You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
DUBLIN CITY UNIVERSITY (DCU) has been named as one of the world’s top 50 universities that are under 50-years-old.
In the latest rankings of the globe’s youngest third-level institutions, DCU placed 46th. That is 280 places higher than its overall world ranking.
It is the only Irish university to feature in the QS World University Rankings list of those facilities established after 1962.
Professor Brian MacCraith, president of DCU, welcomed the achievement.
“We are delighted with this outcome,” he said. “The inclusion of DCU in this rankings table is a resounding international endorsement of our quality as a young, dynamic university.”
The universities were scored on academic and employer reputation, faculty-student ratio, publications, citations per paper, the proportion of international students and exchange students.
Most of Ireland’s third-level educational institutes are not eligible for the prestigious list as they were set up long before 1962.
Top of the rankings was The Chinese University of Hong Kong, followed closely by its neighbour the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Also on this day in 1976, two men were killed when the bus they were travelling on was attacked by the UDA on the Crumlin Rd. May we remember all victims of the conflict with the same degree of sympathy and respect.
Agreed, but let’s condemn the atrocities without exception. 12th of June 1973 went by without remembrance on this site when 6 civilians were killed in an IRA bomb attack in Coleraine.
Joe, it makes me sick that there are more red thumbs on that comment than green ones. Do so many people support the IRA’s murder campaign here than condemn it now??
There has been a strong trend towards revisionism and amnesia in recent years, pushed by certain self-interests who wish to rewrite/forget the past. This should not be allowed to take hold.
No one was killed, was that blind luck or skilful planning by the IRA.. Either way it doesn’t matter or do you condone setting off explosive devices in public buildings?
Do I condone the use of physical force for political struggle if no other option is viable? Yes. If it weren’t for physical force, there’d be 32 counties under British rule today, instead of 6. And only for physical force, notably Canary Wharf, then John Major wouldn’t have sat down to talk and we wouldn’t have a peace process today. Do you condemn the men of the Old IRA for using physical force to win your county’s independence from Britain?
But six counties is still under British rule and that has not changed – the IRA campaign was a failure… it didn’t get a united ireland… all that was got was a SF seat in power which is all they ever wanted – sunningdale was a better deal that the GFA -the 30 years after was for nothing but power.
That some people believe sunngindale would have succeeded is fascinating. Considering that at the time of Sunningdale, that the British state was at war with the nationalist/republican population through state collusion, widespread harassment at police/British Army checkpoints (which was a major cause of IRA recruitment) as well as institutionalised religious discrimination throughout the state, then talking as if Sunningdale was ever going to last is totally fanciful and absurd. Even with years of relative peace since the signing of the Good Friday Agreement, it took until 2007 before a stable(ish) executive was established. That was almost TEN YEARS after the Good Friday Agreement was signed. Arguing that Sunningdale was the answer is to ignore the political and social climate of the day. All this also ignores the fact that Sunningdale was scrapped as a direct result of the violent loyalist reaction to it via the UUUC & the Ulster Workers Council, directed by one Ian Paisley.
Inigo, you neglect to acknowledge that Sunningdale and the power sharing Executive that followed were actually defeated by the unionist bloc, the majority of which viewed sharing power with even the SDLP as too large a concession. This talk of the GFA just being “Sunningdale for slow learners” is a very convenient yet overly simplistic view of the situation. Such an approach is dangerous and often led to ham-fisted manoeuvres that just made things in the North much much worse
But the UDA were “legal”, Eamonn, that’s why the people they killed count as second class citizens by the British government, even in death. And our fellow countrymen in the Fine Gael and Labour coalition at the time never said a word – just like now.
