You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
DESPITE CONCERNS OVER how bullying and harassment are tackled in their workplace, 84% of staff at the Department of the Taoiseach are proud to work there.
That’s according to a staff consultation initiative 2014, which was published last month by RA Consulting and put on the department’s website on Tuesday.
The 95-question survey looked at a number of areas in the department.
Results should be seen against a background of cuts, media criticism, corporate memory losses and increased workloads. Department should be seen to have made progress while ‘swimming against a particularly challenging tide’.
It showed that just 3% said they were not proud to work for the Department of the Taoiseach, which is up from 2% in 2007 and 1% in 203. Overall, 84% are proud, which is also up by 1% on the previous survey.
Bullying
Just 34% gave a favourable response to the phrase “I am confident that the anti-bullying and harassment policy is supported in practice”, and 59% gave a favourable response to “I have not experienced bullying or harassment of any kind in the Department”.
It showed that 75% said they are satisfied with the leadership displayed by their immediate manager, while 53% said the department is focused on effective leadership.
Just 29% agreed that good performance is recognised by the department.
The report recommended a requirement to “enhance commitment to dignity and respect (anti-bullying and harassment) through refresher training/awareness programmes”.
The Department of the Taoiseach on Merrion Street (File photo) Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons
It should also be emphasised that the extremely positive findings were largely absent from the media reports and importantly, these findings could not coexist if there was a culture of workplace bullying.
“In particular, the survey revealed that 84 per cent were proud to work for the Department, 72 per cent said that they trusted their managers (only 8 per cent disagreed) and 95 per cent said that they were able to work on their own initiative (only 2 people (individuals) disagreed) which would not be the case if bullying was an issue.”
Good place to work?
Asked if they would recommend the Department to others as a good place to work, 68% said they would.
Just over half, 58%, said they consider the culture within the department to be generally good. The same percentage said that they are encouraged to speak up “where we disagree with a decision”.
Just a quarter – 25% – said that employee morale has improved over the last number of years, with 35% giving an “unfavourable” response to this question.
When asked about communication, 52% said that communications within the department have improved over recent years.
Just over a fifth of staff surveyed – 21% – agreed that workloads are fairly distributed within the Department.
Some of the lowest favourable responses were in the development and career progression section, with just 12% giving “I am encouraged to proactively identify my T&D needs” a favourable response.
In addition, 30% said that the department provides good opportunities for career development.
Overall, the document concluded that work undertaken over recent years has “had a positive impact upon the workplace culture”, but that some improvements have been more modest, and satisfaction has fallen in other areas.
The department said that in response to the report a new human resources strategy is being prepared along with a new Civil Service-wide ‘Dignity at Work’ policy.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
If Egan can prove that he applies for five jobs daily then Flanagan, the Department of Social Protection or anyone else for that matter, hasn’t a leg to stand in regard to this question. The arrogance and disconnection from Flanagan is fairly jaw-dropping. I don’t necessarily agree with or endorse Mr Egan’s practices or politics but the man has a right to protest and should not be threatened financially for protesting against governmental policy.
perhaps it is time for all unemployed people to protest this greatest of all Government wastage by holding a protest outside his house, we could all ask him for a job.
It isn’t that surprising, D. When I was unemployed I was applying for work daily and getting no rely, no response, nothing. Quite a hopeless feeling actually. It’s so much easier to find work when you’re already employed. I’m sorted now, happily working but I understand Mr Egan’s predicament and I resent the pampered likes of Flanagan trying to interfere with his finances. I wonder how well Herr Flanagan would do on €188 a week. Might soften his cough.
Yeah, he’s still a TD. He’s also Fine Gael through and though. Sure, he was expelled after voting against their abortion move, the “Long Kick to Touch” as I call it, but make no mistake that Terence Flanagan is as much a Fine Gael man as his fellow “Independent” Michael Lowry is.
Vin Heffer, thank you for posting the email address – I have emailed the following to him
Dear Mr Flanagan,
I have just read the article in The Journal online. I am shocked and very angry that you would even think to table a question that would challenge the right of unemployed and poor people to practice their Constitutional and Democratic right to protest! The implication of that is astounding in that you are seeking to separate the rights of the wealthy from the rights of the poor.
I don’t care who wrote the question, and I don’t care if it was other Irish people who suggested it, it is YOUR responsibility to behave like a democratically elected TD not a tyrant doing the bidding of a few. How dare you even believe you can abdicate your responsibility in this issue! If ‘some’ of your constituents suggested taking the vote from the poor would you table that question too?
I hope you take the time to read this email and to think about your behaviour and what you are doing to democracy under the guise of ‘it’s not me, I was just following orders’…. we all know how THAT defence ended 70 years ago!
As much as Michael lowry is, you’re havig a laugh VinHeffer, this is the same man that supported the FF/Green party puppet coalition in the last government, yeah real fine gael like.
He has a right to protest, but jobseeking should be his full time occupation at the moment, and his protesting should be done in his spare time, just like it would be if he was working.
@ Doc: Michael Lowry currently supports this government also. As a proven charlatan and tax evader through the Moriarty Tribunal it shouldn’t come as a surprise that he would be capable of acting in his own interests then and now. Politically, he is as Fine Gael as Fine Gael goes in all but name. Same as Flanagan.
@Neal: If he applies for a job a few times a day I’d say he’s fulfilling his commitment to the Department of Social Protection’s terms and conditions for receiving social welfare. Heaven forbid, he might feel strongly about the issue.
Dear TD Flanagan,
I must say I was disgusted to read this article <>.
Whether or not you or your office tabled the query, they represent you and at the end of the day: the buck stops with you. To not be fully involved implies a loss of control at your office and who is running it.
