You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump shakes hands with Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau during their meeting at the White House last year. AFP/Getty Images

'I had no idea. I just said 'you’re wrong'': Trump boasts he made up trade claim in Trudeau meeting

The US president recalled the exchange with Justin Trudeau in a fundraising speech in Missouri.

DONALD TRUMP BOASTED he made things up in a conversation with Canada’s prime minister, insisting the US ran a trade deficit with its neighbour despite having “no idea” if the claim were true.

The US president recalled the exchange with Justin Trudeau in a fundraising speech in Missouri, of which the paper said it had obtained an audio recording.

“Trudeau came to see me. He’s a good guy, Justin. He said, ‘No, no, we have no trade deficit with you, we have none. Donald, please,’” Trump said, imitating Trudeau, the Washington Post said.

“Nice guy, good-looking guy, comes in — ‘Donald, we have no trade deficit.’ He’s very proud because everybody else, you know, we’re getting killed.

“… So, he’s proud. I said, ‘Wrong, Justin, you do.’ I didn’t even know. … I had no idea. I just said, ‘You’re wrong.’”

Trump added: “You know why? Because we’re so stupid. … And I thought they were smart. I said, ‘You’re wrong, Justin.’ He said, ‘Nope, we have no trade deficit.’ I said, ‘Well, in that case, I feel differently,’ I said, ‘but I don’t believe it.’ I sent one of our guys out, his guy, my guy, they went out, I said, ‘Check, because I can’t believe it.’”

According to the US Trade Representative, the United States runs a trade surplus with Canada.

Trudeau met with Trump at the White House in October last year, when the conversation purportedly took place.

The Missouri speech also saw the president lash out at US allies and major global economies over trade.

Trump said allies including the European Union, Japan and South Korea, as well as China, had ripped off the United States and American workers.

“Our allies care about themselves,” he said. “They don’t care about us.”

He seemed to suggest that the United States would withdraw troops stationed in South Korea if it did not get its way with Seoul on trade.

Trump criticised other politicians for wanting to keep the North American Free Trade Agreement with Canada and Mexico, which is being renegotiated at Trump’s insistence.

Trump called Mexico “spoiled” and said Canada had outsmarted the United States.

“The best deal is to terminate it and make a new deal,” he said of NAFTA, according to the Post.

The president also hailed his decision to meet North Korean leader Kim Jong Un, while criticising his White House predecessors.

“They couldn’t have met” with Kim, Trump said, after mocking former presidents Barack Obama and George W Bush. “Nobody would have done what I did.”

© – AFP 2018

Read: Republican Congressman linked to Trump’s travel ban to be honoured at Irish-American event >

Read: Remarks between Taoiseach and US Vice President Mike Pence will be closed to the media >

View 43 comments
43 Comments
    Mute Artur Gurta
    Favourite Artur Gurta
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:51 PM

One less BMW tailgating me on the m50

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:25 PM

@Artur Gurta: comment of the day sir

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:45 PM

@Artur Gurta: Classy…not much value on Life one must deduce.

Mute TheTrustedChalice
    Favourite TheTrustedChalice
    Mar 6th 2019, 10:26 PM

@Margate: do you like drug dealers?

Mute Martin Gordon
    Favourite Martin Gordon
    Mar 6th 2019, 10:31 PM

@Margate: I didn’t know bmw’s were alive

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:45 PM

Pew pew

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:45 PM

Pretty sure there is a car chase. Theres a garda heli going back and fowards around blanch sc and about 20 garda sirens.

Mute Stephen Tyrrell
    Favourite Stephen Tyrrell
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:58 PM

@Jack lynch: found the shooter in fortlawn

Mute Monika Broughill
    Favourite Monika Broughill
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:59 PM

@Jack lynch: A garda car flew by us chasing a car driving away from there

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:08 PM

@Stephen Tyrrell: Hope so.

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:12 PM

@Monika Broughill: which way were they going, i could only hear the sirens and see the heli but guessed it was probably a shooting so didnt go any closer.

Mute Monika Broughill
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:13 PM

@Jack lynch: We were heading to Hartstown, they flew by us heading towads the centre

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:16 PM

@Monika Broughill: i think they went through blanch from there cause the heli went over towards westend and then back up by the industrial estate

Mute Nigel Garvey
    Favourite Nigel Garvey
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:21 PM

@Monika Broughill: you’ve got flying cars in Dublin…. I must admit you’s Dubs have a paler shade of complexity ….

