You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Gilligan Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

John Gilligan shot during christening celebrations in Clondalkin

He is currently in Blanchardstown Hospital in Dublin where his injuries are described as not life threatening.

Updated 21.26pm

CRIME BOSS JOHN Gilligan was shot this evening shortly after 7.10pm.

The gardaí confirmed to TheJournal.ie that he is currently in Connolly Hospital, Blanchardstown and his injuries are not life threatening.

The incident happened in Greenfort Crescent in Ronanstown, Dublin when two armed and masked men burst in to the house. Gilligan was shot three times in the leg and chest. He also received a graze to the head.

The two men are believed to have fled the scene in a car.

He is believed to have been in his brother’s house at the time celebrating a family christening. His sister-in-law is said to have called the ambulance.

Investigating Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to this incident or anyone with information to contact Ronanstown Garda Station on 01-666 7700, the Garda Confidential line 1800-666-111 or any Garda Station.

The crime boss led the gang that carried out the killing of Sunday Independent journalist Veronica Guerin, but he was later acquitted of her murder.

In 2001 he was sentenced to 28 years in prison for drug trafficking.

The 62-year-old was released from prison last October.

Shortly after his release, an attempt on his life was made at the Halfway House pub on the Navan Road.

However, Gilligan dismissed the last attempted hit as a “Halloween prank”.

First Published 7.42pm

Read: John Gilligan dismisses attempted hit as ‘Halloween prank’>

Read: Gilligan: “I had nothing to do with Veronica Guerin’s murder”>

VIDEO: John Gilligan speeds away from Portlaoise Prison>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

261 Comments
    Mute Ali Fortune
    Favourite Ali Fortune
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:08 PM

Now there’s an odious little man if ever there was one.

Mute Michael Smyth
    Favourite Michael Smyth
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:34 PM

But would Linda Martin take him on, that is the question

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:03 PM

That he may die roaring. I’d be seriously battling with my conscience if I was a doctor/nurse in Blanch tonight.

Mute Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Favourite Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:46 PM

no sympathy, karma is a bitch John.

Mute joe soap
    Favourite joe soap
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:23 PM

karma is not a bitch its makey uppy for people who

Mute Garreth OMahony
    Favourite Garreth OMahony
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:51 PM

@joe don’t finish their sentences

Mute Hung Xi
    Favourite Hung Xi
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:48 PM

Demote that gunman. Useless at his job

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:52 PM

Amazing how many times these gangsters survive getting shot. Are they using super soakers or something?

Mute Karl Barry
    Favourite Karl Barry
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:20 PM

It’s just down to the calibre of the firearm and training of the assassin really.
    A 9mm has to hit something major to take your life.
    A double tap to the chest from a semi automatic handgun such a H&K USP in the de cocked position is actually fairly hard to achieve.
    The extra trigger finger pressure required to fire off the first round can often cause a novice to throw the first round off target.
    Even from a cocked position with a normal pressure single trigger pull adrenaline, fear and all the other stresses combine to make a mess of aim.
    At that you need to hit vital and or cause massive blood loss,
    Hitting the target in the head can cause sufficient damage even from a single round but there is no 100% chance if one shot one kill with such a small calibre.
    I am reminded of a story from the USA in the early ’90s.
    A very brave community activist in the Bronx when confronting a crack dealer on his stoop was shot point blank in his mouth, the round deflected of his hard palate exited his neck downwards and entered his shoulder came to rest in his back.
    Standard ammo and poor shooting makes for a good chance of survival.
    A shotgun with heavy shot or a deer slug would the only way to go for a novice but the mess would spread DNA evidence every where and it’s hard to conceal a shotgun pre attack.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Jacqui Mckenna
    Favourite Jacqui Mckenna
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:26 PM

Briefl Reply Karl,,,Is he dead then ?

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:37 PM

Are you “the Jackal’ Karl?

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:42 PM

Just heard from one of the cleaners in James’s Hospital, He has just passed away. Whether you liked him or not, please show some respect RIP

Mute Ed Quigley
    Favourite Ed Quigley
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:45 PM

Way too many movies!!

Mute Karl Barry
    Favourite Karl Barry
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:49 PM

Thanks guys its the finest off education your tax euros have paid for.

The DF don’t allow pensioners to keep their side arms and I’m sure they’d take the pension off me along with rapid incarnation.

