You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
TODAY TheJournal.ie is making a very special announcement.
In four weeks’ time, we’ll be launchingTheJournal.ie #PRINT – your favourite news website, in paper form.
We first went live 18 months ago as Ireland’s first truly interactive news website. Since then, with your help, we’ve been growing at an almost alarming rate. (Matched only by our coffee bill.) And now – with a big thank you! – we’re very proud to reveal the next stage in our development.
We’re enormously proud of the work we do online, but – as the household charge debacle has taught us – there are many Irish people who don’t have an internet connection. Those who do, meanwhile, will know the frustration of a dropped 3G signal when you’re out and about.
So TheJournal.ie #PRINT is our way of filling in the gaps. To make sure that more of you can read, share and shape the news, more of the time. Beginning as a pilot project in Dublin, it will be rolled out nationwide (except in Drogheda and Clonmel as those towns already have free wi-fi for everybody, which would make it redundant).
Here’s what you can expect from TheJournal.ie #PRINT:
Read TheJournal.ie #PRINT will have all the news you love. But here’s the big change: it will be the most up-to-date paper product ever seen in Ireland. Each of our distribution points will have a revolutionary mobile printing station, so you’ll never miss out on the latest from our team in the newsroom. Plus the paper comes with a smartphone-shaped slot for what we’re calling ‘Web2Print’ updates.*
Shape Every page of #PRINT will come with an ample blank space below the stories for YOUR comments. But of course we want to read them too! Which is why we’ll be printing a freepost licence on the back. Just drop them into any postbox.**
Share Specially perforated edges will surround each story panel. Want to share? Just tear the segment out and hand it to a friend. To ‘bookmark’ an item for later simply grab, scrunch and place in your trouser pocket or handbag.
The move was announced by Eric Fallon, vice-chairman of Journal Media Ltd and lesser-known brother of TheJournal.ie founders Brian and Eamonn, who called it a “revolution” in online media. He said:
TheJournal.ie #PRINT is about taking our web content to the next level – into the actual, physical world. You’ll literally be able to touch it.
TheJournal.ie‘s business and banking columnist Nick Leeson said:
I’m delighted to hear that TheJournal.ie is going to feature my column in their ink and paper product. I’m excited that readers will be able to cut out and keep my column, maybe even pin it on the fridge.
Among the other special features on offer in TheJournal.ie #PRINT:
React Sometimes you want to add a quick spin of your own. That’s why #PRINT will come with a special sticker set to slap a comment on any story you’re sharing. Like? OMG? LOL? ROFLMAO? Just peel, slap and go.
Socialise To launch #PRINT, we’re giving away a free branded TheJournal.ie bracelet with every copy. Wear it, and you’ll be able to show you’re part of our community anywhere – even underwater. (Waterproof to 50m.)
Take part You won’t want to miss out on our reader polls and Slow-Burning Questions. Why is why we’ve invested in 7,500 surplus e-voting machines to be placed at key locations around the country.***
Of course, there will be parts of the website which we can’t put in the #PRINT edition. But we’ll be investing in the newest paper-based technologies to bring you the best the web has to offer. We think we’ve cracked YouTube already:
* iPhone 3GS, 4, 4S and Samsung Galaxy models only.
** TheJournal.ie accepts no responsibility for libellous or obscene comments. Full terms and conditions apply and all commenters will be monitored from above while writing by our editor Susan Daly, via satellite.
*** Poll results from e-voting machines may not be correct.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@Jim Smith: Look at it another way, kids are low risk if they get it but they are high risk for spreading the virus as they don’t wear masks or social distance. I personally know parents who’s jobs are impacted due to their kids bringing it home to the household from school and having to isolate. The stats show that school aged children are making up a lot of cases, you can argue with stats.
@Jim Smith: Easy for you to say close down hospitality, I take it you don’t work in that area then?? As regards children, what have they been through? Most kids these days do nothing anyway bar watching telly or sitting on their phones, so nothing has really changed for them!!
@Jim Smith: Kids are spreading it and bringing it home to infect their families. 19% of cases are 5 – 12 year olds. You want them to be left alone so this continues? The virus mightn’t effect them much but its what the spread in schools is doing to the rest of society is the problem. The more infection in society the more hospitalisations and deaths.
@Jim Smith:
I have a school going child and they like nothing more than a few weeks off…
It is the childcare that is the real problem… We would have nurses and doctors having to stay at home to mind there children…
I think until Christmas I would take the approach: All non essential Parents children to stay at home (this allows for a far less crowed situations in school) & all children over 6 to be told to mask.
