You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Graham Hughes/Photocall Ireland!

TCD bans Daily Mail from campus shops

Students voted last night to ban the newspaper from shops over an inaccurate article it ran about UCC student Caolan Mulrooney.

Students at Trinity College Dublin have voted to ban the Daily Mail from campus shops following an inaccurate story it ran about a missing UCC student.

At a meeting of the TCD Students’ Union last night students voted to ban the sale of the newspaper from shops as a “mark of solidarity and respect” for Caolan Mulrooney, whose body was found yesterday morning.

The Irish Mail on Sunday ran an article at the weekend which said that the body of the UCC student had been found in the River Lee.

Gardaí yesterday confirmed that they found the body of the 19-year-old at the rear of a premises on Douglas Street in Cork city on Tuesday morning.

Stephen Garry, who proposed the motion to ban the newspaper, said that the article had proved distressing for friends and family of Caolon Mulrooney.

“The ban was envisaged as a mark of solidarity and respect to Caolan (a fellow Irish university student), his family and his friends, some of whom are TCD students and were undoubtedly deeply distressed by the article,” Garry told TheJournal.ie.

The motion suspends sales of the paper in SU outlets “pending receipt of an apology and review at a future council”.

The President of the Students’ Union, Ryan Bartlett, is to write to the paper to ask for an apology.

The ban on the newspaper came into effect immediately following the motion, and the paper was not on sale in Students’ Union-run shops on campus today.

The wording of the motion implies that the ban will cover both the Irish Daily Mail and the Irish Mail on Sunday.

Caolan Mulrooney was last seen in the early hours of Friday morning in Cork city.

A major search effort was launched over the weekend with hundreds of people taking part. Mulrooney had been a first-year student at University College Cork.

His body was discovered yesterday morning.

Gardaí are not treating his death as suspicious and believe it may have been a tragic accident.

Read more: Body found confirmed to be missing Cork teenager >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Dec 7th 2011, 4:56 PM

proper order, fair play

Mute Jon Jo Ha
    Favourite Jon Jo Ha
    Dec 7th 2011, 4:59 PM

Good call by the students.

Mute green badger
    Favourite green badger
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:36 PM

Should be banned all over Ireland, never mind in trinity!!!!!

Mute Sean McNally
    Favourite Sean McNally
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:02 PM

If they ban a paper on the basis of an inaccurate or poorly researched story, pretty soon there won’t be any papers on sale in Trinity.

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:17 PM

Its was inaccurate – it was outright made-up LIES!

Mute Sean McNally
    Favourite Sean McNally
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:23 PM

All papers lie some of the time, not only by telling lies but mostly by omitting facts which don’t suit editorial/proprietorial policy, therefore logic dictates you ban them all from Trinity.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Dec 8th 2011, 1:31 AM

It states above that they banned the paper as a show of solidarity and respect for those hurt by the fraudulent story. Hardly a banning over ‘factual inaccuracies’, which can and will plague any publication.

I personally wouldn’t expect the ban to last long, but the mail’s apology/retraction will get a lot more attention than most tabloid retractions as a result of the move, which is imo a good thing.

Mute Sarah Cullington
    Favourite Sarah Cullington
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:08 PM

Such an awful paper, am sure there is plenty of alternative reading matter in Trinity.

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:04 AM

Thats not reason enough to ban it.

Mute CMD
    Favourite CMD
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:39 PM

I am totally in support of what the students have done. In fact I have to say I am somewhat surprised if it would be widely read on campus anyway. Its not exactly a model of journalistic skill and integrity. Papers like this should really be brought to account when they publish junk. If they can’t get s story they just make one up. It happened to one of my friends a few years ago. Her husband was found dead (he had collapsed from a heart attack) but one of these rags published a report that he had been involved in a fight using terms like “some reports say” and “might be in connection with”. No basis at all for the story. But they left things vague enough to cover their asses. It’s such a horrible thing to do to a family when they are at their lowest. Scumbags.

