You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

FF's Micheál Martin is the only leader of the four main political parties to appear in tomorrow's debate. Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

TV3 confirms line-up for Vincent Browne's referendum debate

The first live televised debate of the Fiscal Compact campaign will see two leading politicians from each of the Yes and No camps.

TV3 HAS CONFIRMED the line-up for its live televised debate on the Fiscal Compact tomorrow night, the first of the referendum campaign.

The debate, hosted by Vincent Browne, will only feature one party leader – Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin – with the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams all declining to participate.

The hour-long debate, airing tomorrow night at 9pm, will see Martin argue for a Yes vote alongside Fine Gael’s director of elections for the campaign, agriculture minister Simon Coveney.

Arguing the case against ratification of the treaty will be Sinn Féin deputy president Mary Lou McDonald and the Socialist Party’s Joe Higgins.

TV3′s Director of News, Andrew Hanlon, confirmed that the leaders of Fine Gael, Labour and Sinn Féin had all declined to participate in the debate for various reasons.

“We are happy to host the first national television debate on this highly important and divisive issue which we hope will help our viewers make an informed decision on May 31st,” he said.

The debate will be followed at 11pm by the usual edition of Tonight with Vincent Browne, offering analysis and discussion of the debate.

It is understood that Gerry Adams had declined to participate in the debate because of allegations made against him on a previous TV3 programme, which the Louth TD believes went unchallenged.

Enda Kenny had previously declined to participate in Browne’s debate in advance of last year’s general election, in an apparent dispute over on-air comments made by the TV3 host.

However, Browne himself said earlier this month that he understood Kenny’s objection to appearing in tomorrow’s debate was a procedural one, and was not related to that previous dispute.

Read: Kenny and Adams decline to take part in TV3 referendum debate

Countdown: You have two days to register for a referendum postal vote

Translated: The Fiscal Compact rewritten in layman’s terms

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:42 PM

I wonder what the rent for one week is on the shop on Grafton St. No trade for a week made their negligence in hygiene a very expensive mistake, not to mention the bad press of having dead rats on food making premises is going to cost them.

Mute Scott Kincaid
    Favourite Scott Kincaid
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:13 PM

It was one day.

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Oct 9th 2019, 11:14 PM

@Scott Kincaid: spoilsport. Don’t let facts get in the way of a good moan!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 10th 2019, 1:03 AM

@oDevilsavocado:

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 10th 2019, 1:14 AM

@Devilsavocado: .theres a rat in the kitchen what you going to do?obviously catch it in a trap moron

Mute John fitzpatrick
    Favourite John fitzpatrick
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:51 PM

All deli’s and restaurant should have the same high standard kitchen,
    Set out the criteria
    High standard easy to clean flooring
    All identical
    Same sinks
    Fat separators
    Waste pipes, 50mm / 100mm
    Same standard fridges cooling rooms.
    Counter tops,
    All on castors for easy removal.
    To many Dirty old backstreet Kip’s around.

Mute Nathan Carr
    Favourite Nathan Carr
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:55 PM

The restaurants on Moore St. never look clean.

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:45 PM

So he was brown bread then

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:28 PM

Stella-a-a-a!!!!

Clean up the rodent droppings!

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:27 PM

I don’t know of any other State organisation that publicises their findings. Perhaps fire inspectors could do same.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Oct 9th 2019, 7:34 PM

@John Flood: HIQA.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 9th 2019, 11:43 PM

Fire alerts Ireland

@John Flood: I think that’s a great idea.
    If there was an official website for such alerts, it would help. We could check it & get alerts for our areas. Or nationally.

A few years ago I spotted a newspaper alert recalling faulty immersion timers. My sister’s place had the same one. Pure chance that I saw it and told others. That company ran ads and replaced them with safe ones on request, free of charge. Fair enough, if you knew to ring up and request one. But there was no coordination.

I let our management company know of the issue. Two of my neighbours had already had fires starting in the hot press.

All places built during the boom, bought off the plans & signed off. All with the same batch of immersion timers. Some will still have them.

