You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin gay bar The George vandalised with homophobic, Nazi graffiti

The graffiti was first reported just after 10am this morning.

Updated 4.41 pm 

20170520_111447 The front of The George after the graffiti was wiped clear at 11.15am TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

GARDAÍ HAVE LAUNCHED an investigation after one of Dublin’s oldest and best known gay bars was defaced with homophobic graffiti this morning.

News of the vandalism carried out on the front of The George pub on George’s Street first emerged shortly after 10am this morning.

However, the photo showing the graffiti was originally taken by Twitter user Gary Shaw at roughly 6.20am, some four hours previous.

Chalk had been used to cover the front of the premises with homophobic words and Nazi symbols.

The graffiti was subsequently wiped clear from the walls of the pub.

Manager of The George Darragh Flynn said staff were “shocked” by what happened but insisted that the bar will be remaining open to celebrate the second anniversay of the marriage equality referendum.

“We are shocked and disheartened to see our building vandalised, especially with the anniversary of the equality vote this weekend. At times like these our community comes together in support like it always does, and we won’t let this ruin us celebrating this weekend’s anniversary,” Flynn said.

Local area business group Dublin Town was notified and a cleaning group was dispatched to remove all trace of the graffiti after 11am.

“We have staff on seven days a week to deal with things like this,” a spokesman for Dublin Town told TheJournal.ie.

We let the management in the Mercantile Group know (the entity which owns The George) and we have a cleaning crew down there now.

It’s understood that The George has a sophisticated CCTV system in place covering both its front and the laneway adjacent to the pub entrance.

“Gardaí are investigating an incidence of suspected criminal damage which was reported to us this morning at a premises on George’s Street,” a Garda spokesperson told TheJournal.ie.

Inquiries are ongoing. No arrests have yet been made.

Flynn also thanked the public for their kind wishes follwoing the incident.

“We would like to now focus on the positives of today, that one homophobic act has resulted in an overwhelming amount of messages of solidarity and offers of assistance. It has truly brightened our hearts to receive such love and support,” he said.

- With reporting by Rónán Duffy

Read: ‘I had a loaded gun and all sorts of thoughts’ – TD opens up about struggles with depression

Read: Day Three: Varadkar passes the magic 40 mark as Michael Ring declares his support

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

183 Comments
    Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 23rd 2015, 9:42 PM

Enda has been at it for 40 days, lads. Norris has been at it for 40 years. How’s he been left out?

Mute Rebecca Hegarty
    Favourite Rebecca Hegarty
    May 23rd 2015, 10:23 PM

Missing David Norris, panti bliss/Rory o neill and katherine zappone!!

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    May 23rd 2015, 10:46 PM

He is not a leader. A leader doesn’t hide behind his troops!!!

Mute fact&ionlydealinfact
    Favourite fact&ionlydealinfact
    May 23rd 2015, 10:47 PM

Norris has been at what for 40 yrs? Advocating underage sex?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 23rd 2015, 10:49 PM

@ Conor: Agreed. Norris has fought for equality his whole adult life. enda buttered some scones and went to pantibar.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    May 23rd 2015, 10:53 PM

I’m talking about Enda

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 23rd 2015, 10:54 PM

@fact&ionlydealinfact play the ball, not the man. It’s an article acclaiming those who were influential to the Yes campaign.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 24th 2015, 12:49 AM

My God the media doing it’s job for once, take a look at the story in the Washington Post, it quite rightly says FF and FG only got involved in the campaign actively when they saw it was definitely popular.

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    May 24th 2015, 1:04 AM

Nothing helps a general election campaign like being behind a popular vote

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    May 24th 2015, 1:11 AM

You’d swear by the way fine Gael and labour are celebrating they have won the general election. I didn’t vote yes for Enda or Joan I voted for the gay people of ireland. So Joan and Enda fxxk off this is not a victory for you or your parties,it’s a victory for the ordinary citizens of this country.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    May 24th 2015, 5:28 AM

Agree Squirrel, no surprise that it was Hugh’s name that popped up at the end of the article.

Enda Kenny was only trying to score political points and has no place amongst the best campaigners for the yes side.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    May 24th 2015, 5:06 PM

Hugh ‘I love Fine Gael’ O’Connell wrote this. Of course he is going to leave out the people actually responsible for this monumental achievement and substitute Enda Kenny, the man who nearly clatered himself over a flower pot while trying to run away from this question. Also don’t forget back before Rabbitte made his exit Enda said this was not even something he cared at all about! Enda should not even be mentioned in this article, and he would not have been if his own personal cheerleader wasn’t writing this muck!

Mute Dr. Eddie Murphy
    Favourite Dr. Eddie Murphy
    May 23rd 2015, 9:38 PM

The 1,201,607 people of Ireland who voted yes

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 23rd 2015, 9:44 PM

Spot on !

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 24th 2015, 12:50 AM

At least 80% of which were heterosexual. Think about that, over a million people coming out to vote for something where they’ve personally nothing at all to gain.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 24th 2015, 1:25 AM

Ryan Anth, I gained by the fact that at 35 years married, my marriage is no longer a discriminatory institution, I can look my gay brothers and sisters in the eye and say you were always equall but at long last we have given legal recognition to equality.

