Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'When there is somewhere safe for people to go and inject they will use it - I will use it'

Ireland’s first supervised injection centre could be up and running by the end of 2017.

All rights reserved. Peter Varga Peter Varga

If supervised injecting facilities had been open sooner, my health would not be as bad as it is now, many of my friends might still be alive and maybe we’d all be off of drugs too?
Who knows, but I know I wish it wasn’t like this – we need help.

This is the voice of Aidan, an Ana Liffey Drug Project service user. He’s been using drugs since he was a child. Now, he’s in his mid-30s, and he believes supervised injection facilities (SIFs) could help him turn his life around.

“I think that when there is somewhere safe for people to go and inject they will use it – I will use it.

It can’t open soon enough.

To raise awareness of the importance of supervised injection facilities (SIF), the Ana Liffey Drug Project is teaming up with Humans of Dublin to document the lives of drug addicts through photographs and their experiences.

There has been some opposition from some businesses and residents who fear it would be detrimental to an area if these centres were to open up there.

Humans of Dublin, a photography project which shares everyday people’s stories and photographs, will be speaking to those affected by drug use in an effort to ‘break down barriers’ between the public and drug users.

Some of these people include Brigid who lost her daughter to addiction twelve years ago, and JM who works with addicts on the front line everyday.

All these people have one thing in common: the belief that the introduction of supervised injecting facilities will benefit not just drug users, but local businesses and other members of the public.

According to Aidan:

“I know a lot of people who inject around the streets of Dublin’s city centre. We are all at risk each and every day. Injecting yourself in an alleyway is degrading and people will come inside, but where can we go right now? Nobody is allowed to take us in.”

All rights reserved. Peter Varga Peter Varga

Why are they effective?

SIFs reduce the harm associated with injecting drug use. They are supervised spaces where people can inject drugs in a clean and hygienic setting off the street. They also allow volunteers to reach out and offer further support to those suffering from serious drug addiction.

SIFs are a widely recognised response to injecting drug use, and are successfully employed in a number of countries, including Switzerland, Germany, Spain, the Netherlands, Australia and Canada.

There are at least 3,000 injecting drug users in Dublin with about 400 openly injecting in the city each month.

Humans of Dublin

Peter Varga, the photographer behind Humans of Dublin, said he’s delighted to get involved.

Working with Humans of Dublin, I see every day that people are losing basic human connections. We tend to create barriers between us and them to protect ourselves, thinking that this will never happen to us.

“Many people have little empathy for drug users because they use illegal substances in the first place. People believe that if drug users really wanted to, they could just simply stop taking drugs. Such attitudes show how little we understand about the nature of addiction.”

All rights reserved. Tony Duffin. Peter Varga Peter Varga

Tony Duffin, director of the Ana Liffey Drug Project agreed, saying that people who use drugs are stigmatised and exposed to life threatening risks on a daily basis.

“Injecting is the most risky way of taking drugs. Injecting drugs in public increases those risks. People who inject drugs in the public domain do so in a hurried manner – often amongst filth and human excrement.

People who do this are like you and me, but something in their lives has crushed them.

“The many people that I have met who do this – they don’t want to be injecting in public. The shame they feel is palpable and it inhibits them from making positive changes. The health consequences they suffer are significant.”

He says that he hopes this campaign will help people connect with the human stories behind the problem of public injecting.

“Of course, public injecting impacts on everyone negatively, not just drug users. It’s not good for drug users, for the general public, for business, for anyone. The delivery of Supervised Injecting Facilities in Dublin City Centre will reduce the need to inject in public and improve the situation for us all.”

You can read more about Aidan’s story on the Humans of Dublin website here.

Read: How would a Dublin drug injecting room operate? We spoke to the boss of the Sydney centre

Read: Almost one in five road death victims in 2013 tested positive for illegal drugs

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Nov 22nd 2016, 6:32 AM

This facility is badly needed. I work in the Stoneybatter area of Dublin where both young and not so young, men and women openly inject every day. I park my car in a car park that services a number of small businesses and most evenings there is someone crouched against the wall of the building openly injecting. Alot of the time, they will apologize for doing this and while I have never felt threatened, it is a frightening scene to witness. Sometimes needles are left on the ground and the caretaker for the building has to clean these up. There are many children living beside this car park and a playschool and playground is within view of the area where individuals are injecting. This problem is not going to go away, no matter how hard our government tries to sweep it under the carpet and yes we can complain about taxpayers money being put into such facilities for “junkies” and “individuals who make no contribution to society”, but the fact is, it’s happening right under our noses every minute of every day. Perhaps if we had SIFs in place, some lives might be saved and individuals who really want to get clean might stand a better chance.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:24 AM

@DeeM: well said deem and what should be unanimously uncomfortable ,we’ll still b in a situation wher we’ve blood and faeces near open injecting until we have a safe supervised haven.