If true it bodes poorly for the future of a democratic and just nation. To punish protestors with punishment and sanctions such as seen in Putin’s Russia (ie jailing of gay rights and religious rights protestors) evinces a sad state of affairs in Ireland. The govt may be unhappy with the will of the people at the moment which results in protest but you need to accept that this behaviour is appropriate in a just and fair democracy. Sanctioning people for choosing the right to peacefully protest is to turn our society into a dictatorship or secret and non-secret police state where people are afraid to speak their minds for fear of informants and sanctions.
I hope you will take the time to think more fully about your words, actions, choices and positions in relation to sanctioning peaceful protest and perhaps take some time to research the history of states that carried out this kind of behaviour. And then perhaps ask yourself if this is the society you wish to live in and therefore perhaps reconsider your position accordingly. I wish you all the best in your journey to represent your constituents to their best interests and a just society.
@RossCasey Protections of protest in Irish Constitution:
Article 40.6.1° The State guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:
ii: The right of the citizens to assemble peaceably and without arms. Provision may be made by law to prevent or control meetings which are determined in accordance with law to be calculated to cause a breach of the peace or to be a danger or nuisance to the general public and to prevent or control meetings in the vicinity of either House of the Oireachtas. iii. The right of the citizens to form associations and unions. Laws, however, may be enacted for the regulation and control in the public interest of the exercise of the foregoing right.
& Article 40.6.2° Laws regulating the manner in which the right of forming associations and unions and the right of free assembly may be exercised shall contain no political, religious or class discrimination.
I personally can’t stand Egan and would also question his drive to actually get a job (and that’s any job – not just one he would prefer). I respect that everyone has a right to protest but I do question when people become almost occupational protesters – it’s the water meters now, before that he was a youth defense supporter (who I particularly dislike) during the pro life campaign, before that it was occupy dame street… Furthermore, many of his comments that I have read seem to bring in the fact that he is a gay man and such discriminated against.
Maybe he really is trying his hardest to get work, I can’t be sure. However from what I’ve seen of him over the last two years I get the impression that he feels the world owes him something and because this something hasn’t been easily provided to him, is now more interested in aligning himself with whatever campaign is currently “fighting the man” than actually trying to obtain that something himself.
@ Pedro His personal life and your personal prejudice against him has nothing to do with this article. It doesn’t matter if he has supported 100 causes and protested for them. You sound like a small minded little guttersnipe coming out with your personal resentment in an attempt to justify the cowardly actions of a vindictive TD.
Just send this email. Please flood him with messages – we need to ‘put manners’ on this type of traitor to the principles of a democratic republic. Shame on his cowardice in hiding behind ‘his office’
Dear Mr Flanagan,
I have just read the article in The Journal online. I am furious at your sanctimonious and condescending behaviour. That you would even think to table a question – and YOU DID TABLE IT (despite your semantics!); that would challenge the right of unemployed and poor people to practice their Constitutional and Democratic right to protest in whatever peaceful manner they choose!
The implication of that is astounding in that you are seeking to separate the rights of the wealthy from the rights of the poor. But then, when should I be surprised when both Fine Gael and the so-called Reform Alliance are obsessed with the ‘market’ and are addicted to the evidently failed orthodox model of neoliberalism.
It is YOUR responsibility to behave like in a democratic, transparent manner, as an elected TD AND NOT LIKE A TYRANT doing the bidding of a few in such a sneaky, cowardly way!. How dare you even believe you can abdicate your responsibility in this issue! If ‘some’ of your constituents suggested taking the vote from the poor would you table that question too?
Sorry Dave but my comment is very relevant – as I mentioned, I agree with the TD and would question how active Egan is searching for employment. It appears to me that Egan has adopted the role of professional protester over anything else.
It can be found in Article 40 of The Irish Constitution. The Bottom line is this :
You and I have the fundamental right to:
Free movement and passage, Personal privacy and bodily integrity and the right to protest.
These are fundamental Human Rights of International Law
as well as fundamental rights provided by the Irish Constitution,
which is the foundation of all Irish Law.
Well said sir!! Your true colours are shining through. This is a typical example of Fine Gael in action! No democracy here!! Is the entire Finished Gael party composed of morons, or what? And who voted for them? Do you support this type of despotism? Or will you have the courage, for a change, to throw them out, finally.
Pedro: don’t you think the man has been slandered enough already through the tabling of this PQ? You seem to have a lot of information on him. I hope you don’t work for Terence Flanagan? .
Is it true that once a TD leaves a party that they then start to receive an extra top-up payment called a “leaders allowance” which is an extra payment for printing, admin, etc., that is normally allocated to the leader of any party but also given to independents?
Actually, his Payment is €40, a Week, minus Medical Card, Possible Travel Pass, Rent Allowance, if he gets it, and so on. I know him, and can confirm that he’s out, defending, and supporting those who are against Water Charges.
This is not a surprise. The people who control the money control how it is distributed. That they keep some for themselves, some describe as human nature; I call greed and selfishness.
Why are people on the dole protesting against these charges?after all they don’t pay them.its eejits like me out working 6days a week paying it for them with my taxes
Do you think it’s only people who are on the dole who protest? I’m lucky in the sense I’ve never needed to be on the dole but I sure as hell will be protesting when it comes time for IW to install a meter at my property.
I am employed and when I can I attend such protests. I commend Mark Egan for going out there and making a stand will others stand behind an egg neenee. He has huge support and is a citizen of this country.
But he will have a Dáil pension unlike Mr. Egan who will still have his €188. That is whats wrong with the system. Spend five years in the Dáil, get a pension for life. If this happened in a tin pot African Republic we would be crowing about how our money is being wasted.
&neeneee People on the dole have to pay the property tax, bin charges, TV license and all the household bills such as electricity and gas. They will be paying water charges too.