U misunderstood me.. Neither were a good agreement. The gfa was a bad agreement but no worse or better than sunningdale.. As sesmus mallon said the gfa was sunningdale for slow learners. And the reason it fell bevause the extremists on both sides opposed it.. Because it wxcluded them from power. My point was that was 30 years of bloodshed worth the GFA? No united ireland , sectarianism no better? The IRA campaign was a failure.. Why did SF leaders a month before the gfa was signed.. Tell its grassroots that no northern parliament would be entered into.. So repubicans give up articles 2/3.. Enter stormont and solidify the union and u think SF is the republican party? For SF they dont care what principles they chsnge as long as at the end of it they’re in power. Mark my words young man… When sf get into power in south all the promises made now will vanish… And all their supporters will still cheer.
And tell me, genius, how we could have reached the peace, stability and EQUALITY we now have, were it not for armed resistance to the sectarian state? We saw on Bloody Sunday what the peaceful route did for us.
I’ll do you one better.. Read the transcript in the 1986 ard fheis.. O bradaighs speech about what adams et al would do over next twenty years.. In the background The negotiation bringing the war to and end with the brits had begun giving the ira a way out without appearing to have lost… It took alot more than ten years after the gfa had been signed to get to where the north is now.. So even the period from 86 to 94 was a waste of time on the ira side.
It was always about sf power not about a decent settlement for the north.. Would af have stopped the campaign without gaining electoral success? 1981 showed them how to get votes.. If you believe anything else it is extreme niavete.
Tyrone.. You must be a doctor of spin.. Physical force makes it sound all cuddly and minimalist.. Try large explosions in public areas and buildings, incendiary bombs in department stores, raking a Garda car with an AK47 etc etc
Lets just stop writing stories about the troubles. The British oppressed usvfor 800 years, nearly took our language from us, killed millions of us through starvation. But yet the journal can only remind us of the IRAs actions??
Or … we were naturally part of Britain for thousands of years and had we stayed part we’d be far better off than we are today, deeply integrated into a 4 nation United Kingdom, with real power in Westminster and Europe.
There were as many Irish greedily exporting food as their were English during the famine.
However history has been rewritten to suit the romanticists; and look at where we are today. A backward nation of gombeens who can’t agree on anything. Within 100 years of independence we crashed the country into a brick wall.
The best things we’ve ever written, thought and said have been in English.
Malmcom 800 yrs of oppression . Seriously get a life . If that’s all you see in Irish history then you don’t actually know very much about the history of your own country .
Lackey – 800 hundred years of oppression and the famine, you’re like a comic parody of an idiotic stereotypical republican but you’re for real. It’s pitiful!
Malcolm, to give justification to IRA thugs for 800 years of British rule is as warped a reason for continuing violence as it is for the Irish state to operate mother and baby homes. Did it never occurr to you that the majority of people on this island did not support the IRA and that Northern Ireland remains a part of the UK because that is the way that the majority of the people living there wish it to remain. The IRA had absolutely no justification for formenting a war against the UK and it’s people.
Chris, what’s your view on the morality of the Easter Rising? And I think you’ll find that the entire island of Ireland was never allowed to vote on the partition of their country. I’d imagine a healthy majority would support reunification.
I don’t think we were “naturally part of Britiain for thousands of years”. For much of our history, we had a different language, a different religion, and a very different culture with a totally different outlook in general to the British.
The British themselves perceived the Gaelic culture in Ireland to be completely incompatible with their ideas and ambitions.
The Gaelic culture was largely an oral one, but you can’t know that the best things we’ve ever written have been in English, most of what was written in Irish was destroyed and some of the surviving Gaelic poetry is absolutely superb.
Most young nations make mistakes and go through periods of difficulty, just like young people, it doesn’t mean they should forego their independance or that they’re an incapable, hopeless case. You’re a good example of the self hating, brainwashed, anglo centric sort that has held this country back as much as any gombeen, johngahan.
I’ve little doubt had you been around during the famine, you’d have been in the employ of some British landlord and recommending that the natives were better off in the new colonies and that their language and religion was holding them back.
