PM

Power grab by FG. Vote no. Protect OUR democracy.

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:50 PM

Power grab by Sinn Fein. Vote No, protect democracy.

Mute endas a arse
    Favourite endas a arse

Your a looser

Mute endas a arse
    Favourite endas a arse
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:52 PM

Blame for what?usual fg bull make something up,your a fool

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:16 AM

The biggest loser tonight was Enda Kenny he has been found out.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:02 AM

we blamed the brits
    then we blamed FF
    then we blamed cowen
    now we blame enda
    and next year we will blame.. ? ? ?

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:12 AM

The Germans?

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:06 AM

It’s “you’re” aswell. Learn to spell.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

Enda must be wetting himself laughing at Richard Brutons performance. A lamb to the slaughter.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:27 PM

Martin should rile Bruton more about Kenny’s absence. It’ll fluster him eventually.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:38 AM

Enda is the exact same as cowen

he gets paid whether we like it or not

some people like him
    some hate him

he …does …not …care

Mute mr_bean_007
    Favourite mr_bean_007
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:19 PM

I never thought I’d say it but ‘I couldn’t agree more with you Mehole Martin’

Mute TheIrishBrain
    Favourite TheIrishBrain
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:37 PM

Its a big NO vote from me after that.

Mute Conor Marren
    Favourite Conor Marren
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:46 PM

Great stuff!

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:05 PM

Micheál Martin has checked the figures and is showing up Fine Gael, it’s clear why Enda Kenny was afraid to show up because he would choke on the lies

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:25 AM

Gerry Adams didn’t show up for some mysterious reason

oh yeahhhh RTE never invited him

maybe he was ashamed of himself tonight
    perhaps he felt like he was in no position to pontificate about right and wrong tonight

for some mysterious reason

Mute Liam McDonagh
    Favourite Liam McDonagh
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:55 AM

Amadán

Mute mada
    Favourite mada
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:32 PM

Why cant we not reform the Seanad AND the Dáil ?? they are on about the Seanad being elitist and undemocratic? They are saying the people don’t vote people into the Seanad, why cant we reform and give all the people a vote and not just abolish it?

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:47 PM

Because if we make it democratic and give everyone a vote we politicise it, get more politicians and if we do that we just have a second dail anyway which either backs the government and its status quo, or they back the opposition and then we’re in U.S territory of stalemate and lame duck government.

Mute Tony O'Reilly
    Favourite Tony O'Reilly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:29 AM

Having less discussion really worked in 2008, we need politicians to be accountable on issues as they evolve not just every five years when they pay us lip service with a manifesto they intend to ignore. Had we had discussion on the banking fiasco who knows where we might be today but I do know that saving 4 million a year or even 20 if you believe Bruton will do little or nothing for this economy, having a second house which is also accountable and may make some politicians feel uneasy at the questions it asks just might, if the issues of 2008 had been discussed in such a situation and had resulted in stalemate would we be in a worse position today

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:45 AM

elitist ?

telling a woman she is talking through her fanny

writing letters seeking clemency for a peado

if that is the ‘elite’ i would rather be common anyday

Mute Debbie Kenny
    Favourite Debbie Kenny
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:30 AM

That’s because she was and continues to talk through it, what a stupid woman

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 3rd 2013, 12:02 AM

‘writing letters seeking clemency for a peado’

if enda kenny or any other hetereo person in the seanad or dail did that ? ? ?

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

And now Brutals saying everything should be referred to public hearings! Jesus wept – where’s the saving there Dick? Who will be appointed to the committees needed for that to take place. Oh yeah I forgot – your pals. Unqualified numptys who’ll blindly do your bidding. What a shameless chancer you are.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:53 PM

Listen to the warnings about unelected “experts” involved in legislating… Frightening!

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:23 PM

Paul, better than elected place-men with little, or no, real world experience just pushing the party line, wouldn’t you say ?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:41 PM

I would completely disagree Joseph,
    When a Taoiseach invites his best buds to sit in Cabinet and “chip in” I’d say whatever happens in parliament would be irrelevant. Remember, we are supposed to elect our representation.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid

“I’ll let you in.”

