You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Press briefing in Department of Health this evening. Leah Farrell/RollingNews.ie

50 cases on island of Ireland, advice against all travel to Italy: Today's Covid-19 main points

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said yesterday that we could “easily” see half the Irish population contract the virus.

LAST UPDATE | 10 Mar 2020

HEALTH OFFICIALS HAVE this evening confirmed there are 10 new cases of coronavirus in the Republic of Ireland, bringing the total to 34 here.

With 16 confirmed in the North, the total number of cases on the island of Ireland is now 50. 

The National Public Health Emergency Team said that a total of 1,784 people have been tested for the virus so far in Ireland. A total of 1,387 of these tests were conducted in the last week.

What’s the latest? 

The new cases of Covid-19 confirmed this evening are as follows: 

• A male healthcare worker in the south who contracted the illness in hospital 
  • A female healthcare worker in the south who contracted the illness in hospital 
  • Three men from the south – associated with travel from affected area 
  • One man in the west – linked to contact with a confirmed case 
  • A woman in the west – associated with contact with a confirmed case 
  • A woman in the south – associated with contact with a confirmed case 
  • A man in the east who had travelled to an affected area 
  • A woman in the east who had travelled to an affected area

Dr Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer at the Department of Health said: “98% of all suspected cases in Ireland have tested negative. While Ireland remains in containment phase, there is no room for complacency.

“We all have a part to play in limiting and slowing the spread of this disease.”

Preparations to tackle the spread of the coronavirus has ramped up significantly in the past few days – with St Patrick’s Day events cancelled and Italy on lockdown.

Here are the main points you need to know about the situation in Ireland:

• Ten new cases were confirmed in Ireland, bringing the total to 34
  • In Northern Ireland, there are 16 confirmed cases
  • Northern Ireland’s First Minister Arlene Foster and deputy First Minister Michelle O’Neill have cancelled plans to attend St Patrick’s events in the United States, but the Taoiseach’s visit is still set to go ahead
  • The Irish government has upgraded its travel advice to Italy to the highest level, advising against travel there for any reason
  • The Department of Education has said there’s “no such advice” to close schools “at this point”
  • Ryanair has cancelled all its international Italian flights from Friday while Aer Lingus has also said it will cancel all flights to and from Italy
  • Slovakia has announced that the Euro 2020 play-off with Ireland will be played behind closed doors
  • Trinity College will hold its lectures online and the Book of Kells exhibition will close tomorrow
  • DCU’ has announced that its Spring graduation scheduled for 21 March has been postponed as it is a “non-critical event”
  • Ulster Bank released details of a range of measures aimed at supporting personal and business banking customers whose financial situation has been impacted by the coronavirus outbreak.
  • Up to ten people who attended a live Blindboy podcast recording in Clare last month are in self-isolation after a person with the Covid-19 virus was in the audience.
  • Cork University Hospital has said it will be reducing/rescheduling their outpatient appointments for the remainder of the week.
  • Here’s why Ireland isn’t implementing the kind of severe lockdown measures being seen in other countries.

Yesterday, a raft of significant announcements were made, including that St Patrick’s Day events have been cancelled, and that the Taoiseach won’t travel to New York City to meet US President Donald Trump.

Illness benefit has been increased from €201 to €305 per week, and other barriers to the benefit were lifted to help workers who have to self-isolate.

Leo Varadkar said yesterday that we could “easily” see half the Irish population contract the virus, but that for most people it would be a mild illness.

An Irishman who contracted Covid-19 also explained that he had no symptoms, other than a fever, after a short trip abroad on RTÉ’s Claire Byrne Show last night. 

Here’s what you need to know from around the world:

• The entire population of Italy woke up to lockdown conditions this morning as travel restrictions have been extended to the whole country
  • New York’s St Patrick’s Day parade is still set to go ahead on 17 March, according to Mayor Bill de Blasio.
  • Mortgage payments will be suspended across Italy due to the outbreak
  • Austria has imposed border restrictions with Italy, unless they have a doctor’s note
  • The UK’s deputy chief medical officer said the country will see “many thousands of people” contract coronavirus
  • The Czech Republic is closing schools indefinitely and banning events with more than 100 people. The country has reported 40 cases of Covid-19
  • Poland has cancelled all mass events. The country has reported 17 cases of Covid-19  
  • British Airways has cancelled all flights to and from Italy
  • Israel has imposed a two-week quarantine on all travellers entering the country
  • Mainland China reported no new locally transmitted cases outside of Hubei province for the third straight day
  • The worldwide death toll from the virus has surpassed 4,000 people. There have been over 114,00 confirmed cases and more than 64,000 people have recovered.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland this morning, Tánaiste Simon Coveney was asked if the government should now ban air travel from Italy, considering that the majority of cases in Ireland came from people who had travelled from northern Italy.

“We can’t control that, but Italy is in lockdown except for essential work,” Coveney said.

When asked about the threat of a spread here in Ireland, Coveney said:

The vast majority of confirmed cases have travelled to northern Italy and have brought it home with them… Really, the focus it’s about containment. But I think it’s inevitable that we move onto the delay phase.

Ireland is currently in the ‘containment phase’ of dealing with an epidemic; the delay phase would be ‘control and mitigation’ on this HSE graph:

Epidemic phases HSE HSE

When asked whether other public gatherings, other than St Patrick’s Day events, should be cancelled, Coveney said that if the Public Health Team makers further recommendations about public gatherings, the government will follow them:

We are trying to provide responses that are proportionate, if you shut a country down, you can cause significant damage to people’s quality of life.
So we’re trying to issue advice based on the public threat. We need to listen to experts. This response needs to be expert-driven rather than [politicians] going on a solo run. Meetings are happening literally every day.