I was of course just trying to be a smart alec, it awful that a person can be gunned down on the toilet in a suburban home in Dublin with very little chance of catching the highly dangerous criminal responsible.

Be that as it may I wouldn’t shed a single tear for the viscous little thug.

Violence begat violence I’m afraid!

Mute Karl Barry
    Favourite Karl Barry
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:53 PM

No afraid not dying don’t absolve you off your deeds.

He was a violent criminal not worthy of respect.

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:54 PM

A chap was shot 16 times in LA this week and will survive . It’s really hard to take a human out unless your a trained marksman , military or special forces

Mute Derek Casserly
    Favourite Derek Casserly
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:58 PM

Has the cleaner in James hospital got a direct line to connolly hospital in blanchardstown, where he was taken to??

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:01 PM

His victims deserve respect.

Doubt if he will die.

Hope the taxpayer does not have to provide security for him for the rest of his life.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:05 PM

I wish somebody would confirm this before my jelly and ice cream melts. :):)

Mute Cormac Halpin
    Favourite Cormac Halpin
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:07 PM

A double tap to the chest – lol you’ve been watching too much Telly and reading too much Tom Clancy! Nice try though you almost sound believable!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:13 PM

Derek Casserly. Just hold the line there, while I ask intelligence. You must be one of the thirty eight eejits. Do you think I give a fiddlers fart about John Gilligan

Mute Thomas Beggs
    Favourite Thomas Beggs
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:18 PM

Yawn!

Mute Thomas Beggs
    Favourite Thomas Beggs
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:22 PM

Nice one Sherlock

Mute Karl Barry
    Favourite Karl Barry
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:27 PM

Afraid not there mate.

Such shooting is standard marksmanship in particular in competition where real world requirements are replicated as opposed to trying to hit tiny areas if the target all the time.

Two rounds fired off in very quick time deliver a massive blow to the centre mass of your target hopefully resulting in a drop.

This goes out the window if the target is wearing body armour, the target will them merely fall over.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:37 PM

Shawnee,
    He’s in Blanch not James’ joy James’

Mute Martin Jordan
    Favourite Martin Jordan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:45 PM

What would you know ?

Mute Paddy O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paddy O'Sullivan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:51 PM

you could be just some strung out idiot with a light calibre pistol to not ‘finish the job’, one doesn’t have to be a trained marksman military or special forces to kill,,,,sure a blase of a 12 gauge to the chest would sort that. its all about tooling up.

Mute David Alford
    Favourite David Alford
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:53 PM

As a master skill at arms instructor you are wrong on several points. A man capable of a shooting should be funneling his adrenaline to his benefit not his detrimement, badly trained. Standard 9mm ammo can and will do the job, the incident in the Bronx you refered to was a one in a million. Moral of the story, if you want the job done, don’t send a boy to do a mans job

Mute Pierce Mc Comiskey
    Favourite Pierce Mc Comiskey
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:07 PM

You muppet ur not in the us now

Mute Liz McCollum
    Favourite Liz McCollum
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:39 PM

It’s Gilligan alright. I hope it’s slow and painful.

Mute 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Favourite 'Bull' Mick Daly
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:40 PM

Amen

Mute Ollie O'Cleirigh
    Favourite Ollie O'Cleirigh

It was only a matter of time. If you live by the gun, you may very well end up dying by the gun. I Just hope no bystanders were injured in the incident.

Mute Gearoidy Shickalody
    Favourite Gearoidy Shickalody
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:00 PM

They had teeth as sharp as knives

Mute AlanHarte
    Favourite AlanHarte
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:55 PM

Can’t imagine the Guerin family are too worried for him.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:36 PM

Can’t imagine any family other than his own (possibly) that would be.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:42 PM

I detest violence in any form but I’m not surprised.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:27 PM

Agreed Mike. This man was a very nasty individual and the universe always balances the books in one way or another.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:41 PM

“the universe” does nothing of the sort. Pol pot, Stalin and many others died of in their beds, as will both presidents Bush and goddamned henry Kissinger.

Mute Jamie Moten
    Favourite Jamie Moten
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:10 PM

that is a fact Sheik

Mute Thomas Beggs
    Favourite Thomas Beggs
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:16 PM

He is not dead yet.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:17 PM

If this one doesn’t get him, it’s only a matter of time. He’s been a dead man walking for a long time now.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:33 PM

They all had small penises Sheik :)

Mute Ciaran Behan
    Favourite Ciaran Behan
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:13 PM

I’d say Paul Williams is at home with his thumb up his hole and pulling his plumb to Handel’s messiah.