WHY is Miriam O’Callaghan on the stage? Why is she standing between them?

Mute Sandra Webster
    Favourite Sandra Webster
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:03 PM

Because she is standing between two little boys that are trying to insult the Irish people!! Simple !

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:54 PM

can we abolish miriam o’callaghan? think of the savings, financial and otherwise

Mute Antonov Merinov
    Favourite Antonov Merinov
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:58 PM

In fairness… Bruton came across as more credible.
    And I am glad that Kenny was not confronted with Martin.
    Kenny has his qualities bu het has not got the skills in confrontation.
    Great debate.

Mute Jamie Kenny
    Favourite Jamie Kenny
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:09 PM

Personally I’d disagree, I thought Bruton seemed smug and arrogant which overshadowed his credibility, very much “above the people”. For all his failings, Martin seems to connect with people more…

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:18 AM

the irish people deserve to be insulted

we used to be drunks

now we’re drunks looking for a handout

Mute Philip Riordan
    Favourite Philip Riordan
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:27 PM

speak for ur self

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 3rd 2013, 8:15 PM

your *

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle

Well that looked a clear win for the NOs. Quite simply put by that barrister lady anne Fitz……? What’s the rush?

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:34 PM

Enda, Enda, Enda! Have you learnt nothing from the Cowen era?

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:06 PM

I’m not a FG lover. But Christ give up about Kenny. I think it’d refreshing to see others be in these debates. Kenny is obviously a manager of people.

if u were the barca manager would you want to take penalties in a football match when uve asked Messi to practice them all season.

Politics has changed and those banging on about Kenny are judging politics on personality and not substance and we know where that took us before

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:14 PM

Good point Tiger however if he is serious about reform he should be in front of the people to sell the idea. He makes himself seen at the announcement of the new jobs being created in the “years to come” or maybe he is genuinely not comfortable with the lies.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix

Yea he still has no backbone

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:16 PM

No, Tiger, I think it’s important to call Kenny on his failure to show up and stand up for what he claims is important. It’s not about personality; it’s about the fact that he is the leader of the country, and doesn’t have the cojones to stand over his proposal. That makes one ask a lot of questions.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss

Why should he – there are other people much better in the party to do that. Just don’t think all this Kenny thing is progressive. Look at the bigger picture rather then a debate on tv.

And Kenny has been out – same as Adams and the rest. It’s just petty in my opinion

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:22 PM

But this is not about a one off TV debate. He has spoken to numerous media outlets. This demand to see him on TV is petty and narrow minded. I don’t like FG but I’d rather the debate be about substance rather then personalities.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:41 PM

Guys this is a game of chess. FF did it before and FG are doing it now. Suck it up FF.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:46 PM

The TV debate is where most people engage with this debate, Tiger. We hear bits and pieces on the media, but the tv debate has become a major forum for debate in recent years. And for the leader of the government which has introduced this proposal to refuse to debate it is very bad. And to send in his own version of Colin Powell further weakens his case.
    I repeat, it’s NOT about personalities. It’s about roles. Kenny’s role is leader of the country, his role is to stand over his proposal.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:06 PM

If it’s not about personalities why so fixed up with the Leader. In present day business u take ur lead from the qualified spokesperson. Would it have been better if Kenny came into studio and said he stands over this proposal and will ask my key spokesperson on this issue to speak to you on it

This happens in every company throughout the world. This all boils down to personalities. It should be about substance and by saying u need to see ur leader stand over this only confirms that opinion. U should be ur own person and ur choice should be based more the a face on a TV Debate

Mute ISBA
    Favourite ISBA

Afraid Enda doesn’t have the gravitas, the competence or the leadership qualities to lead a Boy Scouts Patrol and he is surrounded by equals and that’s being nice. Minister Bruton waffled about dysfunctional regulatory authorities; a bit rich from a man that has been largely responsible for regulatory failure [Competition Authority] and to lessor extent Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement. Minister Bruton presides over the theft of more than €2,400 per year from each household in the State through criminal cartel behaviour. Forget about FF, we have dealt with them for the minute, its these new kids on the block we have to worry about – chancers.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:12 PM

Being a leader is a ROLE. Not a personality. With the role of leader comes responsibility, and the duty of showing leadership. He IS the qualified spokesman, not some dogsbody he sent who clearly was uncomfortable with what he was saying.

