You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Donald Trump speaks during a campaign event on Saturday. AP Photo/Evan Vucci

He's nearly there: Trump to be named Republican presidential nominee as party convention kicks off

The convention will get underway today in Cleveland, Ohio.

THE REPUBLICAN CONVENTION kicks off today with a one-two punch of law-and-order tough-talk, and Donald Trump’s wife playing character witness as the bombastic mogul seeks to lock up his presidential nomination.

Melania Trump, a Slovenian-born former model, will headline the opening night of the 2016 convention in Cleveland, Ohio, which takes place against a backdrop of fear over racial violence and unrest abroad.

The convention will go on for four days, with a host of speakers from UFC president Dana White to Trump himself.

Trump will speak on Thursday, when he is expected to be officially nominated as the party’s candidate.

A spate of race-tinged shootings – including the killing of three police officers in Louisiana yesterday – has put the country on edge.

Terror attacks overseas, most recently in Nice, and an attempted coup in Turkey, have only stoked a sense of global unrest.

President Barack Obama has urged Americans to temper their words and show stronger common resolve, but Trump is instead highlighting divisions.

“We are TRYING to fight ISIS, and now our own people are killing our police,” Trump tweeted shortly after the Baton Rogue shooting, referring to the Islamic State group.

“Our country is divided and out of control. The world is watching.”

Trump has portrayed himself as a sheriff who can fix things.

He believes that the presumptive Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton should be jailed for using a private email server to handle sensitive government documents, something the FBI said was careless but not a criminal.

Later today, Trump will also call on retired Lieutenant General Michael Flynn and tough-talking Senator Joni Ernst as convention speakers to back up his point.

Internal affairs

Of more immediate concern for Trump however is a split among Republicans.

The reality TV star’s unorthodox style and hard-right message have left the party more divided than it has been in a generation.

Melania Trump, along with the candidate’s son and daughters, will all be rolled out at the convention in an attempt to humanise The Donald.

Melania will give the key speech this evening, in keeping with the tradition that the spouse of the nominee speaks on the opening night.

Time 100 Gala - New York Republican presidential candidate, Donald Trump, left, and his wife Melania Trump. Photo by Evan Agostini / Invision/AP Photo by Evan Agostini / Invision/AP / Invision/AP

Polls show that Trump struggles badly with moderate voters, and his campaign will want to project a more positive image to the general electorate.

Trump’s choice of Indiana governor Mike Pence as his vice-presidential running mate could help shore up his position among conservatives, although the real estate billionaire seemed tepid about his decision.

In a remarkable first joint appearance on Saturday, Trump eventually got around to talking about Pence and explained why he was picked, in less than enthusiastic terms.

One of the reasons is party unity, so many people have said, ‘party unity.’ Because I’m an outsider.

Trump campaign chair Paul Manafort insisted that there was unity. “This is a Trump convention. The party is united,” he said.

It’s a few people who are holding up and they don’t reflect anything other than their personal opinion.

Inside the halls it remains to be seen if the “Never Trump” camp will make themselves heard.

Outside, however, law enforcement is bracing for a wave of protests.

GOP 2016 Cleveland Demonstrators partake in the Shut Down Trump & the RNC protest yesterday in Cleveland. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Roads in the Ohio city are lined with concrete barriers and helicopters buzz overhead.

Cleveland, a Midwestern city of nearly 400,000, has taken out $50 million in protest insurance.

Ohio’s open-carry law, which allows people with proper permits to carry a loaded weapon on the streets, is adding to fears of violence.

“We have policies in place for mass arrests through our prosecutor’s office, our clerk’s office and our court system,” Cleveland police chief Calvin Williams told reporters.

- © AFP, 2016 With Cormac Fitzgerald

Read: “My partner in this campaign” – Trump introduces Mike Pence as his running mate

Read: ‘Open carry’ gun law brings heightened tensions ahead of Republican Convention

View 37 comments
37 Comments
    Mute Liam Clyne
    Favourite Liam Clyne
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:32 PM

One of the greatest heads of state ..
    You served your country well
    RIP Queen Elizabeth

Mute Fi Wyse
    Favourite Fi Wyse
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:20 PM

@Míchael Búrké: Probably more than you will ever achieve in your lifetime. And mine.

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:21 PM

@Míchael Búrké: take a hike please

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:23 PM

@Fi Wyse: Not an actual answer to the question there.

