You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

newbown baby image via Shutterstock

Spanish woman throws newborn out window after secret Christmas Eve birth

The 35-year-old has been arrested on suspicion of attempting to kill the baby.

A SPANISH WOMAN gave birth in secret on Christmas Eve, cut the umbilical chord herself and threw the newborn out of the kitchen window, police said on Friday.

The baby boy is now in hospital in a “serious condition”, a police spokesman said.

The 35-year-old woman, who lived with her parents in eastern Madrid, was detained on suspicion of attempting to kill the baby, police said.

“The woman wrapped the baby in a pair of jeans and threw it out of the kitchen window into an interior patio,” police said in a statement.

The mother had kept her pregnancy a secret from her parents.

She cut the umbilical chord herself after giving birth in the early hours of the morning and then threw the child out of the kitchen window, about 2.2 metres above an interior patio, police said.

However, shortly afterwards she suffered heavy bleeding and asked her parents to take her to hospital.

“Later, at about 8.30 am, the grandmother of the newborn went into the kitchen and, looking out of the window, saw a baby in the patio. She ran out to pick it up and alerted emergency services,” police said.

Two police officers who first arrived at the home found the baby wrapped in blankets, suffering hypothermia and with its heart and breathing stopped.

They managed to revive the child and take it to hospital.

- © AFP 2013.

Read: Newborn baby survives after being ‘flushed down toilet’>

Read: 63-year-old Chinese woman gives birth to twins>

View 64 comments
64 Comments
    Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:23 AM

And if they hadn’t fudged the question it would have been a lot more.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:25 AM

@William Clay: if they hadn’t deliberately fudged the question, they were made well aware of the issue and ignored the concerns.

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:35 AM

I answered no religion, my RC down for my children,since that that they see themselves as.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:49 AM

@William Clay: what question should they have put an option was clearly stated for No Religion.

I think people hate the fact most will always identify a religion even if people on here don’t like it.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:50 AM

@Nellie Oneill: Can you imagine all the kids/young adults who wanted to tick “no religion” but weren’t allowed by their parents? Young kids don’t identify as being religious. They are brainwashed from a young age. I’m not denying that there is or is not a God but in our society we don’t give our kids much freedom of choice in this matter so saying that they choose to be religious is an interesting statement to say the least

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:58 AM

I asked my 9&6 year old what I should put down, just as they have the option of communion/confirmation. Its not only religion people are brainwashed over.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:59 AM

@Paul: The option for No Religion was at the bottom, after “Other” which had a space to write in. It’s the worst possible layout when it comes to clarity. Most people simply tick Catholic because they’ve been told they’re Catholic and it doesn’t occur to them to consider the matter further.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:00 PM

@Soccer T’s: You’re doing alot of imagining there yourself – so you can go on the data which everyone filled out or filled out by the person who pays the bills or we can go on what you say. If you’re living at home over the age of 18 you need to get a life for yourself and move out – apart from that if you are under 18 what your parents say is what goes.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham

Kids lose interest in Catholicism after they get that sweet communion and confirmation payday. Once they realise they won’t be getting cash off their relatives every few years their enthusiasm for the religion tends to fade.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:05 PM

@Paul: how about ‘non practising catholic’ or ‘catholic, but not by choice and a non practitioner’.
    The only reason Paul it’s at 76% is because a lot chose catholic out of habit. My partner checked catholic and she hasn’t been in a church in 20 years

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:11 PM

When I was a child I went to mass with my parents, and would have passed as a practicing Catholic by anyone’s definition. I was coached in the “right” responses to give.
    But I wasn’t even a practising citizen at that age. It was all memorised theory. I was under the legal age of choice.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:28 PM

@Nellie Oneill: interesting comments you have made, but the fact you obviously had the baptised diminishes your others are brainwashed too sentiment. No religion, but you had your children baptised catholic, why?

Mute Mark in Kildare
    Favourite Mark in Kildare
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:56 PM

@William Clay: maybe the question is irrelevant and none of the state’s business

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:57 PM

@Derek Walsh: so you are saying that Irish people cannot read?

You nerd to face facts on religion, just people are not devoted Catholics doesn’t mean they wont identify as one.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:00 PM

@Paul Fahey: I’m not sure that it’s relevant to children. They aren’t even confirmed members of a church until confirmation age. My friends had theirs baptised and went to church with them because the children thought they would like to be confirmed. They didn’t want their children going to a church on their own, they attended because their children wanted the choice. No one asked them why they were not letting the children go along on their own. It’s what parents do. If you take your children to self-defence classes, it doesn’t follow that you want to become a black belt yourself.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:49 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: well I think it is relevant when Nellie has stated she had put them down as catholic on the census, because she asked them at 9 and 5. Belie then went in to say not only catholics are brainwashed, but she chose to have them baptised, a choice they could not make for themselves whilst she declared herself as non religious. We cannot keep calling ourselves non religious if we baptise our children into Catholicism, perhaps to get them into school, and then comp,win that there are too many catholic schools, we are perpetuating our own vicious circle.

