You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/AP Photography

Huge shark jumps three metres onto fishing boat

The shark died after fishermen sprayed it with fresh water and bashed it on the nose with a wooden bat.

A HUNGRY SHARK leapt three metres onto a fishing boat off the United Arab Emirates looking for prey – only to end up as catch of the day.

The predator, around six foot in length, took fishermen by surprise when it crashed onto on their deck, 35 nautical miles off the coast of Fujairah, local newspapers said.

“In seconds, it was in the middle of the boat after it hit one of the boat barriers,” said sailor Hamza al-Sharaa, 37, quoted in The National newspaper.

Sharaa said the shark jumped three metres out of the water to get onto the boat.

He said the shark died after fishermen sprayed it with fresh water and bashed it on the nose with a wooden bat.

In a video posted online by Ittihad daily, fishermen pointed to the needle-like teeth of the bloodied shark as they paraded their catch.

صحيفة البيان الإماراتية / YouTube

Fishermen in Fujairah, on the Gulf of Oman, had two similar incidents last year, but with smaller sharks.

Khalifa Massoud of the Fujairah fishermen’s association told The National that the catch is to be mummified and put on display at the local maritime museum.

- © AFP, 2016

Read: Australian beach evacuated after ’23 foot shark’ is spotted>

View 36 comments
36 Comments
    Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:10 PM

I’d say a pulsing something else had something to do with it…ha ha…

Mute Green Burqa
    Favourite Green Burqa
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:00 PM

Not if Clare Daly was one of them

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:45 PM

She’s hardly model material now

Mute Gizmo mac
    Favourite Gizmo mac
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:08 PM

Awh so what! I’m sure there was no malice intended. They looked up a model, big deal, get over it!

Mute Gavin Radford
    Favourite Gavin Radford
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:14 PM

Sorry but it’s not acceptable to look up other people’s personal information if you’ve no need for it just because you’re nosey. It may be human nature but if they’re guards they have to put their position of trust over they’re eagerness to have a snoop at a model’s records. How are the public expected to have faith in the gardai with that kind of carry-on? Disappointed but not surprised, tbh.

Mute bordsohereiam
    Favourite bordsohereiam
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:17 PM

Exactly the attitude that is slowly eroding people’s concept of privacy.
    So if it was you that was snooped on by… oh.. say… ME then that’s also ok?
    Maybe I’ll come over and look through your bedroom window and all.

Mute plokijuhmnb
    Favourite plokijuhmnb
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:20 PM

Random guards should not be accessing this information… They are human like everyone else.. What’s stopping them blabbing this information to the general public after a few pints… Only certain personal should have access rights to pulse.

Mute Gizmo mac
    Favourite Gizmo mac
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:21 PM

It’s at their disposal I’m sure you pc goons would be prim and proper and 100% by the book!

Mute bordsohereiam
    Favourite bordsohereiam
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:24 PM

Yeah we would be 100% proper because in my job I’d be FIRED if did this kind of privacy violation.

Mute Gizmo mac
    Favourite Gizmo mac
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:26 PM

But it’s not a violation

Mute yaya bradley
    Favourite yaya bradley
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:30 PM

The fact that the have signed the official secrets act is what is “stopping them from blabbing” this story is a non event

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:32 PM

This opinion in the report is wholly inadequate an unacceptable. That there were also searches on RTE people suggests a more sinister purpose. Having info on various people immediately empowers those with the info and can ‘encourage’ a particular slant when needed. This information can ales be a valuable resource to certain elements in the media. Personally I think aspects of this report is damning but has been dressed up to appear otherwise probably on the suggestion of a certain commissioner.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:38 PM

No big deal. It’s not like it was the Guards who were doing it ….

Just a group of teenagers acting like teenagers.

oh wait!

Mute Gizmo mac
    Favourite Gizmo mac
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:43 PM

It’s a good job that it’s only the guards who have access to pulse and not the media! So count your blessings!

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:52 PM

Yaya
    But the whole point at issue is that the whistle blowers repeatedly mined information from Pulse and shared it with the “public” AFTER they had made their official complaints.
    That is the point made by the Garda Commissioner and now supported by Commissioner Hawkes and of course……………….Minister Shatter.
    Why do we want one law for one Garda and a different law for another?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 22nd 2014, 4:09 PM

Because if senior Gardaí do not investigate crime and corruption we have the dual standard you fear, Richie.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Mar 22nd 2014, 5:29 PM

Call me old fashioned, but I think the standard that we expect from our Guards should be a little higher than just “no malice intended”.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Mar 22nd 2014, 6:05 PM

That actually doesn’t make sense Neal. You can say ‘they signed up for it’ and ‘they took an oath’ until the cows come home. They’re humans like the rest of us and no malice intended is enough for me. When a person doesn’t mean or intend to do anything improper how on earth do you ‘expect more’ ?