We love in a better Ireland and it is a better Ireland because of the magnificent and invaluable contribution of gay people to Ireland and to Irish society.

Yesterday we United and left the homophobes subdued.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 23rd 2015, 9:38 PM

I would put David Norris No. 1.
    No question.

He did more than anyone at a time when it wasn’t acceptable to do so.

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    May 23rd 2015, 9:58 PM

will david norris now try to get the age of consent reduced

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 23rd 2015, 10:42 PM

Gerry

He was already associated with a group calling for that:

“…documents in the Irish Queer Archive detail correspondence between the International Gay Association and its support for a controversial paedophile group.

The association was based at the Hirschfeld Centre, Dublin, which was founded, funded and run by Mr Norris, who claimed in the Seanad that he wrote ‘one of three
    papers which led… to the foundation of the association’.

It was an umbrella group for organisations around the world, including the National Gay Federation in Ireland, with which Mr Norris was also involved. Documents show that Mr Norris attended its workshops on behalf of the National Gay Front.

A letter to the association showed that, in the early Eighties, it ‘passed two motions. One called for the abolition of the age of consent, whilst the second called for an international solidarity campaign’ on behalf of the Paedophile Information Exchange.
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2025339/David-Norris-told-conference-As-child-great-desire-molested.html

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 24th 2015, 12:05 AM

@Lasair/Aryan. How is your answer getting on ? How many kids did your lot ‘dispose’ of ???

I still await the answer as to why anyone should take you seriously ????

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 4:23 AM

Ryan

You lie.

“He released the safest letters to be published. The ones that made people angry included stuff that wasn’t appropriate. It was stuff similar to what had been in the Helen Lucy Burke interview – more controversial views on underage sex.”

The Mail on Sunday uncovered the minutes of the first meeting of the Union for Sexual Freedom in the National Library of Ireland on May 10, 1975. The minutes stated “David said as a child it had been his greatest desire to be molested so he, more than most people, knows the rarity of the homosexual child molester.”

The newspaper also mentions Norris’ support for a pro-pedophile organization in the 1980s called the Paedophile Information Exchange. Norris was a founding member of the International Gay Association in the 1980s and passed two motions.

“One called for the abolition of the age of consent, whilst the second called for an international solidarity campaign on behalf of the Paedophile Information Exchange.
    http://www.irishcentral.com/news/further-revelations-over-david-norris-views-on-underage-sex-127263293-237404901.html

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    May 24th 2015, 11:31 AM

F**k you Nazi weirdo. We’re all sick to the teeth of your unrelenting hateful nonsense.

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 4:21 PM

Alan

Show where the “hate” is, so far you and the “YES” voters are the only ones to spew hate. You are sick of people showing the truth because it disrupts your cosy vision of life. How tolerant of you.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 24th 2015, 5:49 PM

Says the guy terrified of letting go of *his* comfortable notions of life in the face of the reality which surrounds them.

Mute John King
    Favourite John King
    May 23rd 2015, 9:40 PM

Waterford Whispers News have been brilliant, bringing much needed levity to a serious issue.

I salute you .. whoever you are ;-)

Mute wiklagirl
    Favourite wiklagirl
    May 24th 2015, 10:05 AM

As has Roddy Doyle

Mute Derek O'Neill
    Favourite Derek O'Neill
    May 24th 2015, 2:38 PM

That’s so true :)

Mute William J Dunphy
    Favourite William J Dunphy
    May 23rd 2015, 9:36 PM

How could you omit Panti Bliss/Rory O’Neill?

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    May 23rd 2015, 9:47 PM

I can’t remember seeing him during campaign? If he decided to keep a low profile to minimise risk to yes vote, then fair play to him. No offense intended, by the way.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    May 23rd 2015, 9:54 PM

Rory single handedly exposed the Iona Institute for what it is. A massive win.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    May 23rd 2015, 11:55 PM

No O’Brien, Quinn ,Bopp or Waters ?!? Without whose insanity there never would have been such a strong turn out. ;-)

Mute Helen Ryder
    Favourite Helen Ryder
    May 24th 2015, 1:04 AM

Rory canvassed in Dublin Bay North. Fair play, Rory!

Mute Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Favourite Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    May 23rd 2015, 10:12 PM

I nominate all the normal Mammies and Daddies of Ireland I met on the campaign who despite being deeply religious were voting Yes because they felt it was the right thing to do. I know for a lot of them it wasn’t easy so I salute them.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Let’s keep in mind that politicians did not bring equality to Ireland. The Irish people brought equality to our island.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

True but they enabled it and for that they deserve some credit.

Mute Mary Courtney
    Favourite Mary Courtney
    May 23rd 2015, 9:35 PM

Panty Bliss!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    May 23rd 2015, 9:50 PM

Ailbhe o’ Nolan, deserves to be on that list she put in a relentless super human effort in helping to bring about equality for the LGBT community in ireland.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 23rd 2015, 10:03 PM

Serious question: who’s idea was the referendum day one?

