You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Campaigners calling for the introduction of same sex marriage in Northern Ireland during a parade and rally in Belfast City centre.

DUP hits out at the Irish government for 'sticking its nose in' Stormont talks

The DUP have said that they are all “miles from agreement”.

THE DUP HAVE accused the Irish government of getting involved in the Stormont Assembly talks by urging the North to legalise same-sex marriage, which is a Sinn Féin policy demand.

Both powersharing parties have already missed three different deadlines this year to form a Stormont Assembly, and leaves an uncomfortable precedent to the British and Irish governments on how to react.

As talks aimed at form a Stormont Assembly slowly grind to a halt, Sinn Féin responded to criticism from the DUP that they’re demands are “unreasonable” and “amount to blackmail”.

Sinn Féin MLA Conor Murphy told Morning Ireland that this was ”simply not true”.

He said that most of what Sinn Féin are asking for – which include an Irish Language Act, the legalisation of same-sex marriage and the resignation of Arlene Foster – have been already agreed in previous agreements, and haven’t been implemented.

These are rights and entitlements that people agree to in the [Republic of Ireland] and in Britain… so they’re not unreasonable demands at all.
I can’t understand why the DUP would not allow someone who wishes to live their life through the medium of Irish the right to do so.

NI powersharing talks DUP leader Arlene Foster. David Young / PA Images David Young / PA Images / PA Images

Meanwhile, the DUP’s Arlene Foster has said that Sinn Féin “has a shopping list that keeps getting longer” and dismissed the chances of an agreement if this didn’t change.

The DUP’s Sammy Wilson told Morning Ireland today that it wouldn’t come to an agreement on Sinn Féin’s terms.

“The Irish government is sticking its nose in business it has no responsibility for,” he said, before criticising the Taoiseach for urging the North to change its laws to allow same-sex marriage.

He said he hadn’t heard the Taoiseach urging any other member of the EU who haven’t legalised same-sex marriage to change their laws.

More disagreement

NI powersharing talks David Young / PA Images David Young / PA Images / PA Images

Yesterday, Sinn Féin accused British Prime Minister Theresa May of setting the Northern Ireland peace process back decades after a further delay in talks.

Michelle O’Neill, Sinn Féin’s leader in Northern Ireland, said an agreement between May and the Democratic Unionist Party’s 10 MPs in the London parliament to prop up her minority government was at fault.

“She is in hock to the DUP,” O’Neill told reporters in Belfast in comments aired on national television.

Sinn Fein are disappointed but not surprised that a deal has not yet been done. What this constitutes is a monumental failure on behalf of Theresa May.

“She has set back decades of work,” O’Neill said.

The British government continues to insist that the deal has no bearing on the Northern Ireland peace process.

The DUP, in turn, has been critical of Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney’s support for an Irish Language Act, and Coveney was quick to then distance himself again:

The governments can support and encourage but, in the final analysis, it is only the parties themselves that can make an agreement with each other.

Britain’s Northern Ireland Secretary James Brokenshire warned that if no agreement was reached, he would be forced to draft a budget for the province and have it enacted by civil servants, but a day later said only that he would “reflect carefully” on how to manage public services.

- With reporting from AFP

Explainer: Why the DUP and Sinn Féin can’t reach a deal on power-sharing in the North

Read: Gerry Adams asks UK to not restore direct rule from Westminster in North

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

147 Comments
    Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:46 AM

With the numbers of Irish citizens up there it’s more our business than you think Ms Foster. Also, ask the average Londoner what they think of you sticking your nose in their business.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:12 AM

@Oisín O’Connor: After the Brexit vote the DUP encouraged it members to source Irish passports. For me looking from a distance, they can keep the North, We are in enough of a mess down here without adding a vast politically dysfunctional sector, which is a failed economic entity where sectarianism dictates.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:35 AM

@Oisín O’Connor: Why is the north so far behind the rest of the UK on issues concerning civil rights, we seem to be slipping backwards. They need to wake up to the twenty first century, or I can see (hopefully not) trouble on the horizon.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:35 AM

@Oisín O’Connor: Why is the north so far behind the rest of the UK on issues concerning civil rights, we seem to be slipping backwards. They need to wake up to the twenty first century, or I can see (hopefully not) trouble on the horizon.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:41 AM