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:41 PM

@François Pignon: a relatively endearing monarch, stayed away from controversy. Could she have acted more during the troubles as head of the army, probably not. A ceremonial position, but her death does feel to represent a change in time. Like today’s culture, the next monarchs will be social media kings and queens.

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:53 PM

@Lad: kept her son andy out of harms way. Great mother.

Mute wormtubes
    Favourite wormtubes
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:55 PM

@Míchael Búrké: held down the same job for 70 years..

Mute ForrestG45
    Favourite ForrestG45
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:59 PM

@François Pignon: your avatar suits you well, a sad little clown

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:01 PM

@Míchael Búrké: Not much. Got born to a particular set of parents at a particular time in a total genetic lottery.

Other than that, bugger all really but for some reason, people here will still make out that she was some kind of amazing person…

Mute François Pignon
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:07 PM

@ForrestG45:

Mute Scott Coulter
    Favourite Scott Coulter
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:49 PM

@Fi Wyse: brilliant

Mute Rotts
    Favourite Rotts
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:02 PM

@Liam Clyne:Good riddance

Mute Wiill S Rimer
    Favourite Wiill S Rimer
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:09 PM

@François Pignon: You don’t need to write period after the period.

Mute François Pignon
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:18 PM

@Wiill S Rimer: used it for impact, “poetic licence” its called

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:52 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Weren’t we all born to a particular set of parents in some sort of a genetic lottery? She took her role seriously and never deviated in her long life. If the British people want to have a royal family and pay for their upkeep, that is a matter for the British people. A bit like us having a kind of monarch up in The Park. You’re entitled to assess her worth as you see fit, as am I. But without going too far down that particular road, all I would say at this point in time is that I am deeply saddened by her passing.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:01 PM

@Pat Kelly: Indeed we were, so if that is being held out as her greatest achievement, she is no different, better or worse than the rest of us.

I’m not deeply saddened by her passing as I never knew her or any of her friends or family and she had no impact on my life. I wish her no ill for the same reasons and I’m sure she was a perfectly fine person to those who knew her.

I do wonder though, about commenters here who, despite the above, gush platitudes about her strength, achievements, etc etc when, as discussed, there were none other than that which befalls us all.

It smacks of insincerity to me.

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:07 PM

@Rotts: take a hike you very small peson..

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:26 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Lee, I’m not sure who held out the circumstances of her birth as her greatest platitude. Certainly not me. But you knew her, just as I did, by virtue of her public persona. And in the same way that we knew John Lennon, Sam Beckett, Sean Connery and, well, the list goes on. If you are not moved by the passing of a significant person because you didn’t know that person personally, or any of her family or friends, then that is a matter for you entirely. I, personally, am deeply saddened by her passing.

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:46 PM

@Liam Clyne: did a lot of favors to mankind by decreasing the size of her bloody empire

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:53 PM

@wormtubes: should have held her sons down

Mute Pat Farrelly
    Favourite Pat Farrelly
    Sep 9th 2022, 4:51 AM

@Lad: She did not have a ceremonial position as you claim. She and she alone appointed people to the unelected House of Lords, the majority of British Parliament, amongst her many other political powers. Unelected and unaccountable, an inconvenient fact for you, which amongst many of her medieval privileges enabled her to write a cheque for £12,000,000 of British taxpayers money for Randy Andy (to donate to someone he claims he never met) safe in the knowledge that she could never be voted out of office and knowing that she would never have to account for it or explain her actions to anyone, least of all the taxpayers who funded her and her extended family.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Sep 9th 2022, 7:33 AM

@Pat Kelly: John Lennon – left us some of the greatest songs in history which continue to give joy long after his passing.

Samuel Beckett – did the same in a literary context.

Sean Connery – not in the same league but a talented actor nonetheless who entertained millions.

The Queen…. Nope…. Hmmm….

That’s my point.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Sep 11th 2022, 3:36 AM

@Lee King Buckett: No, that wasn’t your point, which was that her death didn’t sadden you because you didn’t know her or any of her family or friends. Yet you attribute worth to other people mentioned even though you didn’t know them personally either. It’s different stokes for different folks, Lee, and you can do better than that.

