You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AROUND 45,000 CHILDREN across the country are set to learn how to grow their vegetables this spring, as the Sow & Grow 2017 initiative gets underway.
Organised by the group GIY – grow it yourself – and innocent drinks the idea behind the initiative is to encourage an awareness of where food comes from and show children just how easy it is to grow their own greens.
The programme was officially launched at Scoil Thomais in Castleknock, Dublin, on Wednesday.
At the launch, cress, runner beans and baby carrots were sown, and blind taste tests took place to test children’s knowledge of various fruits and vegetables.
Any class can sign up to take part in Sow & Grow, now in its sixth year, by signing up for a pack online here.
Each pack contains soil, growing pots, seeds and expert growing guides along with details on how to prepare and cook the produce that will be grown.
Bláithnid McKenna, from innocent drinks, told RTÉ: “This year, there’ll be enough soil and cup seeds to help 32 kids in each class to help them grow their own fruit and veg.”
The most engaged Sow & Grow school will win a trip to Bloom in the Park for their class, as well as €500 worth of gardening equipment for their school.
Ahead of this year’s campaign, GIY conducted a survey to gauge reactions to the initiative.
Michael Kelly, the founder of GIY, said: “Surprisingly, nearly half of parents we surveyed had grown something in the previous 12 months with their kids. This is fantastic, much, much higher than we expected.
It shows that food growing is something that is becoming more and more mainstream, which is absolutely why we’re here.
However, the survey also showed that almost a third of children don’t get enough fruit and veg, while around one in six don’t know where their food comes from.
To help launch Sow & Grow, GIY and innocent drinks visited St Saviour’s National School in Waterford last week to chat to 1st class pupils on their thoughts on growing your own food, as well as their favourite, and least favourite, fruits and vegetables.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@mursim: You got it in one. I’m no fan of FG but it appears that they are happy to allow Murphy take the blame for the homelessness crisis despite his predecessor being the one who screamed promises from the airways on Morning Ireland that he would implement policies to ease the situation. Coveney was Varadkers only real opponent when FG elected their new leader a few years back and I would imagine he was given the Foreign Affairs portfolio as a sweetener rather than for his abilities or lack thereof. It stinks either way.
@David Quigley: I seen him down in Ranelagh just before the repeal vote and he was standing at the triangle with a bunch of leaflets in his hand. But instead of handing them out and maybe talking to people about the upcoming referendum he was more interested in taking selfies of himself with the leaflets.. This lad is an absolute joke!
More porkeys from the boys in blue,
I read earlier that Mobile homes AND halting sites were counted in the housing stock,
this shower will stop at nothing when it comes to spin and obfuscation
@mursim: free houses for everyone and who is going to pay for it? Why should working people be expected to house themselves in the commuter belt with huge mortgages while others sit on their backside waiting for a free house?
@mursim: They don’t need to be Council houses in fact it would be preferable if they are not, but they do need to be built by a National Housing Agency. Some of the houses could be bought by the Councils for social housing, with the rest being rent to buy so it can be ensured the don’t fall into the hands of private landlords.
@mursim: ‘Not free houses..’
Various councils around Ireland are owed a total of 72 million in rents so I’m afraid it looks like a lot of tenants don’t want subsidised local authority housing….they want FREE housing paid for by the taxes of some worker who on a modest salary of €35,000 is taxed at super rich tax rates. Anyone ever wonder why hospitals find it so hard to attract and retain nurses etc? FREE for the people!
@mursim: so the state builds hundreds of thousands of houses using everyone’s tax money and then offers them at “affordable” ie below market prices? So who decides the people that get a house subsidised by the taxpayer and who is left to buy their own house at full price? I’ll tell you, the people working will be told you have an income so buy yourself and those not working clearly can’t get a mortgage so hey presto they get a state house for a fraction of its value. My point is that these schemes always screw people who work and reward those who don’t
@Pat Mustard: Local Authority houses are not ‘free’ houses. Tenants pay rent on the property and the rental income pays for the house build cost over a period of time and they then go into profit for the local authority.
@Pat Mustard: my family lives in a council house and believe me that it is no free €40 to €60 per week period person for my family that works out at €350 per week
@Pat Mustard: using that logic, we should close all punluc hospitals, because people who have expensive operations shouldnt be subsidized by the tax payer. Or are you suggesting only people who have payed enough tax for the care they need shoukd get it?
@Pat Mustard: There are NO free houses!If you mean social housing,they are not free either and very little social housing built eg in 2015 just 75 social houses built!
By the way there are 3 thresholds of income to qualify for social housing,the highest equivalent to €45,000&54% of workers earn €30,000& under!Take in account also according to last Daft.ie Report that rents are twice to triple the price of mortgages on similar properties but those with low incomes can’t qualify for mortgages but yet expected to afford rising rents!
