You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Stephen Donnelly won't rule out joining another party after Soc Dem departure

He said he would be consulting with supporters in his constituency before deciding the way forward.

TD STEPHEN DONNELLY has not ruled out joining another political party, after his announcement today that he is leaving the Social Democrats.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Drivetime this evening, Donnelly said it is “a sad day” and that he considered it a “great privilege” to have worked with colleagues Catherine Murphy and Róisín Shortall.

He denied suggestions by his former party colleagues that he had left because he is not a team player or had shied away from the work involved.

“I think it’s an unfortunate line that Catherine and Roisin are taking. Nobody who has started a political party can ever be accused of being work-shy.”

He said he had concluded after two years that the team was no longer working.

It was a team effort. We all did things right, we all made mistakes.

“Am I partly to blame for it? Absolutely I am,” he said this evening.

When asked whether he would revert back to being an independent TD or consider joining another party, Donnelly would not be drawn to commit to either.

“My head for the last two years has been in the Social Democrats. In the last few weeks it has been only in whether or not to stay and continue to try.”

Donnelly also said he would love to be in government, but felt he could still make a difference from the opposition benches.

He said he would be consulting with supporters in his constituency over the next few days about which direction he should take now, adding it was “a conversation that has to be had”.

Read: Stephen Donnelly has left the Social Democrats>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

75 Comments
    Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:56 PM

We need a convincing left here not these splintered mini parties.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:59 PM

A convincing centre left is sorely needed in this country. Sad to see the Soc Dems fall apart, I did have hope for them to bridge the gap between SF and FF/FG.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:01 PM

Interesting, significant and accurate that no one perceives of the Labour Party as social democratic.

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:02 PM

There’s no such thing as centre-left. They inevitably get drawn towards right leaning policy and/or become some right wing parties b/tch, just ask labour.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:08 PM

That’s true Jonny, unfortunately. As James Connolly wrote:

“…although it may seem a paradox to say so, there is no party so incapable of achieving practical results, as an orthodox, political party; and there is no party so certain of placing moderate reforms to its credit as an extreme revolutionary party. The possessing class will and do laugh to scorn every scheme for the amelioration of the workers so long as those responsible for the initiation of the scheme admit as justifiable the, “rights of property”; but when the public attention is directed toward questioning the justifiable nature of those “rights” in themselves, then the master class, alarmed for the safety of their booty, yield reform after reform – in order to prevent revolution.

Moral – Don’t be “practical” in politics. To be practical in that sense means that you have schooled yourself to think along the lines, and in the grooves, which those who rob you would desire you to think.”

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:08 PM

So there such a thing as centre-left? i get ye ;)

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:09 PM

There’s no such thing as centre-left at the moment, no. Is it unreasonable to expect such a party to exist and stick by their principles? I don’t think so.

It’s rather depressing that we’re forced to choose between the far left and the centre right/right. There’s a niche there that needs filling.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:23 PM

What do you consider SD to be?

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:26 PM

They kind of fit the bill, but I meant the lack of mainstream centre left parties who would be able to form a government.

After this departure it looks unlikely that the SD will be part of any government anytime soon, but hopefully I’m wrong

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:36 PM

Stephen donnelly is no more left than the man in the moon.. He socially liberally but fiscally conservative- like Fianna Fail. He’ll join fianna fail id bet forconnollys house on it.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:54 PM

Malachi, barring the workers’ party I don’t know of any other “far left” parties. If you think the left in Ireland is far left then you need to reevaluate, they are no more left than the average left party in Europe.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:06 PM

Malachi, All social democratic parties are ultimately forced to betray their principles. Labour is a case in point. This is because if you accept capitalism as a legitimate socioeconomic system as SD parties do then you accept the exploitation of the majority in order to enrich a minority elite. Capitalism can’t be reformed to meet the needs of the majority because it’s based on exploiting that majority.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:12 PM

Yeah..I’d throw a penny on FF alright. Big loss but should not take away from the work the 3 have done in the Dail since election. A reasonable support is there for a reasonable left. Bound to grow. Time will tell which way. Strong support for the remainder anyway.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:23 PM

Wallabilly, off the noggin, how do we cure societies ills? No pasting.

Also, Sweden .

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:30 PM

Maybe he will join sf

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:33 PM

Sweden has held out longer than most against the neoliberal onslaught due to its strong unions and community organisations but it too is inexorably being dragged to the right. Society’s problems will be resolved under a socioeconomic system which is based on meeting human rather than profit extraction.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:34 PM

human need.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Favourite Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:34 PM

” All socialist democratic parties are ultimately forced to betray their principles….. ” So Wally does that include AAA or are they a specialist case?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:42 PM

The AAA isn’t a social democratic party. Your autocomplete seems to be adding ‘ist’ where it doesn’t belong.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:44 PM

I can’t disagree. Well said.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:53 PM

Ah so AAA is a Communist party then! So do realise Wally Communism doesnt work?