Coveney added: “I think that what we’re trying to do here is to respond to a crisis as it develops, and [trying not to] use all your ammunition before [the situation] develops. The advice will be updated on a daily basis.”

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar, meanwhile, held a teleconference call with other EU leaders to discuss the ongoing virus outbreak and its impact. 

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this afternoon, Italy’s ambassador to Ireland insisted Italy is not to blame for the pace at which the coronavirus has spread across Europe as the country goes into lockdown five weeks after it confirmed its first case. 

Symptoms and prevention 

Covid-19 is spread through droplets caused by sneezing or coughing, or by touching a surface that someone has sneezed or coughed on within a particular time frame. It cannot be passed through your skin, and it’s thought that it’s unlikely to be airborne.

It may take up to 14 days for symptoms to show. 

The best ways to protect yourself and others from the virus are to wash hands properly and often, cover your mouth and nose with a tissue/your sleeve when coughing and sneezing, and put used tissues in a bin and wash your hands. 

Symptoms of Covid-19 include:

• Cough
  • Shortness of breath
  • Fever
  • Breathing difficulties

Further resources:

• The HSE: Official advice on the coronavirus in Ireland. This is being updated based on the number of confirmed cases and how the virus spreads in Ireland.
  • The Department of Foreign Affairs: Official advice on where to avoid travelling to. Also a resource for those who are abroad.
  • The World Health Organisation (WHO): The UN agency on global public health publishes statements and daily situation reports based on the latest data.
  • European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC): The EU agency on the number of cases, deaths and how it’s spreading in Europe. 
  • The Johns Hopkins University map: A heat map of the confirmed cases across the world.

A helpline for older people who are concerned about the coronavirus has been launched by Alone. The number is 0818 222 024, and it’s open Mon-Fri, 8am-8pm.

With reporting by Cónal Thomas 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:52 AM

This is just a publicity stunt. Pence went to the game with the intention of walking out.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:01 AM

@Dermot Lane: only if they kneeled

Mute john Appleseed
    Favourite john Appleseed
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Dermot Lane: with these guys what isn’t a PR stunt?

See 50 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:09 AM

@john Appleseed: reporters were told to stay outside before game because something was going to happen.

Oct 9th 2017, 11:12 AM

@Dermot Lane: he had a plane ready to bring him to a lucrative fund raiser! Also his and Trumps silence on Nazis marching again in Charlottesville is deafening.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:16 AM

Surely if NFL players have a right to protest under the First Amendment then people like Pence who walks out in protest at the players disrespect for the flag and anthem are equally allowed to do a protest… In this case walk out… It surely works both ways.. one is allowed protest by kneeling and it’s others decision to walk out, not watch, boycott etc….

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:29 AM

@LITTLEONE: of course he does. But who exactly is the second most powerful person in America protesting to? Also, himself, his wife and his staff and security went on a 4,000 mile flight at the tax payers expense to do it.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:37 AM

@LITTLEONE: If this type of stunt happened in Ireland you’d be screaming about the cost to the taxpayer of flying 2,000 miles with massive entourage/security, just to turn around and come back again.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:38 AM

Dave think he said why he walked out.
    I will not dignify any event that disrespects our soldiers, our flag, or our national anthem,” Pence wrote on Twitter. Which is his decision…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:40 AM

@Brinster: don’t think this would happen in Ireland… Because sports people here show respect to the national anthem..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:45 AM

@LITTLEONE: he could have saved the taxpayer a fortune and sent that tweet from home as the reason he didn’t go. Also, the protest does not disrespect any of those things. Kneeling is a show of respect

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:45 AM

@LITTLEONE: most here don’t sing it.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:47 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: most here don’t sing? So Dave. I don’t sing it either but I do stand for it … What’s singing it got to do with it??????

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:55 AM

@Dermot Lane: ok, I’m actually not 100% sure why kneeling for the national anthem is disrespecting the country, can someone explain?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:57 AM

@LITTLEONE:

If the police here started shooting people at the same rate as they do in the US, that might change…

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:00 PM

@LITTLEONE: he hasn’t been to a game there in years, according to one of the players. Publicity stunt.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:06 PM

@Brinster: so your ok with them kneeling to protest police….. Need I remind you those police saved countless lives last week in las Vegas….

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:11 PM

@LITTLEONE: they are protesting what they feel is unfair treatment of black Americans by law enforcement and the courts. If you think they’re making it up I suggest you look into Baltimore PD and the difference in sentencing for crack vs powder cocaine. They are not protesting against everything the police do. Just like when people were marching for civil rights they weren’t protesting against the abolition of slavery

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:15 PM

@LITTLEONE:

I’m ok with people exercising a right to protest in a manner that impacts no one negatively.

What they protest about is their own concern.

Though I find it very odd that many of the people who run down the Gardai here on a daily basis have such incredible respect for US police….

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:16 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: then maybe they should protest outside police stations on their own time … Not bring it into a football stadium… Unless your of the mind that sports is now open season for protests of every sort…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:24 PM

Yep sure it would go down a treat… Next year all Ireland final day… Both teams will either kneel , sit or do exercises while national anthem is playing in protest at whatever takes their fancy…. Because it’s the norm now… Bring protests into sports …. If you criticise it … Your wrong..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:29 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: what a derogative comment..