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:44 PM

Brilliant!

Mute Joe Howard
    Favourite Joe Howard
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:57 PM

Funniest comment of the year!

Mute defcon5
    Favourite defcon5
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:43 PM

Listening to the news you’d swear it was the pope who got plugged, an ambulance was on scene almost immediately and a trauma team we’re on standby. Why? He’s a dirtbird they should have sent a bin lorry not an ambulance and to the dump not James. Vermin john

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:58 PM

In a hospital like that, a trauma team is always on standby.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:12 PM

I have been on the Journal a long time now I have never in my life seen this comment line to light up like it did in the last hour not one comment has so far come out in support. One of the most hated ever . His family must be feeling very isolated at the moment but as posts suggests you live by the gun you are more likely to die from the gun cannot find one bit of sympathy for this man or his family.

Mute Bart O Brien
    Favourite Bart O Brien
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:36 PM

John gilligan?

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:37 PM

It is

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:39 PM

Wait for all the “he served his time and should be left to live his life crap”. Cant say its a pity.

See 46 more replies ▾
    Mute WayneWexford
    Favourite WayneWexford
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:41 PM

Ha. Sad day when the comment section is more up-to-date on the news than the article itself.

Mute WayneWexford
    Favourite WayneWexford
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:42 PM

Also, the condition is known. The Independent and the Irish Mirror both reporting that he is in a critical condition.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine

Let’s hope it’s very critical

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

Well I’m going to open a beer anyway.

Mute Ollie O'Cleirigh
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:49 PM

@waynewexford they have to get the facts before reporting. Your going on rumour. Every heard of walter Cronkite and the Kennedy assassination?

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:50 PM

The Sunday world website are saying he was sitting on the jacks when shot.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine

I’m on my second already seanie

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

my bottle of beer is 750ml but i’ll try to catch up Monty.

Mute WayneWexford
    Favourite WayneWexford
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:53 PM

@Ollie Its not as if I just started making facts up. I’m going on what The Independent, the Irish Mirror, Today FM News and the Sunday World have been reporting.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:54 PM

Weren’t you arguing for the legalisation of cannabis in a thread last week, and telling people how great the stuff was? All Gilligan was ever convicted for was importing and selling cannabis, so it’s a bit of a laugh to hear people here go on as if he’s worse than Hitler.

Mute Ollie O'Cleirigh
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:56 PM

I know your not making it up. Fair enough Wayne but those outlets know as much as the journal that’s all I’m saying.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:57 PM

All he ever did what import cannabis. Oh, and murder, don’t forget the murder.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:04 PM

The Gardai could have been doing with your help at the time they were investigating that, Doc. You obviously have more information than they or the courts ever did.. seeing as he was acquitted and all.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:06 PM

Spare me, I’ve no interest in your nonsense.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin

Good enough for him, the man has no dignity anyway so it’s not like he had any to loose.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:11 PM

Would you stop. You bring a whole new level of nieve to it.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:12 PM

I was thinking of sitting in but I might go out now and celebrate….

Mute Chris Chris
    Favourite Chris Chris
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:14 PM

Libelous statement there The Doctor. Have screenshot your comment saved the link to your Twitter profile and will be handing it over to Mr. Gilligans family/solicitor.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n

Fcuking well stop replying to me then. You’re the one that decided to respond, and you’re the one talking nonsense. What evidence do you have that he ever murdered anyone?

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:15 PM

You need something to celebrate Seanie seeing as your beloved FF dropped 5 points in the polls due out tomorrow. SF have passed you out.

Mute Bella Gunning
    Favourite Bella Gunning

Another halloween prank John? ……. Johnoo??

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:16 PM

Got a lovely bottle of 2004 Rioja that was made for an occasion like this.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan

Chris. Shut up you plonker.

Mute Jaymie
    Favourite Jaymie
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:17 PM

Is there anyone surprised or annoyed about this?

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:18 PM

He’s made it on to Sky News.