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:20 PM

David Norris started it all decades ago.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    May 23rd 2015, 10:27 PM

I agree with Martin, Ailbhe deserves to ‘be on this list and so does Helen Ryder and everyone who canvassed for a YES

Mute George Hogan
    Favourite George Hogan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:35 PM

Totally agree! Ailbhe O’Nolan, what a powerhouse of a canvasser! She is a total icon in my world!

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 23rd 2015, 11:16 PM

Here here!

Mute Helen Ryder
    Favourite Helen Ryder
    May 24th 2015, 1:01 AM

Go Ailbhe!

I am also nominating and giving out a HUGE shout out to #TeamAwesome, the canvassing team in Dublin South-West. We were formed by Katherine Zappone and went on our first canvass in a snowstorm in February. Directed by Darragh Gennocky, we knocked on 25,000 doors and had 11,000 conversations. We were still canvassing in Tallaght on Friday from 7am until 9.30pm.

To Sean, Shane, Steph, Jo, Neil, Niall, Caroline, Ruth, Adam, Ann, Martin, Geraldine, Brendan, Phil, Derek, Ailbhe, my lovely wife Philippa, our daughter Jenny and many many more – WE WON!!!!!!!

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 24th 2015, 1:16 AM

I had the pleasure of getting to meet Ailbhe this evening, was glad to finally get to give her a hug! I shall take this opportunity to add to this outpouring of appreciation for her – she deserves it!

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 24th 2015, 1:33 AM

The women of Ireland were magnificent.

Sadly it was older men in my demographic who were least open to the justice fairness and decency of marriage equality.

Respect to all of you who posted patiently, rationally and persistently in the face of reactionary abuse from the No side.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    May 24th 2015, 9:35 AM

Eh, what?!?!?!?! Martin look what you started. I won’t be able to fit through doors cos my head has swelled so much.

Thank you all but it is undeserved. I was just stubborn, that’s all.

The person I would add to this list is Max Krzyzanowski for his work with LGBT Noise over the years. His unfailing determination and untold eloquence. What a man.

Lastly, holy $hit, am I equal?!

Mute Dermot O'Shea
    Favourite Dermot O'Shea
    May 24th 2015, 1:30 PM

Yes Ailbhe!! Max Krzyzanowski has been on Vincent Browne, Newstalk 102, BBC Radio 2, and countless out her outlets passionately, informedly and articulately campaigning for the Yes side! For me he should be first on this list!!

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    May 24th 2015, 2:20 PM

I second all the shout-outs for Ailbhe, but would like to add Anthony Lang to that as well. He appeared as a new commenter on the journal and has tirelessly, calmly and reasonably argued the cause for equality. Anthony, I wouldn’t be surprised if you influenced quite a few men in your age-group to see things differently :)

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    May 24th 2015, 7:43 PM

Jane!!!! Hello. Agreed, Anthony was a wonderfully knowledgeable commenter and an asset.

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    May 24th 2015, 8:21 PM

Well said! Ailbhe should definitely be on the list!

Mute catherine
    Favourite catherine
    May 23rd 2015, 10:18 PM

David Norris was the trailblazer and today would not have happen without him. No 1 always!

Mute David Gilmartin
    Favourite David Gilmartin
    May 23rd 2015, 9:43 PM

Eamonn Farrell should be on that list. My drama teacher for 10 years and a kinder or friendlier guy you won’t find. Shaped thousands of kids’ positive outlook from their time in NPAS, instilled confidence in the people he taught and was advocating for this long before it become popular to. Delighted for him, his husband, and every other Irish person who were finally placed on an even footing!

Mute Helen Ryder
    Favourite Helen Ryder
    May 24th 2015, 1:10 AM

Eamon and Steven are fantastic. Beautiful and generous men .

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    May 24th 2015, 1:29 AM

Helen Ryder was a great motivation to me and did magnificent work.

Mute Jen Jen
    Favourite Jen Jen

Maynooths Welfare Officer Síona Cahill and the rest of the staff at Maynooth SU. Outstanding work all year getting students registered & more importantly actually getting them to use their vote & Síona was the one who came up with #MakeGraTheLaw which ended up being the USI’s main campaign slogan!!

Mute David Maguire
    Favourite David Maguire
    May 23rd 2015, 10:28 PM

I was just about to comment about Síona! She did an amazing job in Maynooth! She got over 3,000 students registered to vote and the #MakeGráTheLaw was genius

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    May 24th 2015, 12:56 AM

Getting out the youth vote was critical to this. Nice to see a union engaging in politics that has a real effect on peoples lives instead of farting around banning softdrinks from their newsagents as they used to in years past.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    May 24th 2015, 4:25 AM

Síona definitely deserved a mention not only was she behind #MakeGraTheLaw and but also #PollingBoothPickUpLines which provided some lighthearted humour on a very stressful day for all involved in the campaign. She was named welfare officer of the year and registered thousands of students in Maynooth to vote and encouraged them to use their votes not only did she do that but she also helped sort out lifts to leixlip for postal voters who couldn’t make it home due to exams. She’s inspired many people in Maynooth university that the student body passed our own referendum about what stance the SU would take on supporting the referendum which passed at 91% . She tirelessly campaigned through out the term putting up posters around Maynooth town and supported a lot of other campaigns in Maynooth doing all this as well as being on hand to students almost 24/7 with any other questions or problems they had. She’s truly inspirational.

