You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

BERNAL REVERT/Belga/Press Association Images

Taoiseach to boast about Irish presidency in Strasbourg today

It will be Enda Kenny’s last job as part of Ireland’s presidency of the Council of Europe.

ENDA KENNY WILL make a speech to the European Parliament in Strasbourg today to outline the achievements of Ireland’s Presidency of the Council of Europe.

The address will focus on the agreement on the Multi-annual Financial Framework (MFF) reached over the past six months, as well as the EU’s seven-year, €960 billion budget.

The parliament is expected to vote on the MFF on Wednesday with Kenny urging them to give its consent.

“The political agreement on the MFF will unlock funding for a range of measures to stimulate growth and to target youth unemployment in the EU. It is a good deal for Europe,” he explained.

The Taoiseach also said he is “proud” that Ireland “overwhelmingly delivered” on the ambitions it set out in January.

“The many positive results achieved show that Europe can deliver for its citizens,” he said.

Kenny is also due to hold a bilateral meeting with the President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, ahead of a press conference.

Ireland has already handed over the presidency to Lithuania.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:56 AM

That’s it Taoiseach, go to Europe to indulge in your favourite pastime, getting patted on the head.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, where you’ve done feck all, the country limps on.

Mute Fiona Upton
    Favourite Fiona Upton
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:31 AM

I’m getting a bit tired of these “troll bait” headlines from TheJournal.

Our Taoiseach is supposed to go abroad and sell Ireland.
    Boasting or not, he’s doing the job we elected him to do.

What do you expect him to do, go abroad and say we’re terrible?

Mute Negrodamus
    Favourite Negrodamus
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:36 AM

No i expect him to stay at home be a man and a strong leader and not a bankers puppet.

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:40 AM

Ride in a brottle springs to mind .

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:41 AM

no i expected him to try an sort out the mess this country is in. the ordinary people are so so fed up an he seems to be doing nothing.

Mute Negrodamus
    Favourite Negrodamus
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:49 AM

John he is just going there coz drumm sent him looking for a long stand, or even a short rest.

Mute Fran
    Favourite Fran
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:52 AM

@Fiona Upton
    ‘Boasting or not, he’s doing the job we elected him to do.’

What planet do you live on?
    We elected him to serve the people of this country first and foremost and he has failed miserably…he has sided with the moneymen and sold his people down the river

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:29 AM

Sorry but he is not doing the job the European Parliament wanted him to do. The member state governments and European Parliament came at the budget negotiations from very different angles.
    Hopefully the European Parliament will vote against it as it’s not enough.

Mute Enda
    Favourite Enda
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:32 AM

Greens/EFA Co-President Rebecca Harms attacks the backward looking EU Budget proposal that spends more money on agriculture than on youth unemployment. She also calls for the upcoming trade negotiations with the US to be put on hold following the revelations of US NSA spying on the EU.

Auf Deutsch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oP7YvBo8WlA

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Jul 2nd 2013, 12:28 PM

Well said Fiona. Negrodamus seems a little confused about Enda’s role in the banking crisis (ie he didn’t have one – before his time). We need as many friends as possible in Europe and anything he does to ensure this is important. Staying at home, like a man ??? I’m not sure how that would benefit us.

Mute Negrodamus
    Favourite Negrodamus
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:56 AM

This shame of a man will be the laughing stock of the European parliament. Wait till a few MEPs let him know what they think of the Anglo situation.

Kenny is a serpent.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:18 AM

Lick lick.

Mute Daniel Bohan
    Favourite Daniel Bohan
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:58 AM

Came through Dublin Castle on my way to work today, as I do most days. Glad to see full access to the castle has been restored, and they’re removing all of the paraphernalia. Was getting sick of a) having to change my route to work every day and b) coming home every night to a fleet of Fitzers catering vans outside the castle, while I go home to cry into a tin of beans!

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:08 AM

Does he not feel like a total charleton standing in front of real leaders? I’m sure they have no respect for him like us.

Mute Charlie O Neill
    Favourite Charlie O Neill
    Jul 2nd 2013, 8:58 AM

Enda looking for another pat on the head

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:44 AM

I know where is love to pat him .

Mute Wes Freeman
    Favourite Wes Freeman
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:09 AM

What a knob.