Mute Bella Gunning
    Favourite Bella Gunning
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:19 PM

At least Hitler had an eye for a nice suit. Gilligan was a jumped-up chav and now he’s brown bread and nobody gives a b*llix

Mute Mick Kirwan
    Favourite Mick Kirwan
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:29 PM

aw what a bummer ….i’m sure thats crap

Mute Murishama Miyamoto
    Favourite Murishama Miyamoto

No sh1t !!

Mute Tiger Lyon
    Favourite Tiger Lyon

@ Seanie and Monty. Have to say I always enjoy your witty comments. Keep up the good work.

Mute Emma McGuire
    Favourite Emma McGuire
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:38 PM

Naive*

Mute Richard Curtis
    Favourite Richard Curtis

And broke both of Veronica guest ins cheekbones before ordering a hit on her is all I’m saying

Mute Richard Curtis
    Favourite Richard Curtis
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:39 PM

*guerin’s

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:40 PM

Thanks emma silly phone

Mute Dec O'Connor
    Favourite Dec O'Connor
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:43 PM

i heard he was shot while on the jacks.purple monkey dishwasher.

Mute Jennifer Rose
    Favourite Jennifer Rose
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:51 PM

@mart_n
    That’s all he was convicted of.
    We all know what he did!!!

Mute Prof. Bernard Feck
    Favourite Prof. Bernard Feck
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:54 PM

Chris Chris, you’re a cun*t! How’s that for a libellous statement!

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:58 PM

Leave Hitler out of this……..

Mute TIPM (Mick Rooney)
    Favourite TIPM (Mick Rooney)
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:59 PM

That’s the trouble when you rely on established media to supply your content!

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris

its because of thugs like this that cannabis should be legalized

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:15 PM

shut it ya clown,you are making a fool of yourself

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan

It’s being reported elsewhere he was wearing a bullet proof vest and that likely saved him – so far. Pity. I hope the cops didn’t loan it to him.

Mute Noel Ryan
    Favourite Noel Ryan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:22 PM

Every Irish mother’s concern – make sure to have clean underwear in case of an accident . Hope Gilligan didn’t shit himself – then I hope he did a right scutter

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:30 PM

My thoughts are with is family – but not good ones

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:41 PM

That was never proved, gonna be a bit controversial here but why had she no Garda protection, Possibly the reason being she was about to bust the Ass on how corrupt and improper the Garda run there shop. Just look at what’s going on now . We need a good journalist not Paul Williams too burst the Gardas ass on this one

Mute TIPM (Mick Rooney)
    Favourite TIPM (Mick Rooney)
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:05 PM

You don’t get shot three times these days and survive without wearing one, whether you’re on the jacks or not!

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:06 PM

Another apologist for Gilligan. You and your like are absolute sc*mbags. Here’s hoping he dies slowly and painfully.

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:51 PM

Couldn’t have happened to a nicer fella

Mute Milly
    Favourite Milly

Rte and breaking news have no mention of it yet. Breaking news me arse. Good work journal.

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear

Irish indo broke it earlier via paul williams

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd

If RTE are lagging, this comes as no surprise.
    Absolute p**s-poor station – and a regular biased one at that.

Mute Eoghan Hogan
    Favourite Eoghan Hogan
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:05 PM

There’s always the chance he could get MRSA, or similar, in the hospital!

Mute G.Murphy
    Favourite G.Murphy
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:22 PM

Fingers and toes crossed!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

Can we have him transferred to Portlaoise Regional?

Mute Maggie may
    Favourite Maggie may

They obviously want to finish him off they sent him to the sh**hole that is blanch hospital

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:56 PM

I dont like anyone getting shot but this guy had it coming there won’t be to many tears shed for him.

Mute Kenneth Bambrick
    Favourite Kenneth Bambrick

Shot while takin a shit..

Mute Michael Connolly
    Favourite Michael Connolly

Shit happens!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:22 PM

Would hate to be the cleaner for that toilet.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:28 PM

Oh I would hate to have to clean that toilet

Mute CMac59
    Favourite CMac59
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:06 PM

He was Unforgiven

Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran

The little shit

Mute Peter O'Leary
    Favourite Peter O'Leary

Great headline for the Sun

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:38 PM

Took longer than I thought if it’s him.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will

Live by the sword… etc etc.

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson

What Will, he was shot by a sword?

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:28 PM

It wasn’t swords. It was clondalkin.