Mute Dennis Mc Cartney
    Favourite Dennis Mc Cartney
    Dec 7th 2011, 4:58 PM

Distressing as this was for friends and family, banning a newspaper over a factual inaccuracy seems to be a bit of an over-reaction. This sort of error is inevitable in print media, and I’d challenge TCD SU to give an example of a paper that they still stock that has not caused offense to someone or another in the past through a mistake like this.

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:15 PM

Maybe they should ban all newspapers so!!! I totally agree with the TCD SU.

Mute Kieran Murphy
    Favourite Kieran Murphy
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:39 PM

It wasn’t a factual inaccuracy it was a flat out lie.

Mute Paddy O Donnell
    Favourite Paddy O Donnell
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:20 PM

a factual inconsistency that’s the height of bs.

Mute Dave Minogue
    Favourite Dave Minogue
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:35 PM

‘factual inaccuracies’? Or in other words ‘verifiably wrong’? You’re right, it’s too much to expect a newspaper to verify stories.

Mute Dennis Mc Cartney
    Favourite Dennis Mc Cartney
    Dec 7th 2011, 9:18 PM

They have already published a retraction and apologised: http://www.universitytimes.ie/?p=7263. Sloppy editing, but they didn’t pull the story out of thin air.

Mute NSalmon
    Favourite NSalmon
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:31 PM

Haha..such a paper should be banned anyway most of all in an academic institution! :P

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:23 PM

Fair play to them. That newspaper is an absolute rag anyway

Mute Hank Scorpio
    Favourite Hank Scorpio
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:33 PM

It was decided by the Students’ Union not to sell it in Students’ Union shops on campus… Would you go into a shop and call them fascists because they didn’t sell your favourite soft drink…? It’s entirely up to them what they choose to stock or not stock, and this goes beyond that in that they both have a valid reason and took a vote on it.

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:06 AM

You let the market place decide what is or is not sold. If nobody buys it, it will not be stocked. Do not stoop to censorship.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Dec 8th 2011, 1:38 AM

Actually a shop owner has the right to decide what they will or will not sell. Newsagents are businesses not free markets. If you want something a shop doesn’t stock, tough shit, get it elsewhere. You can’t force a newspaper to stock a particular product any more than you can force specsavers to sell shoes.

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Dec 8th 2011, 10:19 PM

The shop owner is part of the market place . Likewise if he only sells what he himself like he will be out of business, but yes it is his choice.

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 7th 2011, 4:52 PM

once again tcd students union prove themselves a bunch of fascists

Mute Enda Crowley
    Favourite Enda Crowley
    Dec 7th 2011, 4:57 PM

Because the Daily Mail is the leader in accuracy and journalistic integrity?

Mute Conor McCabe
    Favourite Conor McCabe
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:00 PM

Damn them facists using democratic voting to make decisions

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:17 PM

banning a newspaper is exactly the sort of thing youd expect from daily mail readers

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:47 PM

“newspaper”

Mute Oireachtas Retort
    Favourite Oireachtas Retort
    Dec 7th 2011, 8:52 PM

Well according to the Daily Mail [insert lie here]

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Dec 7th 2011, 11:46 PM

Waffler, it is scary that you are getting so many thumbs down, I guess censorship is alive and well in Ireland.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    Dec 8th 2011, 1:25 AM

@waffler: Refusing to stock a product isn’t censorship. Refusing to stock a paper which presents fiction as fact is no different than refusing to stock hardcore pornography on moral grounds. I don’t see how it’s fascistic to refuse to stock a product one has a moral disagreement with. Now forcing people to do something despite their moral disagreement, that’s pretty fascist.

@Oaklane1: Expressing disapproval is not censorship. Allowing someone to express an opinion you disagree with and then voicing your disagreement and/or ridiculing that argument (and being left open to disagreement and ridicule in turn) is the very point and process of free speech. You may not like that ~7/8′s of raters disapprove of wafflers comments, but you cannot prevent them from expressing disapproval, and every red(or green) thumb I get just reinforces that point.