Mute ISBA
    Favourite ISBA
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:12 PM

No substance with Kenny, that’s the problem. It’s just yes Ms. Merkel, how high should I jump and then please Ms. Merkel, can you get Time magazine to portray me as a magnificent Statesman.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:20 PM

Whats this role? He is entitied to change the preconceived role of taoiseach. God it needs freshness.

Id prefer this style. And as a SF supporter I’d prefer Doherty speaking on finance and Mary Lou on affairs rather then Adams. Just being honest.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:29 PM

The role, Tiger, is one of LEADER. The leader is the one who shows leadership, and who stands over what he believes, not sends a subordinate out to do his dirty work.
    Richard Bruton is no more an expert on this issue than anyone else, and was clearly floundering.

You’re a SF supporter? Hmm. A bit rich, a SF supporter talking about democratic poltics.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:41 PM

But he has stated he stands over it. Why u want to see him on TV. It’s black & white.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:45 PM

Tiger, I want to hear his arguments as to WHY he stands over it, and I want to hear him defend himself in a debate. Surely that’s not too much to ask?

I know your style of politics is the obey the great leader and accept what he says, but that’s not the way democracy works. In democratic parties and systems, leaders have to account for their actions and opinions.

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:01 AM

Grainne you can’t get all u want. That is being spoilt. He has made numerous statements on this matter to the media and is out and about daily meeting people.

Ur desire to see a TV debate cement ur views is sad and clearly not aligned to my views where opinion is formulated over a period of time and brings in all manners of communications. It’s quite outdated when u look at international politics and recent trends in Germany, USA & Australia.

Mute Keith D'Arcy
    Favourite Keith D'Arcy
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:08 AM

To take the football analogy, the manager has to field questions about his tactics. Kenny, as manager, is not fielding questions about his tactics. He has also singularly failed to explain to me why I should vote in favour of his proposal to abolish the Seanad.

Mute Catherine Lynch
    Favourite Catherine Lynch
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:49 AM

Especially when he admitted in the Dail a few weeks ago that HE decided that the Seanad be abolished, not his party, but HE. This was confirmed by Leo the Lion on the Vincent Browne show when he said that the party was told ‘albeit after the event’ that this was the policy. then Enda expects the party to sell HIS decision. surely HIS decision should have been defended by HIMSELF. He is no leader.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:10 AM

the irish like blaming people
    they were looking forward to attacking Enda but he never gave them the chance

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:29 AM

Sorry, I had to leave the debate early to get some sleep as I have an early start thanks to the construction industry not sticking to payment terms. There is legislation that Fergal Quinn is trying to get through the Dail but after many many years and the fall of many many companies it is still not brought into law fully. Is that a plus or a minus for the Seanad.
    After sleeping on the debate I’m sliding towards a no vote I think now.

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:13 AM

It has nothing to do with backbone…he is not capable of debating and has no confidence in his ability to debate…

Mute Tiger Bayliss
    Favourite Tiger Bayliss
    Oct 2nd 2013, 10:52 AM

@Keith – a manager only talks game strategy after match is played

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:16 AM

Tiger blueshirt

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:46 PM

Did Martin just call Miriam, Mary?

Mute Sean Cassidy
    Favourite Sean Cassidy
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:13 PM

In fairness she called him Minister twice lol

Mute Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:45 PM

My god Fine Gael disgust me almost as much as anybody who voted for them.

Mute Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:56 PM

Also, anybody who quotes best practice and expert advice is just creating excuses in advance of failure. This debate is two top parties bitching more than it is a debate about the seanad.