@Chris Kirk: one answer to you question is dup attitude and living through relligon which prohibits future prosperity in north

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:54 AM

@ktsiwot: As an Irishman living in the six counties, allow me to sat that you can shove your “they can keep the north” attitude way up where the sun doesn’t shine. Partition is wrong at every level.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:01 AM

Poor dermo, doesn’t have the cop to realise that abstentionism is in fact the choice of the Nationalist community in the 6 counties, not just SF, as proven by the fact that the non-abstention nationalist party, the SDLP, got wiped out in the Westminister elections.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:22 AM

@Chris Kirk: Interesting, the dup are bigots but to suggest the rest of the U.K. have it all spot on in regards social issues is open to scrutiny. For one I don’t think the U.K. Is doing anything for social cohesion with the way they are allowing the proliferation of an ideology that is a living anathema to progressive social values. Islam.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Chris Kirk: in the recent referendum in 2015 on same sex marriage 30 percent of voters voted against same sex marriage . That’s equivalent to half the population of NI . It only took the Irish republic 90 odd yrs to have a referendum and vote on the thing .

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: if their was basic cop on I would agree however observing the north and the basket case it is on every level, political, economic and socially it would destroy us, it is not as if we are in a great state here.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:37 AM

@The Risen: cant really complain when no one pays ye a blind bit of notice so LOL

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:40 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: but partition is very very real, how are you getting on convincing the unionist community that a united ireland is in their best interest?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:51 AM

@ktsiwot: ” if their was basic cop on I would agree”
    Basic cop on? The same politicians you are claiming to have no cop on managed to build a peace process which is held up as an example and a template around the world for post-conflict resolution. That is a vastly greater achievement than has been won by any politician in the 26 counties. The current negotiating deadlock is relatively small fry. It will be resolved by the Autumn. And regardless of what your perception of the standard of politics, I always find it depressing to see Irish people actively embrace and express a desire for, the continuing division of their own country. Sad.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:54 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: is that hume and trimble you are referring to? SF did nothing as per usual

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:55 AM

@ktsiwot: I remember when people were saying the two Germanys could never get back together , Ireland had been one country longer than Germany existed .

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:59 AM

@james connolly: I don’t understand your mentality about a divided Ireland , perhaps you could enlighten me as to how you have come to your views on the forced partition of Ireland being a legitimate situation .

Mute Jon Snow
    Favourite Jon Snow
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Ken Hayden: There is no comparison to German reunification.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Way to go, another enemy made, uniting the people for your united Ireland really not your strong point.

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:35 AM

@Jon Snow: Perhaps not at the beginning , but at the end there were huge ideological differences between the two Germanys And atheistic and religious views .

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:38 AM

@Scundered: Hey scundered, on June 14th, you posted a claim that I have regularly posted derogatory comments about Protestants on this site.
    I know I’ve been constantly asking you this, and that you keep dodging it when I do ask, but I’m going to keep asking you. Can you either post up even just one single example (with a link) of me making a derogatory comment about Protestants, or else retract the claim?

Mute Atheos Euripides
    Favourite Atheos Euripides
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Poll after poll shows the majority of people in the Six Counties don’t want a united Ireland, and that includes a big chunk of Nationalists too.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: they are the same politicians who regularly threaten to bring down the peace process when relatives of IRA victims ask for answers, wonder your not calling people free staters and west brits. That’s what you usually end up doing!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:12 PM

@Atheos Euripides: And? Can you blame people for being hesitant to being hitched to a debt ridden cesspit of corruption that is the 26 counties right now? No doubt it will improve in time though. And in the north, demographics are shifting rapidly. Most Catholics happen to be in favour of a united Ireland and census trends show we are fast heading towards a Catholic/nationalist majority. And surely a section of protestants will be open to the knowledge that the DUPs current position of influence in Westminster is a once in a lifetime, short term slide of power, and that the protestant/unionist community would hold much more sway as a regular big fish in a unified Irish parliament instead of being minnows in a westminster one.
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/news-analysis/demographics-are-shifting-towards-a-united-ireland-we-must-have-a-plan-35865222.html

Mute Bull Spite
    Favourite Bull Spite
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:36 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: You seem to be ignoring the fact that the “Catholics” in the South don’t want unification. The again you are a Northerner.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 1:19 PM

@Bull Spite: lol good man Bull. The most recent poll commissioned in the 26 counties was by RTÉ and it showed a majority in favour of reunification lol. Clown.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 3:30 PM

@Richard Doherty: The DUP are using religion as an excuse for being hard faced bigots. They are no more Christians than was Adolf Hitler a jew.
    The power is with the British government to do something about it by enacting proper laws, afterall it is the British taxpayers keeping the place going. This would not be tolerated in the rest of the UK.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: no. Just no.

