You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

One of the posters in Howth Alan Bracken

Fine Gael candidate defends putting up Christmas posters without permission

Stephanie Regan said the posters were an alternative to cards.

STEPHANIE REGAN, A Fine Gael election candidate in Dublin Bay North, has defended Christmas posters she erected last week.

Regan told TheJournal.ie she put up about 15 posters in the constituency as an alternative to sending people Christmas cards.

She said there were three posters in Howth and no more than one or two in other areas of the constituency, adding that the posters were put up on 23 or 24 December and taken down yesterday.

“It really was quite genuinely a very simple way to wish people happy Christmas.”

Regan said the posters were “a last minute idea” and Christmas holidays “did not allow” her to seek permission from Fingal County Council to erect them.

Posters from elected representatives or candidates are normally reserved to advertise public meetings or as publicity ahead of an election.

Regan said she was “trying to help people to remember that I am in this area” as she is a new candidate, adding: “I didn’t feel I was going too far … I don’t think it was an enormous breach.”

She said the posters were “a nice way and a very non-intrusive way to say happy Christmas”.

“People get very tried of things coming in the door.

A number of residents have complimented me on the Christmas wish poster … I have received entirely no complaints.

She said the decision to erect the posters was her own and not made in conjunction with Fine Gael. TheJournal.ie has contacted the party for comment.

A spokesperson for Fingal County Council said any posters or signage in the area in breach of the Litter Pollution Acts “will be dealt with accordingly”.

Regulations 

Election and public meeting posters may only be erected for a certain time period.

Election posters can only be put up either 30 days before the poll date or from the date the polling day order for the election has been made, whichever is the shorter period of time. Posters must be removed within seven days of polling day.

Alan Bracken, a national executive member of Fianna Fáil who is based in Dublin Bay North, said it is not fair for a candidate to erect these type of posters, describing it the situation as “one rule for one person and another for someone else”.

Bracken said he has no issue with people putting up posters for public meetings once they follow council regulations.

Read: A phantom supporter* is erecting this man’s election posters for him…

Read: Should we limit the number of election posters candidates can have?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Mike McCarthy
    Favourite Mike McCarthy
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:44 PM

First time I paid for my own Christmas card.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:01 PM

You think?

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:05 PM

FG – The “what’s in it for me” Party !

Breaking the law is acceptable to them , is it ?

Mute Joe MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Joe MacCarthaigh
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:22 PM

Slab Murphy, Pearse McCauley, ink cartridges.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:27 PM

Sean Brady,Desmond O’Connell,McQuaid,child abuse.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:33 PM

Eddie, I see a lot of anti everything posters from aaa/perennially annoyed around too. They got permission I presume?

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:28 PM

Only credible honest candidate in the constituency is Sinn feins Micheal Mac Donnacha.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:28 PM

Eddie I saw a sf election poster yesterday for a McCormick woman on a car driving down o’connell st, it’s it ok for her

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:40 PM

Assuming the car you saw was a private vehicle and the posters weren’t blocking the drivers view or obstructing other drivers views i can’t see the problem. The article is about litter laws and large posters on public property.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:45 PM

Also to use the poor excuse of no Coco meetings to gain permission yet to go ahead without permission shows irresponsibility and lack of respect both to constituents and fellow Councillors. Silly girl. There is a fine for each poster erected and I hope she is made pay personally (not from expenses) for each and every one. I’d expect that from any elected representative.

Mute I Pee Freely
    Favourite I Pee Freely
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:01 PM

The easiest solution would be to ban political posters altogether. I would imagine the vast majority of people would be in favour of this with the exception of politicians and their families so obviously it will never happen.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:42 PM

“Last minute idea” when were these posters printed and by whom on 23/24 dec????

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:43 PM

You don’t need an “alternative” to cards, you don’t need cards!!!

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:44 PM

So many good dublin bay north candidates that have nothing to do with fine gael, vote these revenue wasters out!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:49 PM

This is littering and she should be fined immediately. I had a poster up earlier this year advertising an empty office I was trying to rent out to help pay the loan on the place. Within 24hours the city council ordered me to take it down. I’d be very interested to see if this FG individual gets the same treatment.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:53 PM

People don’t want cards, when you’re on a very long Christmas holiday and they don’t want it spoiled with your face plastered all over poles. But FG must be worried, otherwise they wouldn’t be engaging in dirty tricks before GE!

