You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Taoiseach admits using personal email address for government business

He said it is for “operational reasons”.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told the Dáil that he uses a personal email account for official business.

However, Kenny said that he does not transmit “corporate business” on the email address, which he has “had for some time”.

Kenny was asked by Fianna Fáil leader Micheal Martin whether his Department has a policy on the use of unofficial email accounts.

He said that the Department has “detailed lCT policies relating to the use of e-mail and the Internet which are provided to all staff” but Martin pressed him on the use of personal emails.

“I endeavour to ascertain from the Taoiseach whether he is satisfied that our system is fit for purpose in the context of the challenges democratic Governments now face regarding the security of their IT systems, in particular in respect of e-mail accounts and so on.

There is the official route of encryption of official documents and so on but also the separate matter of the use of unofficial e-mails.

Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams and Labour’s Brendan Howlin also voiced their concerns in the wake of news that Russian hackers had sought to influence the US election by hacking the Democratic and Republican parties.

Kenny responded that he was “advised that the situation is secure” but that a personal address was used.

“I have a private e-mail account that pre-dates my time as Taoiseach and which I use for personal correspondence or for party political correspondence that would not be appropriate to transmit on an official e-mail account from the Department.

“The Department has an official account for my constituency office for receipt of matters relevant to the Cabinet or the agenda in that sense. Sometimes I receive correspondence through that official e-mail address.

I also use a secure corporate e-mail account to enable officials to send me priority e-mails when I am out of the office. I can access this e-mail account on my mobile telephone or iPad. No corporate data, other than e-mail and calendar data, is accessible from these devices. All corporate data on the devices is encrypted. Both devices are protected through specialised mobile device management products.
Obviously, I generally use the corporate e-mail for official purposes. In the past, there have been occasions when I have used that personal e-mail because of operational reasons. However, information does not go there from the secured encrypted e-mails. Government agenda or business comes to me via encrypted e-mail addresses.

“I have seen what happens internationally. Irrespective of the firewalls put in place, I have a healthy scepticism of the ability of people to be able to breach them.”

Last month, it was revealed that the Garda Commissioner Noirín O’Sullivan had used a private gmail account to discuss garda business.

Read: Updated: Commissioner used private gmail account to discuss garda business

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

77 Comments
    Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:31 PM

Hahahahahaha. He’ll do and say anything to look like an important international statesman. Can’t wait for the next instalment when Putin hacks the account. ‘That’s a breast snackbox, Fionnuala, but hold the curry sauce.’

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:26 PM

Remember when the US were hacking world leaders phones and his department conducted an investigation to see if he was on the list ? To paraphrase Oscar Wilde… “The only thing worse than finding out you’ve been hacked by the US government is finding out you haven’t”….

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:34 PM

Taoiseach’s highly personal emails are from Dobby, Phil Hogan, Michael Lowry, Alan Kelly and such like about highly personal matters outside of the scope of the Freedom of Information Act.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:58 PM

In fairness I’d assume DoB’s communications mysteriously and anonymously arrive by a USB in an envelope on Endas desk.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:18 PM

@Poole Hyde: that’s the standard approach.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:30 PM

Michael, if it’s that easy to get a “package” to DoB… well we’ll just leave it there shall we…

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Dec 13th 2016, 8:24 PM

Written in crayon more like

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 14th 2016, 11:11 PM

@Micheal OLainn: At least he has stopped using the Ouija board?

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:20 PM

Staggering level of carelessness in this day and age.
    Seems stupidity is not the exclusive preserve of the US Democratic Party.

Mute Bryan Yelahw
    Favourite Bryan Yelahw
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:26 PM

Is gmail any more or less secure than an oireachtas email address?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

If the man had any brains there might be a problem.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:32 PM

@Bryan Yelahw:
    I would sincerely hope there are greater layers of security on government systems.

@Bryan Yelahw: Well according to Enda himself the oireachtas email service is encrypted while gmail is not….

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:38 PM

Much much less…. they can do what they like with your email content!!…. When you upload, submit, store, send or receive content to or through our Services, you give Google (and those we work with) a worldwide licence to use, host, store, reproduce, modify, create derivative works (such as those resulting from translations, adaptations or other changes that we make so that your content works better with our Services), communicate, publish, publicly perform, publicly display and distribute such content. The rights that you grant in this licence are for the limited purpose of operating, promoting and improving our Services, and to develop new ones. This licence continues even if you stop using our Services (for example, for a business listing that you have added to Google Maps).

