You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Andrei! via Creative Commons

Tony Humphreys stands by controversial autism comments

Speaking on national radio this morning, the clinical psychologist said that children can shut down and stop communicating if parents don’t respond to their efforts at expression.

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGIST Dr Tony Humphreys has reiterated controversial comments he made in an article published in the Irish Examiner last week linking parenting with the development of autism.

In the article, Humphreys suggested that a link lay between autism and parents not expressing love and affection to their young children. The article has been criticised by the Psychological Society of Ireland and Irish Autism Action, and it has since been removed from the Examiner site.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Claire Byrne on the Marian Finucane Show today, Humphreys said that children communicate all the time. If we respond to how children communicate and pick up what they’re trying to express, then they feel secure and continue to communicate, he said.

However, if we don’t, then children “wisely” shut down and stop communicating.

Humphreys added that he doesn’t believe parents deliberately set out to harm their children and that they intend to be loving. Insecurities can block a child’s development, he said, even if it’s not being done consciously.

Asked about the controversy the article had created among psychologists and parents, Humphreys said he was glad it had opened up the debate between different groups of researchers and clinicians.

Read: Controversial autism article should be retracted – PSI >

Column: Does Tony Humphreys believe I don’t love my children enough? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute Jeebus xrist
    Favourite Jeebus xrist
    May 16th 2014, 10:00 AM

It’s not every day you get to see someone commit political suicide on TV, but it’s hugely entertaining when it happens.
    Can just imagine the FGers burying their heads in their hands as Vincent gave him more time. Lovely.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:05 AM

Jeebus. Yeah, usually not VB’s style to just let out more rope but he couldn’t resist in this case.

‘Let him speak, let him speak’. Lol.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 16th 2014, 10:15 AM

If he is like that on the door step he will bomb in the polls. Lot of the Constituency would be rougher round the edges than most areas and Coughlan’s patrician attitude will bomb.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    May 16th 2014, 10:49 AM

Saw this ‘ listen to me’ ‘listen to me’ , was shocked ..

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy
    May 16th 2014, 10:51 AM

an appalling performance altogether. fair dues to Vinnie for giving the independents time to speak; too bad that more don’t

Mute Helena Marie Ryan
    Favourite Helena Marie Ryan
    May 16th 2014, 12:28 PM

He is a very arrogant little man. His head is so far up his own hole, his brain seems deprived of oxygen. He has an enormous sense of self importance, why I don’t know.

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    May 16th 2014, 12:46 PM

He might be an eejit, but he did win a world title in one of the most competitive sports on the planet, whereas Helena Marie Ryan has won…. Well nothing actually.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 16th 2014, 12:56 PM

That was the biggest political car crash I’ve ever seen on TV.
    “Vincent – I’ve been knockin’ on HUNDREDS of thousands of doors!” – so obviously he must’ve been in a Woodie’s DIY warehouse.

And to think that I idolised this guy as a kid. (Sigh)

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    May 16th 2014, 1:11 PM

Ah leave the poor guy alone. Even for a former professional sportsman, he must be knackered after knocking on “hundreds of thousands of doors in West Dublin”. Didn’t realise the place was so big !!!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    May 16th 2014, 1:40 PM

Given that he ran and always came second in races like the 103 metres indoor, the 1509 metres indoor I’m not surprised that he gives the figures he does.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    May 16th 2014, 2:07 PM

So he’s not a runner then ?

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    May 16th 2014, 2:19 PM

He was always involved in a things that were like running but not really running. Strange distances in strange venues for trophies nobody had ever heard of. I always think of him as being involved in extensions of the three legged race or the sack race.

In some respects, he is perfectly suited to a certain type of canvassing. He probably thinks he is in some world championship race that involves walking from door to door of an evening. The winner is the person who can knock on the most doors while maintaining the greatest silence on political matters.

Don’t be surprised if, after it is all over, FG have a trophy presentation in a dimly lit shed in some suburban wasteland outside Dublin (it wouldn’t be fair to Eamon not to maintain the pretence that he is in a race of some kind or other). And maybe a special big chocolate medal that he can bring in and show off to the Seanad on the following Monday. Well done, Eamon!

Mute Conor Sweeney
    Favourite Conor Sweeney
    May 16th 2014, 6:06 PM

It’s not actually an election for Sportsman of the Year Joe.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    May 16th 2014, 7:31 PM

He’s a non runner now !

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:33 AM

A world title -for what- running, he’ll be doing plenty of that now – whats your point joe

Mute bob 8357
    Favourite bob 8357
    May 17th 2014, 6:18 AM

When he won his medal he still had to sneer at the russian runner so its nothing new for him to be arrogant

Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    May 17th 2014, 7:28 AM

Here we go the same oul S**t. He won a race. Big F*****G deal. Get over it. He is an automaton.