Never forget the horrific acts these people carried out. Would never consider voting for Sinn Fein while they still have a link to the IRA. Important that people don’t forget this
When they marched in the six counties for civil rights they were battered off the streets , but still they marched , till they were shot down on the streets of Derry ,
Enda, does your apologist stance extend to the IRA killers of Garda Gerry McCabe in 1996. The same murderers that sitting SF TD Martin Ferris collected from prison and whisked them away to a celebration party. Adams staunchly defended SF’s role. You’d have to assume that at some stage Adams would have shook their hands and said well done…
O Reilly , I don’t condone any violence , I feel sorry for all victims and their families , but you ve to look at what was happening in the six counties that caused this ,
Enda, What had robbing a post office and shooting dead a Garda got to do with what was happening in the six counties? This was criminality and murder, nothing more. That you can’t see that speaks volumes…
Mike, you’d have a good career in the Seanad with your hysterical language. As for voting for a party with links to criminality and murder because you don’t like what some of us say, that’s a bit fickle. I’d also suggest you were more influenced by the legion of shinnerbots and SF reps that trawl here daily. You fell for their BS…
Joe Mahon – On the basis of your logic, if you care to study your Irish History that is – you will be probably left with a choice between The Green Party and a couple of The Unionist Party factions in the Six Counties to vote for ?
I utterly condemn ALL violence , including any kind of State sponsored violence , but over an eighty year period of violence in this Country, there have been many awful incidents – while I can assure you that there is hardly a County in this Country which escaped the violence .
But we have learned from the shocking effects of it – The Good Friday Agreement is a mighty testament to this !
Again a reminder of actual History – The Population of Ireland overwhelmingly voted in its favour !
O’Reilly – Why do you & Mahon , on this thread, keep bringing up the work of Michael Collins in his shooting of multiple Police?
Wouldn’t you leave the man rest in peace ?
There’s Jerry McCabe mentioned. Now to mention Jean McConville and you will have completed your list of victims that you’ve ever heard off. Good going O’Reilly.
P.s. If you’re going to pretend to give a rats ass about the man you just referred to, you’d know his name was spelt “Jerry”, not “Gerry”.
What about Micheal Collins murder campaign?? bunch of hypocrites and cowards you lot are, maybe if you cowards did more to help the situation things might not have been as bad. Thankfully the war is over and we are trying to build the peace but it’s hard when people like you still feel and spread hate and can’t move on from it.
Mike
You are an apologist for Sinn Fein due to your educational deficit and a natural predilection for sickening violence as evidenced by your call this morning on these pages for young burglars to have their fingers hacked off as a means of punishment,
This falls right in line with punishment shootings ( ankles and knees ) tarring and feathering and beatings with baseball bats imbedded with nails. We will leave out the bone scarring torturing of the disappeared such as Mrs McConville.
I can see the Sinn Fein would demand the Ministry of Justice in their first Coalition success.
That’s the future you want Mike.
Gerry McCabe was murdered in cold blood by Gerry’s buddies. Bloody Sunday was a disgrace and its a shame the men who carried out those murders have not and will probably never be brought to justice!
@ Christina: I see today is also the anniversary of another incident during the troubles where (unlike the incident above) people were actually killed. 2 people were killed on a bus by the UDA on the Crumlin Road ‘on this day in 1976′
39 years ago next Sunday is the anniversary of Christopher Phelans death, who died in Straffan, Kildare when stopping UVF volunteers from planting a bomb on the train line. I look forward to a piece on this anniversary but I wouldn’t hold my breath.
Has the journal been taken over by INM, with a new directive to have an article a day celebrating the 29th, 36th anniversary or whatever of only incidents involving republicans. Pathetic by the Journal!
@Werejammin – you cult members are gas – to suggest that this site is anything but SF sympathies belies the actual truth.. and the amount of airtime your cult gets here is unreal. Are you ashamed of the actions of the IRA is against the cult line to mention the past? – any disparagement or any mention of anything not fitting in ‘with SF are great’ gets this sort of reaction from cult members like you – you remind be of scientologists. .. you even have your own leader for life in Adams… to compare a death squad killing to a bombing in london – also shows that you equate the two campaigns as equal… you are actually comparing the UDA and the IRA… laughable really.. one was a war the other was a sectarian death spree – well that used to be the SF party line.