Mute Just Me
    Favourite Just Me
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:29 PM

@Nellie Oneill: Quite right. Everyone has a right to not believe in religion, just as everyone has a right to believe. What’s the problem ?. Democracy, Human Rights is not defined by what another thinks. Live your life and let others live theirs. In other words live and let live.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:23 PM

@Paul Fahey: Parents have to decide for children till the age of maybe 16? Religion is only aspect of how they are raised. As a parent I am sure my gang will do things differently to me when they are adults but until that time I have to make some decisions for them

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:10 PM

@lavbeer: I did not say they couldn’t, but it is contradictory to tell people you are non religious have your children baptised and then say they made their own minds up to be catholic at 9 and 6; of course they do you had them baptised and their first holy communion, they are hardly going to call themselves non religious after all that. Further, I am not sure a 9 and 6 year old can appreciate the full implications and meaning if such a question, it is a nonsense.

Mute Margaret Lane
    Favourite Margaret Lane
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:17 PM

@Nellie Oneill: Good on you for putting your children down as what they consider themselves rather than what you yourself believe.

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Apr 6th 2017, 10:10 PM

I said people are brainwashed by alot of things, not just religion. As to why I baptised my children. 1school,2 to used heaven as a easy way to explain death,3 I use Jesus as a example on how we should live are lifes and treat other.

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Apr 6th 2017, 10:14 PM

Im a he paul. And i can do whatever I like. I have never complained about Catholic schools.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:36 AM

Absolutely laughable that people still claim to be Catholic out of habit. If there are so many Catholics then why are the churches empty every week?

Every Time you tick “Catholic” on a census form you give the Church more influence in our society. Tick “no religion” if you truly want a secular state.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:43 AM
    Mute Breandán O Conchúir
    Favourite Breandán O Conchúir
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:48 AM

@Soccer T’s: ‘Non practicing catholic’ it’s not hard to understand the concept

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Breandán O Conchúir: I’m an “non practicing footballer” which means I’m NOT a footballer.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:01 PM

@Soccer T’s: i’m a non practising heterosexual

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:02 PM

@Soccer T’s: But that doesn’t mean that you can’t play football on the odd evening now does it? And i play five a side twice a week but i still wouldn’t determine myself as a ‘footballer’ rather then a person who plays football from time to time. I’m sorry if all this is confusing for you.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:49 PM

@Old Gabby Johnson: does the church allow you to call yourself a non practicing catholic, I don’t know if the pope has ever said yes ignore ok the rules of the church and you can still be a member. How does that work? I don’t expect them to excommunicate you all, I mean they did not excommunicate Hitler, but how does the idea of non practicing Catholic even become a thing and if there really is such a thing does that not suggest Catholicism in Ireland is now far more a cultural than spiritual thing.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:05 PM

@Paul Fahey: Being catholic was always far more cultural than spiritual – as in most religions in the western world – e.g hte protestant work ethic being case in point. I mean even in the worst days of the church very few people adhered to the rules of the religion stringently in comparison to countries say influenced by islam.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:06 PM

@Breandán O Conchúir: One of the obligations of Christianity under Catholicism is weekly attendance at Mass (with a few exceptions). A “non-practicing Catholic” would ‘protest’ this obligation, making them a…

Mute Ken Hickey
    Favourite Ken Hickey
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:22 PM

@Soccer T’s: nice of atheists to tell me what to think. Breathtaking arrogance. Oh so typical.

Mute Leah Burgess
    Favourite Leah Burgess
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:05 PM

@Ken Hickey: Could say the same of Catholics. The church influenced our laws and most of our schools are catholic. I am not catholic same as my parents but because I needed a baptism cert to get into a school I had to be baptized even if it was another religion . There was no Educate Together schools only catholic and I had to go to school masses even though my family were not religious. Like most people in this country of non catholic and of no religion we have no choice where to send our children to be educated and once you set foot in a catholic school they try to brain wash you into their beliefs.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:33 PM

Look it quite simple
    78% said they were catholic and no gun was put to there head so it is a catholic country.
    If it was 78 % no religion you be shouting it was a non religious country.
    i am a catholic and my kids are catholic but we don’t listen to a lot of the rubbish that the catholic church go on about and we dont listen to the so called do-gooders who blame every thing on religion

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Leah Burgess: where are you living ???
    My 3 kids go to school and we were never asked for a baptism cert or what religion we are

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Richard: incorrect
    it says keep holy on the sabbath day nothing about going to mass weekly
    it dose say to receive the sacraments at lease twice a year

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:13 PM

@ryan3939: yawn yawn yawn, it is not a catholic country, it is a Republic, albeit not a real one. There is also the constitutional reasons why it is not a catholic country and thousands of parents are asked for a copy of their baptism certificate with their school application every year.