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:37 PM

I didn’t actually think i would fell anything when the queen passed but im actually sad i don’t think we will ever see anyone of her strength again its really is the end of a generation…RIP

Mute Rory Jennequin
    Favourite Rory Jennequin
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:26 PM

@Dave Omihuly: You must have lived a very sheltered life if you can think of nobody of her strength. Read some history and you may be shocked and to think we will never see again is very shortsighted.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:04 PM

@Dave Omihuly: What strength exactly? Have you any actual examples of said ‘strength’??

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute The Divils Avocado
    Favourite The Divils Avocado
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:23 PM

@Rory Jennequin: Name one, in living memory.

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:15 PM

@Rory Jennequin: well ya see rory im just an ordinary Irish man with normal respect when someone dies.as for history unlike you i actually put on a uniform of the Irish state and served it for 33 years to be part of history instead of reading about on the sideline like yourself…and safe to say at my age i will probably not see someone of her strength again to serve as head of state for 70 years….but you have a lovely evening on the cheep seats of sideline history

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:19 PM

@Rory Jennequin: as a point of history tho i was serving my country over seas in 1992 when you started school in blancherdstown …as i said be part of history not just reading about it in your lab in Pfizer

Mute Kevin Farrell
    Favourite Kevin Farrell
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:22 PM

@The Divils Avocado: Nelson Mandela

Mute Big bad bull
    Favourite Big bad bull
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:24 PM

@Dave Omihuly: good man.. well said, majority of these keyboard warriors are sitting at home all day in their pyjama’s, Googling, I honestly get a good laugh out of them, easily risen and would swallow a roll of bull wire!!

Mute The Divils Avocado
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:52 PM

@Kevin Farrell: Fine! Name two..

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:54 PM

@Big bad bull: totally agree with you…. telephone tough guys …in thir paw patrol pjs and and their frozen duvet cover… playing with his Nintendo

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:10 PM

@Rory Jennequin: presumably you have little to do in your life but begrudge, begrudge, etc.

Mute Craig Thompson
    Favourite Craig Thompson
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:50 PM

@Dave Omihuly: Just because you done a few peace keeping missions and played cowboys & Indians for 33 years in random fields around Ireland doesn’t make you some sort of war hero who can speak down to others like you are Rambo! LoL!! Your part of no history, I’ve never heard you. The Queen had ZERO strength as she was wined and dined and pampered all her life!

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:59 PM

@The Divils Avocado: John Paul 2nd

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:02 PM

@Dave Omihuly: ever hear of Dalai Lama or is he beyond your intellect ?

Mute Craig Thompson
    Favourite Craig Thompson
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:40 PM

@Craig Thompson: 0⁰⁰pp⁹

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 9th 2022, 10:18 AM

@Craig Thompson: don’t ever speak ill of john Rambo he was accused in the wrong and they drew first blood ….now back in your box gimp and we will take you out when we need a laugh

Mute Craig Thompson
    Favourite Craig Thompson
    Sep 9th 2022, 10:57 AM

@Dave Omihuly: Is that the best you can come back with? LOL! I clearly hit a nerve. Maybe you should have joined a real army like the Americans where they actually fight in real wars. Or you could have joined your beloved late Queen’s British army. Instead you joined a glamorized version of the FCA!

Mute Jack Crummey
    Favourite Jack Crummey

RIP

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:21 PM

Möge sie in Frieden ruhen

Mute easilyfrustrateddad
    Favourite easilyfrustrateddad
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:23 PM

@Jack Crummey: The Journal’s RIP brigade out in full force tonight…. Thoughts and prayers and doffing their caps like good little subjects… The french had the right idea.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:16 PM

@easilyfrustrateddad: when your time comes I hope someone will at least think rip

Mute easilyfrustrateddad
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:25 PM

@John Smith: I suspect they will be saying “who???? Nope sorry don’t know they guy?, just leave him in the bin”

Mute Jack Crummey
    Favourite Jack Crummey
    Sep 9th 2022, 1:44 PM

@easilyfrustrateddad: aw, you felt the need to write that.. good little “rebel” you are

Mute easilyfrustrateddad
    Sep 9th 2022, 6:27 PM

@Jack Crummey: ah! don’t be so grumpy crummy Crummey!!! see what I did there with your name? Let us not forget what we did to her utterly incompetent deviant cousin also… terrible stuff really.. jolly rotten…

Mute Patrick McConville
    Favourite Patrick McConville
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:47 PM

She didn’t ask for the job. She did the job. She did it better than anyone ever could and most importantly she keot her dignity and grace while everyone else lost theirs, through it all. For 75 years. I’m not a fan of the monarchy but a huge fan of the Queen. She deserves her rest. Rest In Peace sweet lady.