Mute Dean Mac Glennáin
    Favourite Dean Mac Glennáin
    May 16th 2014, 9:50 AM

Jog on Eamonn

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    May 16th 2014, 9:53 AM

He never ran a race that was not for money. Same as this race

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    May 16th 2014, 11:16 AM

I reckon Coghlan will finish 4th – just like happened in the Olympics in ’76 and ’80.

Mute Michael Cunningham
    Favourite Michael Cunningham
    May 16th 2014, 11:18 AM

“Eamon Coughlan gets SLAMMED on Twitter”

A more fitting title to this Journal article…

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    May 16th 2014, 1:19 PM

I’m from Dublin West and to my shame I haven’t voted in a while. I am definitely getting out next week to vote after seeing this and other performances from Coghlan………….voting to make sure every other candidate gets my preference before this clown. He is a disgrace and holds no mandate from anyone in the country and hopefully it stays that way after next Friday.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 16th 2014, 11:37 PM

Well said Nosmo!!!

Mute Pat Nolan
    Favourite Pat Nolan
    May 16th 2014, 11:45 PM

He’ll be lucky to save his deposit

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:41 AM

Get all you know out to vote against this anti people machine

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    May 17th 2014, 10:25 AM

I have just looked at this as I did not see the programme. I am glad I looked at it because I never want to be the subject of such disdainful, arrogant looks as he threw round the place. Who does he think he is – not my vote for sure. Toddle off sir,

Mute Donal Buckley
    Favourite Donal Buckley
    May 17th 2014, 11:10 PM

“Anti Peeple” is our Leaders pronounciation and selection.

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:54 PM

did he finish 4th – I think so but not too bothered – main thing he lost!!

Mute Kieran Timmons
    Favourite Kieran Timmons
    May 16th 2014, 10:51 AM

You can see why FG rushed this by-election, not wanting to expose Coghlan to any scrutiny. However in the few minutes he had to talk last night he destroyed any hope he had. Saying he was sick of hearing about the struggles of people was a particularly bad moment for him.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 16th 2014, 11:36 PM

Yep his head seems to have swelled. What the F..k has he done as a Senator?????

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:37 AM

I would be more concerned about the direction this country is going, if the government party thinks its a good idea to get a non z lister to run for a seat- we’re in trouble, its time to wake up people

May 17th 2014, 7:24 AM

Absolutely. I never have seen such a cringe worthy expose.

Mute adrian quinn
    Favourite adrian quinn
    May 17th 2014, 8:11 AM

200 comments on this non event scutter and barely 20 on the Moody’s upgrade, The majority of those being cynical in nature. Yiz are like aul ones chatting over clothes lines.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 9:58 AM

He called to my door canvassing a few years ago. He seemed to think I should vote the way he said because he was well known. I pretended not to have a clue who he was and he wasn’t very impressed. After his ‘Vote my way because I’m famous and you can trust me’ speech he didn’t have a lot to say, and I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry!
    You’d really think political parties would have learned about ‘celebrity’ candidates by now. Especially Fine Gael (George Lee, Peter Matthews, and now this guy).

Mute THE REBEL ONE™
    Favourite THE REBEL ONE™
    May 16th 2014, 10:01 AM

Well said Padraig.

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    May 16th 2014, 10:10 AM

Ken Kenny Kenneth Egan would be devastated to see that you forgot to mention him

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:16 AM

@Saul. True, mea culpa!! Hard to remember them all though.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 16th 2014, 10:58 AM

@Padraig McHale:
    You forgot Frank McNamara!

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 11:00 AM

@JohnWard. To be fair, he’s not even a celebrity in his own house!

Mute Pa McGarry
    Favourite Pa McGarry
    May 16th 2014, 4:17 PM

Dont forget Graham Geraghty

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    May 17th 2014, 12:44 AM

Or John O Leary – ran for FF in Balbriggan – got his arse kicked !

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:47 AM

What a bloody country, we actually give press to these z listing celebrity fools, I weep for the future

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    May 16th 2014, 10:23 AM

If I went round knocking on doors to introduce myself I’d be arrested!

Mute Jeebus xrist
    Favourite Jeebus xrist
    May 16th 2014, 12:53 PM

Or sectioned.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    May 16th 2014, 3:32 PM

Should read: Eamonn Coghlan impersonates a politician. Accurately.

Mute THE REBEL ONE™
    Favourite THE REBEL ONE™
    May 16th 2014, 9:59 AM

Eamonn Coglan obviously just being friendly to the gentleman as it was a hot sunny day in Dublin and was not canvassing, yeah that’s right, was Not canvassing for votes. Eamonn do us all a favour…….,

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    May 16th 2014, 9:55 AM

He was poor in the extreme…absolutely zero to say of any consequence outside the spin doctored ‘sound bites’…
    Sad thing is though people…even if he is not elected to the Dail next week…he’ll still be sitting in the Seanad after the election….food for thought hey!?