Mute @UK
    Favourite @UK
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:17 PM

@ryan3939: If you don’t agree with the club rules then you should have the balls to face up to it and leave.
    You a la carte Catholics are partly the reason the Catholic Church is still in business.
    I left years ago and it was one of my better decisions.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:42 PM

@Paul Fahey: I produced a baptismal cert for each of my kids at the local school but there are two Muslim girls in my eldest sons class…….I don’t think they produced a baptismal cert. I’m agnostic but got the kids baptized as I figured they’d never get into the local school if I didn’t but I’ve since come to the conclusion that that’s a load of cobblers.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 5:06 PM

@Joe Johnson: I did not say every child had to produce a baptism certificate, but the mere fact they are allowed to request one in a state funded school is an outrage.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:46 PM

@Ken Hickey: N

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:52 PM

@Ken Hickey: Not at all Ken. Genuinely just curious as to why people say they practice a religion when it’s pretty obvious that most don’t. Hopefully somebody will do a study on it because i think the responses would be fascinating. I think there is some sort of mystical fear factor. I was admitted to hospital years ago. I noticed “RC” on my wristband. I told them I am non religious and the nurses response was hilarious “Are you sure about that? You are going in for surgery….better safe than sorry” I personally think that this part of the reason why people claim to be religious. After all we were all brainwashed from a very young age. I don’t mean that in a derogatory way. It’s a simple fact.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:53 PM

@Ken Hickey: you mean like over 90% of our schools are doing to the most impressionable members of society?

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 9:19 PM

@Soccer T’s: If a nurse ever did i’d give her a piece of my mind!

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:33 AM

I know a few people who couldn’t give a toss about religion but still went ahead and ticked the catholic box.The question was worded wrong.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:38 AM

@Padraig: “The question was worded wrong” is almost as bad an excuse as those saying they couldn’t understand the question when they were asked to get rid of or keep the sentence. If you’re an atheist tick the feckin Atheist box. Hardly a feckin Mensa test.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon

@Simon: Senate* Damn phone

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Padraig: How? They could just tick “no religion” rather than handing more power to the men in dresses, because they weren’t sure.

Mute Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Favourite Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:43 AM

@Simon: There was no “atheist” box. The section was to allow people to select their religion from a list of choices. “No Religion” was one of the “religions” listed. And, despite being the second most popular choice it was listed at the very end of the list while all other options were listed based on their popularity in the previous census. The question should have been “Do you practice any religion? Yes / No” followed by an “If yes then select”.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:45 AM

@Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa: Well Diarmaid if anyone is reading a census form and can’t find the “No Religion” box , or are in any way confused at all , it’s a wonder they manage to successfully dress themselves in the morning.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:46 AM

@Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa: What an idiotic excuse.

Mute Mark Gearey
    Favourite Mark Gearey

@Simon: People fill these things pretty casually while watchin the tv and feedin the baba.

Mute Rachael Ball
    Favourite Rachael Ball
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:06 PM

@Simon: the problem, if I recall correctly was that the “No religion” box was after a section that allowed the person to write in for “Other” which kind of broke the list because of the space created by the lines for writing in, and often a “write in for other” option is the last option on a list of this kind so may have caused people to not see the “No religion” option underneath it. This was the concern, especially as for many people if they had not heard the campaign about ticking the no religion box even if they were previously Catholic (or any other religion) but are not a believer or practising anymore, would not be prompted to consider ticking the “No religion” box if they couldn’t see it.
    Also Simon, you might remember that some people have difficulties with reading forms, or reading in general, eyesight issues, mild learning difficulties so you’re being a tad harsh there.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:05 PM

@Padraig: they should keep the questions the same every time so we can get a fair reflection of what is happening in Ireland.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:20 PM

@Padraig: know a few people who couldn’t give a toss about religion but still went ahead and ticked the no religion box.The question was worded wrong.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Apr 6th 2017, 9:05 PM

@Simon: You’re ecpecting a lot from the general public. Anyway, it’s usually women filling out these forms. Women are statistically more inclined to be religious than men.

In their minds, anyone born RC gets marked down as such. The family is rarely consulted as is evident in the low figure for non-religious.

Mute Theunpopularpopulist
    Favourite Theunpopularpopulist
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:37 AM

I don’t care what people believe in as long as they keep it to themselves, don’t expect special treatment and don’t expect the laws of our country to be influenced by said religion.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino

@Theunpopularpopulist: Bit late for that! Church still rules here!

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:42 AM

@Theunpopularpopulist: If people keep saying they are Catholic, our society WILL be heavily influenced by the Church. Can somebody explain to me why somebody who doesn’t practice religion in any way, would say that they are Catholic? Is it just habit?

Mute Theunpopularpopulist
    Favourite Theunpopularpopulist
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:42 AM

@Rui Firmino: ya you’re right but I think it’s becoming less and less. It’s a slow process.

We need to learn from the past and ensure that church and state are kept separate from now on.

It’s fair enough for people to have their beliefs. It just shouldn’t affect anyone else’s life.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:44 AM

@Theunpopularpopulist: While the church still runs the schools and people who haven’t seen the inside of a church in decades still tick the “catholic” box not much will change.

