You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kiyoshi Kimura, poses with a bluefin tuna at his Sushi Zanmai restaurant in Tokyo earlier today. Eugene Hoshiko/PA

A businessman in Japan has paid over €600,000 for a single fish

The self-styled ‘Tuna King’ Kiyoshi Kimura admits the price was a bit expensive.

JAPAN’S SELF-STYLED Tuna King has done it again – paying more than €600,000 for a single fish.

Sushi entrepreneur Kiyoshi Kimura paid top price at the first auction of the new year at Tokyo’s Tsukiji fish market today, bagging a prized bluefin tuna for an eye-watering 74.2 million yen (€605,900).

The head of the Sushizanmai chain is now the proud – if temporary – owner of a 212-kilogramme (467-pound) fish.

At that price, a single piece of fatty tuna sushi would cost roughly €80, or 25 times the €3.20 that Kimura charges for the product at his 51 stores across Japan.

Kimura said:

I feel it was a bit expensive, but I am happy that I was able to successfully win at auction a tuna of good shape and size.

Later in the day, Kimura and his fellow sushi chefs sliced up the giant fish with special knives resembling a Japanese sword at its main restaurant near the market, as hundreds of sushi lovers waited for a taste or two.

When asked about the auction result, Kimura said:

As always, I want to buy the best one so that our customers can have it. That’s all.

He has built his successful chain into a national brand by paying big money at Tsukiji’s first auction every year – he has now won for six straight years – essentially using the event for publicity.

He paid a record €1.7 million for a bluefin – a threatened species – at the New Year auction in 2013, outbidding a rival bidder from Hong Kong.

Last year, he faced no formidable rival and paid a bargain €111,000 for a 200kg tuna.

Japan Tuna Auction Prospective buyers inspect the quality of fresh tuna before the first auction of the year at Tsukiji fish market in Tokyo today. Eugene Hoshiko / PA Eugene Hoshiko / PA / PA

Publicity

The prices may seem enormous, but Kimura makes sure to get the most out of his money.

Every year, the boisterous auction, which takes place in the small hours, makes national headlines.

Decades of overfishing have seen global tuna stocks crash, leading some Western nations to call for a ban on catching endangered Atlantic bluefin tuna.

Japan consumes a large portion of the global bluefin catch, a highly prized sushi ingredient known in Japan as “kuro maguro” (black tuna) and dubbed by sushi connoisseurs as the “black diamond” because of its scarcity.

Greenpeace Japan official Kazue Komatsubara declined to comment specifically on this year’s auction.

But, she told AFP:

A huge volume of tuna on retail display could make people forget that it’s actually an endangered species.

The 2017 auction could be the last at Tsukiji, the world’s largest fish market.

It was originally supposed to move to a new location in November, but the plan was put on hold until at least late this year, over concerns about toxic contamination at the new site.

Tokyo governor Yuriko Koike said in November that the move could even be delayed until the “spring of 2018″ depending on results of health and environmental tests.

But she also held out the possibility of scrapping the relocation altogether.

© AFP, 2016

Read: The Irish consulate in New York issued 7,205 passports last year

Read: People in the UAE will no longer be able to keep cheetahs and tigers as pets

View 52 comments
52 Comments
    Mute danny corrigan
    Favourite danny corrigan
    Jan 5th 2017, 10:58 AM

you’re codding me

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:08 AM

No plaice for that kind of joke here.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:44 AM

Ok, We’ll scale it back a bit!

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:46 AM

Yeah no sense carping on about it.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:12 PM

You guys are very punny

Mute Thommo's Big Nose
    Favourite Thommo's Big Nose
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:23 PM

Cringe fest

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:25 PM

You’d be an expert on that.

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:26 PM

I’m sure she’ll have a whale of a time

Mute Mohammed Mohammed
    Favourite Mohammed Mohammed
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:36 PM

@Shane Fleming: What is the porpoise of this article?

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:39 PM

I can get a can of tuna in Tesco for about 2 euro. I think he was screwed over!

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Jan 5th 2017, 5:11 PM

I would hake to pay that sort of money for a fish but no trout about it they’re deFINately some codders who will…

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:00 PM

I wonder how they’ll pay for the very last one..

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Jan 5th 2017, 2:11 PM

The last one could well come from Irish waters. I regularly see in my news feed Irish anglers that pride themselves on capturing one of these incredible giants of the ocean off the north west coast.

A glorification of the extinction of a wild species and the absurd value society places on the last carcasses of a creature wiped out by humans. Disgusting.

Mute Hello there friend
    Favourite Hello there friend
    Jan 5th 2017, 4:37 PM

And tasty

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Jan 5th 2017, 1:34 PM

Can’t believe he payed for a fish to the tuna €600,000!!!

Mute Michele Savage
    Favourite Michele Savage
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:40 PM

How much for a married fish?

Mute Mark in Kildare
    Favourite Mark in Kildare
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:00 AM

Fortuna?