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:37 PM

@LITTLEONE:

For clarity -

The first amendment is not a citizen right per se, it is a state and local government restriction.

This means, in this particular case, that when the Vice President “protest” the players kneeling, the state government is effectively and publicly opposing individuals expressing themselves.

This opposition can well be interpreted as an attempt to restrict freedom of speech and expression.

Such an attempt would be unconstitutional.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:39 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: hey Dave.? How many protests away from the national anthem at football stadiums have these NFL players organised … How many times have they protested against these police in the areas where these happened? Surely if they are that concerned then they would be and have been doing something all this time away from the NFL…

Mute Dog Eat Fog
    Favourite Dog Eat Fog
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:42 PM

@LITTLEONE:

One tends to protest where one has a voice.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:50 PM

@Liam Doyle: then that should be same then for the players… Obviously people have a right to protest, have there different opinions , but I personally don’t think sports or the national anthem is the place for it… Do it on your own time away from the place where your paid millions to play. Why doesn’t the NFL organise a national protest away from the stadiums and national anthem and let people show their support for what these people are protesting about in cities all around the country.. why bring it into the sport..

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:50 PM

Stadiums.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:10 PM

@LITTLEONE: you can’t blame one side for doing it in a football stadium before they do their job while commending the other for doing it at tax payers expense in a football stadium.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:22 PM

Dave . What I said in my first comment was if players have a right to protest by kneeling etc then pence has a right to walk out …. To which he has. Works both ways… Take it you have nothing on protests by these NFL players away from the national anthem and stadiums… No organised protests they have been doing???
    No protesting outside police stations?? Nothing zilch…

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne

Bunch of snowflakes, triggered by some black athletes kneeling.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:33 PM

@LITTLEONE: why didn’t Pence hold a protest away from the game in his living room where he would not have been representing the people of America so he could save his employers money? Instead of walking out on a protest for the rights of 13% of the people he works for.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:45 PM

@LITTLEONE: Do you honor our military too, when you stand and since when were they running the Country?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:51 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: who knows maybe he thought they might stand yesterday and show respect to the police who saved countless lives last week in Vegas and then he wouldn’t have walked out but enjoyed the game…
    Fact is if these players truly believed in their protest and what it stands for then they would have been doing organised protests all this time in the cities they play in and getting the support of the people instead of a stunt on football day where they then do nothing from one week to the next except go home to their million dollar homes .. why are they or why haven’t they been doing something all this time???? What’s this kneeling achieving … Nothing but tensions… Do protests away from the national anthem and the game and get people to support them and then it would have traction. Let NFL owners organise big protests and highlight exactly what these players want and get people behind them.. like I said I personally don’t think the national anthem or sports is the place for it…. Many sports stars world over believe and support many things and they show their support not by protesting the national anthem by kneeling, sitting etc and don’t bring it on the sports day…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:22 PM

@LITTLEONE: you’re still failing to in anyway address my point. Everything you’re saying is a negative on one side is exactly the same as what Pence did except he got the tax payers to fund his one. He told the press to wait outside for him before the game so to claim he thought the protest wouldn’t happen is bull. Also, are you telling me that the players do nothing to improve the lives of those less fortunate than them in their time off? They do plenty of work between games and training for charities that they believe in. Kneeling brings attention to an issue. You know what a smart politician would do? Meet with the players, have a conversation, open a dialogue instead of insulting them for pointing out what they see as an injustice.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:41 PM

Dave… Let me ask you…. Then why didn’t they do anything before trump became president? They had the perfect opportunity when Obama was president…..they did nothing…. Where was the media then?? Silent…. Where was the owners all this time??? Nowhere… … What did they do just like you are doing above…. Turning it into a trump bashing… Putting it on them… These players and owners should have taken a stand back what now was it 18 months give or take to highlight what the problems they had… They didn’t…they wait till trump says something on Twitter before they suddenly decide the want to make a point… That says more about them than trump or pence to be honest… It shows that it’s about getting one up on trump by joining the cause… How many were doing it before trump tweeted? Very low number… I am sure many players do charity work behind the scenes… My point was why not do anything jointly with the NFL and organise a large protest months ago if it was truly what they believed… Why wait for a tweet … Which is what happened.. before they suddenly decide to protest…. Surely they either where for the protest when it first happened or they just want to get one up on the president…. because they waited till he tweeted…. Again my point is certainly protest , get as much people behind you, certainly Kay out the issues but not in the football stadiums while national anthem is playing…. Love to know why people are shouting me down over that and why they don’t find it strange none of these people protesting now did so before the tweeting apart from a few….

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:48 PM

@LITTLEONE: here you are again as a Trump surrogate.. you know theres an old saying that says smart people change their mind from time to time fools never do.. you made a wrong call by backing trump and now are getting further into the mud as you try defend them on every occasion. They are an embarassment to the human race.. you’re just a fool.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:56 PM

The players don’t spend thousands and thousands of tax payers money to go to the field. Pence was flown in, had security detail etc which cost a fortune. All to walk out. And done deliberately.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:57 PM

@LITTLEONE:
    Whatever about whether he (VP) has the right to protest against the players (he does of course), why can’t he be honest and admit that this is what he intended to do and that his attendance was pre-meditated and orchestrated in order to make such a protest.
    Then he could honestly deal with the questions about whether he should be spending hundreds of thousands of tax dollars on his protest.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 3:09 PM

