You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The scene of the crash. Courtesy of Eileen Magnier

Two gardaí on motorcycles injured in Sligo crash

The two members of the traffic corps are being treated in hospital.

TWO GARDAÍ ARE being treated in hospital after a crash in Sligo.

The two male garda corps were en route to a road traffic collision when a car struck one of their bikes.

It’s believed that one of the guards was thrown 70 metres from his bike.

The accident happened at around 10 o’clock this morning at the junction of Clarion Road and Manorhamilton Road.

The two gardaí are being treated at Sligo General Hospital, it’s reported that one of them has broken bones.

The driver of the car was uninjured in the crash.

Read: Man steals car in Roscommon, drives wrong way in chase, is arrested in Dublin>

Read: Garda car shortage meant hour delay in child ‘abduction’ response>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Clancy Wiggum
    Favourite Clancy Wiggum
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:05 PM

Serious amount of Grade A knucklescrapers commenting here. Best wishes to all involved in the accident and a speedy recovery to those injured.

Mute ChopperMc
    Favourite ChopperMc
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:53 PM

Tourists from New York driving in Sligo, that was a recipe for disaster.. Hopefully all have a speedy recovery

Mute Alanearls
    Favourite Alanearls
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:57 PM

Should be fun getting your deposit back from Avis when you have two Hondas stuck in the side of it

Mute Larry Heffernan
    Favourite Larry Heffernan
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:53 PM

The most effective policing in the country is carried out by guards on motorcycles.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:01 PM

Constructive. Educated. Informed…..you’ve let yourself down

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:02 PM

Go off and buy a new track suit Cosmo , twill put you in better form, maybe just the bottoms, an ul have enough for a can .

Mute Will Derbylight
    Favourite Will Derbylight
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:02 PM

But most can spell, Kramer.

Mute Karen Whelan
    Favourite Karen Whelan
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:26 PM

I’ve seen a pic of the aftermath on another site and it looks like the Gardaí were heading straight and the silver car came from either a side road or were turning right onto one and hit the bikes at the side.

Heading to an accident they would most likely have had their lights on but even if they didn’t the car should have seen them. They were traveling together.

It also said they were American over for a music festival and their kids were in the back. Must have been terrifying for the kids.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:43 PM

Fleadh Ceoil or Flesh coil as autocorrect calls it in Full swing in Sligeach. 200k patrons diddly diddleing, beers agus craic in process. Hope all are ok and jigging and reeling in no time.

Mute Emergency Times
    Favourite Emergency Times
    Aug 15th 2014, 7:41 PM

Wishing both Gardaí a fast and full recovery.

Mute Malcolm Lackey
    Favourite Malcolm Lackey
    Aug 15th 2014, 3:41 PM

I bet the driver will be done, not like the three times i was knocked off my bike by car drivers! I won my three claims, which ment the other parties were at fault, but the Guards didn’t find them at fault. So i was put in hospital three times and not one single point was giving out. Basically it’s ok to nearly kill someone and hospitalize them, but its not ok to drive in a bus lane? Rant over, get well soon, biker brothers.

Mute Clancy Wiggum
    Favourite Clancy Wiggum
    Aug 15th 2014, 5:42 PM

Malcolm look up the difference between the balance of probability and beyond reasonable doubt. That might explain a few matters to you.

Mute Noel Flannery
    Favourite Noel Flannery
    Aug 15th 2014, 6:22 PM

@ Malcolm;
    Bet all the red thumbs are from either muck savage plods or car drivers they seem to miss your very very valid point and your get well wishes for the injured members

Mute Emergency Times
    Favourite Emergency Times
    Aug 15th 2014, 7:44 PM

Wishing both Gardaí a fast and full recovery and, thankfully nobody else was injured in the collision.

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:47 PM

Two Honda Deauville NT700V’s for City Spares.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:54 PM

Hate to be the car driver trying to prove liability here.

Mute Donna L Tier
    Favourite Donna L Tier
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:47 PM

Cha Ching

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Aug 15th 2014, 5:32 PM

Speedy recovery to all involved in the accident.

Mute SeekingUniverslTruth
    Favourite SeekingUniverslTruth
    Aug 15th 2014, 12:47 PM

if only they hd bikes with wings,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,every other police force has them

Mute Brandon Steers
    Favourite Brandon Steers
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:13 PM

Did your finger get stuck on the comma button in all the excitement?

Mute Jay J Murphy
    Favourite Jay J Murphy
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:38 PM

All cars,bikes and pedestrians banned. Are we agreed on that?