Hopefully we drive the virus low enough in a month and vaccines for Primary can kick in…
Vaccines for Primary children should be done like TB shot initially… Consent form sent home, sign and sent back, shot given…
Any parent who is hesitant of their children getting the shot, please get properly educated on it… It is alright to be hesitant but this virus thrives on ignorance… Do not get your information from friend, what I heard, Facebook, Twitter, or even some of the commenters on the journal… They are dangerous and will put your children and family at risk. Listen to actual health professionals. If a friend tells you something, be polite but firm, ask them where they got their information from, ask them to show you the link on line.. Then read the underlying information, is it peer reviewed, etc…
@Michael Cunningham: kids do get covid.
Of the 61,659 Covid-19 cases notified in last 2 weeks, 4.9% were aged 0 to 4, 19% aged 5 to 12 and 5.7% aged 13 to 18
Of the 557 hospitalised 4% were aged 0 to 4, 3.3% aged 5 to 12 and 1.9% aged 13 to 18
@Cowboy Paddy: The virus does not thrive on ignorance the virus thrives in warm human bodies regardless of vaccination status and the fact that the vaccination does not stop infection or transmission it is most definitely not worth the risk giving it to children. The vaccine protects you and you only there is no ambiguity it only lessens severe symptoms and in a cohort where those symptoms are almost 100% very mild there is no need to vaccinate. The only selfish people on here re. Covid are the people looking to force vaccination onto young children who place their trust in us to do the right thing by them and I cannot in good conscience put that vaccine into my child’s body without at least 4 or 5 years data on the long term effects of it
@James Bishop: they ARE thinking of the kids. Sooner or later this will mutate into something that attacks children and the idea would be to get rid of it before that happens. The more people try to buck the system, the longer this will be with us.
@Jim Smith: Grow up. Whether you like it or not they’re part of the problem and something needs to be done to stop it. Crying on here isnt going to do anything to change what govt decide. Its actually shocking that they havent acted before now. Shouldn’t have let them back to the classroom after the summer to keep cases on that downward trajectory in August. Its a shame that theres many like you that dont understand/dont want to know the effects kids and schools are having on keeping the virus spreading at such high rates.
@Jim Smith: I’m just looking at the facts, it’s faily obvious that schools are having a big impact on cases so do we just ignore that so little Tommy and little Mary don’t feel upset about wearing a mask. I know many kids who refused to wear seatbelts over the years, car didn’t move until they did. Wearing masks won’t fn hurt them, plámásing kids will do a lot more damage.
@Jim Smith: not true certain primary school have loads of cases where is the stats and information for you to make an assumption that children are low risk
@Stephen Kearon: Stop pointing out facts now Stephen because soon enough our Chief Scientific Expert Tracy from Facebook will be along to provide an update that Kids cannot get sick or spread it or anything of the sort…
@Jim Smith: You make absolutely no sense, if the majority of cases were between 18 – 25 year olds, would be saying juts leave them out of it…. There is no leaving anybody out of it regardless of age.. It does not work like that if a virus is spreading.
@Dave: and the people who get sick and are in the ICU are… (cue drumroll)
Anti vaxxers!! For the zillionth time. Nobody. Nobody cares if eejits get sick. I mean NOBODY. We are better off without them. (See books written by Charles Darwin). We must move on with our lives and let people have the ability to make their own health decisions and live (or die) by them.
Without the anti vaxxers in the hospital/ICU this is influenza numbers. Of course it will kill some of the older/vulnerable vaccinated but so will any of a million other infections, and we have to figure a way to live with it. COVID is going nowhere!
@Paul Hedderman: 19% are young but under 1% make the ICU.
So who the eff cares is 50% of cases are young and the vast majority are fine. I never heard this outcry when we had 50 kids a year dead from asthma attacks. Why didn’t we mask them all up and stop socializing??
We need to learn to live with it. If it means we thin the herd and lose a few selfish møronic anti-vaxxers, I mean aren’t we are better off??
Them kids, always at it like, wanting to play and meet up and things. They should be knuckling down now boy and doing some work sewing up trainer and working in mines and things.too good they have it, no wonder the politicians are jealous, if they have to do a right job and can’t go to parties in the Merrion then no one else should, kids included.
they should be at home, till at least Feb, one parent or guardian should receive special payment from government to make up for any loss of income incurred till then
@Mr_Bumkee: perspective might be recognising the absurdity of recommending kids avoid parties and playdates at Christmas while adults are free to mix socially and without masks in pubs and nightclubs..
