You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
WE KNOW HOW you feel. The bank holiday weekend is in its final stretch and you’ll have a lot on your plate tomorrow.
So do like we do here in TheJournal.ie HQ and get stuck into a serious debate on one of life’s most pressing questions.
This week: A few weeks ago, we asked whether people lick the foil lid on a yoghurt pot or not – that caused a bit of conflict between the waste not and want not crowd.
On another, but entirely separate, yoghurt-related topic, we received this intriguing email from reader Dan O’Neill:
I know its a bit lame but the girlfriend and I have an almost daily argument about the pronunciation of the word Yoghurt. (Wikipedia spells it yogurt by the way).
Whatever the spelling, the word is usually pronounced with a short ‘o’ in the UK, with a long ‘o’ in North America, Australia, Ireland and South Africa, and with either a long or short ‘o’ in New Zealand.
However all I ever heard growing up was Yog (short ‘o’). So that’s how I pronounce it. Was I completely wrong? Am I still completely wrong?
That’s a insult to our soldiers no one should work for that rate per day it’s time again for a massive shake up of our defense forces on pay and conditions .
@Kevin: To the best of my knowledge Kevin, nobody is on that rate per day, that would be illegal and below minimum wage. Pity the author of the article couldn’t clarify the numbers on pay, on a pay-related story.
@Richard Griffin: No doubt, I don’t get paid to sleep either and can have irregular hours depending on deadlines. I’m not arguing with you as I don’t know the facts from this article, that was my point.
@Markonline: I’m not sure how it works in Ireland, but if the UK is anything to go by the armed forces are typically exempt from the usual protection civilians rely on (same reason military law and civilian law are treated separately). British servicemen rely on a covenant with the state to provide adequate support, safeguards and compensation – the covenant however is not legally enshrined and there’s been plenty of controversy over HM Government’s failure to uphold it.
@Harry Whitehead: I think something similar does actually apply here too, so like you say civil/corporate laws regarding a “minimum wage” probably don’t apply.
@Markonline: As a serving soldier I can tell you that I wish you were right. However, this actually is the rate and most soldiers, depending on internal pay issues within their units, aren’t even getting that.
I’m on a 24hr duty Saturday. I will see roughly €28 extra in my hand for that 24 hours. It costs me €25.40 in diesel and tolls to get to work. I have done 5 duties since I was last paid for one. I’m not complaining; just giving you the facts.
@Kevin: sit around getting drunk the other 51 weeks of the year. Will get a full week off after unofficially. Better hope we never go to war with these guys
@Noreen Waters: Not the new pensions, they’re the legacy pensions, nowadays the newer soldiers can expect a smaller pension that isn’t worth working for. Pensions are the same across the civil service and public service. You have to understand though that for many soldiers – at least in the past, when they retire, they had very little in the way of transferrable skills in Ireland. Nowadays not many people sign up to stay in the DF for life, so its questionable, even with the new lower pensions, that theyll stay long enough to really benefit from it. What use is a big sum of money at the end of a career, when for most of your working life, you struggled on a bad salary and out of it, you have grown, fed, schooled and housed your children on your brutal wages all whilst making the biggest sacrafice for the state?
@Tom Molloy: That’s a good description of the RCC. Maybe the ones you think you are referring to are those who have been battered, tortured and sexually abused by the Church and you still cannot grasp it.
@Jason Ebbs:
The Pope is a head of state, if O’Higgins goes to the Vatican or say Britain any security is paid by the host nation. Same all over the world, it’s a international courtesy.
I’m glad I left the defence forces years ago,the pay is disappointing for those soldiers who help the country,especially in times when they help out communities in times of floods,the government is disrespectful to all those soldiers who are called upon in time of need
Just listened to Ivan Yates on newstalk have absolutely have no respect for our army on national airwaves, only reading out all the negative comments about our defence forces, this day and age to expect some lone to work for as little as that is an outrage, these soldiers will be standing side by side with Garda who are on €30-€50 an hour, it’s embarrassing to be Irish
@Seamus Mac: Ignore yeates – he is saying that just to get ears on his station. hes never been a supporter of the defence forces, indeed of the civil service itself and him on his big ex govt pension too.
The conditions our Defence forces work under are nothing short of criminal in 2018. No private company employee would be allowed to under health and safety.
