You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Lestodd

Thousands of homes will be without power overnight thanks to Storm Desmond

The status red weather warning came into effect at 6pm.

Updated at 10.25pm

THOUSANDS OF HOMES in the West and Northwest are already without power this evening, as stormy weather sweeps in from the Atlantic.

ESB Networks said that at last count, around 2,400 homes were without power, and that some homes will remain without power overnight:

Met Éireann has issued a status red weather warning for Connacht, Donegal, Clare and Kerry, along with other warnings for several parts of the country. Authorities are advising the public to avoid nonessential travel in the affected areas.

The status red warning came into effect at 6pm and lasts until 3am on Sunday morning.

The worst hit areas are Kinsale in Cork with almost 1,300 homes without electricity and Clonakilty with almost 550, according to Powercheck.ie.

Other area affected are Athenry in Galway with over 200 homes without electricity.

There were also outages in counties Mayo, Kerry and Limerick and Donegal, as well as Meath.

Crews are already out working to reconnect customers, and ESB Networks is reminding people not to go near damaged or fallen cables.

map1 ESB Networks ESB Networks

Details on the latest service interruptions can be found here.

Read: Flights cancelled and forced to abort landings as Storm Desmond hits west coast >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:34 PM

In a perfect world; politicians would be voted in, make the changes they said they’d make and then get out for someone else to come in and do the same. As long as you have career politicians or the ability for people to have a career in politics, the people will suffer because the objective of the politician goes from making a change in the country to how can I keep this job for as long as possible.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:38 PM

It’s all very stale isn’t it. Same old same old. Unfortunately, nobody in politics floats my boat at the moment.

Enda bores me rigid & is so predictable. Ireland needs some excitement, however, she is not going to get it from today’s crop of politicians.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:39 PM

As a janitor

Mute Stephen Cullen
    Favourite Stephen Cullen
    Aug 5th 2015, 3:20 PM

and he will tell you he is a fresh thinker with new ideas…

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:34 PM

So enda is in the dail forty years and hasn’t done any teaching since 1975 , yet he will still get a lump sum of €100.000 and a €30.000 a yr pension for teaching. Then he will get all the pensions he has accumulated in those 40 years. What a great little country we are . no money for a lot of things but loads of money for all the pensions.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:00 PM

“When is Enda Kenny going to step down?” Let’s see what happens after Fennelly is published he may get the heave ho.

Aug 5th 2015, 5:45 PM

Stephen, He is hanging onto Merkel’s apron strings with his civil servants under his cloak like the Ghost of Christmas present?

Aug 5th 2015, 5:47 PM

What were they, ignorance and Want?

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:13 PM

its apity his style of governance is also from the 70′s
    tell them lies and if caught out set up a sham “inquiry”
    detest this type of treating an electorate, ps. Varadkar just talks and talks with nothing meaningful said, coveney nah, fitzgerald should retire

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Aug 5th 2015, 10:24 PM

It’s irrelevant when Kim Jong Kenny wants to go, Because he’ll will be out on his arse after the next election anyway

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Aug 6th 2015, 12:04 AM

John really where have you been I noticed this myself when I see Mr Noonan a prehistoric old person as minister of finance who has no connection with child care, food, energy bills, higher in Ireland than any where else in Europe at 2% standard variable rate mortgage, hospital , social venues for disabled . The man does not live in a world of young families / disabled / etc.. He is so far removed from life of other people he took economics and removed the social economic policies. The good news after the election is these old men Kenny, rabbit, Howlin, and idiot younger person Harris will be dumped by the majority of these families come the next election because people care about their living standards and families. Not the politicians who have left us all with the horrors of austerity.

Politics is about self not people of the country.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:24 PM

I hear if you look in the mirror and say the name ‘Enda Kenny’ 5 times, a man appears behind you with a pint in each hand.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:56 PM

Im sure the vast majority will show Mr Kehoe how much out of touch his party is with the people. would love to hear comments from Mayo just how embarrassing it is for the locals to watch that goons performance in the Dail.

