You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taylor Swift on stage at the Aviva Stadium on Friday. Alamy Stock Photo
the dublin era

Taylor Swift gives shoutout to Stevie Nicks in the crowd on final show of three-night Aviva run

She told the crowd the gigs were the first time the Aviva Stadium has been sold out for three-nights in a row.

MUSIC GREAT STEVIE Nicks and Oscar winning actress Julia Roberts were amongst those in the crowd for the final night of Taylor Swift’s three-night run in the Aviva Stadium in Dublin

Fleetwood Mac star Nicks, who is in town for her own show in the 3Arena, was given a shoutout by Swift during the latest leg of her record-breaking Eras tour. 

Swift paid tribute to Nicks at the start of her acoustic set close to the end of her performance. She described a friend of hers watching the show, going on to say mentors are the reasons why many can do what they do, but added they can be rare.

She said one “helped me through so much over the years”, adding: “I’m talking about Stevie Nicks” before playing her song Clara Bow in which Nicks is mentioned.

Swift told fans it was a thrill and an honour to inform them that they made Eras the first tour to ever sell out the Aviva Stadium three nights in a row.

The 34-year-old went on to say that far from being tired on the third night, nights one and two were “just warm-up shows for you”.

The weekend has seen Swiftmania well-and-truly take over the capital, but the hype seems to be justified as attendees spoke about the three-hour performance Swift puts on and the camaraderie amongst fans. 

On Friday, Taoiseach Simon Harris referenced his home county of Wicklow being mentioned by Swift in her song Sweet Nothings hit and that night Swift told the audience that Irish people are “unmatched storytellers”.

Last night, there was also a nod to Ireland during a rendition of her chart-topper We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together, when her dancer Kameron N Saunders jumped in to quip “bleedin’ eejit”.

The dancer usually says something in the vernacular during the line where Swift would usually say “Like Ever” in the recorded edition of the hit.

On Friday, he jumped in with “póg mo thóin” and on Saturday he went with “the neck of ye”.

Swift later in the concert pondered which of her Eras was the “most Irish”, continuing saying she believes it is her album Folklore.

She recalled starting to write the song “two days into the pandemic”; when she created an imaginary world “living in a cabin in a really green and mossy landscape, very Irish”, adding the album is “all about story telling and you guys are gifted story tellers”.

She is next heading to Amsterdam’s Johan Cruyff Arena for her next three shows, running from Thursday to Saturday.

Swift will then plays dates in Switzerland, Italy, Germany, Poland and Austria before returning to the UK in August for five nights at Wembley Stadium in London.

- With reporting by Press Association

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.