@This time its personable!: nah shur they’ll be grand freezing in their classrooms & told if they wear a scarf or gloves to take them off as they are not school issue!
@Lorcan Barron: can the govt also provide for any lost mental health that kids may suffer if kept at home every time there is an uptick in case numbers?
@Squarepeg01: who will provide for them when and if their parents contact covid cause their children became “carriers ” from mixing with a classroom full of other children from various different backrounds and obviously many different households as well ?
@Squarepeg01: who will provide for them when and if their parents contact covid cause their children became “carriers ” because of mixing in classrooms full of other children from other backrounds and obviously many different households as well ?
@Lorcan Barron: we will probably all end up catching covid at some point in our lives. Covid is NEVER going away – or at least we have to live with the prospect it will never go away. If parents are worried about catching covid from their kids, well isn’t that what the vaccines are for?
@Squarepeg01: some very valid points you make there, I feel the very same way myself , we will have to learn to live with covid , we cant be restricted for the rest of our lives ! but is it a case of live and let die ? we will all need to take precautions including our school children
Why are the comments turned off on the Telegram/Far right article (the main article on this site)? A lot of parents have genuine concerns and they’re considered far right now for not wanting their kids to wear masks in school?
@Andy Dunn: That’s just your confirmation bias at work.
I suggest you re-read the acticle, especially the parts where it mentions what is being shared on far-right pages and how that is denying genuinely concerned parents the resources they are trying to access.
@Elaine Phelan: What happens in a classroom where some kids are 8 and some are 9? Or in small rural schools where rooms can include children from 3rd, 4th and 5th class? Have 3 or four children masked and the rest not? Science yeah?
@Elaine Phelan: Oh, so you think this is about preventing the schools from being shut? That’s certainly onepossibility. However, I think it’s more about offering a comfort blanket to already vaccinated adults who will shortly be receiving a booster.
They’ve pulled another number from nowhere, this time it’s 9. 9 years and up should now wear masks. When did we stop being ‘led by the science’ as we were told we would be at the beginning. Seems we’ve moved on to knee-jerk reactions based on completely arbitrary numbers which only add to the contradictory nature of the restrictions.
Masks for 9 year olds but not 8 year olds in the same room. Pubs and full stadiums for adults but no playing with peers for children. I give up.
@Andy Dunn: The way they refer to these so called far right bogeymen hassling the NPC. ‘Anti-Covid groups yada, yada, yada’? Which begs the question, who the hell is pro-covid?
When this pandemic ends what will the lazy, click bait media hyperventilate about?
@JedBartlett: i’ve seen loads of comments on here the last month, saying schools are the problem and what is the government doing about it? They’re damned if they do, damned if they don’t. Masks are a very small inconvenience. My primary aged niece in New Zealand has been wearing masks to school the whole way through and it’s been zero issue. Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal. It’s the people filling their kids heads with the idea that masks are awful to wear that is the problem
@Elaine Phelan: “ Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal.” If parents are telling their children that wearing masks is normal then they’re quite simply wrong. Wearing masks is not normal for either adults or children.
It’s a measure we’re using to combat this virus but it’s certainly not normal.
@JedBartlett: it has been normal for the past 2 years, a high percentage of a young child’s life. It will be normal next year and if we insist upon not protecting people, it will be normal after that. Washing your hands in alcohol isn’t normal either. Should we teach our kids not to do that too?
@JedBartlett: you’re entitled to what is your opinion. You have the benefit of history and have formed your opinion of what’s normal based on that. Kids, now, are more likely to adhere to common sense health precautions like mask wearing if they are told that it is normal, for now at least. It’s just common sense isn’t it. You tell them that it’s not normal then they’re less likely to protect themselves and others.
@GrumpyAulFella: during the spate of Islamist bombings a few years ago, we were all talking about how Muslim women who wear the veil in public were violating the Western tradition where the full face is exposed in social situations. How things have changed! Covering the face is not ‘normal’ and we will have lost something very important when it comes to interacting with other people if it ever becomes ‘normal’.
@Lee King Buckett: the article said there was ‘evidence’ that far-right anti-covid groups were involved, but didn’t bother to give any details. Assertions made without evidence can be denied without evidence.
