You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tom Meagher says he cried for hours when he heard what happened to Karen Buckley

Meagher was speaking at the launch of a campaign ‘Prostitution – We Don’t Buy it’.
There are triggering moments like the Karen Buckley case. It’s always going to be there I suppose.

Tom Meagher, husband of the late Jill Meagher, who was murdered in Melbourne in September 2012, said the family of Karen Buckley have a long road ahead.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Meagher said, “I was utterly heartbroken. I followed the case from the start.

I remember waking up the morning that I found out what happened and it was just so heartbreaking. I cried for hours.

“I just send them my absolute sincere love and support. It’s a very similar case to Jill in a way but it’s also very different in how individuals deal with this.

tom Cliodhna Russell Cliodhna Russell

“The only thing I can say to them is take love where you can find it and take comfort in your family and friends. They have a very hard road ahead as I know.”

‘I paid for her, I can do what I want with her.’

Meagher was speaking at the launch of a campaign ‘Prostitution – We Don’t Buy it’, organised by The Reach Project. Discussing the men who purchase sex and the lies they tell themselves, Meagher said:

Two years ago I read this document from an interview with a man who had repeatedly and very violently raped a number of prostitutes in Australia. His answer to the question, ‘Why did you do this?’ was ‘I paid for her, I can do what I want with her.’
Ten years later that man was out on parole and raped and murdered my wife.

Meagher told TheJournal.ie that he still thinks about Adrian Bayley.

“When I think about him I’m very angry but I don’t think about him as much. It’s not something that’s as prevalent in my mind as it was.

When I think about him my blood does boil but it’s not ever-present.

screen-shot-2014-12-02-at-09-50-31-390x285-390x285 Jill Meagher

A Red C poll released today revealed that almost one in ten Irish men have paid for sex.

Meagher said, “The transfer of money does not turn a no into a yes.” He read out posts on a website men who rape women they’ve paid for go to:

“She didn’t even speak English. Not what I was looking for and I’m the one paying for this.

“I’m paying her €2.50 a minute and I can’t even fuck her in the position I want, this is not fair.”

Meagher added that, “Many of us believe that prostitution prevents rape” he said this was illustrated in a London study in which one man said:

“Sometimes you might rape someone but you can go get a prostitute instead.”

He said this feeds into the lie that ‘male sexuality is this uncontrolled force of nature- so therefore needs a constant supply of women to satisfy that man’.

That also feeds into the lie that men can’t help themselves. It’s a handy excuse for rapists and violent men.

“It’s a lie that dis-empowers both men and women. We need to end the lie that this is about sexual freedom or liberation. It’s not liberation, it’s exploitation.”

Read: Here’s how many men in Ireland say they have paid for sex>

Read: Man who raped and killed Jill Meagher convicted of three more rapes>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:29 PM

Even if they completely eliminate the virus on this island it only takes one person getting off a plane or boat and we’re back at it again. It can’t be stopped. Even with a vaccine as not all will take it. There’s no easy answer except to open up again protecting the vulnerable and closing again locally where necessary. The only thing that’s going to get us out of this is educated common sense.

Mute JGD
    Favourite JGD
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Patrick Agnew: and that’s an educated comment!

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:35 PM

@JGD: I miss your profile photo.

Mute Ronan Dunne
    Favourite Ronan Dunne
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:45 PM

@Patrick Agnew: id say youre great craic at a barmitzvah

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:46 PM

@Patrick Agnew: 1000%

Mute GIFman
    Favourite GIFman
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:46 PM

@Patrick Agnew: Careful Patrick, the Covidphiles won’t like that kind of sensible talk

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:51 PM

@Patrick Agnew: as a follow up comment:

Between April 12, 2009, and April 10, 2010, the CDC estimated Swine Flu influenza A (H1N1)pdm09 caused 60.8 million illnesses, 273,304 hospitalizations and 12,469 deaths in the U.S.

https://www.beckershospitalreview.com/public-health/swine-flu-8-facts-about-the-world-s-last-pandemic-in-2009.html

To this day, swine flu is killing people daily (including in Ireland) but the world has moved on and is treating it as a fact of life. That’s where we are heading with Civid-19. We just have to weather the storm. We can only do it by using common sense though.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:52 PM

@Ronan Dunne: you just summed yourself up there.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:58 PM

@Ronan Dunne: Are you actually Jewish or do you just think your comment is funny?