@LITTLEONE: First Amendment: “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.” They are perfectly within their rights no matter their reason or timing. Pence on the other hand has some ‘splainin to do. Who’s shouting? Didn’t Pence also use the national anthem towards his own ends yesterday? You’ve still failed to address the tax payer issue. He could have done all of this from home, or from any press conference and got the same amount of attention while not costing his employers

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 3:28 PM

Ah Dave. Your fine one for talking about not addressing the issue when you have ignored constant times now the issue of why NFL players and owners did nothing while Obama was president..??? Did nothing for last 18 months…do nothing about protesting this issue except now they do , because trump tweeted . on football day and that’s it…ignored and will not answer.. so in in regards to pence and taxpayers money then If true what media are reporting , then he has some explaining to do and sure it will all come out in the wash.. I find it quite something that you and others before you are actually inclined to turn these protests into a trump, pence thing which takes away from the actual reason for the protests thereby giving trump exactly what he wants … And giving the protests exactly nothing…
    But carry on .. make it about trump etc because that’s really not addressing the issue of the protests…

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 3:40 PM

Dave apparently him going to the game yesterday was on the schedule for weeks and wasn’t a spur of the moment jaunt as people are suggesting.
    the Indianapolis trip was planned for weeks because former Colts quarterback Peyton Manning was being honored at the game; the Las Vegas leg, however, was put on the schedule in recent days, adding to the total expenditures. As for the trip to LA … Notice no one is mentioning above because it was a RNC event then that part of the trip does be reimbursed….

“The Vice President was not going to miss the Las Vegas memorial prayer walk on Saturday, which he was honored to attend on behalf of President Trump,” another aide said in a statement to CNN. “If the Vice President did not go to Indiana for the Colts game, he would have flown back to D.C. for the evening — which means flying directly over Indiana. Instead, he made a shorter trip to Indiana for a game that was on his schedule for several weeks.”

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:02 PM

@LITTLEONE: “Then why didn’t they do anything before trump became president?”

Kaepernick started the protest when Obama was President.

This is nothing whatsoever to do with Trump.

Until, of course, HE made it about himself.

He is a pathetic loser and your defence of him is unbelievable.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:04 PM

@LITTLEONE:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/U.S._national_anthem_protests_(2016%E2%80%93present)

Kaepernick started the protest August 2016, five months before the election.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 6:39 PM

@Brinster: are you really that ridiculous…. I know exactly when the protest started by kapernick…. Problem is seems it bypassed most of the NFL and players and owners until trump tweeted… Seems your missing that point… Only a handful were doing it up to few weeks ago… That’s how much they supported it… It’s only since trump tweeted that many players and owners are doing it… That suggests they are doing in defiance against trump and not in support of those that were doing before he tweeted… So if you want to say trump made it about himself ,. You can thank owners and players for giving him a helping hand.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 6:48 PM

@LITTLEONE: bull. Why then did he fly back over Vegas and on to LA after leaving the game? Just quit. There’s no way his schedule if he skipped the game was to fly 2,000 east to then fly 2,300 west in the one day. If his intention was to be at home in DC if not at the game why didn’t he go home to DC when he wasn’t at the game? My answer to your question about why they don’t protest outside police stations is simple. They can protest wherever they want once it’s peaceful and doesn’t endanger anyone. That’s what they’re doing. Also, outside a police station they might get in the way of police doing their work. Would you prefer that?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 7:07 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: why because CNN said so Dave… That’s where your information is coming from… Pretty easy to check what his schedule was…he was scheduled to go to the game in Indiana weeks ago…. Because of Peyton Manning …last Vegas was added to schedule….. So now your using excuse that they might get in the way if they protest at a police station… Ok so what public parks etc… plenty of places they could have organised protests for the last 18 months if they desired…. They didn’t neither players or the NFL or owners …. They did nothing ….. In fact Dave isn’t it true only a very small number were protesting before trump tweeted…. The number went up after he tweeted… So why didn’t the number go up weeks , months ago and not just because trump tweeted… So it’s fair to say him tweeting increased the number so it seems more are interested in kneeling in defiance of trump than in support of those kneeling before he tweeted because of the sudden change.

Mute Maryland Lady
    Favourite Maryland Lady
    Oct 9th 2017, 7:31 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: They might get shot there..

Mute cormac o neill
    Favourite cormac o neill
    Oct 9th 2017, 7:54 PM

@Dermot Lane: he goes there every 2nd week … publicity stunt is been pulled by those who respect that great flag

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:12 PM

@cormac o neill: so why hasn’t he been annoyed enough to leave previously? The protest has been going on for over a year. Suddenly now it annoys him?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:26 PM

@LITTLEONE: Trump’s tweet was a breech of the first amendment rights of those that kneel. That is why it got more people to protest. I don’t think you understand how pointless your argument is. You’re saying they have rights, but they should exercise them when less people are watching. You understand how awareness works right? Also, on Pence’s schedule, read what I posted again. Vegas to Indiana to LA in 24 hours. He was always going to LA. It’s an RNC event. There’s absolutely no point in telling you these facts though. You have your “alternative” sources and logic won’t beat you.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:38 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: compared to your CNN sources…. Ah Dave really.. come to realize what’s the point with you… At least you finally admitted they are only protesting in droves now because of trump’s tweet…. What’s that say?
    They couldn’t be bothered to protest in support of those that were kneeling for last 18 months but because trump tweeted and upset them they decided to kneel…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:39 PM

@LITTLEONE: you know the best way to end the protest? Meet with them, talk through what they see as injustices. That’s what real leaders do rather actively seeking to get people fired for using their constitutional rights.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:43 PM

@LITTLEONE: it says the president tried to repress people’s rights and others came out in support of those rights. You know what it really tells me? America is still America. People will still stand up against any power that threatens their rights.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:53 AM

He did the right thing

Mute Lisa Saputo
    Favourite Lisa Saputo

@Paul: He did in his a***. He’s a complete snowflake that can’t handle any kind of criticism; just like his idiot boss.