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill

In the same way most people belief in speed limits,but don’t always keep to them. In the same way we believe in the rule of law but can still justified having a doggy box to watch sky sports.

Mute Ken Hickey
    Favourite Ken Hickey
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:23 PM

@Theunpopularpopulist: but the whole education system must be changed to accommodate less than 10% of the population regardless of what almost 80% might want.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Favourite Conor Paddington
    Apr 6th 2017, 10:24 PM

@Soccer T’s: in Ireland in particular people identify culturally as Cathoic to differentiate themselves from Centuries of English influence. People say “Catholic” to mean not Protestant as opposed to meaning believing in transubstantiation and a virgin having a baby.

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:28 AM

28.9% increase in muslim! ‘Nuff said. Keep ‘em coming zappone.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Yenreit: What the hell is the problem?

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon

@Yenreit: Good God that is pathetic. A grand total of 14,000 increase in 5 years. OH MY GOD EVERYONE PANIC.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@Rui Firmino: sorry that was meant for yenreit

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus

@Simon: Don’t panic, as long as you’ve got a towel, everything will be alright

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:40 AM

@Simon: Yenreit is a neonazi wannabe. Sad!

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:44 AM

@Rui Firmino: I pay your welfare Rui. Be greatful.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino

@Yenreit: What welfare you muppet??

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Yenreit:

Is this to do with this idea you morons have that liberals are poor or something?

You should have told me sooner. Now I’ll need to return my new Balenciaga sweater. Living out of my liberal means…

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Rui Firmino: the right wing way. When your lies don’t work attack your opponent.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:57 AM

@Dave Thomas: Exactly

Mute TehJurolan
    Favourite TehJurolan
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:37 PM

Muslim population in 1991 was 3800, out of a total population of 3.5 million. The projected Muslim population for 2091 is roughly 500,000, out of a projected total population of 6.2 million. So over the course of a hundred years, the Muslim population of a traditional Christian European nation is expected to go from roughly 0.01% to roughly 8%. Muslims will account for about one fifth of the total population increase of 2.7 million. Who cares though, we’ll all be dead, it’ll be our grandkids and their grandkids and their grandkids, that’ll have to deal with the inevitable, though totally avoidable, strife and clash of cultures.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:40 PM

@TehJurolan: Assuming those numbers are correct, so effing what? Germany is already close to those numbers and doesn’t stop them from being one of the most developed and prosperous countries in the world!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:31 PM

@TehJurolan: wow, so you’re saying that the invading hoards will still have tiny numbers in 74 years? Good to know

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:23 PM

@Yenreit: now now you can not give out about Muslims coming here you can only give out about people call themselves catholic in this catholic country

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:27 PM

@ryan3939: If you’re gonna be against immigration then you need to get all the Irish living abroad back here. So everyone stay where they were born and never wander off anywhere. Wouldn’t that be great??

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:14 PM

If those people were actually Catholics then can you explain to me why every church in the country is empty? Glad to see more people are leaving organised religions.

Mute technoviking
    Favourite technoviking
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:54 PM

@Ben Coughlan: My parents are Catholic, but despise the Catholic church. As do most of their friends. Instead of going to mass every Sunday, they have a monthly get together and do their own prayer service. I’d imagine it’s a similar story all over the country.

Mute @UK
    Favourite @UK
    Apr 6th 2017, 6:05 PM

@technoviking: ya I can just see the prayer service thing catching on alright.
    Who are you trying to kid.
    You can’t call yourself a true catholic but only follow the rules that suit your lifestyle.

Mute Jlocoroco
    Favourite Jlocoroco
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:49 PM

So only one in ten people in Ireland have common sense?

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:34 PM

@Jlocoroco: are you an expert in people’s choices. Are we not entitled to express our religion freely without fear of retribution

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:16 PM

@Paul Coughlan: Don’t go off the deep end there. What retribution do you think you fear?

Mute technoviking
    Favourite technoviking
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:57 PM

@Michael O’Neill: It’s clear by the vitriol in this comments section that people are pissed that so many people still identify as Catholic. Unless you have no religion you have no common sense according to Jlocoroco.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:48 AM

People are blaming the question on religion again, reality is the majority identify as Catholic…..

The option was clearly stated for No Religion.

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:00 PM

@Paul: People with No Religion should not celebrate Christmas and Easters and go to work instead !!

Mute Darren Tully
    Favourite Darren Tully
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:41 PM

@cortisola: Well you should do the same because they’re actually pagan festivals that were usurped by the church

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:52 PM

@cortisola: How about we just make them public holidays anyway, and don’t associate them with religion at all??

Mute Laurence Fogarty
    Favourite Laurence Fogarty
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:27 AM

After they die 80% of these people will have a Catholic burial.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:34 AM

@Laurence Fogarty: Since they’ll be dead they won’t really get a say in it!