Nov 22nd 2016, 8:24 AM

@DeeM: well said deem and what should be unanimously uncomfortable ,we’ll still b in a situation wher we’ve blood and faeces near open injecting until we have a safe supervised haven.

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:36 AM

@DeeM:
    Agree, this should have been done years ago, this issue I suppose is where to put the center, how about having a center in a couple of the city center hospitals.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 6:49 AM

The problem with heroin use in this country is that we encourage it – free needles, Guards ignoring the fact it’s illegal, homeless shelters being an oasis for dealers and users and now cosy rooms to inject and have staff standing by if you overdose – what a joke.

Mute Aaron D
    Favourite Aaron D
    Nov 22nd 2016, 7:41 AM

Yes actually, it’s much better if there is staff or a volunteer nurse standing by in case someone overdoses. That way they might get the care they need instead of being left for dead on the street.

For too long drug addiction has been seen only as a crime, when clearly the war on drugs has been a losing battle for decades.

It’s about time we tackled these problems progressively rather than dismissing addicts as worthless junkies. Your lack of understanding aligns with that of much of the public, and while your disgust isn’t completely difficult to understand, if you knew anything about these people’s early lived you’d change your tune.

Addiction doesn’t happen by choice or accident, but the level of physical or sexual abuse so many addicts have suffered which then drove them to drugs is unbearable, and so many would have had parents with alcoholism and addiction problems too so bad no support structure growing up in awful inner city housing conditions.

Just don’t be so quick to judge and have empathy for these people and understand how we as a society can help turn their lives around and also make our streets cleaner and safer for all.

Mute Aaron D
    Favourite Aaron D
    Nov 22nd 2016, 7:42 AM

*lives *had

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:09 AM

Complete and utter and boll*x Dan and judging by your comment you have no experience of working with addicts, Ireland had a policy of ignoring addicts and adopting an abstinence approach towards dealing with them. Guess what happened? HIV spread like wildfire through the inner city. Heroin isn’t like some sort of irritating habit like biting your nails, it’s an all consuming physical addiction and and overcoming such an addiction is extremely difficult.

Yes I’m sure people will say why did they take it in the first place, well guess what things aren’t easy in the world outside of your comfy ivory tower Dan, people have abusive parents or no parents at all, people have mental illnesses, people are vulnerable for a whole host of reasons and are easy prey for dealers. You should really make a trip out into the real world sometime Dan, it’s not pretty but it’s enlightening.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:57 AM

@Fiachra – I’ve been working with addicts for fifteen years and the general public haven’t a clue of the dangers of working with addicts (heroin).
    People haven’t a clue of how staff are expected to collude with this behaviour in the name of “harm reduction”.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:39 AM

Really Dan you’re a healthcare professional, who disagrees with harm reduction? Tell me what area of healthcare do you work in and why is it after your 15 years of working with heroin addicts that you think we shouldn’t adopt a treatment approach?

Your even opposed to clean needles and halting the spread of HIV. Your stance seems to be to go backwards to the policies which if anything fueled the heroin and HIV epidemic, make it illegal, ignore the addicts and the causes and throw them into jails, which by the way are crawling in drugs. These policies have failed time and time again.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:53 AM

I don’t disagree with harm reduction, that would be foolish.
    I do disagree with enabling breaking the law and covering it up.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:11 AM

You’re now claiming that you don’t disagree with harm reduction yet in your first comment you claimed providing clean needles and having medical staff on standby to prevent overdoses is encouraging use when in fact both those policies are pillars of harm reduction in dealing with heroin use.

By the way you didn’t answer my question in what capacity have you been working as healthcare professional with addicts for 15 years?

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:21 AM

@Fiachra – there are many forms of harm reduction as anyone in the sector will know and needles is just one of them.
    “Healthcare professional” is your label remember, I work in homeless services so I do know what I’m talking about.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:38 AM

You might work in homeless services but that doesn’t make you an expert on whether or not to provide treatment for addicts, seeing as you don’t have any form of medical background.

By the way what are these other forms of harm reduction? You seem to be talking about the Gardaí taking a tougher stance, what does that entail more time in drug infested prisons? The guards can’t be in every park corner, in every junkie squat, in every house? What are these other forms of harm reduction you suggest?

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:16 PM

@Fiachra – it may surprise you to learn that project workers and care assistants who work in homeless services have no medical training apart from first aid.
    Other forms of harm reduction apply to other addictions and service users which are part of care planning.