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow

Well luckily they wouldn’t care what you think.

Mute Ciarán O'Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:29 PM

You wouldn’t have felt the need to respond if that was true.

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow

Just thought I’d point it out.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:52 PM

Richard Brutal looks shaken – he’s lying again. Angry little cretin that he is. He’s deluded & frankly dangerous.

Mute Aran Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Aran Fitzpatrick
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:00 PM

John Crown just made some great points there..

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:17 PM

He’s a decent skin, no bull with him

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:01 PM

Shame he doesn’t focus on his Seanad job and show up for votes.

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin

Why is it that the ones shouting for a yes vote are taking cheap shots at those voting NO, maybe it’s because they can’t admit that the truth is coming out

Mute Buzz n Pip
    Favourite Buzz n Pip
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:48 PM

Well Michael do you have a senate vote? That’s a fair question

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:56 PM

No I don’t. You don’t need a senate vote to see that Bruton was taking cheap shots.

Mute Ciara Sherlock
    Favourite Ciara Sherlock
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:48 PM

Definitely No side won that debate…Well done…Total Lies from the Government….and then they want Total Power as well. VOTE NO on Friday!

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann

At the end of the day Enda Kenny is not taking part what does that say about our democracy ?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

Nothing

Mute Sean O Mara
    Favourite Sean O Mara
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:09 PM

Briton keeps going back to how the last government acted and all that, this is about the future not the past. We can’t change what’s already happened.

Mute Michael Bergin
    Favourite Michael Bergin

Fair play to Micheál Martin for bringing up the fact that when the Fine Gael TDs voted against the government they were flung out.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

That’s called the party whip system: it’s also operated by Fianna Fáil, There were several independent Fianna Fáil tD’s in HHS last Dail.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

In the last Dail even

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:27 AM

“That’s called the party whip system”.

Correct. And while that system is still in place there needs to be a reformed second house with the power to keep check of the person holding the whip i.e. enda the europhile.

Mute Bren Adams
    Favourite Bren Adams
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:47 PM

Miriam O’Callaghan should not be chairing this debate she is Fianna Fail born and breed

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:00 PM

And showing it.

In fairness no difference between FF & FG different cheeks of the same arse.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:24 PM

Miriam is a lightweight interviewer. Best suited to light entertainment, and even then all her questions are scripted and she sticks to the script.

Mute Mary Cleary
    Favourite Mary Cleary
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:07 PM

I agree totally with you on Miriam. I used to be a fan but I’ve realised lately how lightweight she is and as for sticking to the script- yesterday morning she stated that Paul Brady was born in Strabane county Down! She was obviously reading it from a script and for an intelligent woman she didn’t even notice the mistake. She has deteriorated in her serious questioning since she became more involved in light entertainment. She’s falling between the two now.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:19 PM

Almost all political interviewers have preprepared questions at hand, but they can deviate in an ad lib manner and head down a different route if the debate.or conversation is flowing. She can’t do that, and she never could.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:16 AM

and if she was angry
    angry enough to be patriotic
    and vote SF a party that shook hands with garda killers

that would be OK yeah ?

Mute Citizen Keen
    Favourite Citizen Keen

Just watched Primetime…. I now convinced more than ever to vote NO….. Why??? Cause I think FG/LABOUR are railroading the people into making a decision which will remove vital section of our constitution based on financial savings…. I really hope that the people of this country are not gullible and can see this for what it really is….. A GRAB FOR MORE POWER…. It’s sickening that Kenny hasn’t the balls he was born with to debate this issue…. Does he expect the electorate to not question this

Mute Shane Hartnett
    Favourite Shane Hartnett
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:36 PM

Which of these two liars am I going to believe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:07 PM

The liar that isn’t from FF

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:12 AM

would you rather listen to the leader of SF
    who was ‘never a member’ of the IRA and whose brother abused his own daughter