Mute FartyTowels
    Favourite FartyTowels
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:41 PM

This is a list I find interesting whenever it comes out. Sad I know. Living in Waterford I do not recall seeing an incident occurring in Waterford. Whilst I am sure the establishments in Waterford are clean, I sometimes wonder how thorough the inspections are by the officers in the area

Mute DK Innovation
    Favourite DK Innovation
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:01 PM

Do the Gardai think it was murder, want to be investigating that?

Oct 9th 2019, 5:59 PM

Has the journal blamed Boris yet, or indeed president Trump???

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:50 PM

@John: The Journal generally doesn’t tend to blame Boris or Trump, that would be some.of the commentators here. You should be grateful, if people didn’t make those comments and you didn’t have to constantly defend them then what you spend all your spare time doing?

Mute Chris Folliard
    Favourite Chris Folliard
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:47 PM

What’s the problem? He was dead.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:50 PM

@Chris Folliard: how did he get in? Are they more of them? why wasn’t the dead rat removed?

Mute Chris Folliard
    Favourite Chris Folliard
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:01 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: :Through the door
    :Possibly : Couldn’t remove himself because he is dead.

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:26 PM

@Chris Folliard: Traps are supposed to be checked daily. You sure it was the door? Wasn’t a hole somewhere? Maybe there’s a nest of them on the property. maybe repairs are needed to bring the place up to standards.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:07 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: they were waiting for the postmortem

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Oct 9th 2019, 9:00 PM

@Chris Folliard: Depends on how much per kg they were charging!

Mute Nigel Barlow
    Favourite Nigel Barlow
    Oct 9th 2019, 11:15 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: maybe the Pied Piper was staying there ?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Oct 10th 2019, 1:56 AM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: answer to your question is probably an open door or window,that not rocket science is it. Are there more off them?100%yes..keep your windows and doors closed. Oh and always check the toilet before you sit down because they can swim. Ie theres a rat in every kitchen, you just don’t see them Jim.

Mute Jodi
    Favourite Jodi
    Oct 10th 2019, 10:50 AM

@FlopFlipU: I can picture the little white tent over the body, and tiny people in white coats and masks going in and out…

Mute MitchConnor
    Favourite MitchConnor
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:48 PM

Trying to think of a joke in relation to the apple green rat.

Mute Ciaran105
    Favourite Ciaran105
    Oct 9th 2019, 4:56 PM

T’sangs off my list now .

Mute Declan Holden
    Favourite Declan Holden
    Oct 9th 2019, 5:41 PM

@Ciaran105: flames in clonee is better

Mute Ciaran105
    Favourite Ciaran105
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:05 PM

@Declan Holden: it sure is , had a nice meal a couple of weeks ago. Certainly going back . Tnx

Mute Ian Heaton / Eoin De Héadún
    Favourite Ian Heaton / Eoin De Héadún
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:26 PM

Is that where the Dáil rat ended up?

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:34 PM

@Ian Heaton / Eoin De Héadún: the dail rat published the budget yesterday

Mute Dave Kinsella
    Favourite Dave Kinsella
    Oct 10th 2019, 8:15 AM

I love coming to the comment section to read all the expert opinions…

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Oct 9th 2019, 7:48 PM

Yes Name and Shame if ye had the same laws for litter lots our country would be A Lot Cleaner

Mute Dave Kinsella
    Favourite Dave Kinsella
    Oct 10th 2019, 8:17 AM

@pat seery: Maybe all citizens in their various capacities should be tagged in some way and named and shamed when they break the rules. Big Brother here we come.

Mute The Debater
    Favourite The Debater
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:55 PM

Must have sampled the chicken fillets

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Oct 10th 2019, 7:42 AM

If trap one was occupied by rat one, where did rat 2, 3 and others reside. Did the wait in quay for trap one to become evacuated?

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:00 PM

At least the rat was dead I suppose?

Mute cybersecsteve
    Favourite cybersecsteve
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:14 PM

@Madra: maybe it died because it ate the food….

Mute Oisin
    Favourite Oisin
    Oct 10th 2019, 10:01 AM

Glad I have never set foot in any of these places

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Oct 9th 2019, 6:00 PM

At lease the rat was dead I suppose?

Mute David Walls
    Favourite David Walls
    Oct 10th 2019, 12:00 AM

Watt heaf hookin’ die of??!!