Dec 30th 2015, 3:56 PM

Unbelievable how out of touch FG are. One rule for them and another for us.

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Dec 30th 2015, 10:43 PM

Hopefully the people of the area now know exactly who not to vote for.

Mute Paul Davis
    Favourite Paul Davis
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:01 PM

When are people going to realise that when someone becomes a politician, they become better and more important than everyone else. They are the bosses of us they can do what they like. Stephanie doesn’t need anybody’s permission to put up posters. She’s is of the “feck it, it will be grand” mentality which speaks volumes about her organisation, efficiency and adherence to process. Sounds like she will be great in government (like the rest of them)

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:00 PM

she should have tied herself to a lamp post and shouted merry Christmas

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:16 PM

I live in Dublin Bay North. She won’t be getting my vote. This is a total nonsense.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:39 PM

Cut her some slack she was ‘only trying to remind you she is in the area’

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:54 PM

Mm mm a cynic might suggest the rules are only for “the little folk!”

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:38 PM

Good time to throw up a last minute house without planning at Christmas because the holidays ‘do not allow’ you to seek permission.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:55 PM

What is it with Dublin Bay North, tricks left, right and centre what Regan pulling this stunt and Power printing distributing 80,000 calendars and only distributing them to her ‘constituents’ in this constituency and not the rest of her constituency (national as she’s a senator).

Anyone would think there is a history of shenanigans there, oh wait, it’s the new name for Charles Haughey’s old stomping ground.

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jan 1st 2016, 7:45 PM

Ye regan and power using publics money to advertise themselfs before next election shows their priority is in corruption and themselfs avoid these dublin bay north

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady

Desperation tactics…all to get a td’s pension…

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:04 PM

Another who believe the rules shouldn’t apply to her.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:16 PM

Fg member involved in breaking laws,nothing new there.look at john perry,fg td,bringing the party to court over corruption. The party is a cesspit for corruption.

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:49 PM

What’s in it for me

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:56 PM

Regan said she was “trying to help people to remember that I am in this area”

…lol….What a classic!…….she means she’s done nothing to be remembered for and is just on the ticket because…..quotas!
    That’s still littering Stephanie….and a big pet hate for many people to see election posters even during election time let alone at a time when no election has been called yet. Hope the locals tell you where to go!

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:32 PM

This lady only got a few hundred people go vote for her at the locals … No wonder she is desperate and breaking the law …. Cough up the fine and play by the rules .

Dec 31st 2015, 9:19 PM

Mustn’t be doing much if she thinks that no one knows her?

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:08 PM

Sure Fine Gael just do what they want, rules don’t apply to them.

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:37 PM

She needs to be fined … 15 posters that is about €2200 that she owes to the people of DBN for breaking the law …. Will she cough up ?

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:49 PM

I’m sure she will state that she didn’t understand the rules and get away with it. I wonder if I fail to pay my TV license and state that I didn’t know I needed one would I get similar treatment.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:30 PM

She’ll cough alright, pull a sickie and claim she had the flu influencing her decision! Anyone in her area, making a complaint?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Dec 31st 2015, 12:04 AM

Will the Authorities insist in fining her ?

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:52 PM

Fianna Fail had a sign up in Galway about a public meeting that had pictures of all FF candidates on it that looked suspiciously like a campaign poster

Mute Benny Dorm
    Favourite Benny Dorm
    Dec 30th 2015, 2:57 PM

Rabbittes signs are still stuck on poles around the Abbeyknockmoy area. One of Galways litter wardens should hit her with a 150 fine.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy

We’ll be flooded, with these posters shortly?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:36 PM

Looking forward to Enda, getting a bucket of flood water thrown over him and told to shut up.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:53 PM

I would respect her far more if she apologised and admitted an error of judgement

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:05 PM

Politicians don’t seem able to grasp that concept. It’s all deflect and deny with them!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:14 PM

She’ll do the usual “if anyone was offended” non apology. That’s what politicians do.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:54 PM

100% tolerance for this. Anybody else would be fined €200 per poster.

Mute Darren Mccarthy
    Favourite Darren Mccarthy
    Dec 30th 2015, 3:51 PM

A week doesn’t go by but a politician is in the news for ‘bending the rule of law in one way or another’. Never will they face the same kind of investigation or consequences as the ordinary citizen. That ladies and gentlemen is what makes “Ireland the best little country in the world to do business in”

Mute Jack Coldrick
    Favourite Jack Coldrick
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:47 PM

“Non-intrusive way” of wishing people a merry Christmas…. yeah right just slap up giant posters around town without permission. What would happen if someone built an extension on to their home without permission?