Mute Dan Murphy
    Favourite Dan Murphy
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:44 AM

She needs to tone it down a bit,her party will be the opposition in the Dail in a decade or two.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:38 AM

@Dan Murphy: You must be joking, we don’t need this backwards looking attitude, haven’t we just shaken off the shackles of the church controlling our lives.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Dan Murphy: Cannot believe that DUP and SF MLAs are still being paid!!

7 months of salary for sitting around repeating the word “NO”.

Absolute mickey taking.

Refuse to do your job and still get paid. Meanwhile economic growth slows to anemic 1%.

Utter disgrace.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:04 AM

@Brinster: Silly comment. Politicians do not simply ‘sit around’ when their parliament is closed. It’s their work at constituency level, rather than parliamentary level, that usually gets them reelected. Hence the phrase ‘All politics is local’

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:41 AM

@The Risen: shinners dont show up even when its open, they just take the money as that is all they care about

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:45 AM

@The Risen: So the Northern Assembly is completely pointless? They all have enough work at local level to justify a full salary?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:21 AM

@Brinster: Trying to put words in my mouth? Tisk tisk.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:56 PM

@The Risen: Very simple. Should they hey paid a full salary or not. I’ll await your clear and concise response.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:47 AM

Sinn Fein showing the Dublin government how to negotiate and defend the people you represent. Its a pity they weren’t in charge when the banks came calling.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:00 AM

@Dan: the banks would have got robbed instead of the people

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:00 AM

@Dan: they supported the bailout.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:01 AM

@Dan:
    The country would be in some amount of s.h.1.t now had that been the case.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:15 AM

@Paul Fahey: That is a recorded fact, they voted for it, however trying to get them to admit it is like Jerry saying he was never in the IRA.

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:26 AM

@Paul Fahey: You are incorrect, they supported the proposal on Sept 30 2008 before any of the terms had been worked out and based on false assurances from Lenihan. Once the terms of the actual guarantee were detailed and presented they voted against it on October in the Dail.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:37 AM

@Cathal Mac Einri: they voted in favour if it, it is a documented parliamentary record. Rewriting of history is a desperate measure, much like their stance on water.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:46 AM

@Dan:

“Sinn Fein showing the Dublin government how to negotiate”

Hahahahahahahahaha!

Brilliant!

Negotiate? There has been NO GOVERNMENT IN THE NORTH FOR 7 MONTHS!!!!

They’re all still getting paid mind you.

Mute Conor McNamara
    Favourite Conor McNamara
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:52 AM

@Dan: I thought that we had an Irish Government,

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:18 AM

@Paul Fahey: “they voted in favour if it, it is a documented parliamentary record.”

While you’re on about ‘rewriting history’ being a ‘desperate measure Paul, SF voted AGAINST it on 17 October 2008. Oh, and its parliamentary record.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:23 AM

@The Risen: Horse, door, bolted.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:24 AM

@Scundered:

Hey scundered, on June 14th, you posted a claim that I have regularly posted derogatory comments about Protestants on this site.

I know I’ve been constantly asking you this, and that you keep dodging it when I do ask, but I’m going to keep asking you. Can you either post up even just one single example (with a link) of me making a derogatory comment about Protestants, or else retract the claim?

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:36 AM
    Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly

@Tír Eoghain Gael: would you prefer DUP rule from stormont or london?

Mute Phil Duggan
    Favourite Phil Duggan
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Dan: A little knowledge is dangerous, Sinn Fein voted for Trokia measures incl Bond holders not being burned! All the cuts Siin Fein were against in the Republic are the same as those they voted to be introduced in the North, double standards or what?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:50 AM

@Cathal Mac Einri: Maybe you could read your own link, Cathal.

They supported the Credit Institutions Bill and then flip flopped a week later because the Bailout Bill didn’t go far enough.