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:36 PM

@Patrick Agnew: speaking of common sense! If one was to take the vaccine they wouldn’t need to worry (or very much lessened).

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 21st 2020, 12:38 PM

@GIFman: Covidphiles that is a sad thing to say

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:25 PM

Great news

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Sean: it’s a Monday though. Usually much higher the next few days.

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:17 PM

@offtheball: Yes- the acting CMO said at the press conference that tomorrow will be higher

Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here

Jesus, must be one of the lowest days yet. Didn’t expect that.

Mute Kenneth Long
    Favourite Kenneth Long
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:48 PM

@The Guy is Here: why not? The curve has remained flat for weeks if not months now despite the scaremongering of some.

Mute IAmTheTruth
    Favourite IAmTheTruth
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:55 PM

@Kenneth Long: was it not in the mid 30s a couple of days ago?

Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:00 PM

@Kenneth Long: well it would be very normal and justifiable for it to be sitting into mid teens low 20s during the reopening of the country.

Mute Mark Wallace
    Favourite Mark Wallace
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:20 PM

@IAmTheTruth: 34 once and 32 once. It was I teens and the low twenties the days either side of those days. You’ve got to look at the average over a period of time, not individual days.

Mute Kenneth Long
    Favourite Kenneth Long
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:07 PM

@IAmTheTruth: it was and mid 30′s isnt that high. The curve remained flat regardless, the reaction to those 30 plus figures from a week ago was well over the top imo. Quite a few businesses will go under as a consequence.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 21st 2020, 12:39 PM

@Kenneth Long: |The curve was flattened through a lock down and a lot of other techniques that people are now not using.

Mute John Knuckle Bone Macken
    Favourite John Knuckle Bone Macken
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:26 PM

Open all the pubs

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:28 PM

@John Knuckle Bone Macken: Hey that’s my line!!

Mute john phelan
    Favourite john phelan
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:43 PM

@John Knuckle Bone Macken: u can have more than 1 tool in a box

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:47 PM

@John Knuckle Bone Macken: ye in August what’s the hurry

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:15 PM

@john phelan: Offer the man some Sudocrem, that was scalding :-)

Mute Santi Charlie Bravo
    Favourite Santi Charlie Bravo

Waiting for the “Monday cases are always low” brigade, Brilliant work!

Mute StephenT
    Favourite StephenT
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:33 PM

@Santi Charlie Bravo: the doom and gloomers are silent

Mute IAmTheTruth
    Favourite IAmTheTruth
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:00 PM

@StephenT: petition to stop using the term “doom and gloom”

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:08 PM

@Santi Charlie Bravo: had you listened to the briefing you wouldn’t be celebrating.

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery

Says alot about all those Americans coming across the Atlantic covered in Covid 19 . We tend to love drama and doom and gloom here

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack

@jerry slattery: yep those pesky Americans coming over here bringing Covid to our shores. There’s plenty of heads on here talking absolute Bollo€ks

Mute G-Man
    Favourite G-Man
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:11 PM

@jerry slattery: You need to have a day off from commenting, you comment on every article.

Mute john
    Favourite john

That’s great news we need to keep the cases down

Mute StephenT
    Favourite StephenT

Pubs lads

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:27 PM

Open the pubs!!!

Mute Mark McAuley
    Favourite Mark McAuley
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:41 PM

Oh dear, how are they going to continue with the fearmongering. Perhaps they’ll come up with a new virus or start talking about 3rd and 4th waves. Ps: The rest of Europe is open for living

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:42 PM

@Mark McAuley: and cases going up on the Continent……

Mute Kenneth Long
    Favourite Kenneth Long
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:26 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: no they aren’t! Numbers on the continent are staying steady, have been for some time and there isn’t any sign of a second wave as bad as the first!

Mute Tommy Chen
    Favourite Tommy Chen

It’s going in the right direction. However, to quote Dr. Cox from Scrubs “statistics mean nothing to the individual”. Numbers fluctuating is normal. We need to find a balanced perspective between optimism and realism. This thing won’t be going away for a while but we need to get on with our lives albeit more cautiously.

