You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/ABC Photo

There are 1,420 people on the Irish sex offenders register - but none of their details are public

The Justice minister says the gardaí informs her of any breaches.

THERE ARE 1,420 sex criminals on the sex offenders list as of the last week.

The Minister for Justice, Frances Fitzgerald was asked by Denis Naughton for up to date figures.

Under Part 2 of the Sex Offenders Act 2001 persons convicted of a range of sexual offences are subject to notification requirements. This extends to any offenders convicted abroad of the same range of sexual offences who come to Ireland.

“I am informed by the Garda authorities that, as of 11 May 2015, there were 1,420 persons subject to the requirements of Part 2 of the Act,” said Fitzgerald.

While the term ‘sex offenders register’ is commonly used in Ireland, there is in fact no such register. The term is also not included in any section of the Sex Offenders Act 2001.

Gardaí

All offenders subject to the notification requirements are monitored by the Sex Offender Management and Intelligence Unit (SOMIU) at the Garda National Bureau of Criminal Investigation.

The Unit is supported by Garda Inspectors nominated in each Garda Division throughout the state.

Unlike some other jurisdictions, the details of where sex offenders live are not open to the public.

The minister said that all necessary resources are in place to monitor sex offenders living in the state, and where the gardaí become aware of any breaches, appropriate action is taken.

I am advised that the appropriate level of monitoring is carried out by An Garda Síochána and all breaches of the requirements which come to notice are pursued.

“I am also informed that when the Garda authorities become aware that a convicted sex offender has left or is intending to leave the state, the Sex Offender Management and Intelligence Unit ensures that the relevant law enforcement agency in the country of destination is advised via Interpol.”

Read: Ireland has a Witness Protection Programme and we’ve spent €400k on it this year>

Read: Turkish talent show teenager shot in the head after receiving death threats>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Jack Matthynssens
    Favourite Jack Matthynssens
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:58 PM

As Country towns go, Carrick is hard to beat on a Saturday night. As traditional music festivals go, it’s hard to beat the Joe Mooney in Drumshanbo. As sunny days go, it’s hard to beat Corry Strand on the shores of Lough Allen. For breathtaking scenery it’s hard to beat Inisfree and glencar waterfall. As relaxation goes, a cruise down the river Shannon is equally hard to beat. Leitrim has plenty to offer, it’s just a shame people don’t know about it more OR is that a blessing in disguise?

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Favourite John Mac Evilly
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:16 PM

A cruise on the Blue Moon cruiser from its berth opposite The Landmark Hotel to Lough Key and back on a sunny day is a “must do” trip.

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Oct 28th 2013, 12:03 AM

That should be Moon River not Blue Moon. Just had a grey moment.

Mute Rockspebbles
    Favourite Rockspebbles
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:07 PM

I’m living in Spain but I’ll be in Carrick for Easter doing a bit of cruising on the Shannon. Drumsna too. #loveit

Mute Erin Clarke
    Favourite Erin Clarke
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:08 PM

There’s something very trocaire boxy about this

Mute Paul McMahon
    Favourite Paul McMahon
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:42 PM

Have you seen Leitrim?! You would understand then! Lived there for four years, its HELL!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:13 PM

Is the bear a symbol of Leitrim’s wildlife….or Leitrim’s wild life?

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:26 PM

There’s something very imaginative about this. Ireland as a whole should get involved and I don’t mean staging the likes of The Gathering. The internet is the key. All we need to do is work together to make it happen. There’s 80 million members of The Irish Diaspora worldwide. Sure they’re even buying a bale of briquettes in The USA at 49 dollars a pop to create a bit of Irish atmosphere in their own homes.

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:49 PM

Jesus that’s a bit desperate!

Mute John Mac Evilly
    Oct 28th 2013, 12:59 AM

Desperate? No. Vital to save this country. Yes. We have only 4.5 million of us living on this island. We have an economy which is lying flat on its face. We need reinforcements. We have such in The Irish Diaspora. High time we recognised The Diaspora as being part of Ireland and how together we can get our beloved country back from the brink. Ireland is in as bad a situation now as it was in 1748 when the potato crop failed. Time we all realise that.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:10 PM

Leitrim is a stunning place to visit. I absolutely love it. When the shit hits the fan and the world is on your back, a visit to Leitrim is like a shower for your soul. Anybody who says different either hasn’t been there or is lying. Standing at the Bonet looking out onto Lough Gill, driving from Sligo to Glencar under Ben Bulben, having a major session in Carrick or simply downing a few pints in Dromahair. Leitrim can’t be beaten.

Mute Sean Carleton
    Favourite Sean Carleton
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:57 PM

That Road from Sligo to Manorhamilton has to be one of the nicest drives in the country

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:07 PM

“…to drive tourists back to the county”…. Makes it sound like they’ve been there before and have to be forced to re- visit!

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:38 PM

Exactly. I will not be revisiting. Once out, staying out of that hell hole.