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:03 AM

@Brinster: Its exactly as i stated. They voted against the guarantee as it didn’t protect the taxpayer. All true.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Cathal Mac Einri: Ignore brinster. He operates hoping nobody reads the links posted to news items which contradict his dodgy claims.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Ah the women bully is back, early start in the bar for you today, already fallen out with one lad on this thread I see…. doing a sterling job of uniting people for your vision of equal Ireland.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:37 AM

@Scundered: More cowardly dodging. I’ll ask again. On June 14th, you posted a claim that I have regularly posted derogatory comments about Protestants on this site.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:40 AM

@The Risen: and what was their voting record on it before then?

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:58 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Three times you have been derogatory to others on this thread alone, the truth is clear for all to see.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:14 PM

@Scundered: You claimed I have made regular derogatory remarks specifically about Protestants. I’ve repeatedly asked you to show everyone the proof. I’d have thought you’d jump at the chance to do so and embarrass me. It’s almost as though you know such evidence doesn’t exist.

But we’ll give you the benefit of the doubt. Post just one of those “regular” derogatory comments about Protestants that I’ve apparently made, with a link. Or retract your accusation. Time to man up.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:58 PM

@The Risen: “Ignore Brinster”.

Censorship!

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 4:17 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Your record appears to be stuck on repeat, though I suppose it must be embarrassing that you can’t defend falling out with everyone who has a different opinion to yours. Look at the amount on this thread alone.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the journal’s very own keyboard sociopath.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:17 PM

@Scundered: Stuck on repeat and youay get used to it for as lonh as you keep avoiding the issue. So here we go again…you claimed I have made repeated derogatory comments on this site about Protestants. Show a quote and link to even one such comment or retract the accusation please.

Mute David Knight
    Favourite David Knight
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:59 AM

Unless the DUP feel that they can unilaterally re-write the Good Friday Agreement, just because they have the Tories by the balls, I would have thought that the Irish Government have as much right as the British Government to “stick their noses” in. Unless co-guarantors means something different up there.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:06 AM

@David Knight: I think it does. It means if you are one of Darlene’s mates you guarantee her that you’ll buy lots of furnaces and she’ll guarantee her mates that they’ll make loads of money .#rhi #rhi scandal #redsky

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:34 AM

@David Knight: In fairness to the British Government, their Prime Minister or their Foreign Secretary didn’t come out and make public comments about what should happen during the ‘negotiations’

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:42 AM

@David Knight: The DUP only listen to the southern government when there is money involved.

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:54 AM

Is anybody else surprised about how much interest finegael are showing in the six counties lately, the same six counties they ignored when they were under constant attack by government forces and authorities daily.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:17 AM

@joe o hare: Joe this is dragging out so long no one cares anymore, the government makes the odd statement knowing it makes no difference.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:24 AM

@joe o hare: What fifty years ago?

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:48 AM

its a perfect marriage in the north, never have two communities deserved each other more

Mute joe o hare
    Favourite joe o hare
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:50 AM

Hardly opposition, they will be in coalition with the fianna Gael party, to stop sinn fein completing a third term in office.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon

A few ago these bigots were on their knees but again the brits have propped them up.No way can Sinn Fein work with this sectarian lot,no way.
    They are he’ll bent on causing as much trouble as they can.The Irish government has to get involved.This is our Island not a British island.
    We definitely need a referendum on a United Ireland.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:47 AM

@gerry fallon: Both sides are sectarian SF and the DUP…..It is the nature of NI politics going back to the Ulster plantation……

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:56 AM

@John003: “Both sides are sectarian SF and the DUP”

Such grossly simplistic nonsense.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:07 AM

@John003: “Both sides are sectarian SF and the DUP”

Pretty ignorant comment right there.

“The people of this island, whether urban or rural, from whatever background or tradition, share a common history and our futures are bound together.

We need reminded again and again that our flag is Orange.

Orange as well as green.

Orange is part of what we are.

That is our potential and our challenge.

To unite Orange and Green in equality and mutual respect.”

Gerry Adams – President of Sinn Fein

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:12 AM

@The Risen: SF and the DUP perfectly deserve each other, a match made in heaven

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:03 PM

@The Risen: Gerry Adams says a lot of things. Actions speak much louder than words. Sinn Fein have done little to “unite Orange and Green in equality and mutual respect.” in recent years.