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    May 16th 2014, 10:08 AM

well we did have a choice to get rid of that waste of a place the senate what did we do vote to keep it so well done us.

May 17th 2014, 7:33 AM

The Irish have and always will have a FEAR of change. Hence we are in the doldrums politically for decades.

Mute Damien McCarthy
    Favourite Damien McCarthy
    May 16th 2014, 10:09 AM

They need to invite him back to finish off that story.

It was carcrash tv at its best/worst.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 16th 2014, 1:00 PM

Bloody hell, but he didn’t half give Eddie Lenihan a run for his money with that carry on.

Mute Pat Mcrotch
    Favourite Pat Mcrotch
    May 16th 2014, 9:55 AM

What a plonker.

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    May 16th 2014, 1:07 PM

What an arrogant w***er!

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:51 AM

True, but he won a piece of metal over 10 years ago so he must know how to RUN the place – NOT !!!

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    May 17th 2014, 3:38 AM

More like 35 years ago….and should have absolutely NO bearing on his competency, opening his mouth has a huge bearing however…..results just in Coughlan in a prize w****r!!!

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    May 16th 2014, 10:26 AM

Eamon Coughlan’s performance last night was dismal. But that Labour one, Lorraine Mulligan was god awful. She shrieked so much over every candidate talking, Vinnie had to tell her to shut up countless times.

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    May 16th 2014, 11:56 AM

The decond Labour candidate named Lorraine who behaved rudely and aggressively on VB, I think he should tell people to leave if they persist in that type of behaviour

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    May 16th 2014, 12:24 PM

she was awful , like a yappy dog in the backround , as for the lad from fis nua or what ever , he was at the wrong show , vincent felt sorry for him .

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    May 16th 2014, 5:23 PM

Imagine having to listen to her every day of the week ! Agggggggggh !!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    May 16th 2014, 7:22 PM

Coghlan was embarrassing and Mulligan was annoying.

May 17th 2014, 7:37 AM

I thought it was Joan Burtons twin on the panel with her moany voice.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    May 17th 2014, 12:45 PM

“take your hands off me please”

oh drama drama drama, does this count as a physical assault on the queen?

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    May 16th 2014, 10:02 AM

Coghlans input was about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike last night on v.b.Typical Fine Gael all show and no go!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 10:07 AM

Tbh I think the people of Dublin West have a hard choice, which of a bad lot to vote for.

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor

I thought Paul Donnelly was outstanding in last night’s debate.
    John Kidd was also good.
    As for Lorraine Mulligan, who showed total disregard for everyone with her shouting and crosstalk; 6% in the straw poll was generous.

Mute Gráinne Owens
    Favourite Gráinne Owens
    May 16th 2014, 10:11 AM

She was so ignorant. Absolutely appalling!!!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 16th 2014, 10:35 AM

I think lorraine mulligan will spend next week reminiscing about the good old days when she was polling at 6%. Agree about Donnelly and Kidd, best performers of the night.

I loved the quip from Kidd about labour voters turning to SF. He shoots from the hip.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 16th 2014, 12:57 PM

Agreed Thomas. Smacks of desperation.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:15 AM

One thing this does highlight is how amazingly crap a lot of Senators really are (I know, I know, why am I surprised!!). Between this and Labs Lorraine Mulligan in the Euros who’s only tactic seems to be personal attacks on Ming, it really does highlight that something needs to be done with the Seanad (and quelle surprise, but Coughlan and Mulligan both happen to be Taoiseachs nominees for this Seanad – says it all really).

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:18 AM

Sorry, meant Lorraine Higgins for Lab in the Euros, not Loraine Mulligan in Dub West.

Mute Ar Aghaidh
    Favourite Ar Aghaidh
    May 16th 2014, 10:28 AM

Padraig, agree with you, but you are mixing up Lorraine Mulligan and Lorraine Higgins.
    Higgins is the Labour senator running in MNW Euros and attacking Ming.
    Mulligan is the party chairperson of Labour who’s running in DublinWest by-election.
    It’s an easy enough mistake though as they are both ignorant as hell and use similar tactics when debating. i.e., try to shout everyone down by talking across them.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Ar Aghaidh
    Favourite Ar Aghaidh
    May 16th 2014, 10:29 AM

Didn’t see your second post before posting , Padraig, apologies.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:30 AM

That’s ok, I’ll forgive you :)

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy
    May 16th 2014, 10:53 AM

total lack of self-control from Lorraine Mulligan, cutting across everyone who spoke, yes everyone, and being completely disrespectful

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Barry Mc Donnell
    May 16th 2014, 11:50 AM

Just one small point Saul. Her comment may have been wrong, but numerous media sources seem to have forgotten that it was in response to Ming’s abhorrantly sexist statement about Labour only putting her on the ticket because she was pretty.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    May 16th 2014, 12:17 PM

That’s not what he said, and what he said was not sexist. Unless of course only females are capable of looking good?