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:45 PM

I don’t know about Michael Collins being a langer, but Micheal Martin definitely is. He and his party had years in power to change the Seanad, they didn’t. Then there’s the fact that he was complicit in all the FF policies that ruined this country.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

Mistakes were made but people have learnt from them, the electorate also played a very large part in blowing the boom.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan

Well, at least, Dermot, he admits that they should have.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:21 PM

As someone said on the show: a deathbed conversion.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:14 AM

michael collins is the exact same as bobby sands
    he died for nothing
    he died so people would get sick and tired and leave the country

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

Sinn Fein want to abolish the Seanad – incredible really given their long history of putting guns literally to people’s heads to get a vote. Their a joke. FG are a joke as are Labour & FF but the jokes on all of us. Vote No – vote for reform & vote for an alternative to all the lousy lowlifes that pass themselves off as our leaders when the time comes.

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:25 PM

We aren’t being offered an alternative.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:04 PM

Once a No vote id given then we canstart to explore the options for reform and after they are teased out have them approved by the people.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:35 AM

17 years it took Gerry Adams to say sorry to jerry mccabes family,, and he only said that because donoghue was murdered. in my heart and soul i know if that guard wasn’t murdered the mccabe family would still be waiting

Mute Noble Gas
    Favourite Noble Gas
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:44 PM

Bruton looks like Gollum. We likes it. No we wants to keep it. No we must kill it. Precious…

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:25 PM

Miriam is just terrible. Truly terrible.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:49 PM

We can all agree on that. Not able to chair a debate.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:40 AM

please don’t forget
    she was the only TV presenter that stood up to martin mcguinness during the presidential debates
    nobody else,, not even vincent browne did that

and he threatened her as a result

Mute Sexy Taoiseach
    Favourite Sexy Taoiseach
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:57 PM

Enda is a coward what is the rush to do this I smell some FG sneaky shi* in the background.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:14 AM

Taking people’s attention away from the budget

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:11 PM

Agreed Citizen, it is absolutely a grab for power. The governments contention that there will be a saving of 20 million and the accusation of the Seanad being elitist and totally ineffective is a complete smoke screen of what they are really trying to do. Like you I hope, in fact I know, the Irish voters are smart enough to see thru this. We are, in effect, being asked to vote blind, to remove sections of our Constitution based on, as one speaker said on Primetime, an IOU that we can cash in down the line. To be honest, I don’t think either Richard Bruton or Micheal Martin put forward any compelling arguments on either side but I was much more convinced by the NO campaigners in the audience.
    Can we really allow ourselves to trust and allow our government to sway us into making a decision when out Taoiseach, our so called leader, is too much of a coward to go on TV to debate the issue. Is he afraid that the the overhead camera will show up Angela Merkel’s thumb prints on the top of his head ???

Mute Paul Mccluskey
    Favourite Paul Mccluskey
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:37 PM

Celtic just beaten ,Not happy :(

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:49 PM

Hardly a surprise

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:58 PM

Bruton beaten. Quite pleased.

Mute Gar
    Favourite Gar
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:29 PM

My vote has changed to NO.

This government is looking for more power and while the Seanad is currently broken, it should be reformed, not removed.

Anyone else think this referendum is taking the heat away from the budget in a few weeks!!

Mute msk
    Favourite msk
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:40 PM

Gar, you say it should be reformed, how so? Reform is an easy line to throw out, be more specific!?!

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:52 PM

Absolutely spot on Gar. They must think we are all gob shites if they think we can’t see this.

