You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Brewing up a storm? War of words between UK and Irish forecasters over naming of 'Fionn'

A storm? Channel 4′s weatherman reckoned it was tantamount to “naming raindrops”.

MET ÉIREANN’S EVELYN Cusack has responded to criticism of the Irish weather service from a UK broadcaster who insisted Storm Fionn should never have been given a name.

Liam Dutton of Channel 4 News, a UK Met Office trained meteorologist, took to Twitter on Tuesday to take the Irish service to task over its decision christen the storm.

#StormFionn that has been named by @MetEireann shouldn’t have been named,” Dutton contended, claiming it didn’t meet the required criteria.

It needs no more than a standard weather warning. It’s not even a low pressure with a storm centre, just a squeeze in the isobars. What next? Naming raindrops? It’s ridiculous!

The UK Met Office had earlier tweeted that the storm had been named by Met Éireann, adding:

… impacts are currently expected to be below warning limits in the UK.

Joint project 

The Irish and UK weather services announced the joint storm-naming project in 2014 following a winter that saw a number of unofficially named storms – like ‘Darwin’ – make headlines.

“I can see his point in the sense that is wasn’t a traditional swirling vortex storm,” Cusack told Newstalk Breakfast today.

red 96_90526682 Evelyn: "We treasure all of our citizens equally" Sam Boal Sam Boal

The forecaster added:

“We treasure all our citizens equally and we issued those warnings because of very high seas and very dangerous conditions in the south-west and west of ireland.

Recently there’s been some tragic deaths involving people swept off rocks and cliffs in very poor conditions.

Cusack observed:

I’m sure he didn’t imply any deep criticism of the Met Éireann meteorologists.

Dutton was back on Twitter today, sticking to his guns:

l1 Liam Dutton / Twitter Liam Dutton / Twitter / Twitter

Stirring things up a little, the UK Met Office then chimed in with the following:

met1

BBC’s Jen Bartram also had a view:

bbc

Prompting the following from Dutton, back at Channel 4:

storm

There is, it’s worth pointing out, a European forecasting group that coordinates this sort of thing – it’s called the WGCEF Task Team on Storm Naming and you can find out more about it here. Evelyn Cusack is the current chair of the organisation.

Further reading: How did poor old Charles Darwin get dragged into the nation’s storm coverage? >

From this morning: Trees and roof blown away as snow-ice warning issued for 4 northern counties >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

77 Comments
    ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:31 PM

To be honest he’s right met eireann have gone crazy with weather warnings and naming every bit of wind as a storm. There forecasts aren’t even accurate for the NW

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:33 PM

@ed w: ever since yer one in Salthill became a ‘star’ they all want to get into the act

Mute William Bright
    Favourite William Bright
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:33 PM

@ed w: It is all designed to whip up fear and anxiety among the populace. It’s a clever ploy by the enviro-extremists.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:02 PM

@William Bright: eh?

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:12 PM

@ed w: he’s entirely right. Far from protecting people they’re hyperbole is already resulting in people completely ignoring forecasts. People will needlessly venture out in dangerous conditions that would otherwise heed warnings that are generally credible, unlike the rubbish met Eireann produce

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:13 PM

@Al Coholic: their not they’re

Mute William Bright
    Favourite William Bright
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:26 PM

@Róisín Daly: think about it, more people will be likely to recall “Storm Fionn last January” as opposed the reality which is “that strong bitta wind we had that Tuesday last January”. This feeds into the “climate change” hysteria and scaremongering being utilised by enviro-extremists.

Mute William Bright
    Favourite William Bright
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:27 PM

@Sandra O’Fucáif: it’s ok to be odd when you are also correct. Odd & Correct is good.

Mute Dublin_Den
    Favourite Dublin_Den
    Jan 18th 2018, 4:20 PM

@William Bright: not another one of your ridiculous troll comments. Put your tinfoil hat back on.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Jan 18th 2018, 4:21 PM

@ed w: It makes it very hard to know if action is needed.

There’s also a problem with calling out warnings for big, west coast counties. Tuesday’s winds were given an orange warning for Cork, but that was largely based on the wind speeds in Beara and Mizen. In the city, it may have warranted a Yellow, while in North Cork, there was probably no need for a warning.