Mute Christine Grifford
    Favourite Christine Grifford

Such a pity… Said nobody ever

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:55 PM

Oh my goodness feel sooo sorry for the other patients

Mute Eliouse Johnston
    Favourite Eliouse Johnston

Sneaky feeling if the shot man is still at the scene it is more than likely he has died from his wounds. Otherwise he would be in hospital getting treatment.

Mute christopher burns
    Favourite christopher burns

Or there hoping he bleeds out there and saves them the hassle of callin an ambulance!!!

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony

It appears that he has been taken to hospital.

Mute christopher burns
    Favourite christopher burns
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:55 PM

Pity more nomen being wasted on him…

Mute Philip Hogan
    Favourite Philip Hogan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:33 PM

According to police, the assailant was wearing Tena protective pants and had a great big Adam’s apple … They are interviewing Linda Martin in connection with incident…

Mute Niall Binead
    Favourite Niall Binead

John Gilligan and other SC#MBAG drug dealers out there like him, have flooded our communities the lenght and breadth of Dublin for far too long now! This current government needs to grow a pair and take these LOWLIFES on, head on, or will it end up like 30 years ago when the community stood shoulder to shoulder with each other because of the lack of an acceptable government response and took these DREGS on? Remember, it wasn’t the government, but decent people that stood up to be counted! Folks, we’ve local elections coming soon, ask our so-called representative parties when they knock, what their party will do to tackle these TOE-RAGS! And regards John Gilligan…… who gives a FU#K!

Mute RogerTheRaver
    Favourite RogerTheRaver
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:03 PM

In other news: Tescos and the Party Shop sell out of jelly and Icecream and party balloons/banners.

Mute john Gallagher
    Favourite john Gallagher

And to think all the wasted tax payers money that kept him alive in prison….. Good riddance!!!!

Mute enash85
    Favourite enash85

Like the comment earlier hope it is slow and painful.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:40 PM

Most definitely
    Twice in the chest

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:25 PM

Now reports saying shot in Head, Chest and Legs. That should do it.

Mute Scarlett Van Tassel
    Favourite Scarlett Van Tassel

I hope the c*nt’s lungs fill with his blood and he drowns.

Mute Name Change Test
    Favourite Name Change Test
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:45 PM

Between this and the horse market controversy, Clondalkin is a hotbed of activity this weekend

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:01 PM

Look what happens when Kenny Egan goes off to Ballsbridge

Mute Jo Bo So
    Favourite Jo Bo So

Let’s hope Harold Shipman is treating his injuries

Mute Leon Taylor
    Favourite Leon Taylor

He was sat on the toilet when he was shot apparently, hard to know who was the bigger piece of poo, him or the poo in the toilet.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:36 PM

lol , come on A&E waiting times, do something good for a change

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins

Veronica Guerin – revenge is a meal best served cold!!

ENJOY HELL YOU SC@M!!

Mute Gary Callan
    Favourite Gary Callan
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:45 PM

Had it coming, hope it was slow and painful

Mute TrafficBatGirl
    Favourite TrafficBatGirl
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:01 PM

Almost meeting his maker on the jacks, just think, he could have been Dublin’s Elvis!!

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers

Had it coming. Everybody knew it.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne

If they didn’t get him this time round, they’ll get him next time.

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:08 PM

How’d they get that many shots at him and still not get a fatal shot ???

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas

I feel sorry for the guy that shot him, 3 bullets and there is still a chance that he will survive? :-/

Mute Vicky Winters
    Favourite Vicky Winters

How shit were the hitmen to miss a fella sitting on the jax from the toilet door??

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy

Was only a matter of time.

Mute Jacqui Mckenna
    Favourite Jacqui Mckenna

Was a matter of time,,,,,,He contaminated everybody and thing he came into contact with,,,,including all the Lives he destroyed, and their devastated Loved ones,,,,Hell would be too a good a place for him

Mute The Bart
    Favourite The Bart
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:26 PM

Haha puttin the “fun” into funeral since 2014

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow

A great Saturday.

Mute Gerard Wyer
    Favourite Gerard Wyer

That’s another €100 for James Reilly then.

Mute Philly Roche
    Favourite Philly Roche
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:06 PM

Despite all attempts at he scene, the ambulace crew failed to finish him off.