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:55 PM

And Wally you must be the only man in Kilkenny who doesnt like Hurling!

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:55 PM

Can you explain how you made that logical jump then Robert? You understand that capitalism isn’t working for billions of the planet’s population?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:58 PM

I’m not in Kilkenny but I do like the hurling. Great game yesterday and good to see new champions though Tipp wouldn’t be my first choice after the Dubs.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:09 PM

Its not a massive leap Wally. You are always banging on about the working class, and the evils of capitalism. In your mind there is no place for it at all in society depite the fact that we all know you are a consumer just like everyone else in this country. You are a Marxist!

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:18 PM

Yes I’m a Marxist. Im also a democat as all Marxists are. And do you imagine anyone gets to opt out of the capitalist system which dominates the planet? The slaves working the plantations in the U.S. south were certainly opposed to the system which enslaved them but were obliged to live within it.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:32 PM

All Marxists are democrats really?

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:35 PM

Yes, really. I doubt your understanding of Marxism and mine have much in common.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:49 PM

“I don’t want to belong to any club that will accept me as a member”

- Karl Marx

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:56 PM

Eh charlie i think that that Marx was president of freedonia. Ive had a wonderful evening.. But this wasnt it.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:58 PM

I suspect our understanding of a lot of things differs quite substantially. Keep up the good work my man. I do enjoy a good laugh.

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:00 PM

Marxists = slave master. Taking the fruits of the labour of another by force. Vile immoral defeated ideology. People like you make me sick.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:12 PM

Barry tell him what you really think.

If anything wally soumds like a lad to go for a pint.. No rounds etc more of a kitty system with everyone ordering the same drink at the same price. No tayto either and you csn f***k right off with your scampi fries.. thats only for the elites who have money not allocated to the kitty. Pints only-bavaria or dutch gold.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:19 PM

Barry, Wally will never admit that capitalism has a place in society ( even with its undoubted flaws ) nor will he admit that he is a complicate part of it. Not only that he has this fanciful notion that socialism will solve all our problems (yet our own state cant even run a bus company and make a profit ).

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:42 PM

Sweden has held out longer??? Is that a joke! They were the only European country who had no recession because they embraced fiscal responsibility and decreased taxes by 25% while slashing benefits and also taking in hundreds of thousands of refugees… All the while increasing GDP far ahead of any other EU country!

Sweden is THE example of how cutting taxes results in increased prosperity for all from top to bottom.

Mute Linda Daly
    Favourite Linda Daly
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:10 PM

I agree, I voted for SD as I had a rep in my area. I was impressed with Stephen Donnelly’s preformence in the public debates.

Mute Jason Byrne
    Favourite Jason Byrne
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:33 PM

By your own definition, Barry, all businessmen are Marxists. They get the state to protect what they claim is theirs and take most of the wealth created by their employees. You defend this by claiming private property rights.

Mute Barry Davidson
    Favourite Barry Davidson
    Sep 6th 2016, 9:49 AM

Very stupid comment.

Mute Jason Byrne
    Favourite Jason Byrne
    Sep 6th 2016, 7:52 PM

Not an argument.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:47 PM

To be fair, when he does announce he is joining Fianna Fail, at least it will mean he has a chance to actually implement his policy ideas rather than just talking about them from an Independent’s pulpit.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:03 PM

Ideas are what’s missing from irish politics, Joe Higgins is someone I would disagree with. But his influence and ideas where for greater than some minister throwing a few quid to the local GAA club.

Mute Patrick Watson
    Favourite Patrick Watson
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:07 PM

Joe Higgins hasn’t achieved a thing in his entire career.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:13 PM

Tell that to the Gama workers, Patrick.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:11 PM

Or Irish Water

Sep 5th 2016, 7:19 PM

I’d fear for him of he joins FF or FG. They take you in and then the old school eejits in these parties start to circle around you, they hound you like hyienas and wolves, and try and drag you down to their pathetic level, because they were there first, and they think that gives them the right to be in the queue to be promoted before you, its nothing to do with ability to these lowlifes. Just ask George Lee!

Sep 5th 2016, 7:38 PM

They threaten the party leadership with party instability and infighting if goldenboy gets promoted ahead of them, the leadership has to comply to save all their own political lives, and then it just turns into a hugh waste of political talent, with one decent political talent left in no mans land, while these muck herd of braindead, self enriching, “whats in it for me” backbench tds live on.

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:34 PM

He was initially joining Renua but opted out because Lucinda wouldn’t let him lead.