@neuromancer: yes it is extra work. Troops will be in their barracks from Monday to Friday and then spend 40 hour’s up in Dublin for the Pope’s visit over the weekend. The 44 euros per day is before tax so each person will see around 23 euro after tax. Shambolic.
@neuromancer: The government have no problem in spending millions on this farce, but to expect men to be working or on call for 48 hours and get little or no extra pay is cheap labour. Let the Vatican pick up the tab…
@Donal Desmond: the whole thing is a disgrace from start to finish. Tax payer paying 32 mil for the visit, but can’t stretch the budget to pay the soldiers a decent wage for it. Joke of a government
@Donal Desmond: The majority of firemen in Ireland are on call 24 hrs a day, that’s year round not just one 48 hour period. And they get paid less than the soldiers will get
@Malachy Guilfoyle: Dublin fire brigade is about €34,500 a year for basic fire fighter according to payscalea.ie, a private soldier with 4 years experience (typical soldier) is about €32,000 a year, including allowances
@Malachy Guilfoyle: that’s why I referenced the Dublin fire brigade, comparing full time fire fighters with full time soldiers. The article doesn’t appear to mention reserve defence forces so to compare with retained fire fighters is comparing apples and oranges really.
@Vocal Outrage: Not really, people on here running down the amount full time soldiers will be paid to be on call for 48 hours. I just pointed out retained fire fighters get less for being on call all year round. Less than €1 an hour
@Malachy Guilfoyle: those firemen that are on call are at home with their families throughout unless they’re called out, all of those soldiers will be away from their families and will receive approx 20 euro after tax per day for their troubles.
@stephen: Not necessarily, many work other jobs aswell, even when on call. And family life takes a major hit even at home. Fire fighters on call have to be within 2 to 3 miles of fire station at all times while on call
@Malachy Guilfoyle: so what exactly is your point then, that some firemen get paid less than their main jobs especially when some of them may be months without receiving a callout or is it just the fact you think soldiers shouldn’t be paid properly for working at least 48 hours on top of their normal working week
@Malachy Guilfoyle: Then the firemen and army personal should unite and demand a reasonal compensation package for the hours they out in after their regular hours. The abuse of getting employees to work for little or nothing is par for the course with government. I can assure you that all the politicians on bended knees at this farce will be well paid for it. If any religious leader comes to Ireland , What ever church they lead , they should pick up the cost.
Nobody in our media or politics will comment on this scandal and we have our national treasure Mirriam o’cal being photographed with Why work at all when you can have the media and spineless politicians too lazy to do one simple calculation on those that milk the system and get applauded
Reference Margaret Cash and her stunt
Help me out here and tell me I am wrong but this is the actual calculation that a husband and wife and seven children gets:Husband welfare 193
Wife 128
Children 29.80*7 = 208.60
Children allowance, per week, 226(980 monthly)
Back to school worth 14.27 weekly
Rent allowance approx 2000(HAP) weekly 461
Total income tax free 769.87 + rent allowance 461
Grand Total, 1230.87. Would somebody tell me what salary one needs to earn to have a take home income and add in value of medical card and other benefits from charities. https://www.welfare.ie/en/Pages/bud17s1.aspx#
@Seaghán Corcoran: you would pay a kid a tenner for cutting your grass…. 45mins max.
Even a window cleaner would charge at least 25 for cleaning your windows again 45 mins max.
Potentially, put your life at risk for a foreign dignitary for less than a fiver an hour.
And they wonder why they can’t get new recruits. I would rather work in McDonald’s then in the defence forces.
@Martin Flood: the additional gardai are on more. One soldiers wife highlighted on the radio that her husband got an additional 68 euro for the queens visit and was away from his family for days, a garda who was doing the same role got an additional 3000 and got home in the evenings
@MG O Mhaolalaigh: as I said, it was a soldiers wife on the radio giving the figures, I don’t believe the 3k was for one day however, I think it lasted a week according to her, it was on Newstalk today, about half 4
@Sharon Timwell: please read all subsequent comments before attacking someone, I was endeavouring to point the reader as best as possible to the source, unfortunate couldn’t write down the interview verbatim as I was driving at the time.