Mute mitch connors
    Favourite mitch connors
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:26 PM

Is there any dirt birds in Dublin that can shoot straight , it’s like dad’s army !!

Mute Lar Cooney
    Favourite Lar Cooney

A new beginning for crime journalism when a pioneer in frontline journalism in this country is still remembered.
    Paul Williams will do his master piece article about the thug he was with same boring quotes riding the wave of a of a true investigative journalist.

I hope this will be a chapter closed when the tulip that is the so called modern frontline journo will walk away and stop with his miss informed gardai information. Rest in peace Veronica Guerin.

Mute Frank Daly
    Favourite Frank Daly
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:57 PM

If he was sitting on the jacks when shot I would say it frightened the you know what out of him!!

Mute Owen Stafford
    Favourite Owen Stafford

I was five and he was six…..we rode on the horses made of sticks….

Mute Dave Dson
    Favourite Dave Dson

First time ever that my prayers were answered. Nice.
    What will I pray for tonight?

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood

Luis Suarez to bite someone!!

Mute Ed Quigley
    Favourite Ed Quigley

Delighted he is responsive!!! A quick death would be too merciful for that c&*t he will be back out and back in until hers 6ft under – Karma!

Mute Shane Mc Quillan
    Favourite Shane Mc Quillan

Sympathy levels at an all time low for this one

Mute Alan O Reilly
    Favourite Alan O Reilly
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:25 PM

Gets shot multiple times and his injuries are not life threating!!?worst hit man ever….

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren

Good enough for him. Karma is great.

Mute niamhbrill
    Favourite niamhbrill

Am not too sorry he has been injured (critically or not) but in all seriousness I am surprised at the venomous comments. Surely the shooter is as just as scu*my and evil and should be condemned too. For all we know he (most likely a he) could be ruining lives with drugs too?!!

Mute Alice ORiordan
    Favourite Alice ORiordan

Yes agree with what you say…but how will I put this ..if you live by the sword you die by the sword…

Mute niamhbrill
    Favourite niamhbrill
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:47 PM

As I said I’m not too sad but the shooter could be another gilligan so he deserves some condemnation too. If the shooter was reading these posts he’d prob think he was some kind of hero..!

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:20 PM

if the shooter used a shotgun as has been reported he is probably a junkie.it is not exactly what a professional hitman would use

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan

“but how will I put this ..if you live by the sword you die by the sword…”

It wasn’t a sword. It was a gun. A gun is a weapon incorporating a metal tube from which bullets, shells, or other missiles are propelled by explosive force, typically making a characteristic loud, sharp noise.

Mute Iain Danger Drennan
    Favourite Iain Danger Drennan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:14 PM

Irish hitmen have the worst aim!

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:57 PM

Piss on him

Mute AdrianMacPartland
    Favourite AdrianMacPartland

Old man gilligan

Mute Sharon Maguire
    Favourite Sharon Maguire
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:09 PM

Excellent news!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan

How dreadful. Dreadful, that is, that they didn’t do a good job in ridding the earth of this odious murdering little rat.

Mute Jimmy Bolton Jnr
    Favourite Jimmy Bolton Jnr

That he may die roaring!!!!!

Mute Paula Cloney
    Favourite Paula Cloney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:33 PM

No doubt nidge will be prime suspect

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief

or linda Martin

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:46 PM

I wonder was it a number one or a number two that got him?

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball

He was probably wearing a bullet proof vest which might explain why he didn’t die at the scene.

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor

Was he the only one who didn’t see this coming ?

Mute Aidan Molloy
    Favourite Aidan Molloy

Injuries are not life threatening. I am sure someone’s life will be now, once he gets out.

Mute Oisín Keogh
    Favourite Oisín Keogh
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:59 PM

Is it true he was shot whilst on the toilet?

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews

Sunday World site is saying in his brothers house on the toilet.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:10 PM

Apparently he was yeah.

Mute Name Change Test
    Favourite Name Change Test

These gangsters have been watching too much Pulp Fiction.

Mute Tommy Hornblower
    Favourite Tommy Hornblower

Ahh jaysus!!

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS

Shot in head and chest, and is in my hospital in Blanch according to Sunday World.

Mute Scarlett Van Tassel
    Favourite Scarlett Van Tassel
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:11 PM

Go check if there’s Garda presence and wait for a chance to finish the c*nt off.