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Laurence Fogarty: Quicker that that 80% of them will ask for wedding celebration in church.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:58 PM

@cortisola: and will say “Thank God all went well”. O wait! I’m confused. Is having no religion same as being atheist?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:08 PM

@The Girl: I don’t think so. Some people are agnostic which isn’t the same as atheist. Sure the census only needs to know for future school planning, I’d assume. If schools weren’t funded to cater for religious education, what would it matter to the civil service what religion you were bringing a child up in?

Mute Noel Falkhall
    Favourite Noel Falkhall
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:18 PM

Just let family know and they take you straight to cemetery or crematorium and no religious service required if you don’t want it but few will do it just in case there’s something on the other side. My Uncle did it and haven’t heard from him or my parents so presumes it’s all good either way. @Rui Firmino:

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:44 PM

@cortisola: I got married in a church to keep the parents happy, my kids will be under no such pressure from me.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:48 PM

@Laurence Fogarty: That doesn’t mean a thing! Many rituals become a cultural norm, without having a religious attachment. Happens all the time. Why wouldn’t I want to get married in a church, they’re nice buildings. When something has been that beat into the culture they’ll stick around long after the religion has gone.
    Do you put up a christmas tree?? Do you eat easter eggs?? What have fir trees and rabbits/eggs got to do with Christianity?? – NOTHING, that’s what. they were Pagan rituals adopted by the church because they were cultural norms at the time. So how gives a f**k what type of burial people have when they die. Doesn’t mean a thing. Or are all Christians really Pagans?

Apr 13th 2017, 5:58 PM

@Laurence Fogarty: I think its not compulsory for a person getting buried in a Catholic graveyard to have a Catholic service. Friends could put something together though the priest would have to approve.

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:54 PM

I love how Catholics think they can choose which part of the religion they practice.

The Church is very clear: If you agree with divorce, contraception, sex before marriage, abortion, Eucharist is symbolic, avoiding confession, avoiding mass, and others then you are not lapsed Catholic you simply are NOT a Catholic.

Maybe visit your local high Anglican church and see if they can accommodate you

Mute Brian Fal
    Favourite Brian Fal
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:47 PM

@Ían Ó Ceallaigh: exactly! It’ll also be interesting to see what happens to the Catholic Church in 10-20 years when there’s no priests left, this is a problem that the church are in absolute denial about. It’s good to see the numbers of non-believers rise, I would assume that this number has always been high but older generations would have feared identifying as non-believers for fear of what the church could/would do to you.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Apr 6th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Ían Ó Ceallaigh: it works the same way S how the Catholic Church chooses Which parts of Paganism it wants to claim as part of Christianity, you know, Christmas trees, Easter bunnies, etc… Same thing.

Mute Methodical Insanity
    Favourite Methodical Insanity
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:24 PM

I haven’t gone to church in years, but I made a point of ticking the Catholic box, and this is my reason why. If Catholicism eventually becomes a minority religion in Ireland officially, then what’s the justification for keeping Christmas, Easter Sunday, or St Patrick Day special, especially if a religion like Islam was eventually to surpass it? How could we justify giving special attention to these “religious holidays” if there was a religion with more practicing members, that doesn’t get the same special treatment for its holidays? It might seem paranoid on my part, but I could see that becoming an issue in the future.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:26 PM

@Methodical Insanity: You mean those pagan festivals usurped by the church?

Mute Methodical Insanity
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:30 PM

@Les Behan: Yeah I’m well aware of the pagan origins, but like it or not, they’ve become inextricably associated with Christianity since.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:35 PM

@Methodical Insanity: So was locking up unmarried mothers having children out of wedlock. Things can change.

Mute Methodical Insanity
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:38 PM

@Les Behan: You’ll get no argument from me there. Absolutely shameful time period in our recent history.

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:19 PM

@Methodical Insanity: Christmas is here to stay, as long as a commercial holiday is profitable then it will continue.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:32 PM

@Les Behan: expert

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:34 PM

@Paul Coughlan: I would never claim I’m an expert Paul but thanks!

Apr 13th 2017, 6:00 PM

@Methodical Insanity: People discard Catholicism for they think its a manmade religion and do not like the rules. Islam will never get a large scale pile of converts in Ireland for it is more absurd and dangerous than Catholicism. And many converts do fall away fast.

Mute shaz
    Favourite shaz
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:33 PM

Plenty of choice with this question. Plenty of people ticked the rc box as they feel that’s what they are. You don’t have to go to mass every day/week and be banging the alter to be rc. Plenty of people have faith and belief, they just don’t want to visit a church for whatever their reasons. If the population wanted to identify as no religion they had the option. Peoples choice as to what they want.

Apr 13th 2017, 6:01 PM

@shaz: It is their choice as long as they think what they tick is the truth. But they have to be open to correcting their views.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:52 PM

78% of the country attend mass weekly? Don’t make me laugh.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

@Eamonn Sheen: you don’t need to attend mass to judge your religion.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:30 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: I take it you count weekly the numbers going to every church.