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:42 PM

Was hoping for an empty FG chair, a la Clint Eastwood.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:55 AM

oh yeah clint was wrong
    and obama is loved by everybody in america

and that’s why the government has shut down obviously : )

Mute Declan Healy
    Favourite Declan Healy
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:27 PM

The people of Ireland need to put political affiliations, the past and local politics aside and realise what this means to our rights as citizens.. If we abolish the one safe guard we have, although it might not be used often enough, we leave ourselves in a situation where the people we elect are in a position to do, say and act as they please, in our name without an active way of deterring it (the president doesn’t have enough power or the judiciary) I will be voting no simply because these people are supposed to represent me.. With the two houses their doing a piss poor job, with only one house it can’t get any better.. We rightly distrust our political system so why give them the tools to be more untrustworthy. Regardless of Enda, Martin, Eamon, Gerry or whoever… This is a bad choice for democracy as a whole… Rant over

Mute David Gorman
    Favourite David Gorman
    Oct 2nd 2013, 4:17 PM

Sometimes a rant isn’t necessarily a bad thing. It can be very frustrating when you are trying to get through to people who just don’t get it. Unfortunately the big problem is getting folk to.listen. If the Seanad is abolished I believe we will all regret it in a very short time.

Jeeze, the thought of Enda and his cronies having free reign!

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:44 PM

Martin to win in third round

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:33 PM

This better be good missing first episode of homeland.

Mute Buzz n Pip
    Favourite Buzz n Pip
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:43 PM

You didn’t miss much, very messy. Saw the end of this just as messy

Mute Amanda Rogers✨
    Favourite Amanda Rogers✨
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:09 AM

It’s on channel 4 on Sunday night

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:13 PM

BTW…real democracy is ensured by going out to vote on Friday……!!

Hope the turnout is decent…though after the dreadful turnout for the children’s referendum ( following all the abuse of children over the years in this country!!)….I doubt it!

Mute Bren Adams
    Favourite Bren Adams
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:07 PM

Richard Bruton outnumbered two to one Miriam O’Callaghan should leave the stage

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:29 AM

Liam Adams exposed as long as nobody mentioned his brothers activities
    when gerry adams was interviewed by miriam
    he acted like the waiter in fawlty towers — “i knowww nnootthhiinnggggg ”
    Gerry Adams should leave the dail
    if he has any, even a little respect for the victims

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:34 PM

Well were you more impressed by the NO or YES side?
    Red thumbs for NO, Green for YES.

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views

Richard Bruton was terrible.

That young Martin fella has some fresh ideas, pity he wasn’t around a few years ago might’ve made some reforms and saved us from the crisis…… oh wait…

Mute W.j.d.
    Favourite W.j.d.
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:59 PM

Ff are full of fresh ideas when sucking on an empty teat……

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy

:-D
    Nice one “My Views”….

Re the terror about loosing our “democracy”….

The government is formed by the majority vote…that’s democracy.
    In Ireland that government have the majority in the Dail and the Senad…so what passes the Dail…passes the Senad….!

Senad will always be a stamping house as all…such as it has ever been!!

LOL…I thought at one stage Michael Martin was suggesting government by consensus!!…CJ would be turning in his plot at that one!!

WE decide on the fate of our governemnt every 5(ish) years….THATS democracy!

Get rid of the Senad….it achieves nothing!

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:53 AM

but think about all the inspiring people that came out of the seanad

mary robinson

and david norris

there that’s 2 people

Mute Shane Walsh Pics
    Favourite Shane Walsh Pics
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:09 PM

Anytime I look at Michael Martin I think “Rats From The Flats”

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:31 AM

Anytime i look at Sinn Fein I think “Human Sewage”

Mute Liam McDonagh
    Favourite Liam McDonagh
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:57 AM

What rock do you live under

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:58 PM

the same rock SF were hiding under when the queen visited

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:51 PM

Jesus , my children could hold a better argument ,

Mute Ben Reilly
    Favourite Ben Reilly
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:13 PM

Mine do …

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:57 PM

Does anyone know is there a debate re the court of criminal appeal. It hasn’t been discussed. Very hard to vote with so little debate about it.

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:49 PM

You are correct Tiger. My understanding of it, if it is passed, is that it is just going to be another gravy train for our greedy solicitors, barristers and judges to ride on. I can almost hear the sound of them rubbing their hands in glee in anticipation of the extra dosh that’s likely to be available. Perhaps this is an over simplification of it but if somebody can put forward a credible argument for it then I am prepared to listen.