I notice, the commentators like NeeNee. Haven’t the backbone, to show their face and hide their I.D.? When they knock, their own and not stand with them against all these stealth taxes. The man did work, lost his job and obviously trying to get another. Only for your taxes, the country would go under, NeeNee!
Let me give you a clue to why anyone would protest against Irish Water. Because it is a right! Because Irish Water is a private company who have been ‘awarded’ our water to sell to us!. Because Irish water are bullies! Because Irish Water are overpaid retired ex public servants who have ripped us off and continue to do so now, with government backing! and on and on and on…….
PS People on the dole are not exempt from water charges!
of course sure people on the dole have no worth in your eyes… sure they are on the dole cos they are lazy and has nothing to do with the fact that there is and has been a deep reccesion for six years
The government know that most working people cannot spare the time to protest against their draconian measures as they’re too busy trying to earn a living and keep their heads above water. What Mr Egan and other unemployed people who are using some of their time to protest are doing is going some way to redressing the unfortunate “I’m all right, Jack” way of thinking that has become pervasive in Irish society. Yes, he may not be liable for water charges now but if he does become employed in the near future (which hopefully he will) then he will be liable. And why isn’t the complainant named? What happened to the right to face your accuser? The Department of Social Warfare has created a snitch ethos turning people against their less fortunate neighbours. Shame, shame, shame.
Neeneee with the egg (brain) people who are unemployed still have to pay for their utility bills ie.water,gas ESB.Unemployed people also pay tax eg VAT,road tax etc etc.Only one part of your comment is correct…that you are an eejit.
Um…. yes, they do. Just like people on the dole also have to pay property tax. There is no dispensation.
And for the record, you pay the same amount of tax regardless of where it goes. That will never change. Even if it’s all earmarked for roads and healthcare. You will still pay the same amount.
This country is in the toilet not because of those who are unemployed but because of shoddy government policy, lack of proper taxation on big companies, and companies/businesses/multinationals who are desperate for as much profit as possible at any cost (ie cutting jobs to increase profit).
Direct your anger towards the people who deserve it.
I applaud Mr Egan also. I appreciate it when citizens take their time to stand up to injustice and protest something that affects all for us, especially when I cannot. Don’t let yourselves be manipulated by the rich to hate the less well off and call them scroungers. #Solidarity #ClassWars #CivilRights
@ Martin Ryan. Well said Martin, but to be effective, you need to fight them as a community.
Check out Clondalkin Meter Watch on FaceBook. That’s how to do it.
If we let these charges go though the whole country will be eejits, paying the likes of Denis O’Brien billions what is a basic human right, the access to clean drinking water.
because they are citizens of the state and entitled to their say.
the overwhelming majority want to get off the dole into employment as quickly as possible. most of us working have been there. i’m sure you know the difference between living on the dole and a wage. not what it should be – agreed – but that’s low wages in relation to cost of living surely, not a conspiracy of the poor?
Loving it ha ha ha …………………..just wondering would he seek to have Pensions or salary cut of politicians cut who were convicted of fraud or theft ?? . He looks the type of Guy who was born with a silver Foot in his mouth ha ha ha
all these blueshirts a repulsive in the extreme.. they think they are our royal family or something.. they should be booted out of this country from treason, have their citizenship revolked and passports taken, assents seized, and they can tell their masters in germany how the merely abdicated,,,
The problem is Rob, we don’t know what SF will do, I hope you like poker, because that’s what it’s going to be like, would you feel confident of them calling some ones bluff, I wouldn’t.
The Old tradition of Fascism always rises to the top, when it comes to a Blueshirt type, like Flanagan.
Shocking misuse of The Dáil and abuse of a Citizen , out of work , mainly through the mishandling of the economy by The Coalition of FG/Lab.
Have these people any conscience or shame ?
So says a member of a party of shame and just for the record i’m not condoning flanagans actions and further for your information, he is no longer a Blueshirt, he is part of that reform part, please keep up to date, I know ye like living in the past.
Doc – You regularly blog as to how proud you are of your Fascist Blueshirt Party and their Nazi like past !
Presumably , you are also very proud , no doubt of what Flanagans methods are !
A point of order Ciarraioch, There is nothing more despicable than another making blatant false accusations or in lay mans terms, lies, it is a sleveen and a underhand like act, just typical of the party you represent , I have never blogged about being proud of fascism, I have come on here to argue that FG are not a fascist party and that I despise fascism and regarding their NAZI like past again perhaps you should peruse my previous posts and re: Flanagan read my posts above.
Doc – Read mine again a chara , mas e do thoil e ?
I maintain that you support a Fascist Party – the fact that you speak in favour of FG and their gross attempt at awful leadership of this Country !
Whether you personally are a Fascist is for your own conscience to answer !
Ah Carroch, referencing the Nazis again in the context of Irish history and politics. I hope you will also take time to criticize the IRA and their collaboration with the Nazis. But I suppose it’s ok for the IRA to collaborate with the Nazis, but not the blueshirts.
Ciarraioch you can argue euphemistically all you want but I and others know what you ment to sully, i’ll give you the liberal populist monikers of the adjectives you use to describe FG but you then went on and posted “and their Nazi like past ! “, that is a blatent lie a chara and you know it.
@Doc @Jurgen Remak @ Ciarraioch. Nazis, Blueshirts, the IRA, What the f**k are you guys talking about? I hope you would agree, at least to some degree, that the people of this country (including you guys) would be best served if we adjusted our attitudes to look to the future rather than the past.
Tony, I completely agree. But referencing Fascism, Nazism is seriously innappropriate both for this article and because it comes from a guy like Carroch.