Mute Cyril
    Favourite Cyril
    Aug 5th 2015, 3:12 PM

Love it @ For Connolly – Has to be comment of the week if there was such a thing LOL

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:30 PM

#For Connolly

That be Enda’s long lost cousin Bill, the flowerpot.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:37 PM

@ Wexford pikeman. I too would like to hear from people on Mayo, come on you mayo people let us know.

Mute Shauna Kelly
    Favourite Shauna Kelly
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:56 PM

I’m from Mayo, although I’m living in Dublin. Personally I’m more disgusted than embarrassed by Enda, he represents everything that is wrong with Ireland to me. I have actually kept my vote in the west, so I know come election day, it will be working against Enda returning to govern this country that I love. It’s a no from me!

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:37 PM

And that is all part of the problem. Enda Kenny is completely divorced from reality. He’s an utter imbecile.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Aug 5th 2015, 9:08 PM

No hes not, hes actually quite cute, he does exactly what hes told to do by the eu/imf and most of the irish electorate believe his bull. Even if we have had enough of enda by now we will still vote in another lying thief next time round who will be 99.99% identical to enda in terms of macro policies and actions. Ad infinitum. Its us the irish brainwashed electorate who are the imbiciles. Enda like the rest is just an opportunist, its not his fault we’re all naieve brain dead twits

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:25 PM

So basically the man has been sucking at the taxpayers’ teat like a greedy piglet since 1975.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:29 PM

After being elected there by said taxpayer.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:32 PM

Along with people who don’t pay tax too of course

Aug 5th 2015, 5:50 PM

Bestiality again?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:04 PM

Think you will find that’s politicians as a whole!
    All leeches on the working people!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:24 PM

The man’s delusional! Edna is on his way OUT!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:27 PM

kennys had to hire an ex YFGer as a PR guy for Mayo ,to the tune of 50 grand of taxpayers money, just so he mightn’t suffer the humiliation of being rejected by his own constituents despite being Taoiseach.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:39 PM

Jammin – Did you expect him to hire someone from you SR/IRA buddies?

See 75 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:43 PM

I expect him to stand before his constituents based solely on his performance in office. Is that too much to ask of the alleged leader of the country?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:49 PM

“I expect him to stand before his constituents based solely on his performance in office”

Yeah there’s as much hope of that happening, as there is one of these FG eejits making a comment without mentioning the IRA, it’ll never happen.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:49 PM

Sadly his constituents will judge him on parish pump politics rather than the national issues they elect TD’s to deal with

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:52 PM

@ wayne: keeping with that metaphor, hopefully his constituents consider enda the man who handed his buddy their taxes to fit a water meter to the parish pump.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:52 PM

Lets se how the electorate feel next year. They will be the arbitrators of that.

Great to see that you are now responding to both your names!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:05 PM

Not this rubbish again :-) Everyone knows that it’s only the cowardly FG supporters set up false accounts because they’ve been caught out so many times going it. What’s the name of your other account Powerabbey?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:14 PM

Poor ‘Reg’ got outed over the weekend. ‘Jane Black’ and ‘Doogle Knows’ oh and an obscure account called ‘Emmas wooden house’. All accounts attributed to one individual.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:28 PM

Les – Unlike you I have only one account. I though that one had to be a member of SF/IRA or AAA to be allowed to have multiple accounts??

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:29 PM

That’s somewhat surprising Norman, I always considered Reg the least childish one of the lot of them. There you go, you think you know random anonymous strangers on the interwebs???

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:33 PM

” I though that one had to be a member of SF/IRA or AAA to be allowed to have multiple accounts??”

Well seen as I have never been a member, supporter or voter of either party, how would I know? You on the other hand seem to know quiet a bit about it, it would seem.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

West Cork Lad, unveiled ‘Reg’. Poor auld ‘Reg’ posted a copy and paste comment with exactly the same spelling mistake under two different accounts.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly

@ les Here’s reg/doogle knows/jane black etc. being caught bang to rights using multiple accounts at the same time….

