You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Kuzma

The North's strict new sex laws have kicked in. What does that mean for the Republic?

There are warnings the new laws will make Dublin and the border counties more attractive for pimps and traffickers.

NORTHERN IRELAND HAS become the first part of the UK to make paying for sex a criminal offence, after new laws came into effect this morning.

The Stormont Assembly passed the Human Trafficking and Exploitation Bill, which includes a clause criminalising payment for sex, late last year.

Up until today – only various aspects of prostitution have been illegal. For example, running a brothel.

It was a pretty uncontroversial measure in the North – with Assembly members voting by 81 to 10 in favour of making it a crime to pay for sex.

Supporters of the Bill argued it would tackle one of the main drivers of human trafficking.

Opponents, however, argued that the new laws would be difficult to enforce.

Warnings

Campaigners here have warned that the new laws in the North will make Dublin and the border counties far more attractive for pimps and traffickers – and called for an all-island approach to the problem.

“There is no doubt that sex buyers will make the short journey over the border in order to escape the law and the pimps and traffickers will follow,” Denise Charlton of the Immigrant Council of Ireland said.

The North’s action on the issue would act as a “push factor,” she claimed.

What’s being done?

Frances Fitzgerald, the justice minister, confirmed last November that the Irish Government was also planned to make paying for sex a criminal offence, following a recommendation from the Oireachtas Justice Committee.

Penalties of up to €500 for a first offence will be imposed – rising to €1,000 for a second or subsequent offence. 

“The second is the more serious offence of purchasing a sexual service from a trafficked person and carries a potential penalty of up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine,” the Minister said, in her latest update on the planned laws.

“In both cases, the person selling the sexual service will not be subject to an offence.”

The new Bill is categorised as ‘priority legislation’ and is expected to be published in the current Dáil session.

Isn’t prostitution already illegal here? 

Under section 6 of the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 1993, it is an offence to solicit in a street or public place for the purpose of prostitution.

It’s also an offence, under the same Act to organise prostitution, to knowingly live on the earnings of a prostitute or to keep or manage a brothel.

Public order legislation prohibits the advertising of brothels and prostitution.

While the Immigrant Council and other groups campaigning under the ‘Turn off the Red Light’ banner have called for the promised legislation to be progressed through the Oireachtas as soon as possible, in light of the developments in the North, the Minister said:

I am satisfied that these provisions are adequate to address any impacts to this State arising from upcoming reforms in other jurisdictions.

Read: Lawmakers told that prostitution is sexual violence and that domestic violence is a crime >

Read: Over 300 women affected by trafficking and prostitution needed help last year >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:38 AM

Why don’t they buy or rent a building like the rest of us? Squatters should have no rights whatsoever and it’s a disgrace that people can’t get them out of their properties without going through the legal system. If I own a building and someone else thinks they can live in it for free they are seriously deluded.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:57 AM

The law is not on their side here as there is no such thing as squatters rights.
    But it does raise the question about whether a landlord can leave a building empty and become derelict when there is a shortage of supply, a lack of housing and a decimation of public and social services. Especially for more than a decade and during not one, but two property booms.
    There were some laws passed which would allow the Council to take possession of such buildings, yet DCC and others do not seem to have done much here. More laws are obviously needed with possibly the DOE giving councils a kick up the ar$€

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:56 AM

This building was lying empty due to a ownership debate and couldn’t be sold until it was finalised. It is very valuable and an eyesore. It was set to be redeveloped a few yrs ago but the court has taken some time to remove the squatters. These squatters are hippyish self entitled morons. They are holding back employment by not allowing this building be redeveloped creating real jobs.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:02 AM

“Ireland’s most famous squatters”? – never heard of them before now.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:00 PM

Same. I thought this was going to be about the DIT campus squatters.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:04 PM

Neither have I. Like the journalist also portrays them well. Its quite simple. Man buys building. People enter and squat. Man “asks” for them to be removed in *court* because he owns and wants to sell and theres a risk they could sue for accident. Squatters are not paying rent. This threat annoys squatters. Squatters go to journal complaining and looking pathetic with no structured argument or addressing any open obvious questions. journalist gives them platform without asking the obvious questions like “don’t you realize that you *don’t* own the building.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 1st 2015, 2:23 PM

“Irelands most famous squatters” were those pompous arrogant clowns in Dalkey – they are the ones that I would have a problem with squatting.

In this case,
    IF the building has been vacant,
    IF they are not damaging it or engaging in any illegal or anti-social practices and IF they are not hindering the owners taking back full vacant possession, then why not leave them there until the time comes that an agreed date can be arranged for them to move out.

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:40 AM

They basically want to live rent free and without having to work. Try get a job and live in the real world. Then you can keep your home and do what you like with the rest of your money. Stop wasting ours!