Given that one of the fundamental economic principles of fascism is the privatisation of corporate profit and the socialisation of corporate loss, I would contend that any party that was in any way involved in the pilfering the wallets of the Irish people to further enrich those who already have enough wealth to last many lifetimes is fascist. A true capitalist would have let these “too big to fail” parasitical organisations (banks) just die a natural and long overdue death.
So therefore FF/ green party/independents/FG/labour are by virtue of your argument all fascist, so we have being living in a fascist state since the inception of independence which leaves the shinnerbots as the only pure anathema to fascism in this state, they the political wing of an organisation who orchestrated kangaroo courts in this state and murdered innocent servants of this state and robbed the so said evil banks of this state, will you ever go back to sleep for gods sake, you’re making a complete fool of yourself.
There is no requirement on social welfare to spend 24 hours a day looking for a job. Furthermore there is now a thing called the internet which allows an individual to look for work from home or anywhere they want on their mobile telephone. Maybe somebody should let the TD, or his office, know.
Where exactly is Mr Egan supposed to be all day looking for a job? I trawl the job sites every single day and apply for any jobs I have even a sniff at. Does it mean coz I haven’t gotten a job yet I shouldn’t leave the house?!
Exactly Nicola. This kinda crap could get to the point where anyone found saying ‘bad things’ on The Journal about the government could also have their social welfare cut.
I can bet you he wouldn’t walk up and say it to Mr.Egan face to face! Unless of course he us flanked be two Garda or security personnel. Little weasel!
Sickening behaviour,considering this government cut welfare payments in line with their pals at the IMF!…citizens of this country have a right to peaceful protest,whatever way,or whomever against…or has mr Egan got to furnish welfare dept a timesheet for his protest?…
Who voted that gobshits in dose he not think his no good fg party have taken enough of the people in this country and now they are cutting the amount of water we get pre child we need to stand up to this so called government and pull them down we need a general election soon
Emmm assassination and kidnapping or just general corruption and cronyism? I guess the two former options would definitely be a fun solution to the latter ones, would definitely spice things up around the place which would be entertaining at least. Though I think SF would have an unfair headstart on the requirement for each party to have their own personal paramilitary wing..
This individual had a salary of 87,258 euro plus expenses of 2.445.83 euro per month last year, his expenses alone amounted to 29,349.96 for the year, the sheer arrogance and brass neck of this character is astounding..
People on Social Welfare have to pay this tax too. There is no waiver scheme, there is no allowance, save the allowance for children and it’s coming out now that even that is being reduced. Old Age Pensioners, already struggling on their measly pension, have to pay. So why should they not have a right to protest against it? The majority of people on social welfare at the minute do not want to be on it. They lost their jobs through no fault of their own. The typical “all social welfare recipients are scrounging hippies” comes out because they dare to protest? This is coming from people who austerity hasn’t affected – yet. Anyone could lose their job in the morning, and then the attitude might change. This is intimidating and scaremongering from the Dail – keep protesting and we’ll cut your dole – and it shows that the protests are actually worrying them. More people are resisting and we can’t have that.
I think this TD should be Concentrate more on helping the people that voted him in & to do the job he said he would do before got he got Elected! not Target people for questioneing his wrong doing in Government. I would also like to add Mr Egan has applied for job with my company Recently and was unsuccessful.
He is, he is protecting the tax payers who pay his wages by ensuring that the taxes paid by the working people are going to people who legitimately are entitled to them.
Correct, Jim, he (mis)used parliamentary privilege and so can not be on the receiving end of a lawsuit. The same can’t be said of anyone posting here who restates in their own words what he said.
i am a part of Dublin says no and i am a friend of Mark Egan.I am lucky enough to have a job and don`t look down on those that do not have a job unlike Terence. I have met both Terence and Mark as we all live locally. Mark is a good decent individual that loves this country. Terence is a self centred egotist and loves what he can get out of this country. Below is a break down in what Terence gets and Mark gets. Notice the difference. We have the Rich attacking the poor.
Terence Flanagan T.D. your salary of €87,258 + Your expenses of€29,349.96 = €116,607.96
Meaning you cost the state or Taxpayer €116,607.96 a year but the true cost of a TD to the state/ taxpayer is €309,912 a year when all entitlements are taken into consideration
Now Mark Egan gets €40 a week or €2,080 a year and you have the neck to contact to SNITCH to the Social welfare that he is out protesting against the Government ?
Terence if we got rid of you, at these rates €116,607.96 divided by €2,080 we could pay Mark for the next 56 years. Which would be a better investment
I see above someone posted Terence Email Address. I would ask you all to send Terence an email as this attack on the poor and an attack on someones constitutional right is deplorable.
Terence if you are reading this OLD MALAHIDE ROAD PICKET coming soon !
Ross, you are taking the urine here aren’t you ??.
This (and the last) shower of lieing parasites are riding roughshod over the people of this country and showing nothing but contempt for us as they openly practice their “cronyism” politics.
Would you rather we just roll over and accept what happens.
As for this TD… Well, he will be begging for votes very soon and hopefully he will get a taste of being unemployed.
I know my comments will not be popular. But then sometimes the truth is hard to hear.
These protests are a waste of time.
If these people directed their energy into a real cause then they might actually make a difference.
At the moment they’re just a step away from ruffians.
‘Ruffians’ Ross???
How is life back in the Victorian era?
Next you’ll be suggesting transportation for any who may dare to look askance at their social superiors.
Totally agree that “Shell to sea” protesters have done huge damage to our country. We will definitely not see any oil and gas finds in Ireland in the near future as the exploration companies have pulled out and gone elsewhere.
@”Kerryman” – a real cause is one where people actually fight for something they believe in and have a goal in sight.
Not like these water meter protesters who do nothing but cause trouble and “protest” for the sake of it, get their photos in local rags and go on trash radio talk shows.