The conflict in Nothern Ireland is only sectarian by circumstance. It really is a cultural/political conflict. Provisional Sinn Fein and the DUP are still the extremes of both sides.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:17 PM

@Craba:
    “Gerry Adams says a lot of things. Actions speak much louder than words. Sinn Fein have done little to “unite Orange and Green in equality and mutual respect.” in recent years.”
    He and SF built one of the worlds most successful post-conflict peace processes. So yeah, actions do speak louder than words.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:18 PM

@Craba:
    “Provisional Sinn Fein and the DUP are still the extremes of both sides.”

Which of SF’s demands in the negotations are “extremist” could you tell us:

A) An Irish Language Act akin to the indigenous language acts which now exist in the 26 counties, in Scotland and in Wales.
    B) A Bill of Rights to guarantee equality for all citizens
    C) Same sex marriage to be legalised
    D) Accountability for the half billion pound RHI scandal

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:23 PM

@The Risen: there is no orange in the fleg of the six counties!

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 3:45 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:
    I replied in some detail a couple of hours ago, but the journal is becoming a lottery of whether a comment will post or not.
    In summary the words “recent years” answers you first point.

Secondly I didnt say that the specific demands of Sinn Fein were extremes. I said Sinn Fein were. They are an extreme Left wing marxist organisation. I would also say that labeling those you disagree with as “traitors” is extremist also.

“demands in the negotations” says it all really.

Mute Thaddius T Sawballs
    Favourite Thaddius T Sawballs
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:56 AM

How things have changed over the years
    Who’d have thunk it
    Sinn fein
    Banging the table for same sex marriage,

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:08 AM

@Thaddius T Sawballs:
    Sinn Fein’s only interest is getting into power in Ireland. The only ways they see that happening in the foreseeable future is to use their Northern Ireland constituency to add more seats in the Dail. They don’t want the institutions in Northern Ireland to work. Its not in their interests. They want to be able to say the Irish citizens in Northern Ireland are not represented. Ironically Provisional Sinn Fein are the ones who won’t represent them.

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Craba: Provisional Sinn Fein don’t exist.
    Sinn Fein are representing the People who voted for them unlike other political party here in the Republic of Ireland FF/ FG Labour

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Christopher Doyle: They should take their case concerning civil rights to the EU parliament, rubbing more salt into Theresa May’s government. They have enough MEP reps in the EU parliament to make their case and gain support before brexit kicks in.

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Christopher Doyle: I think you’ll find Sinn Fein ceased to exist in 1922. Provisional Sinn Fein was established in 1970. They still exist. They have dropped Provisional from their name as they believe it has negative connotations. I cant imagine why that would be.

Where do they represent their Nothern Ireland electorate. Westminster? No. Stormont? No. Ah! the European Parliment. One M.E.P. out of 750, Influential. Funny thing is there probably won’t be any Northern Ireland MEPs in the next European Parliament.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:29 AM

@Craba:
    “I think you’ll find Sinn Fein ceased to exist in 1922″
    Despite winning six seats in the general election in 1927?

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:49 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:
    Different Sinn Fein. The supreme court in 1948 found that the Sinn Fein that were constituted in 1923 and no legal contiuation from the party that ceasesed to exist in 1922. (Buckley and Others v Attorney General and Power 1948)

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Craba: Of course they found it to be a different organisation! De Valera left it and wanted to get his hands on it’s funds. Just more of the corruption that the free state was built upon! Besides, it won six seats in 1927, which you may not be aware, was before 1948.

Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:20 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:
    Different organisation, reconstituted in 1923. The government of the day wanted to use the funds for verterans on the 1920′s conflict. The plaintiffs wanted it to fund their military and political aspirations. All the money got flittered away in legal fees.
    As today, when Sinn Fein gets involved, everybody loses.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 1:22 PM

@Craba: “Different organisation, reconstituted in 1923.”

There was a split. After which there still existed Sinn Féin. And again, the 1943 debacle came about through free state corruption and greed. As usual.

Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:41 AM

Its called northern Ireland for a reason..