Mute Eoghan Augusta
    Favourite Eoghan Augusta
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:04 PM

@Patrick McConville: she could have abdicated but chose to do it..not a hero for that or being the head of the British armed forces.

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:25 PM

@Eoghan Augusta: take a hike a d by the way she was never head of the forces..the PM is

Mute The Divils Avocado
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:25 PM

@Andrew Barber: is commander in chief not the head? Because she was in fact the commander in chief.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:32 PM

@Andrew Barber: Think you would want to check your facts.

Mute Claire King
    Favourite Claire King
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:36 PM

This is very sad! God rest her soul. She did very well as a monarch. I will always remember when she wore shamrock embroidered white dress when she visited Ireland.

Mute Seán Ó Maoláin
    Favourite Seán Ó Maoláin
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:13 PM

@Claire King: she did do a great job protecting her sex offender son didn’t she

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:16 PM

@Seán Ó Maoláin: There’s always one, cop on.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Jack Crummey
    Favourite Jack Crummey

@Seán Ó Maoláin: didn’t she/the royal family distance themselves from Andrew?

Mute Greedylocks
    Favourite Greedylocks
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:18 PM

@Claire King: she awarded medals to the British military present on blo ody sundy, what a gal true humanitarian.

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:22 PM

@Sean Walsh: take a hike please

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber

@Greedylocks: you also can take a hike

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh

@Seán Ó Maoláin: what precisely did she do to protect him?

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford

@Seán Ó Maoláin: He did nothing illegal. Immoral maybe, but “sex offender”? No.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:38 PM

@Greedylocks: And the IRA blew up her cousin Louis Mountbatten, a 15 year old deckhand and his teenage grandson, so are we quits ?

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:49 PM

@Sean Walsh: the IRA are a terrorist organization and don’t represent the people of Ireland.

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:28 PM

@Seán Ó Maoláin: As any mother would do.

Mute Robert Cullen
    Favourite Robert Cullen
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:56 PM

@Andrew Barber: why don’t you both take a hike together?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:48 PM

@Seán Ó Maoláin: innocent until proven guilty?

Mute Daire Hanrahan
    Favourite Daire Hanrahan
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:55 PM

@O Swetenham: so are the British army why were they in Ireland, there probably would be no IRA if the Brits kept their greedy paws off our country, like the shite they cause in every country they tried or did colonise

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:35 PM

@Daire Hanrahan: my point was that the British Army were representatives of their state. The IRA were not.

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:05 PM

@Claire King: I really hope the shamrock makes a full recovery

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:06 PM

@Sean Walsh: cop on or condom on

Mute Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Favourite Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:33 PM

May she rest in peace

Mute Susan Carolan
    Favourite Susan Carolan
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:39 PM

May The Queen rest in peace. She was a very dedicated, steady head of state, an example to anyone who takes on a position of influence and rule in a country or government. Seemed to be a bit of a character too. Sad news but a great age to see.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:43 PM

What ever your thoughts about the monarchy she was an incredible lady. I can’t imagine the pressure to take on that role at her young age and do such a good job. Rest In Peace Lilibeth

Mute Tom Mc Bride
    Favourite Tom Mc Bride
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:28 PM

@Jen Gordon: Her name was Elizabeth, not what an American wannabe/didntwannabe called her child

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Sep 11th 2022, 9:53 PM

@Tom Mc Bride: that was her pet name as a child

Mute Conor Phillips
    Favourite Conor Phillips

RIP

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:35 PM

RIP. The media coverage over the next few days will be unbearable.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@O Swetenham: Like winning the world cup. It will never be over.

Mute Mustafa Leek
    Favourite Mustafa Leek
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:49 PM

@O Swetenham: Switch off the tv then

Mute Patrick McConville
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:51 PM

@O Swetenham: Your comment is already unbearable and it only took you seconds. Well done you.

Mute O Swetenham
    Favourite O Swetenham
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:52 PM

@Mustafa Leek: don’t watch tv. All news sites will be consumed with this at the expense of other more important news.

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh

@lelookcoco: stay classy……….