Mute Jennifer Kelly
    Favourite Jennifer Kelly

hopfully numbers stay this low…

Mute Kenneth Long
    Favourite Kenneth Long
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Jennifer Kelly: but if they don’t we shouldn’t panic like last week and slow down the reopening of the country.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

Great to see no deaths… As I mentioned before the daily rate tends to fluctuate, tomorrow could see a rise and the day after could be low again, I think the most important thing is for people not to panic with constant predictions of second waves and demonising people, it’ll go up and down for quite some time to come.

Mute tirnanog1979
    Favourite tirnanog1979

Martin and FF playing a blinder

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@tirnanog1979: surely your not being serious here

Mute RayChore
    Favourite RayChore
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Jonny: He is… And don’t call him surely!

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@RayChore: ha that made me LOL, great film

Mute tirnanog1979
    Favourite tirnanog1979
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:20 PM

@Jonny: I just wanted to sound as deluded as the FG crew letting on that Leo and Simon played a blinder

Mute WESTY
    Favourite WESTY
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:30 PM

(Not related to title)
    But why are the borders not closed.Like I got my summer job back and the only people refusing or not wearing masks are foreigners.I think we have a great chance of completing suppressing the virus nationally but we keep running the risks of importing new infections.
    (Rant over and I know I’m not an expert.)

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:39 PM

@WESTY: because people still need to travel for work, to see family, for medical reasons etc. Also how do you know that those non-Irish people don’t live here?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:47 PM

@WESTY: @WESTY: what you did there is not a rant . It has another name . Since I can’t tell people’s nationalities by looking At them I don’t go making statistics in my head if they’re “ foreigners and if so do you live here “ or asking to close the borders .

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:56 PM

@WESTY: It would be political suicide for any government to stop people coming in from Northern Ireland / closing the border.

Mute WESTY
    Favourite WESTY
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Sam Harms: When there telling you what hotels they’re staying in and what are good places to visit.

Mute WESTY
    Favourite WESTY
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: Sorry foreign tourists who are actually quite easy to make out.

Mute ForrestG45
    Favourite ForrestG45
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:23 PM

@WESTY: do they wear yellow stars?

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:52 PM

@WESTY: How ??
    Shinner Bots in meltdown

Mute Del Bear
    Favourite Del Bear
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:42 PM

So some cases are linked to fast food outlets and supermarkets..can they not tell people which ones so people can stay clear until it is contained or at least know if they’ve been in those premises lately?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Del Bear: where do supermarkets come mentioned ?

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Del Bear: where is the evidence that any person ever caught covid in a supermarket in Ireland ?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Michael Waldron: It says in the article there have been outbreaks linked to fast foods and supermarkets. Presumably the acting CMO would not have said that without evidence?

Mute Michael Waldron
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: Any idea how many cases were caused by visiting a supermarket ?
    New Zealand health officials ruled out mandatory mask wearing in supermarkets as they found no evidence of transmission in that environment . We are going to be wearing them for the next 2 years in supermarkets so wondering where our officials found specific evidence to differ from NZ ?

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:19 PM

@Michael Waldron: Good question, and he didn’t elaborate .

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: At the briefing, construction fast-food outlets and supermarkets

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Michael Waldron: it’s staff …..

Mute Michael Waldron
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:45 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: Interesting that on the first day supermarket mask wearing is mandatory he mentions them as a source ( on a day when we have only 6 cases and most of them are meant to be the dreaded Americans !).

I’d wear my cap backwards in supermarkets if the evidence showed it will reduce a number of cases that are occurring there already ..
    my sister lives in Auckland and she said masks never became mandatory in shops, just on public transport.

I just hope we haven’t signed up for possibly 2 years of wearing masks in supermarkets when it may have little or no effect as the NZ health team decided.

Mute Bountyop
    Favourite Bountyop
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Michael Waldron: NZ also mandatory quarantine all arrivals for 14 days and we don’t…I guess it’s not an exact science. All 26 of their currently active cases are in quarantine, and they’ve been that way for weeks- they effectively have no community transmission

Mute Michael Waldron
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:07 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: I read where there was very few cases of staff in Aldi Lidl Tesco catching covid .. it struck me as surprising given the amount of time they spend interacting with public. Also they worked for weeks without distance or Perspex protection in Feb & March but yet virtually no cases. One could surmise that covid just doesn’t transmit in a supermarket environment .. possibly because you need to be 15 mins in close proximity to catch it?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:08 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: thank you just read the updated news .