Mute chicken ball ann
    Favourite chicken ball ann
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:53 PM

Wouldn’t buy the shite , it’s sister paper in England was anti Irish when I lived there. they give away all those CDs & DVDs because gobshites don’t care what they are reading as long as they are getting something for nothing.

Mute Oisín Kennedy
    Favourite Oisín Kennedy
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:10 PM

Should be banned in the entire country… absolute rag of a thing!

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:39 AM

Can’t understand why anybody buys those tabloids.

Mute Ciaro
    Favourite Ciaro
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:34 PM

Didn’t think the daily mail would sell too many copies in TCD, students too busy reading Ulysses and frolicking with the knights of the campanile, eek!

Dec 7th 2011, 5:19 PM

Mind you – the paper is not adverse to making stuff completely up – see: http://tabloid-watch.blogspot.com/2011/10/mailonline-makes-up-events-quotes-from.html

…Or read from 2004 onwards about their lies, made-up stuff and schite journalism skills: http://www.mailwatch.co.uk/

Others might be bad, but they are just in a league of their own.

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:43 PM

If the students cannot find a more intelligent comic than the “Daily Mail” to read they should not consider themselves student material in the first place. The same applies to all the red-tops. Our forefathers fought for education and literacy to rise above ignorance and stupidity. Not in order to read tabloid tripe.

Dec 7th 2011, 5:59 PM

…Which is why maybe they have decided to be rid of it (by democratic vote)? Maybe an ability their forefathers would be glad to see them able to do, given their previous historic efforts?

Mute Randy savage
    Favourite Randy savage
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:04 PM

once again the fascists in trinners attack, banning free speech and now the press. right little boyos arent they. By the way i think the mail is muck but thats not the point.

Dec 7th 2011, 5:16 PM

It was decision taken by DEMOCRATIC VOTE – HELLO!

1. If you your going to speak of Facism, at least use the term in the right context.

2. The paper completely made-up that his hios body had been found in a river and let the story like that for a whole weekend – meanwhile his body was not found till Tuesday – elsewhere.
    ALL that time the paper did nothing to correct their mistake, say “Sorry” to the family or even admit they just got it wrong with a lie.

The levels of stupidity around here is astounding!

Mute Randy savage
    Favourite Randy savage
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:27 PM

hello

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Dec 7th 2011, 11:14 PM

The Nazi’s were democratically elected. I assume they voted not to watch RTE as well following the Primetime/Reynolds fiasco where a man was mistakenly accused of rape?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:50 PM

It’s a rag and the point above about “errors” is nonsense. Many jornos are just downright lazy and care less about the truth.

Mute Páid Ó Donnchú
    Favourite Páid Ó Donnchú
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:10 PM

Ah, the Daily Mail, punchbag of all the right-on, trendy British comedians.

Now banned by the wannabe west brits of Trinity.

I wonder if The Guardian had made the mistake (and it has made plenty), would they be so quick to ban it?

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:28 PM

Has the Guardian made a mistake that bad. This would have taken the minimum amount of effort by the Mail to check.
    Since I believe the SU own the shop they can sell what they like.
    I am in favour of newspapers who make grave to be punished financially.

Mute James Mac Hale
    Favourite James Mac Hale
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:29 PM

Kids go trinity for the education, not the “West Brit” appeal. Most of the people in the SU in trinity are from down the country, in my experience, and the majority of students are of Catholic background.

I don’t agree with the decision to ban the paper – I’m just saying there’s no need to disparage the students based simply on their going to trinity.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:49 PM

You read the daily mail, páid, do you?

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:26 PM

West Brits you say? That’s hilarious… if you are in the UK you won’t find a more anti-irish newspaper about than the Daily Mail

Mute Evan O'Q
    Favourite Evan O'Q
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:24 PM

Typical Sinn Fein rubbish about ‘West Brits’, and defending the Mail, even though it’s ssentially a brit-newspaper with sprinkled on Irish News and editorial content (and now we can see they can’t even get that part right).