Biggest mistake she ever made!

Mute HOTBank
    Favourite HOTBank
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:37 PM

He’ll join Labour

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:53 PM

Maybe true, eventually the left have to get their house in order to coordinate some kind of unified voice!

Likewise the right needs to openly state the fact that they are right so that we can all get over this immaturity of brandishing anyone who is slightly to the right as being Hitler. In Ireland you can openly be a Marxist – a full 10 points to the left of centre – and no one ever bats an eyelid, but if you are even one point to the right you are labelled evil.

It’s resulting in politicians who wish to perpetuate dependency for their own gains.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:00 PM

It would be sad if Stephen joined FF or FG. There is not a trace, not a vestige of social democracy in either of the parties.

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:25 PM

always had a lot of time for donnelly, himself roisin shortall, catherine murphy and perhaps a dozen more tds understand the concept of public service and working on behalf of the country and the people unlike the majority of the party gombeens who only understand how to line their many pockets, if he joins the cancer that is fianna fail i certainly will lose all respect for the man

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:55 PM

I voted for him before, and I’d vote for him again. Apart from if he joined fg or labour. Any other party I’m willing to give him a shot.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:58 PM

You’d vote for him if he joined Fianna Fáil?!?

Mute Patrick Watson
    Favourite Patrick Watson
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:06 PM

He’d be more at home in Renua.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:09 PM

I don’t think he will Petr, but I like the man’s principles so it would be a possibility. I hope to be voting for the man rather than the party.

Mute Conchuir
    Favourite Conchuir
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:27 PM

Is that not a contradiction there won’t vote if labour or fg but will vote if ff?? Thought you would vote for the man not the party?

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:33 PM

I voted labour before, never again. Fg, I disagree with everything they stand for. I believe that they have no interest in the wellbeing of the working man, and in the unlikely event the Stephen Donnolly agreed with their principles, or lack of, then I’d have to honestly look elsewhere. I don’t think it’ll ever happen though.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:38 PM

Joining F.F. must be on his mind. Their is no north Wicklow F.F. T.D. And no one looking likely to emerge as a serious contender. This could solve his and M.M.s dilemma.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Sep 5th 2016, 8:38 PM

He is about to join Fianna Fáil . Wait and see . Anyone who thought that he had any shred of moral compass is about to be terribly disappointed.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:20 PM

Donnelly is the new Shane Ross , flip flopping through populist opinions and not wanting to do the hard grafting. Three times he was offered to be part of major investigations and jumped away. What a waste of a vote

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:28 PM

Completely agree! Donnelly has a great welcome for himself and talks a good game but has never, despite numerous opportunities, shown his meitheal!

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:49 PM

The PCs: Progressive Coneheads.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:54 PM

So that’ll be Fianna Fáil then.. Or.. Maybeeee Fine Gael

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:45 PM

Perhaps SF is his destination
    All Irish political parties if they were in England of Europe would be left or centre left
    We don’t have any right wing parties at all

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 11:00 PM

We’ll vote Renua the next time John! Even though they are barely centre right they are the only thing we’ve got that even comes close!

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Sep 5th 2016, 6:48 PM

Nom nom nom.

Mute Hugh Jass
    Favourite Hugh Jass
    Sep 5th 2016, 7:44 PM

Has anyone heard the rumours he had a great fall and had to leave the party because all the King’s horses and all the King’s men couldn’t put him together again?

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Sep 5th 2016, 9:23 PM

He’s really one of those guys who looks terrible bald. He looks like an alien.

Mute Gaye Dalton
    Favourite Gaye Dalton
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:42 PM

My money is on him joining FG and already being in negotiation.

Simon Harris has, suddenly and inexplicably shut down his flashy West Wicklow constituency office in Baltinglass that was only opened just before elections. Doubt if the agricultural community would have much use for him anyway, but it is a rather strange thing to do – unless someone else will be taking responsibility for West Wicklow.

Mute Mick Johnson
    Favourite Mick Johnson
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:58 PM

Gaye I’d say Billy Timmins will run again independent. He was only 2,000 shy the last time, ad because the young girl ran from Dunlavin it split the vote.

He’d have a good cause to go back and say: “Don’t split your vote, ensure West-Wicklow is represented”.

And if he doesn’t, I will!!!

Mute Lawrence Ward
    Favourite Lawrence Ward
    Sep 5th 2016, 10:07 PM

Mr donnelly has quite an odd shaped head

Mute Garrett Mullan
    Favourite Garrett Mullan
    Sep 7th 2016, 2:36 AM

He is a management consultant… that’s a about it. People are very impressed that he can string a sentence together. Hmm well done SD, you leared English

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Sep 7th 2016, 2:14 PM

Donnelly wants to be a yes minister man