You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Brian Lawless/PA Wire/

DNA test proves girl taken from house in Tallaght is related to Roma family

The couple have maintained all along that the 7-year-old blonde girl is their daughter.

A DNA TEST carried out today has proven that a young girl who was taken from a Roma family at a house in Tallaght this week, is related to the family. The child was returned to the family this evening once the results of the test were made known.

The 7-year-old girl, who has blonde hair and blue eyes, was placed in the care of the HSE on Monday afternoon following a garda operation.

It is understood the officers acted following a tip-off, after they were told there was a child living at the address whose features did not match up to those of the other people living there.

The couple living at the house maintained that the girl was their daughter and sources said she has been living with them at the house for the full five years they have been there.

A source told TheJournal.ie that the family were “in crisis” since the little girl was taken away on Monday.

A spokesperson for the HSE said it could not comment on a child that has been taken into care.

Related: Gardaí investigate ‘true identity’ of girl (7) taken from Tallaght home>

More: DNA tests being carried out on girl found living with Roma family>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

428 Comments
    Mute Sean Brennan
    Favourite Sean Brennan
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:28 PM

A very poignant and emotional moment felt during the #Shineyourlight. Really brought it all home. RTE should follow up and repeat this image every day at 6 O’clock in place of the Angelus at least for the duration of the emergency. Stay safe all cool heads/clean hands.

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:24 PM

@Sean Brennan: what a brilliant suggestion!

Mute Gil Thelander
    Favourite Gil Thelander
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:32 PM

@Sean Brennan: or they could use images from tonight during the angelus to keep everyone happy. Poignant is the only word for tonight alright. Stay safe

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:37 PM

Seriously, not every item has to become a political issue.
    This is just a nice simple gesture of hope and solidarity.
    Let’s keep it that way. There are plenty of other threads to voice your discontent.

Well done to my country. You have made me proud during these dark days.

Mute Droyal
    Favourite Droyal
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:41 PM

@2thFairy: couldn’t agree with you more

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:56 PM

@2thFairy: unfortunately it is being promoted/pushed by politicians. when was the last time you heard of a show of gratitude been advertised on the radio.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:46 PM

@2thFairy: The politicians taking part and promoting themselves doing so have made it a political issue. Aside from that, literally everything is politics!

Mute Jo H
    Favourite Jo H
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:10 PM

@alphasully: We don’t usually find ourselves in situations such as this to have a history of advertising them! Has it struck you that perhaps these things are being advertised for those who are cocooning alone, have spoken to no one in days or weeks, don’t have social media and otherwise wouldn’t know about them? That they are advertised in order to try and ensure and maintain some sense of community and connectivity? Not everything has to be political or cynical. If you’ve nothing good to say, just say nothing

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Apr 12th 2020, 12:31 AM

@alphasully: Unfortunately the Coronavirus Situation is Mostly about the wonders of Good Nature / Deeds by Fine Gael Heads

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Apr 12th 2020, 2:32 AM

@2thFairy: yes I couldn’t agree more, lets all stop criticising politicians and pretend we didn’t vote for FFG in the GE and then announce you will next time as they are doing a marvellous job.. NPHET are making all decisions apart from ports as Leo takes his orders from Brussels. Never forget how these people have behaved.

Mute Ciaran Goggins
    Favourite Ciaran Goggins
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:24 PM

Brilliant idea but im sure nurses would prefer to be paid properly

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:27 PM

@Ciaran Goggins: this was for everyone or for whoever you are thinking of at the time. It is a light for hope.

Mute Clyde
    Favourite Clyde
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Ciaran Goggins: I’m sure the dead would prefer to be alive too.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:43 PM

@Ciaran Goggins: Ah go on outta that for Gods sake. Always one begrudger. Citizens showing SOLIDARITY has nothing to with how they’re paid. Nowt good to say? Say nothing so. Good boy.

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Apr 12th 2020, 12:26 AM

@Ciaran Goggins: Shut up Ciaran.

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Apr 12th 2020, 1:25 AM

@Ciaran Goggins: or even be supplied with adequate ppe

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:36 PM

What a heap of misery laden doom mongers on here.

For once could ye not just scroll on and keep the moaning and whinging to yourselves. My whole road is lit up as a mark of respect to the dead, the ill and the frontline workers.

It looks beautiful and is a sign that a lot of people are sparing a thought. Just leave it at that and whinge somewhere else for once in your bloody lives.

Mute Colm Cork
    Favourite Colm Cork

@Dara O’Brien: here here!! Well said

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:44 PM

@Dara O’Brien: well said lad my estate is also lit up

Mute Jo H
    Favourite Jo H
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:06 PM

@Dara O’Brien: Couldn’t agree more. So many people feel lonely and/or at a loss, this gesture of solidarity harms no-one and may very well be of help to many. I can’t understand anyone going to the trouble of commenting negatively on it, but I guess there are always a few sadly

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Apr 12th 2020, 9:04 AM

@Dara O’Brien: spot on. It was a symbol of coming together.