@Squarepeg01: first world problem though. We’re in the midst of a global health emergency. If kids have to be told that wearing masks is normal in order to protect the health of others then they should be told that it’s normal. As soon as this thing is under control then they can lift the mask. We’re not talking about gas masks here, it’s just a light material covering the mouth and nose.
@Dearbhla O Reilly: the whole far right thing is a moral panic. When historically have the far right opposed authoritarianism? Opposition to masks, restrictions and lockdowns is petty individualism, sometimes anti corporatism, sometimes it’s just loss of income. By and large I supported all measures, although the vaccines are a disappointment, but the people who protest don’t really strike me as very radical. Just fed up.
@GrumpyAulFella: the problem is that covid isn’t going away. It’s endemic now and subject to a lot of variants. There will never be a time where it’s not killing people though (unless we get a miracle anti viral) as that’s what endemic viruses do. So if we normalise mask wearing then it’s never going away.
@GrumpyAulFella: as soon as this thing is under control… Haven’t you been paying attention? The vaccines were supposed to mark the end of the global health crisis, but they don’t work anywhere near as effectively as hoped – and neither do the masks unless they’re the N95 models. So we currently have NO official policy that will see us through to the end of the pandemic. It’s just ‘try this, try that, let’s see if this works’. But these ad hoc measures have only worked temporarily in the past. Can we not just deal with the fact that covid is going to be with us permanently and will ebb and flow and mutate like other established respiratory diseases. There is no point continuing a cure that at this point is likely worse than the disease.
@JedBartlett: as usual your arguments are hilariously off the mark, jumping from one sound bite to another. Primary school children are the cohort with the highest percentage of unvaccinated. They have also had the highest amount of cases recently. To reduce the risk of them spreading it amongst themselves some action needs to be taken to limit their interactions. On a priority basis school and education was left alone except for some mask wearing.
On a short term basis pantomimes and playdates are seen as a lesser priority. There really is no drama.
Unless you doing nothing is better…of course you do.
@Damo: doing nothing IS better. So what if kids pass it among themselves? They don’t get ill from it. They might pass it on to Granny later, but then Granny should be vaccinated if she’s that worried.
@Squarepeg01: “Granny” and all her age are all vaccinated and they are still dying along with people with underlying conditions… dying daily.
But hey a panto is way more important…
….you have a fairly compelling argument there alright… genius level stuff.
@Elaine Phelan: Really, what about kids with asthma, sensory issues, hearing issues, ocd, or many of the various issues that could preclude them from wearing masks, what are you going to do make them stay at home because if they don’t wear a mask all the other kids won’t want to wear a mask. Will you want exclude them from an education all because of a virus that doesn’t really affect them just to protect yourself. They have given up enough of their childhood already particularly children who are an only child separated from their friends for months because of this for some it’s their only form of social interaction with people their own age
@Damo: I tend not to engage with people who claim there is no such thing a rhinovirus, which you proved you had never heard of in a previous back and forth we had. I gave up on you then.
From reading your comments since it seems you haven’t increased your knowledge store so there’s no point in entering a debate with you.
@JedBartlett: poor Jed… still thinking (and lying) about something that happened months ago? Did it really hurt that much to be schooled? :)
Care to add anything to your latest stellar argument?
Just so you can remember this one too…
@Jim Smith: how do you have the audacity to say that to Elaine. She’s entitled to her opinion. It’s of no relevance whether she has children or not. There are no qualified scientists /virologists/doctors/immunologists here but it doesn’t stop everyone spouting out THEIR opinion. Some people should engage their brains before they start typing.
@Anna Carr: i agree. As a parent, (i cringe when people prefix a sentence with that, but it seems apt here) it annoys me when people weaponise being a parent as if it automatically invalidates the opinion of those who may not. It does’nt, and makes us all seem insufferable.
@thesaltyurchin: Maybe go check HSE website out breaks in hospitality are way down the list. All are vaccinated or have covid free tests. So why use them as a scapegoat.
I hope no parent follows this socialisation is a hugely important part of a child’s life even a few months of no interaction with piers can damage them for life.
@Elaine Phelan: Kids accept whatever their parents tell them is normal…put them in cages and be done with it..problem solved..it will be their NEW NORMAL
@Squarepeg01: that’s already happening with children receiving 6 in 1 vaccines between the ages of 2 months to 12 months. MMR similarly at 1 year. We can’t rule out a similar vaccine being required for Covid in the future.