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:20 PM

@Paul: That is the trouble though. People make up what it means to be a Catholic without having a clue. The Catholic Church requires that you attend mass every Sunday.
    Their religion, their rules. But people pick the rules they like and ignore the ones they don’t and call themselves Catholic.

Maybe there should be an option for A la carte Catholic.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 6th 2017, 6:30 PM

@Paul: Ah you are one of those Catholic when it suits you types.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 6th 2017, 6:32 PM

@Paul Coughlan: You aren’t seriously suggesting that 78% of the country go to mass every week are you? But if you believe the nonsense that they preach then you probably are.

Mute Virtual Donal
    Favourite Virtual Donal

Census question needs to change. 1st ask “Are you a member of a religion?” Yes or No. The No religion grouping will grow exponentially!
    It is a leading question on current census.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

@Virtual Donal: looking for excuses now.

Mute technoviking
    Favourite technoviking
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:58 PM

@Virtual Donal: Did you not get the results you wanted Donal ? Maybe next time we’ll get the census people to explain the “no religion” box to us all a few times over.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:44 PM

@Virtual Donal: you need to read the question again donal

Mute AR Devine
    Favourite AR Devine
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:24 PM

A huge proportion of people who identify as Catholic dont believe in a lot of what being a Catholic entails. Catholicism for many is a cultural identifier as opposed to an ideological belief system they strictly adhere to. It delights me that with each new census more & more people are abandoning religion here.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:28 PM

@AR Devine: why. If your not into religion then it shouldn’t be an issue one way or another. Stay out of it.

Mute Shauna McDermott
    Favourite Shauna McDermott
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:00 PM

@Paul Coughlan: Its an issue for people with no religion when the RC continally holds sway over schools and hospitals in this country – it is an issue when the RC has huge inflence over government social policy (rights for gays, repoductive rights for women) – 78% a catholic country? Nonsense, look at the empty churches every weekend -and the aging population of priests too! Now from sheeple ticking the RC box out of habit, we get to suffer the same level of interference from what is really a dying institution in Ireland.

Apr 13th 2017, 6:03 PM

@AR Devine: Cultural identifier can be dangerous too. It means people stick to a religious label for the sake of say hating protestants or creating and us not them kind of mentality.

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb

78% identify as Catholic yet churches are empty..Lapsed Catholics perhaps…

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan

Hang on, according to the Catholiban members Ireland is a Catholiban country with 96% of the population Catholiban. Where they telling lies? and don’t they know that lies make little baby Jebus cry?

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:53 PM

Ireland is a predominantly Catholic country.

I rest my case.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:04 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: lol Tommy I’d say you’re nervous though

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:18 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: Before the this result was published Tommy here was one of those that claimed “Ireland was 96% Catholiban.” Those numbers will continue to drop.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:32 PM

One thing can be cleared up though…
    If someone looked for and ticked ‘no religion’ then they definitely have not got a religion.
    If someone ticked ‘Catholic’ then it is either because they are genuine Catholic believers, or they were just acknowledging the fact that they were christened as such.
    So there are at least 468k people with no religion, and up to a max of 3.7m Catholics.

Same approach can be applied to Irish… 40% say they can speak it, but when it comes to practicing it, less than 2% do so daily outside of education.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: However this does not translate into that the Republic of Ireland is a catholic state. Something which you think it does. Ireland is a republic which does not have a state religion so therefore we are not a catholic state.

Mute Tommy_Bannon
    Favourite Tommy_Bannon
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:30 PM

Less than 10% classify themselves as atheist.
    An embarrassingly low number for the amount of noise made.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Apr 6th 2017, 5:18 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: taking 78% of people who ticked catholic as an endorsement of the catholic agenda and mandate for its implementation is deranged.

Mute oldschoolcelt
    Favourite oldschoolcelt
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Tommy_Bannon: so you want to talk about embarassing, you think you have a telepathic relationship with a man in the sky! An all seeing, all powerful man in the sky who continues to ignore poverty, childrens cancers etc.

Mute Ryan Comiskey
    Favourite Ryan Comiskey
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:58 PM

We have 2m liars.

Mute Michael O'Neill

@Ryan Comiskey: Look at the Irish question too. 1.7m can speak Irish. Me hole.

I don’t know where they are. I don’t know anybody that can say anything except “an bhuil cead agam go dti an leithreas” (don’t mind the spelling, that’s the extend of my Irish).

Mute Derek Fergus
    Favourite Derek Fergus
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Soccer T’s: absolutely laughable that so many people such as yourself get worked up about other people’s choices.

Mute Denis Patrick Gill
    Favourite Denis Patrick Gill
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:21 PM

Census figures out today show that 17.3% of the free state population are now foreign born (and we know that’s a gross underestimate – at the last census the Polish embassy estimated that there were at least 28,000 more Poles here than the figures showed). We know that about 25% of new mothers are now foreign born. This is a planned Genocide of the Native Irish people.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:53 PM

@Denis Patrick Gill: Is it really? Are you being rounded off and sent to death camps?