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    May 16th 2014, 12:59 PM

So saying she was only on the ticket because she looked good isn’t the same as saying because she is pretty so therefore is not sexist? Do me a favour! If any other male candidate said it they would be lynched, but it was Luke Ming stoner penalty points dodger Flanagan, and she’s only a Labour candidate so it’s ok. Do me a favour!

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 1:32 PM

Barry. I’m not exactly a fan of Ming either but she chose to retaliate with cheap photoshopped pictures of Ming/Dustin the Turkey and showed herself to be no better than the rest of them. She could have showed some class in the way she reacted, instead she chose to show everybody she doesn’t have any.

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    May 16th 2014, 4:26 PM

Couldn’t agree more about both of them, but I was just pointing out that she was reacting, not just acting. She should have tackled him for a sexist comment, not stooped to his level.

Mute Rosanne Donovan
    Favourite Rosanne Donovan
    May 17th 2014, 12:17 AM

She was pretty alright …….. pretty awful !!!

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 2:58 AM

Pretty vacant

May 17th 2014, 7:42 AM

Can see the parallels with your comments and arrogant politicians name calling and imitating people in a derogatory way. Good to be consistent.

May 17th 2014, 7:43 AM

@Barry

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    May 17th 2014, 12:46 PM

they’re all bullies, should be ashamed of themselves

Mute Stephen Gregg
    Favourite Stephen Gregg

Eamonn was brutal alright but what about the FIS Nua candidate, he couldnt even speak.

Mute Keith Michael Gregg
    Favourite Keith Michael Gregg
    May 16th 2014, 11:20 PM

Yeah, was bad. Glad I don’t live in Dublin West

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    May 17th 2014, 12:06 AM

Deer in the headlights.

Mute Thomas Cullen
    Favourite Thomas Cullen
    May 16th 2014, 12:41 PM

What is it with FG !! They wanted George Lee, and made a fool of the man. Kenny Eagan admitted he knows nothing about politics and now they roll out Eamon Coghlan who as we now see doesn’t know why voters are angry. Who’s next

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    May 16th 2014, 5:03 PM

In fairness, George Lee (agriculture) made a fool of himself. He needed no help. And returned, unaided, to his fully pensionable permanent job

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 16th 2014, 11:37 PM

Michael Noonan!!!!! The Joker!!

Mute rob10538
    Favourite rob10538
    May 16th 2014, 10:22 AM

A sitting senator you say…can we have that referendum again please?

Mute 930meister
    Favourite 930meister
    May 16th 2014, 2:14 PM

Wait till The Mario Rossentock sketch of this is brodcast!!!!
    Coughlan hung himself last night

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    May 17th 2014, 7:39 AM

That wasn’t Mario???? :-)

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 10:32 AM

Eamon came across as elitist, condescending and aloof not really the attributes of an electable candidate for Dublin West, the only two that made any impression was David Hall and the SF candidate.

Mute Thomas Dooly
    Favourite Thomas Dooly
    May 16th 2014, 10:54 AM

These videos of Fine Gael are a great laugh

Mute Bobby Fox
    Favourite Bobby Fox
    May 16th 2014, 11:24 AM

The hair,the tan,the attitude!!
    Is this some kind of joakim phoenix style performance art piece?

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    May 16th 2014, 11:40 AM

He gave a speech a few years ago at a company day as guest speaker – was brutal – he was making it up as he went along – reminded me of a character called Denver Mills in the comedy show Little Britain

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 16th 2014, 10:37 AM

Between Coughlans cringeworthy performance last night and enda kenny egans ‘I don’t know anything about politics’, FGs cynical ploy of running celebrity candidats could well bite them in the ass next Friday.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 16th 2014, 10:11 AM

Inexperience did for Labour’s Mulligan and Coughlan.

Moral of the story is, train your candidates in how to debate and hold the nerve and no random magic mushroom tales in the middle of it all.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 16th 2014, 1:08 PM

According to an inside source, Mulligan (the party Chairperson) was selected because they couldn’t find anybody else to stand in Dublin west. Their local election candidate was asked but she declined as she thought her chances of getting elected to Council was greater.
    I wouldn’t be surprised at all if this were the case. Desperate times indeed.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    May 16th 2014, 11:36 AM

I thought Eamon Coughlan was smarter than this, he has lost all my respect I had for him as a runner I’d say when he looks back on all this he will be sorry he ever accepted a senatorship from kenny, as kenny was only using him. Trying to imitate an old man that really low.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 16th 2014, 10:45 AM

Another out of touch idiot living in an ivory tower.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    May 16th 2014, 11:32 AM

Anyone else fed up of these blueshirt ‘sport’ recruits. Seriously they have Eamonn Coughlan, half the GAA and I bloody Ken Egan as well.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    May 16th 2014, 12:41 PM

I think FG and Labour should stop doing Vincent’s Debates
    They do not cover themselves in glory
    Just as well Eamonn did not need votes for the Seanad
    Stick to running please
    It was painful watching
    As for Labour
    Is Joan Burton giving them lesson in high pitched squealing?