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber

@lelookcoco: take a hike, you are and never were funny

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:17 PM

@O Swetenham: disengage…

Mute Julie
    Favourite Julie

What an amazing lady she was, a true stalwart, I don’t doubt for one minute that her life was an easy one, I genuinely feel quite sad reading this news, RIP

Mute G man
    Favourite G man
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:06 PM

@Julie: she hardly lived a difficult life ffs

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:29 PM

@G man: A much harder life than any of us. She had no freedom. She was the face of the UK.

Mute Sue
    Favourite Sue

Rest in peace Ma’am

Mute Mairead Conroy
    Favourite Mairead Conroy
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:33 PM

Ah bless her rip

Mute HarveyLemonade
    Favourite HarveyLemonade
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:08 PM

The world will see the Irish response to this as their closest neighbour. This should underscore our responsibility to be sympathetic and respectful for their loss and not let the history between us rear its head at this time.

RIP Queen Elizabeth II

Mute Tommy Cahill
    Favourite Tommy Cahill
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:48 PM

@HarveyLemonade: well said. Thank you

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:23 PM

@HarveyLemonade: this is our golden opportunity to let the world know what the British really are remember Thatcher

Mute Dave Omihuly
    Favourite Dave Omihuly
    Sep 9th 2022, 10:28 AM

@Tony Doyle: how do you fit so much bitterness instead you for such a small Man..if you call child line they might be able to put you in contact with someone that can help you..if not i here the wax museum are looking for a hobbit lookalike

Mute Anthony Hilton
    Favourite Anthony Hilton

Rip lady

Mute Carrie Poettcker
    Favourite Carrie Poettcker

She was a graceful, gracious woman. RIP.

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:41 PM

RIP. You’ve certainly earned your rest.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:34 PM

RIP – Hope to see Ireland honour her memory and join the commonwealth now. It is for the best

Mute John Long
    Favourite John Long

@Sam Murray: get a grip!

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin

@Sam Murray: calm down there now!

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy

@Sam Murray: says who

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy

@Sam Murray: troll

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes

@Sam Murray: Join the Commonwealth – put the crack pipe down

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Sam Murray: Why spoil a non-political moment with tripe

Mute Sumsoar Khan
    Favourite Sumsoar Khan

@Sam Murray: I sincerely hope you’re taking the p1ss

Mute Tom Mc Bride
    Favourite Tom Mc Bride

@Sam Murray: Whist!!!!

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:46 PM

@Sam Murray: yea and than we ask for Andrew to be king.

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:54 PM

@Sam Murray: Herself & her family line never showed us (or any of the Commonwealth nations) any when they murdered & pillaged every country they took over!

Mute Pete Gilmartin
    Favourite Pete Gilmartin

@Sam Murray: Good on Sam, I’m sure people could use a laugh right now.

Mute Míchael Búrké
    Favourite Míchael Búrké

@Sam Murray: King of trolls

Mute Ciaran O Moore
    Favourite Ciaran O Moore
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:20 PM

@Sam Murray: Sam please keep taking the pills.

Mute Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearóid MacEachaidh
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:24 PM

@Sam Murray: trolls gonna troll

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber

@Sam Murray: agree

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy

@Sam Murray: Gas man sam, you have em all up in arms now. Many will be unable to sleep tonight due to such incendiary comment. Lol!

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber

@Alison Maguire: what a load of boll..ks

Mute Conor O'Brien
    Favourite Conor O'Brien
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:38 PM

@Sam Murray: Careful Now

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:26 PM

@Sam Murray: all for paying respects and all but joining the commonwealth?? NEVER.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:26 PM

@Charles McCarthy: haha thank you thank you, all in a days work

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:27 PM

@Alison Maguire: they all seemed to get on brilliantly at the Commonwealth games in August…was such a shame we had no part

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore

A truly great lady despite numerous family setbacks R.i.P

Mute Aidy McBride
    Favourite Aidy McBride

RIP

Mute Patrick McConville
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:48 PM

She didn’t ask for the job. She did the job. She did it better than anyone ever could and most importantly she kept her dignity and grace while everyone else lost theirs, through it all. For 75 years. I’m not a fan of the monarchy but a huge fan of the Queen. She deserves her rest. Rest In Peace sweet lady.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry

Like her or hate her she was a strong woman given a tough role in life at the age of 21 and she never faltered. RIP Lillibeth.

