You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shane Ross Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Shane Ross asks supporters: Is the time right for a new political movement?

The independent TD has emailed a small network of supporters and advisors to seek their views on the possibility of establishing a new political movement.

INDEPENDENT TD SHANE Ross has emailed a handful of people who advised and helped get him elected in 2011 to ask for their views on whether or not the time is right to set up a new political movement.

In an email to a small number of supporters just over a week ago, the high-profile Dublin South TD sought views on how they “feel” about the possibility of a new political movement and suggests a meeting on the matter in the coming weeks.

“Do you believe this is the right time to start a new political movement? Or to create more informal alliances between independents? Some TDs have already begun a process but so far they all come from one political background,” he said in the email, seen by TheJournal.ie

Ross wrote that he felt there is a “critical” need to end Fine Gael/Labour/Fianna Fáil “stranglehold over Irish politics” but said there is a question as to whether the time to do that is now.

He asked the supporters for their own thoughts on the issue, saying their help and advice during the last general election “entitles them to have their voice heard on this vital matter”.

Ross’s email comes on foot of the recent circulation of a document produced by three independent TDs, entitled ‘Independent Thought – United Vision’, which sets out a proposal to “work together for the improvement of society with a vision of making the State more responsive to the needs of citizens”.

The seven-page document, which has been seen by this website, outlines areas where it is envisioned the loose alliance of independent TDs could cooperate on issues such as equality, personal debt, human rights, community and local government.

It was produced by independent TDs Catherine Murphy, Thomas Pringle and John Halligan and has been circulated to other independent deputies in recent weeks with the view to establishing a loose alliance.

As well as the three TDs the possible alliance is likely to include former Labour minister Róisín Shortall, two former Labour TDs Patrick Nulty and Tommy Broughan, as well as independents such as Finian McGrath, Maureen O’Sullivan and Stephen Donnelly. Ross could also become involved.

Reform Alliance: ‘For far too long politics has been seen as a closed shop’

Declan Ganley: Need for a new political party is ‘obvious’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:40 AM

It is needed. Along with an overhaul of the legal profession and an end to the culture of overpaid and unfireable civil servants pulling all the strings. For a start.

Mute John Foody
    Favourite John Foody
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:51 AM

Well said Fergal.
    Policy #1
    A new tax on public paid for pensions, of 100% for amounts over 60k per year.

Mute Florence Haines
    Favourite Florence Haines
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:15 AM

Long overdue, a party that upholds,truth, honesty and fairness for a start

Mute Brian Keelty
    Favourite Brian Keelty
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:28 AM

One where the people have way more say in proceedings after an election… one where a government can be fired for lying through the behinds… if so, thwn I’m in

Mute FuxAcheLad
    Favourite FuxAcheLad
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:36 AM

@John Foody, Really? A tax of 100%? That just shows you’re either an extreme leftist idealist or just not great with simple arithmetic! “A new tax on public paid for pensions”… what does this mean? Do you mean a tax on the pension? A tax on the remaining salary? Is that on pension entitlements over 60k or on recipients of a salary exceeding 60k? The sentence isn’t even grammatically correct. Did you mean publicly funded pensions? Site’s like this Journal.ie really are great for giving people like you a voice, but thank f$%k nobody takes any notice of you.

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:43 AM

Strangely, I understood what he meant. Why are you ranting? Here’s a cup of tea.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:50 AM

Very simple @lad – it is not Marxism to allow for public funded pensioners to receive more in retirement than the majority of its contributors earn at their peak, it is common (even capitalist) sense. Taxing at 100% allows their dubious contracts to be fulfilled.

Mute John Foody
    Favourite John Foody
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:06 AM

@FuxAcheLad

My opinion is that pensions funded with tax money should be capped at 60k per year. That’s a pension worth 1.2 million + in the private sector. Far in excess of what most citizens will be living on when they’re retired. Hardly extreme lefty thinking, unless you support Bertie getting 100k+ a year from the public purse?

Also note it’s an opinion I use my real name to defend as opposed to hurling abuse under a pseudo name, like FuxAcheLad.

