You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

South Korea seizes ship that was allegedly selling oil in secret to North Korea

It follows US President Donald Trump’s tweets about the alleged transfer of oil.

South Korea North Korea Sanctions Evasion The Lighthouse Winmore PA Images PA Images

SOUTH KOREA BRIEFLY seized and inspected a Hong Kong-registered ship in November for transferring oil products to a North Korean vessel and breaching UN sanctions, a foreign ministry official said today.

It follows a tweet from US President Donald Trump that China was ‘caught red-handed’ allowing oil into North Korea.

“There will never be a friendly solution to the North Korea problem if this continues to happen,” he added.

The Lighthouse Winmore, which was chartered by a Taiwanese company and carrying around 600 tonnes of oil products from South Korea’s Yeosu port, transferred part of its cargo to a North Korean vessel on October 19, the official said.

Seized and inspected

South Korean customs authorities briefly seized and inspected the ship when it returned to Yeosu Port on November 24, he added.

The ship, chartered by Taiwanese company Billions Bunker Group Corporation, previously visited Yeosu on October 11 to load up on Japanese refined oil before heading towards its purported destination in Taiwan.

Instead of going to Taiwan, however, the vessel transferred the oil to the North’s Sam Jong 2 as well as to three other non-North Korean vessels in international waters, the official said.

“This marks a typical case of North Korea shrewdly circumventing UN Security Council sanctions by using its illegal networks,” the official told journalists.

The actions taken will be reported to the UN Security Council sanctions committee on North Korea in the future.

South Korea has shared intelligence with the US about the detection of the illegal transaction, he added.

Taipei said the Billions Bunker Group is not incorporated in Taiwan but in the Marshall Islands, and that it would “continue to fully comply” with UN sanctions against North Korea.

Taiwan’s transport ministry said it is investigating whether any Taiwanese entities were involved.

The Lighthouse Winmore came to Taiwan twice this year to “load supplies”, the ministry added, but gave no further details.

The ship is owned by a Hong Kong-registered company called Win More Shipping Limited. There was nobody Friday at the address given for the firm on Hong Kong’s companies registry.

North Korea Sanctions North Korean leader Kim Jong-un PA Images PA Images

The Sam Jong 2 was one of four North Korean ships that was blocked from international ports by the UN Security Council on Thursday over suspicions of carrying or transporting goods banned by sanctions targeting Pyongyang’s weapons ambitions, diplomats told AFP.

The Security Council has imposed three sets of sanctions on North Korea this year: one on August 5 targeting the iron, coal and fishing industries, another set on September 11 aimed at textiles and limiting oil supply, and the most recent on December 22 focused on refined petroleum products.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Donald Trump says China has been caught ‘RED HANDED’ letting oil into North Korea >

View 24 comments
24 Comments
    Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:38 PM

Fair enough, but their prices to take said photographs were an utter rip off, so karma and all that.

Mute Mike Dowling
    Favourite Mike Dowling
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:31 PM

Sure Erica !

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:27 PM

They were beaten on a Tender ! They should grow up.

Mute Classic Car Me!
    Favourite Classic Car Me!
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:41 PM

Ah now, this is hardly a massive monopolist new state invention, sure you still have the passports lads, not to mention, Garda Id, student cards and of course weddings. Good luck!

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:50 PM

thats where it all starts.next it will be passports.then you will still be saying ah sure you still have weddings, student id etc. until eventually they too will be swallowed up.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:12 PM

Graham. I’m delighted I won’t have to pay up an extra €6 or €8 for a little photo. I’ve had enough of rip off Ireland. So many regulations and fees and rules everywhere.

Mute graham galvin
    Favourite graham galvin
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:16 PM

jack i agree its a rip off but when this company has a monopoly you will have no choice on what you have to pay just to get a licence.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:51 PM

Ridiculous argument saying it will cost jobs, we can’t constantly stem progression just because it costs jobs! I have heard there is a new credit card style card in the pipe works that will hold all kinds of information; pps, blood type, donor card, driving disqualifications. Welfare receipts etc… It is the first stage of inter agency communication.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:08 PM

Inter agency communication? SGS are a private company and I for one don’t want personal information shared between government and the private sector.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:21 PM

There’s a new smart card national identity card that will hold information. It won’t be for sgs. The main idea of it is to crack down on welfare fraud, government agencies will be able to see what allowances and welfare people are getting from hse, councils etc… It can only be a good thing

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:39 PM

How will they lose wedding business to this? Passport maybe, no harm as I had a passport application sent back twice due to these photographers not following the regulations, but sgs can hardly take wedding business

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:40 PM

Your right on that card chilly a great idea, wonder how much further it will get than an idea though , its taken years to bring in the driving licence.
    and the welfare fraud in some places is a lot simpler than that, their systems are so badly linked people could claim the dole in edenderry , rathangan and portarlington all on the same day as they were different counties and records were kept separately…. unreal.