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:49 AM

@David Dineen: You mean because of the artificial gerrymandered line that was created for the benefit of one section of the population over the other.
    “Northern” Ireland only exists if inequality is preserved.
    Equality is coming to the North.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:50 AM

@David Dineen: it’s the north part of the island of Ireland?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:02 AM

@Niallers: Northern Ireland would still exist irrespective of Gerry Mandering, which was about maintaining Protestant control and catholic subservience.

Mute John Tuld
    Favourite John Tuld
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:25 AM

Is it just me or does Arlene’s nose grow a little longer anytime she says “we’re engaged in meaningful dialogue”?

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:31 AM

DUP in control. See what happens. Backwards.

Mute Fred Jensen
    Favourite Fred Jensen
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:33 AM

DUP are getting arrogant now they’ve got leverage over the Tories. Irish government can stick it’s nose in as much as it likes and there’s nothing they can really do about it is there.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:59 AM

“they’re demands”. Their, it’s their. Genitive of they denoting possession. They’re is a contraction of they are. FTLOG.

Mute Gavin O Doherty
    Favourite Gavin O Doherty
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:58 PM

Few people on here have absolutely no positive contributions to the ongoing crisis in the north. Just childish behavior and negativity. They are either Trolls or undercover staunch unionists trying to get their prehistoric outdated values heard. This is the core of the problem. unionist support is declining by the minute. A untied Ireland is not far away and this really gets some people’s backs up and blood boiling. It very much shows in some of these posts. Just watch the replies

Mute Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Dáithí Ó Raghallaigh

DUP is always on the wrong side of history, Its a human rights issue, we raise such issues and concerns with countries all the time.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:30 AM

Support for Sinn Fein is in decline it has being since the end of the troubles . While the catholic population is increasing support for nationalist parties are decreasing . In 2016 they receive half the votes they got in 2001 . In 10 to 15 yrs time they won’t be relevant in NI anymore .

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:17 AM

@Tommy Whelan:
    “Support for Sinn Fein is in decline it has being since the end of the troubles”

As I’ll go on to explain, in the last 16 years of general elections, their vote has increased by 63,000 votes you imbecile!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Tommy Whelan:
    “While the catholic population is increasing support for nationalist parties are decreasing”
    The nationalist turnout increased at the last two elections, clever cloggs!

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Tommy Whelan:
    “In 2016 they receive half the votes they got in 2001″
    Firstly there was no general election in 2016, it was in 2017. But let’s run a quick fact check on the rest of that claim:
    Number of votes for SF in:
    2001: 175,933
    2017: 238,915
    So no, their vote didn’t decrease by a half, it increased by 62,982 votes.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:19 AM

@Tommy Whelan:
    “In 10 to 15 yrs time they won’t be relevant in NI anymore”

So in the last 15 years their vote has increased by 63,000 votes, and that is your reasoning behind figuring they won’t even be relevant in the next 15 years? lol

I know joined the British Army and all, so brains were never going to be a strong point, but come on! You managed to get absolutely every single claim wrong in that post lol!!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:31 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: a true characteristic of a shinnerbot to insult those that don’t agree with their opinion . https://sluggerotoole.com/2016/05/12/constitutional-uncoupling-or-the-decline-in-support-for-nationalist-parties-amongst-the-catholic-community-of-northern-ireland/

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:34 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: “Support for Sinn Fein is in decline it has being since the end of the troubles”

Forgot to give you the fact check on that one too. Here’s SF’s vote share at every general election since 2001:

2001: 21.7%
    2005: 24.3%
    2010: 25.5%
    2015: 24.5%
    2017: 29.4%

lol Care to explain how you got from that their vote has been declining since the end of the troubles? Given that their share of the vote has actually increased by 5.1% in that time (with an increase of 63k votes). lol you really are a clown!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Tommy Whelan: “a true characteristic of a shinnerbot to insult those that don’t agree with their opinion”

It’s not a matter of opinion lol. You claimed the nationalist vote is declining and are using an old article to support that claim. Since that article was published there have been two more elections. Here’s the percentage of nationalist votes since 2016:

2016: (assembly election: 36%
    2017 (assembly): 39.8%
    2017 (general election): 41.1%

So it’s not my “opinion” that you are wrong in saying the nationalist vote is in decline. The RESULTS show the nationalist vote is increasing.
    lol so again, every single claim you made in your initial post was verifiably wrong, and spectacularly so!