@GrumpyAulFella: kids need those other vaccines because they are for diseases they are actually at risk from. Covid poses no threat to them, but the vaccines may and has, so it is immoral to even consider vaccinating them just to protect others. Let those others protect themselves by taking the vaccine themselves
No need for any changes with kids, they are together all day at school and after school play is just an extension of that. It’s winter anyway so kids are mostly at home anyway.
@EnKy: we must presume that they mean Covid deniers. The looney tunes who hassle people at vaccination centres, walk into shops seeking confrontations with staff over mask wearing then posting their heroics on social media, the yellow vest wearers marching through town shouting Freedom, as though they have been interned in Long Kesh, the ones who preach that Covid is a cold, that vaccines are a poison then smoke and drink themselves into oblivion, the ones that refuse to protect themselves and others and so facilitate the spread and mutation. You know, those people.
@JedBartlett: how many do you think there are Jed? We know that 10% of adults are not taking the vaccine. Scary and all as that is, I wonder how many of them fall into the denier bracket?
@GrumpyAulFella: Believe it or not, the vast majority of people who are “anti covid” believe it is a real virus but just think that the governments response is way over the top. There is only a very, very small minority (of the minority) that don’t think it’s actually a real virus.
@Andy Dunn: would reword it as “the vast majority of people who are “anti covid” believe it is a real virus but don’t believe that it will affect them and are selfish in not been willing to do anything to protect the people who are vulnerable “
@Andy Dunn: where are you getting those numbers from? If about 300,000 adults are still not vaccinated, so essentially don’t believe that Covid is harmful, then how many of these are not taking the vaccine because of the govt’s response? The reality is that we don’t know how many are in the Nutty Professor club but based on previous marches, social media activity etc. it seems like a sizeable enough number.
@The Interloper (what/why): and for the trolls: no doesn’t prevent (never claimed it did) but does reduce the time that you are effectively able to transmit the virus by 66%, which slows the spread and hopefully stops the health system been overwhelmed.
@Colm O’ Shea: Not to rain on your parade here but the health service has been overrun here for decades at this time of the year and if 120 people in ICU out of a population of 5 million is going to overrun the health service then the problem isn’t peoples behaviour or beliefs it’s the health service or more pointedly the people running the health service
@Paul Keenan: and of course their teachers are also kids and when they go home to their families they’re all kids also, same with their friends’ families too.
@Rob Gale: Kids are generally asymptomatic when infected and as with any virus, the asymptomatic are not the problem spreaders.
Blaming kids/schools and demanding they wear masks is just another example of the scapegoating we love to indulge in. Makes us feel like we’re making a difference.
The current spread is due to worthless covid certs and the false security they provide.
@Rob Gale: And they are also vaccinated, for the love of God please think about how silly this is, the risk profile of covid is now completely different, do these teacher you are talking about only go to work?? Of course not, they are out with friends at the weekend where they are just as likely to pick it up
@Will: when 95 per cent adults were vax in ireland those certs should have went, a lot more people would step forward for the vax if certs dropped.. Just this week we had 60 people test positive of a flight to amsterdam.. All had certs, etc..
Pity they couldn’t or can’t follow their own advice. Golfgate Zappones bash the lost goes on. Destroying the will of the people. The mind boggles at times.
Perhaps I am reading this incorrectly, but doesn’t this mean that all the people that got vaccinated, based on one of the big selling points, so they could be issued a covid pass and enjoy the ability to travel on holidays without inconvenience, now have to get a test just like someone that is unvaccinated and doesn’t have a covid pass?
@David Van-Standen: The vaccinations were not brought in so people could travel, they are hear to stop people getting seriously ill form the virus.. The negative PCR test before entering a country has been here for a long time….
“Hi Gardai, yeh myself and my mates are having a mad house party and there seems to be a children’s birthday party going on across the street. You couldn’t come down and shut it down, good man”
So Donnelly was delighted to see the UK Gov exempt the common travel area for the UK’s flight restrictions a couple of days ago but then went ahead and now demand PCR tests for those coming from the Common Travel Area? Still happy for the economy to implode no matter what the cost.
@Zlim Jody: it’s a good thing that people coming from the UK need a test. Proof of negative test should have been a requirement all along no matter which country you were coming from.
@Sam Harms: They’ll just fly into Belfast and get the trains south… There should be checks on the trains or at stations and mandatory isolation if they don’t have a negative pcr test. Make an example of a few and set down a marker.