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/277170/hahaha-you-working-government-doing-4068086/

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:35 PM

Of course Jammin and For Connelly only ever had one account each??

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:39 PM

Right but what’s that got to do with me?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:40 PM

Seems you thought wrong Powerabbey, ; )

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:50 PM

So Reg trolls random young girls internet accounts and steals their pictures? That’s a bit creepy.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:02 PM

Norman – why?

Mute Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Favourite Tiffany Mary O'Brien
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:21 PM

I did find that thread hilarious where “Reg” was caught by his little b@lls – so funny !

Aug 5th 2015, 2:21 PM

Oops! Didn’t see you there ,”Powerabbey” -Poor pet!

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:32 PM

Is Baz still on his Caribbean cruise ?

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:50 PM

Tiffany – good that you can see – Keep taking the tablets!

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:57 PM

“Is Baz still on his Caribbean cruise ?”

I think bazs cruise was cancelled when the bloke who drives the Viking Splash Tours Boat rang in sick.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 3:02 PM

“Tiffany – good that you can see – Keep taking the tablets!”

You really are a child Powerabbey, are you not embarrassed about your immature behaviour?

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:05 PM

Les – do you read your own tripe? I will not be changing to suit you or Tiffany? I assume that you are both the same person. Troll on!

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:05 PM

Not a FG supporter but I belelieve FG will get back into power at next election simply because there is no real alternative, please don’t say FF or SF!!! All politicans “lie” to achieve power.

BTW I notice not ONE from any party on none has commented about the largest migration into Ireland since the Plantation of Ulster 300 years ago. ALL are scared shootless of the “R” yet they are tripping over oneanother in Arbour Hill honouring the men and women of 1916.

Another 100 years it will be a case of finding the “Paddy” in Ireland to honour them!!

Aug 5th 2015, 4:14 PM

I have only one account ,”Powerabbey” – poor pet!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:17 PM

Tiffany – difficult to understand. You both sound so alike – PET PET!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:21 PM

“Les – do you read your own tripe? I will not be changing to suit you or Tiffany? I assume that you are both the same person. Troll on!”

So I’m Tiffany now? does that mean I’m still Jammin/For Connolly too? Powerabbey why would I want you to change? you making an idiot of yourself every time you post suits me grand actually :-)

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:24 PM

Les / Tiffany – I assume from your commentary that everyone who disagrees with you is an idiot. You have a very narrow range of insult!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:30 PM

No Powerabbey, I’m actually you and I’m holding a conversion with myself on the comments sections of an internet news website.

Aug 5th 2015, 4:32 PM

Les please log off now as it’s my turn

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:37 PM

Look Tiffany the agreement was Mon-Fri 12 – 7 ,I can only argue with one of my imaginary multiple accounts at a time. Well talk about this later.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:37 PM

Led / Tiffany – see you are now talking to yourself! First sign!

Aug 5th 2015, 4:41 PM

Apologies ,Les !

First sign of what ,Powerabbey?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:42 PM

“No Powerabbey, I’m actually you and I’m holding a conversion with myself on the comments sections of an internet news website.”

“Led / Tiffany – see you are now talking to yourself! First sign!”

Go you, being able to repeat what I just said in a slightly different way. I make myself proud sometimes ;-)

Aug 5th 2015, 4:46 PM

I cannot wait until myself and myself (Les) have a barney on another thread -it will do your nut in ;)

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:51 PM

You forget Were Jammin/For Connolly. Apparently we are him too?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:54 PM

Hang on, if you’re me, who the hell am I??

Am I this Barney fella that Tiffanys going to have?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:59 PM

Baz’s idea of a holiday is switching troll accounts for a few weeks to post Normal civilised comments. He was sick of red thumbs

Aug 5th 2015, 5:03 PM

If anyone is going to be Barney ,Les – it will be me

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:05 PM

The poor things are getting so confused lately switching accounts , they can’t remember who they are. They are even recycling pictures as well.

Aug 5th 2015, 5:05 PM

Oops! Typo! meant for For Connolly .