Mute Brendan O'Donoghue
    Favourite Brendan O'Donoghue
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:01 PM

Congrats to Leo, Simon and Dr Holohan, they are doing a great job. Good article in the New York Times in how Ireland is handling the crisis

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Brendan O’Donoghue: share the link plz

Mute Tanks a Minion
    Favourite Tanks a Minion
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:24 PM

@Brendan O’Donoghue: I can’t believe people think Ireland is doing well. The death rate per million population is no better than the USA. More action is needed. All arrivals on the island must be quarantined for two weeks. Until that happens, how can thing improve?

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:29 PM

@Tanks a Minion: stop it, and don’t be silly. read the facts only 8% of our infections are coming from people travelling.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:33 PM

@Tanks a Minion: sock of this comment. Look at the deaths per million in Andorra and San Marino then have a think for yourself. The US has so far had 1,700 deaths today, increasing their deaths per million by 3. Our 33 increased our by 8. But if you want to go by per million stats then we’ve done 2,000 more tests per million than the US and 5,000 per million more than the US. But that’s not a good indicator for the reasons I’ve already stated.

Mute Donal Kehoe
    Favourite Donal Kehoe
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:40 PM

@James Rowan: it was more of how Leo raised from the ashes more than anything else. https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.nytimes.com/2020/04/11/world/europe/ireland-leo-varadkar-coronavirus.amp.html

Mute James Rowan
    Favourite James Rowan
    Apr 12th 2020, 12:12 AM

@James Rowan: thnx for reply.im not bashing leo,he is doing what he is told by cmo

Mute meh
    Favourite meh
    Apr 12th 2020, 1:10 AM

@Tanks a Minion: go away you fool

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Apr 12th 2020, 2:11 AM

@Brendan O’Donoghue: I see the wheels spinning!

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Apr 12th 2020, 3:31 AM

@Tanks a Minion: Eh the US are behind us in terms of the timeline, have a look at that same comparison in 2 to 3 weeks time.

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Apr 12th 2020, 7:50 AM

@meh: he’s correct
    It’s not your fault your are too stupid to underhand it
    Compare australia and their measures and stats vs us , maybe then you’ll understand the incompetence and miss management

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Apr 12th 2020, 7:52 AM

@Alan Byrne: ok so , you get it under control how do you maintain that? By quarantine of arrivals

Look at australia understand their measures and stats , and this a country with 500k Chinese s students and torch flights from Wuhan.

Maybe then you will grasp the miss management in ireland

Or maybe you won’t and will continue to believe the same experts that told you on 10/3/2 no need to restrict nursing homes

Or no need to control and quarantine Italian travel in late feb

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Apr 12th 2020, 7:54 AM

@Dave O’Keeffe: are you for your real ? You are being San Marino into it of course they have distorted numbers look at any OECD country with a population greater than 500k

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:29 PM

I’m sorry but these shows of solidarity appear too forced and not spontaneous. if we mean this then these shows of gratitude should be daily, not at the whims of politicians or persons or authority

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:33 PM

@alphasully: Or even more practical – like donations to feedtheheroes.

Mute Pat O Brien
    Favourite Pat O Brien
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:34 PM

@alphasully: any day that you want to show gratitude, feel free to do so.

Mute Alan Watts
    Favourite Alan Watts

@alphasully: social media egos, half wouldn’t do it if they couldn’t share online.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:50 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: or here https://www.gofundme.com/f/protect-those-who-protect-us?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=p_cp+share-sheet

Getting close to the target. The people running it have already done some great work.

Mute alphasully
    Favourite alphasully
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Pat O Brien: I do, personally. I just cant muster the same effort when we have ads on the radio for it. feels forced

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:55 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: Another begrudger…And when donations are made it’ll be “It’s only a one off it’s not good enough” moan. TAKE A NIGHT OFF!

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Apr 12th 2020, 9:11 AM

@alphasully: stoppit. It was a lovely gesture. Neighbours came out to introduce themselves in some cases, offer help if needed. Not forced, you didn’t have to do anything, you could stay on your sofa and watch TV if that’s your desire. It was heart warming and anything that brings us together in these dark days has to be positive. Somebody has to think of it, put it out there and get us together. How else could it be spontaneous?

Mute Mark Edwards
    Favourite Mark Edwards
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:28 PM

Those front line workers are amazing. I hope that the teacher’s and their unions don’t start messing about with the exams.

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:31 PM

@Mark Edwards: Seriously? What on earth has this to do with #ShineYourLight ?

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Mark Edwards: that would be ‘teachers’!

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Mark Edwards: Havd a glass of water and go to bed Mark

Mute meh
    Favourite meh
    Apr 12th 2020, 1:11 AM

@Mark Edwards: I remember when I had my first drink too….. bless

Mute John kavanagh
    Favourite John kavanagh
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:43 PM

Here’s a novel idea pay them what they deserve .. give them tax breaks on over time during this crisis.. lighting candles etc . Are all great but show the support from the top not just lip service and gestures as nice as they are ..