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:00 AM

That’s a halibut price to pay for a fish

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:52 AM

You had one job…

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Jan 5th 2017, 1:57 PM

Ah come on, hell of a, halibut. Yeah its a stretch but its better than going for the usual suspects

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:12 PM

Could have bought a decent boat and fishing rod for that. Eejit.

Mute SquideyeMagpie
    Favourite SquideyeMagpie
    Jan 5th 2017, 3:12 PM

Thousands of these fish off the west coast of Ireland every year yet because Ireland has no historic bluefin tuna fishery, the EU will not allow us to catch one single fish. Meanwhile foreign boats can fish freely for them. Donegal bay is teeming with these fish every year and could be marketed as one of the best big game fisheries in the world yet our government won’t even allow BFTs to be caught and released by sport fishermen.

Mute Aiden Hynes
    Favourite Aiden Hynes
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:07 PM

Hope he had it insured..that fish looks dead to me !!

Mute Jesper
    Favourite Jesper
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:32 PM

Humans are stoopid

Mute Finbarr O Connell
    Favourite Finbarr O Connell
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:29 AM

Hope ye are all fin-ished with these fish puns.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Jan 5th 2017, 1:17 PM

It’s not stupid, it’s marketing. It says so in the article if people bothered to read it. He owns a restaurant chain and he gets the name of it in the media every year by doing this. This year it even went international.

Mute Shane Murphy
    Favourite Shane Murphy
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:06 AM

He looks like the fish

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:19 AM

He’s a cheapskate.

Jan 5th 2017, 12:02 PM

He’s an idiot who is encouraging the extinction of a species. But hey he’s got the biggest! It’s always about size!

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:18 PM

@Deborah Behan:

It is fat content my dear and not size, the quicker they catch the fish the less its adrenaline will burn off the fat as the fish will basically cook itself otherwise.

Mute Mairtin Cathbhar
    Favourite Mairtin Cathbhar
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:53 PM

Meanwhile … there are Asian families who survive on a dollar a day.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:53 PM

Self cooking fish.. Thanks interweb.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jan 5th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Michael Lynch:

” We watch as they tow the fish backward, using the harpoon shaft to slice its engorged gills. Bluefin are endothermic—capable of producing their own heat. During the stress of capture they can become so hot they literally cook themselves, a phenomenon that buyers call “burn.” This can only be avoided by raking the freshly caught fish’s gills and bleeding it out.”

http://www.vqronline.org/essay/hottest-blood

Mute Alan Conlon
    Favourite Alan Conlon
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:11 AM

somefin smells fishy here

Mute J D
    Favourite J D
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:38 AM

He’s got some Donald Trump sized hands going on right there

Mute Linda Hughes
    Favourite Linda Hughes
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:36 AM

He needs a slap of a tuna!!!!

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Jan 5th 2017, 1:01 PM

Fair play to him. You can’t bring money with you.

Mute Gareth Finnan
    Favourite Gareth Finnan
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:13 AM

Great Headline

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:41 PM

I bought a tuna sandwich once thinking it was chicken.had to spit the stuff out awful stuff altogther but whatever your into. I’m sure your man is delighted with his fish

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:59 AM

That’s a whale of a price.

Mute John Doohan
    Favourite John Doohan
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:29 PM

Im herring a lot a’trout this fish market in japan..must go next ye

Mute Justin McNamara
    Favourite Justin McNamara
    Jan 5th 2017, 2:10 PM

Any amount of them here in our waters plenty Irish boats catching them with the herring and have to dump them over cause no quota and people starving

Mute Irish
    Favourite Irish
    Jan 5th 2017, 4:38 PM

There’s actually people buying fish 3 times the cost of my mortgage. Ya gotta laugh!!!

Mute Michele Savage
    Favourite Michele Savage
    Jan 5th 2017, 12:39 PM

No-one chipped in?

Mute Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Favourite Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Jan 5th 2017, 2:00 PM

Gives me an opportunity to use my favourite saying “A fool and their money are soon parted”.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Jan 5th 2017, 6:49 PM

Full of Chinese mercury…

Mute gavin mc cormack
    Favourite gavin mc cormack
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:57 PM

A bunch of Cheap scales

Mute gavin mc cormack
    Favourite gavin mc cormack
    Jan 5th 2017, 11:54 PM

A bunch of Cheap scales yous are

Mute Marie Gunbay
    Favourite Marie Gunbay
    Jan 5th 2017, 2:06 PM

Sounds like a “fishy story” to me

Mute Michael Kelly
    Favourite Michael Kelly
    Jan 5th 2017, 1:13 PM

I’d wanna be well cooked, or you’de be left tuna….

Mute Marcus Bale
    Favourite Marcus Bale
    Jan 5th 2017, 4:04 PM

Somefin dodgy about that

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Jan 5th 2017, 3:17 PM

Strange nation