@ Ross Just look at the damage spineless politicians like Flanagan have done to this country and the ordinary people living here. It is getting close to the stage that politicians will have more to worry about than protesters. There is no excuse for what this gutless parasite has done.
Ross, it’s “wannabe”snobs like you that have us where we are and allow these eurocrats to dictate.
You are among the NIMBY’s and the bull**** blinded “I’m alright Jack’s” that couldn’t give a damm what goes on outside their own little world.
Well buddy, you should get your head out of your backside and smell some fresh air because those people that are out protesting now could be the very ones that will stand beside you when your rights are violated.
I agree with you Ross. It’s also interesting how few of the keyboard warriors on The Journal attend any of these protests they so strongly support. Cut off dole for these professional protesters and wasters. Stop enabling them.
@”Kerryman” – are you seriously trying to say that the water meter protests and Shell to Sea protests are/were peaceful?
Did you not see members of An Garda Siochana having to haul thugs off the road re Shell?
Did you not see troublemakers obstructing Irish Water workers by actually getting into the holes dug for the meters?
Ross Casey..”a crowd of hippies and bumpkins ” !!! Excuse me but I protest against this government bringing us to our knees with the severe austerity measures forced upon us because they put the unsecured bondholders and corrupt bankers before the people of Ireland because it has not only affected all of my family but my childrens future.Who will probably have to go to the other side of the planet to look for work.I am not a hippie or a bumpkin,but a 54yr old hard working mother who wants my children to be allowed to stay in my life.You need to cop on.Your attitude towards those that protest is ignorant and very narrow minded.Which International corporation do you work for ?Has austerity affected you ? Obviously not with that silly,snobbish comment you left.
That’s just as well, because our mis-representatives don’t have a single cent they can call their own. They need to be reminded that they are our at-will employees, not our masters.
Do you feel what Mr Flanagan did was right? Do you think it was right to use Dail privilege in this way?
Is their not a bigger question at stake here, of the right to protest, whether you have a job or not other than defending “the party” at all cost? Thats the kind of thinking that was rife in Fianna Fail that got us to this point.
Time to clean the sh*ts out of our country, we were slaves to the brits for 800 years now we’re slaves to the E.U. paying money we don’t owe to richer more powerful countries after been threatened blackmailed forced.
Lets start again lets have a French style revolution the new leaders will take a lot longer to become corrupt again. Time to stop these people feeding of us, using abusing us while we scramble to have some kind of life.
FREEDOM
I wish this particular TD was in my constituency. I would be calling down to him personally to make my feelings very clear about his conduct in this matter. A TD bullying an Irish citizen on Social Protection payments! What an ass!
How the average person on social welfare / BTEA has to budget 188 a week
100 per week for rent (dublin)
10 per week – esb
10 per week – travel costs
40 per week – food costs (skipping some meals)
28 euro – anything to sustain a sense of dignity
A new use of the Dail
Name a few people receiving dole every week
have their working neighbours go round and beat them until they get a job
I love reading the comments on here
I am all right Jack so f*@k you
but if I run into trouble I will expect your help
Dear Mr Flanagan
On my behalf, I wonder if you could ask a parliamentary question to enquire as to the possibility of deducting pay from TD’s who raise ridiculous parliamentary questions?
The question was submitted by the TD (” Deputy Terence Flanagan asked the Minister for Social Protection …”). If somebody submitted the question without his knowledge that person should be sacked. If he permitted somebody to submit a question under his name without vetting the question then he should resign.
Total abuse of his office to single out one individual form the many around the country who are protesting. He said the constituent who reported Egan wished to remain anonymous. One can only wonder if the anonymous constituent would be Terence Flanagan himself.
It’s only right that we pay for our water and the fairest way is by meter. What’s wrong is the fact that not everyone will pay. So me and all the rest who work our arses off to try to pay our will be paying for all the dossers. AGAIN
Dossers, are they the ones who move numbers around on a screen for a living, destroy the economy of a whole country, and then lie their way into getting the citizens of that country to pay their bills for them, or are they the unfortunates who were kicked out of their jobs because of the unending greed of those mentioned first?
@Paul Coffey – the water is already paid for under general taxation. That’s the point. This is nothing more than wealth confiscation dressed up in the clothes of supposed water shortage in the wettest country in Europe. It is the peoples most precious asset being put under the control of corporations and the international mafia fund… Stop being such a slave!
I’ve a a private Well ,Paul ,so at the moment it doesn’t affect me .. But you calling people dossers is wrong .. I objected to the Household and the Property Tax as I had paid out between Stamp duty & Vat in the region of €100,000 -€120,000 .. Looking back at it now – I was probably more of a tosser than a dosser ..
I’m not a slave to anyone. How did u arrive at that conclusion? Normally when we are faced with a new tax, the same blanket statement is used to justify not paying it, and that is that it is already being paid for from ” normal ” taxes. I think metering should have been done years ago.. thumbs up or down I couldn’t give a sh#t
I know there are people and families in real need of assistance but there are many receiving assistance who don’t. The ones who don’t deserve it are the ones I refer to as ” dossers “
The country is overrun with skangers and dossers. Stop enabling them. Dole should be given to people who have made legitimate attempts to work, nobody else.
@thomasmac you know the resources of this country oil gas and now water belong to the state , do you think this government will allow private wells take water for free or down the line private well owners will also be hit
This is my second response to you as my first one didn’t get through the moderator .
Yes I’m aware and that’s why I wrote “at the moment.”
As my family pay a fair load of taxes I am not happy at this TD bringing up an ordinary Joe Soaps name in the Dail where he(TD) has full protection.. After all ,we’re not talking about an armed robber here or a person who has raped or murdered people !
@Paul
There’s no dispensation for people on the dole regarding water rates. Just as there is no dispensation for people on the dole regarding property tax rates.
agree Paul.