The same can be said for Kerry, Mayo and Galway, where severe weather next to the Atlantic can sometimes just be a bit breezy in the east of the counties.

Mute Hugh Jelmmett
    Favourite Hugh Jelmmett
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:27 PM

@JimmyMc: who? Herself with the “banjo- cleaner” gob??

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Jan 18th 2018, 6:10 PM

@Al Coholic: yeah lads im sure the tree my wife drove into on the killcullen road last night going to work was scare mongering. Must have been an evil ploy by metErin running around pushing over bins and felling trees

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 7:01 PM

@ChuckE: hundreds of thousands or more of road trips and a tree blows down..quick run for the bunker.

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:34 PM

@ed w: no he’s wrong it was very windy I’ve seen less be named storms… He’s an idiot

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Jan 18th 2018, 11:00 PM

@William Bright: if you live in the west of lreland if might have been a bit worse than on than on the east side of lreland? No? Sandra is right you come up with whoppers.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:36 PM

Nobody…nobody disses Met Eireann except us. It’s OUR Met Eireann.

Mute Jack McGuire
    Favourite Jack McGuire
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:38 PM

I remember when the Irish met office predicted a storm in the UK some years ago, the UK met office never seen it coming and many of their citizens were seriously injured, but I’m sure that never made the news over there, selective.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:52 PM

@Jack McGuire: little britain

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:58 PM

@Jack. I was here when the 87 storm was building and told to get back to the UK. Drove all day and got back there and nobody knew anything about it. Then there was the Michael Fish forecast. Then my house got blown to bits. It seems the met here were on the case.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: tail-end of Hurricane Charlie, 3 million trees downed in Britain

Mute Larry Kavanagh
    Favourite Larry Kavanagh
    Jan 19th 2018, 1:30 AM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Remember the Fastnet disaster, MetEireann forecast that correctly too but unfortunately the crews of the boats were tuned into the BBC.

phil
    Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:46 PM

Looking at it logically Fionn had potential to do damage but it didn’t. They where tracking a Georgina for the past few days and that’s what hit last night. Two completely different fronts.

Thisw ould have being Georgina didn’t power up as expected until it crossed the UK. It now has red alerts in much of mainland Europe leaving people dead in Holland.

Met Eireann have done a brilliant job this winter. A few tweaks to the warning system have being made, most notably instead of issuing countywide warnings they are saying West Cavan or North Monaghan which we have seen today.

I live in Virginia, I prepare for warnings both for Cavan and Meath as weather does not recognise boundaries.

Just because the forecasted weather does not come at your back door does not mean warnings are pointless. During Ophelia 4 trees fell on the N3. Between 2-4 in the afternoon when the road is mental busy with school children being picked up…. Then you had people moaning about the red warning….

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:46 PM

@phil: actually the storm that passed through last night was really bad in the Dublin Area with wind gusts in excess of 50 kts recorded at both Dublin Airport and Casement – and there was flight disruption at Dublin Airport – around 1am it was as noisy as Ophelia outdoors – and I am 110% in agreement with the weather warning and Met Eireann,…. just because someone’s trampoline was not blown away this time does not mean that lives were not saved by the warnings… whether is be on inland waterways or at sea or with flood preparations closing barn doors or slippy and icy roads – the warning are really useful even if the storm naming is not to everyone’s liking it does add a focus point

The real issue is that trying to measure the affects of the warning is more or less impossible as the success is based on nothing bad happening…. the real success is in fact that people are moaning that “nothing happened”.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:51 PM

Met Éireann got it RIGHT!!
    The wind and rain caused Havoc in parts of Kerry- the virtual rivers flowing across the road where I live were worse than I’ve seen before and gusty winds made it very hazardous- on the approach to Castlemaine on a straight part of road a 4ft wide and deep pothole appeared, it was the worst I’ve ever seen and if you hit it your wheels and rims would be sugared!
    I reported immediately to the Gardai & they in turn were reporting to the Council!

Again thankyou to Met Éireann for the warning, they got it smack on and the UK are talking Tosh!

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:17 PM

@David Grey: I live in Killarney..didn’t notice anything other than typical sh*te weather

Mute Cathal Flood
    Favourite Cathal Flood
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:15 PM

@David Grey: i agree, very bad in kerry

Mute Julian Dowling
    Favourite Julian Dowling
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:33 PM

@Al Coholic: Put the drink down alcoholic and you’ll start to notice things going wrong around you.