Were jammin is pointing out the anomaly of what the Journal is doing the last few days. Rather than mark the 25th, 30th, 40th anniversary of events they are plucking events from any year that have to do with republicans, but not even events that led to killings. Yet there were events on these very days during the Troubles that led to deaths and yet the Journal ignore these events. The hidden agenda is obvious and the the reason why the Journal publish so many articles about SF is also very clear, as these stories tend to attract large numbers of readers and posts. So it does not matter how trivial the subject is they are only too happy to make a story out of it!
“Rather than mark the 25th, 30th, 40th anniversary of events they are plucking events from any year that have to do with republicans” – quite right… and 2014-1974 is 40 years.
The original headline for this article stated 1972, this has since been changed to 1974. The original year posted is still viewable on the link for this page…
@werejammin – well if i was the journalist involved i would be asking for an apology for your thesis was based out of the journal selecting a random date as a response to SF polling well… when in fact it was a common ‘what happend on this day 25, 40 50 100 years ago’ which is a common thread on the Journal.ie.
@werejammin – but you seemed so good on the dates of the UDA that you didn’t know the date of the IRA bombing? – so you agree that the journal were not being biased? Just admit you were wrong and you besmirched the journalist.
By the way who is in YFG?
Inigo
Sinn Fein need to create the false idea that their critics are merely other Party supporters rather than ordinary members of the public sufficiently motivated and brave enough to challenge them. At every turn there is a threat to people who might want to say what’s on their mind.
It reminds me of the broadcasting ban put on Republicans during the Troubles. Now instead they impose their own version but with violence rather than a fine.
SF/iRA. Where is the iRA? They’re gone its over they are finished and have gone down the political and peaceful route and because of this thousands of lives have now been saved. Sinn fein are trying at least to put it behind them and get on with main stream politics. Complete bollix with SF/iRA Its over you can’t change history.
Its over you clown get on with it. The only gangs saying they have links to the IRA are young criminals using the name f $ ck sake. Self confessed x leader of the IRA announced @a press conference yesterday the british open was coming to NI. Look forward not back.
They are probably not really your friends Kerry just afraid of you, being an IRA man and all that. As the Baron said about the likes of you “they haven’t gone away you know”
Not my pal, Im not a shinner at all, nor a bitter stuck in the past sf hater either, two days in a row we’ve had these articles, meanwhile back in the real world……..
Kerry – You need to work on your reading comprehension and analytic skills (maybe you wasted too much time in school trying to master a chara[sic]).
I referred to “my British neighbors showing an interest in my country” in response to the British person commenting on which MEPs had been elected in The Republic of Ireland. A normal person could use this information to deduce that I am Irish.
British person – I’m old enough to remember when your leaders “valued” friend murdered that man and those two kids in Sligo and a lot more.
Ron – You need to work on your reading comprehension and analytic skills. I never commented on “on which MEPs had been elected in The Republic of Ireland”. I referred to Sinn Féin’s “FOUR successful European candidates”. Only three of these were in the 26 counties.
More to the point, the 26 counties you speak of are not called the “Republic of Ireland”. That is only the name of a soccer team. Read a book.
@Hilary, what a dumb comment. You really are a thick with a comment like that. You clearly are not Irish and have obviously no knowledge of Irish History. Definitely the dumbest comment of the Year.
Do you not think that the British government and the Royal family should be handing out apologises for the scorched eath policies of the Virgin Queen. Government policy during the famine era. Slavery. Northern Ireland . The list is endless, our language and population . Really Hillary what world do you live in
@Glen Hoddle, and where is your opinion ?? on the subject. I have backed up mine. Clearly you haven’t got an educated response apart from your little one liners that are based on pure conjecture. Run along.