Mute Ken Smollen
    Favourite Ken Smollen
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:40 AM

If the Court of Appeal referendum is passed it will fast track repossessions for the banks. The delay in appeals being heard in the Supreme Court is a the only hope a lot of families have of spending more time in their own homes!

Mute Ken Smollen
    Favourite Ken Smollen
    Oct 2nd 2013, 2:02 AM

VOTE NO and NO

Mute Daithí Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Daithí Mac Suibhne
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:20 AM

My barrister girlfriend tells me there is no such consensus among her colleagues, nor such sinister hand-wringing at the prospect of it passing. She believes it is totally unnecessary. The supreme court IS the court of appeals. There is a huge delay in hearing cases, yes, but more sittings and qualified judges are needed, not a whole new court.

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid

Pretty poor debate. Not sure either of them are going to change any minds…

Mute harpurlee
    Favourite harpurlee

I’d give miriam a lash

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:14 PM

A teach her a lesson one.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 1st 2013, 9:48 PM

Paul
    Can I ask you..do you guys work from home or do you do this stuff in the office?
    Cheers

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:36 PM

Hi Tigers,

I am safely ensconced in the office: https://twitter.com/PTHosford/status/385130127652564993

Paul

Mute Tigerisinthezoo

Appreciate the reply. Just was thinking that with all things modern some of these things would be done remotely.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:49 PM

Oh you’re one of those foodie snobs Paul, bet you washed it all down with a bottle of Luco, posh

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c

It was a can of Coke.

I don’t forget my roots.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:26 PM

As long as it wasn’t a line of Coke.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo

Richard Bruton is an excellent debater.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:37 PM

A master debater?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:43 AM

we simply have an obsolete institution in the seanad
    it’s elected by just 1% of the population
    the vast majority of people have no say
    its powers are extremely limited
    it was never the watchdog that people sometimes expect
    the truth is
    the last time it even delayed the legislation was in 1964
    a watchdog that only barks once in every 50 years
    is not a very effective watchdog

Mute Roddie Cleere
    Favourite Roddie Cleere
    Oct 2nd 2013, 12:30 AM

VOTE NO

Mute Donald clifford
    Favourite Donald clifford

Martin the alter boy of politics, NOT, what a bluffer, lacks credibility, the guy has some neck but i guess that was never in short in ff circles

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:22 AM

were my ears working when brutal said a government stands on its pledges?
    not this one!

Mute Ken Smollen
    Favourite Ken Smollen
    Oct 2nd 2013, 4:19 AM

THE IMPORTANCE OF VOTING ON OCTOBER 4TH

Next Friday we must ALL get out and vote NO and NO. The proposed new ‘Court of Appeal’ could also be called the ‘Mortgage Court’. At present the delay in hearing appeals to the Supreme Court means that hard up families can stay in their homes a little longer. The new ‘Court of Appeal’ will simply fast-track repossessions on behalf of the bailed out banks!

As far as the ‘Seanad’ referendum is concerned this is a total power grab by our corrupt regime. With FG and SF now in the courtship stage of their blossoming relationship, he and his newly intended coalition partners Sinn Fein will replace the Seanad with their chosen few who will sit on Dail and Oireachtas committees, aided by their sub-committees and advisors which will probably cost a lot more than any saving made by the abolition of the Seanad! This would be the ultimate ‘jobs for the boys’ scam ever pulled and it would probably give them a better sense of achievement than robbing let’s say £26.5m from a bank! If FG and their newly betrothed succeed in their mission they’ll deserve great credit for successfully pulling the wool over the Irish electorates’ eyes again! And boy will our Enda get a few more pats on the head from Angela!

We cannot and must not let this corrupt regime remove the watchdog that is the Seanad. They are simply diluting our democracy where the Irish people will be completely removed from any decision making with the regime being accountable to nobody but themselves. A man from Angela’s part of the world called ‘Hitler’ did something similar in Germany in 1934 when as Chancellor he abolished the Presidency and seized complete control….What Chancellor Kenny is doing now might be far removed from the days of Hitler, but if you look closely enough you might even see some similarities! Look even closer and you might even see similarities between Enda’s regime and the ‘Vichy’ government in France who collaborated with their German masters keeping them happy by inflicting pain, suffering and death on their own people. As they say ‘POWER CORRUPTS, ABSOLUTE POWER CORRUPTS ABSOLUTELY’!