Mute Mark Heehee
    Favourite Mark Heehee
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:15 PM

Is it possible for a citizen to make an application to view what information is being stored about them on the pulse system? Or would one have to ask a garda friend (if possible) to check it out for them?

Mute Dagnet Taggart
    Favourite Dagnet Taggart
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:23 PM

Freedom of info request is all you need and a lot of patience while the Blueshirts huff puff,delay,spout Bull about national security andtry everything in their power to make you give up and go away.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:45 PM

I would advise you not to draw that unwanted attention on to yourself. Lest they make an example of you.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:56 PM

I got a list of some of my interactions with the Gardaí, not all of them, which indicates AGS are very selective about what they put on PULSE and gives some credence to the question Maurice McCabe asked about innocent people being set up.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

For anybody who feels they are under a suspect investigation, the only way you can confirm that you are is to fill in an FOI form and wait for a reply that states they cannot provide you with information while an investigation is pending. Instruct a solicitor to request details of the allegation, and after they give up, redo an FOI request to see what was put on PULSE.
    Very revealing in my case. Billy Hawkes will hear about it when GSOC has access to PULSE.

Mute Edel Nic Suibhne
    Favourite Edel Nic Suibhne
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:43 PM

Let sleeping dogs lie for gods sake !! They might find something they’d forgotten about you ….

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:47 PM

Edel,
    The point is you can now prove when they are making it up. Ian Baileys legal team are hammering out rights to access PULSE data.
    For those who have nothing to fear from their own actions, letting sleeping dogs lie is to allow those who own the dogs to get away with scienter. Most dogs wake up.

Mute Green Burqa
    Favourite Green Burqa
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:20 PM

OP, yes it’s an F20 form

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 22nd 2014, 4:04 PM

http://www.garda.ie/Documents/User/Data%20Protection%20F20%20-%20Nov%2012.pdf

Best €13 euro you can spend. It’s like DIY plumbing – it needs 2 trips to the store.

Mute Dave Darcy
    Favourite Dave Darcy
    Mar 22nd 2014, 6:28 PM

It’s just goes to show the Garda are watching us who is watching the Garda

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Mar 22nd 2014, 7:32 PM

The data commissioner and gsoc…

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:04 AM

Then you will have another enter on your file , as a trouble maker and activist and very bell known to garda

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:04 AM

Well

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 23rd 2014, 10:22 AM

You’re new to the idea of data protection, Pat James.
    Worryingly, when you say “your file” – you don’t say PULSE.
    I am very well known to Gardaí, which doesn’t bother me. It’s what some Gardaí said they knew about me that creates the problem.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 23rd 2014, 11:39 AM

Well

Mute Thomas O'Brien
    Favourite Thomas O'Brien
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:22 PM

The model is probably thinking to herself in the words of Pat Mustard: “Im so gorgeous they want to put me under arrest!”

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:34 PM

My guess is that the model in question is either dead or the daughter of a famous maudlin singer.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:13 PM

My guess is it’s Georgia Salpa and the Gardai are looking at her Pulse file whilst ogling bikini shots of her in the Star

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:58 PM

Or a certain model who kicked a developer in the buccaneers!

Mute Richard Ove
    Favourite Richard Ove
    Mar 22nd 2014, 9:11 PM

No it was strictly a driving issue. Gardaí needed to check her airbags.

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:49 PM

Wonder did she get a report on the results—Seriously though there is a model out there who has had her constitutional right to privacy abused on more than 80 occasions—and all we hear is that a few coppers were disciplined.Hawkes ASSUMES that it was idle curiosity or snooping—this is not very satisfactory–he should be able to make a much more definitive statement.

Wonder what redress is open to the model?