Mute michael collins
    Favourite michael collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:25 AM

What a clown you are at least have the decency to reply to the comment in a structured and impersonal fashion

Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:30 AM

Corruption is deeply deeply embedded in the upper echelons of Irish society.Change can’t really happen if the Irish insist on voting for people who “fix the potholes”.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:37 AM

So the grand old Duke of York, aka , Shane Ross is looking to take his followers up the hill again – O’Toole won’t be far behind him.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:55 AM

Its HERE……. Paul ..its called the service of DDI.. DIRECT DEMOCRACY IRELAND why not join

Mute TRUTH BE TOLD
    Favourite TRUTH BE TOLD
    Feb 20th 2014, 10:42 PM

Well said.What I would like to know who much does it cost the taxpayer of this country to fund the pensions of the ex politicians and fat cat senior public servants of this country no wonder they live to a ripe old age no worries while those of us self employed can’t afford a pension .

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:48 AM

Brian you are talking about direct democracy. 83% voted for it at the constitutional convention. Enda has said he’ll look at it. Believe him?? Only if so many demand it to force him!

Mute #Nimby1
    Favourite #Nimby1
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:43 AM

I would like to see a new party with intelligent moderate views and not the Irish version of the tea party that Lucinda Creighton was touting for the ultra conservative relics of old Ireland .

Mute poo poo
    Favourite poo poo
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:25 AM

I’d rather that than another gammy tshirt and flower earring wearing lefty clown.

Mute #Nimby1
    Favourite #Nimby1
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:45 AM

Sure Poo what they wear is more important than what they do!
    Give me a a shabby honest person any day over a slick suit funeral chasing politician any day.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:52 AM

Funny the folks that signed over the future of this country were wearing suits.

Mute poo poo
    Favourite poo poo
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:10 AM

Well the one I’m on about is a shabby chancer. Probably even worse.

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:21 AM

I agree entirely. What Ross is trying to bring to us is nothing more than progressive democrats mark 2, the worst political incarnation in Irish politics ever, and that’s saying something.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Feb 18th 2014, 2:18 PM

Ross is a born again Brit he likes reading about himself remember he used to be FG anyone that jumps parties can’t be trusted.

Mute #Dublinsaysno
    Favourite #Dublinsaysno
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:44 AM

Not a new political party that is needed. It’s a completely new system that is required. The whole system is corrupt and needs to be torn down

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:26 AM

Thats why we need a new political party. What is here at the moment is corrupt and stuck in their ways. Never going to change. We need a new party with proper morals in doing whats right for the electorate.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:43 AM

We believe that when a Govt is formed that they get in there and run the show but they do no such thing, they play politics while the civil servants run the thing.
    It’s a very expensive game that is founded on a lie.
    The recent water spend of €80million on consultants and even the Minister didn’t know the ‘detail’ of the spend.
    Can a new political alliance do anything to change this or is it just another team in the game.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:56 AM

Demand change as voted for by the constitutional covention. The main parties will happily swap power in this corrupt system until the end of time. A vote on one day out of 1,825 is NOT democracy.

Mute Roy Gallagher
    Favourite Roy Gallagher
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:08 AM

I believe he did look at it and saw what it meant for his party and his politics, then put the document in the bin. He was asked publicly would he listen to the people and give them their say and he said he wouldn’t . Just goes to show what type of ‘man’ he is.

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:43 AM

Anything that puts an end to the Punch and Judy show that is Irish politics would be welcome, but the unelected civil servants in the background will make sure everything carries on in just the same fashion.
    Always the same circus, just different clowns.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:38 AM

Rabble!

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:17 AM

Any party that gets rid of the whip system would be a good start..

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:59 AM

We need a party that calls a halt to a Stock Market driven economy, at the moment it’s profit at any cost and to hell with the worker

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:00 AM

A new party would be welcome. But it needs to have substance. It needs to have sustainable policies and economics. At the moment, between the opposition parties & independent TD’s all we get is unsustainable populist BS, committee grandstanding & all telling what’s wrong…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:03 AM

O’Reilly be honest FG are no different when in opposition. Terrible situation for a country to be in but both you and I know they are all the same.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:09 AM

Agreed Norman. It’s a vicious circle. Time for new blood, ideas. But it can’t be like some of the off the wall nonsense we’re having to put up with from current opposition…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:48 AM

For once I agree with, but again the off the wall nonsense is not confined to the opposition benches, already we are hearing about tax cuts and property tax cut.The vacated seats from the Troika are barely cold and already they’re trying to buy votes ffs.