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne

Aside from Coughlans performance last night what about the Labour candidate she sounded like Joan Burton with her high pitched voice.
    Talking over the rest of the other candidates, And as for the FF lad who brought up the cost of the setting up Irish Water.
    And how tax payers money was wasted with consultants etc, Maybe he should look closer to his own party regarding waste of money, Ala PPARS e voting machines to just name a few.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins

Ass*ole!

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 9:54 AM

To be fair Coghlan came across as open and honest – and passionate. His unpolished approach is very refreshing.

Seems the Journal is trying to spin this negatively. Surprise Surprise.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    May 16th 2014, 9:56 AM

Ok..apart from him looking well..what did he actually say of substance in terms of beliefs and policy!??????

Mute Gary Kavanagh
    Favourite Gary Kavanagh
    May 16th 2014, 9:57 AM

He seemed like an old annoying muppet that sits on the highstool talking shite to anyone that will listen

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    May 16th 2014, 9:59 AM

Didn’t see the whole thing but Vincent called it spot on, he wasn’t in there for any other reason than to get his vote so this just to introduce himself was pretty much nonsense.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

You can extract a minute of dialogue from every single politician where they aren’t saying things of substance on beliefs and policy.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:01 AM

John. He did come across as open, honest, passionate and unpolished. The problem is he also came across as clueless and useless. That’s not spin, just the opinion of an unaffiliated voter.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    May 16th 2014, 10:06 AM

John
    Were you watching the same Vincent Brown show as the rest of us???

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 10:08 AM

I’ll try watch the whole program and see if he has anything of substance to say. Y’all could be right and his unpolished directness is all there is too him.
    I just wouldn’t slam him based on the clip. I’d slam him if that’s all he got.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    May 16th 2014, 10:16 AM

Did you watch the show? He was sneering and smirking when the candidate Paul Donnelly was talking about homelessness. Eamonn Coghlan came out in reply with the comment ‘all rhetoric I hear morning, noon, and night’. If that is what you mean by open, honest and passionate then I would rather my taxes weren’t paying him a decent salary with a lot of perks. As Paul Donnelly said in reply ‘It is not rhetoric it is real people’s lives’

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 10:20 AM

Nope, haven’t had my vinb fix for a while. Will tune in later.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch

Johngahan – An unpolished Blueshirt ?
    He came across as an arrogant pup – saying to an elderly man that he was only calling to his house “to introduce himself and was not looking for his vote”
    Well holy god , as Miley used to say !
    Is Coughlan & his FG Cronies really trying to take us for total eegits altogether ?
    And then you Johngahan referring to him as refreshing ?

Let’s see who are refreshing next week Sir ?

Mute sol
    Favourite sol
    May 16th 2014, 10:31 AM

It’s just more of the same old rubbish we’ve come to expect. Nothing new here from them. What a depressing lot.

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    May 16th 2014, 10:43 AM

Who is he kidding? “I only came here to introduce myself”? It’s as though Alan Partridge was running for office, “needless to say, I had the last laugh”.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 16th 2014, 11:20 AM

Coghlan came across as a very arrogant man a bit clueless and completely out of his depth when quizzed by Brown. As for the Labour canidate all she did was shout and shout and shout again she must be listening to Joan Burton too much.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    May 16th 2014, 11:58 AM

Listen John, listen, listen, listen, listen to be John, listen to me, listen, listen! Go away n sh!ite! The guy is as arrogant as they come, topped by the fact the he hadn’t anything of interest to say, his only input was to slam other peoples view with pure ignorance!

Mute Tom Fennelly
    Favourite Tom Fennelly
    May 16th 2014, 11:39 PM

Chairman of The Bore then ?

Mute adrian quinn
    Favourite adrian quinn
    May 17th 2014, 1:50 AM

You didn’t even watch it . Another inherited FG from you.

Mute Darragh Hayden
    Favourite Darragh Hayden
    May 17th 2014, 3:03 AM

Come on mate, get a bloody grip, he was a farce

May 17th 2014, 7:56 AM

Don’t bother Johnaghan. Your full of s++t and watching VB won’t be good for you.

Mute the flying picket
    Favourite the flying picket
    May 16th 2014, 10:41 AM

Thought he was going to stick a loaf on the panelists . Listen , listen , listen , will ye listen to me !

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    May 16th 2014, 1:32 PM

Spectacular own goal from FG brilliant car crash tv

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    May 16th 2014, 1:11 PM

So Fine Gael in Dublin West don’t want votes! Coughlan was only introducing himself, one week before the election? Ok I will stop criticising . Seriously , well done to Eamon Coughlan on the funniest off the cuff comedy sketch ever, bar none. Keep up the good work. It must also be said that the only “good” thing Eamon’s exhibition did was take the glow from Lorraine Higgins’ (lab) own disgraceful exhibition.
    These are the idiots labour and Fine Gael want us to vote for. OMG!