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:18 PM

Leitrim should concentrate more on cycle tourism. I regularly cycle in Sligo, Roscommon, Donegal, Leitrim and Mayo and the roads in Leitrim are without doubt the best I’ve rode on.

Relatively low traffic volume with really smooth surfaces and lots of decent scenery.

Leitrim is also full of lakes, people could easily be attracted on fishing holidays with bit of promotion.
    Instead of begging people to visit the county they should just play to their strengths.

The problem is that they probably don’t even know what their strengths are.

People completely underestimate how beneficial activity based holidays can be for an area.

Mute Proinsias
    Favourite Proinsias
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:15 PM

Its not called Lovely Leitrim for nothing…Last night I had a pleasent dream I woke up with a smile I thought I saw loch Erins banks on the shore of the river Nile but it was lovely Leitrim where the shannon waters flow…

Mute Frank Foley
    Favourite Frank Foley
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:26 PM

Leitrim, Sligo and Donegal in my opinion are not promoted enough for tourism. I think hotels are over priced as well 79 euro per person for to share a room without breakfast is overpriced.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:52 PM

As Dustin the Turkey use to say Leitrim the land that time forgot,All joking aside I have friends from Leitrim and have spent many a weekend there great craic.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:09 PM

Why do they persist in marketing Leitrim as an entity? surely it is part of a natural region that includes Sligo and north Roscommon?
    Nobody sits down with a map in Germany or the USA and says ‘I think I’ll go to Leitrim this year.’ The whole idea of county councils having tourism departments is nuts; it should all be done by one central body or at least by a few regional ones that are based on logical divides and not on some other arbitrary division.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:18 PM

‘Now get on that fecking plane you shower of tourists and, when you get to Leitrim, tell them Paddy sent ya!’

Mute kyle flynn
    Favourite kyle flynn
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:20 PM

Ya always get asked about our one set traffic lights where ever ya go in the country!!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:21 PM

I heard that exact thing from Leitrim friends of mine, Kyle, so I made sure not to include it ;)

Mute Róisín Loughrey
    Favourite Róisín Loughrey
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:59 PM

Leitrim is beautiful but it won’t stay that way if hydraulic fracking is brought in here. It will turn the county into an industrial zone. There certainly won’t be any tourism if that is allowed to happen.

Mute Micheal Deasy
    Favourite Micheal Deasy
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:58 PM

The Leitrim diaspora is surely only about 11 or 12 people though??

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:08 PM

Not being rude, but what endearing qualities does Leitrim have apart from River / Lake activities? It always seems to rain there.

Mute Proinsias
    Favourite Proinsias
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:22 PM

Paul, Leitrim will have another quaility if you stay away.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:29 PM

Well said Proinsias I’d say that’s game set and match to you.

Mute Gobblor
    Favourite Gobblor
    Oct 27th 2013, 4:55 PM

Paul looks like the gym teacher from Glee.

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:56 AM

Bingo in Arvagh.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:11 PM

Hope the weather shines for you. The Shannon is a bitch when wet & dreary, great time for a Hot Whiskey,

Mute Rockspebbles
    Favourite Rockspebbles
    Oct 27th 2013, 3:17 PM

To be honest Paul the weather never bothered be. Sun is an advantage of course but not necessary. It’s the good company and the adventure.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Oct 27th 2013, 5:08 PM

So a county with fewer people than Bray has its own tourism quango… With a Chairman?

#jobs4theboys

Mute Rockspebbles
    Favourite Rockspebbles
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:18 PM

Aye but Leitrim is bigger and much more beautiful.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Oct 27th 2013, 9:31 PM

The Chairman, Joe Dolan, is a hotelier. I very much doubt he accepts a fee for this position; he does it for the love of his county. Of course he gets a bit of business from it but he’s a business man after all.

Mute Kian David Griffin
    Favourite Kian David Griffin
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:24 PM

Really looks like the only time these tourist boards care about the diaspora is when they can squeeze a few euros out of them

Mute Shaun Hannon
    Favourite Shaun Hannon
    Oct 28th 2013, 7:58 AM

Leitrim’s not a place, it’s a state of mind

Mute Stiofán Na Mara
    Favourite Stiofán Na Mara
    Oct 28th 2013, 3:19 PM

Yes indeed! Tourism is important and can be sustainable for the region as long as the fracking ‘industry’ is kept out. Fracking if allowed in will have catastrophic effects on local ecology and tourism.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 27th 2013, 8:19 PM

Cycling and walking in Ireland and not just Leitrim should be really pushed the spend is local and it uses the countryside as its main attraction,

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Oct 28th 2013, 8:55 AM

Leitrim is heaven on Earth. Pity there isnt more hot chix though.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Oct 28th 2013, 7:18 AM

Run a raffle first prize one week in Carrick on Shannon second prize two weeks in Carrick on Shannon.