Mute Gary Mullen
    Favourite Gary Mullen
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:35 PM

@Margaret Mcgarry: 21? She became queen at 25 !

Mute Damian Anslik
    Favourite Damian Anslik
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:42 PM

RIP. End of an era.

Mute An t-Iascaire Gaelach
    Favourite An t-Iascaire Gaelach
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:40 PM

Táim chroí bhríste anseo, na deoraí ag rith síos mo aghaidh, ni’ fhéidir liom fanacht san saol seo gan an bhean seo, mo mháistir, is muid do sclábhaí go deo, bhí tusa is’ do chlann chomh maith dúinn, go háirithe san Gorta mór, beidh na mílte Éireannaigh a dhéanamh hari-kari anocht. Nílim a magadh….

Mute Nicola M
    Favourite Nicola M

@An t-Iascaire Gaelach: I’m sensing sarcasm!

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry

@An t-Iascaire Gaelach: whatever

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Nicola M: I’m sensing nothing, I don’t speak Klingon.

Mute Thommo's Nose
    Favourite Thommo's Nose
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:00 PM

@lelookcoco: it’s the mother tongue of this country. If you don’t understand it, then it is you.

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:21 PM

@lelookcoco: I take it your not Irish not knowing the language

Mute Thommo's Nose
    Favourite Thommo's Nose
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:47 PM

@Ron: doesn’t mean he isn’t Irish, he’s just being ignorant.

Mute Fintan O'Halloran
    Favourite Fintan O'Halloran

RIP Elizabeth. As monarchs go we are unlikely to see the likes of you again. I extend my prayers to you and to your family

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe

Great to see such respectful comments here and rightly so. Sad news. RIP.

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:50 PM

The lady had been a quiet and pleasant backdrop throughout all of my life. Kind blessings being sent her way. Thank you Madame for the, mostly, nice times. Richard

Mute Elvis
    Favourite Elvis

Very sad, She was a lovely lady…..

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:42 PM

The biggest piece of news of my lifetime, a momentous day in history. RIP

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Liam: You must not lead a very fulfilled life. A notable occasion I accept but queens come and go.

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:56 PM

@lelookcoco: have you been alive for another British queen? :)

Mute Jen Mc
    Favourite Jen Mc

@Liam: happy 1st birthday!

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:34 PM

@Jen Mc: Happy hitting puberty! Maturity will come soon my friend

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco

@Alison Maguire: Open your vision a little wider Alison. Many other countries have queens. QE II just one of many.

Mute Jim Deck
    Favourite Jim Deck
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:46 PM

Ar dheis Dé ar a h-anam dilis

Mute Aonghus O Flaherty
    Favourite Aonghus O Flaherty
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:39 PM

Rip

Mute Allora
    Favourite Allora

RIP

Mute Sean Treacy
    Favourite Sean Treacy
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:03 PM

I feel sorry for her that her last official duty had to be endorsing LizTruss to Downing St

Mute Jen Mc
    Favourite Jen Mc

@Sean Treacy: that’s what I’m thinking, she saw that and just gave up by the looks of it.

Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht

RIP

Mute Jacob
    Favourite Jacob

RIP

Mute Thomas McMillan
    Favourite Thomas McMillan

RIP

Mute Irish••Nicki_m_
    Favourite Irish••Nicki_m_

So sad RIP

Mute mayo chicken
    Favourite mayo chicken
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:48 PM

End of an era. RIP.

Mute Damian Anslik
    Favourite Damian Anslik
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:44 PM

RIP The end of an era

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:34 PM

@Damian Anslik: thank God Look what she left the Brit’s with multiple pedophiles

Mute Pat O'Leary
    Favourite Pat O'Leary
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:56 PM

What a survivor she was. Rest in peace.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:30 PM

I can’t say I’m a fan of the monarchy but she was some woman for one woman!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan

RIP

Mute Kate Reddin
    Favourite Kate Reddin
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:45 PM

RIP

Mute Aoife Leighton
    Favourite Aoife Leighton

God rest her soul

Mute David Corcoran
    Favourite David Corcoran

May she rest in eternal.peace

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:55 PM

What a wonderful lady. RIP

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:55 PM

Lucky break for Truss, this will keep everyone from focusing on the difficult issues.

Mute Steph Mcdonnell
    Favourite Steph Mcdonnell

Rip Queen Elizabeth.

Mute Michael Bardon
    Favourite Michael Bardon

The Smiths will be No 1 next week.