Mute Ben Dawkins
    Favourite Ben Dawkins
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:07 AM

@Paul: I wonder how much his visit cost the tax payer ? The chances were it was going to happen and all he did was waste time and money.

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:10 AM

@Ben Dawkins: 500,000 was the estimate I heard. When you include flights, security and everything.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:35 AM

@Ben Dawkins: went 4,000 miles out of his way to not see a football game because Trump told him to. All before going to a fund raiser in LA. Vegas to LA is about 300 miles. Vegas to Indiana is 1,800 in the opposite direction. At least he’s getting good use out of Air Force Two.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:32 PM

@Paul: you mean the far right thing. By walking out, he’s protesting a mark of protest against racism.

Mute Richard Day
    Favourite Richard Day
    Oct 9th 2017, 5:35 PM

@Paul: Patriotism the last refuge of a scoundrel.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell

Sportsmen and women should leave politics to politicians regardless of their feelings about them. Disrespecting one’s national flag is disgusting. I’m with Trump and Pence on this one.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:09 AM

Best if NFL drop the playing of the anthem….Play another tune perhaps….The same as we play Ireland’s call rather than Irish National.Anthem at some Rugby games…..

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:11 AM

@John Campbell: *anthem

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:14 AM

@John003: they play Amhrán na bhFiann too if they’re in the Aviva

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

@John003: Why not just get rid of the flag while you’re at it and ask Disney to come up with a new tune like Ireland’s call? The flag and anthem are there for a reason and that is to set up the identity of the nation. If you don’t like it then don’t play under them. Ireland’s call makes us look like a laughing stock to the rest of the world outside the microcosm of rugger buggers with a Ross O’Carroll Kelly mentality.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Karen Wellington: thanks for clarification. National flag and Anthem are essentially two peas in a pod for national identity.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:39 AM

@John Campbell: the military pays for the anthem to be played. It’s sponsored and the playing of the anthem at every game is a fairly recent development.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:42 AM

@John Campbell:

Maybe Trump should leave politics to the politicians too

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:28 PM

@John Campbell: When they have a forced moment of worship for the countries military introduced in their sport I don’t think you can participate in the sport without being complicit to a political angle. I would agree if they dropped the anthem but for as long as a moment of patriotism to the country’s governance and society is required as part of the sport then it’s absolutely fine for a player to treat that moment however they wish.

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:30 PM

@John Campbell: and that makes you a compete and utter douche

Mute Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Ían Ó Ceallaigh
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:35 PM

@John Campbell: So they are to not be political? Then don’t play a national anthem before a domestic game, or have military “Guard of Honour” or military flyovers etc

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:26 PM

@John Campbell: then it may be best for the NFL, Trump and Pence to leave the flag alone alltogether, a quick review of the Federal codes governing the flag in the US shows that both Trump and Pence have abused it previously for their own political advantage – standards should be for all not just the sports people they disagree with.

Mute gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Favourite gowfc@yahoo.com W
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:39 PM

@John Campbell: playing the anthem at a sporting event should be banned? Is the logical conclusion of what you are saying?

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:52 PM

@John Campbell:

I’m English – I REFUSE to stand for the British National Anthem – for political reasons and because of what the Union flag represents!
    Should we all be docile sheep who ignore our countries crimes and passionately wrap our nation’s flag around us no matter what it stands for??

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward

I have to laugh at the hysterical rantings of the liberal left on this one. They scream and shout that NFL players have a right to protest under the First Amendment but then get their knickers in a knot because Pence walks out in protest at the players disrespect for the flag and anthem. Apparently only the liberal left are allowed to protest but no-one else is. The right are the only ones using violence while the antifa thugs are a picture of peace and harmony. The left have a right to demonstrate and speak out but the right are not allowed to do so in direct violation of their constitutional rights.

If ever there was a deluded, schizophrenic, constitutional violating movement it’s the dog hugging, bubble blowing snowflakes of the liberal left.

Mute White Rabbit
    Favourite White Rabbit
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:36 AM

@Brian Ward: lol snowflakes! Good generalising there my angry friend.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster

@Brian Ward:

Players kneeling doesn’t cost anyone anything.

VPs flying thousands of miles to stage a publicity stunt is a colossal waste of time and money. By people who should know better.

If you can’t see the difference between the two, I don’t think you can accuse anyone of being deluded.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Ryan Boyle
    Favourite Ryan Boyle

@Brian Ward:
    Why do all the trolls on here have a fake name, fake picture, and their FB account has no friends and all their photos are just memes? You’re so unoriginal. Why not put your real name behind your opinions?
    And to add to the unoriginality, they all go around saying “snowflake”?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:41 AM

@Brian Ward: who is the second most powerful person in America protesting to? You know what protest is? It’s people that are not in power appealing to those that are to change something. He was well within his rights to leave but what is wasteful is flying 4,000 miles to go to a game, telling press to wait outside because something was going to happen and then leaving when the you saw the thing you claim you didn’t want to see. How many were on the plane with him? That’s a nice bill for the taxpayer. Could have sent a tweet from home saying he wasn’t going because of the protests. That would have been free and would have allowed him to do some work.