In Irish society the very rich and the very poor are ok. It is the ‘middle ground’ that are suffering the most and bearing most of the burden.
I know families where both parents are working & barely making ends meet. They hardly have time to spend with their children – let alone be out on streets protesting.
If some of these ‘protesters’ gave even a fraction of their time to something constructive, say voluntary or community work, education, or helping those more needy than themselves, Ireland would be a far better place.
It’s just as well you know everyone of these protesters personally Zoe, otherwise your comment would be an over generalization of a bunch of people you didn’t know, which would be quite stupid really.
What’s wrong is that we already pay through taxation. What’s wrong is that this corrupt government allowed Irish Water to waste such a huge amount of money on consultancy fees. What’s wrong is that they put someone in charge of Irish Water who should rightly be regarded as unemployable, given his past history on the Poolbeg incinerator fiasco and the wasted €108 million it represents.
By the way, this is not about the rights or wrongs of the water charges or unemployment payments; it’s about how the rewards of public representation will see a man prostitute his dignity…
They are cutting off the water to disadvantaged and poor working people in Detroit USA as I write. Water is now designated a “foodstuff” by Nestle’s CEO with all that implies, ie controlled by corporations for profit. Water meters are the thin end of the wedge. They will cut off your supply with the click of a mouse.
They are cutting off the water supplies to disadvantaged people in Detroit USA as we speak. Water will be the new oil, controlled by the same corporations, it is now considered a foodstuff according to Nestle’s CEO. Water meters are just the beginning, they will turn off your supply with a click of a mouse.
True. Nestlé’s CEO is reported as having said that “nobody has a right to clean water”. While I’m no socialist, there is such a thing as a “natural monopoly”, water being one of them, and they should never, ever be in the hands of corporations.
It is an outrage that this man’s circumstances was discussed publicly in the Dail and this is a flagrant abuse of the privilege rule, this man has a constitutional right to protest and it is implied that to protest against the government or their ( misguided) policies warrants the jackboot. Further this “TD” had not the courage to name his source using the same privilege as he felt free to name the alleged protestor, shame shame shame.
What this clown is trying to do is set a precedent, as an example if an old age pensioner protests against pension cuts, they can have their pension removed or a business person protests against a rise in rates, that they can have their C2 removed. Give him his answer in the next election.
Ps; Mrs Doyle, will you get back to your day job of just making tea, you are an embarrassment to Craggy Island
Im sensing a little hostility from you Jimmy Preston are you a member of the “organisation” DSN because they always have an insult when they run out of things to say
What in gods name has Craggy Island got to do with this discussion I ask you
Applies for 35 jobs a week and is still unemployed?
A few tips, don’t send the same CV out to everybody. Tailor your CV for each job, include a cover letter that is tailored to each job. Explain how you meet the job specifications refer to previous jobs/ skills and education.
Get someone else to look at your CV. Upskill with relevant skills not Mickey Mouse random courses.
I’m sure he will truly appreciate your valuable input ! You don’t know what this man does or doesn’t do with his applications ! I would suggest getting off your high horse before you fall !
Maggie what ever he is doing isn’t working i’m giving out good advice.
Remove the chip from your shoulder and wake up. In one month that’s 135 jobs that he hasn’t gotten. He needs to change his approach. At the moment something is making him unemployable his CV and cover letter is the barrier between a job and the dole.
There’s obviously a problem that needs to be fixed.
Because at 5 cvs a day over 3 months that’s 500 jobs he has not gotten. If he was doing it I find it very hard to believe that he did it land 1 of them.
I also suspect that he has been unemployed for more than 3 months so the number could be closer to 2000 jobs.
Of you read the article you would know that he has been unemployed for 2 years, not 3 months. But sure its easy to find a job, there are 5462 jobs advertised in the country on jobs.ie, more than enough for the 400,000 unemployed plus the 200,000 people that have left in the last few years.
Obviously not, but if even just 5% of jobs were advertised there then that would still leave 290,000 more unemployed people than there are jobs available.
Ive sent off 3,4&5 cvs a day, since march I had one interview out of it all. Employers arent even replying to tell ya your rejected. So yes it is possible that there isnt a lpt of jobs. Ive up skilled change my cv around to suit specific job. Maybe you believe the spin the government has on job creation but I dont believe it
Same as my partner Grainne, applying for jobs left, right and centre, 9 out of 10 replies are ‘sorry you are over qualified’ or ‘sorry you are under qualified’. People with jobs that are not trying to re-gain employment have no clue how hard it is to get a job. Take two examples, the Garda recruitment drive back in December had 25,000 applications for 300 places and the Army had near 30,000 for 900 places. Both examples is less than 1% chance of being successful, thats what these clowns dont understand
Who si this creep anyway ? I never heard of him before. Has he ever spoken on an issue or been involved in the introduction of or amending legislation ?
Why do we pay creeps like T Flanagan when his wages alone — forget about his perks like expenses and milage — could support ten people who find themselves unfortunate enough to be unemployed ???
Did Flanagan hand back the money he earned as a TD when he was out canvassing for his mates in the local elections? Surely it is not part of his job to help his mates get into power.
@neeneee
Please check your facts before making inane statements every household will pay water charges regardless of their income or ability or lack of ability to pay… You might also check back to 1987 and read the articles and statutes we pay for our water now in VAT every person or child who makes a purchase of anything pays VAT …. vAT was increased by 5p to allow the governments coffers cope while rates were removed from every house hold… Check your facts… And they are FACTS undisputed facts …. You in effect are saying your prepared to pay twice for the same thing …. Change your name to Ninny and go stand at the back of the class.
I’m amazed at the comments here. A TD has responsibilities not only to the electorate but to the taxpayer who may not be the same. We want more whistleblowers. This may well be one.