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:52 PM

@John kavanagh: true but the ordinary person can’t grant that so it’s nice for people to show support in whatever way they can. If front line staff aren’t treated with more respect by the politicians in this country after this then they never will be. Let’s hope they will be, but at the moment it’s lovely to see every day people showing support in whatever way they can.

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Apr 12th 2020, 2:14 AM

@John kavanagh: 46 grand for a top level ICU nurse before tax and how much is a TD whose taken a career break from their teaching job getting???

Mute neil brown
    Favourite neil brown
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:58 PM

Why don’t all you negative bucking fastards go and start your own little group and leave everybody else to get on with the job I hand

Mute Jo H
    Favourite Jo H
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:12 PM

@neil brown: if only!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:44 PM

Nice idea. But please be careful not to leave the room with it on. All it can take is a breeze and something gets lit.

Mute Rob Duggan
    Favourite Rob Duggan
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:40 PM

Sinéad ó Connor needs help not to be publicised on rte. Really poor and borderline offensive choice.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Apr 11th 2020, 9:46 PM

@Rob Duggan: Another doom & gloomer alive and well. Leave your negative toxic nonsense to yourself. It’s about solidarity. End or.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:03 PM

@Rob Duggan: what are you on about her voice and song choice were perfect and moving. Poisonous negative idiots like you we can do without

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:27 PM

@Rob Duggan: what was offensive about her or her performance? Genuinely interested.

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Apr 12th 2020, 5:01 AM

@Rob Duggan: good man rob i hope your family are safe and well.

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe
    Apr 12th 2020, 9:32 AM

@Rob Duggan: good God .. seriously? She was an excellent choice .

Mute KEN L
    Favourite KEN L
    Apr 12th 2020, 8:20 PM

@Rob Duggan:

In 2017, Sinead O’Connor changed her name to Magda Davitt

in 2018, she changed it to Shuhada’ Sadaqat

Mute Hospitality Workers Fighting Back
    Favourite Hospitality Workers Fighting Back
    Apr 11th 2020, 10:02 PM

Thank you also to the trade unions who have ensured HSE workers have decent pay and conditions. Time for hospitialty workers to follow the tireless and heroic example of these great people in joining a union.

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis
    Apr 12th 2020, 4:33 PM

@Hospitality Workers Fighting Back: using this thread to promote membership for your union is shallow and totally inappropriate.

Mute Karen Delaney
    Favourite Karen Delaney
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:39 PM

I wonder how many of the covidiots lit a light in their holiday homes today in solidarity. I’d bet all of them did but they have no insight into how their selfishness is exacerbating the situation.

Mute Mark O'Donohoe
    Favourite Mark O'Donohoe
    Mute Ale Ceaser
    Favourite Ale Ceaser

Good improvement on the original concept – ‘Clap for Carers’ in the UK. Going for three weeks there now, and is a huge morale booster.

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:36 PM

@Ale Ceaser: great, we’ll come on everybody, let’s make this a weekly thing. We still have a long road ahead of us, so let’s keep this going, thanking the frontline staff, and honouring all those who have passed and are still fighting this. And it will give us a focus to make it better and more of an impact every week. #ShineYourLight

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Apr 12th 2020, 2:15 AM

@Ale Ceaser: if we hadn’t hollowed out the healthcare system our front lines staff wouldn’t have to be heroes. Just quoting a Dr btw.

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Apr 12th 2020, 2:22 AM

I understand that people need hopexin a time when they feel scared.

Our healthcare staff shouldn’t have to be heroes. The hollowed out healthcare system forces them into that role. The learning from this is to look after the workers that really are deserving respect like those keeping us healthy fed and the bins emptied. The melodramatic narrative of those who feel they are born to rule is nauseating in the face of the choices made previously to put them at risk.

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Apr 12th 2020, 12:04 AM

Light candles? There was a full blown rave in my estate. Socially distant of course

Apr 12th 2020, 10:58 AM

@thomas patrick: Did Leo’s Black & Tans not pay a visit

Mute Donal Kehoe
    Favourite Donal Kehoe
    Apr 11th 2020, 11:26 PM

Let’s just make sure including our government officials that this continues even after this is all over

Mute Peter Clancy
    Favourite Peter Clancy
    Apr 12th 2020, 12:13 PM

Disgusting to see so many Shinners hijacking the comments section with their usual whinging and moaning in an effort to steer the Cult Of Sinn Féin into power. SF disappeared once there was a crisis. Cowards. The political figures put in place by the Army Council have shown themselves up to be unsuited to any position of responsibility and decision making.

Whinge. Moan. Whinge. Moan. Never offer a solution. The SF way.

Apr 12th 2020, 7:51 AM

@Mick Early: Too True Mike
    All entry ports should have been on lockdown since day one ,only open for essential transport of goods and services. For all the years the government was in power they had no money to pay the pensioners their rightful pension or run the HSE Now they are encouraging and opening the way for Visitors/ Irish to flock into the country without paying much attention to health checks at point of entry.