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:42 AM

More like the back end of a knob . A big fu,,,,,g sack.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:07 AM

And upon his return he will unleash hell upon the Irish people.

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:44 AM

He couldn’t frighten the cat anymore , we all know he’s a spineless piece of turkey shite , let him stay over there .

Mute Thomas Cooke
    Favourite Thomas Cooke
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:28 AM

That’s an overly negative headline for an event that culminates the success of the Irish Presidency of the EU. I know we appear to be swamped in a sea of negativity at the moment but to be fair Ireland done a very good job in spite of the challenges.

Kelly’s Heroes Oddball: “Why don’t you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don’t you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don’t you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?”

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:30 AM

thomas you might list off ireland’s achievements during its EU presidency Jan 2013 to June 2013.

Mute Sean Mac
    Favourite Sean Mac
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:35 AM

Oddball was a drug addict tommy ;)

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:48 AM

redthumbs don’t count as an achievement
    try again FG Cretins

Mute Joe Bishop
    Favourite Joe Bishop
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:04 AM
    Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:53 AM

love the FOR STABILITY, JOBS & GROWTH slogan ,
    merely buzz words ,

Stability ……………..the euro is still on a knife edge
    Jobs ………………….26million unemployed “nuff said”
    Growth……………….do you mean the green shoots ? only green shots seen around here are the increase in cannibis growing and diesel laundering

Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:22 AM

Bell end

Jul 2nd 2013, 9:25 AM

The club sits down and claps one of their own. Mind if I got a euro for every time one of our leaders mentions jobs I wouldn’t need one. All talk and hot air paid for by the European tax payer.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:17 AM

Go home Enda ypur drunk

Mute sean
    Favourite sean
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:17 AM

I bet starsbourg (comedy club) can’t wait for this i’m sure they could do with a good laugh

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:32 AM

punch drunk with an ego of self importance 9its time for real leaders in europe to ask him questions as he is not listening to his own people

Mute Ryan Murphy
    Favourite Ryan Murphy
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:10 AM

This headline is pure inflammatory bollocks.

Mute Sean Mac
    Favourite Sean Mac
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:43 AM

Poor old Edna Kenny, As Tim Barter off Sky called him at the Irish Open, This photo of auld Edna has such a look of defeat and resignation on his mush, This man is beaten before he enters the building.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:57 AM

Anyone ever tell poor ole Enda self praise is no praise???

Mute BadDrivingIreland
    Favourite BadDrivingIreland
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:21 AM

All he can boast about is another photo opportunity because he is useless at anything else.

Mute Frank Mulqueen
    Favourite Frank Mulqueen
    Jul 2nd 2013, 10:48 AM

Now there is a fair headline. Hmmm Sinead?

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 2nd 2013, 9:49 AM

I’d love to know what bell end keeps removing my posts . Identify yourself you halfwit

Mute Mark Power
    Favourite Mark Power
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:30 AM

The government led by Enda Kenny has repeatedly failed on the home front since taking office , to highlight this the recent bill passed to tackle distressed mortgages has given the banks the upper hand once more . There is no cohesive jobs strategy the unemployment figures are still way too high he has co cent rated on PR styled issues rather than the promised reform he gas led the most undemocratic government in the states history that have continually guillotined debates and have rushed through important pieces of legislation with little or no debate .
    His handling of the Seanad abolition has been nothing short if dictatorship not even allowing the option for the people to vote to reform the upper house .

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:44 AM

The only thing we’ll be remembered for are those Anglo Tapes!

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Jul 2nd 2013, 1:16 PM

Kenny and creighton in Brussels remind me of the following,
    Anne franks drum kit
    Ejector seat in a helicopter
    Plastic oven
    Pedal powered wheelchair
    Britney spears high school diploma
    a gelignite suppository
    A soluble life boat

Mute sean fitzgearld
    Favourite sean fitzgearld
    Jul 2nd 2013, 11:50 AM

Did his mammy not tell him”self praise is no praise”

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 2nd 2013, 3:11 PM

Some comments here criticise the headline… I would have too… But then I read the “truly madly deeply” cornball from our tears hocked…
    Crystal ball award to TheJournal.ie … Reporting the news before it happens!
    How lucky can you get?