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:06 PM

“Hang on, if you’re me, who the hell am I??
    Am I this Barney fella that Tiffanys going to have?”

You’re you but you’re also me and I’m Tiffany, which makes you Tiffany and I’m also Powerabbey, which makes Tiffany you,Powerabbey Tiffany and you and me or should I say me and I, and Barney is a big purple dinosaur whose actually real but not known to post her that often.

See simples!

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:08 PM

Baz has been very quite -there must be no wiffy where he is staying ..

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:11 PM

“Oops! Typo! meant for For Connolly .”

Yer grand. Apparently we’re the same person anyway, which is ironic because I consider myself a lesbian caught in a mans body.

“You’re you but you’re also me and I’m Tiffany, which makes you Tiffany and I’m also Powerabbey, which makes Tiffany you,Powerabbey Tiffany and you and me or should I say me and I, and Barney is a big purple dinosaur whose actually real but not known to post her that often. ”

Thanks for clearing that up Les. If anybody needs me I’ll be lying down.

Now if I could just take off this Barney costume….

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:12 PM

Lol. That’s a good one. They must be all busy out following people around supermarket’s to see what people put into their trollies. Looking through peoples windows to see what their eating. So they can report back .

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:18 PM

“Yer grand. Apparently we’re the same person anyway, which is ironic because I consider myself a lesbian caught in a mans body.”

That’s weird, I once thought I was a lesbian caught in Connemara, then found out I had just gone a bit mad that day but then you already knew that, because as you are me, and I am and Tiffany is…..

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:20 PM

Have I told anyone of ye’s about my property tax yarn?

Don’t want to bore ye lads but – Once upon a time ……

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:21 PM

Tiffany is actually me

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:22 PM

That was a lovely yarn ,Thomas ! I remember it well ..!

BTW – You are me too..

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:23 PM

In my best Barney singing voice “I am you, you are me, we’re a girl called Tiff-a-nee….”

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:28 PM

Fair play Thomas, that was a great yarn we just shared. I always said we were a great storyteller.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

Is anybody me? Feeling left out

Aug 5th 2015, 5:36 PM

Thanks Les :) Means a lot to me :)

Aug 5th 2015, 5:37 PM

Oops! Done it again! Typo!

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:39 PM

Thanks ,Les :) Means a lot to me :)

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:41 PM

I am laughing out loud at Powerabbey and all of his accounts – lol

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:01 PM

Reg is busy commenting on the Death Road article.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:06 PM

“Reg is busy commenting on the Death Road article.”

Oh you are evil, I like it ;-)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:10 PM

Just thought of ye would like to say hi to him, he has laid low since the weekend.

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:00 PM

I’m not Reg you guys. This has to stop.

What about Reg- has anyone hear of him?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:06 PM

Leo, is that you, in drag?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:08 PM

That Powerabbey is a w*nker.

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:12 PM

Affray behind keyboards. Almost like bully any non Shinners out. Like reality i suppose.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:18 PM

You’re absolutely right Reg/Jane Black /Doogle Knows , you could say that it’s “redicilous”

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:19 PM

@powerabbey. At least have the decency to know when you’ve been rumbled ya clown. What name will you be using tomorrow?

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:27 PM

Oh Les ya rascal. I am right- it’s a handsome looking gang of bullies with Mr. Bean leading.

Not Reg.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:48 PM

Oh Reg like Fergal just said “at least have the decency to know when you’ve been rumbled”. You’re fooling no one, just embarrassing yourself now!

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 9:00 PM

Embarrass yourself- amoung journal commentators now that would be talent.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Aug 5th 2015, 9:50 PM

It was a classic copying + pasting “redicilous” .Jane .

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 6th 2015, 12:07 AM

My my – I seem to have touched a nerve with the multiple account owners. They seem afraid that the normal contributors on this site might try to express views that are different to the left biased cults.

When you get Oggie, Jammin, Tiffany and Les acting as one voice you know that you have hit the mark.