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:42 PM

A couple of things need to be said here in the interests of balance.

The paper in question that ran the story is the Irish Mail on Sunday, not the Irish Daily Mail. They are two separate newspapers, albeit belonging to the same company. However, an apology was carried in the Daily Mail yesterday.

Supposing the Sunday Independent ran a similarly incorrect story. Would the union have voted to ban the Irish Independent? Are they going to ban Liveline from being broadcast on the shop radio because Joe Duffy writes a column for the Mail on Sunday?

Mistakes do happen in journalism and this obviously was a terrible mistake but it clearly wasn’t a malicious one. My heart goes out to the family and friends of Mr Mulrooney.

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Favourite Cian O Criodain
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:16 PM

I consider the Mail to be a scurrilous rag and have been offended by it on a number of occasions. There is also very little that can be said to defend the article in question in this instance, nor would I wish to do so. However, this is pure censorship and tantamount to an attempt on the part of the union to dictate the views and actions of their members. In 2009, a successful referendum was held to repeal the ban on selling Coke, for these very reasons. This ban sets an ominous precedent and is detrimental to freedom of speech and expression. Members of the union have a right to determine for themselves what they should and should not read or purchase and to deny them this right is, in principle, a far greater crime than anything the Daily Mail has written.

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:29 PM

You are completely missing the point… the students voted to ban it… what are you on about?

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Favourite Cian O Criodain
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:37 PM

The Student’s Union council voted to ban it and though representative of the students, (to a certain extent) they do not form the entire student body. The banning of any product, especially a newspaper should not be condoned.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:26 PM

Well it seems that’s not the first time that the Mail has made up stuff or at least had a work of fiction ready to be printed – the Amanda Knox debacle demonstrates this.

It just seems odd that that a factual error – I didn’t see the article so I don’t know if it was sensationalised to any extent – would be the basis of a ban.

The Irish Times seems to rule the roost in the SU shop there.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Dec 7th 2011, 10:06 PM

The mail also didn’t pass on the VAT reduction. Well done to SUI , a complete rag

Mute Ryan Allen
    Favourite Ryan Allen
    Dec 7th 2011, 9:09 PM

A disappointing overreaction by TCD. Although they might not agree with the political views of a centre right newspaper, using this as an excuse to ban it is over the top. Yes the article was incorrect, but ever newspaper prints clarifications and corrections – even the Irish Times. The deadlines are very tight to get to print on time. If this new policy of banning newspapers who report things inaccurately is properly rolled out, all newspapers will be banned pretty soon.

Communism and fascism both banned media they disagreed with. Many people here seem to think a newspaper they disagree with should be banned. What does that say about posters on here?

Mute Daniel O'Carroll
    Favourite Daniel O'Carroll
    Dec 7th 2011, 10:17 PM

I think TheJournal is guilty of sort of shooting itself in the foot with this one.

If you read the article from TCD’s the University Times (link: http://www.universitytimes.ie/?p=7263), you’ll see that they did publish an apology and the editor even went down to Cork to personally meet with those that had been affected by the piece.

Now I’m not equating the fact that that important details is entirely absent from this piece with the Mail’s complete falsification of a story, especially at such a difficult time for the family, but it does sort of prove the point that no news source is infallible, and that everyone makes mistakes and oversights.

I’m not a fan or reader of the Mail but banning it from Trinity solely on the basis of this article, no matter how repugnant it might seem, seems a little draconian.

Mute Maalum Moja
    Favourite Maalum Moja
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:16 PM

take note journal.ie

Mute Christine Bohan
    Favourite Christine Bohan
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:20 PM

Take note of what exactly?

Mute Maalum Moja
    Favourite Maalum Moja
    Dec 7th 2011, 6:31 PM

just referring to the odd inaccuracy by the journal. Think its fair to say all publications fall foul of this at times.