Mute Lola De Borneau
    Favourite Lola De Borneau
    May 23rd 2015, 9:37 PM

Panti Bliss/ Rory O’Neill! :)

Mute Paul Candon
    Favourite Paul Candon
    May 23rd 2015, 9:39 PM

Please add Izzy Kamikaze’s name to the list. Decades of outspoken common sense

Mute Niamh Byrne
    Favourite Niamh Byrne

Veteran (she’ll hate me calling her that) equality campaiger @IzzyKamikaze who campaigned tirelessly and with unending civility in face of adversity. She definitely deserves a spot on ur list.

Mute Lola De Borneau
    Favourite Lola De Borneau

Seconded!!! Izzy has so so much to be proud of :)

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Interesting observations about Fianna Fail and their useless fence sitting. Can we not just consign Fianna Fail to the dust bin of history. Surely the few decent ones would be welcomed by another party of their choice.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    May 23rd 2015, 9:53 PM

And Kilkenny/Carlow voted in another one today. My god

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    May 23rd 2015, 9:53 PM

Averil Power went up hugely in my estimation during the SSM Referendum campaign. Have no idea what she is doing in Fianna Fail.

Fianna Fail’s fence sitting is just so typical of them. Opportunistic to the core, they want to be on the SSM Yes bandwagon, but don’t want to piss off their core rural voters, who are more likely to vote No.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack

I know we have clown running the country but surely that panti fella is an embarrassment to the marriage equality campaign. He lacks credibility.

Mute William J Dunphy

Credibility? Panti practically won the referendum for us. What did you do?

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 23rd 2015, 10:19 PM

No, the good people of Ireland won it for you. Such a childish comment! You have a very short memory.

Mute William J Dunphy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:33 PM

And you’ve clearly no idea what you are talking about. In any case it doesn’t matter a jot now. ‘Yes’ won the day. Sorry a drag queen made you so uncomfortable. Go Panti!

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 23rd 2015, 10:45 PM

Uncomfortable no. Just think he’s not a great representative to have. Don’t forget who voted yes. And it is a great day for equality and with the world watching.

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    May 24th 2015, 2:10 AM

Name calling reflects on yourself.

Mute Jim O'Connell
    Favourite Jim O'Connell
    May 23rd 2015, 11:58 PM

Have you all forgotten Simon Coveney. He led from the front with a superb social media campaign and buried Ronan Mullen in a debate.

Mute Gary O'neill
    Favourite Gary O'neill
    May 23rd 2015, 9:35 PM

I wouldn’t call them heroes, if anything their zeroes. Homosexuality is unnatural

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013

You should try it Gary as you are so obsessed about it. You might actually like it.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 23rd 2015, 9:41 PM

Gary , you’re just a sh’t stirrer . there’s no need for it at all .

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid

F*ck off Gary.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 23rd 2015, 9:45 PM

Gary homosexuality is natural, found all over nature, homophobia is unnatural, found only in humans!

Mute Clara Wolfe
    Favourite Clara Wolfe
    May 23rd 2015, 9:46 PM

Not as unnatural as your ugly polyester tie

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    May 23rd 2015, 10:01 PM

so is rape and incest are they natural to?

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 23rd 2015, 10:17 PM

Yes Gerry. If it occurs in nature it is natural. Natural doesn’t mean good!

Mute Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    Favourite Maggie Elizabeth Walsh
    May 23rd 2015, 10:21 PM

Gary thinks more about gay sex than gay men do

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple

Little article regarding homophobes that might interest you :)
    http://m.livescience.com/19563-homophobia-hidden-homosexuals.html

Mute Paddy Gerrard
    Favourite Paddy Gerrard
    May 24th 2015, 12:52 AM

Get s life you fool

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 5:01 AM

Demise

Homosexuality is the rare condition in nature which proves the rule that in fact it is not the norm, meaning therefore it is not the natural condition, furthermore it has been shown that an increase in certain pollutant chemicals in the ecosystem has led to increase in abnormal special sexualities, again unnatural and a result from human detrimental effects on our natural environment.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    May 24th 2015, 9:48 AM

Lasair, where has this been shown? Cite your sources please, or why should anyone believe your claim?

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    May 24th 2015, 11:26 AM

Annett Temple,

Having trouble finding the published article, can you provide a link? It would be interesting to look at the methodology and control that was used and also peer reviews.

What does indicate some element of prejudgment is Richard Ryan’s liberal use of the term “homophobia.” Scientifically a phobia is a medical condition, homophobia is a political term.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    May 24th 2015, 11:45 AM

This video does not project confidence that the study Annette alluded to is anything more than vodoo science.

https://youtu.be/KOsRiH0-E6A

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 4:19 PM

Malachi

Hypocritical how more often than not the “YES” voters don’t have provide citations or sources for their comments but always insist on others doing so, and I will:

two major reviews have revealed that the chemicals are having a much greater impact on animal behaviour than anyone suspected. Low concentrations of these pollutants are changing both the social and mating behaviours of a raft of species. This potentially poses a far greater threat to survival than, for example, falling sperm counts caused by higher chemical concentrations.