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:18 PM

@Fiachra – at no time did I claim to be an expert but I do have the experience which goes a long way.
    That is now two labels you’ve put on me.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:52 AM

It’s degrading to inject in an alley way- I have heard it all now. Why stop at injecting rooms? It’s discriminatory against other drug users. When are they opening cocaine rooms? Weed rooms? All the while people who are sick through no fault of their own are lying on trolleys in hospital corridors due to lack of funding. But as long as junkies get free needles its all good

Mute Harlowe Brendan
    Favourite Harlowe Brendan
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:41 AM

Brilliant point, f**k everyone, there’s only one kind of need, am I right? Let’s go through those hospital corridors and see who has heart disease due to diet and lifestyle, poorly managed diabetics, smokers and anyone else we deem fully responsible , F**k em out. These people are coming from
    Areas of massive desperation and poverty where drug use is encountered everyday and is normal. There’s also a massive issue now in. Multi generational drug use in families.

Mute Trisha Tully
    Favourite Trisha Tully
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:37 AM

Totally agree with you niamh ryan. I’ve heard it all when the government are going to open centres for people to inject an illegal drug while the health care system is not adequate.

Mute Bertie Nesirky
    Favourite Bertie Nesirky
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:45 AM

It must be interesting to live in such privilege that you can’t empathise with an individual born in a situation where drugs are prevalent and there is a systemic barrier blocking your path out. Offer someone a hand and they can surprise you, getting an individual into a safe setting for injecting means a level of mutual trust being developed and more receptiveness to future help.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:35 AM

People on hospital bed, diabetes and smokers don’t hold needles to people’s throats to feed there addiction. Diabetes patients you can be sure the majority paid there taxes and these bums never worked a day in their lives

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:38 AM

Also there are plenty of ways out in this country if you choose the right path. But you have too choose it . Do gooders making excuse doesn’t help anyone.

Mute Kevin Fahey
    Favourite Kevin Fahey
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:46 AM

FYI to everyone. There are different types of diabetics, mainly 2 types. Type 1 diabetics have this condition through absolutely no fault of their own. Nothing they could have done to not get type 1 diabeties. Type 2 diabetes on the other hand is not looking after yourself with diet etc.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:47 PM

Type too Diabetes is said to be hereditary but its now known that it is also brought on quicker or exasperated through poor diet.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:54 PM

A life of privilege? Don’t make me laugh. I work hard to pay my bills and to keep a roof over my head. No silver spoon no college education. Just a determination to end up better than where I came from. The simple truth is there is not an unlimited about of money in the health service. And if these injection centres were to open the money would have to be taken from other more vital services

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 1:46 PM

@Niamh – well said.

Mute John Power
    Favourite John Power
    Nov 22nd 2016, 8:52 AM

theres an injection center a block away ..its lashing rain will an addict inject were they are or walk to the center unless theres lots of them addicts will inject were they are.

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:23 AM

Very very one sided article, no voice from the people whom disagree with the SIF’s. I agree with them but it would be nice to hear what the opposition have to say. Two sides to every story.

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Nov 22nd 2016, 7:10 AM

@Dan Keane. What’s your suggestion then?

Mute Dan Keane
    Favourite Dan Keane
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:35 AM

@Dee – my suggestion is that Gardai take a tougher stance on illegal drugs and their use.
    My suggestion is that society does not make it okay to take illegal drugs.
    That homeless services do not create safe houses for heroin use and sale.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 22nd 2016, 9:24 AM

I agree something needs to be done but there are many more important issues in the Health service to be dealt with first before people who made bad choices can be looked after.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 22nd 2016, 2:06 PM

Should the obese/over weight, drinkers, people who eat red meat at three meals, smokers, people who don’t exercise etc all be put to the back of the list as well ?

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Nov 22nd 2016, 6:56 AM

Headline needs proof-reading.

Mute audrey clarke
    Favourite audrey clarke
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:42 AM

I’m sorry but I completely disagree with the opening of this centre! I think it’s an absolute disgrace that heroin users get to roam the streets completing their drug deals,going to ‘shoot up’ wherever and whenever they like,being an absolute pain to the city centre community that I live and work in!and now the government and people want to glorify this regime with supporting it with a clean and safe environment?! People are afraid to actually walk the streets of Dublin because of the efforts heroin users will go to to actually get their next fix and why everyone is ignoring this here is beyond me! Their should be a complete and utter no tolerance approach from the Garda and people of Ireland if there was any sense or resource to do such a thing ! People fall into drugs,their families from good and bad and from desperate and horrific times,some people mightn’t be as strong as others to say no but like we all see day in and day out the effects of what can happen to people on drugs,it’s not like nobody was warned,just stupid people making stupid decisions and that’s all it comes down to!