Mute Monika Broughill
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:22 PM

@Jack lynch: We saw it going but we didn’t stop so not sure what happened.

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:39 PM

@Stephen Tyrrell: wrong !!!!

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:49 PM

@David Farrell: care to elaborate?

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:53 PM

@Jack lynch: no

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:45 PM

@David Farrell: Hahaha no problem

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Jack lynch: If he’s got he’s going away for a long… I mean a couple of years.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:42 PM

Another one bites the dust. The UK have knife casualties, we have gun casualties.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:24 AM

Where’s the post I put up asking the question about why ye didn’t report on the 180 illegal immigrants and asylum seekers and counting, that were caught driving taxis in Ireland among them Isis supporters and s3x offenders. Ye seem to be borrowing you heads in the sand. At the last count it was nearly 300 thumbs up in an hour. Yer not in touch with the real world I’m afraid.

Mute Uncle Montys oaf
    Favourite Uncle Montys oaf
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:52 PM

Same road where yer man was shot few weeks back.

Mute Kenneth O Brien
    Favourite Kenneth O Brien
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:56 PM

@Uncle Montys oaf: ye just about 500 yards up it and same last name but not related to each other

Mute Jack lynch
    Favourite Jack lynch
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:13 PM

@Kenneth O Brien: do you know who the victim is?

Mute Kenneth O Brien
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:30 PM

@Jack lynch: ye

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:03 PM

@Kenneth O Brien: not the say name

Mute Boeing Lover
    Favourite Boeing Lover
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:04 PM

@Boeing Lover: same*

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:50 PM

Jeez our city has gone to the dogs!! Every day there are stories of drug seizures…which is good and worse…shootings!! Revolving door judicial system does not help our Gardai trying to get the s%$m off our streets.

Mute Kenneth O Brien
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:35 PM

There dead outside a shop

Mute Aideen Pollard
    Favourite Aideen Pollard
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:55 PM

@Kenneth O Brien: no they’re not. Critical in hospital at the moment

Mute TheTrustedChalice
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:00 PM

@Aideen Pollard: DEAD

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:40 PM

@Kenneth O Brien: wrong

Mute Aideen Pollard
    Favourite Aideen Pollard
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:08 PM

@TheTrustedChalice: nope, just on 9pm news, critical but stable

Mute Rory Mahon
    Favourite Rory Mahon
    Mar 6th 2019, 11:16 PM

I’m sure he was a pillar of society

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:52 AM

@Rory Mahon: Absolutely. On his way home from “work”

Mute Jason Genovani
    Favourite Jason Genovani
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:35 PM

Can we just throw Dublin away? It’s really doing a number on our murder rate.

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:03 AM

@Jason Genovani: Yep. Has become an Embarrassing wee spot, alright.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:45 AM

@Margate: yes so embarrassing. My god.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:22 PM

Loads of cops at the border Brit watching

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Mar 6th 2019, 7:57 PM

@John Hartigan: Where would we be without Brexit. Ask FG.

Mute Donald Piccione
    Favourite Donald Piccione
    Mar 6th 2019, 6:23 PM

Passing by, on the scene, there is a van stopped and it seems they shot on the glass of the door. The road is still closed

Mute Carnac
    Favourite Carnac
    Mar 6th 2019, 10:33 PM

Need stricter gun laws… Oh I forget, we have the strictest gun laws already.

Mute Hundredth Idiot
    Favourite Hundredth Idiot
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:49 PM

Point of order: Mulhuddart is north Dublin.

Mute kokonutter
    Favourite kokonutter
    Mar 6th 2019, 8:54 PM

@Hundredth Idiot: point of order: Mulhuddart is West Dublin.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:01 PM

@kokonutter: Hahaha. Yep west.

Mute TheTrustedChalice
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:14 PM

@Hundredth Idiot: east Ireland

Mute DeeM
    Favourite DeeM
    Mar 6th 2019, 10:26 PM

@Hundredth Idiot: No it’s not…it’s West Dublin. I live in North Dublin…no such problems here…..I wish!!!

Mute artur filip
    Favourite artur filip
    Mar 6th 2019, 5:37 PM

Posted from??

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Mar 6th 2019, 9:24 PM

Just say no

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:28 AM

Plus all the reply’s were erased to from other people.

Mute Marty
    Favourite Marty
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:35 PM

The new chief Wiggum is doing some job!
    Slowly starting to get outta hand let’s be honest here as bad as Limerick was this is on a new level.