Fair play to the Irish Government once again battering the travel and aviation sector just as it starts to get back on it’s feet again. Back to square one again, hopefully it doesn’t last too long as many airlines are on their last legs as it is.
This would be a very sad move if they decide to recommend reducing children mingling with each other outside of school. Haven’t they, as well as others endured enough? NPHET obviously don’t give a flying you know what. If the new variant is not as bad as delta, albeit more transmissible, what will the reasoning have been for this? I am vaccinated and waiting for the booster jab, but why doesn’t NPHET and the Government stop treating us like fools? They should focus on measures for those who refuse to be vaccinated. Not punish those otherwise
@John Peeters: even with vaccines it’s recommended that people reduce contacts.
Which would be preferable, reducing contacts for children or having covid rampant in schools and kids missing even more education?
Kids don’t social distance and to expect them to is unrealistic.
Dont disagree about additional measures on the unvaxxed but everyone has their part to play
@Chris Martin: because in the context of this conversation, 10% of the population is taking up 60% of the icu resources.
Never said anything about not treating them but for some people they won’t take the vaccine due to laziness and if that population were made slightly uncomfortable then it might spur them to be socially responsible and get the vaccine.
Within a society people have rights and responsibilities
@Colm O’ Shea: kids don’t get ill from covid so why should they be restricted? Especially since nobody has an endgame in mind for this pandemic, which means everybody will be ‘playing their part’ forever. At least with a war, you fight until the enemy wins or surrenders. Covid is never going to surrender. There will never be zero covid, except in some isolated corners of the world like New Zealand, and then only temporarily. It’s here to stay.
Why is the headline about travel, and then waffles on about kid’s, is a pcr or antigen test needed when travelling from the UK. 90% of the article is about nothing to do with the headline.
@Ian O Hara: trying to find this out myself. Due to fly to Manchester tomorrow and back Friday. Want to know if i need to change my flight through Belfast or not. Joking before anyone loses their proverbial…
Weird that ignoring schools completely, not giving them protection, removing contact tracing and closing their eyes and saying “kids aren’t a part of this” didn’t work. Mad that it turns out kids are human too and covid is a virus that passes thru all humans. Still, a two year learning time is pretty good for our great government.
Demonising the kids again. Was standing in a queue at Covid test centre in the bitter cold with 5 year old child (symptomatic due to tonsillitis). The lady in front kept looking back at him as the long queue inched forward (he was maintaining distance and well-behaved) and shuffling away from us as if he had the plague! I thought everyone going into Covid test centre for PCR was a probable positive case. Ironically, while my child had been isolating at home for three days awaiting the test, she was laden down with bags from nearby Dundrum Town Centre. We can’t go back to this irrational fear of kids!
@Mike Quinlan: so you encountered one person at a test centre that behaved like a clown and you’ve arrived at the conclusion that we’re all in fear of kids? Get off the fkin stage..
Question. As someone who has recently recovered from Covid, and for global travel was told that a Certificate of Recovery was necessary as against a pcr, can anyone confirm if this us still the case, as pcr’s for recently recovered patients can show positive. There seems to be no mention of these in the reports….
@Aileen Byrne: can’t find any information regarding this. Due to travel next week, and was told to cancel my pcr that i had booked, which I did, and have the cert of recovery. Now, totally unclear…
@Liam Mycroft: I’m wondering will a ‘professional’ antigen test suffice. I think that an antigen test just shows active infection.. can’t find any information either. Gov.ie just seems to have avoided the area of international travel..
@Aileen Byrne: Thanks Aileen. God knows what will be happening by the time I’m coming back in January, but as it stands I have to get an antigen test done professionally, (in Argentina), and then hope my flights don’t get delayed, as my total travel time is 35 hours, including a 12 lay over in New York. Should be fun….
@Dwayne Jordan: why not open the night clubs during school hours and have the children go to classes there. Also they could ban pubs from selling booze until 4pm and use them as classrooms till then.
UK introduce restrictions earlier in the week – Leo welcomes the the fact that the CTA is excluded.
We should be reciprocating likewise or risk looking petty
The variant is almost certainly here already and AstraZeneca have said today that no reason to think that the vaccine inefective against the new variant
We have had 3 long lockdowns, 96% vaccination, cocooning/isolation, mandatory hotel and home isolation, travel restrictions, mask wearing, hand sanitation etc. My question is ‘what makes anyone think that doing the same again is going to end any different?’
ridiculous,,,mixing in classrooms with up to thirty other kids ,,then stay home and not mix,,,,
Close the pubs and nightclubs , it’s not the kids it’s the 20 to 30s that are the problem.