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:18 PM

@Michael Waldron: fed up of NZ with their all blacks lives matter.

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: Tonight on news reports but when asked about it none of them would give further information. Unless I missed it. Supermarkets were open all the time and no problems. Don’t know where they are coming up with this and why they wouldn’t elaborate further.!!

Mute Frances Casey
    Favourite Frances Casey
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:51 PM

@Michael Waldron: Masks are actually not mandatory yet. A Government Covid advert in yesterdays Independent states in big black letters masks mandatory on public transport . In a smaller paragraph it says they are “asking”people to wear them in retail establishments.

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Jul 20th 2020, 11:55 PM

@Michael Waldron: 2m distance and regular sanitization works

Mute Rory Christie
    Favourite Rory Christie
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:49 PM

If you can’t eliminate the common cold or influenza then how can Covid be either

Mute Keith Dunne
    Favourite Keith Dunne

Everyone staying in the last few days waiting on the green list.

Mute Xylophobiac
    Favourite Xylophobiac
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:44 PM

Pints pints pints.

Mute Richard Brogan
    Favourite Richard Brogan
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:58 PM

Close dublin down:)

Mute Robaird O Raighne
    Favourite Robaird O Raighne
    Jul 21st 2020, 7:51 AM

@Richard Brogan: Dublin pays for a lot of the country, someone has to foot the bill

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:43 PM

Green list please!!!

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic

@Seriousnojoke: For what? It’s not like any restriction is enforced.

Mute Kevin
    Favourite Kevin
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:19 PM

@8-Bit-Relic:

Except you’re probably not going to be insured if you travel despite government recommendation not to. If you have ticked the optional extra box on the travel insurance policy which does cover “Disruption /Catastrophe” events then your in the clear.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:25 PM

@8-Bit-Relic: Need to know for sure if I can travel to Germany in two weeks. Not for holiday though.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:59 PM

@Kevin: What does that have with the recommendation? The government made clear that they won’t recommend travel even with the green list.

The green list in the currently suggested form has 0 legal effect and is just a waste of time.

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Seriousnojoke: Travel to Germany if you have to. The situation is better organised over there and in a worst case scenario you would have access to better medical care.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:41 PM

@Seriousnojoke: you can travel to Germany today if you consider it essential. The Green List makes no difference to travel as the advice looks like it may remain against anything but essential travel. All that happens is that upon your return you will or will not have to self isolate (quarantine) upon return if Germany is or is not on the Green List.

I add that they said the list would be updated – so it is possible that countries could be removed from the list as well as added. But we will see. Hopefully they will remove the travel advice for the green list countries – but that might raise a new problem in the event of a country being removed from the list.

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill

It’s over.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Bill: It has been for quite some time.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:05 PM

If they closed the building site why aren’t the supermarket and fast food outlet both named and closed as with the building site.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Anthony Whelan: Maybe they have enough staff left to sanitise the places and run them?
    The construction site might need specific skills, or simply have more down with it, & be harder to clean up.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Anthony Whelan: don’t worry any businesses that feel left out of the cluster club, hairdressers gyms and nail bars you too will have your day. Must’ve realised travel was a losing battle and moving through their list now. Why aren’t the new cases in nursing homes mentioned?

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:36 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: not sure. A lady on radio last week said she’d to close her business after 1 of the girls tested positive. All had to be tested and not allowed reopen till all results back. But still had to close as the site did.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Anthony Whelan: Depends on the size of outbreak. 1 positive from 3 or 4 staff, probably closed. 1 person from supermarket with 40 staff, probably open as not all staff would have worked with the confirmed case, and so they could have enough staff not deemed close contacts to operate. 20 cases on a site is quite a large cluster, hence closed, no matter how many other lads could have worked on.

Mute Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Favourite Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:41 PM

Number of tests completed and % infection rate has to accompany the number of new cases or the information is meaningless.

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D

#lockdownnow

Mute jay bernard
    Favourite jay bernard
    Jul 20th 2020, 5:37 PM

Always lower on a monday

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:11 PM

@jay bernard: Yes. The acting CMO , per RTE, has just said cases will be higher tomorrow.