Mute Connachtabu
    Favourite Connachtabu
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:02 PM

Regina Doherty, FG candidate in Meath East, had posters up over Xmas around Julianstown. I remind her of the illegality when I see her.
    No FG, no Lab, no FF!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Dec 31st 2015, 5:16 PM

Is this the BANKRUPT one ?

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:31 PM

I’m fine with once theres something in it for me

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:23 PM

A good big personal fine- not taxpayer funded, should be levied . This is more FG arrogance .

Mute karl
    Favourite karl
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:18 PM

If every business in Ireland wanted to say happy Christmas by putting up posters imagine how that would look ! Seems to be one rule for the politicians and one for us !!! ..

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:29 PM

I’m enjoying how the comments are reflecting the 30% support FG are getting in the “polls”

Mute MAN UTD IRISH REDS
    Favourite MAN UTD IRISH REDS
    Dec 30th 2015, 4:57 PM

Fg have candidates on huge billboards for the last few weeks in cork advertising the good work they do in the area

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:02 PM

Yep….noticed that lad that uses the Gardaí as taxi’s has a few big ones up on bill boards, alright…..most likely can afford them since he gave up using actual taxi’s.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Dec 30th 2015, 5:24 PM

Get a step ladder and remove posters pick up any litter around anyone asks what you are doing ? ” my public duty keeping my area free of litter “

Mute Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:08 PM

This behaviour is right out of order and whatever sanction the council take is fine with me. I believe a per poster fine is the norm.

Mute Ray Garland
    Favourite Ray Garland
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:05 PM

“last minute” , imagine finding a printer at the last minute at Christmas to design and print said posters. Never mind reminding her constituents what area she is in , she can’t even remember she should of applied to DCC for permission not just fingal. Surprised no one has commented on Avril Power posters that are also up with out valid permission.

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Jan 3rd 2016, 8:37 PM

If she is prosecuted she will be able to explain all thesethings to the Court

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:10 PM

Candidates from all parties in this constituency are sticking up posters all over the place advising of public meetings. We’ve had more public meetings called in the last six months than in the previous four years . Once its a meeting apparently its legal provided they’re taken down promptly afterwards.

Mute Cynical Samwidge
    Favourite Cynical Samwidge
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:37 PM

“Trying to help the people remember?” That’s right, cause the people are stupid, forgetful bit useful idiots that create the wealth but eat the scraps.

Mute Thomas Cahill
    Favourite Thomas Cahill
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:06 PM

Is it really necessary to take a holiday season greeting offensively? People have too much time to complain nowadays :/

Mute Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Favourite Daniel Kevin Sullivan
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:14 PM

the content is irrelevant, it’s breaching the by-laws to put up any posters except those approved for meetings.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:30 PM

OK Thomas….what if every candidate or TD around the country ignored the rules and stuck posters up wishing Happy Christmas….
    http://c1.thejournal.ie/media/2011/01/PA-4614974-390×285.jpg just add ‘Happy Christmas’ to all the posters in that image…would it be so pleasant?…or just a sickening mess?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 30th 2015, 6:34 PM

You obviously like to take it well, pull up your trousers man and straighten up!

Mute Thomas Cahill
    Favourite Thomas Cahill
    Jan 1st 2016, 8:46 AM

This is not an all or nothing case. It’s a warm welcome and give. She doesn’t ask for #1 I’m thinking within reason it shouldn’t be causing a fuss, the trousers comment, I’m unsure of its inference?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Dec 31st 2015, 12:01 AM

Is this not against the law or is it this government TD above the law ?

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Dec 30th 2015, 7:25 PM

Chep skate

Mute Jim Ky
    Favourite Jim Ky
    Jan 3rd 2016, 8:34 PM

Hope Fingal Council will deal with any issue where the law has been flouted—if everyone in an area decided to send Christmas greetingsin theirareaby putting up huge posters Ithink the residentswould not be too happy

Dec 31st 2015, 9:20 PM

If I saw one of her posters I would stick a brown envelope on each one lol.

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Dec 31st 2015, 1:45 PM

A Litter fine for every poster she illegally put up should be issued. She new well what she was at as the public offices in fingal Co Co were closed so she thought she could get away with it.