Demonising the kids again. Was standing in a queue at Covid test centre in the bitter cold with 5 year old child (symptomatic due to tonsillitis). The lady in front kept looking back at him as the long queue inched forward (he was maintaining distance and well-behaved) and shuffling away from us as if he had the plague! U though everyone going into Covid test centre for PCR was a probable positive case. Ironically, while my child had been isolating at home for three days awaiting the test, she was laden down with bags from nearby Dundrum Town Centre. We can’t go back to this irrational fear of kids!
So I’ve been planning to go to the UK to visit my son shortly firstly Simon Coveney welcomed the fact that no PCR was required to travel within the cta a few days ago. Now you need a PCR test on return to Ireland. So you’d actually need to try book a test before departure in the area your staying then waste part of your break queuing and getting a test and hope you get the results in time before you depart so that you can show them on arrival in Dublin. If you take an antigen test how are the results confirmed and do you have to book at test in advance also.
Demonising kids for this inept governments failings AGAIN!! Absolutely sickening.
The most recent data I can find online states that >18 year olds account for 72% of cases!!
Are this government aware that covid certs are being abused on a grand scale, and not even checked at all in many cases!!
Pubs are full, nightclubs are full, scenes from around the country last week of students having their Christmas jumper days, Aviva stadium at 37k attendance etc etc etc
And then there’s the adults who are awaiting covid results, or have already been told they are positive but are not isolating!!
But hey let’s go after the small kids who’s lives have been turned upside down by this. Most of the kids who started primary school over last 2 years have never known what ‘normal’ school life is like.
@molly Most of the kids who started primary school over last 2 years have never known what ‘normal’ school life is like.
I was talking to a woman whose kid is in junior class and she came home the other day saying that she didn’t know what her teacher looks like. That’s mental.
@John: Yes it’s absolutely insane. My eldest started Juniors in 2020. I never saw her classroom. No Christmas concert. No summer outings. Parents not allowed at sports days. No after school activities within the school. And contrary to that muppet Donnellys rubbish – no parties either. It’s actually incredibly sad.
The Government has reached a new low ( if that was possible) blaming the children due to their own incompetence. An absolute disgrace restricting young innocent children after all their sacrifices over the last 2 years. DISGUSTING. Mr Donnelly you are a absolute joke!! Cannot wait to see Mary Lous Government in the next election.
@Gina Clifford: I was with you until you brought in Mary Lou, who has been exceptionally quiet on the current restrictions on children. I cant believe the government are attempting to cancel childhood while all other cohorts can roam free for want of a better wording. Why cant they just give us advise on how to do things as safely as possible and leave it up to the individual.
@Gina Clifford: were did you see the word blame being mentioned.you have summised that in your own head.the government are trying to mitigate the risks without having to close the schools what would you have them do as of rite now.the numbers show there’s huge numbers of kids becoming infected so without closing schools this is a way of trying to reduce there mixing.yes they mix in school but would you not agree being in the classroom is essential for there development,missing playdates for a few weeks isn’t.as for Mary lou getting into power il believe it when I see it ,sinn fein promise the world without figures to back it up
@Sean Mccabe: Sean yes I do agree that children need to be at school it is essential for all areas of their development but the government’s approach to restricting what they can do outside of school is not the answer. There is already almost 2 years of their young lives restricted which they will never get back . Yes children are getting the virus but thankfully based on statistics not many are getting sick or ending up in hospital.
The Government at this stage have apportioned an element of blame on most cohorts of society at this stage re the spread of the virus, all the time deflecting away from the main issue here which is not the spread of the covid but the lack of ICU beds available this time every year covid or no covid.
@Sarah Lou: I agree Sarah with proper advice we should be able to make our own informed decision on whether it is safe or not and decide accordingly. Ar this stage with over 90 % vaccinated and some with boosters we should be able to do that.
@Sarah Lou: but adults have also been advised to limit contacts and work from home to decrease their chance of becoming infected. And they have given plenty of advice on how to be safe, people just choose to ignore it.