Mute Tristan Rowntree
    Favourite Tristan Rowntree
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:42 AM

@Brian Ward: there is no first amendment right to protest when you’re at work. The players employers allow them to disrespect the flag and anthem whilst on the clock.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:47 AM

@Tristan Rowntree: are they not doing their jobs?

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:52 AM

@Brian Ward: How exactly is kneeling at the national anthem a sign of disrespect? I guess everyone who observes the custom to kneel for prayer in certain churches is disrespectful to god, or anyone getting knighted and kneeling is disrespectful to the monarch doing the knighting, you alt-right bro flakes have no problem when the US flag is used as a piece of clothing, but as soon as someone kneels to highlight an issue that you disagree with you huff and puff and go into collective apoplexy

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:58 AM

@Ryan Boyle: This is my real name and my Facebook settings are on private. I have been commenting on here for 6 years and I have never used any other account to comment unlike others who his behind fake identities. If you want to show the world your Facebook page that’s your business, I prefer my privacy.

As for trolling you obviously haven’t been commenting on here long otherwise you would know that I don’ troll rather I state my opinion and will back it up with reasoned argument and citations even if it is unpopular. If you can’t handle my comments either block me or go to your safe space if it all gets too much for you.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:59 AM

@Tristan Rowntree: “there is no first amendment right to protest when you’re at work”

What utter tripe as usual.

The right to protest does not state “to be used during leisure time only”. You either have a right to protest or you don’t. Plus the game hadn’t actually started.

The Alt right trolls are really dumb sometimes.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:10 PM

@Brinster: How is it a publicity stunt? If the players had shown respect to the flag and anthem by standing to attention then no doubt Pence would quite happily have stayed for the game. If it was a publicity stunt then isn’t he doing EXACTLY what the NFL players are doing which goes back to the point I made earlier. Why is it that the liberal left think that they are the only ones who are allowed to protest and no-one else is? It kinda makes a mockery of identifying as being liberal doesn’t it?

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:14 PM

@White Rabbit: If I am so angry then why am I laughing at the poor liberals that Pence has upstaged? Maybe I should take a leaf out of the liberal playbook, go to my safe space, hug my dog and maybe get out a coloring book until I can achieve an inner peace and mindfulness.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:19 PM

@Brian Ward: “How is it a publicity stunt? ”

He knew a protest would happen (it has happened every week for months).

He told the press pool to remain outside as he wouldn’t be staying long.

The VP leaving a game in protest creates publicity.

Ergo – it was a publicity stunt.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:21 PM

@Larissa Caroline Nikolaus: I’m alt-right now am I LOL! Maybe you should tell that to the commentators on here that constantly accuse me of being a left wing Sinn Fein supporter! As for your examples of kneeling in church and being knighted they make no sense. They are the accepted stances taken out of respect in those situations. If you were the only one to sit when everyone else was kneeling in prayer would it not stand out and encourage criticism? If you were getting knighted and you sat or stood what would that be seen as?

Mute Ryan Boyle
    Favourite Ryan Boyle

@Brian Ward: Why are you using the word “snowflake” just because everyone else is using it lately? You never used to use that word until the cool kids started using it – just be yourself, Brian. No need to copy other people just to be accepted.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:34 PM

@Brian Ward: But Brian where does that leave me? I’m sure there are many more like me who are neither liberal left or alt right or whatever boxes people are being pushed into these days. I think the players have a right to protest but I also think Pence has the same right. I’m not a Trump (or Pence) fan, but I accept he is the democratically elected president. The division is getting wider. It is easy to see, for instance, who is a republican or democrat supporter reading the comments but I don’t fall into either camp. I can see when Trump does something right but also when he messes up. How can people defend some things that they just know are wrong because they back one side or other? It ruins decent argument because everything descends into name calling and insults.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:35 PM

@Brinster: The Colts players stood with linked arms during the anthem and wore shirts with the words “We will stand for equality, justice, unity, respect, dialogue, opportunity” written on it. Pence was there because he is a life long colts fan and was there to honor the retirement of Peyton Mannings number retirement. 23 49′ers players chose to take a knee during the anthem to stage their protest rather than stand in a dignified manner while still making their point like the Colts did.

Notice that Pence had no problem with the Colts behavior because it was dignified whereas the 49′ers were disrespectful. If the 49′ers had followed the Colts example there would have been no problem but they obviously think that they are better than everyone else. If they have a problem with police brutality then why aren’t they outside their local police station protesting there instead? People go to a game to watch football not to seeing a political protest.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:36 PM

@Brian Ward: I can support and admire the US police while also acknowledging that some individuals have been terribly racist and see it is a problem.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:45 PM

@Ryan Boyle: Jesus you’re a gas man! One moment you accuse me of using a fake name and fake account and now you are telling me to be myself! Then you say “You never used to use that word until the cool kids started using it” so are you stalking me now and keeping a watch of the language that I use. If so you would have known that my account is real and that your earlier post is meaningless.

If you don’t like the term snowflake (does it hit a chord?) would you prefer the term Japanese term “strawberry” (soft and bruises easily) instead? Of course that is copying the Japanese so maybe you could set up a focus group and find a new term but then that would be copying others as well and that wouldn’t do in your mind. It is going to be a bit hard coming up with a new term to replace snowflake every time that I post a comment though.