Mute DashRiprock
    Favourite DashRiprock
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:19 PM

So what you’re actually saying is take note every publication on the planet? Bit vague

Mute fitszpatrick
    Favourite fitszpatrick
    Dec 8th 2011, 6:04 AM

Don’t get snotty with punters christine.

Mute Christine Bohan
    Favourite Christine Bohan
    Dec 9th 2011, 2:35 AM

Wasn’t being snotty, fitszpatrick. Genuinely didn’t understand what point Maalum Moja was trying to make.

Mute hayley houlihan
    Favourite hayley houlihan
    Dec 7th 2011, 11:57 PM

I wouldn’t wipe my arse with it

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Dec 7th 2011, 11:22 PM

Fair play to the gang in Trinity, it’s about time someone backed up all the talk with action, it’s a small step but one that is welcome ……

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:54 AM

rte falsely accused a priest of abuse so presumably tcd forbids the viewing of rte on campus too? there’s a german film called “die welle” which is scarily similar to how tcd has been behaving lately

Mute Conor O Callaghan
    Favourite Conor O Callaghan
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:58 AM

No, this is a lot different. The journalist who wrote that article, all she had to do was ask anyone who was even remotely involved in the search and she would have found out.

Mute Conor Kenny
    Favourite Conor Kenny
    Dec 8th 2011, 1:07 AM

Oh yes, die Welle indeed. I hear the flap of white coats I think mate…

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 8th 2011, 10:46 AM

my point is that all news outlets make mistakes, it seems the daily mail is being targeted because of its politics. i despise the mail but does that mean others arent entitled to it? and no the students didnt vote on it, the union did.

Mute Monor Curry
    Favourite Monor Curry
    Dec 7th 2011, 8:13 PM

Standard practice for The Daily Mail, it’s a scummy newspaper however I don’t think making a song and dance about banning it has done any good. I’m surprised it was stocked in the first place, who buys that kind of paper especially in a well educated community? It may have been flat out lies however Voltaire comes to mind “I may hate what you say but I will.defend to the death your right to say it.” There was a similar situation in NUIG a few years ago when a Holocaust denier was going to speak at a debate and the student body voted against him speaking. I’m not saying lies should go unchecked but banning is censor and censor is never good for democracy.

As a sidenote my thoughts are with Caolan’s family at this difficult time.

Mute Conor Kenny
    Favourite Conor Kenny
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:14 AM

Guess what? Unlimited freedom of speech isn’t a human right. We’re not even finished with this paper yet, I’m gonna cane it nationally to within an inch of it’s life if I can

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:20 AM

well youve already got the moustache…

Mute Conor Kenny
    Favourite Conor Kenny
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:35 AM

“left-wing fascists!” “free speech violation!” “thought police!” “PC NAZIS!”

some of the apologists for the paper that, funnily enough, actually used to support hitler himself, are becoming caricatures

Mute Monor Curry
    Favourite Monor Curry
    Dec 8th 2011, 9:22 PM

You’re right, unlimited freedom of speech is not a human right but banning a paper based on one article is draconian. I am no fan of The Mail but TCD have censored the paper over one mistake, a horrible mistake no doubt but from reading the comments here the editor has apologised andadmitted his/her mistake? What atrocious behaviour. Honestly Caolan’s death is a tragedy and I can understan those close to him looking to lay blame somewhere but in every tragedy there has to be some subjectivity I mean really. Like someone said simply follow what happened on Merseyside and boycott it.

Mute John Mc
    Favourite John Mc
    Apr 6th 2012, 4:06 PM

Free speech is actually a guaranteed human right, in EU law, the US constitution and the Irish one. As the paper did not undermine the authority of the state or blaspheme it is considered protected speech. On your own logic you should be banned from Trinity for your little factual error there.