Glen, you’re exposing your own astonishing level of ignorance. Before engaging in a debate, you should at lease learn the basics. Omagh was bombed by dissidents, not by the IRA. Those who bombed Omagh would happily have killed Adams/McGuinness, given the chance. The IRA were several years into their ceasefire in 1998 and were regarded as traitors by those who carried out Omagh.
@Glen Hoddle, correct Omagh was disgraceful but who in their right mind would say otherwise.. You have a myopic view of history. You have heard of the UVF and the UDA. The B Specials , the Shankill butchers who murdered Catholics indiscriminately. Where is your outrage Glenn. Furthermore if you want to know about the British globally maybe read a book or two. Look up Roger Casement ???.
Finally, remind me who murdered more civilians during the trouble Glen ???
@ glen hoddle: “the IRA are murdering thugs. Remember Omagh”
The omagh bombing was carried out by the real IRA. The IRA were signed up to the Good Friday Agreement at this stage and played no part in the bombing.
You were obviously only in nappies at the time, but please get your facts straight when commenting on such a serious matter.
According to Malcolm Sutton’s Index of Deaths from the Conflict in Ireland:
Of those killed by British security forces:
187 (~51.5%) were civilians
145 (~39.9%) were members of republican paramilitaries
18 (~4.9%) were members of loyalist paramilitaries
13 (~3.5%) were fellow members of the British security forces
Of those killed by republican paramilitaries:
1080 (~52%) were members of the British security forces
728 (~35%) were civilians
187 (~9%) were members of republican paramilitaries
56 (~2.7%) were members of loyalist paramilitaries
10 (~0.4%) were members of the Irish security forces
Of those killed by loyalist paramilitaries:
868 (~85.4%) were civilians
93 (~9%) were members of loyalist paramilitaries
41 (~4%) were members of republican paramilitaries
14 (~1.3%) were members of the British security forces
So we can see that most of the people killed by loyalists were civilians (85% of those killed by the loyalists), and of those killed by the Republicans, 35% were civilians. In fact, loyalist killed more civilians than the republicans did.
728 civilians killed in the troubles by republican paramilitaries.
868 civilians killed by loyalist paramilitaries.
So both in terms of sheer numbers and percentage of killings, loyalist more closely fit the description of “murdering cowards”. Got that, Hilary? Journal? We all clear on that now? OK. Looks like a great day to get out and enjoy the sunshine. Get out wit ye.
So dissidents are the same organisation as the provos?! If you have to rely on lies to support your argument, you are seriously compromising your position.
As the old saying goes: “Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience”.
Glen – Just in interests of accuracy .
the awful bombing in Omagh was , I recall carried out after The Good Friday Agreement .
Certainly , it’s my historically accurate recollection , that the IRA were not involved !
Glen, you realise what splits are? Dissidents broke away from the IRA over fundamental differences. They became two diametrically opposed organisations. One was on ceasefire and involved in building a peace process, the other bombed Omagh.
By your logic, there was only one side taking part in the civil war, because, sure they all USED to come from the same organisation anyway, eh.
Murder is murder the struggle wasn’t ever recognised as a legit war, it was all to do with bigots and the struggle in their minds, as I said previously mindless mad men the lot of them,
Drop the shameless propaganda. On this day in 1973, Joseph Kelly, an innocent nationalist was murdered by the UFF. On this day in 1976, two innocent nationalists, Brendan Meehan & Gereard Stitt, were murdered by the UDA while sitting on a bus on the Crumlin Road. I could go on. The fact that you produce an article about the events of the troubles “on this day” and make no mention of people like this, but rather dedicate the whole article to an IRA bomb with no loss of life, says it all.
FG/TheJournal spin doctors at it again, Looks like the The Journal is well rutted in FG’s wallet. I remember that day well I also remember a ff man from Donnycarney saying over a few pints (well fair play to them) Question for all you know it all’s right start digging into your archives Question was Enda Kenny in the UVF at the time or was he in the UDA?