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:39 AM

Shane Ross rocks! He’s afraid of no one and can take on any politician and wipe the floor with the government. I believe we should all back his campaign for a new movement. Imagine Ireland with an English Taoiseach ……….now there’s a nut to chew on patriots!

Mute hippiestill
    Favourite hippiestill
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:45 AM

‘We won’t get fooled again’ – but we always do.

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:31 AM

It would be nice to have another option other than ‘the usual suspects’.

Mute Phyllis Murphy
    Favourite Phyllis Murphy
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:33 AM

Former ministers so no change, move on nothing to see here.

Mute Ina Smidiríní
    Favourite Ina Smidiríní
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:19 AM

Capitalism is coming crashing down.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:39 AM

This is not Capitalism we are seeing. Its pure greed and theft.

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:59 AM

With capitalism there should be checks and balances, also if you gamble and lose, you don’t get your money back. The current sleeveens portray sinn fein as looney lefties and what not, but I reckon they would act more in the interests of the Irish people. As for Ross and the Independents, what does he propose? If it’s cutting gravy train salaries and perks then it would be a start. Reform of the health system? Yes. Investment in indigenous industry? I think these are the kind of things most of the Irish people want.

Mute David Giles
    Favourite David Giles
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:32 AM

Shane Ross was an Independent Senator and now he is an Independent TD. He has been able to do what he has done and expose the scandals he has exposed because he is truly independent and free of a party whip. He has very little in common with most of the other Independent TD’s. He should stay Independent. That is his value and that is how he will stay in the Dail.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:39 AM

Shane Ross has come a long way since his days of fawning over Fingers Fingleton and his fabulous Building Society.
    A man for all seasons.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:55 AM

At least he is not on here with an egg for an avatar hiding behind the anonymity of twitter.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:12 AM

Yes, I’ll give him that. He is far more interested in a high public profile. Probably annoying other PAC members at this stage.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:51 AM

A politician seeking a high profile and attention, shocking I know but isn’t that how they get elected when independent by having a high profile.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:42 AM

Would Lord Ross show some transparency and outline his full earning from being a TD, a Public Accounts committee and a journalist. He gets big bucks for preaching!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:37 AM

His salary as a TD and committee member are all in the public domain.His salary for writing for the Indo (a private company) is none of your business unless he is willing to declare it.Surprised noone answered this question for you seen as you asked it yesterday as well.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:22 AM

How much did he make from his ‘I told you so (except I didn’t, I actually praised them at the time)’ book about banking?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:49 AM

John he has a Dail email account, may I suggest you ask him yourself.

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:09 AM

New political movement????
    Yeah and we can call it politicians would give a F&*k about the people.
    The Robin Hood party.
    Take from the rich and give to the poor….

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:11 AM

Not interested in some soft left group (labour lite). A grouping on the centre right would be of interest

Mute Karl Wallace
    Favourite Karl Wallace
    Feb 18th 2014, 10:17 AM

Fine Gael and Fianna Fail not enough for you?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:44 AM

A new party that doesn’t ask it’s mates to the Hooley afterwards ,that’s where the problem starts ,that’s where the corruption emerges ,how is that avoided ,give the new party (if it happens) €2000000 a year each and then deduct €5000 each time they get it wrong and also any cock up they make reflects in their pension

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Favourite Brendan Cafferty
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:58 AM

Lord Ross would have to be leader of course, grandstanding and showboating.I think many of the TDs mentioned above will give him a very wide berth.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:16 AM

Heaven forbid that we should have any literate politicians.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 5th 2014, 8:57 AM

Yeah – the pothole fixers won’t want to know!

Mute Andrew Dunne
    Favourite Andrew Dunne
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:49 AM

Put a good team together and get moving

Feb 18th 2014, 10:25 AM

Best of luck to him if he does form a new party. At least we can be sure that he cannot be any worse then those fine up standing members of FF, FG & LAB who follow the party whip religiously with no thought or regard as to how their votes affect those that voted for them in the first place.

Mute Carol ni suilleabhan
    Favourite Carol ni suilleabhan
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:25 AM

Yes to the names above except for Patrick nulty.