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:55 PM

Alrx. I doubt even Trump would have anything to say to him, and Trump to me is less than nothing.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:16 PM

Use of private emails is common practice in governments worldwide, you’re considered reckless if you don’t, as FOI means official email is never secure.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 14th 2016, 12:33 AM

@Bryan Yelahw: Yes, because you need to have access to sign into the private network, the security credentials of the private network and your own personal email security information. If there is a breach that information is logged and available to the network owner so they’d be able to identify the material that was accessed.
    Anyone on the planet can open a browser and sign into a gmail account if you have the login information.

Mute George Brown
    Favourite George Brown
    Dec 14th 2016, 12:48 AM

@Rochelle: People, including Enda, need education on that.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:30 PM

themayoturnip@yahoo,com

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:37 PM

@Michael Clinton: that is a horrible slur on turnips, most of which are far more intelligent than our glorious Taoiseach.

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:59 PM

@Michael Clinton: He is useing gobshit@gmail.com

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:19 PM

Not the first comment I’ve seen here referencing Mayo. What has where the Taoiseach is from got to do with this story? I never heard the counties of Cowan or Ahern brought into it? Or for that matter Adana, Murphy and the like

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Dec 13th 2016, 10:56 PM

Brian Cowan is more commonly referred to as biffo! No escaping the county reference there. Healy raes synonymous with Kerry.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:22 PM

This is ok how? TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told the Dáil that he uses a personal email account for official business.
    Ah its like the Garda commissioner. It’s grand nothing to worry about.
    Now enda explain how private emails end up with journalists?

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:24 PM

Enda doesn’t explain his motives to the peasants…

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:29 PM

@LITTLEONE: Where does it actually say that in the article?

As far as I can see it says he uses his personal email address for personal emails..

“I have a private e-mail account that pre-dates my time as Taoiseach and which I use for personal correspondence or for party political correspondence that would not be appropriate to transmit on an official e-mail account”

“information does not go there from the secured encrypted e-mails. Government agenda or business comes to me via encrypted e-mail addresses”

I’d say you’d struggle to find anyone that doesn’t have a person email address alongside their work one.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

@ManOnTheStreet: Motives . Enda wouldn’t be able to conceive a motive. Someone else would have to explain it to him.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:30 PM

@Shane Corry: did you read the article. Very first paragraph.
    TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has told the Dáil that he uses a personal email account for official business.. he told the dail.. are you saying he didn’t? But then he lird in the dail

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

Lied

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:52 PM

LITTLEONE. He really is a gob chiyte go back to Mayo you ignorant gombeen.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:54 PM

Little one he said official business, not official fail business.

As others have said, most individuals with corporate accounts also receive communication to personal emails which often predate the corporate. As long as no confidential information I don’t see the issue.

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:59 PM

@ LITTLEONE He is such an Idiot. His party should have never given him the role of Leader he is one of the worst in the Country with Haughty and Aherne. The 3 Stooges.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:40 PM

Private emails in the interests of openness, transparency and integrity.

In reality, secrecy is the hand maiden of corruption, not that any Irish politician would ever, ever engage in corrupt actions.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 13th 2016, 9:27 PM

You’ve got Rupert Murdoch to thank for that, the first rule of politics is now: how could this be twisted into something it’s not on the front page of a Murdoch paper ? Ok best I send it by private email !

Mute *The* Brendan Gordon
    Favourite *The* Brendan Gordon
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:06 PM

Much more telling that he describes government business as corporate business

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 14th 2016, 11:19 PM

@*The* Brendan Gordon: Following the U.S. Model with the Industrial Millitary Complex? There they just start wars?

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:26 PM

Why not just get something like Google for Apps (Like gmail but with a custom URL / branding / admin panel etc)

Much simpler than using some expensive, internally built email solution that’s not fit for purpose meaning you have to use a Gmail address anyway.

https://gsuite.google.com/industries/government/

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:02 PM

Ah don’t go confusing the man.

Mute George Brown
    Favourite George Brown
    Dec 14th 2016, 12:45 AM

@Shane: Shouldn’t trust any one organisation, like Google, with protecting the world’s government data. Gives them too much power. And that much power is very incentivising.

Better for individual countries to spend their money and effort creating much smaller networks for their government. I’m not saying it will be more secure, but it will be better for civilisation in the long run, I believe.

Mute Robert Burke
    Favourite Robert Burke
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:23 PM

I’m sure all the people in Ireland who supported Hillary in the U.S. election will leap to his defence.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:21 PM

It may come as a surprise to you but use of private email by governments the world over is not only common practice but is considered prudent. Their a very good reason for that, but I can tell you’re post-truth kinda guy and therefore not interested in why.