SF have an alert out that when there’s an IRA story they send an SMS alert to their bots to red thumb negative comments and green thumb pro terrorist murder comments.
No they don’t….Their blind followers think they are all part of a huge electoral machine when they have only voted in 1 local election….The reality is they are all only Sprat.
Well done journal yet another day of bullish#t hate.
The hate and contempt for republicans on here is sickening
Not a drop of blood was split when this state was formed.
Loyalists and nationalist are moving on from the troubles yet it seems people south of the border can’t and refuse to.
It was the anversary of the death of bobby sands in may but didn’t see and articles saying on this day!
This is just to cause friction and hate nothing more.
Westminster was bombed during the war and now Sinn Fein have offices in the House of Commons during the peace process-the speaker of that house refused to invite Sinn Fein to a function yesterday because Sinn Fein refuse to take the oath- but that’s just politics- or is it-
Comparing the men and women who died and fought for our independence to cowards who shot and blew up completely innocent people because their views were incompatible with theirs simply doesn’t make sense to me.
Ah so the Old IRA didn’t shoot or blow up anyone? And especially didn’t blow up anyone who’s views were incompatible with theirs? One wonders why they shot dead ten protestants in Dunmanway in 1922, then. In the space of three years, in Cork alone, 49 Protestant civilians were shot dead, with quite a few of these having their bodies “disappeared”. But sure why not go back in time a few years again, to 1916? Did they use water balloons at the Easter Rising just? And remind me again – where was the mandate for the Easter Rising to occur, again?
Gavin – We in Kerry still remember Ballyseedy, when The Free State Army carried out one of the worse atrocities of the last ninety years – please explain and justify ?
And speaking of “the disappeared”, I’m sure you are well aware that just one Brigade of the Old IRA, who “fought and died for your independence”, the First Cork Brigade, disappeared over 5 times more bodies in the space of a few short years, than the Provos did in 40 years. I’m sure too, that you’re more than aware of the three Protestants near Bandon in 1922, who were forced from their home and made dig their own graves?
Applying different moral standards to the same actions doesn’t cut it with me. Now when you get a minute from being blinded by your own staggering levels of hypocrisy, any chance you could answer my questions? Starting with the Easter Rising, perhaps. Where did the mandate come from for this?
I don’t feel the need to waste time legitimising the 1916 rising. It is an almost universally held view that it was a legitimate rebellion and everyone that did primary school history knows the reasons why. I’m not typing them out when they’re so broadly available by a simple google search.
Ah now don’t be a coward. Prove to me you’re not a hypocrite and are capable of substantiating your arguments with more than a “sure everyone knows blah blah blah”.
Bearing in mind that thanks to people like yourself, the Rising was deeply unpopular when it occurred, so just explain to me where the mandate for the Easter Rising was achieved? Simple, straight forward question.
He doesn’t pretend, its just a screen name. You do type an awful lot of rubbish and are completely unable to accept that others will disagree with you. Insults seem your only response and you keep telling posters to grow up!
Paul, it’s not an opinion, it’s a lie. For instance, if I tried to tell you that today was Friday, then that would not just be some opinion that i’d be entitled to hold, it would be a lie.
“They might well be the same”?! Is that why they are forever making death threats to Martin McGuinness, yeah? You do realise that dissident republicanism came into existence over it’s diametrically opposed views to the Provos decision to back a peace process? And that this makes them about as close to being “the same” as the Old IRA the Free State Forces were during the civil war??
Do yourself a huge favour and read a book, you’re making a complete and utter fool of yourself.
Death toll from Myanmar earthquake rises to over 1,000 people as international aid arrives
Updated
1 hr ago
Job Losses
Irish charity GOAL announces hundreds of layoffs after 'signifcant and sudden' funding cuts
11 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say