Mute Declan Pollard
    Favourite Declan Pollard
    Feb 18th 2014, 7:56 AM

There seems to be all these ineffectual loosely formed alliances, left and right, spouting up everywhere. Nothing will become of them: they will all disappear into the ether. Non political parties don’t make any substantial difference to the status quo. Just a load of politicians grandstanding in talking shops.

Mute Mick Daniels
    Favourite Mick Daniels
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:28 AM

Our political system is broken and needs fixing. Direct Democracy has served the Swiss well for a long time. A huge majority of the Constitutional Convention held here last year voted in favour of Direct Democracy where the people vote on major issues in referendums. Perhaps this is where Shane Ross and the “Loose Alliance” of TD’s should be looking

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:40 AM

Now Mick, the Irish public are not supposed to know what was big time sought by a huge majority of the Constitutional Convention.
    State heads and some media (NOT journal.ie) don’t want the public further becoming aware of (a) what the people actually want (b) just how much they are being kept in dark and (c) how much was already taken away from them.

Constitutional Convention results: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfCBrdvfqEc

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:57 AM

J. Rudd, I’d vote direct democracy in a heartbeat if it meant the end of the stranglehold FF/FG/Lab have. Why aren’t DDI being represented more in the media? Perhaps that’s a dumb question but I thought they were disbanded to be honest, as they seem to have faded off a bit. It’s time for the Irish people to get their country back.

Mute Vinny
    Favourite Vinny
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:07 PM

I totally agree with you Mick .

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:50 PM

@ simon shewster

DDI has far, far from disbanded.
    SIX people – SIX people left it after a Red Cow (Dublin) meeting when they didn’t get they bullying way – but one paper ran a story that there was a massive split (conveniently overlooking that in the same year there was just under 1,000 other members still in DDI – over 10,000 email listed registered supporters)

We have found that the media totally ignores DDI.
    Why?
    We suspect because we want to change the actual system and make elected reps, corporations and polices more accountable to the people.
    They can’t be having that.

Take for example LMFM raido in Louth.
    In the last few weeks the national AGM was held in Drogheda – where LMFM is based and just up the road – was there any interviews done with the elected new leader of DDI, was any interviews done with any of the three local people elected to its National Executive, was any reporting done at all on its morning political show about the positive aspects of Drogheda even being highlighted through the AGM?
    Nope – not a word.
    The radio presenter (who has a local best mate in the form of one Louth TD Ged Nash) regular has his mate on the station while only bringing up DDI to bash it.

…And thats just one example.

Other parties are bringing out policy change – usual stuff to some extent – but god forbid one might try fixing a hole better rather than just sticking a temp plaster on it – no, accountability and those wanting to bring it back in more so is ignored.
    * The messengers carrying the message that the people want greater accountability, is being deliberately ignored. The Irish people are further being kept in the dark of possible REAL change and alternative organisations willing to see it carried through.

DDI is still going strong.
    We are running people in the local and European elections.
    We have members all over Ireland.
    We are regular holding public open meetings (see DDI facebook main page and county ones too) unlike parties that quietly hold their meetings unannounced.
    …Not that you will hear about this if some media can help it.

Can’t be rocking the boat of the present system. After all, its working so well for all so far isn’t it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wxdnwpiP6M

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:06 PM

An example how we have NOT disbanded (far from the truth) ?

Come along to our next public meeting in the Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, Co. Meath on Thursday the 20th of February at 8pm. Another and I (the National Chairman by the way) will be speaking there.

Mute Willie Penwright
    Favourite Willie Penwright
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:45 AM

A party would be a mistake. Shane Ross has done trojan work in exposing the corruption and croneyism and can best move this agenda forward by an alliance of independents – even just one or two. In this way he and they would not be tied by the whip and other party structures and could form a new Dáil bloc. Go for it Shane!

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:10 AM

Until we get a movement into office that brings greater accountability, things are never going to change.
    The Irish people used to have that legal power under the 1922 constitution. It was quietly taken away from them.

* The politicians and their policies were accountable to the people regardless of what org they came from.
    * The politicians and their policies were accountable to the people all the time – not just every five years.
    * The politicians and their policies were accountable to the people where their policies fell short and the public could themselves address such short comings.
    * The politicians and their policies were accountable via “Recall” – so far less lying, u-turns, financial backstabbing and giving away powers to other states/organisations.

The Irish people once had all this – till its was quietly taken away.
    It was called “Direct Democracy”.