Mute Caroline Moran
    Favourite Caroline Moran
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:28 PM

The end of an era in the UK, Queen Elizabeth, a queen for more than 50 years.She’s irreplaceable, she had a great work ethic and worked all her life.

Mute Robbie Doyle
    Favourite Robbie Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:21 PM

@Caroline Moran: she has already been replaced

Mute Wiill S Rimer
    Favourite Wiill S Rimer
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:13 PM

@Caroline Moran: more than 70 even.

Mute A$AP Ragnick
    Favourite A$AP Ragnick

RIP.

Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:56 PM

“A huge shock to the nation and the world”?!
    A 96 year old woman dying is hardly a shock!!

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden

RIP.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Favourite Sebastian Manka
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:17 PM

RIP. Her death may be marking the end of the United Kingdom as we’ve known it. Scotland is likely to go their own way, followed by Northern Ireland.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill

@Sebastian Manka: Northern Ireland to go it’s own way?

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:27 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: yes, away from UK, just a matter of time and demographics.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:19 PM

@Sebastian Manka: An independent N. I. would be interesting.

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:36 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: Wouldn’t cope financially on its own, I’m afraid.

Mute Wiill S Rimer
    Favourite Wiill S Rimer
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:15 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: independent NI sponsored by the World Bank.

Mute Nollaig Kelly
    Favourite Nollaig Kelly
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:09 PM

The queen is dead?
    Just checked

Elton John is fine

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott

Must be from meeting Liz Truss

Mute Adrian Gannon
    Favourite Adrian Gannon
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:37 PM

@Martin Sinnott: can’t bode well for Truss! Her first official duty ends in the passing of the Queen!

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:43 PM

Apperently she was improving until she got the gas bill this morning.

Mute Pete O'Reilly
    Favourite Pete O'Reilly

That’s sad. RIP

Mute Noel Linnane
    Favourite Noel Linnane
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:48 PM

May she rest in peace

Mute The Mrs O’B
    Favourite The Mrs O’B
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:01 PM

Will be interesting to see what lengths Markle will go to in order to make this about her

Mute Rmaybe
    Favourite Rmaybe

@The Mrs O’B: will be interesting to see how many use it as a reason to critize and get a dig in at MM for attending a funeral. People are obsessed with her.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:37 PM

@Rmaybe: Well Martin would go to the opening of a brown envelope.

Mute Scott Coulter
    Favourite Scott Coulter
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:52 PM

Can the journal please impose a ban on any person who is disrespectful to HRH. As it comes from pure hatred.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr

@Scott Coulter: people bear grudges and have long memories. It’s what the monarchy stands for that’s the problem, not the lady herself

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr

@Scott Coulter: and who is HRH

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:24 PM

@Scott Coulter: what does HRH stand for?

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:20 PM

@Ron: his or her royal highness so Charlie is king, camilla is queen Consort so which one are you referring to. Queen was her majesty

Mute colm buckley
    Favourite colm buckley

RIP

Mute Alan McDonagh
    Favourite Alan McDonagh
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:31 PM

The Queen is Dead
    One of the best albums of all time
    Johnny Marr and Morrissey
    The best of the best

Mute Gerry Ross
    Favourite Gerry Ross
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:02 PM

Yippee! The comments are open!

Mute Rob Duggan
    Favourite Rob Duggan
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:09 PM

Condolences to the British people who have borne so much loss.

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:51 PM

RIP Lizzy, it’s a shame you didn’t live to see the collapse of “Great Britain”, but, hey ho! You can’t have everything!

Mute Stanley Darsh
    Favourite Stanley Darsh
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:05 PM

We should have a national day of mourning.

Mute Matthew Delaney
    Favourite Matthew Delaney
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:09 PM

@Stanley Darsh: I presume that’s sarcasm

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett

Prince William for king. What’s needed is someone young.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:19 PM

@Dave Barrett: bout 15 years to go.

Mute Tacita O'Copa
    Favourite Tacita O'Copa

My memory is gone to hell.

I can’t remember where I was when the Queen died this afternoon.

Mute mark o donovan
    Favourite mark o donovan
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:46 PM

Why is the irish flag at half mast?

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:58 PM

@mark o donovan: Courtesy to a European country whose Head of State has died.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:24 PM

@mark o donovan: perhaps because the Queen, our nearest neighbour, has died?