Mute Thomas Mac Donagh
    Favourite Thomas Mac Donagh
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:37 AM

imagine you owned a property and these undesirables felt they had some right to just take it from you. would you even negotiate with them? Personally i would envisage them bouncing off the pavement as they are swiftly ejected mid sentence

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:41 AM

Crazy country.. The people that DONT own the building can trespass and set up businesses in it etc.. The people that DO own it have to go to court in order to get back their building. Nuts.

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Favourite Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:51 PM

Crazy county… The people occupy a building that has been lying vacant for over a decade in ruins, and turn it into a hub of activity. The people who claim ownership leave it to rot and then go running to the courts when people decided to fix it up. Nuts.

Mute Dave Bolger
    Favourite Dave Bolger
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:55 AM

I assume the fact they are running a business from this building they are fully tax compliant and are paying commercial rates.

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 3:18 PM

It’s all run on an non-profit basis. The money that comes in from donations goes directly back into the space; it’s completely self contained.

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 4:35 PM

Everything is run on a non-profit basis. All of the money that comes in via donations is directly put back into the space; it’s completely self contained.

Mute Paul Gregg
    Favourite Paul Gregg

you won’t see the council scrambling to find emergency accommodation for these.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny

Fair play to them, whether or not you agree worth there idea you have to respect that they live it as they talk it. If they have to move hopefully they get another storable building. I can’t see that they’re harming anyone, good luck to them

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:40 AM

Worth = with storable = suitable :(

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:51 AM

Fair play to them? They’re squatters, they don’t own the building. Too many people think they can just take or occupy what is not theirs.

If they put as much effort and resources into seeking employment and working, as they have done refurbishing this building, maybe they could afford a place of their own.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:05 AM

Yeah they should move on, but it was empty for years before they moved in. Not everyone sees life/society the same. Is have more respect for people like this than someone bucking the system in the normal ways, at least they are living life on their principles, even if we don’t agree with them, is more positive than sitting on the street begging

Mute Scarlett Hutchin
    Favourite Scarlett Hutchin
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:44 AM

Yes, they could, and they could lock the doors and refuse to do anything for anyone else, ever. Wouldn’t that be nice.

Instead they put all that effort into fixing up a building that had been left to rot and running a space that benefits hundreds of people locally. They don’t claim benefits or ask for anything except whatever donations people can afford.

If you go into the cafe with no money they will still feed you. Dreadful isn’t it.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:06 PM

I miss the days when you could send the police in the baton charge the crusty filth. They should move back home to their parents until they’ve grown up a bit more.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:38 AM

“My body..my choice..- legalize abortion”.

We know the types.

Mute John Johnson (KCCO)
    Favourite John Johnson (KCCO)
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:54 AM

Vegan cafe says it all

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:27 AM

John we believe in live and let live. …..remember

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:35 AM

Unlikely to be welcomed at the White Moose Cafe

Mute Anto Harris
    Favourite Anto Harris
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:14 AM

Jaysus. What is this country coming to? A few people try to make a difference, non-profit and using a city centre space that has been left to rot. Yet the majority of you take umbrage because they are not paying 1300+ a month for a hovel and are not as miserable as you. Keep eating what you’re fed.

Nov 1st 2015, 11:43 AM

Anto , how would you feel if you had a holiday home in the country that you don’t really use and a group of people moved in and decided to live there ?

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:59 AM

If it was a holiday home that I hadn’t set foot in and neglected for 10 years I wouldn’t give a fcuk.

Mute Anto Harris
    Favourite Anto Harris
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:43 PM

Hey Suzie. I think if I took that few holidays, I wouldn’t have a holiday home. Best; Anto.

Mute TrafficBatGirl
    Favourite TrafficBatGirl
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:28 AM

Ferdia?
    Enough said.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:41 AM

I know it’s not the issue, but why can’t you comment on an article if someone has been charged or a case is ongoing, yet here you have an ongoing case but also the fecking solicitor for one of the parties making interviews! WTF!

Mute Stephen Thompson
    Favourite Stephen Thompson
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:50 AM

Because this is a civil issue which has no jury whereas a criminal case would

Mute Mono Official
    Favourite Mono Official
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:43 AM

The property owners should take a leaf out of Gary Nevilles book here and let them stay for the winter, they can then leave at an agreed upon date next year.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:33 AM

They have been there 10 winters already

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:01 AM

They haven’t been there for ten years. The owner of the building left it vacant for ten years,

Mute Dave Bolger
    Favourite Dave Bolger
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:36 AM

Maybe the owner bought the premises 10 years ago, and by the time planning permission, for whatever their plans were, was granted the financial crash happened and couldn’t raise the finance to carry out such plans.

I don’t think many property owners or lenders think is is financially savvy to let a property sit there idle for such a long period unless there was some underlying circumstances

Mute Steve O'Connor
    Favourite Steve O'Connor
    Nov 1st 2015, 12:36 PM

They’ve only been there since March 15.