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    May 16th 2014, 10:14 AM

And this is the future? Give me patience……Time for the dinosaurs (Kenny, Noonan, Adams etc) to call it a day. There are plenty of proactive forward thinking young politicians in each party. The country needs real change so step aside and leave it to the next generation! If they were real public servants they would have to retire at 65

May 16th 2014, 10:27 AM

He thinks better with his feet than his brain,……..dummy!

Mute Kieran Timmons
    Favourite Kieran Timmons
    May 16th 2014, 10:52 AM

I am still waiting to hear the lad from Fis Nua other two policies.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 16th 2014, 10:10 AM

Eamonn is a lovely man. Lived across street from him when i was a kid and he always took me running till i couldn’t keep up with him and he was going onto the main roads (helping me train to be a sprinter) Unfortunately i had injury so couldn’t further it :( . He also got me a kitten for birthday when i was 7.
    However i wouldn’t be voting for him in politics.I would like to see him in charge of school sports in Ireland though and control the kitty for it.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 16th 2014, 10:19 AM

Horses for courses.

He is not a politician or TD material.

Like the idea of getting him in charge of School sports, too many fat kids these days.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    May 16th 2014, 10:36 AM

Its not even the weight issues( i think majority of Irish kids are slim) Their health on other hand Sean and mental stimulation that comes with it not to mention feeling good.
    I was very lucky in school in primary. All the teachers did sports with the kids for at least 40 mins in day(weather permitting) and we were much happier and performed better in our subjects.
    When they took that away i noticed the difference in kids in schools.
    He should concentrate on what he would be brilliant at head of sports and recreational for education in Ireland.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 10:39 AM

Seaaaannnnniiiieee – He is a bit like you sonny boy – not fit to be a politician either – not even in FF !

Mute Keith Michael Gregg
    May 16th 2014, 11:24 PM

Have you seen the schoolkids of today? what they eat and how little they exercise. Just cos you are slim doesn’t mean you are fit!

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    May 16th 2014, 11:51 AM

End of the day FG are just FF with thinner ties.

Mute Keith Michael Gregg
    May 16th 2014, 11:21 PM

FG are more like the PD’s…The FF who wanted it all for themselves, and who want to privatise everything. I wish they would just merge and be done with it

Mute Elizabeth Rigney
    Favourite Elizabeth Rigney
    May 16th 2014, 4:37 PM

Oh lads it was embarrassing to watch. He came across so smug and disconnected. If this is what he’s saying on live television about his constituents imagine what he’s saying in private. It was pretty obvious that he holds the rest of us – the unwashed masses in complete contempt. Some serious damage control to be done in the Fine Gael camp this morning.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev

In the immortal words of Donald Trump. Your Fired.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw

And to think people actually voted in favour of gits like him keeping their over paid jobs in the seanad

Mute Riff Rafferty
    Favourite Riff Rafferty
    May 16th 2014, 12:47 PM

I couldn’t help but wonder what Lorraine Mulligan sounds like when she has an orgasm – based on her shrieking last night, I reckon it’s a cross between Lassie Howling and an Airliner!

Mute Mick Kirwan
    Favourite Mick Kirwan
    May 16th 2014, 11:33 AM

completely out of his depth last night ….. looked like an amatuer

Mute Damion w
    Favourite Damion w
    May 16th 2014, 11:41 AM

He won’t be running away with the vote after this performance…see what I done there

Mute Cate Keating
    Favourite Cate Keating
    May 16th 2014, 1:44 PM

Car crash TV for both Labour and FG. I have an element of sympathy for Coghlan, in ten minutes he destroyed much of the respect afforded to him which he gained from his past achievements. Now when I hear the name Eamonn Coghlan, this program will come to mind in the forefront. When will these parties learn that celebrity candidates just do not work, many are so caught up in their own self importance that there is not much room for empathy.

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy
    May 16th 2014, 1:27 PM

Plonker. Jog on Eamonn. Your out of touch just like your party. Too busy pandering to the EU and the banks whilst you shaft us with austerity taxes.

Mute Bert McCann
    Favourite Bert McCann
    May 16th 2014, 12:28 PM

No wonder they named a roundabout after him in Drimnagh. On last nights performance the rest of the field ‘ll run rings around him.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    May 16th 2014, 2:47 PM

First Enda insults voters, now this clown. FG are working very hard to ensure that they don’t stay in government.

Mute Peter Martin
    Favourite Peter Martin
    May 16th 2014, 9:11 PM

Eamonn Coughlan was a great runner….end of story. He is not very bright though if he thinks voters will elect him if he can’t understand that people,including the man he mocked, are concerned with survival from a party of parasites like Fine Gael who represent nobody but the well heeled in this banana republic. Eamon is a bit of a thick if you ask me.