Researchers have also shown that increasing numbers of male western gulls hatched from eggs exposed to DDT attempt to mate with each other. In recent years, scientists have also found that lead affects the balance of gulls, while atrazine makes goldfish hyperactive and the chemical TCDD makes the play behaviour in macaques rougher.
    http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn6343-pollution-triggers-bizarre-behaviour-in-animals.html#.VWHrZag1jGg

The omnipresence of these chemicals and their engineered potency make them prime suspects in a global epidemic of gender-bending aberrations observed in wildlife as well as people.
    In Florida, as many as 40 per cent of “male” cane toads in agricultural counties were found to be hermaphrodites. So, in Canada, were a smaller number of polar bears. … Lyons’s summary, for a British foundation, reported observations of abnormal testes in fish, frogs, turtles, birds, bears, mink, sea lions, whales and panthers; other physical deformities in the genitalia of alligators, otters and polar bears; and precursor proteins to egg-laying in otherwise male fish, amphibians and birds.
    http://thetyee.ca/News/2013/06/17/Gender-Bending-Chemicals/

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    May 23rd 2015, 10:40 PM

Norris should be No 1

Mute Fran Brennan
    Favourite Fran Brennan
    May 23rd 2015, 9:43 PM

Mrs brown I just don’t get her /his placement on this list.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 23rd 2015, 10:08 PM

I think the contributions of the children of same sex parents like Finn Murray in the Irish Times are worthy of mention.

Mute Dominic Holloway
    Favourite Dominic Holloway

Panti! Supply poll…. Panti has led this referendum.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    May 23rd 2015, 10:22 PM

Thankfully he was low profile during the campaign. I voted yes for equality, not for that clown.

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 23rd 2015, 9:44 PM

YEARS FROM NOW MANY HERE CELEBRATING WILL DENY THEY EVER VOTED “YES”

A shameful day for all “YES” voters who in years to come will be pleading how they voted “NO” when the scandals of a new humans-to-order industry unfold. A shameful day for Ireland going from one child abuse scandal to investing in a future child abuse scandal which will be far larger. Children bought and sold on the desires of adults, people in foreign countries used as baby factories and their psychological needs trampled on, Ireland has given the green light to the objectification of humanity, a leader it would seem today, in the degeneracy of what is precious and humane, the green light for big business and paedophile rings to serve up their human cargo and lay waste to little children who have nobody to speak for them. Disgusted with the LGBT lobby, their Huxleyite tyranny and the unthinking masses who bought their lies and emotional manipulative “equality” buzzword lie. Extremely sad at the future children who are going to have a world inside their heads of complete darkness and misery leading to abuse or murder of them. Just horrible and all the triumphalist “YES” voters here are responsible, enjoy your false and adult-centric selfish celebration, in years to come these words will haunt those of you who still have an independent brain and conscience. There will be many of the “YES” voters, denying they ever bought the deception of the word “equality” and who voted “YES”.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 23rd 2015, 9:46 PM

You need a ride, mate.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 23rd 2015, 9:57 PM

Lasair , I think you need to let it go now , the people have voted , all you can do now is accept it . really it doesn’t affect you so don’t worry about it .

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 23rd 2015, 9:58 PM

Lasair, unlicensed surrogacy has been available in Ireland since the technology to do it existed. Today has not altered that. Sorry to disappoint you

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick

Lol

Mute William J Dunphy
    May 23rd 2015, 10:04 PM

I just ordered my new baby on Amazon.com/surrogatesales.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine

Wayne , you’re wasting your time , he knows all this already .

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    May 24th 2015, 3:03 AM

@Lasiar you do know what hate speach is don’t you.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    May 24th 2015, 3:25 AM

My balls, your chin!

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 4:41 AM

Suzie

I never accept anything that is wrong, whether 1 or 1million vote for it. This is clearly wrong, the battle has only begun and this merely a campaign in a wider war. Anything that affects and enables the exploitation and harm to children concerns all people of conscience. This doesn’t end here.

Thomas

Tell us what your version of hate-speech is?

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    May 24th 2015, 6:44 AM

So very depressing

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    May 25th 2015, 12:11 AM

@ Lasair “Anything that affects and enables the exploitation and harm to children concerns all people of conscience” Says the man who campaigned for a no vote in other to facilitate hateful organisations such as Iona, mothers and fathers matter / the catholic church who have openly admitted that they believe it show be written in to our constitution that a child should be raised by a mother and father. In order so that they can pursue their true agenda and go back to the days where babies were snatched from their single mothers arms and sold of to the highest bider in the name of giving them a mother and father. While completely engorging the notorious track record of abusing and facilitating the abuse of children by the church. The Irish People have seen through your lies and have spoken. You have lost your war against single parents, gay parents and their children. Never again will the catholic church get their hands on the vulnerable children of Ireland. Shame on you sir sham on you.

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    May 23rd 2015, 11:02 PM

For me it’s David Norris by a mile. The people of Ireland learned to love him because of his honesty and openness.