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:06 PM

@Denis Patrick Gill: Yaay!! Less bigots to put up with!

By the way, why did you post in a foreign language and not use native Irish?

Mute Jack Guinness
    Favourite Jack Guinness
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:39 PM

@Denis Patrick Gill: The Free State ? it hasn’t been called that since ireland was in the commonwealth

Mute Peadar Rooney
    Favourite Peadar Rooney
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:28 PM

@Denis Patrick Gill: Jumping to conclusions! A significant proportion of those foreign born were children of returning Irish from the UK especially the 1970′s generation. Look at the huge discrepancy(175,000) between British nationals and UK born(usually Irish nationals) living here, the latter are children of returning Irish parents. https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/populationandmigration/internationalmigration/articles/whatinformationisthereonbritishmigrantslivingineurope/jan2017

Mute Denis Patrick Gill
    Favourite Denis Patrick Gill

Another sign of demographic collapse is the average age of the population, which has gone up by around 20% since 2011. Given that the immigrants tend to be younger – and have more children, this means that the Irish are aging at a fantastic rate. It’s likely that the Eurostat estimate that the Irish will be a minority by 2060 will have to be brought forward.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:12 PM

@Denis Patrick Gill: Poor angry Denis and his cara Tristan lament that young Irish women are more interested in careers and independence when they should be trying to outbreed the invading brown people.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:12 PM

@DaisyChainsaw: If only they could get laid they could do something about it :’(

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Apr 6th 2017, 5:21 PM

31000 travellers in the country and the hassle they cause the other 4.7 million…. but it’s their culture boss

Mute KevinMunster
    Favourite KevinMunster
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:25 PM

Too many foreigners for a small country

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 2:57 PM

@KevinMunster: here’s an idea, tell the millions of Irish living abroad to come back home. problem solved!

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Rui Firmino: i would agree to a swap

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:42 PM

@ryan3939: Cool. Good luck with that!

Mute Sisi R
    Favourite Sisi R
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:00 PM

@KevinMunster: That`s right, @Rui Firmino. So the foreigners can go home and the returning Irish can take over most of the jobs that were left behind…they can all get employed in low paid, physically demanding jobs, such as warehouse operatives, catering,hotel industry, construction,caretaking, nursing etc.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:08 PM

@Sisi R: And they better learn foreign languages too, because of the thousands of multilingual vacancies they’d have to fill in. Or Ireland can kiss all the IT companies goodbye!

Mute Fight Milk
    Favourite Fight Milk
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:43 PM

That’s a massive amount of Polish and Romanians flooding this country. And we all pretend that’s its not an issue, instead we just rant on about the religion part

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    Apr 6th 2017, 9:13 PM

@Fight Milk: it’s not an issue.

Mute Fight Milk
    Favourite Fight Milk
    Apr 7th 2017, 12:26 PM

@Mal: @Mal, you have your head in the sand

Mute Andrei
    Favourite Andrei
    Apr 7th 2017, 6:13 PM

@Fight Milk: All of the Romanians I’ve seen here in Dublin are here for work, many in the IT field like myself.
    And to put the numbers into perspective, our group grew from 0.3% of Ireland’s population to 0.6%.

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Apr 6th 2017, 12:16 PM

It says 78% of the nation is Catholic. The real question should be how many of those go to Mass once a week.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:17 PM

@Simon: That’s bound to include several priests and nuns who do. It’s their job :-)

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:29 PM

@Simon: why you interested.

Mute SuzukaYuiMoa
    Favourite SuzukaYuiMoa
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:55 PM

@Simon: Total BS. I’d say the actual figure is nowhere near that. There are way more people who are agnostic or atheists, If only people could be honest with themselves.

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Apr 7th 2017, 2:06 PM

@Simon: that is another valid question.

It is however interesting that 78% consider themselves members of the Catholic Church despite education, access to information, child abuse scandals, baby in septic tanks etc
    I for one am grateful for this information

Also interesting 90% believe in Gods, Fairies, etc

Mute Gerry Dunne
    Favourite Gerry Dunne
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:30 PM

Many of these people say they are catholic but the reality is they are not.
    They were more then likely raised catholic because of their parents /grandparets and the influence of the catholic church in the schools system in Ireland. Now they no longer attend mass and have wised up and dont believe in an imaginary god.

You only have to look at the lack of young people attending church services compared to years ago. As the older generation of the nation dies in the not to distant future our wiser younger people will live life without the charade of religion. Its happening and its not going to stop , much to the annoyance of the catholic church.

Mute ryan3939
    Favourite ryan3939
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:39 PM

@Gerry Dunne: will the same happy to Muslims ?

Mute MuckyMoo
    Favourite MuckyMoo

The journal loving this haha.

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:26 AM

Sounds low.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:32 AM

@Rui Firmino: have muslims neighbors nicer than most of my neighbours

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:33 AM

@bmul: That’s good to know but it has nothing to do with what I said. I think the real number of non religious folk is far higher.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:35 AM

@bmul: relevance?