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    May 16th 2014, 1:33 PM

Spectacular own goal by FG brilliant car crash tv

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    May 16th 2014, 3:49 PM

Kenny and Coughlan are well met- mouth moves before brain engages.

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    May 16th 2014, 3:21 PM

FG using celebs as candidates just goes to show how little they rate the public, the arrogance would be laughable but we get what we deserve

Mute cillian32
    Favourite cillian32
    May 16th 2014, 11:31 AM

Paul Donnelly will make a fine TD …if not this time then the next election.He had come on leaps and bounds since his last appearance on Vinny…Only one with a constituency office .. That says a lot.

Mute No Water Tax
    Favourite No Water Tax
    May 16th 2014, 10:58 AM

Has he had a nose job? Look closely.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    May 16th 2014, 12:46 PM

Running should carry a Health warning
    —”Running causes Brain Damage”
    He needs help.

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    May 16th 2014, 3:01 PM

He fit in well in FG

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    May 16th 2014, 8:22 PM

He’s always struck me as a bit socially thick.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    May 16th 2014, 3:19 PM

A johnaghan just give up please im even starting to feel sorry for you he was a gobshi.e and if he is the type of person u want running for fg all I can say to u in a big thank you roll on next week

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    May 16th 2014, 4:12 PM

Embarrassing clip

Mute Lar Cooney
    Favourite Lar Cooney
    May 16th 2014, 3:15 PM

“Eamon Bellend” go back to the track and be a great man to the community..

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    May 16th 2014, 6:24 PM

So now we know; The returning officer will read out the votes tomorrow week including the line “Lorraine Mulligan Two” and for the first time ever we will know the demographics of one of the candidates as Lorraine votes for herself and johngahan votes for her too. I don’t know which of the two is worse but as for Eamon Coughlan, well now, where do you start?

Mute Dean Hickey
    Favourite Dean Hickey
    May 16th 2014, 1:48 PM

The Internet needs an “Eamon Coglan/Linda Hunny Listen” mashup.
    Make it happen…

Mute JF
    Favourite JF
    May 16th 2014, 11:49 AM

John…I’d say you give everyone a great laugh down at the pub…and I don’t mean with you, I mean at you!,

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Favourite Sebastian Gilhooley
    May 16th 2014, 12:15 PM

Lets count FG seat numbers after elections and and see who’s laughing then.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    May 16th 2014, 12:35 PM

Why are you answering for John,Sebastian ?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 12:55 PM

Seb/John screwed up again ha ha.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 1:18 PM

Sebastian – you won’t be laughing or Lab/FG won’t either !!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 1:33 PM

Barry it might be best if you actually looked up what Ming said.Both times you have misrepresented what he said.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    May 16th 2014, 11:05 PM

Wow! Coughlan just kind of melts down. He seemed to think he was having bar room chat or something. Wish I’d seen it live now haha

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    May 16th 2014, 11:47 PM

Hope no one votes for this big mouth Eamon coglian was a disgrace on v b

Mute Maria Dardis
    Favourite Maria Dardis
    May 16th 2014, 11:47 PM

He was an arrogant b@st@rd!

Mute R.Canavan
    Favourite R.Canavan
    May 16th 2014, 4:48 PM

“SOOOOREEEEE”

Mute Ronan Sheridan
    Favourite Ronan Sheridan
    May 17th 2014, 12:08 AM

Terry Prone must be on holidays

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    May 17th 2014, 12:44 AM

Eamonn should stick to running-from the doors!…

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    May 17th 2014, 12:12 AM

Sinn Fein has a team of scientists working secretly to clone dozens of copies of Sen. Coughlan and send them into the working class estates of Dublin.

Mute John Molloy
    Favourite John Molloy
    May 17th 2014, 2:20 AM

“I don’t want your vote-I’m just waiting on a mate”

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    May 17th 2014, 7:39 AM

When he was a athletics pundit on RTE all he could do was talk about was Sonia O Sullivan. When she was running he’d go into overdrive. Have never seen him speaking in the Seanad. Never realised he was a senator until recently. Doesn’t say much about his contribution to irish politics.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 11:09 AM

Coghlan should take some pleasure being the attack target on the forum today. Clearly has SF rattled.

Mute Damien McCarthy
    Favourite Damien McCarthy
    May 16th 2014, 11:24 AM

John boy, Tis time for bed boy!!!!

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 11:41 AM

What?

Why would Eamon Coghlan making a complete bellend of himself have SF rattled? If anything I would say he has the FG spin doctors rattled, because there’s another one they can’t let out in public unscripted.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 11:48 AM

Coghlan is venturing into Sinn Fein’s carefully crafted ‘we care, we really do’ message.

Hence the aggressive motherload of forum posters slamming Coghlan.