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan

How bitter are you hugh not to mention gerry adams who has been calling for the rights of the lgbt commuinity for the last 40 years and the work he has done up north for this cause ,as it stands gerry is pushing for the same rights that lgbt got today for the whole island of ireland ,but dont let your bitterness and twisted fine gael logic get in the way of endas agenda
    Labour asses are been wipped in carlow and kilkenny while fine gael have had so far at least 18% of their vote taken back by the people ,
    If i could be gay for a day it would be today
    Thank god im nursing a hangover and wont be out of the house tonight

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    May 23rd 2015, 10:30 PM

but nothing about the rights of abuse victims, or the victims of terror.

Mute Pat Ryan
    Favourite Pat Ryan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:11 PM

Lasair, David,Gary, Fintan should be sent to Roscommon to live , with there like minded folk ,

Mute Kevin Murphy
    Favourite Kevin Murphy

How many days was Enda out canvassing? Did he canvass across the country? How many debates, televised or not did he take part in? you are taking the piss, journal

Mute Carly Bailey
    Favourite Carly Bailey
    May 23rd 2015, 10:18 PM

Darragh Genockey worked his socks off along side Katherine Zappone, organising the Yes Equality campaign in Dublin South West. You only have to look at the numbers of people who came out to vote in areas such as Jobstown and Killinarden to see the hard work paid off.

Mute Helen Ryder
    Favourite Helen Ryder
    May 24th 2015, 1:18 AM

Carly, we are now officially #TeamAwesome! Go Darragh, Martin and Ann Gennocky!

Mute Paula Doyle
    Favourite Paula Doyle

Where’s Rory O’Neil aka Panti surely she should get the number 1 mention.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 23rd 2015, 10:00 PM

People are celebrating, and for what? Down the line here there will be children that are going suffer as a result of this awful decision. God help this country.

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    May 23rd 2015, 10:14 PM

I know, I know… Those homosexuals all have an agenda that involves brainwashing or converting children to their ways! Oh wait….that’s religion I was thinking of. Sorry.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious

A child needs a mother and a father. If you put a child with two men or two women the child will not have a balanced upbringing. It’s not natural in my opinion.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 23rd 2015, 10:27 PM

And same sex parenting had nothing to do with the referendum Rambotious. Nobody was being asked for their opinion on same sex parenting, only on civil marriage equality. A no vote would never have had any impact on same sex parenting, and regardless, the research shows children raised by same sex parents do just as well as kids raised by heterosexual parents… So your opinion is misguided, not based in fact at all. A yes vote was the right vote. It offers more protection for families, and sends a great message to young lgbt people that their love and relationships are just as worthy of protection and recognition as their peers.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 23rd 2015, 10:35 PM

Indirectly this referendum had everything to do with same sex parenting and you know it. you can argue all you want but im entitled to my opinion. As mammals we were built a particular way, physically and mentally to look after children. Allowing equal rights to allow children to be placed in imbalanced relationships is wrong

Mute Annette Temple
    Favourite Annette Temple
    May 23rd 2015, 10:39 PM

A child needs unconditional love…It doesn’t matter where they are getting it from – a mum and a dad, two mums, two dads, one mum or one dad. Ps… Jesus had two dads. Just saying

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 23rd 2015, 10:48 PM

Your right Annette they do need love but they also need lots of other things provided by both a male and female influence (ie as nature intended) . Again I must state that this is only my opinion.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 23rd 2015, 11:35 PM

“Allowing equal rights to allow children to be placed in imbalanced relationships is wrong”
    That is not what this referendum granted. It granted civil marriage rights to same sex couples. Marriage is not a requirement for raising children Rambotious. I know you are entitled to your opinion, however I am entitled to mine also and I believe yours is misguided. The evidence shows children raised by same sex couples are raised just as well as their peers with heterosexual parents.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 24th 2015, 12:05 AM

You have said “the evidence shows” on more than one occasion now. There is no evidence that you could show me nor the many hundreds of thousands of other people that voted no on Friday that gay people could do the same job as straight people in raising children. It’s just not possible. I’m sorry to disappoint but there will be consequences to this mess down the line.

Mute Rambotious
    Favourite Rambotious
    May 24th 2015, 12:46 AM

I read your posts on the other thread and you are actually revolting, the stuff you said in reply to that animal. Your equally as bad as him. I’m not interested in continuing our discussion, and for fear of what I might read or see, I won’t be opening your link. Good night.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 24th 2015, 1:02 AM

Good night! I’m equally as bad because I mentioned cunnilingus and blowjobs is it? And the fact that 40% of heterosexual couples engage in anal sex? Do you have a problem with discussing sex or something? We are quite a sexually repressed nation, it causes a lot of damage, people find sexuality a difficult thing to come to terms with and feel it is dirty because of sexual repression. There’s no harm in discussing it as long as it’s in a civil manner. I take offense to being likened to Joey though, he clearly was looking for a reaction, the way he discussed it was revolting. Your refusal to continue the discussion though, your refusal to look at the link I posted, very convenient for you. Very convenient way of holding onto your misguided opinion. They are simply studies done which show that same sex parenting is no worse than heterosexual parenting. In response to your comment that ” There is no evidence that you could show me nor the many hundreds of thousands of other people that voted no on Friday that gay people could do the same job as straight people in raising children. It’s just not possible”

Mute Helen Ryder
    Favourite Helen Ryder
    May 24th 2015, 1:14 AM

You have no idea what you are talking about. Seriously, our kids are our lives – you don’t get to tell me how to raise my own daughter.