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:26 PM

And will the Gardai who did the snooping be sacked, doubt it. I worked in an irish retail bank, the temptation was always there to look up celebs, friends, neighbours etc bank balance. However, what stopped the majority was knowing that if found out your job would almost certainly be gone

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:33 PM

I know plenty of people in banks that did do it.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:31 PM

Me too, my ex worked for one of the countries better known banks and said it was rampant. A holier than thou approach to this matter isn’t helpful.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Mar 22nd 2014, 5:25 PM

It’s good to know that the only thing stopping you was the fear of getting caught. Wouldn’t want bank staff to be impeded by a sense of right and wrong.

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:40 PM

no–a few have been disciplined though–no further details given–probably additional homework

Mute Alan Reardon
    Favourite Alan Reardon

The names of the Gardai who looked up these records are known and if they were not supposed to there is a simple solution, sack them like any other bad employee.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:40 PM

That is what would happen in the private sector but there professionalism, integrity and competence are taken seriously.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

Because the top rank of Gardai were quashing penalty points for their friends in high places by the dozen the Gardai at the bottom were just having a look who next was going to get off it’s a terrible pity more snooping was not done never know what friends were been let of , I am delighted the big boys were caught out .

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:15 PM

My apologies text should read let off

Mute Vic
    Favourite Vic
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:19 PM

I work in the public sector and totally agree with that comment, it baffles me how bad employees cannot be sacked in the public service. It would make my life a whole lot easier if they could do a massive clear out of the lazy, dead weight time wasters.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:54 PM

Alan what you do with the big boys at the top who started it all one thing here is certain the guys at the top get away Scott free while a example is made out of the guys at the bottom .

Mute Joanne Andrew
    Favourite Joanne Andrew
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:28 PM

A work colleagues husband is a Garda. They are in the process of building a house by direct labour. He has checked every potential contractor on Pulse and also their vehicle registration. That is wrong. I’m sure he’s not the only one doing it either

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:42 PM

Checking of daughters boyfriends, house tenants etc etc etc. All considered normal and acceptable in our above the law and ethics be damned police service.

Mute Lára de Siúin
    Favourite Lára de Siúin
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:16 PM

@SeanieRyan; You are absolutely OBSESSED with guards. Every article that in any way relates to them is littered with comments from you underneath it. What does this vendetta stem from?!

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:54 PM

Seanie
    Yes you are one hundred percent correct. So you agree with the Data Commissioners findings and with the views of Commissioner Callinan?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Mar 22nd 2014, 5:31 PM

Joanne you should report that person anonymously via the confidential Garda tip line. Request a report number so you can follow up if needed.

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Mar 23rd 2014, 2:45 AM

Report the person anonymously and also request a number to follow it up?

Mute Alan McNamara
    Favourite Alan McNamara
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:05 PM

What’s new

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:51 PM

Publicly shy model the subject of pulse porn shock!!!

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:40 PM

This is unbelievable! There are no rules against accessing people’s details without a valid operational reason!? The ways this can be abused are unending.

There have been prosecutions and sackings in the UK police for this very behaviour, why on earth do we not have similar laws protecting us?

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:53 PM

Good money in selling info to Red Top journalists/insurance companies

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:54 PM

Because we are Irish. Because our parliament is full of self-interested pot hole fillers. Because we don’t do professionalism in our public services. Because …

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:11 PM

I am at a complete loss as to why this doesn’t severely p!ss people off.

I support the Guards, I don’t trust individual Guards to ignore their own selfish interests. Accessing details outside of their job scope is so incredibly wrong I’m amazed people aren’t more angry.
    Course the deflecting headline (ooh, they looked up a model) has managed to divert the attention away from the fact that this SHOULD be a serious breach of the publics privacy.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:49 PM

Tricia
    We do!

Mute Ancient History
    Favourite Ancient History
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:06 PM

They lose more of my respect by the day. They can do what they want it seems. Banana republic.

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:50 PM

Retired Gadai were being employed by Insurance firms to check on insurance claims and people making claims were regularly checked…..gives you the cutting edge in court cases you know…..wink wink

Mute Lára de Siúin
    Favourite Lára de Siúin
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:20 PM

“Gadaí” is Irish for “robber”.

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:50 PM

You got a lot of red thumbs from Gardai who red thumbed before they read what was actually written

Mute Sara McSweeney
    Favourite Sara McSweeney
    Mar 22nd 2014, 4:04 PM

@ Lara. So if you take one letter away from the Irish word for policemen, you get the Irish word for robber. Wow. Mind blown.

Mute Yes Lad
    Favourite Yes Lad
    Mar 22nd 2014, 7:37 PM

She’s commenting on snores spelling mistake.