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:55 PM

Is it April fools day? For feck sake it’s the digital age – adapt or die lads

Mute Paul Francis
    Favourite Paul Francis
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:48 PM

Aoife. The Maths don’t add up. 600,000
    licences every year appears rather a large number even allowing for lost licences and provisional ones. But even at that number Mr Foley says 4000 people rely on it for their business. That’s 150 customers per year per service provider. I thinks he is exaggerating quite a bit.

Mute Irene Winters
    Favourite Irene Winters
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:34 PM

I think you’re right – gross exaggeration – however am against any monopoly in principle and wondering if we can no longer apply by post what hours have the SGS agreed to open in their tender proposal

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:49 PM

600,000 licences issued every year in Ireland? Really? And they last 10 years?
    So, approx 6,000,000 have Irish drivers licences..

That’d be about right. Yeah.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:08 PM

600,000 includes renewals so if u have people renewing after 10,20,40 and 40 years and new drivers and lost or stolen licences they all add up

Mute Classic Car Me!
    Favourite Classic Car Me!
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:11 PM

Not to mention people living abroad renewing there’s too.

Mute Evelyn Murphy
    Favourite Evelyn Murphy
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:46 PM

There are so many other reasons people have I.D photos taken. This will not take a huge chunk of business away. From working in photo developing myself, it is the fault of greedy shop owners who price these photos so high-that is why they would be losing out. Seriously €6 and upwards for one photograph containing 4 or 6 small images!! Takes less than 1 minute to put through and print!! I often reccomend that people take their own photo at home, They can brighten it up themselves at the kiosk and print it as a regular photo for 40c.

Mute It's all good
    Favourite It's all good
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:35 PM

Remember that shop owner has to pay rent, rates, your wages, electricity, heating, stock, insurance,equipment. You should factor these costs in before you sabotage the business which employs you.

Mute cooperguy
    Favourite cooperguy
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:19 PM

And even after all that a profit margin that runs to 1000′s of percent is not acceptable! If I can do it at a kiosk for a few cent there is no excuse for ?6/photo

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:27 PM

600,000 licences each year? Am I the only person who thinks that figures is a bit high, even including renewals.

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:39 PM

Some people think 600,000 is credible.
    Pretty impressive for a total population of less than 5 million.

And the courts full of people who don’t have licences!!

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:47 PM

It’s almost impossible to know where to start …

Passport photos, are verified by someone who knows the person involved or is a Guard. The same process could be used. Even then if the applicant has to come into an office they will be standing in front of the employee working for the firm. The employee can then use a process called “looking” to see if it’s the same person as in the photo.

You know every once in a while someone goes “Oh, yeah, we’re like a laughing stock.”? Well this sort of thing doesn’t help.

Mute c.walsh
    Favourite c.walsh
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:33 PM

Process called looking!! Love it :D

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:09 PM

What decade is this?

Everyone I know has access to a digital camera. If you could upload your own jpegs, all the cropping and resizing and background lightening and ensuring the hairline is between lines D and E could be done automatically, in software. And if you can’t get a reasonable biometric scan off it, it can be rejected instantly. You then get a link for a Garda to certify. No printing, no scanning, no messing about with stupid little photos.

Does Ireland do this? No it doesn’t. Instead it creates a tender where the only two options are scanning and having someone else take short range photos to make your nose look bigger.

Mute Niall Harpur
    Favourite Niall Harpur
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:25 PM

The real story is why Leo has to put this process to tender in the first place when the jobs could be used to transfer public servants into jobs that are useful, using the motor tax offices to process the photos……Instead he hands what is sure to be an over priced job to a company registered in geneva, switzerland……The board of executives look like they could use the money though….to think that photography stores would collapse due to the loss of passport id’s is ridiculous and frankly a non story.

Mute jrbmc
    Favourite jrbmc
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:01 PM

who the hell goes to a professional photographer to get pics for there licence in the first place

Mute jim ahh jim ahh jim
    Favourite jim ahh jim ahh jim
    Nov 21st 2012, 8:03 PM

They must have a business registered in the EU to be eligible to tender for Government contracts.

” Leo” put this process to tender because he is obliged to under EU Law.
    In the same way that Irish companies are tendering for business in other EU companies

Mute Niall Harpur
    Favourite Niall Harpur
    Nov 21st 2012, 11:25 PM

Why tender in the first place jim when it should have been done by an office that already exists….motor tax should be doin this

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:38 PM

I took and printed my own photos for my passport and driving license. It only cost me a few cent to do so. That way I could avoid expensive photo booths and chemists, and take a better picture, …look less like a muppit.

How much will the new system cost me? Bet they’re going to charge me €10 to sit in front of their camera, well it’s going to be a monopoly.

Mute Bluechip78
    Favourite Bluechip78
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:46 PM

So now i have to go to a specific office at a designated time to get a photo and renew my licence instead of doing it online or by post. So much for moving forward.

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Nov 22nd 2012, 10:21 AM

how do you renew your licence on line?