Everyone is fighting to appear the most sincere man-of-the-people card. SF are very happy if FG seem for the middle class. But lash out if FG ventures into their favoured demographic. Coghlan must be annihilated by SF or he’ll eat Donnelly’s message.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 11:58 AM

John after last nights performance, I doubt SF or anybody else is even worrying about Eamon Coghlan.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 12:06 PM

We’ll see what the polls say on the day. Lorraine has my vote.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 12:12 PM

Lorraine Mulligan?

Ah sure it’s your vote, you can waste it whatever way you see fit.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    May 16th 2014, 12:19 PM

John, you really do sound like a paranoid looper. You should get some help.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    May 16th 2014, 1:16 PM

Johngahan – one place your quoting Coghlan – the other – you haven’t watched Vincent Browne lately …..& you are then giving verdicts on performance ????
    My golly these FG Trolls are not even reading up on the “what say & what not to say”, from the Turd Reich FG Propaganda Office !!!
    John – Will you get the lies to stick please – Coghlan was never a Member of SF or the IRA either !!!!!!!

May 17th 2014, 8:00 AM

Coughlans mouth committed Hara Kiri jonaghan. He needed no help from Sinn Fein.

Mute The_five_lamps
    Favourite The_five_lamps
    May 17th 2014, 6:54 AM

I can’t believe it!! I thought sports stars where automatically good at politics and all the PR spin that goes with it, from the moment they retired!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 17th 2014, 10:27 AM

What a smug bell end.
    Definitely don’t need another one of these in 5 Dail.

Mute Dolores Blake
    Favourite Dolores Blake
    May 17th 2014, 11:15 AM

Had to laugh when Coughlan indicated that TDs have suffered financially ( in response to Vincent saying that TD’sre earning more now). ” They’ve lost their Mercedes”. What planet is he on?????

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey

far too many people on the panel, Eamonn could hardly be heard above the noise. No wonder Duncan Stewart made demands.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:37 AM

I’m pretty sure FG are sorry he could be heard above the noise.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    May 16th 2014, 10:40 AM

Considering Eamon ‘ s dismissal of people’s hardship as rhetoric and miserable impression of a voter it would have been best for him had he not been heard.But he was and people saw him for what he is, a great runner but an abysmal politician.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 10:47 AM

Did you meet the voter? Maybe the impression was spot on.

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 16th 2014, 10:48 AM

And this weeks winner of ‘completely missing the point’ goes to……..johngahan.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 10:49 AM

Whose point is this? Your point?

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale

And he makes it a double with the award for ‘lame comeback of the week’.

May 17th 2014, 8:03 AM

Padraig. Your comments made my day. lol especially the “Troll Control.”

Mute Jay P F
    Favourite Jay P F
    May 17th 2014, 12:42 PM

He impersonated that mans voice it sounded like a bull frog calling out for a mate !

Mute D3D Designs
    Favourite D3D Designs
    May 17th 2014, 12:13 PM

If he wants to be ‘The Voice’ , I think he’s on the wrong show.

Mute Stephen Tyrrell
    Favourite Stephen Tyrrell
    May 16th 2014, 1:04 PM

Don’t see way people are sayin anythin other than he’s right fair play to him because most people are like that wen they knock we’ve all been hit by tis governed some more than others just hope wat he’s sayin is true that he really wants to be the voice for the people and not just the money

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    May 16th 2014, 2:37 PM

Most people can see that Stephen, you are just witnessing the mob of Sinn Fein forum patrollers who spend their day blitzing every article with SF propaganda and slamming any other contributor for being a ‘troll’.

Speaks volumes about the party’s gestapo mentality.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    May 16th 2014, 3:07 PM

As opposed to blitzing non Sinn Fein related articles with comments about Sinn Fein.

May 17th 2014, 8:05 AM

Stephen and jonaghan. Get a room.

Mute Roberto Mancini
    Favourite Roberto Mancini
    May 16th 2014, 5:33 PM

I was expecting a bit more from the video after reading the article #letdown

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Jun 4th 2014, 8:19 PM

A member of Irish Seanad with an IQ even lower than Dubya! – but many of the same vapid characteristics – anti-intellectual narrow minded megalomaniacal self-absorption with total reliance on sound bites to promulgate his self-righteousness. Plaudits to the electorate of West Dublin for eliminating him!

Mute John Martin
    Favourite John Martin
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:41 PM

Not a great advert for a Bachelor of Science degree from Villanova in Marketing and Communications!. Lacked the self insight to realise he was disgracing himself with every syllable he uttered. He was a talented runner but his delusions of adequacy meant he never won when it really mattered, apart from 1983 when he beat a substandard field and tried to humiliate the poor Russian he overtook – arrogance and ignorance – is this the future for FG – Dumb and Dumber indeed.

Mute Carmel Reynolds
    Favourite Carmel Reynolds
    May 17th 2014, 11:52 AM

Ah hear leave it out he’s looking for a part in love hate .