@Sam Harms: But Sam we are 4 weeks off 2 years of covid. If people wish to ignore the advise that is up to them. At this stage if people wish to have covid parties…. that is up to them. Much better than saying kids shouldnt have play dates or birthday parties, why not say if you are having a birthday party do a risk assessment of the invite list, look at venue options, is it possible to bring a smaller number to an outdoor venue rather than larger number to an indoor venue. Is it possible to keep the group to people you are already in daily contact with ie classmates, dont have vulnerable grandparents at the kids party, see the grandparents before the party not after. Wait x days before mixing with high risk people if you have been in a play centre, school, uncontrolled indoor environment. Why is it all or nothing, why do we have to be told what to do?? I dont understand it. People should 2 years in be able to make informed decisions and take educated risks. I also can not believe anyone is arguing that its ok to cancel childhood. Kids are kids once.
@Sarah Lou: it’s easy to say “it’s up them” when they aren’t the ones looking after people who end up in hospital. It’s also easy to say people should make informed decisions and take educated risks but the reality is that most people won’t do that. Nobody is cancelling childhood for god sake, we have all had to sacrifice things over the past two years.
@Sam Harms: Sam it is 3 weeks before the xmas holidays for kids and they have advised aside from in school they are not to see friends, attend festivities, pantos, christmas plays, parties … need I go on. That is cancelling childhood. What can they do? Go to school and go home. What about kids who are the only children in the house, do they just sit in the corner and wait for the government to give them permission to see their friends. Socialising is a huge part of child development. Social isolation is a huge issue for a developing child. Placing restrictions on children who are at very little risk of hospitalisation, severe illness and death, while simultaneously leaving nightclubs, pubs etc open is the singly most ridiculous thing I have heard to date…..”for gods sake” to quote yourself.
@Sarah Lou: last time I check advising people to reduce social contacts doesn’t mean they can’t see anyone at all. It means limit the amount of people you do see. Nothing is being forced it’s advice, it’s exactly the same as the advice for adults to limit their social contacts. If you want to bring your child to a panto then bring them nobody is going to stop you, the government are advising not to because of the increase in cases in younger children.
@Sam Harms: so you are advocating that I go against the advise and make decisions for myself…..while arguing my original comment that people need to make their own decisions…. interesting.
@Sarah Lou: not advocating that at all, I’m merely pointing out to you that what they have said is advice and so they aren’t “cancelling childhood” as you suggested, as you are still free to do what you want with your children.
To try and tell people that 9,10 and 11 year old are spreading Covid more than other kids just to suit their mask wearing agenda is absolutely bonkers. They really must think we came down in the last shower. I despair
Don;t they realize therer are a lot of residents here, whose family are not living in Ireland? My kids already missed last Xmas with the Grand parents, now what? I have to add my budget 200 eur for testing everyone back. I hope they get the sense of this, and leave Xmas alone for everyone
@Niamh Brady: is that not a bit presumptuous? Wait for the announcement I’d say. You could be right but then again it might not be applicable to the common travel area (the UK). You need the same to enter the UK from all other countries except Ireland. I expect that will go both ways.
@Eoin Jackson: the guy who supplied you that information is delighted to pass it on (based on the tone of earlier posts) fot what it’s worth I offer my commiserations
Whatever the argument for masking your kids up (really don’t see the problem, no different from making them wear a seatbelt in a car or plane, washing hands after going to the loo, brushing their teeth, putting on sunscreen to prevent burning and cancer, wearing a cycling helmet etc etc etc….be a bloody parent!), just please please make sure your kids get a decent well rounded education!
Because going by the large volume of eejits commenting on here it seems your kids will need every bit of help they need to break away from the absolute ignorance and idiocy they are experiencing from their parents!
An education from Facebook, YouTube and Telegram IS NOT AN EDUCATION, ITS FEAR BASED BRAINWASHING!
The government know we all forget very quickly, hence the change in policy on a regular basis.
If it was a case of doing what’s right (masks for all, distancing and sanitizer) we’d be back to bad habits withing a few weeks. So new directions every few weeks keeps us all on our toes.
Hold on, were we not required to have this anyway? FFS
Kids have to wear a mask in school someone can jump on a plane, without proof of being negative for COVID possibly infect all on the plane and then continue to spread it.
Over €13m spent by OPW on controversial Cork flood defence scheme before construction begins
Conor O'Carroll
6 hrs ago
vaping
Letter sent to retailers about new €800 licence fee to sell vaping products
33 mins ago
Courts
Three men jailed for 'cruel and depraved' rape of woman they encountered in Dublin nightclub
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say