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:39 PM

@Julian Dowling: lol

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:40 PM

@Julian Dowling: according to Twitter you are in San Diego?

Mute Julian Dowling
    Favourite Julian Dowling
    Jan 18th 2018, 11:22 PM

@Al Coholic: Good job detective lol

WJH
    Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:53 PM

I think the English guy was just pi**ed off because he couldn’t pronounce ‘Fionn’ properly….

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:41 PM

@WJH: Anyone that can pronounce “Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch” is okay in my book.

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:45 PM
    Mute William Bright
    Favourite William Bright
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:32 PM

Climate alarmists would have every minor or major weather pattern named as it feeds into their new model of environmental scaremongering.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:31 PM

@William Bright: once would have been enough. Still being a pain.

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:39 PM

@William Bright: troll

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:43 PM

@William Bright:

I agree willie……makes me a pain too, i guess.

Mute Mark Browne
    Favourite Mark Browne
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:37 PM

As a resident of West Cork very close to the coast, we experienced a storm of very high and loud winds and persistent rain. Not as bad as a hurricane but a damned windy event that seemed like a storm.

Mute Havana na na na
    Favourite Havana na na na
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:08 PM

@Mark Browne: been pretty wild lately..

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:54 PM

Sour grapes – the UK should be counting it’s lucky stars if we took the brunt of the storm for them and they were less affected.

Also when you read the UK and Irish definition we use empirical measurable values and the UK use ancient pre-history estimations on whether tress will fall and stuff…

So if the speed or gusts were within the range then Met Eireann are 100% justified in naming the storm and the UK Met Office … words fail me except remember Michael Fish

Extract from Wikipedia

Met Éireann names any storm which triggers a status Orange or Red weather warning focusing on wind, The basis for such as outlined on their weather warning service are mean wind speeds in excess of 40 mph (65 km/h) or gusts over 68 mph (110 km/h).

The UK Met Office name storms that have the potential to cause medium (Amber) or high (Red) impacts to the UK. It describes the wind strength relative to observations such as “falling trees or tiles and other items like garden furniture being blown around and even a number of properties left without electrical power.”

Mute Larry Kavanagh
    Favourite Larry Kavanagh
    Jan 19th 2018, 1:40 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Would it not be considered somewhat pointless for the UK Met Office to predict weather based on observation of damage already being caused, that’s not a forecast but merely an observation of the conditions during or after the event. A forecast should warn of the probability or potential for an impending event rather than a summary afterwards, the clue is in the word “fore”cast.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jan 19th 2018, 3:19 AM

@Larry Kavanagh: not sure I get the point – both services forecast weather including wind….. according to Wikipedia the Irish criteria for naming a storm is when the forecasts indicate specific wind speeds or gusts….. the UK criteria for naming a storm is based on the potential damage that the forecast winds could cause….. the problem is that if a storm does have gusts over 110 Km/h but does not actually blow over any tree or cause any damage then the Irish criteria for naming a storm has been met but the UK one has not….

Storms are named in advance when the forecast meets certain criteria – maybe this was not clear in what I wrote or in the extract from Wikipedia – there is no suggestion of naming storms after an event based upon damage – but the UK name storms on their forecast potential to cause damage and they would not have named this one – one of the forecaster thinks

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly

Fight fight fight

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:38 PM

There’s nothing more dangerous than an angry meteorologist. They’re ruthless.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:17 PM

So this is about who names a storm first, the British can get their nose out of joint because they think the world revolves around them?

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:59 PM

Stopped reading at ‘took to Twitter ‘.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

No need to batten down the hatches, it will soon blow over.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:40 PM

…in a teacup.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Jan 18th 2018, 11:13 PM

Met Éireann is a first rate weather service led and staffed by world class physicists and meteorologists of whom Evelyn Cusack is an excellent example. Her forecasts go far beyond the call of duty, often out to eight days, and with a great deal of scientific explanation as well. Well done Met Éireann, worth every euro of public money, and a great public service.

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:10 PM

Sharing storm names with the Brits was always going to be a bad idea. They are too arrogant for something like that..

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:18 PM

@munsterman: Brexit shows how arrogant some of them really are?

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:29 PM

We need to be careful, this whole situation could set Anglo-Irish relations back 100′s of years.