Night night boys and girls!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Aug 6th 2015, 12:54 AM

“A paranoid delusion is the fixed, false belief that one is being harmed or persecuted by a particular person or group of people. Paranoid delusions are known technically as a “persecutory delusion.”

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Aug 6th 2015, 8:29 AM

“My my – I seem to have touched a nerve with the multiple account owners. They seem afraid that the normal contributors on this site might try to express views that are different to the left biased cults.
    When you get Powerabbey, Jammin, Tiffany and Les acting as one voice you know that you have hit the mark.
    Good morning boys and girls!!

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Aug 6th 2015, 3:14 PM

Good afternoon Les – I’m sorry I didn’t realise that you suffered from Paranoid Delusions. I should have notice from your postings!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 6th 2015, 3:19 PM

* noticed btw moron i’don’t think you’re ‘Jane’ that was to the multiple account holding fool ‘Reg’.

Mute Maireben
    Favourite Maireben
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:38 PM

Get EVERYONE to vote in this country. We need to get rid of this embarrasing Government once and for all. Thank Heavens for Independents. Without them we would have more of the lies, cronyism, nepotism and corruption. Kenny is a delusional prat. He is an embarrasment to us all. Banish him to the wilds of Mayo never to be seen or heard from again. We cannot be inflicted with any more of these numpties.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:44 PM

Independents are well capable of doing all those bad things too.

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:25 PM

Yea the Healy reas were and are a beacon of light!!!!

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:32 PM

Don’t let the numpty teach. Imagine how warped kids would be if Enda was their teacher. Banish him to the Blasket Islands forever!!!!

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:10 PM

Speaking as a Wexford voter, I think Kehoe might do better to concern himself with his own future in the Dail.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Aug 5th 2015, 3:40 PM

800 first preference votes, scraped in on the final count, hasn’t been seen in wexford since. But he counted the votes after the Bruton heave and viola, Enda inexplicably makes him the Government whip. He’s a throwback in so many ways.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:40 PM

What exactly do people expect Kehoe to say? Even Joan is saying Labour will be back in government.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:23 PM

couldn’t think of more nightmare-ish scenario

Aug 5th 2015, 5:48 PM

In the year 2525…

Aug 5th 2015, 12:26 PM

30 plus years in the Dail and nothing to show for it except a very large pension…..

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:20 PM

Any word on the Fennelly report ?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:45 PM

Jeeeez Paul Mac. you don’t expect that to come out now and spoil their holidays.

Mute Lynchers
    Favourite Lynchers
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:15 PM

If Ant and Dec were born after Enda went into the Dail, then isn’t he already in the Dail longer than they are alive?

Mute Pádraig Caoimhín
    Favourite Pádraig Caoimhín
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:26 PM

Correct, him being there longer won’t change when he started.
    He is actually a TD since 12th Nov 1975 – before Ant was born (18th Nov) but after Dec (25th Sept) so the whole headline is nonsense.
    Would ‘Paul Kehoe thinks government will be re-elected’ not have done?

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:54 PM

Jeeeeez he is more delusional than I thought.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:51 PM

I foresee a heave shortly before or after the next GE. I predict the Fennelly report will be the catalyst!

Aug 5th 2015, 11:05 PM

Your expecting the Fennelly report to be released?

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Aug 5th 2015, 12:26 PM

Good God NO

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:26 PM

“If Paul Kehoe’s right, Enda Kenny will be in the Dáil as long as Ant n’ Dec have been alive”

I fear that poor Ant and Dec’s lives might now be in danger.

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Aug 5th 2015, 1:21 PM

Is there many TD’s like Paul that have two constituency offices?

Aug 5th 2015, 2:57 PM

Paul Kehoe you brown noser, surely you cant be that thick as to believe this rubbish? Nice haircut by the way!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:19 PM

Just look at the latest polls. There is not a hope of FG being re-elected. They NEVER, EVER have, not in their entire history. We may be stupid at times by electing incompetents, but, to be fair, we have NEVER, EVER re-elected FG. Al young people should take note of this and not waste their valuable vote by mistake. Tell your friends.