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:29 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: go for the hat trick there shur.

Mute David O Neill
    Favourite David O Neill

Calm down everybody it’s Monday.

Mute european liberal
    Favourite european liberal
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:34 PM

Open the pubs

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:06 PM

Just read in a previous article that a building site has been closed down because of 20 cases of Covid19. Now, two articles under and they’re reporting 6 new cases. What happened to the other 14. ?

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:35 PM

@John Brendan Mullen: the 20 cases could be over the last few days and maybe through contact tracing and voluntary testing. Just guessing but it is a logical explanation – maybe one case on Monday and 4 on Tuesday and 5 on Wednesday and 10 between Thursday and Saturday… making a total of 20 detected cases of workers on the same building site.

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:37 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: that makes sense. The first bit of sense I have encountered in a long time.

Mute zhenhui
    Favourite zhenhui
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:18 PM

Which supermarket and fast food? Pls.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:29 PM

Dr Ronany Glynn.. Does anyone proof read articles before posting??

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X

All going well, back on track to where we were 3 weeks ago.

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:40 PM

@Joe_X: And hopefully with three weeks of solid economic activity under the country’s belt.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:02 PM

@EnKy: despite what most people think of me on here, these are the best figures since the surge started, so fingers crossed the rest of the week goes as well.

Mute Pat Mc Cormack
    Favourite Pat Mc Cormack

Oh Close the Pubs that are serbmving food why dont ye

Mute Daithi O’Hakaman
    Favourite Daithi O’Hakaman
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:27 PM

EVERYONE PANIC, PANIC, PANIC!!!

In fairness, well done all, keep it up – poor George Lee will have nothing to be miserable about now.

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:40 PM

Clusters in workplaces; construction, fast-food outlets and supermarkets !!!!

Mute EnKy
    Favourite EnKy
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:41 PM

@Anne Busher Collins: And don’t forget the bloody house parties!

Mute Graham Somers
    Favourite Graham Somers
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:08 PM

They look at the 7 day average. The average MOM is down. I don’t think the pubs should be closed but I have seen a lot of people getting lazy in terms of simple stuff like washing their hands when entering and exiting premises. They (the government) will be under huge pressure if the 7 day average is down this week, it will be interesting to hear what is the narrative then.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:38 PM

What about the 20 workers on the Dublin building site?

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:45 PM

@Michael Clinton: it’s closed down

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Jul 20th 2020, 7:21 PM

@Anne Busher Collins:
    Have they sealed the 20 workers in concrete, or do they not count.
    I wonder how many they have infected?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 20th 2020, 10:31 PM

@Michael Clinton: The figures they report, are only as they found them and realisedthem. These construction workers could have been found over the course of several days, the the fact they all work together may have only come to light today. It’s like how denotifications work when reported (in my mind anyway). I know we all come along and check worldometer to see the denotifications and subtract it from that day’s total. But the real date that it should have been could have been a week or 2 ago, but its easier to just subtract from that days total. So say today’s number of 6 had 1 case denotified, we start saying 5. But in reality, it may actually be 6 today, and the denotification may really be last Saturday’s. Could be the same for the counting of these construction workers.

Mute John Fairclough
    Favourite John Fairclough
    Jul 20th 2020, 9:16 PM

Twenty cases confirmed at a Dublin building site?

Mute Brendan O'Donoghue
    Favourite Brendan O'Donoghue

The UK has changed the way it reports deaths, 580 new cases 12 deaths, joke

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Jul 20th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Brendan O’Donoghue: ay least they have amended them now. They were over estimating them lately with people that had had Covid 19 earlier in the year died later of unrelated causes. It’s a positive point . Firstly for the obvious that the less lives the virus takes the better and secondly because we need accurate statistics to work with in order to fight it . It also seems to be the trend that the June and July surges in Europe are indeed causing less morbidity thankfully.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 20th 2020, 8:32 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: I agree, I was following this and it seems that the UK was again not following WHO guidelines which are clear that only people with an active covid-19 infection should be included unless there were another reason such as trauma. People who have recovered should not be included. However I suspect that most health services were not equipped to provide the stats necessary when this all started.