Mute Think First
    Favourite Think First
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:16 PM

Let’s not change anything ever, for fear that someone will have to retrain.

Anyway, generally we’re talking one photo every ten years for each driver, how many people are depending on that income?

Passports are big users of these so don’t see a big issue.. let them downsize in preparation for fully electronic passports.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:13 PM

Or, when we change things, change them in a way that actually makes sense. Just a thought.

Mute Shane Freedom
    Favourite Shane Freedom
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:02 PM

The Irish say yes to everything the Government do. Yes to Austerity, Yes to state control over children and families. Yes Sir, Yes Sir, 3 bags full Sir. Pathetic country.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Nov 21st 2012, 7:01 PM

Yawn! Try and comment on the actual topic if you’re going to bother.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Nov 21st 2012, 4:09 PM

Is this the same SGS that operate the NCT centres? The other point is will this have an effect on local authority jobs if they are no longer issuing the licenses?

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:16 PM

imagine the Qs for this service! Anything to do with motoring is done the same, walk in, press for ticket, wait 2 hours for one of the 6 or 7 booths to come available.. and to top it, i can bet that the photo service will be more expensive than a chemist or photo shop! its just another money making scam by government.

Mute Niamh May
    Favourite Niamh May
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:56 PM

I’ve been waiting 6 weeks for a new photo pps card. Shocking.

Mute Jackie Crowe
    Favourite Jackie Crowe
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:39 PM

i go to the booth outside the door of motor vehicles,, thought everyone did,, passports now thats a different story, back grounds, ears showing,, size,, sorry photographers but ye are a little costly,,, watch our pennies now

Mute Sean McNally
    Favourite Sean McNally
    Nov 21st 2012, 9:31 PM

Look, when the motor car ‘came in’ a lot of horse dealers went to the wall. What’s their point, exactly?

Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    Nov 21st 2012, 5:08 PM

There’s argument for and against here. The thing that sticks out for me is that it is going to be a monopoly situation with the issue of drivers licences. What’ll they cost I wonder ? With no competition it could be the case that whatever you paid for your photo becomes a pittance compared to the new overall cost of getting a licence. Everyone needs to make a living and having to pay €5 or €10 once every 10 years is very good value in my opinion. At least you’d be sure the photo was in the correct format and dimensions etc. and you wouldn’t have had it thrown back at you. Honestly, the way people jump on the “rip of Ireland” bandwagon is astounding sometimes. At the first sign of a potential opportunity the phrase “rip off Ireland” is thrown out by someone. Give it a rest will ya ? Fact is that Ireland is an expensive country, and by the very definition of “rip off Ireland” the people often accused of being rip off merchants get ripped of too, don’t they ?

Mute Tim Duggan
    Favourite Tim Duggan
    Nov 21st 2012, 6:08 PM

This is crazy. Are we that stuck for proper news?

Mute Simon Blake
    Favourite Simon Blake
    Nov 21st 2012, 8:10 PM

Digital cameras have been out for about 10 years and white walls are a plenty. If anyone is still paying someone to get a mug shot done then they truly are a mug.

Mute Denise Burke Carroll
    Favourite Denise Burke Carroll
    Nov 22nd 2012, 3:47 AM

I’ve been taking my own photos for years and when I read the headline on this I thought they were moving to an online application and allowing people to upload their photos. But no, that would be moving forward. Instead I’m going to have to go in person to an office at least 20 miles away and queue so some Muppet can take a mugshot that makes me look like a criminal. Who thinks up these things?

Mute Billy McAuliffe
    Favourite Billy McAuliffe
    Nov 21st 2012, 9:30 PM

About time hopefully this will stop fake licences, and will also be an identity for the the upholders of the law

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Nov 21st 2012, 10:56 PM

Technology. Get over it.

Mute Amanda O Rourke
    Favourite Amanda O Rourke
    Nov 22nd 2012, 1:40 AM

exactly.. the existing licences are too easy to fake also

Mute Seosamh O'Dúgáin
    Favourite Seosamh O'Dúgáin
    Jan 11th 2013, 5:53 PM

The cost of a driver’s licence from 1 January 2013 is €55 for a ten year licence. Previously it was €25. Surely if its going towards an automated system, it should be more cost effective, why a €30 increase!

Mute Billy McAuliffe
    Favourite Billy McAuliffe
    Dec 1st 2012, 1:57 PM

It is about time we have good driving licence the other ones get damaged in your wallet the new one will not, and I presume their will be more information about the licence holders on the new licence which is good, this will roughly be the same the same size as a a bank card, as for the people that were taking the photos for the old ones it was a rip off, time to move on

Mute Declan McGee
    Favourite Declan McGee
    Nov 22nd 2012, 10:09 AM

Every year when the price of a licence goes up just like our motorways I’m sure everyone will be wandering how did this happen?
    All the problems in the country and a fiver every 10 years is a problem.
    What else could our government put up for tender, maybe use all our houses for holiday homes to increase tourism