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:51 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: and no one gives a toss LOL

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:58 AM
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:05 AM

@Tommy Whelan: lol You got your a55 handed to you on a plate so you’re changing the subject quickly. There’s a surprise!!

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:10 AM

@Tommy Whelan: tommy, you made a ridiculous claim that is easily and demonstrably refuted by the facts and a grasp of basic math. SF have increased their support and representation in every jurisdiction where they have took part in elections, the republic, the 6 counties, the westminister elections and the european elections.

I think you made that claim before, so fully expect to be proven wrong the next time you make it as well.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:14 AM

@The Risen: and never won an election LOL

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:20 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: your getting me all wrong I’m all for Sinn Fein to do well in NI . I think it’s a disaster that support for Sinn Fein and the SDLP is in decline . Sinn Fein is a obstacle to a UI . As long as Adams and his party are a major part of the political system in NI , unionists will never accepted a UI . http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/news-analysis/why-the-single-biggest-obstacle-to-the-creation-of-a-32county-united-ireland-is-gerry-adams-35871575.html

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:24 AM

@Tommy Whelan: You’re posting a link to an opinion piece in a newspaper owned by a certain billionaire to make your point?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Tommy Whelan:

No you’re getting YOURSELF all wrong.

Like when you claimed SF’s vote has plummeted since the peace process, when it actually has increased by 63,000 votes.

And like when you claimed that the nationalist vote has gone into decline, when it has actually increased by 5% over the last two elections.

And like when you claimed that “In 2016 Sinn Féin received half the votes they got in 2001″ when in actual fact they got 62,982 MORE votes in 2016 than in 2001.

Go have a lie down and leave the keyboard be for a while before you make any more of a fool of yourself.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:36 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Calling folk imbeciles, nice. A blinding start today even by your standards of creating enemies.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Scundered: Hey, scundered on June 14th, you posted a claim that I have regularly posted derogatory comments about Protestants on this site.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan

@Tír Eoghain Gael: in only going by what I read in a article that I displayed here . It’s obviously true as you are getting all work up over it . Did I touch a nerve .

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:03 PM
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:19 PM

@Tommy Whelan: lol you haven’t a good record on posting articles. Like a while ago when you posted one to apparently prove that the nationalist vote is in decline, when it has actually increased for the last two elections. You’re playing a blinder Tommy!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:38 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: I would believe a article from the daily sport before a shinnerbot on here . https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2016/may/08/nationalists-northern-ireland-elections-good-friday-agreement

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:41 PM
    Mute Craba
    Favourite Craba
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:53 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:
    I think you just proved the point he made in his last post though.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 1:24 PM

@Tommy Whelan: “I would believe a article from the daily sport before a shinnerbot on here ”

I don’t doubt you’d believe anything. Sure you believed a SF support had halved since the peace process began, even though it increased by 63,000 votes lol Set down your shovel you absolute donkey!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Tommy Whelan: “@Tír Eoghain Gael: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/1467-923X.12350/full”

Another article based on 2016 election results? lol Have you already forgotten that I pointed out there’s been two election since then? How can you be as thick as to continue to claim that the nationalist vote is declining when the facts have just been provided to you in black & white?? lol Look…I’ll even post them again for you!

Nationalist vote share by % in the past three elections:

2016: (assembly election): 36%
    2017 (assembly): 39.8%
    2017 (general election): 41.1%

Mute Ian Dinan
    Favourite Ian Dinan
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:02 AM

“they’re demands”

Really???

Mute Pat Price
    Favourite Pat Price
    Jul 5th 2017, 3:24 PM

The DUP never wanted to work with anyone from the nationalist side and still don’t , they were dragged kicking and screaming through the Good Friday agreement .The only reason they were forced to get involved back then was because joint authority had been imposed because of their continued intransigence .
    They will happily pursue a hard brexit and be willing to live with the consequences. I personally can’t see the assembly been reformed while the DUP are in their arrangement with Threasa May , sure they couldn’t be happier with the way things are at the moment .