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:13 PM

Random 96 yo dies, hardly a tragedy. The power of the cult is being displayed here. I hope enough of us make it through this BS.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:42 PM

@A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy: But she wasn’t just a random 96 yo.

Mute Koukliahills
    Favourite Koukliahills
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:52 PM

@A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy: random person makes useless statement about a Lady that died. Show some respect manchild

Mute Appaddy
    Favourite Appaddy
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:31 PM

May she rest in peace

Mute ChadChaderson
    Favourite ChadChaderson
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:04 PM

One last kick in the teeth, all sport cancelled this weekend. Cheers.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:17 PM

@ChadChaderson: Let’s hope people would be a bit more sympathetic if you suffered a bereavement.

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype AKA PRGuy
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:22 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: I don’t expect the world to stop when someone in my family dies. It is North Korean level forced mourning.

Mute Rotts
    Favourite Rotts

Good riddance

Mute Gerry Gleeson
    Favourite Gerry Gleeson
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:17 PM

@Rotts: can’t believe people have forgotten what her country has done to ours in the name of loyalty to the crown.

Mute Robert Cullen
    Favourite Robert Cullen

At least she got to visit the Guinness hop store

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:18 PM

Worth keeping Liz Truss at arms length for now.

Mute Frank Naughton
    Favourite Frank Naughton
    Sep 8th 2022, 6:53 PM

JFK assassination, 9/11, and now this. RIP Queen Elizabeth.

Mute Tacita O'Copa
    Favourite Tacita O'Copa
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:31 PM

@Frank Naughton: The first moon landing was a much more significant development in the history of the human race than all of them.

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Sep 8th 2022, 7:10 PM

Is it serious?

Mute Derek Corcoran
    Favourite Derek Corcoran
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:07 PM

Good hopefully this will be the death rattle of the royals and don’t @ me ya shower of soup takers

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:42 PM

@Derek Corcoran: Why does the Head of State of another country bother you so much?

Mute Andrew Barber
    Favourite Andrew Barber
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:15 PM

@Derek Corcoran: and unless you are British, what it is to do with you?

Mute Rotts
    Favourite Rotts
    Sep 9th 2022, 9:11 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: History you should try read up on it sometime

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:48 PM

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a hanam dilís.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:37 PM

Good Luck and Long Life to King Charles III.

Mute Rotts
    Favourite Rotts
    Sep 9th 2022, 9:13 AM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: Lizzie in a box in a box Lizzie in a box nahhhhhh Lizzie in a box

Mute marian
    Favourite marian
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:39 PM

Who?

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Sep 8th 2022, 8:31 PM

I’m sorry she’s dead. I am. But now UK have a spoiled man-child and his loose moralled woman at the helm.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:01 PM

@Anna Carr: Loose morals? My god, what century are you living in?

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:22 PM

@Darren: lol. Sorry but I always blamed those 2 for Diana’s death and it was the only way I could phrase it without it being disallowed. Haha, it does sound pretty Dickensian lol

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Sep 11th 2022, 10:01 PM

@Anna Carr: Diana got in a car with a drunk driver and wasnt wearing a seat belt. Thats how she died. Camilla and Charles were in love before he even met Diana, if anything, it was Diana who got in the way. But protocol or duty or whatever made it be so that he had to marry someone young and more suitable than Camilla, even though they were virtually soul mates even then. It might be sacrilege to say this, but i never liked Diana. I always thought there was something a bit ‘off’ or odd about her. Her big, bambi eyes always flitting at the cameras. I do think she was a desperate attention seeker who was always searching for the camera pointed at her.

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:51 PM

She was a head of state, a monarch, a mother of pedophiles, and most importantly a devoted cousin to her husband

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Sep 8th 2022, 11:13 PM

RIP

Mute Ger Murray
    Favourite Ger Murray
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:45 PM

Rest in peace Queen Elizabeth,no doubt the tragic death of Lady Diana might Haunt King Charles and Camilla’s roll .The start of the end of the Royal Monarch in the UK .A leopard never changes his spots

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:32 PM

Well done Boris, last act as PM, sapping the strength your nation’s beloved monarch.

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Sep 8th 2022, 9:27 PM

Agh RIP

Mute Craig Thompson
    Favourite Craig Thompson
    Sep 8th 2022, 10:44 PM

Yebsuebeuebdieb jjik jj