If the facts are true then he is correct to ask, if not then he owes the man an apology. It’s up to the Minister to respond.
Anecdotally we all know there are professional protestors out there, other miscellaneous spongers on the welfare system, medical cards with people who shouldn’t have them, public sector workers who have or do no work. In short massive waste of taxpayers money while services and front line service workers are cut.
I know of dozens of cases of wasted money and idle work dodgers “employed” and “unemployed”. Most people do. Who do you tell? Who takes action?
If not TD’s then who represents the taxpayers interests?
If somebody is a professional protester then they are by definition employed. It is not possible to be professional and unemployed, the two words are antithetical.
God ,you are so right Liam, T flanagan, TD should take a whip to the evil Egan, righteous people like the very rev TD should be allowed to punish evil doles , , no ,not enough allowed to execute ,yes that is the sort of right that “great people” like MR. Flanagan should be doing. Well, we voted them in
Whistle blowers report new information, this man is attending public protests and welfare are obviously aware of the payments being made to him, where is the new information? This is an attempt to intimidate , nothing else.
@ Liam What are you amazed at? People’s anger that a TD would use the privilege of the Dail to try and further impoverish an employed person? The biggest waste of taxpayers money and the biggest spongers in the country are government politicians and their cronies. But that might never cross your begrudging small mindedness.
It is rumoured that the wisdom of the west is alive and well when it comes to water meters.
No protests ; just let them put them in and then wait till they’re gone ; no point in denying a man a day’s work ; it’s not his fault probably has a family to feed !
Then when they are gone a strange magical urban water terrorist who ahs never been seen for some reason comes along in the middle of the night, opens the lid of the meter and pours concrete in , so that when the bill comes and is ignored for National Pride reasons if nothing else, they can’t be turned down and concreted closed !
There isn’t a money-grabber in the world who can come between an Irishman and his water !
As a law- abiding citizen I hope they catch this water terrorist and buy him a drink !
@ mark Our TDs get more than enough for doing f**k all except lying to people. The tradition of lying sits well with those parasites. Why dont you put a photo up? Or are you another spineless young FG troll who is afraid to be seen.
Why should I have to put a picture up? I can see a thumbnail of you, could be f*cking anybody.. Not sure what difference that makes? I’m not a Fine Gael supporter. Give me politicians over salt of the earth skangers anyday of the week.
you might enlighten us all where the jobs are ? i suppose there is no recession and there are not half a million less jobs there than during height of the ” celtic tiger “
@ mark …. that in fact is me in the thumbnail if you’re on the side of the spongers, parasites, liars, cowards and crooks, i’m not surprised you dont have the guts to post a pic to your name!
@Caoimhin, I already stated that I have no problem with legitimate people getting social welfare. People who through no fault of their own are out of work and are pro-actively doing something about it. My problem is with the armies of tattooed, tracksuit wearing skangers and dirtbags walking our streets who are handed everything on a plate, including free houses for their dirtbird girlfriends and ugly kids. Same goes for these smelly pothead hippies who protest for a living and sponge off the state. I’m not a Fianna Fáil supporter.. I don’t support any political party.
Egan has been unemployed for 2 years so he does a course in European language studies thinking that will get him a job. Are you kidding me!!! – Try developing a real skill thats actually useful and I’ll side with him that he’s been wronged by the system
WHAT THE ( F ) IS GOING ON,, THIS MAN NEED A GOOD WAKE UP CALL , DID HE NOT HERE OFF FREE SPEECH AND THE RIGHT TO PEACE FULL PROTEST,, IT GET THING THAT SOON WE WONT BE ABLE TO STEP OUT OUR DOOR’S IN FEAR IT WILL COST US MORE UN JUST TAX’S,, HE’ S A FOOL ,, THE GOVERNMENT ARE A JOKE ,, GOD KNOWS WHAT PEOPLE IN OTHER COUNTRY’S ARE SAYING ABOUT US .
A wealthy Theif, abusing his power that was given to him in the first place by the public who misguidedly voted him into power, well that can be undone next election , Cut his gravy train citizens and DO NOT VOTE FOR HIM OR IS ILK AGAIN
The dole is an expense too far for the WORKING people of Ireland. Should have been abandoned long ago! Bertie was too kind to the “underprivileged” (heroin users) and now the country is doomed! Youthreach should have a mandatory course on setting up a water meter and the unemployed should be put to work installing them! Pathetic, leftist establishment. The revolution is not far now..
It’s such a shame that in tough times so many people will cruelly and vindictively turn on each other to blame their problems on those even less fortunate. Sometimes it seems that this country is just bursting with nasty and uncaring dog-in-manger types; and in that vein, this Flanagan guy really takes the biscuit for being petty and vindictive, happy to trample on the rights of anyone with whom his small mind disagrees. Shouldn’t public representatives strive to make peoples lives better not worse? But then you look at Mark Egan who stands up for others as well as himself and it’s good for the soul. Another thing that is good for the soul is to read all the comments on here as most people seem to be in agreement that this Flanagan guy is in the wrong – maybe more people will take courage from Mark’s stand now. I salute Mark and wish him all the best – hopefully his willingness to care will prove contagious and spread quickly.
The Lad, who is on the dole does not need to defend himself. Forget about that. The people in Government have given him all the rights and reasons to protest.
If this is true, the that means pensioners could have their pensions delayed, and civil servants, seen at protests their wages delayed, and promotion cut of, demotion or other harassment could take place.
Not to long ago Alan Shatter was in deep trouble for using mining information on his political opposition unlawfully(even boasted on television that he was doing it !). Breech of Data Protection law was also raised at the time. As the government increases unemployment, increases poverty, and forces immigration of Ireland’s future(they admit). Then are they also now using the dirtiest tactic in the book ?