Some in Ireland including Raymond Whitehead (www.directdemocracy.ie) and the grassroots people of Ireland are seeking it back.
    If there is to be change – lets change the system – not just stick another temp plaster over a broken system that has many holes.

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:09 AM

Dear Mr Ross.
    We are in a dangerous place right now and a new party would be no different to us electing a national government from those who have proper qualifications to hold the Ministerial portfolio they are given. I have been chairman of and involved with my local community council all my life (no great claim to fame) and I tend to judge by what’s happening on the ground at local level.

I vote for those who do right by my community in the Firhouse/Knocklyon area regardless of party affiliations. To be honest, in this local elections I was going to vote Fianna Fail as the current Fine Gael choice is an absolute NO and the Sinn Fein councillors voted against our council/community in a re zoning issue. Yesterday I got the Fianna Fail candidates leaflet and I was shocked that he had not identified one single local issue that he will address other than a speed limit at two schools that already exists. I had waited in anticipation of receiving some new proposals I could support but a speed limit sign that already exists was his one and only best shot while the Fine Gael councillor is even a bigger failure.

The dangerous place we are in is directly related to your question and the answer for me is I do not know. Sure, you will get an answer from the person walking Grafton Street with the Irish Times tucked under his arm but for the most part we are all disillusioned. I depended on the likes of you to tell us whether we need a new party or not, not to ask us.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:20 AM

Hear, hear.

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:39 AM

The council is the place for local issues.

Mute Gerry Moan
    Favourite Gerry Moan
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:22 AM

Tom elect councillors for local issues and deputies for national.. Don’t confuse the two

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:51 AM

OK so, decisions made in Council Chambers by local councillors should have no effect on who we elect to govern our little country?? Who gave us Adamstown, The Poolbeg Incinerator, and all the failed projects that has cost us billions? Are you saying that political parties do not vote in bloc at council level. Shane Ross question was about a new political party and political parties have as much influence at council level as they do at National level and whether you like it or not that is where the rot starts and there are pages and pages of the Mahin Tribunal at your fingertips that will tell you the same. If we correct the rot at local level first we have some hope. There are hundreds of letters today on serious planning files from Ministers and indeed from a Taoiseach stating ” I wish to inform you that I want to provide my full support for this application and I want to be informed of any decisions as they become available” In other words, dance to my tune and while we dance the country will go down the tubes. We can’t afford to take one more hit at Planning & Development stage and what Shane Ross should be concerned about is the here and now, not the most stupid question on this forum for a long time “Do you think we need a new government?”

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:33 AM

Poor Shane wasn’t in the papers for a few days so he needed his media fix

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Feb 18th 2014, 4:29 PM

That comment could be applied to any government TD, if not just in their continuing efforts to distract from present day scandals to seeking attention themselves.

At least Mr Ross is doing something other than u-turning, financial back-stabbing and selling our country out with its natural resources – all of which Fine Gael and Labour disgustingly continue to do.

Mute Gerry Moan
    Favourite Gerry Moan
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:20 AM

It may well be time for a new political movement but not made up of has beens such as Shane Ross.. Recruit from those who have been successful in a career that influences the role and reduce those in government to only those on a front bench each junior minister and deputy then for teams around that portfolio

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:49 PM

I think we do need a new party and not DDI, bloody freemen,(I’m not a person I’m a man). We need a party that will reduce the wages of everyone in the Dail. A party that will have a justice referendum and look at judges and sentencing.That will look at the Gardai and Fire Brigade and the lack of equipment and man power. A party that will pay the nurses a proper wage. A party that will stop the water charge.A party that will stick to pledges and can be voted out if they fail or refuse to stick to them. A party that takes crime seriously, that will tackle the increase in murders, home invasions,attacks on the elderly. A party that will atand up to the world of PC bull when the need arises. Someone to listen to the people and stand up to them not to the big corporations and banks that pull strings.A party that will try and bring our youth back home. Oh who am I trying to kid one you become a TD you don’t give a damn….