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@Rui Firmino: sorry that was directed at yenreit

Mute Nellie Oneill
    Favourite Nellie Oneill
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:39 AM

Its relevance in the main because right wing church based groups will use the figure as a reason for having prayers in thr dail, church run schools ect.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Apr 6th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Nellie Oneill: I am confused you have just said above you put your 9 and 6 year old down as catholic, because that is how they feel, but you are non religious. Now you are bemoaning the “right wing church groups” abusing the census figures to control education; well you are big helping the situation that is for sure.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill

What way was the question worded? I remember comments being made about it at the time but can’t remember the details.

Mute Grainne Abdulaziz
    Favourite Grainne Abdulaziz
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:45 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: It should have been ‘Do you practice any religion, if yes, what denomination’.

Around 50% of people who put themselves down as Catholic would be going by their baptism and nothing else, and that’s a consevative estimate judging by the 15% and declining Mass attendance. Still, the figure is going in the right direction.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:26 PM

Great to see that Kenny lost voters in Mayo. Haha

Mute cortisola
    Favourite cortisola
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:50 AM

No need for God in big cities.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:56 AM

CHRISTIAN, n. One who believes that the New Testament is a divinely inspired book admirably suited to the spiritual needs of his neighbor. One who follows the teachings of Christ in so far as they are not inconsistent with a life of sin. ~ Ambrose Bierce.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Apr 6th 2017, 3:09 PM

I see mayo population has dropped , that’s because they are all in Galway . Ye can go home now lads we are finished with ye .

Mute SuzukaYuiMoa
    Favourite SuzukaYuiMoa
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:46 PM

@Finnster: Way too many Mayo immigrants in Galway. #BuildThatWall

Mute Conor Jennings
    Favourite Conor Jennings
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:35 PM

Tá mé sásta go bhfuil go leor daoine fós ag labhairt Gaeilge! Connigí suas é! Also great – the amount of people who consider themselves Catholic. With the increase in broadband usage it makes sense that church attendance would be low – you can watch mass online :)

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 6th 2017, 1:31 PM

It’s great to see the population growing even after such a bad recession. I think almost everyone benefits from a growing population.

Mute Ena Ronayne
    Favourite Ena Ronayne
    Apr 6th 2017, 9:53 PM

Can someone explain how the Census cannot have anomalies or indeed errors. One of the questions on the census is “How many children have you given birth to?” As an adoptee I cannot see how this question could ever be answered correctly. My mother gave birth to 4 children and 3 of us were adopted. Do you think that she is going to stand at the doorstep and tell the truth? She’s a woman in her 70′s so no doubt her husband would complete the form and like many a husband may not even be aware of children she had prior to their marriage.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:04 PM

@Ena Ronayne: it’s answers correctly by most women ( and all men)

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Apr 7th 2017, 1:56 PM

90% are irrational
    10% are rational

78% support a child abusing Church et al
    22% do not

Not much progress here

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Apr 8th 2017, 10:37 AM

If 90% of people said they had no religion you would all be on here celebrating the demise of catholism.

Because 78% describe themselves as catholic you don’t like it and try to make excuses.

Sorry guys. Accept the reality.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:39 PM

I bet they got gnostic mixed up with agnostic again lol.
    17.3% were not born here and the second language here is Polish, interesting, a curio for pub quizes?

Mute Kumar Komar
    Favourite Kumar Komar
    Apr 7th 2017, 7:55 AM

Welcome to the great KUMAR spell temple where you can get solution to all your problems
    Do you want to be rich, famous, wants prosperity in your business, want your ex back to you, want people to love you, success in your examination, win bets, want to see vision, you need promotion in Work, you need healing to all types of diseases and lot more just contact the great kumar and now by messaging me and your problems will be solved. CONTACT US ON ( kumarkomartemple@yahoo.com ) WhatsApp No:+2347085067098

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Apr 6th 2017, 11:02 PM

Wonder why Indian nationals fell?

Mute Conor Jennings
    Favourite Conor Jennings
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:32 PM

Tá mé sásta go bhfuil go leor daoine fós ag labhairt Gaeilge! Coinnigí suas é! Also great to see the amount of people who still consider themselves Catholic! The increase in broadband usage explains the somewhat limited attendance at mass at the weekends – they’re watching it online ;)

Mute SuzukaYuiMoa
    Favourite SuzukaYuiMoa
    Apr 6th 2017, 7:44 PM

We are a nation of liars. You bunch of non Irish speaking, atheist hypocrites

Mute Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Favourite Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Apr 6th 2017, 8:25 PM

Cén fáth nach bhfuil níos mo ar an nGaeilge?

Apr 13th 2017, 6:06 PM

A book by a man called Carson called the Intolerance of Tolerance says that Christianity intends to be about truth even if it is wrong thus if Christianity is untrue the word Christian means nothing and is just a word. Man has no power to make you a member of mans religion in reality. Only a God has the right to found and direct a religion.