Allot of people who work long hours to try and keep themselves in their homes would love to be out protesting, and would love to spend their time bringing this undemocratic travesty to an end. I can’t imagine they would resent other protesting who can, but resent those who can that don’t.
Terrance Flannagan’s explanation of this matter will be the decider if he can even safely canvas in next general election.,
without being flanked by Gardai to try intimidate votes out of people. Good thing we have a secret ballot in Ireland(that we didn’t have in the past).
sigh…..where to begin on this one! Firstly I must say that I do think it is fundementally wrong to bring up individual case files in such a manner as Terence has done in this case. However that being said I applaud terence’s motives and I believe it is absolutely about time td’s and others question those who spend all their time protesting ie career protesters. A quick look at any of these dublin says no water protests will quickly establish that the same people, about 10-15 (not all mind you just some) or so are there causing a nuisance every hour of every day during the week. I say they are “causing a nuisance” and not that they are “genuine protesters” because I am aware of these same 10/15 people being involved in protests from everything to save palestine, anti-israel, anti-british and every other protest that remotely sparks an interfering interest for them. Quite simply these individuals should be targeted by welfare and their dole stopped immediately because they are wasting garda resources and are not doing for the good of the country, no they do it for their own ego, they most likely havent worked in years feel detached from the establishment and wanna waste everyones time getting their own back ie. put 2 fingers to the proverbial man. Finally I will say that as someone who knows the ambulance crew on duty last week when one of these “dublin says no” protesters allegedly injured themselves once again, he was personally disgusted at how you jumped up morons were willing to waste such precious resources on a lady who clearly had nothing wrong with her…unfortunately protocol meant she had to be taken to hospital. I hope in future you guys strt paying extra for all those wasted garda and ambulance services you call out. Oh ye and Im not one of these so called “blueshirts” you paranoid people think are hacking journal.ie…..goodnight
I have been writing to the minister Howlin re FOI and have had a sudden review of an appeal i recently won . here is his latest email to Simon Harris about me – dont you think he sounds annoyed?
Ms O’Sullivan has already contacted me on this subject and I responded to her last February, setting out my position in relation to Section 8 of the Freedom of Information Bill 2013, including the rationale for replacing Sections 15 and 16 of the Freedom of Information Act 1997 with this new provision. I am attaching a copy of my reply to Ms O’Sullivan for your information in that regard.
In addition, I recently answered two Parliamentary Questions which were put down by Deputies Eric Byrne and Dominic Hannigan on behalf of Ms O’Sullivan on the same subject. I am attaching a copy of my reply to those questions also, which I feel makes my position in this matter very clear.
I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that the move to publication schemes rather than the current Section 15 and 16 manuals represents a progressive step designed to lead to an increase in the proactive publication of information by public bodies and is in no way designed to restrict the publication of material by those bodies. I would also like to reiterate that one of the important aims of both the Bill and the Code of Practice for the operation of FOI, a draft of which I intend to publish for public consultation in due course, is to improve the consistency and standardisation of approach by public bodies in responding to FOI requests and to ensure they are dealt with as efficiently as possible.
Yours sincerely
Brendan Howlin TD
Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform
Actually when I checked with Eric Byrne’s office they assured me that the did NOT eter their question my behalf. In fact TDs never attach which citizen the query is from on Dail Questions. Very Strange I must say. He also did not answer the question which was this What is the procedure for amending a ‘code of practice’ after it has been legislated for via both houses of the Oireachteas?
More attempts at social division. Fact is anyone with half a brain sees this for what it is a precursor to a privatized Water supply company a monopoly with infinite profit potential. The idiots who support this company can wipe the smug smile off their faces with when they are paying €700+ water charges in 2018.
That is what is happening everywhere else in EU and that is what will happen here. Only difference is it wont be sold to the highest bidder it will be sold at a bargain basement price to a home grown billionaire to ‘look after our own’.
Ireland had almost 100% employment back in early 2000′s, but according to some a large portion of the population have suddenly become lazy useless wasters and don’t have a right to democratic protest. Fact is not every area has enough jobs to go round unless we all move to Dublin, Galway and Cork. I have been to a Water Protest in my own county and most of the people there had jobs or were of pensionable age.
As for this tool and his party, they offer nothing new and really should just doe everyone a favour and stop pretending they aren’t Fine Gael.
Here’s a better question, why don’t we make TD salaries performance related? And when they make the inevitable hugely expensive cock up or are caught for extortion, they do community service and have huge pension cut.
he looks like the idiot who a few months ago out side the dail replied to a question on exorbiton wages and expences to our T Ds ” if you pay peanuts you get Monkeys. ” …think your own thoughts
he looks like the clown who outside the dail a few months ago in answer to a question on the exorbiton wages and expences replied …” if you pay peanuts you get Monkeys “…..i’ll lets you think your own thoughts on that.
Just another spastic on the right who believes that we the people should have no civil liberties, I’ll tell you what he should do he should go out and hunt down the organised criminals who make their substantial earnings through murder, hard drugs, intimidation and violence WHILE claiming every benefit under the sun….It’s not a crime to be long term unemployed AND being active in a movement that tries to change the country for the better
If it wasn’t for the unemployed in the country there be no one to stop these meters going in fair play to everyone out standing up for our rights y don’t all the people in support of the water charge and this government have a march in support of them
Where are the water meter people? They are shouting out for individual privacy rights. It is a call for personal freedoms that \i feel most would support and, in fact, insist on.
Sinn Fein TD’s High Court challenge to government’s 'super junior' ministers adjourned
30 mins ago
Earthquake
Death toll from earthquake rises to more than 2,700 people in Myanmar
Updated
1 hr ago
On Yer Bike
Parents banned from driving kids to four schools' gates in new Dublin initiative
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say