You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Chinese troops killed hundreds of unarmed civilians during the 1989 pro-democracy protest. AP/Press Association Images

China is going to release the last Tiananmen Square protest prisoner

Miao Deshun will be released in October after nearly three decades in jail.

CHINA IS PLANNING to release the last prisoner known to be held in connection with the 1989 Tiananmen Square protests after nearly three decades in jail, a US-based human rights group has said.

Miao Deshun, 51, is due to be released in October after serving more than 27 years in prison for his involvement in the mass demonstrations that were brutally put down by China’s government.

Chinese courts originally gave him a suspended death sentence for arson after he and “four coworkers allegedly threw a basket onto a burning tank”, the Duihua Foundation  said.

Commuted to life imprisonment, his prison term was subsequently reduced several times, most recently this year, when authorities shortened it by 11 months for good behaviour.

The Duihua Foundation said Deshun had spent time in solitary confinement and had been diagnosed with schizophrenia.

People who served sentences with him in the 1990s remember him as a very thin man who refused to admit wrongdoing and participate in prison labour.

In 2013, Duihua said that China had released Jiang Yaqun, then 73, and thought to be the last prisoner convicted of counter-revolutionary offences in relation to the protests.

Chinese troops killed hundreds of unarmed civilians during the 1989 crackdown on pro-democracy protesters, estimated by some to be more than 1,000.

- © AFP, 2016 

Read: In pics: Huge parade at Tiananmen Square but Beijing residents barred from watching

View 16 comments
16 Comments
    Mute Nathan Wheeler
    Favourite Nathan Wheeler
    May 4th 2016, 10:52 AM

Good guy China, mass murdering its own people for the glorious Communist future since 1949.

Wally Mooney would love to spend time with his communist brethren.

Mute James O Conner
    Favourite James O Conner
    May 4th 2016, 10:53 AM

I’d say your great craic in the pub Nathan

Mute Nathan Wheeler
    Favourite Nathan Wheeler
    May 4th 2016, 10:55 AM

I will take that as a compliment !

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    May 4th 2016, 11:14 AM

I think they’re more capitalunists these days.

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    May 4th 2016, 11:17 AM

You think they were bad Commies? Wait until this embracement of capitalism has run its course. We’ll be lucky if anyone is left alive to tell the tale.

Mute Barry Casey
    Favourite Barry Casey
    May 4th 2016, 12:53 PM

When do you think that will be Sean? I’ll put your Nostradamus type prediction down in my diary

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    May 4th 2016, 11:19 AM

27 years for a political non-violent protest. And we think we have a corrupt system.

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    May 4th 2016, 1:22 PM

Didn’t stop president Higgins and Irish politicians doing business with them.
    And then Higgins has the gall to tell the British that “a policy of amnesia won’t do” when it comes to facing up to injustices. Another cucumber sandwich, Dobby?

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    May 4th 2016, 10:45 AM

A great bunch of lads

Mute Old Gordon
    Favourite Old Gordon
    May 4th 2016, 12:55 PM

Although they might be nominally communist, China does have some admirable traits. Without elections, they can plan long term without the issue of a new shower of moronic politicians ruining everything every five years.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    May 4th 2016, 1:06 PM

And they would know how to deal effectively with water protestors.

Mute James Stratford
    Favourite James Stratford
    May 4th 2016, 5:17 PM

Not everything is about water!

Mute John Reid
    Favourite John Reid
    May 4th 2016, 3:02 PM

The people who vote for the likes of the Marxist/socialist so-called People Before Profit, Anti-Austerity Alliance and Sinn Fein should read more articles like this, and about Venezuela and the rest of the countries which have adopted socialist/communist governments.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    May 4th 2016, 1:47 PM

And your buddies Leo who have robbed this country blind and caused the deaths of hundreds who took their own life and sometimes took their kids as well you proud of that Leo the lion yea c.nt

Mute Pat Walsh
    Favourite Pat Walsh
    May 4th 2016, 1:36 PM

Poor man, he may have been better off with the death sentence.

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    May 4th 2016, 3:10 PM

I love chicken curry