Mute Ryan Boyle
    Favourite Ryan Boyle
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:52 PM

@Brian Ward:
    “One moment you accuse me of using a fake name and fake account and now you are telling me to be myself!”

That’s the same thing. Both of them mean “be yourself”. Stop being fake.

Mute Mark Mcloughlin
    Favourite Mark Mcloughlin

@Brian Ward: Wasting your time on the majority on here man, they are morons. Great posts tho you’re bang on!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:39 PM

@Ryan Boyle: “Stop being fake”? What ‘s wrong Ryan, don’t like being shown up for accusing me of having a fake profile? The next time that you go around accusing others of using a fake profile you might want to look up as to how Facebook works first that way you won’t look so foolish.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:59 PM

@Brian Ward: “Pence was there because he is a life long colts fan”

Rubbish. He hadn’t attended a game in 3 years.

Trump tweeted he told him to go and also told him to leave if there was a protest.

This is all on the record. Direct from Trump.

Why do you feel the need to just make stuff up?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:32 PM

@Brinster: has anybody figured out why he tweeted a pic of himself at a game three years ago to say he was at the game, while he was at the game yesterday? Perhaps he wasn’t in control of his own account and couldn’t get a new pic. Hmmm.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Oct 9th 2017, 2:48 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I thought his tweet yesterday was “looking forward” to the game, in which case using an old pic of last one you were at wold seem fine. Not sure there’s much to that tbh.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 3:24 PM

@Brinster: it was an hour and a half before his press release after leaving.

Mute Maryland Lady
    Favourite Maryland Lady
    Oct 9th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Brian Ward: As a staunch defender of SF and the IRA,why do you not stand with a minority that according to a US Justice Department Investigation, are targeted by the cops and killed. It’s called racism.Have you ever read that report ? I have.And,it’s disgusting.

Mute Ciaran Peavoy
    Favourite Ciaran Peavoy

At the risk of being savaged on this section. What is the big deal if you stand kneel or sit? It’s a flag, does it have magical powers? If I don’t salute it every time I pass it will the whole world get sucked into a black hole? I

@Ciaran Peavoy: The sky will fall down, cats and dogs will become best buddies, and Trump will have a twitter meltdown, two out of these three statements won’t happen, but the last will

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:34 PM

@Ciaran Peavoy: Republicans in America are very precious about such things. They’re brainwashed into patriotism to a point where many of them even place the flag on their front lawns and schools force children into reciting a pledge of allegiance each morning.

Mute Joe Burke
    Favourite Joe Burke
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:52 PM

@Rochelle: Trump chickened out of national service -he’s a hipocrite and proves the saying “patriotism is the last refuge of the scoundrel!!

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Favourite Robert T Pooner

If I took a knee for some cause every time I went to work I don’t think my boss would be too happy

@Robert T Pooner: eh they didn’t kneel for the match just a few minutes.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:32 AM

@Robert T Pooner: and it didn’t have any impact on their job performance.

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Deborah Behan: I never said they did

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:56 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: I never said it did

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:31 PM

@Robert T Pooner: If your boss walked in every morning and demanded a minutes applause for Leo Varadkar would you happily comply? He is our democratic leader after all so you must be respectful when those opportunities are forced upon you, right?

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:09 PM

@Rochelle: False analogy and you well know it dear.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:12 PM

@Robert T Pooner: the boss doesn’t care once you do your job. They also can’t punish you for it if it’s not negatively impacting your work

Mute Robert T Pooner
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:56 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: Seems to me that a lot of people do not agree with their sentiment. Seems to me that could have a direct impact on the revenue they generate. It might not impact their performance but it’s perfectly possible it’ll impact ticket sales and merchandise. Maybe I’m wrong, would you tell me if I’m coming on too strong?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:30 PM

@Robert T Pooner: ticket sales etc is not their job description. They play football.

Mute colm mcmenamin
    Favourite colm mcmenamin

My issue here is that Pence did” what he was told”, surely a man of his stature would have done what he believed in and not what he was told to do by Trump. Stand strong in what u believe

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:44 PM

@colm mcmenamin: well said macker.

Mute high ho silver
    Favourite high ho silver
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:19 AM

These players are making millions of dollars a year playing NFL it’s part of the American dream and there disrespecting their country’s flag they should be ashamed of themselves, if that was an Irish player doing the same tonight there would be murder.America has a lot of problems and Trump been blamed for it all he didn’t cause half of them

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy

@high ho silver: A flag or an anthem does not define a nation. A country is defined by its people.

Mute high ho silver
    Favourite high ho silver
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:42 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: So a country like Ireland who where slaves under the English who fought long and hard so we could fly our own flag your telling me that flag means nothing people like you are fools wake up please

Mute Dar W
    Favourite Dar W
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:08 PM

@high ho silver: take your money and shut the f*** up, in other words.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:15 PM

@high ho silver: where did she say the flag means nothing? It is a symbol of mother nation and the ideals of those that declared it but it is not the definition of the nation.

Mute Itsme
    Favourite Itsme
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:55 AM

An bhfuil Pence ag an cluiche ? Níl Sé

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:20 PM

@Itsme: Pence was right to protest. Maith an fear.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:16 PM

@Tom Newnewman: and his team beat the liberals from SF …. hope he got a match program

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:35 PM

@Tom Newnewman: was he right to get his employers to pay for it?

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:31 PM

An organised political stunt. Told reporters to wait outside so that he’d brief them after he left stadium in protest.

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:49 AM

we must all bow to the flag… USA is a dictatorship

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:33 PM

@Shane Hickey: there is a touch of north Korea about it alright.