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Dec 7th 2011, 11:04 PM

If they lied fair enough but dont ban it,let the individual decide,surely merseyside showed the way after the sun boycott,

Mute josephdelaney
    Favourite josephdelaney
    Dec 7th 2011, 9:48 PM

Its a “bellow par” paper I’ll admit, with some shoddy articles, but i dont agree with banning a newspaper, although i cant imagine it would have a big circulation….

Mute John Mc Carthy
    Favourite John Mc Carthy
    Dec 8th 2011, 1:21 AM

It’s an honest tabloid
    At least you know it’s a tabloid straight off and not a tabloid printed on a broadsheet like
    The Sunday Independent !
    Investigative journalism ?
    Maybe if its inside an Irish models nickers !

Mute Conor O Callaghan
    Favourite Conor O Callaghan
    Dec 8th 2011, 12:23 AM

Taking everything into consideration it was a major error that for a “newspaper” should never have happened. Just think about some of the effects an article like that could have to people close to Caolan. I myself even wrote a email making clear my dissatisfaction. The editor even admitted it was the worst mistake he had made in 20 years, but for a paper with this kind of status a schoolboy error like this should not have happened. Simple as and I would agree with TCD. And I would also like to add im glad The Mail is getting such a slating, might give them a taste of their own medicine for once.

Mute James Gaffney
    Favourite James Gaffney
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:33 AM

Will they be banning the RTE Guide and RTE Radio being played in the shops following the Prime Time debacle?

Mute Ailish Lynch
    Favourite Ailish Lynch
    Dec 8th 2011, 10:14 AM

Totally agree the paper is useless!

Would expect that the educated at trinity would have been able to make their own decision about the paper though!

Mute Niall Gallagher
    Favourite Niall Gallagher
    Dec 8th 2011, 11:38 AM

Paper is useless? A rag? Are they banning it because it’s not a good paper or because of the article? Article. Therefore the merits of the paper are irrelevant.

Mute simontuohy
    Favourite simontuohy
    Dec 7th 2011, 5:16 PM

Hilarious

Mute Niall Gallagher
    Favourite Niall Gallagher
    Dec 7th 2011, 8:45 PM

Trinity college Damascus

Mute Celly O'Brien
    Favourite Celly O'Brien
    Dec 8th 2011, 6:35 AM

What that rag did was cause confusion and possibly a divert of the search and rescue away from the known area in cork city where he was known to have been in in those early vital hours when , if found his life may have been saved – Hang your head in shame Mail on Sunday for causing confusion and heartache to the deceased mans family you should be ashamed to call yourselves journalists

Mute Multi talentless
    Favourite Multi talentless
    Dec 8th 2011, 4:03 PM

Do you honestly think that the search & rescue teams were basing their searches on what it said in the daily mail ?

Mute Clem O Diomasaigh
    Favourite Clem O Diomasaigh
    Dec 9th 2011, 10:57 AM

The Mail was never a friend to the Irish. I did everything if could to demonise us during the troubles and was responsible for so much anti Irish sentiment. Now they have done untold hurt to the Mulrooney family. Gutter press.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Dec 7th 2011, 7:56 PM

what did the article say?

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Dec 8th 2011, 8:17 AM

so for people who havent seen the article, which isnt online, due to never reading the daily mail and wants to know what is said just thumbs down loads??

Mute Dee
    Favourite Dee
    Dec 8th 2011, 2:51 PM

Read the above article.

Mute John Mc
    Favourite John Mc
    Apr 6th 2012, 3:59 PM

Well if they’re going to ban everything that contains a factual inaccuracy/ lie/ fraud or whatever will they now ban the Lancet for publishing the Wakefield paper? Will RTE be banned from Trinity Halls over the presidential debates and Fr. Kevin Reynolds? When they do that I’ll believe this is an ethical stand and not a cheap shot at a paper that isn’t “right on” enough for the liberals in Trinners. Surely the people going there are smart enough to decide for themselves what’s true and what isn’t, after all independent thought is the hallmark of a university education.