Mute John Smyth
    Favourite John Smyth
    May 24th 2015, 1:25 AM

Well 50 years of scientific research on attachment says your opinion is wrong

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    May 24th 2015, 4:36 AM

Demise

You lie.

The “no difference” theory is dead
    It will be impossible for critics to ignore it, as it is based on more data than any previous study — 512 children with same-sex parents drawn from the US National Health Interview Survey. The emotional problems included misbehaviour, worrying, depression, poor relationships with peers and inability to concentrate.

After crunching the numbers, Sullins found opposite-sex parents provided a better environment. “Biological parentage uniquely and powerfully distinguishes child outcomes between children with opposite-sex parents and those with same-sex parents,”
    http://www.mercatornet.com/articles/view/the_no_difference_theory_is_dead

Also:
    Same-Sex Marriage Is Harmful to Children
    Fathers reduce behavioral problems in boys and psychological problems in girls.

According to decades of research, the ideal family structure for children is a two-parent, mother-father family. That research consistently shows that children raised in such families are more likely to thrive—psychologically, mentally, and physically—than children reared in any other kind of family configuration.

Extensive research also reveals that not only mothers, but also fathers, are critical to the healthy development of children. Swedish researchers reviewed the best longitudinal studies from around the world that assessed the effects of fathers on children’s development. Their review spanned 20 years of studies and included over 22,000 children, and found that fathers reduce behavioral problems in boys and psychological problems in girls, enhance cognitive development, and decrease delinquency.
    Trayce Hansen is a licensed psychologist

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    May 24th 2015, 10:47 AM

The family law does need sorting. But less face it arguing some thing isn’t natural is longer a good reason to argue against it in a technologically capable society. So now we really do have to think abouts what’s best for the children. Heterosexual men have been far more wronged in the family law act than gays. Children born out of marriage still don’t have the same protections as those that are. Equality for everyone. Marriage is a contract nothing natural about it. Love is.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 29th 2015, 3:06 AM

That sullins guy is a Catholic university proffessor….not biased at all I’m sure!

Anti-gay Conservatives Latching On To Regnerus-esque Flawed Study About Same-Sex Parenting

CHRISTIAN WALTERS 02/12/2015

Because who cares about scientific rigor in the search for facts when you can just mimic a famously flawed study to produce the results you want? Not Donald Paul Sullins, a Catholic priest and sociology professor at Catholic University of America. Sullins is a fellow of the Marriage and Religion Research Institute, a project of the Family Research Council, and a Fourth Degree member of the Knights of Columbus, so objectivity in his research is already on extremely unstable ground.

Sullins pulled data from the National Health Interview Survey from 1997-2013 to determine whether or not gay couples make good parents. Unsurprisingly, Sullins’ results drew him to the conclusion that same-sex parents are unfit, despite the fact that Mark Regnerus – who oversaw Sullins’ study - created a study that was flawed to the point of uselessness and a separate, more reliable study in Australiafound the opposite.

Think Progress dismantles Sullins’ studypiece by piece, pointing out the myriad of flaws present, including the oh-so-small detail that Sullins has no information about whether or not the couples in the data he pulled were actually married, or that somehow according to Sullins’ study gay couples are significantly worse for the upbringing of a child than a single parent.

Mute John Diamond
    Favourite John Diamond
    May 24th 2015, 12:38 AM

I think Maire Geoghegan-Quinn should be there too, Ireland was so different 20 years ago and she had the courage to decriminalise homosexual acts. Wonder how things would have panned out if she was FF leader rather than Bertie

Mute Richard Hammond
    Favourite Richard Hammond

Ken Curtin of Yes Equality Cork. Put in a massive campaign.

Mute Martin Bonner
    Favourite Martin Bonner
    May 24th 2015, 12:29 AM

Ken was magnificent.

Mute Nora McGrath
    Favourite Nora McGrath

@Lasair I don’t get the connection between your concerns and the constitutional wording change.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    May 23rd 2015, 10:01 PM

Thanks to all of them they and others helped change our country for the better.

Mute Keano
    Favourite Keano
    May 23rd 2015, 9:55 PM

No mention of Panties. Even the gays don’t like him.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:39 PM

Chuck Feeney.
    The man who funded the campaign.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre O'Byrne
    May 23rd 2015, 11:18 PM

It wasn’t the biggest “yes” the country saw, but the work of Declan Donohoe and Donal MacAodh in YesEquality Longford was astounding, and saw the Longford campaign punch well above its weight. Well done lads!

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    May 23rd 2015, 10:28 PM

Young Declan Burke and his team done some great work here in Dublin South West. He also made a great case for the rights of young people to be treated equally within the democratic process

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    May 23rd 2015, 9:41 PM

Yes those politicians sure believe in equality, so much so that family legacy is alive and kicking.