Over €4B spent on private rented accommodation and another €3B expected to be spent over next 5years re same but that’s not paying for permanent housing(lifetime of household),just year to year tenancies &many people have been evicted and became homeless if landlord selling property or property been repossessed as Fr Mc Verry has stated.
It would be much better spending vast portions of that €4-€7B public monies on social or affordable housing instead.
@Pat Mustard: Oh sure the Government just loves to hand out houses to dole scroungers and buy them gold plated toilet seats, and sure they’re only pretending to be homeless anyways..
Sure you have a house, you’ll be grand, probably paid €400,000 for a house in an estate built in the middle of a field in Kildare that went on the market for €250,000 back at the height of the celtic tiger eh?
@Brian Deane: Great ‘headline’ figure of 72m, out of that figure can you tell me the average owed per council property??? Its a pittance and you know it. Bankers and government policy is at the root of this crisis, yet you blame everybody who resides in a council house??? What is your agenda, are you a landlord like the 33 per cent of elected FG TD’S?
@Dave.: Why don’t the shinners put up or shut up ,call an election ,push the no confidence vote and see how it goes ,knocking on peoples doors in the middle of the world cup ,and children’s summer hols,go for it SF,FF
@Robert Harris:
Leo knew this was coming when he warned us of a snap election if SF forced a vote of confidence in Murphy. Murphy will be sacrificed to save FG and Leo’s skin.
What a shambles of a government and FF have 100% confidence in their coalition partners.
@Robert Harris: I’m sure those 10,000+i homeless in Emergency accommodation &refuges,the 707,000 on hospital waiting lists,the 1.2m in deprivation &those in consistent poverty which has doubled since 2008,etc would put their and their children’s stressful circumstances above the world cup and as for children’s summer holidays,the children affected by Homelessness, deprivation, consistent poverty,on waiting lists for procedures , counseling,etc ,these children have NO holidays from their experiences!
I hope the people of Ireland have sufficient compassion for those families especially children to welcome knocks on the doors at any time of the year re General Election campaign.
967 farm buildings housing cows, chicken and pig,s but not people were included in the Governments housing stats in 2017. All on your watch @simoncoveney – now we know why you legged it. #not1home #morningIreland
Everyone knows it’s not in the interests of a neoliberal government to allow homes to be built. Certainly no Social Housing homes.
The simple reason is it will interfer with the articficial housing/ rental market they have created.
The long term strategy is to get Mortgage to Rent to replace Mortgage to buy. They don’t want ordinary people owning their own homes. There is no future in that for investment companies.
@Dave Doyle: The Housing Market is the single most effective control mechanism in this society. Forget Big Brother. In the end, it has proven to be a simpler affair: control housing and you control people.
How can we not know how many houses were built? Assume all houses need planning permission and receive a sign off once complete so there is a record somewhere of what was built
@Carl: Amazing that never seemed to cross their minds . It should be straight forward to differentiate between renovated and new build .
ESB connections , why didn’t they use the number of new front doors sold , or some other completely whack way of figuring out new houses built .
So if the esb connected a shed or a business premises and a factory it was included in government house building figures, the lying cheating twisting b#st@rds.
Spin Doctors the lot of them , great for dealing with the past and making plans for the future , but anything to do with the present and it’s all too hard .
The ineptitude of this government in dealing with the housing crisis goes from the sublime to the ridiculous. Now they cannot count the houses or lack of houses – properly !
@Gavin O’Brien: And the irony is that Murphy is one of FG’s leading ‘scopers’. Always ‘scoping’ but never actually doing anything substantial. You’d think that they would have made sure that their incessant scoping exercises would not malfunction in this way. But , no. They can’t even operate their own infinite deferral programme properly. Shoddy.
Where are all the millennial snowflakes who campaigned so vigorously for the 8th amendment they look to be deathly silent on this, isn’t this “trendy” enough for you then, no repeal t shirts or badges or street rallys, pathetic.
@Jonny: Hi Johnny, I’m an average run of the mill “millennial snowflake” that campaigned for repeal, however I didn’t do it because it was trendy, I’m just a firm believer in basic human rights for women which includes abortion services. I also believe in the right to housing and am a strong advocate for better housing just because I don’t wear a jumper with a house on it, nor do other young people it’s a matter that affects many of us. Just remember the next time you refer to me or any person of my age group a “snowflake”. You probably have a decent job, got a great mortgage with pittance and some, whilst we struggle to find permanent jobs, pay extortionate rents, therefore pushing us out of the housing market and so much more so take your head out of your arse buddy.