Mute Brian Leddin
    Favourite Brian Leddin
    Nov 22nd 2016, 1:59 PM

Audrey, these will go a long way towards fixing the problems caused by widespread drug addiction. If you want fewer addicts and fewer problems then you should be in favour of this. The effectiveness of injection centres is proven.

Nov 22nd 2016, 8:22 AM

Thought it was due to open by January but of course isntt as with Ireland ,you can always rely on one years delay-minimum.

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:00 PM

People read an article on the journal and suddenly are experts on drug addiction and harm reduction.

The war on drugs is not working. It needs to be tackled differently. It works in plenty of other countries.

Anyone see the Russell brand video where the same crack addict is repeatedly arrested and rearrested for being in a crack house. The system is failing her massively. It’s wrong and it needs to change.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Nov 22nd 2016, 6:59 AM

That’s 12 months away !

Mute Yenreit
    Favourite Yenreit
    Nov 22nd 2016, 12:42 PM

Thumbs up if you read the quotes in a strung out junkie voice, thumbs down if you didn’t.

Mute Sinead Merrigan
    Favourite Sinead Merrigan
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:43 AM

I believe injection rooms are badly needed here in Ireland but the manner in which they are being brought to Ireland, even if it does happen… but to be honest its no better then putting a band aid on a bullet wound so to speak. Addiction is a multi layered and complex illness with the actual abuse of the substance is a mere symptom. In order to tackle the root cause we need to increase the number of detox beds (so few currently exist), mental health services and housing. We also need to intervene earlier in at risk areas. Beyond this we need to address the justice system in Ireland. It is here that we constantly see mistemener nusance crimes that escellate over time to violent crimes to feed a habit. Intervention here at an early stage here can perhaps prevent a further spiral into addiction and crime. At the end of the day, an injection centre is too late and merely hides a much larger personal and social issue in Ireland.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Nov 22nd 2016, 10:32 AM

What exactly is the hold up, Harris promised when splitting the health bill in May that the legislation would be introduced by Autumn 2016. It’s now winter and no sign off the legislation or mention of how the charity regulator is getting on with all his new staff and Kelly up and running against with another attempt to profit by charity work.Those who foretold in May that Harris’s real agenda was to remove injecting centres have being proved right. The next child that gets infected by a discarded needle in any public park will be because the health minister failed in his duty of care. Only the media would believe that anything will be in place by the end of 2017, May as well said 2054 when we finish paying the promissory note for bankers. But that’s what people voted for, more years of partying in Dáil Éireann by a few while sociality moves backwards. It should be illegal for politicians to make promises because nothing will ever change. It will end up costing the taxpayer more in the long run for not tackling this problem now.

Mute Grimm
    Favourite Grimm
    Nov 22nd 2016, 1:57 PM

Facilitating people to kill themselves with poison. Heroin destroys millions of lives every year. This supervised injection centre merely enables users and doesn’t deter them. Take a young adult to a dirty grimey alleyway and show them the real face of heroin addiction. Creating a safe haven for a life destroying drug does the opposite. Yet when a bill to legalise marijuana was proposed “gateway drug” was screamed from the roof tops.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Nov 22nd 2016, 11:41 AM

Let’s be clear here build it they will come, make it they will take it. Drugs support the economy on a grand scale doctors,police,clinics,judges and so. It’s never a war on drugs wars get won wars end. I don’t want to see any one inject or die from HIV nor does my 12 year old who finds a dirty spike on a bus

Mute Kalz Rattei Karin Sabine
    Favourite Kalz Rattei Karin Sabine
    Nov 24th 2016, 4:31 AM

FINANCE THEIR PROJECTS AND DREAMS
    (queenethloans@gmail.com)

we give out loan in a low interest rate of 2%
    The decision to embark on a project with 2, is one thing; Find funding to enable them to realize that is another.
    In order to facilitate access to funding and concerns extend its program to strengthen the purchasing power
    of citizens, are a group of individuals meeting within
    a pprivate club and registered said advocates have access to better living conditions. We give credit
    to all people of good character in well-researched and accessible to ordinary people conditions.
    The quality of service of our agency will help you decide the personal loan that suits you offer any:

* Credit Financing * business loan * Investment funds
    * Debt consolidation loans * The credit line
    * Some mortgages *Acquisition of credit * Personal loans

You are the sole command and decide how much you are satisfied. Must be accountable for their spending. We take
    care of providing you the amount needed to carry out your projects.
    queeneth loans is a legit and certified loan company, well trusted and reliable money lending company.
    apply today for more informations at ( QUEENETHLOANS@GMAIL.COM )