Mute Darren McNamara
    Favourite Darren McNamara

“They treated Gilligan at the scene before rushing him to James Connolly Memorial Hospital in Blanchardstown.” – Independent.ie

Mute Chris Creagh
    Favourite Chris Creagh

He is a father and grandfather bit respect for them i think,shall we all go around shooting the bad guys?we have Garda beating up people thugs killing each other what have we all come to, big clap to the Thugs that shot him? Wonder how many innocent family’s they have destroyed? Many I’d say

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear

Yes

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

Respect for them? Why? His family lived well off his illegal activities. Anyone who married in knew exactly what that family is like.

I have respect for the Gardai investigators who managed to get him locked up.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane

I think John Gilligan will survive. Its a pity though. because I was going to buy that shooter a pint if it was fatal

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins

Did Randy Travis not write a song about that? “It’s just a matter of time.” Ain’t karma a bitch!?

Mute Vladislav Dracula
    Favourite Vladislav Dracula

Awful pity he’s not dead yet.

Mute Ed Quigley
    Favourite Ed Quigley
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:50 PM

Rightfully ot one sympathetic comment he is about as popular as Hepatitis

Mute damo kelly
    Favourite damo kelly
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:36 PM

I’d say Gilligan is down in the dumps over this

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:00 PM

Poor man getting shot while having a shit but hey could be worst his finger could have broke through the toilet roll

Mute Hazel Byrne- Ghani
    Favourite Hazel Byrne- Ghani

Wikipedia says he is dead!!!

Mute David Walls
    Favourite David Walls

I’ve just opened you Wiki page and killed you off as well, Wiki says whatever the wanchor writing it wants it to say!!

Mute Jo Bo So
    Favourite Jo Bo So

Let’s hope Harold Shipman is the attending Doctor

Mute Jenny O Rourke
    Favourite Jenny O Rourke

He responded to emergency services and has been taken to hospital “pity really”

Mute Vicky Winters
    Favourite Vicky Winters
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:08 PM

More lives than a litter of fekin cats!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear

Hey man, nice shot!

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:49 PM

Live by the sword … Seems he’s been upsetting a few newbys in the drug trade and they don’t like the sleeveen ever getting a grip again . It also looks like it’s not a hired hit as he would have received a double tap to the head at the end to make sure .. Anyway anything else happening ?

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:43 PM

“Live by the sword … die by the gun?

Mute Susanne Fellowes
    Favourite Susanne Fellowes

I love john.gilligan

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan

Bad news then toots, he has had a new ventilation system installed.

Mute Susanne Fellowes
    Favourite Susanne Fellowes

I did not post this comment!!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear

Yes you did, the clues are there

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:34 PM

Course ye did’nt luv, course ye did’nt….

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:35 PM

Course ye did’nt luv, course ye did’nt……

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

I’m pretty sure there was no shortage of gangsters to take this guy out.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:34 PM

I’m always baffled how bad these gangland shooters are.

3 shots & NOT life threatening injuries.

chest – chest – head.

Easy.

Mute robert purfield
    Favourite robert purfield

Generally speaking a gangster with a gun wouldnt get hours of practice like members of the army or gardai(who use guns) do. Plus theyre probably on something to give tjem the courage to go do it.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:56 PM

Yeah fair enough.

The adrenaline going through the shooter would be enormous.

I’ve only ever engaged paper/painted targets, not some criminal in a bar.

Mute A Perfect Dictator
    Favourite A Perfect Dictator

One shot into the T area of his face, avoiding contact with his skull, instantly severing his brain stem,He wouldn’t have any reflex action , He’d drop like a bag of spuds.

Mute Tony O' Leary
    Favourite Tony O' Leary

Was this just another late Halloween prank john?

Mute John Looney
    Favourite John Looney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:53 PM

Karma’s a bitch!

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:50 PM

Amateurs!

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland

John Gilligan and these gangland drug criminals are with us because of the prohibition of drugs. Like it or not but drugs will always be here and so will guys like this to cash in on this multi-billion euro industry.

We could continue with our current approach.

It has cost our people over 100,000s convictions in the lat number of years.

It has created murderous thugs like Gilligan.

It has not stopped drugs in society in fact it is making things cheaper and more unstable.

Or we can follow in the footsteps of Washington and Colorado.