Apt name for him too since his lies are making me snooooore….

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 23rd 2014, 1:11 AM

Clever, Lara . In my autopilot reading of you comment I red thumbed you! Sorry! My mind is also blown by the difference between gadai and gardai.

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:38 PM

just looking after their pals

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Mar 23rd 2014, 12:51 PM

Wonder how many retired Gardaí with an inside track are in the employment of insurance companies

Mute Tony Moran
    Favourite Tony Moran

Why do we only ever hear from Hawkes when he’s got something damning to say ? Quiet the autocrat. And who audits his office on data protection matters ? They must have a load of data in there with no legitimate reason for having it. Either that or their paper shredding bill must be through the roof.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:28 PM

Agree, and you have to wonder about the timing of his intervention, and the way RTE lunchtime News reported it yesterday!

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Mar 22nd 2014, 3:48 PM

Tony
    That’s an ignorant comment to make. The Commissioner was commenting on the results of a statutory audit into the Gardai which is the principal function of his role as Data Commissioner.

Mute Tony Moran
    Favourite Tony Moran
    Mar 22nd 2014, 7:00 PM

Richard
    If the Garda report had no findings do you think Hawkes would be out saying that’s the way to do it and others should follow the example ? No he wouldn’t because he has no interest in productivity, he’s completely reactive and always has been.

Mute Tony Moran
    Favourite Tony Moran
    Mar 22nd 2014, 7:05 PM

I meant proactivity, not productivity.

Mute Science of Beer
    Favourite Science of Beer
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:56 PM

Surely the Gardas are subject to the same data protection rules as every other person in the state. I had to sign data protection stuff in several jobs regarding non disclosure of information and inappropriate use (including access), it seems just because you wear a uniform and carry a badge you are some how exempted. Access should be by request only if this sort of carry on exists

Mute Snorre Sturleson

and gadai breaking data protection rules will be ruthlessly hunted down by………………..Gadai

Mute Sean Lynch
    Favourite Sean Lynch
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:19 PM

Wtf is going on with our Garda? it’s one thing after another lately, I despair.

Mute John McHugh
    Favourite John McHugh
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:16 PM

Is it not possible that some of our boys in blue are using pulse to give information to criminal elements for payment of some kind

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:18 PM

It happened in the UK, no reason why it couldn’t happen here.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Mar 22nd 2014, 5:34 PM

If not, It would be the only police force in history.

Mute defcon5
    Favourite defcon5
    Mar 22nd 2014, 4:06 PM

No disrespect to them but I can understand why any guard goes into work and does anything. Surely they can go in keep their head down do sfa and pick up their check at the end of the month. Like from what I’ve read lately if they use pepper spray handcuffs, batons, arrest someone who has connections politicians wealthy folk or even toerags with a politician on speed dail they get in serious trouble. Now their being restricted on pulse access, I for one have nothin to hide bar I’ve been a victim of crime I doubt I’m on their system. I think they should be able to look up celebrities and politicians etc, at least it means someone’s watchin them. Anyway if I were them I’d do nothin and still get paid.

Mute Ancient History
    Favourite Ancient History
    Mar 22nd 2014, 6:55 PM

You sound like exactly the type they are looking for. You should get an application form.

Mute eye_c_u__
    Favourite eye_c_u__
    Mar 22nd 2014, 10:19 PM

Meh its none story. No corruption involved. Guards get ticking off from bosses big deal. Hardly big new story

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Mar 22nd 2014, 2:59 PM

So the Data Protection Comission selected celebrities and other ‘well known’ persons to look up to see if they were being looked up? Are they exempt from the legislation? Surely they cannot pick random people and go on a fishing expedition to see if those names are being accessed? Were complaints made to the Data Protection Commission from the same people they looked up beforehand? If it was me I haven’t given any person to look me up without my consent and I include the Data Protection staff in this.

Mute Kevin Penrose
    Favourite Kevin Penrose

More like stalking not snooping

Mute Peter Gaffey
    Favourite Peter Gaffey
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:25 PM

Snoop doggie dog was the celeb involved.

Mute Keith Doyle
    Favourite Keith Doyle
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:30 PM

Half a story whos the model? n whos the guard?

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Mar 22nd 2014, 1:48 PM

Kenny is a wimp Leo
    Varadkar would be a great Taoiseach

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Mar 22nd 2014, 4:05 PM

I think this is “Disgusting”.