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Aug 15th 2014, 1:59 PM

I said it before and I’ll keep saying it till there banned. Motor Bikes Should Be Banned. Even cops who are trained are coming off bikes

Mute Pat Kirwan
    Favourite Pat Kirwan
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:15 PM

It’s fairly obvious that the person at fault here is the car driver, not the bike rider. Why not ban tourists from driving here or better yet ban all cars. A lot of motorcycle fatalities are actually caused by other driver’s behaviour not the motorcyclist, but unfortunately the motorcyclist is the one who comes out worst.

Mute Steven Whitemore
    Favourite Steven Whitemore
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:18 PM

Why not ban the dozy car driver who failed to see 2 police motorbikes? The standard of driving I see from a lot of car drivers here is criminal….

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Steven Whitemore
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:20 PM

Oh, and it’s ‘they’re’ (as in they are) and not ‘there’…

Mute Skip Goose
    Favourite Skip Goose
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:20 PM

more often than not it’s the car drivers fault so maybe we should ban cars as well?

Mute The Descolada
    Favourite The Descolada
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:21 PM

I agree. But they should ban cars too, an awful lot of people get hurt and killed in them. Same goes for vans, lorries, tractors and bicycles. Deathtraps all.

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:23 PM

Troll or idiot, you decide

Mute Pat Kirwan
    Favourite Pat Kirwan
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:24 PM

Agree Steven. Garda motorcycles have a lot of hi viz markings, their headlights are always on, and the riders wear hi viz gear. How can someone not see them. This comes down to very bad driving on the part of the car driver.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 15th 2014, 2:27 PM

Ban pedestrians aswell.

Mute Malcolm Lackey
    Favourite Malcolm Lackey
    Aug 15th 2014, 4:08 PM

I am a biker 20 years and we are the safest road users to other road users, we can’t drink and drive, we can’t eat and drive, smoke and drive, we don’t be messing with the heating or radio or sat nav, we don’t have a wife and kids distracting us. We have no distractions, unlike every other road user with an engine.

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Aug 15th 2014, 6:28 PM

Bully or dick head. You decide.

Ok I just did dick head

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Aug 15th 2014, 7:03 PM

Motor bikers are far far more likely to have massive injures or be killed that’s fact.So for the bikers who get all upset any time any one tells them bikes are dangerous calm down. Bikers don’t like to be told anything they think there the most proficient drivers on the road well I have news for the lot of ya the doctors in any A+E in the country will tell you differently if they had there way they would get bikes banned. So Like I said before any bike death that’s reported on the Journal Motor bikes should be banned full stop.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Aug 15th 2014, 7:18 PM

The majority of bikers injured or unfortunately killed in accidents are caused by car drivers. So it is caused by people not paying attention or failing to look in blind spots. Your point of banning bikes is invalid.

Mute Steven Whitemore
    Aug 15th 2014, 8:15 PM

One more time, just for you …. They’re (they are) and not there. If you can’t master simple grammar why should I take your opinion on motorcycling seriously?

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:35 AM

I agree with all that Michael , however I see a lot of bikers driving irresponsibly on motorways, Driving between cars through the middle lanes etc , total impatience , They should wait for a car to pull in to the left before passing like other road users, I mean bikers are the real losers if in an accident on a motorway. Almost sure fatality

All the best to the health of the two members ,

Mute sean parker
    Favourite sean parker
    Aug 16th 2014, 8:35 AM

*malcolm

Mute Pat Lennon
    Favourite Pat Lennon
    Aug 15th 2014, 3:25 PM

If you swipe left on this story the next article is about pork and bacon, journals taking the mick.

Mute Breda Brady
    Favourite Breda Brady
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:15 PM

Its silly to say ban motorbikes….fatalities wont decrease. There are bad drivers everywhere and there are good drivers who often make silly mistakes. Hope the two gardai recover ok and that the tourists are ok also.

Mute Breda Brady
    Favourite Breda Brady
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:18 PM

@ stephen ..i hope that little green thing on your pic is not your means of transport…if so we’r all screwed!!

Mute Pat Lennon
    Favourite Pat Lennon
    Aug 15th 2014, 3:22 PM

“CHiPs”

Mute SeekingUniverslTruth
    Favourite SeekingUniverslTruth
    Aug 15th 2014, 3:33 PM

SHiPs

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Aug 15th 2014, 10:08 PM

Ban the motorbike !!!!!!

Mute Philip Kenna
    Favourite Philip Kenna
    Aug 15th 2014, 11:21 PM

Have a lie down now Steven, you’re just getting yourself all upset, if you don’t like motorbikes just don’t ride one, let those that do make they’re own risk assessment.

Mute Steven Hillert
    Favourite Steven Hillert
    Aug 17th 2014, 2:37 AM

I do believe Ireland is a free speech country at the moment you idiot. Go and play with your crayons