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 5th 2014, 9:12 AM

Damo – claim you’re a man if you wish. I am a member of DDI and have been there from the start. I have seen the freeman accusation rubbish. We have been accused of being right wing and left wing… I am bored with lazy people who will not do their own research
    I am not asking you to join DDI, and I assure you most of it’s members have no political ambition further than to RESTORE a peoples initiative to our constitution. From there anything becomes possible ( it is not perfect by any means and will require a maturity from the electorate) However the ONLY alternative is a perpetuation of the current corrupt system. Is that your preference? A different band playing the same music?

Mute Brian Kavanagh
    Favourite Brian Kavanagh
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:37 PM

Theres already a party thats agenda is to change the system radically and to hand power back to the people of ireland that party is direct democracy ireland !

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Feb 18th 2014, 8:27 PM

Shane is correct.

It is time to form a new political party where all elected members take an oath in advance to act honourably and not to accept corrupt payments for “political favours”!

Any such party should implement its pre-election policies – not like our current political parties who break most of their pre-election promises once elected!

The whip should not be implemented for serious conscientious objectors similar to USA!

Sadly Enda imposed the whip on all FG TDs against some of their wills when he forced them to pass his “limited” pro-abortion legislation! Such rules by political parties can lead to Dictatorship!

Mute Gerry Flood
    Favourite Gerry Flood
    Feb 18th 2014, 11:58 AM

I would agree with Shane Ross in regards to the current political system that is in place now. I and many more from what I have seen are totally disillusion with the way the current system works. But I do not think it is a new political party that is needed but a new political system. When one looks at Direct Democracy in other countries (i.e Switzerland) and can see how the people of those countries can have a say in the way their country is governed, then maybe it is the system that is wrong. In Ireland, there is no accountability for any decisions that is been made on the supposed behalf of the Irish electorate. Maybe I am wrong but I would suggest that Shane could look any further then having a system of Direct Democracy in place so that these decision makers can be held to account for all laws and decisions made. This should also include top civil servants who are not electable but still have a major say in the running of this country.

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 9:31 AM

@ Jason Walsh.
    Jason, I hear what you are saying but the re-zonings for example one ahead they would have inflicted another few hundred million onto us and ended up like the half finished apartments hanging out over the Tallaght By-Pass. Every single ghost estate was voted for acceptance at planning stage by councillors at “Local Level”, that’s where it starts and it ends with a seat in the Dail. If my current local representative is anything to go by we need a sinkhole to appear under Leinster House and anyone that is in there got there from “local level”

In Scotland for example the local councillors/authorities refused to join England and Wales in introducing water charges. There has been no increase in water charges in Scotland for the last five years (whereas in England private water charges soared and there is currently an application for an other 8% increase) the communities realise they have to make some payment and the authorities provide the service. What happened at local authority level here, with the exception of Dublin City Council? Nothing, all the councillors sat dumb in their chambers twiddling with their new free laptops.

Don’t ever underestimate what can be done at local level, the Mahon Tribunal, what it cost, it’s futility and then, immediately after it concluded we went out and did more damage with ghost estates than the Mahon Tribunal could deal with in a lifetime. There is a very large percentage of blame attached to local level politics for the state in which we find ourselves today, but sure hey, what about it, we will voye in a boxer and someone with an All-Ireland medal and off we go again.

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Feb 18th 2014, 12:46 PM

It is time to form a centre right or even full blown right wing party. We are stuck with a union riddled Labour party who have no interest in making any economic progress . We are also stuck with out dated farmers in FG who are just delighted to be in power and don’t give a toss about making any progress . We need a centre right party who will invest in badly transport infrastructure , creating thousands of construction jobs . A party will offer Irish indigenous companies tax breaks to grow and export, not just multi-nationals. A party who will actively encourage airlines to fly here , and just leave it to the Airports themselves to develop tourism. A party who will develop tourist attractions and repeating the same waffle that everybody wants to visit their relatives here. We need a party who move the country forward , socially and politically . Not the current gang who just parade around the place thinking they’re great and making no investments. Not Shane Ross is in that mould.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Feb 18th 2014, 6:24 PM

Im in favour of a new party.

Mute anne-marie kelly
    Favourite anne-marie kelly
    Feb 18th 2014, 1:38 PM

Let the Revolution begin….Woo Hoo. Brush the cobwebs off Madame La Guillotine & off with their heads!! The peasants are gonna rise up & take back what’s their’s. Oopsie,eh so sorry, got a bit carried away for a moment there. Time for my Pot Noodle now, it’s lunch time.