Mute Cyril
    Favourite Cyril
    Aug 5th 2015, 3:20 PM

It has to be all the SM he is playing with Mistress Angela and Screaming Joan. Lay off the canning Dame Inda its affecting your brain. Maybe he has not heard that Dimmy Dooley of FF will be the next Taoiseach !!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Aug 5th 2015, 2:59 PM

I’ll have whatever he’s smokin’ (Unless the Irish have learned nothing and vote em back in)

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:17 PM

FFS don’t let that gobsh!te back into power he has done enough damage

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:01 PM

Kehoe in trouble in Wexford :-)

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:34 PM

Enda thinks he’s Peter pan he has an ego as big as the mount Everest, someone in FG will have to push him, he wants to continue till 2021, he is so modest. Hahahahahaha.

Mute Terry Cunningham
    Favourite Terry Cunningham
    Aug 5th 2015, 4:59 PM

Thats a long time to be at nothing!!

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:01 PM

another deluded moron just like joan and enda parasites the lot of them

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:51 PM

Be nice if kenny just stepped down and admitted defeat as kenny is only in politics for kenny and close company

The good of the irish people I believe aren’t even in his thoughts, he’s not a leader but more a bully with his tactics/policies

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:43 PM

Agree with you Brendan, his day will come, just like Hitler’s did.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:36 PM

Kehoe you wouldn’t find a more dedicated buleey If u tried. SS

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:03 PM

Today would be great .. Go on enda the liar . Step down do the country a favour

Mute Cynical Samwidge
    Favourite Cynical Samwidge
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:15 PM

To step down you’d have to step up first…this joker didn’t!

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:00 PM

Are they for real. What a clown. Hard to make a constructive comment without sounding obnoxious. will stick with the first two sentences.

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:54 PM

In your Dreams Great Leader…

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 5th 2015, 5:44 PM

Just listening to the news about Enda thinking he will be in in 2021. The little man has a big EGO me thinks.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:33 PM

Whenever Paul Kehoe thinks End a will be stepping down Paul himself may be stepping down himself very shortly

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:13 PM

@ Shauna thank you for being the only person in Mayo being honest, but mr kenny needs to be stopped sooner than later, thanks for your honesty.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:05 PM

I wonder has Kenny cleared it with Varadkar & Coveney !.

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    Aug 5th 2015, 9:57 PM

The only way that Kenny clown will get back into office would be a vote rig. Paul Kehoe has spin doctors and advisors filing his little head with these Dr Goebels type statements.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:47 PM

Git a bit excited with the headline. Thought he was moving on :(

Aug 5th 2015, 5:43 PM

He be there until the “3 days of Darkness” comes?

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:16 PM

Never. He’ll have to be thrown out with the dish water

Aug 5th 2015, 5:57 PM

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-3185261/Is-universe-FAKE-Physicists-claim-playthings-advanced-civilisation.html
    Don’t worry, this government can’t exist, it is a mass nightmare… Enda Kreuger doesn’t exist lol.
    Just tell him to f… off and see how that works lol.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:41 PM

Please spare us

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:53 PM

Today would not be soon enough…..seriously though is side line to any bad news out there do deflect from the government…same every year, not a day will pass without some nonsense being published during dail break

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Aug 5th 2015, 9:06 PM

Am I the only one who wishes Paul Kehoe would shave his head? It’s not a comb over, it’s not bald… What is it?

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Aug 5th 2015, 7:44 PM

Ok today is April 1st – isn’t it

Aug 5th 2015, 8:03 PM

Sadly not…

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 6:43 PM

Fastest growing economy in Europe.

Aug 5th 2015, 8:04 PM

Fastest growing economy in a stagnant Europe?

Mute Jane Black
    Favourite Jane Black
    Aug 5th 2015, 8:13 PM

Well when you say it like that it doesn’t sound so good :)

Mute Anthony Kelly
    Favourite Anthony Kelly
    Aug 6th 2015, 1:01 AM

Simple question to which the simple answer is – not soon enough!