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:11 PM

Arlene she’s rotten to the core… don’t know how she was even voted back in with the cash for ash scandal but the backward unionist voters still did it

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:49 PM

It must be truly awful to be born into a Loyalist/Unionist back round. Being born as one thing but identifying as another. Oh, wait… that sounds familiar. Maybe they have more in common with the LGBTQ community than they think

Mute Liam Mac Roibin
    Favourite Liam Mac Roibin
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:45 AM

@Niallers: They can park that bus next to the one that finally brings the 21st century to the North.
    Both sides are quagmired in the past.
    No-one down here can take seriously two insane clowns squaring up to each other after closing time in the pub carpark.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:10 AM

@Liam Mac Roibin: “Both sides are quagmired in the past.”
    Here’s SF’s demands in the talks:

A) An Irish Language Act akin to the indigenous language acts which now exist in the 26 counties, in Scotland and in Wales.

B) A Bill of Rights to guarantee equality for all citizens

C) Same sex marriage to be legalised

D) Accountability for the half billion pound RHI scandal

Maybe you could step back from your grossly simplistic (mis)understanding of the issue for a minute and explain which of those demands are “stuck in the past”?

“No-one down here can take seriously two insane clowns”
    Such misplaced partitionist arrogance. It’s hard to take seriously the 26 counties too, or it’s claim to be a Republic when it is currently a debt ridden cesspit of corruption whose leaders have continuously embraced the partition of their own country.

Mute james connolly
    Favourite james connolly
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:15 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: as bad and all as it is, you and your ilk still arent welcome PMSL

Mute Bridget Cairns
    Favourite Bridget Cairns
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:23 AM

@Liam Mac Roibin: a lesson on recent history necessary for you……………

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered

@Tír Eoghain Gael: There’s the hat-trick now.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael

@Scundered: Hey scundered, on June 14th, you posted a claim that I have regularly posted derogatory comments about Protestants on this site.

I know I’ve been constantly asking you this, and that you keep dodging it when I do ask, but I’m going to keep asking you… Can you either post up even just one single example (with a link) of me making a derogatory comment about Protestants, or else retract the claim?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jul 5th 2017, 11:47 AM

@james connolly: Fraperoom troll.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:01 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Nice try at deflection. However the fact you’ve already been derogatory to 3 others on this thread already shows the truth to your character, and of course bullying a woman yesterday on another. Classy.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:20 PM

@Scundered: Speaking of deflection, you keep avoiding answering me. So I’ll ask again. You claimed I have made regular derogatory remarks specifically about Protestants. I’ve repeatedly asked you to show everyone the proof. I’d have thought you’d jump at the chance to do so and embarrass me. It’s almost as though you know such evidence doesn’t exist.

But we’ll give you the benefit of the doubt. Post just one of those “regular” derogatory comments about Protestants that I’ve apparently made, with a link. Or retract your accusation. Time to man up.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Jul 5th 2017, 4:19 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:

sociopath: a person with a personality disorder manifesting itself in extreme antisocial attitudes and behaviour.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jul 5th 2017, 12:09 PM

Sticking its nose in lol! You lads need to be supervised by someone at all times, your track record on FairPlay and decency isn’t great. You couldn’t score in a cathouse

Mute Paul Foot
    Favourite Paul Foot
    Jul 5th 2017, 8:57 AM

their*

Mute Shane Bradley
    Favourite Shane Bradley
    Jul 5th 2017, 1:26 PM

Deja vu! This is back to the politics of the 90s… We need some back room negotiations and really skilled facilitators (which got the GFA across the line). Keep this megaphone ‘blame the others’ politics going and the whole enterprise could start to unravel!

Mute Colm Mc Court
    Favourite Colm Mc Court
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:11 AM

Hi

Mute Derek O'Sullivan
    Favourite Derek O'Sullivan
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:28 AM

” they’re demands” – shame on you

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jul 5th 2017, 10:39 AM

Our new minister Coveney seems very pro SF….When you see him on RTE could be SF spokesman for the talks…..Forner one Flanagan was better and more objective on NI policy…..

Mute Ruth McCann
    Favourite Ruth McCann
    Jul 5th 2017, 9:58 PM

Like I said before, the DUP are a bunch of racist, sectarian, homophobic, anti Irish, anti women’s rights, backwards bunch of arseholes. They’re the ones who keep their feet in the past, it doesn’t matter about what anyone else wants, just what they want. I have no time for the sinn fein but at least they’re TRYING something! the dup don’t give a shit, all they care about is being the MOST important group in Westminister as long as they get their money, they don’t give a shit