Enda and the regime have made their move. It’s our move next Friday!

Mute msk
    Favourite msk
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:13 AM

Ken, The government is asking us, the citizens of Ireland if we would like to keep or scrap the Seanad, as everyone accepts how useless it currently is!
    How can you compare him to Hitler as a result of giving that option???

Mute Ken Smollen
    Favourite Ken Smollen
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:19 PM

The government are advocating a YES vote to abolishing the Seanad, the’re not asking if we would like to retain it or not! At best this a diversionary stunt, but like a lot of people I’m convinced that it’s nothing short of a power grab. As they say, ‘If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, it a duck’. Same applies with this!

Mute Declan OGrady
    Favourite Declan OGrady
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:49 AM

So how are we saving €20m if we are redeploying the senad staff under the Haddington road agreement? Sounds like more lies to me

Mute Buzz n Pip
    Favourite Buzz n Pip

This is far more entertaining than anything I have watched tonight

Mute Trish Forde-Brennan
    Favourite Trish Forde-Brennan
    Oct 2nd 2013, 10:46 AM

The more I think about it the more uneasy I become.I am voting No.More power to an already over – centralised government is not good for Democracy and not good for me, the citizen.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:12 PM

Its gone to an ad, who is winning?

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid

Miriam.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:56 PM

For me I don’t think there was any real winner from the debate. There was no moment or big truth revealed that could have swung it.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:03 AM

If the question is whether or not to change your system of government, and theres no real winners from the debate of that vital question, surely the prudent thing to do is leave well enough alone until there is a convincing argument?

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:54 AM

What was clear from last nights debate was how little there is between FF & FG ideology.
    Also the fact that Sinn Fein were not invited when they have lead the Yes Campaign on the street shows the Political bias of our State Broadcaster!

Mute Greenes Bar Neasden
    Favourite Greenes Bar Neasden
    Oct 1st 2013, 11:51 PM

Is Kenny like DeVelera

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:51 AM

oh you mean he does all the talking and lets some langer do all the dirty work (and get killed)

Mute Barry Joseph Murphy
    Favourite Barry Joseph Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2013, 1:45 AM

We need a system that allows the public to vote on each issue as it arises on a weekly basis.Real democracy.They tried it once with the e voting system for elections,but I’m sure a similar system could be built now for a fraction of the cost,and very functional too.Then the elected politicians could come up with the future proposed legislation,and the people of Ireland could all vote on the proposals regularly.Maybe,you would not need politicians at all then,and you could let the top civil servants come up with the proposals for the people to vote on.Ah,that would be too honest,sure it would never work in Ireland I suppose!

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Oct 1st 2013, 10:55 PM

That wasn’t ‘the writer Colm Toibin’ but someone called ‘Colm Tobin’ tweeting that last comment!

Mute Siobhan King
    Favourite Siobhan King
    Oct 2nd 2013, 4:39 AM

Hi I was in the audience of prime time tonight and really wanted to speak but I didn’t get a chance to speak. Any opinions or recommendations? I am undecided and not attached to any political party.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Oct 2nd 2013, 5:58 AM

Siobhan,
    If the yes side haven’t convinced you to make such drastic changes to the constitution, why would you vote yes?
    They want the Seanad abolished, but they cannot give a convincing reason why.
    If you are in any doubt, vote no. Let them come up with valid convincing reasons to vote yes.
    If it’s undemocratic, let them make it more democratic. Don’t let them throw the baby out with the bath water.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 14th 2013, 3:38 PM

is it fun ?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 3rd 2013, 12:06 AM

browne *

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Oct 3rd 2013, 12:05 AM

after watching the vincent browe seanad debate,, i think we should keep the senate