You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

St Dominick's Road, Tallaght. Google Street View

Man shot outside Dublin shopping centre

Gardaí are now appealing for anyone with information about the incident to come forward.

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN are investigating a shooting incident which occurred last night outide a shopping centre in Tallaght.

Shortly after 10pm a man in his 40s was shot outside the shopping centre on St Dominick’s Road. Witnesses in the area reported hearing five shots and two men on a motorcycle were seen speeding away from the scene.

He was taken by ambulance to Tallaght Hospital and is believed to be in critical condition.

The scene is preserved pending a technical and forensic examination.

Gardaí are appealing for anyone with information to contact Tallaght Garda Station on 01 6664000 or the Garda Confidential Line 1800 666 111.

Read: Three men arrested for shooting in Kildare two years ago>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Gnik
    Favourite Gnik
    May 31st 2013, 9:08 AM

Stab in the dark here, but I’m guessing it wasn’t the local parish priest who was gunned down here.

Mute Eileen Dover
    Favourite Eileen Dover
    May 31st 2013, 7:47 AM

It’s rapidly becoming survival of the fittest in this little country.

Mute Stephen O'Neill
    Favourite Stephen O'Neill
    May 31st 2013, 8:55 AM

It’s turrible, one can’t purchase a loaf of bread in Dublin these days without getting shot. I’m moving to Leitrim.

Mute Waffler Towers
    Favourite Waffler Towers
    May 31st 2013, 8:57 AM

Ah here

Mute Brianog2
    Favourite Brianog2
    May 31st 2013, 9:00 AM

They have guns there too

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    May 31st 2013, 9:52 AM

Not really , don’t be involved in crime and you wont end up shot at some street corner. SIMPLE

Mute Logs burn
    Favourite Logs burn
    May 31st 2013, 10:13 AM

Oh so no innocent person has ever been shot in the cross fire,it’s only the bad guys…..wise up u nonce

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 10:47 AM

Corse they have my brother im been sarcastic ya no how people look down there nose at people like us were not good enough so I was sayin what most think on this ya no with the perfect little life like stephen an havin nothin btr to think bout dan d perfect spellin muppet im wonderin is me gaff nxt is that alri r am I a scu**ag now

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    May 31st 2013, 8:10 AM

Tallafornia Love

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 9:13 AM

This is wat happens when ur involved in fueds an dont keep ya self to ya self I mean fortyyears of age who wants that sh*t in life that age is were ur trouble shud b ovr an uve settlement n life especially wen uve kids who wants dat life for der kids to watch joke it didn happen over doin his shopping……

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    May 31st 2013, 9:32 AM

Is that supposed to be English? Der shd b rls agnst txt SPL hr

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 10:38 AM

Would you like me to spell it all again seems your brain doesn’t take in short hand writing you must be ready to draw the pension or haven’t got to many friends that you dont understand it see I do and my phone received msgs from them that much that it is quicker for me to write back short unlike like your obviously lonely old self is that ok with you a**h@l@ do you under stand that or are you too slooooow……..

Mute Damien O' Reilly
    Favourite Damien O' Reilly
    May 31st 2013, 12:04 PM

Ammo, they are running English class for adults down in Cork next week, I think the first class is all about punctuation. Just saying like.

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 9:25 PM

My punctuation is fine ask ya da damo he does be well pleased.

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 9:26 PM

Steo ya mad rat ya

Mute ger
    Favourite ger
    May 31st 2013, 9:07 AM

I was coming back from the shops in Tallaght village at 940 and the ambulances and squad cars were heading over so it was before 10 it happened not after

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    May 31st 2013, 9:13 AM

You know too much Ger!! You get rid of the gun on the way? :)

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    May 31st 2013, 11:07 AM

Maybe it was payback for a shooting carried out lastweek.

Mute ammo
    Favourite ammo
    May 31st 2013, 11:17 AM

That’s wat it was wat can ys do its d life steo mcker ha ya gaffs nxt hahaha muppet..

Mute barry winters
    Favourite barry winters
    May 31st 2013, 4:07 PM

Go back to school ammo and learn how to spell

Mute chateau nove de pope
    Favourite chateau nove de pope
    May 31st 2013, 8:22 AM

Seriously WTF ??

Mute Kevin Conlon
    Favourite Kevin Conlon
    May 31st 2013, 9:40 AM

@gnik , it could be the parish priest. Giving some of their past record . .

Mute Sarcaholik
    Favourite Sarcaholik
    May 31st 2013, 10:03 AM

Could have been taking too long in confession with some gangsters skank!

Mute Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Favourite Marie Louise Ni Riain
    May 31st 2013, 9:17 AM

Its happening on a daily occurrence now

Mute Maxine W
    Favourite Maxine W
    Jun 1st 2013, 2:01 AM

1. This man wasn’t from tallaght.
    2. This is actually a very quiet residential area. Lots of families, lots of kids, I’ve lived here for 10 years now and never seen or heard any trouble or anti-social behaviour.

Making snide comments about tallaght is prejudiced, narrow minded and immature. This could have happened in any Dublin suburb.

Mute Kevin Conlon
    Favourite Kevin Conlon
    May 31st 2013, 9:43 AM

And before anyone gets excited , Im only taking the urine