Mute Ellen Barr
    Favourite Ellen Barr
    May 24th 2015, 12:34 AM

Riyadh Khalaf definitely deserves a mention too!

Mute Emma McMahon
    Favourite Emma McMahon
    May 23rd 2015, 11:09 PM

Darren McMahon @darrenmcmahon54 on Twitter. Put his heart and soul into campaigning in Clare & Galway

Mute John Smyth
    Favourite John Smyth
    May 24th 2015, 1:16 AM

You left out psi president Dr Paul dalton who dispelled the disgusting misuse of psychological research by some whom had tried to wrongfully argue against same sex parenting . He spoke passionately about the Shame that society made him feel as a young gay man and how regardless of the outcome today that such shame had been lifted and his country supported him #proudtobeirish #proudofpsi #hometovotearmy

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    May 24th 2015, 8:52 AM

I would like to nominate the thousands of #hometovote returning emigrants who went to a lot of trouble to get home to cast their vote. I am sure that their example prompted a lot of younger people living here to actually get out and vote for the first time.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 24th 2015, 6:00 PM

Good point!

Mute Aditya Mac An Fhile
    Favourite Aditya Mac An Fhile
    May 23rd 2015, 11:50 PM

Panti?
    Brian Sheehan and all others at GLEN?
    Who decided this?

Mute Leanne Carroll
    Favourite Leanne Carroll
    May 23rd 2015, 11:47 PM

The UCD SU had a huge part to play

Mute Pádraig Collins
    Favourite Pádraig Collins
    May 24th 2015, 4:47 AM

Ucc Su need to be mentioned here. They alone registered 4000 students to vote for this referendum and canvassed like there was no tomorrow. They deserved a mention. Did the same, if not more than TCD.

Mute Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    Favourite Daniel Dudek Corrigan
    May 23rd 2015, 10:09 PM

Is that a fact? That Ireland is first to have same sex marriage right written into constitution? I know we’re first to hold referendum, but it’s the first time I hear the constitution bit?

Mute Sharon McDaid
    Favourite Sharon McDaid

What?? No Marian Keyes on the list?? shocked

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    May 23rd 2015, 10:52 PM

Fintan Warfield & Chris Curran

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    May 23rd 2015, 11:54 PM

When I saw John Lyons top of the list for no reason as he did nothing in the campaign I knew that Hugh had wrote this article and I was correct.

Mute Diana Walshe
    Favourite Diana Walshe
    May 24th 2015, 7:44 AM

David Norris!!!!

Mute Tríona Ní S
    Favourite Tríona Ní S
    May 24th 2015, 9:55 AM

Síona Cahill!! Welfare Officer in Maynooth SU and #Hashtag queen! She came up with #makegrathelaw and even #PollingStationPickUpLines she did unreal work and has done for months!!! Definitely deserves a spot above!!!

Mute Will Keane
    Favourite Will Keane
    May 24th 2015, 11:40 AM

I think Declan Flynn deserves a mention. http://politico.ie/archive/night-they-killed-declan-flynn

Mute Michael Walsh
    Favourite Michael Walsh
    May 24th 2015, 10:34 AM

Add Brian Sheehan, Noeleen Cummins, Grainne Courtney, Orla Howard, Des Crowley & all at Doctors for Equality, Peter Ward and all at Lawyers for Yes

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    May 24th 2015, 4:35 AM

Having just now watched the John Lyons campaign video for the first time, If I’d had a vote, I’d have voted yes based on the simple sentence questioning “why not” said almost at the end the video.
    Unfortunately I didn’t follow any of the campaign for Yes or No, as it doesn’t come on my radar therefore doesn’t matter to me and I hadn’t paid any attention. Well done to those that managed to ensure enough people did pay attention and voted for their choice.

Mute David M
    Favourite David M
    May 24th 2015, 1:35 PM

Roderic O’Gorman and everyone else in the Green Party who were the first to put Marriage Equality on the political agenda, fought an uphill struggle to bring in Civil Partnerships without which we would have never had such a result, and who have been knocking on doors for months.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 24th 2015, 12:35 AM

Here I am Dave, time to reply here too, I know ya miss me

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    May 24th 2015, 3:54 PM

Enda Kenny? Last time they asked him about gay marriage he almost got taken out by a potted plant while trying to run away from the question! David Norris deserves more credit than the coward Kenny!

Mute Tomboktu
    Favourite Tomboktu
    May 24th 2015, 2:16 PM

Oein De Bhairduin, who leads LGBT Pavee and campaigned in the Traveller community for a Yes vote

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    May 24th 2015, 2:31 AM

Eamon Magee.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    May 24th 2015, 10:33 AM
    Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 24th 2015, 6:01 PM

Would you defend those who claimed interracial marriage was “wrong”, “unnatural”, “would harm children”, “would make a mockery of marriage”??

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 24th 2015, 11:30 AM

Am …nothing personal – But who the hell is “Buzz O’Neill ” ?

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    May 24th 2015, 3:04 AM

What happened?

Mute Alice o' Flynn
    Favourite Alice o' Flynn
    May 23rd 2015, 11:00 PM

Well done Journal ….think Grainne Healy could be added to the list