Mute thegreatdefector
    Favourite thegreatdefector
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:54 PM

Sort of reminds me when ted and dougal were sent to the passion of st tibulus by bishop brennan. All just to make a scene.

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:29 PM

I don’t believe they kneeled. I think they actually knelt.

Mute Wodanaz von Mises
    Favourite Wodanaz von Mises
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:48 PM

@liam whelan: Because it is ideology based with dogmatic rituals. If you want to stand at attention and get warm fuzzy feelings standing in front of a flag or an altar be my guest buddy. Just dont expect others to feel the same. Let alone attack them or force them to partake in same. (Same goes other way around of.course) Do your statist or religious worshipping in your own time and space.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan

@Wodanaz von Mises: religion brought into your missive without relevance. If you don’t stand for a national anthem then be it on your head. This is a protest that’s all

Mute Wodanaz von Mises
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Paul Coughlan: Again, like religion it is ideology driven dogma rituals. Your post made that abundantly clear. Comply with the ‘holy’ rituals or else. (Then it be on your head, then you will burn in hellfire, then you are going to a gulag) Keep your (perverted) religious dogmas and rituals to yourself. Worship to God, Allah, Kali, democracy, communism, flags and anthems in your own space and time and don’t force them on others or expect others to partake in your little ceremonies.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:59 AM

Second lady

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:44 PM

Indeed. I think that’s the bigger wtf.

If we therefore we have a, “first gentleman”, in Richard Barrett, who is our “second gentleman”?

Mute Wodanaz von Mises
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:03 AM

This distraction bs still ongoing?
    Wow.
    Muh magic song, muh holy nylon rectangle…
    Practise your statist radical religion behind closed doors in the privacy of your own home and stop forcing your religious rituals on others.

Mute liam whelan
    Favourite liam whelan
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:18 AM

@Wodanaz von Mises: How is standing for a national anthem a “religious ritual”?

Oct 9th 2017, 11:55 AM

@liam whelan: How is kneeling a sign of disrespect?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:17 PM

@liam whelan: the Pledge of Allegiance sure does sound religiony

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:26 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: lol Dave. Is religiony a word? It is now if it wasn’t before I suppose. I’m gonna use it.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:37 PM

@Mick Murphy: I couldn’t think of a more concise way to say like a religious ritual. Sometimes simplicity is best.

Mute Ne
    Favourite Ne
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:59 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: If an American president can make up words, we all can.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 8:33 PM

@Ne: a quick Google will tell you it’s been in use for a while. I can’t claim any credit for it unfortunately

Oct 9th 2017, 12:37 PM

Glad to see that Mike Pence bent the knee to his President’s wishes

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan

@John: did he kiss his ass also

Mute White Rabbit
    Favourite White Rabbit
    Oct 9th 2017, 11:31 AM

We are all so sick of your s#!t America!

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:17 PM

How sad is it that a few people get to decide the meaning of a protest and not the people that are protesting? This has nothing to do with disrespecting the flag and everyone except for really stupid people knows that.

Mute Ryan Boyle
    Favourite Ryan Boyle
    Oct 9th 2017, 4:11 PM

Confirmed: Mike Pence diverted from his west coast swing just to attend the game in Indianapolis, which his staffer admitted in advance he was planning to walk out of all along. Now Trump admits he told Pence to do it. These guys are two d*cks with no balls.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:30 PM

The whole fetish with the flag and anthem thing in America is really creepy.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:15 PM

Pence is a creepy individual who seems to be the only person in government who see’s no wrong in that lunatic Trump, Pence is clearly not aware Trump can not fire him, time to grow a set of balls.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:19 PM

@Joseph Dempsey: Trump can’t fire him.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:38 PM

It’s the strongest weapon Pence has but he’s waiting in the long grass to take the reigns

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Oct 9th 2017, 3:05 PM

The disrespect is aimed at Trump, nothing to do with the flag or the national anthem

Mute Cathal Flood
    Favourite Cathal Flood
    Oct 9th 2017, 12:17 PM

Ah, now america is a dictatorship !!

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:12 PM

The players kneeling was a PR stunt..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 9th 2017, 1:40 PM

@Carnac: eh, no. It’s called protest. Real power would meet with them and ask what they think should be done. That’s the quickest way to make these protests stop

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Oct 9th 2017, 10:58 AM

Such a scandal

Mute Kevin Hayes
    Favourite Kevin Hayes
    Oct 9th 2017, 6:09 PM

This is totally a PR stunt. It’s now well documented that Pence went there planning to leave quickly – pool reporters were told to stay in van outside stadium as Pence wasn’t staying long. This is just a diversion from the real issues; Pence and the Trumpistas are being played by #FrumpyTrumpy. And there are, as usual, a lot of fools buying his crap.

Mute Abdou Guidir
    Favourite Abdou Guidir
    Nov 12th 2017, 11:00 PM

thanks for this aricle
    the old humain on the earth was finded on Morocco
    http://www.monkeymag.tk/2017/11/the-old-humain-on-earth-was-finded-on.html

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    Oct 10th 2017, 3:02 AM

These players can kneel all they want after the consumers stop buying the products of sponsors the NFL dollar losses will mount. Their television viewership has already fallen.

Many of these athletes are brain-damaged and criminals anyway. The NFL has serious problems within the organization that they have not addressed. This has been a problem for decades. O.J. Simpson is a good example.

Maybe when the money is gone they’ll be kneeling to ask the fans to return to the stadiums and television screens.