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:36 PM

I was in shock last night.storm Fionn tossed my hair.

Mute Donall Mac An Bheatha
    Favourite Donall Mac An Bheatha
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:04 PM

Just watched Channel 4 news. U.K. got bettered in the (Fionn) Storm last night. Red faces all around…

Mute Yvonne Gavican
    Favourite Yvonne Gavican
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:10 PM

All these names and different colour warnings is going to cause problems down the line in my opinion.
    I’m already starting to taking each warning as an exaggeration. It’s only a matter of time before we all start to take them less seriously. Already people are here saying ‘another yellow, another orange…’
    Boy who cried wolf scenario on the horizon.

Mute Dead Mousche
    Favourite Dead Mousche
    Jan 18th 2018, 2:42 PM

Gael Force Freddy’s gonna blow yer bins over this weekend. Be warned.

Mute Pat corr
    Favourite Pat corr
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:35 PM

Name the next one storm Bayeux,that’ll cheer em up.

Mute James Grant
    Favourite James Grant
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:35 PM

Whats worse is the fact if met eireann hadnt named it and not warned people and someone died the usual hysteria of not been warned would be applied so its a if you and if ya dont situation

Mute Alan O'Melia
    Favourite Alan O'Melia
    Jan 18th 2018, 5:42 PM

We had stormy weather here in Ireland so who gives a crap what Liam Dutton says or said.

Mute Xylophobiac
    Favourite Xylophobiac
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:00 PM

It’s all a storm in a tea cup.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin

Fear, fear, fear and it’s all our fault that the planet is f***ed. Shame and guilt is the order of the day and it’s replacing organised religion as a mechanism of control.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:16 PM

@Derek Durkin: no Derek it’s a storm which we had a few this winter in all fairness but if you want to be in denial about how far up poop creek we (collectively as in world population) are about acidification of the sea, melting ice caps never mind more frequent storms/ flooding drought etc. Things need to change how we spend our money how government spend our money. Look up how bees are fairing if we lose them we are up that creek…..

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:20 PM

@Derek Durkin: When you dissolve CO2 with water, it becomes carbonic acid. The acidity of the sea has increased by 30% since 1980, which is detrimental to coral reefs and other marine life. The cause of the increase is because the oceans attempt to absorb 30-40% of atmospheric CO2. It’s the Earth’s attempt to self regulate the 40 billion tonnes of CO2 we humans pump into the atmosphere each year (and rising). But what we thought was a limitless resource, is now becoming saturated. We should be concerned and ashamed. Or do you want to wait until you witness the sea actually fizzing before you accept the evidence? https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ocean_acidification

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:50 PM

@Paraic McDonagh: The ph of the oceans ranges between 7.5 and 8.1 at present…It was not 30% lower in 1980….

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:58 PM

@John003: It was a typo. Was supposed to say 1880.

Mute Damian Clarke
    Favourite Damian Clarke
    Jan 18th 2018, 7:12 PM

Remember that scene in Anchorman…they should all get together and have a scrap

Mute Nora Heron
    Favourite Nora Heron
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:08 PM

Storm in a teacup

Mute Nicholas Kelly
    Favourite Nicholas Kelly
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:48 PM
    Mute Trev Gilmore
    Favourite Trev Gilmore
    Jan 18th 2018, 3:08 PM

Eddie Hern should get involved

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:29 PM

Yeah rte and meteorological service are sometimes a bit over the top and a bit too precious at times. Sometimes they get in a stew and nothing happens and other times didn’t see it coming. It’s not the easiest though on the West of Europe. But giving too many warnings diminish their effect….

Mute gerard buckley
    Favourite gerard buckley
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:29 PM

I saw bigger blow ups between Sir Alex and Wenger

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Jan 19th 2018, 2:52 AM

Well done Met Eireann. Just keep giving them storms Irish names, that’ll really piss them off!

Mute Brendan McLaughlin
    Favourite Brendan McLaughlin

Stupid weather.

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Jan 19th 2018, 5:38 AM

The thing about weather is its unpredictable.Its an educated guess.But if there is a possibility of weather causeing harm we should be forewarned.And to the ignorant weather and climate are distinctly different….look it up.And the media should not headline and sensationalize a possible storm.But report it in a factual manor.