To listen to Ivan Yates on newstalk go on about our defence forces is disgraceful, reading out only negative comments, to ask our soldiers to work for 72hrs straight and pay them that amount is not only illegal but immoral, they will be standing side by side with the Garda over the weekend who will be earning €30-€50 an hour, so a Garda will earn more than what a soldier will for a couple of hours compared with 72hrs is shocking, this is embarrassing!
@Micheal: not disagreeing with you however this article states that the army will only be called upon as an aid to the civil powers, not actual standing side by side with Gardai. Can anyone clarify what exactly the army will be expected to do? Are they out on the ground or in barracks on standby?
@Paul: aid to the civil power is standing beside the Gardai i think, manning security checkpoints and such like, in addition to the more normal military roles
@Paul: They are deployed from Friday to Monday in various roles, troops are coming from across the country, staying in tents on safari beds, they will be deployed throughout the Phoenix park and other locations, yes this is most definitely an aid to the civil power task, some will be used as ticket checkers etc which is just cheap labour, others will be deployed for roles which they are trained for ie security of location etc, so yes they will be there shoulder to shoulder with members of An Garda, working for as little as €2ph
@Paul: they will be deployed, for longer hours at a time. To be clear though, this is not the fault of the Gardai, it is the fault of the Dept of Defence and the junior minister who allows this happen -
@Paul: the will be scanning air space that the airport can’t see for at least 72hrs and providing overwatch with weapons and long range surveillance equipment and when your in your own bed at night along with the guards the soldiers will still be on the side of a hill in all types of weather
Sure they get paid to feck all the majority of the time. Of course they are going to complain when they have to work. Irish army is a joke. I wonder how much they cost the country every year??
@Brian: You’re a troll but since you’re a lazy troll I’ll save you some wear and tear on your googling fingers; explosive ordnance disposal, major emergency relief, overseas peace enforcement, fisheries monitoring and protection, air ambulance, domestic and international security, providing advice to our government and others on the above topics as well as training and developing those areas. Don’t forget also feeding and supporting the people who do the tasks listed above. This is a sample, I’m sure people who are involved could add a number of additional items to that list
@Brian: You want figures? around 900m euro
That’s the cost to us in a year.
It’s about the same as it costs to run the HSE for 4 weeks.
That’s the manning heating lighting of all the barracks
maintaining thousands of acres of training areas and firing ranges,
sailing, fuel, maintenance and manning of 8 naval vessels,
flying, maintenance fuel and manning of 26 aircraft including the garda heli’s
driving maintaining fuel and manning over 2000 vehicles
700 odd serving overseas on UN-mandated missions,
paying pensions to all the retired soldiers
and the salaries of 9000 odd serving soldiers, sailors and airmen
now, back under your bridge troll.
very cheap to be honest, once the pensions of the retirees and the paltry salaries of the serving are taken out, there’s very little cream at the top left for the rest of the tasks above.
The Army is the most entrenched social status group.in the country. The lower ranks and privates are at the bottom and worst paid. It is true their skills go unappreciated.
So we’re using State resources at pittance rates to provide security to the world’s richest and largest paedophile ring ? Does no one else have an issue with that ??
O please, enough of this nonsense, my only concern is who’s Manning the Taxi ranks and cover security at various venues whilst these downtrodden soldiers actually have to be on duty.
@Micheal: If they thought they could hold us all to ransom they would do it in a heart beat, but because they are not really needed for day to day running of the country they have no real strike card to play.
@Peter Hughes: you absolute mong! you have no idea, read the comments above, enough people have told you what the scant few soldiers, sailors and airmen do. they CANT strike, its illegal under military law, which they are subject to.you cant “pull” a sickie, as you end up in the medical aid post being examined by the medical corps before being kicked out the door and back to work.
@Herr Wolf: mong – cop on and have a shred of respect. sometimes I dont know why our military would bother defending someone with very little honour or respect.
Best thing to do is all the soldiers involved should ring in sick of the morning the pope is arriving, maybe the minister for defence will get the message to pay properly instead of paying peanuts.
US stock index suffers biggest one-day fall since 2020 as Trump insists 'markets are going to boom'
1 hr ago
Alexei Navalny
Russian security service carry out 'revenge' raid on house of Alexei Navalny ally's father
18 mins ago
Live Blog
US stocks drop sharply as EU considers response to Trump tariffs
5 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say