Mute George Brown
    Favourite George Brown
    Dec 14th 2016, 12:52 AM

@Boganity: As long as he’s not doing anything work related on his private email, I don’t see a problem. He probably is though. What do you reckon?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 14th 2016, 6:03 AM

FOI means official email is not secure so public officials avoid it for that reason

Mute liam hayes
    Favourite liam hayes
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:27 PM

Stupid fuc##r

Mute Barry Flynn
    Favourite Barry Flynn
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:33 PM

Lock him up! Lock him up!

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:30 PM

I’d normally be the first to complain but meh, whatever.
    After the news that €2,000,000,000.00 was wasted on the setup of a soon to be privatised quango it’s a little problem.

Mute Roibeard O Beachain
    Favourite Roibeard O Beachain
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:56 PM

Was he making sure the Mayo county board coughed up All Ireland tickets for his buddy Michelle?

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:49 PM

I hope People are not surprised Kenny is a crook in the making.

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:44 PM

It has to be either dumb.dumb@gmail.com or pat.my.head&watch.me.purr@gmail.com. Password 1234.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:09 PM

Does it really matter?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 13th 2016, 9:23 PM

Not in the least John, quite the opposite in fact. Only a fool uses official email because FOI means it’s not secure. If a public official anywhere tells you they only use official email they’re lying.

Mute Potatoe-man
    Favourite Potatoe-man
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:01 PM

Lock him up, lock him up!!

Mute Andre Carboni
    Favourite Andre Carboni
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:40 PM

I always accidentally use my personal email instead of my college email when emailing lectures it’s actually quite an easy mistake so I kinda understand why he did. Also when I was younger my school won a green flag for being environmentally aware and Enda raised the flag for us. he seemed pretty sound and quite funny

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:58 PM

@Andre Carboni:
    Why? Did he tel you some really funny jokes or something?
    OH, the one about meeting ‘an environmentally friendly man the other day…’ Absolutely hilarious that one, A real gem.
    Your fond memories of that mirthful day are perfectly understandable Andre.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Dec 13th 2016, 11:00 PM

You said it was Bertie last week.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:39 PM
    Mute Jim Kirby
    Favourite Jim Kirby

Does it really matter?

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls

No. Just another non story to feed the appetite of the headline readers

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Dec 13th 2016, 6:50 PM

@Jim Kirby: does it really matter? That the taoiseach along with the Garda commissioner use Gmail for official business. The fact you asked that is amazing and the fact Niall’s agreed with you is something else.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:31 PM

It’s common practice the world over for public officials to use private emails as FOI means they are never secure. In fact one of the conditions of use for official emails is “never write anything you would not want made public”.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 14th 2016, 11:08 PM

@Jim Kirby: No, he was probably hacked ages ago…

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 13th 2016, 8:45 PM

He must resign now.

Mute Stephen Finn
    Favourite Stephen Finn
    Dec 13th 2016, 9:19 PM

kenny a dead man walking now you see him now you dont i thought he was our great leader!!

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Dec 13th 2016, 10:02 PM

Shocking. Can’t believe this t1t can use a computer.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:38 PM

Suppose in some mitigation there’s a big difference between using unsecured email servers when you have a senior role in a government of a country that possesses the capacity to reach out and destroy anywhere with yottatonnes of nuclear fire from anywhere else on the planet (hello Hilliary), and when you have a senior role in a government of a country that …well…all due respect here but….two Piper Cubs, a couple RiBs and a rowing boat along with the Sliabh na mBan and a few ancient .303s and Lugers off the Asgard…comparatively speaking I mean…I just can’t see the Enemies of the Free World having IndaDeMightyFramDeBogBelowBelmullet@hotmail.com high up their list of cyber-attack targets. But ya never know I suppose…

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Dec 13th 2016, 7:21 PM

Didn’t learn his lesson from Hillary then!

Mute Geoff Lillis
    Favourite Geoff Lillis
    Dec 14th 2016, 6:08 AM

In his defence the houses of the Oireachtas use Lotus Notes, a mockery of an e-mail system created by IBM. It is to e-mail what tying stone tablets to pigeons is to post. Hiring a town crier would be faster, more secure, and less of a morass of bad design and unpredictable behaviour.

Mute Gaucho Doyle
    Favourite Gaucho Doyle
    Dec 14th 2016, 9:22 AM

Where are the Russians, when you need them?

Mute Gaucho Doyle
    Favourite Gaucho Doyle
    Dec 14th 2016, 9:53 AM

AnTaoiseach@gmail.com exists and it wouldn’t surprise me if he was that dumb to use that handle

Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee
    Dec 13th 2016, 8:05 PM
    Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Dec 13th 2016, 9:11 PM

Keeping up with the joneses!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 14th 2016, 11:07 PM

Yes the one that is http://www.merkelsbeast.conjob