Colorado is expecting to generate $184M in tax from cannabis sales in 2014.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne

There is no scenario in your mind that cannot be fixed with legal drugs.

Mute yo
    Favourite yo
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:57 PM

Pity he didn’t die

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo

Happy Halloween motherpucker, remember the last attempt he said it was kids with a Halloween prank. Well they are even later than last time.

Mute Daniel Murray
    Favourite Daniel Murray
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:33 PM

No doubt he was wearing a Kevlar vest.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:11 PM

Finally, jeasus it took a bit of time. Unfortunately unsuccessful attempt. :(

Mute Alice ORiordan
    Favourite Alice ORiordan
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:35 PM

It was only a matter of time before this happened…

Mute PaulM1878
    Favourite PaulM1878
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:34 PM

Great Christening with Fireworks..

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:07 PM

A little shit shot while having a littke shit karma.

Mute colin power
    Favourite colin power
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:23 PM

Justice is finally done for Veronica guerin.. Karma is a bitch john!!

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:59 PM

Live by the gun die by the gun

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds

Pity the ambulance didn’t get lost on the way to the pub.

And why is it always a pub for these shootings, surely if you were a gangland criminal you’d just go to the offie instead??

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman

Seems you got lost on your way through the article?

Mute Jambon Decapabanana
    Favourite Jambon Decapabanana
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:08 PM

Joe, you’re a poor reflection of the Irish educational system.

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:24 PM

He knew he was a wanted man, strange he did not wear bullet proof vest

Mute Jacqui Mckenna
    Favourite Jacqui Mckenna
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:30 PM

His warped mind convinced himself that he was untouchable,,,The reality is that while he was imprisoned he left his patch to other criminals to take over

Mute Windscreen Repairs Valeting
    Favourite Windscreen Repairs Valeting
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:45 PM

Are those my feet

Mute Lisa Keaveney
    Favourite Lisa Keaveney
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:56 PM

Shit happens….

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:17 PM

a popular radio station are now saying his injuries are not life threatening.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    Mar 1st 2014, 7:43 PM

How does anyone know it was him ??

Mute Greg Corrigan
    Favourite Greg Corrigan

Who cares

Mute hill16bhoy
    Favourite hill16bhoy
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:48 PM

Lots of keyboard warriors out there baying for blood. “Law-abiding citizens”, how are ya. A baying mob, more like.

I hope John Gilligan survives and makes a full recovery.

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:54 PM

Me too. And when he’s released from hospital I hope he moves in next to your house.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan

The question has to be asked did the state murder Veronica guerin

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch

What’s the theory?

Mute dB O'Neill
    Favourite dB O'Neill

What sort of question is that?

Mute Dave Storey
    Favourite Dave Storey

Are you for real??

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan

A very good one

Mute Brian Hicks
    Favourite Brian Hicks
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:12 PM

No……simples…

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:46 PM

Cop on you feckin muppet !

Mute Frank Carty
    Favourite Frank Carty
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:03 PM
    Mute Gerry Donaghy
    Favourite Gerry Donaghy
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:44 PM

I came through clondalkin this evening at 2.30 there were loads of garda there before he was shot makes me wonder if the had knowledge of it

Mute Jacqui Mckenna
    Favourite Jacqui Mckenna
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:08 PM

theres always loads of garda there,,,,as they are near the prisons and horses

Mute Johnner!
    Favourite Johnner!
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:51 PM

Horse fare

Mute Paul Farrell
    Favourite Paul Farrell

It was the SAS

Mute Manson Raynes
    Favourite Manson Raynes

Paul, the SAS don’t do wounding.. lol

Mute dave boy
    Favourite dave boy
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:25 PM

He looks like a sound chap.

Mute john ferguson
    Favourite john ferguson

John Gilligan…. Legend!!!

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:31 PM

Rte news not life threatening it is reporting on John Gilligan.

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    Mar 1st 2014, 8:20 PM

No way

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy

Terrible to attempt to take a life during a Christian celebration.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 1st 2014, 10:03 PM

The assasinz were Buddhist.

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:36 PM

Hope he Manes a full recovery as If he dies it will a full out blown warfare

Mute Johnner!
    Favourite Johnner!
    Mar 1st 2014, 9:49 PM

Doubt it

Mute Gaspipe Casso
    Favourite Gaspipe Casso

Shot while taking a shit. Only in Ireland.