@Jonny: furthermore Johnny, we can shout and scream at government, as many have but it wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference they do as they please and I bet it is you who probably votes for FF or FG! Should their be a constitutional amendment which guarantees the right to housing, many of us “snowflakes” wouldn’t have melted and would be out campaigning vigorously for it.
@David Farrell: my heart bleeds for you all offended anall, no I think you’ve referred to me as all wrong, people like you should be out on the steets campaigning I bet you were for repeal but that’s because it was the in thing to do for millennial fashionastas
@Jonny: @Jonny: and tell me Jonny, what have you done in the past twelve months to alleviate the housing crisis? What have you been involved in? Have you submitted policy documents to any local politicians? Probably not, I guess us snowflakes are more proactive and as mentioned before I haven’t seen you leading any particular movement in regards to homelessness or do I have you all wrong? It’s pretty shit being labelled isn’t it? Furthermore I didn’t take to the streets during repeal, I did the right thing, I lobbied politicians, had conversations, debated with people in a calm, respectful manner! And no you didn’t offend me, I just really hate stupid people
A government of flip floppers ,dont believe any thing they say ,decades of mismanagement and still we have mismanagement ,no transparency ,no accountability and a shed load of spin .same old same old .
If somebody builds a new house and knocks down their old house (which happens quite commonly around the country) then that is one new build / new ESB connection but how it benefits anyone beyond the person living there is beyond me. These should be removed from the stats also.
When a plan is approved to for example 6 houses.
Builder completes house.
Someone should be checking quality and if house built.
On completion box ticked.
6 completed houses.
You can do this on excel!
This is ridiculous stuff , go out and build a house or a dwelling without planning permission and see how long you”ll be waiting before some little pr**k from the local planning office come calling, the level of Intelligence is really questionable The days for fooling people is over.
Let’s think practically before calling for the Minister’s head. What is the impediment to building new homes (social or private)? Are the Minister’s hands tied by an external or internal force for the government?
I know the Developers sank the country, and that is a strong argument against exorbitant lending, but we must account for the impediments, decipher a resolution, and move forward to house people at a FAIR (ergo in proportion to real wages) market rate.
It seems the current Minister’s only solution is a photo opp in a hard hat and high vis vest while spouting fantasy arithmetic dribble.
@Hellenize Dublin: the impediment to building large scale housing including social housing is Fine Gael. They don’t believe in it. Building lowers prices. They believe in exorbitant housing costs. Good for banks. Good for middle class homeowners. Good for landlords. Bad for homeless people but they don’t vote and certainly don’t vote for FG. So they don’t matter.
If you want to fix housing, rent and homelessness you have to get rid of FG. Bear in mind that FF also believe in high housing prices.
@Stephen Adam: Thanks for the point of view Stephen. It’s beggars belief at this stage. Even the media attention (which they love and no doubt fondle themselves over) is water off a duck’s back.
@Hellenize Dublin: well I can’t agree it beggars belief. They don’t and have never hidden who they are. LV launched an expensive “welfare cheats cheat us all” campaign before his rise to Taoiseach. He achieved nothing in health or transport.
As for Murphy – exactly what are his qualifications? What does he know about housing?
The facts and history speak for themselves. Don’t listen to what they say. Look at what they do.
I’m not the least bit surprised and will be voting for other candidates. But then I’ll be in a minority who will vote FG.
Would there be any spare labour capacity in the County and City Councils for the continuous monitoring and reporting of this important national statistic, without having to be asked? A proactive, not a reactive approach is required!
Collating house completion numbers in a timely and accurate fashion, and delivering said numbers to one gov body should not be complicated or so convoluted, ffs! What’s the CSO at on this?
Poor gov MIS are making the smart, articulate and pleasant Housing Minister look like a complete idiot! Hopefully, one day soon he’ll wake up, lose the rag, get fired up and demand improvements for accurate key data flows into his office.
As a learned contributor here asked earlier “ is there anything at a b rewery this man could organize”
Finegael are being exposed their lies are fading they have ruined Ireland . Up too 10,000 homeless . Record highest ever waiting for hospital appointments , 32,000 less than stated homes being built , pre recession house prices , rents now out of control & they think ahh sure isn’t everything only booming . They have absolutely created a big mess .
So housing builds included a farmer connecting some power to his cowshed? This is so ridiculous you would be tempted to laugh. When i built an extension I had to send a completion notice to the local authority. Why not count them? After all, it’s builds being counted, not people using power
Pope Francis ‘very lively’ as he continues recovery after Vatican return, doctors say
22 mins ago
mother's day vigil
'Motherhood bonds transcend borders': Vigil for Gaza to be held at Leinster House on Mother's Day
46 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say