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:04 PM

Ownership of the building is unclear as the previous owner Ellen McGuill died over 13 years ago. A company named as Vandelure Limited is currently proclaiming ownership, but they don’t have any registered directors and their last publicly available records date back to 1992.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:08 AM

The owners were quite happy to leave these people here for over 10 years …they secured this building and kept it sliver. .the owners got free security and now they fancy a quick buck..I see the usual nazis are making comments but I’d ask them what they have done to help anyone apart from themselves

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:11 AM

Sliver?..predictive text…should be..kept building alive

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:08 PM

So if someone believes that you shouldn’t get a property for free it makes then a Nazi. You know you need to stop overusing that term since it is starting to lose its meaning.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 1st 2015, 2:04 PM

I see you live in London Stephen. .so mind your own business please…what happens in Ireland has nothing to do with you..

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:36 PM

What does living in London have to do with having an opinion on this or not? Any way that is irrelevant since I am moving back to Dublin in less than two weeks now. Looking forward to it. Can’t think of a better way to celebrate than reading about a gang of crusties being turfed out of a building they have no right to be in.

So fingers crossed it happens.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 1st 2015, 11:07 AM

Other countries, such as the UK, have laws that allow the council or state take back buildings from owners that leave them vacant for more than a few years.

These countries recognise that allowing buildings to become vacant for long periods of time or derelict should be classified as anti-social behaviour because it damages the rest of the area visually, financially and socially.

This building owner has left this building for ten years and should have the building taken off them an sold or put to a community use.

Mute anthony
    Favourite anthony
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:33 PM

So someone is left their family home and unable to fix it up for financial reasons. They save for years to do it up and realise they cant reach on it. They decide to sell and buy something smaller or in a cheaper area. Then realise the property is no longer theirs. This is a case of the working class getting shafted again

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:40 AM

of course the owners have to get rid of them they are there 10 years. anybody know what happens at 12 years. the squatters can claim adverse position.

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Nov 1st 2015, 3:15 PM

Only if there is no contact with the true owners. Once contact is made within 12 years it dose not. If however the owners go away again they can start again.

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 4:49 PM

The current inhabitants have only been in ownership since March of this year. The building has being occupied by different parties over the last ten years, primarily drug addicts and such like.

Mute Alkaline
    Favourite Alkaline
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:41 AM

The place will be alive with fleas and maggots.
    Anti establishment, know all pains in the hole.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:05 AM

Some people just need to grow up is

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:53 AM

I expect if there was a tragedy on the premises the owners will be fully liable for permitting the trespassers to occupy for so long and the SF/Eirigi/PBP/AAA rainbow coalition will be outside campaigning for justice.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas
    Nov 1st 2015, 10:30 AM

The new AAA headquarters

Mute GerryCummins
    Favourite GerryCummins
    Nov 1st 2015, 9:58 AM

Ireland doen’t “do” squatters rights..There is no provision in law for it…

Mute Maylena McEvoy
    Favourite Maylena McEvoy
    Nov 1st 2015, 3:32 PM

I think what they’ve done there is very inventive. I’ll genuinely feel sorry for this little community when they are forced to leave.

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:52 AM

Hey,
    Squatting is an action of occupying an abandoned or unoccupied area of land or a building – usually residential – that the squatter does not own, rent or otherwise have lawful permission to use.
    The judge might change the meaning of upward only rent, commercial rates and corporation tax when he is at it.
    The outcome of this one could be a game changer.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:10 PM

Hopefully he doesn’t. Irish society should not tolerate crusty filth who do not contribute in any tangible way .

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 6:59 PM

Squatters are offering a hell of a lot more to their local community than yourself propagating hate on the internet against people you know nothing about.

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:47 AM

My comment was removed for speaking out against squatters rights? Shameful

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Nov 1st 2015, 8:47 AM

Oops sorry

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Nov 1st 2015, 1:32 PM

Interesting. Article states that there’s similar squat setups in Cork. I’m not aware of any. Does anyone know of one?

Mute Aoibhinn Di Torí
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:07 PM

There’s currently only one known squat in Cork and as far as I’m aware it’s living space only.

Mute Fionn O'Malley
    Favourite Fionn O'Malley
    Nov 3rd 2015, 11:19 PM

I am quite shocked by some of the comments, what people fail to realise is that this building was unused and falling into a state of disrepair, there is a video interview on youtube in which members of the barricade in talk about how they renovated the building so that it could be used to house people, and so that it could be used as an anarchist social centre. The people involved with the Barricade Inn are not “undesirables”, all that they have done is set up a cafe, an “infoshop” and they have provided accommodation for people in an unused building, I don’t see the problem with that.

Mute anthony
    Favourite anthony
    Nov 1st 2015, 7:27 PM

“We have people coming from abroad because the squatting scene is beginning to flourish here” now that is all we need

Mute Gerry Finnegan
    Favourite Gerry Finnegan
    Nov 2nd 2015, 3:29 AM

Just kick them out ! If they don’t own he building nor pay rent for it out they go ! there’s always these people in life trying to get stuff for free ! If they want the building get jobs that can buy the place or pay rent ! End off have no time for any other excuses !

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus

The Mountcharles?